Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Express Flooring

Founded 1995 • With Angi since May 2011

2.6

(29) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

6955 N Camino Martin

Tucson, AZ 85741

Description

Family owned & operated. Additional phones - (520) 579-0461, (602) 996-8009. Additional fax - (602) 996-8024. Additional DBAs - Sun Flooring Inc, Expressions in Flooring, Express Home Services LLC.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

07/28/2021


Darius N.

*Military BEWARE* I had an in home consultation Tuesday, 27-July-2021. My experience with the independent design consultant, Wesley Sorce-Zirnheld was more than unfavorable. Things started out good until I mentioned the quotes I have gotten from other estimates. The prices that I mentioned was not an indication of not wanting their service or not being about to afford the service. I brought up the prices to weigh out the competition and what they offered me. He turned very reluctant and defensive and from that point on was rude. It became a very awkward situation that Wesley put me in. He finally grabbed the samples that I had to ask for multiple times, and it was unneeded pressure as he wanted me to pick and choose right there. I’ve done many business transactions and this is by far the worst. It became uncomfortable as he didn’t want to finish the estimate out and indicated that the offer ends when he leaves… The rudeness didn’t stop there. When I briefly asked about the finance options just to see what was available, he made unnecessary comments about when the payments need to be paid and how there’s no extensions… I pointed out to him that it seemed like he thought I couldn’t afford the service and his reply was, “well your a staff sergeant in the military and he knows how much I make.” After that I ended the session. If you want to weigh your options and get estimates to make the right purchase this is not the company. Take your business elsewhere. A 900-1000sqft job was quoted at 19k. He gave a rate with no price breakdown of material, demo or labor while making a multitude of crude comments. Would not recommend.

Description of Work
Floor installation

Category carpet cleaners, carpet installation, ceramic tile, flooring contractor, hardwood floor

1.0

10/23/2020


Brent B.

started on 10/16 and 10/17 left a unfinished job just today 10/23 they only completed the carpet doorway tack down still waiting for tile and new floors transition pieces also been out 3 times, to take pictures twice and to fix a uneven floor today 10/23 didn't perform any work said they were giving wrong information to do job correctly. Nobody in the installation department knows what's up or down from the installers to management the worst company I've ever had the displeasure of working with. I would highly recommend not to higher this company even if they were to give you the product for free the installation will leave your house in unfinished shambles with no answer on when or if it will ever be completed

Description of Work
new flooring

Category flooring contractor, air duct cleaning

5.0

09/14/2016


wesley S.

Great job! Everyone was very professional and respectful of me, my home, and my time!

Description of Work
Needed new tile in master bathroom

Category carpet installation, ceramic tile, flooring contractor

1.0

09/09/2016


Beth L.

Installers and management have no clue about customer service.

Description of Work
New flooring in guest bathroom and master bedroom. Guest bathroom, different installer who did a good job. Master bedroom, total unprofessional job. 1st installers broke baseboards, left with gaps in my flooring. Salesman says each installer has to have 8 years experience. One only had 2 years!! Had to pull out all the flooring to redo. New crew is now taking 2 days and still not done. Manager and dispatcher are clueless on how to run a company. I will never use them again and will spread on social media not to use them. I'm looking at possible litigation.

Category flooring contractor

4.0

07/23/2016


Carolyn K.

Description of Work
about $3000 for kitchen linoleum. appts for looking at samples and then installation were done quickly. love the floor, not crazy about the two installers, at all. but the install looks great, even if their personal habits were less than ideal.

Category flooring contractor

1.0

04/28/2016


Jane K.

Description of Work
Half way through the job they changed work crews. My instructions on what direction I wanted were not passed on to 2nd crew who started laying the floor opposite to what had been ordered and 25% had already been glued down. No one in the crew spoke English and when I spoke to the office they denied ever receiving instructions although 2 other rooms had been done correctly. They made no effort to contact me. While moving the furniture they broke a leg off the couch and just propped it up and did not tell me about it. When I sat on the couch it collapsed. They also broke the pull chain on the ceiling fan and denied it. Calls to the office were not returned and the crew refused to repair the damage. Additionally they failed to glue down adjacent carpeting they had pulled up and failed to install threshold between tile floors creating trip hazards. Do not use this company. Poor workmanship and worse customer service.

Category air duct cleaning

5.0

01/25/2016


C. IRENE H.

Description of Work
Excellent installation, very polite and helpful installers.

Category flooring contractor

1.0

08/19/2015


Joy S.

