Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

DesertKing Carpentry

Founded 1984 • With Angi since April 2013

4.5

(10) Verified Reviews

Description

DesertKing Carpentry has been in business for over 25 years helping you make a better home. Whatever the size and scope of your job, we can do it. We offer our customers quality craftsmanship, honesty, and professionalism. Whether you want to remodel your kitchen, bathroom or any part of your home. Available for evening and weekend appointments! Owned & operated by Gary Leitz....

Other local Pros in your area

Tucson Blinds and Shutters LLC

We bring the show room to you. Call today to schedule a free no obligation consultation. Tucson Blinds and Shutters is a family owned and operated company. We are here to provide you top quality window coverings at incredibly low prices. We know your choice of window coverings is an important decision and we take the time to get it right. We provide you with the product details and price information you need to assure you have made the best choice. Additional DBAs - Blinds To Go LLC, Tucson Blinds & Shutters LLC. All orders require 50% deposit down and balance due upon completion of work.  

Lion Coat Painting, LLC

Lion Coat Painting, LLC is a fully licensed, insured & bonded painter contractor company. Our main goals is to specialize on a clean and high quality work with a high customer's satisfaction. We also specialize in the interior and exterior painting of your home with the highest quality paints. We also do free color consultations. Our ROC# 322-177  

Turn It On Electric

WE ARE AN ESSENTIAL SERVICE AND ARE CURRENTLY OPEN! Turn It On Electric is one of the top electricians in the Tucson area. Regardless of how big or small your electrical needs are, we have professional and licensed electricians ready to respond to your home and business electrical needs. Whether commercial, residential, or industrial our highly skilled electricians will take the time to determine your needs. We are insured, bonded, and licensed Tucson electricians to give you peace of mind. Our number one priority is the customer and our list of clients is as diverse as the various needs we are requested to address. We believe that if it isn't done right, it isn't done and remind customers that every time a light turns on, thank an electrician, and when it doesn't, to call us. Prompt emergency electrical service is available 24 hours a day for Tucson and surrounding cities. Appliance circuits, circuit breakers & fuses, ceiling fan installation & maintenance, code corrections, data/ communication lines, dedicated computer circuits, electric water heaters, exhaust fans, fluorescent lighting, ground fault interrupt circuits, generator transfer switch installation, hot tubs & spas, LED lighting, lighting design & maintenance, motors, outlets & circuits, security/ landscape lighting, panel upgrades, smoke detectors, surge protector, transformers, etc. 10% military, first responder, and veterans discount.  

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

02/10/2016


Alexander M.

Description of Work
.

Category remodeling

3.0

06/26/2014


Carol M.

Mr. Leitz was punctual, polite, and efficient in taking measurements, answering questions, and providing information. When he left he said that he would provide an estimate in about a week or so ... this was fine since we are not in a huge hurry. However, after three weeks we had heard nothing from Mr. Leitz. I emailed him and politely reminded him that we were still waiting for the estimates and that if he had decided that the projects were not something he wanted to do, would he please let us know so we could seek alternative help. Now another week has passed and we still have heard not a word from him. We would have been perfectly fine if Mr. Leitz had simply declined the job. He seems to have a business that may prefer larger projects and that's fine if so. However, we found it to be very inconsiderate that we have not heard one word from him one way or another since he came to the house. Even if he gets back to us at this point we will not use his service.

Description of Work
Provider came to our home to measure for estimates. We asked for separate estimates on three different projects: 1) sliding shelves for kitchen cabinets, 2) built-in cabinets/shelves for a living room alcove, 3) walk-in closet renovation.

Category custom cabinets,closet systems,remodeling,woodworking,home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Sorry I couldn't get back to you, my fault for not responding better. I've been swamped with work and couldn't leave the other jobs. Getting a C from you for not returning calls is fair, getting a C from you for not even doing the job is unfair.
5.0

03/23/2014


lyn H.