Tried to get in contact with them several times and still have not heard anything from them. They overestimated the size of the job and left me with 2 boxes and the workers stated that they could not take it. The tile that they delivered to me was not the same tile that I initially discussed with the sales person. It was same basic pattern but not the same type of tile. The sales person promised to contact me immediately and still has not contacted me in 2 weeks.

Description of Work
Flooring Installation- Kitchen tile

Category flooring contractor

1.0

02/06/2015


Deborah K.

In 2013, Express Flooring installed carpet with a 20-year warranty in our house. Although we don't wear shoes in the house, have little foot traffic on the carpet, and vacuum weekly, it had serious wear issues after less than a year. Express Flooring agreed it was defective (and they told us that there were other defect claims on this batch of carpet). They encouraged us to install 30-year warranty carpet for an extra $100. The second carpet was the same color and looked very much like the first one. This supposedly upgraded carpet was installed, but after a few months it had exactly the same wear issues as the first carpet. They again agreed that the carpet was defective and replaced it again with the same carpet, but a new lot that they told me had gone through a series of quality control testing. We had to wait a couple of months for this testing to be completed. Express didn't charge us any money this time, though it was a lot of trouble for us to deal with moving books, furniture, etc. The 3rd carpet wore out in only 4 months! When we finally got fed up, we filed complaints and Express Flooring issued a refund. Amazingly, after they installed defective carpet in our home 3 times in 2 years, admitted it was defective all three times, told me that they would take up the issue with the carpet manufacturer (Shaw), and then provided us with a refund, they actually accused us (in writing) of not taking care of the carpet! The only positive thing we will say is that their installers are good (though we had to have them back twice to adjust tack strips). It's the product and follow-up service that is terrible.

Description of Work
Provided and installed carpet.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

4.0

06/16/2014


Myra J T.

Showed up at the appointment time. Spoke only Spanish while they were in my presence. Carpet pad was a bit thinner than I had expected from the sales sample. Otherwise materials appeared satisfactory. Carpet now appears to need restretching. Would not use them again.

Description of Work
Sold and installed carpet

Category flooring contractor

1.0

01/31/2014


Judith D.

They had to put in a ramp which they did incorrectly. They put in flooring incorrectly. They said we could not have laminate and we put in Linoleum. It rips easily. The company was not helpful in the issues and there were some communication issues due to sending out everyone that does not speak english. They redid the work but I believe the color is still incorrect in the bedroom.

Description of Work
They put in flooring.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

04/15/2013


Ed M.

We are very pleased with the work completed by Express Flooring. We met the Express Flooring at the Tucson Home Show this past April. We were quite concerned about hiring Express Flooring as the reviews online, the Better Business Bureau and Angies list were brutal. Everything from the salesman, to the actual work, to the follow up was severely critized. I contacted the Express Flooring customer service and shared our concerns given the reviews. He assured me that the reviews did not reflect the work regarding his company which has been in Tucson for some 24 Years. I will tell you that the floor installers( Matt & Chuck ) contacted us the day before to make certain that we were expecting them. They were scheduled to arrive between 8 AM - 10 AM on Saturday. They arrived at 8:20 AM. They were courteous, efficient and appeared to have done a wonderful job. They removed the furniture from the rooms in a professional manner and when the carpet was installed replaced the furniture to its original location. We have not had to contact Express Flooring about any follow up work related to warranties etc, so I cannot speak to that portion of their work.

Description of Work
Express removed the old carpet and installed new carpet and pad for three bedrooms.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

1.0

02/18/2013


Sherrie B.

They sent only one sub-contracted installer to do the whole installation alone. Installation took several weeks. It wasn't in any way a speedy or smooth installation. While the flooring seems to be of decent quality we've experienced nothing but trouble with the floor. Every summer the floor swells. The same sub-contractor has come back several times but he obviously doesn't know how to fix the problem. We feel that, had the floor been installed correctly in the first place we would not experience the problems that we have. At this point, 18 months after installation, there are gaps in the floor in many places. In one of the later attempts to alleviate the bulging the installer removed the molding from the edges and made the gaps wider. He didn't replace the molding in many places and the molding no longer covers the edges properly in many places that it was replaced. After multiple attempts to have the problems corrected and getting poor attempts from the same installer we have not received any more service from this company and have poorly installed laminate flooring.

Description of Work
The Express sales was punctual. We looked at samples and chose laminate for several rooms throughout the house and some tile to be installed in a small area.

Category flooring contractor

1.0

12/19/2012


sarah K.

We agreed with this company to have flooring put in three rooms of tile in our house. I gave them a $1000 deposit and another $1500 at the time the job was completed. I wrote out 12 checks for monthly installments for the balance. The workman were independent contractors with this company, so I suspect the actual results of the finished project are largely dependent on who does the work. The work took longer than the estimated time, but the finished product was quite good. The work started a couple of days after it was originally scheduled. The biggest problem was with the finance part. All of my checks for the balance were cashed simultaneously, so several of them bounced. I had to contact a manager at the Phoenix office to attempt to resolve the problem. The company did replace part of the money in the bank, but only about 2/3 of what they had withdrawn. I requested a letter documenting that the company was at fault for the bounced checks, and told them I would continue to make payments monthly. They turned the balance over to a collection agency instead of working with me. They charged me the entire balance, even though they kept about $900 of checks I had originally written. I would not do business with this company again. The entire experience has been a nightmare and has impacted my credit score. I am sure I could have gotten as good or better a price and result from another large company such as Sears.

Description of Work
We had three small bedrooms tiled. The workers pulled up the carpeting, adjusted the foundation (which was cracked slightly) and laid 20 inch tile on the floor and grouted it. It did require some expertise in cutting the tile at the edges of the room. The matching was only fair.

Category flooring contractor

4.0

11/18/2012


Sally V.

I didn't go a very good job of negotiating so I'm not sure if I got a good deal or not price wise. I was comparing them with a carpet and padding I had in mind from Home Depot but they have their own label of carpet they use and I'm not really sure if I what I was getting was the of the same quality of Home Depots. Do your homework and be ready for that. As expected, the salesman said that the inventory may change and price may go up, etc, and so I'd better make the deal with them or I may pass up a good deal. I probably should have passed it up and gotten a few more bids for my own satisfaction but I just wanted to have it done. They only have one kind of padding. Home Depot had more variety. I didn't like that they wouldn't take a charge card, only a check and they cashed it before the carpet was installed. I needed to have this done soon because company was coming to the house and I have a busy schedule. I had my furniture taken apart and moved to the living room and took some time off of work expecting them to come on a certain day. Waiting, waiting and waiting they couldn't show up on time because the job before mine took longer than expected. Then at the end of the day they weren't going to be able to show up at all. They offered to come the next morning. I couldn't because of work but I asked that they come Saturday and not charge extra to move the furniture back. They agreed. The carpet does look great. It looks and feels of good quality. Time will tell. I'll be happy if it looks this good after 10 or 20 years but who keeps their carpet that long? The guys that did the installation did a good job and so far I'm happy with it.

Description of Work
I had carpet installed with padding in two small bedroom and the hallway. Price didn't include moving furniture, pulling out or hauling out the old carpet and padding. I wanted to take it out myself so I could do a good cleaning and paint the base boards before the carpet was installed.

Category carpet installation

1.0

09/10/2012


Judith D.

When they came, they sent people who didn't speak English. The son arrived later that night, and I told him I wasn't sure the carpeting was what I picked. He said if they order it, they have to pay for it so they put it down. They didn't take a slight slope into consideration, so they had to come back out to fix it. They put down cement for the slope and fixed the flooring, but it meant moving things in and out twice. It was awful, and the work was hugely overpriced. I couldn't communicate with anyone who came out. It's still not the carpet I wanted, and they didn't put any border around it for a long time. They tried to tell me I didn't ask for it. It was just a horrible experience.

Description of Work
I hired them to do flooring for my whole home. We picked laminate for most of it and carpet for my room.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

1.0

07/15/2012


Cynthia D.

On the Friday the work was to begin, the contractor arrived at 1 p.m. on the dot, the very last minute of the 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. window we were given. They agreed to tile one bathroom and leave the other so that we could use it. At around 4 p.m., we discovered that they were laying tile in both baths, despite this. We were told we could use the bathrooms within an hour after they left, but the master bathroom was covered with concrete dust and debris, so I couldn't use it. They left some of their equipment under a large bush in our front yard, and came by Saturday morning to retrieve that, promising to return later to finish our job. Around 4 p.m. on that day, we got a call saying they hadn't finished their other job, and couldn't come to our place until 9 a.m. on Sunday. The original contractor didn't come at all. His son arrived a 8:30 a.m. on Sunday morning. The son did a slapdash job on both bathrooms, leaving big thick lines of grout--the wrong color, in the guest bath--and smudges of grout on the walls, molding and new tiles. He also failed to grout a section in the master bath, and the molding was not put back correctly. Worse, some of that molding was left lying on the bathroom floor the night before, with huge nails sticking up out of it. We have three pets, who could easily have been injured. Here are several of the other issues that a guest here at the house who does contracting noticed was going on that shouldn?t have: 1. Using customer's sink to clean hands and tools. 2. Walking across the carpet with dripping tiles rather than drying or laying tarp to not get mess on carpet. 3. Cutting tile right next to the house. 4. Placing toilet in tub/shower. 5. Leaving tools at customers house, without informing customer, and coming back to just get tools. I still cannot believe this tiny job wound up being such a huge headache!

Description of Work
I never thought a small job like this would wind up being such a BIG mess. The contractor was supposed to tile the master and guest bathrooms of our house on Friday and Saturday. It should've been a simple job, but it was three days of frustration.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

11/29/2011


Karen L.

Please see above for short description. Everything went great!

Description of Work
Just wanted to say a quick thank you! I called Express Flooring for a quote on new carpet and laminate flooring. I already had two other bids and thought I should get a 3rd after seeing a Express Flooring commercial on TV. I was able to get a much better price on carpet and also took advantage of their price match program for the laminate flooring I selected from another company. My job was estimated has a 3 day project and it was completed within estimated time frame. Jordan & John did an amazing job on install....thank you boys! The carpet crew (did not get their names) even left us with a free cleaning kit....thank you again! I will highly recommend Express Flooring and plan to use them again if I ever need new floors. Sincerely, Karen M Lansing Tucson, AZ

Category flooring contractor

3.0

08/17/2011


Edie A.

My wife was given a quote for carpet and install of 55 yds for $3985. I went to another well known company and got the same carpet, color, 62 yrds and installation for $1913. They may be good but I feel they tried to take advantage of my wife. She did sign the contract, which we are recinding.

Description of Work
My wife was given a very high quote and after subsequent search, found other companies with much lower costs. We did not do business with Express Home Services

Category carpet installation

1.0

03/11/2011


Carol W.

The saleswoman arrived on time with a lot of samples for sheet vinyl. We took her to the small kitchen and showed her what was necessary. She was inexperienced in what would be needed for preparation. There were two layers of existing linoleum tile. The last was self stick all over a wooden subfloor. She called the installer for help. The sales pitch started at well over $700 and then was reduced to almost $500 with a call to her manager. She said we needed to make a decision then. It was all verbal. If she left without an ok to do the work; she would not be back. Since things were in a negotiating mode, my husband said do the work for the price mentioned including tax. She said no and would not call her manager again. Off she went in a huff. This is a high pressure sales approach with "what will it take to do the work kind of estimate"? I would never do business with this company. We actually did pay more to do the work with another company that was far more professional.

Description of Work
No services were performed. I received a verbal estimate only. They don't give you a written.

Category flooring contractor

1.0

01/04/2011


melissa G.

hORRIBLE COMPANY, NOBODY SPOKE ENGLISH AND THE CUSTOMER SERVICE DEPT IS HORRIBLE. THEY EVEN HAD THE NERVE TO ASK ME IF I KNEW HOW TO READ ENGLISH, I SIGNED FOR IT, WHEN I ASKED IF ANY OF THEIR WORKERS SPOKE ENGLISH THEY WOULD KNOW I SAID IT WAS WRONG. THEY SAID WHAT DO YOU EXPECT YOU LIVE 2 HOURS FROM MEXICO!

Description of Work
tHIS COMPANY PULLS A COMPLETE SCAM. tHEY SEND A SALESMAN TO YOUR HOME WITH NICE PLUSH CARPET SAMPLES, URGES YOU TO BUY BEFORE HE LEAVES OR YOU WONT GET ANY OF THE DISCOUNTS. wHEN THE CARPET AND PAD WERE INSTALLED IN MY ENTIRE HOME IT WAS SOME CHEAP RENTAL CARPET AND PAD, NOT WHAT i ORDERED.NEVER USE THEM. EMAIL ME IF YOU WANT FURTHER INFO. THEY HAVE AN F RATING WITH THE BBB, THEY ARE KNOWN FOR THIS SCAM, i LOST ALMOST $4000, AND HAVE THE WORST CARPET I HAVE EVER SEEN, THEY REFUSE TO REFUND MY MONEY!

Category flooring contractor

1.0

06/17/2010


Pearce C.

***This review is for Express Home Services (www.expresshomeservices.com) BBB web page says these are the same company.*** Everything started out OK. The salesman was pushy and annoying, but this is to be expected. Typical used car type of stuff. FYI: only paid about 50% of the initial "quote." Installation went surprisingly well, but a few days after, the installer calls me on my cell phone at 7:30 AM telling me that he was fired from the company, the company had not paid him his last check, so he was going to put a lien on my home. Not only is what he indicated likely illegal [note: my contract for the work was with Express, NOT with the installer. The installer was an employee of Express] (see "Slander of Title" A.R.S. ? 33-420(a)), but did he really need to call at 7:30? He made threats, was generally unpleasant, and demanded that if I did not get him his $600 that he would go and put the lien on my home. I reported him to his former employer, they really did not seem to care and basically said there is nothing they can do (true, except pay him), confirmed they had not paid him, told me it was an internal matter (I agree...then why am I involved?), and that if the installer actually filed I should "send them the paperwork." Just a horrible experience. Avoid these people.

Description of Work
Installation of new flooring.

Category hardwood floor

5.0

10/18/2007


Cyndy T.

I live in DC not Tucson. I called before I left town to come to Tucson and they were prompt in meeting with me the day I arrived. There was very little time to get the work done. The tile had to be completed before the flooring could be laid. The tilers were great, very competent, excellent work and they came on Sunday to finish up so the flooring could be done on Monday. The tile and flooring look great. Everyone was prompt and did a great job. I will need more flooring in the other bedrooms and will definitely call Express for those floors.

Description of Work
Ceramic tile in the master bath and closet and laminate flooring in the master bedroom.

Category ceramic tile, hardwood floor

1.0

07/24/2006

THE MEN WHO ACTUALLY DID THE WORK WERE WONDERFUL, BUT THEY ARE PART OF A DIFFERENT COMPANY. EXPRESS FLOORING IS THE ONE WE HAVE THE PROBLEM WITH BECAUSE THEY WERE UNPROFESSIONAL AND JUST A MAJOR HASSLE TO DEAL WITH.

Description of Work
WE HIRED EXPRESS FLOORING TO INSTALL CERAMIC TILE IN OUR KITCHEN, BUT THEY DON'T ACTUALLY DO THE WORK. WE DIDN'T FIND THAT OUT UNTIL LATER. THEY HIRE OTHER COMPANIES TO GO AND DO THE LABOR.

Category ceramic tile

5.0

07/14/2006


FRANCES Z.

THE PEOPLE WERE VERY NICE TO ME WHEN THEY CAME OUT TO DO MY FLOORS. THE JOB THEY DID WAS REALLY VERY GOOD, AND MY FLOORS LOOK MUCH BETTER NOW. THEY WERE ALSO VERY FAST AND PROFESSIONAL.

Description of Work
I HAD LAMINATED FLOORING PUT DOWN IN THE LIVING ROOM, DEN AND BEDROOM.

Category flooring contractor

    Other local Pros in your area

    Carpet Police LLC

    We are a locally-owned company proudly receiving the Angie's List Super Service award from 2010-2017. We offer Carpet, Tile, Air Duct and Upholstery cleaning services serving Tucson for over 15+ years. Our goal is to provide you with the best cleaning experience available. Carpet Police has also maintained an A rating with the Better Business Bureau for over 10 years.Our company and our technicians are IICRC (Institute of Inspection Cleaning and Restoration) Certified. The IICRC is the world’s most-recognized body of certification in the carpet and upholstery cleaning industry. Our technicians regularly receive training to keep current on the latest products and cleaning techniques. They will be able to identify what cleaning method will produce the best results.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Heritage Air

    Detailed Multi - Stage Duct Cleaning, Filtration, And Air Quality Specialists.  

    Angi Certified

    Balance Landscaping LLC

    Hello Matt with Balance Landscape. We would love to help you with your project and together create your vision. Balance is a licensed, bonded, and fully insured landscape contractor with over 30 years of knowledge, expertise, and integrity. All of it right here in the valley. Matthew Perling Vice President Balance Landscaping, Design & Contracting 480-233-2191  

    Angi Certified

    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Senior Discount
    Ask for details
    Warranties
    Satisfaction

    Services Offered

    Installation, repair, replacement flooring, carpet, tile, laminate, wood, vinyl, stone, upholstery, floor, duct, carpet and grout cleaning, emergency water, flood & fire restoration work.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Express Flooring

    How is Express Flooring overall rated?

    Express Flooring is currently rated 2.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Express Flooring open?

    Express Flooring is open:

    Sunday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Monday: 6:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    Tuesday: 6:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    Wednesday: 6:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    Thursday: 6:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    Friday: 6:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Does Express Flooring offer free estimates?

    Yes, Express Flooring offers free project estimates.

    Does Express Flooring offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Express Flooring does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Express Flooring offer a senior discount?

    No, Express Flooring does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Express Flooring?

    No, Express Flooring does not offer warranties.

    What services does Express Flooring offer?

    Express Flooring offers the following services: Installation, repair, replacement flooring, carpet, tile, laminate, wood, vinyl, stone, upholstery, floor, duct, carpet and grout cleaning, emergency water, flood & fire restoration work.