There is absolutely no way our remodel experience could have been any better. Because my husband works full time and I have an education in interior design, I was managing the remodel. I knew this would be a long process (the entire remodel has taken 7 months with some small things still being tweaked) and I was worried about receiving condescending or rude treatment as a woman from whoever we ended up hiring to do the work (which has happened in the past with other workers/repairmen). It was immediately apparent that this would not be the case with Gary working on our project. He is respectful, a good listener, patient, and knows how to diplomatically make suggestions/recommendations when the ideas a homeowner has about remodeling are uneducated or are not safe or possible. His workers also had the same qualities, and I felt very comfortable when they were here and Gary was not. If I called Gary with any questions or issues, he responded quickly either by phone or coming to our home. I could reliably expect them to arrive at whatever time we had agreed on for the day’s work and if for some reason those plans had changed, Gary notified me immediately. Gary also did many additional things for no extra charge that an unobservant homeowner or one that was not present every day during the work as I was might not notice…he fixed little “glitchy” things such as doorknobs that were hard to turn or doors that did not shut correctly, purchased various pieces and parts (which sometimes required driving all over Tucson to find the correct thing) and refused reimbursement. He and his workers helped me move the packed contents of our house from room to room every week to accommodate the work that was being done and to make it easier for me to unpack things, along with moving heavy furniture items. And possibly the biggest thing of all was when he came by one weekend to check on the work done by his workers that week. He found me mopping up water and placing a bucket on our new bamboo flooring to catch the roof leak that had occurred overnight during the rainstorms we had in November, which was all I could do since my husband was out of town. Without any hesitation at all, Gary was up a ladder and on the roof in the pouring rain to do a temporary fix with waterproof roof patch. Because more storms were on the way, he immediately rescheduled all of his other work for that week to come repair the leak, much to our relief! My husband wanted to do some of the remodel work himself (tear out the old hot tub, lay new floor tile in the bathrooms, laundry room, and kitchen backsplash, paint) and Gary was not only fine with all of that, he also offered opinions and advice as necessary and loaned my husband tools/equipment that we would have had to otherwise rent or purchase. He also dealt with the sub-contractors that were necessary for our project (concrete, electric), so the only contractors I had to work with directly were him and the countertop installer, which made life much easier. Gary’s charges for the quality and quantity of work done were extremely fair as was his practice of requiring a deposit, a “half-way” point payment, and a final payment for the individual parts of the remodel. He never asked for final payment on anything until the work was done both to our and his satisfaction. After 16 years of planning and waiting until we could afford a remodel, we now have the changes in our home that we have always dreamed of and we love it all. We will always contact Gary for any other future work we ever need and I have already recommended him to several other home and business owners.

Description of Work
Major home remodel of the following areas: 1. Flooring ~jack hammered out old saltillo tile ~scraped & cleaned exposed slab ~laid down polyethylene moisture barrier & cork underlayment ~installed floating bamboo flooring ~installed rubber wall base 2. Master bathroom ~concrete pour to fill in hole left from removal of large built in hot tub ~remove old shower stall & reconfigure into open shower with half wall & shower curtain ceiling track ~relocate shower water line to new half wall & install new shower fixture ~lift & brace ceiling joists to repair bowed ceiling over old hot tub location ~removal of exhaust fan vent & A/C vent over old hot tub location ~LED recessed can lighting installed ~floor to ceiling wardrobe cabinets & handles installed ~old toilet removed & new toilet installed ~old large double bowl vanity wall mirror removed ~industrial style medicine cabinets installed (recessed into wall) ~LED bar lighting installed over medicine cabinets ~new vanity sinks & plumbing installed ~repair & texture all ceiling & wall drywall affected 3. Guest bath ~old toilet removed & new toilet installed 4. Kitchen ~tear out existing cabinets, countertop, sink, range & hood, refrigerator ~relocate dedicated electric & water line for new location of refrigerator ~install 220 circuit for new wall oven ~run electric across slab for new island ~install new cabinetry & handles ~remove old track lighting & install LED recessed ~install new cook top, hood, wall oven, & refrigerator ~reinstall dishwasher ~install & brace new industrial style stainless sink ~install new faucet & garbage disposal ~change electric outlets over countertops to countertop level outlet strips ~repair & texture all ceiling & wall drywall affected 5. Living room ~remove old wet bar cabinetry, sink, & fixtures ~cap off water line ~remodel wet bar closet into arched niche ~change old ceiling fixture in niche to LED recessed can ~create arched pass through "window" in wall between living room & dining room ~repair & texture all drywall affected 6. Roof leak ~remove roof tiles & replace roof felt ~remove old clay scuppers ~lowered scupper openings to improve drainage ~installed new galvanized steel scuppers ~repair & texture ceiling where drywall damaged by leak 7. Studio ~run new electric line to center of floor & install floor outlet 8. General ~daily cleanup of construction mess ~haul away all old cabinetry, toilets, etc., from tear out ~haul away other construction debris (cardboard boxes, packing materials, etc.)

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much, Mrs. [member name removed], for that kind review. It was a pleasure doing business with you and I hope you enjoy your remodel.
5.0

08/17/2013


Gail W.

Gary, the owner, was very friendly, punctual and the service was timely. He did not change his original quote He completed the work on time and worked until it was done I would recommend him to any of my friends - I have bathroom work I'd like to call him on in the near future His work is outstanding

Description of Work
Kitchen repairs

Category remodeling

5.0

06/06/2013


Carla B.

Gary of Desert King Carpentry is great! He is my go to guy when I need him for anything around my house. He is very friendly and professional and I recommend him highly for anyone looking for a Carpenter. He is trustworthy, gives good estimates, is very quick at his work and completes the job in a timely manner. I had him and his worker Ryan tear out tile out of my living room, which is a horrible job in itself, and they did it quickly and cleaned up everything after. They hung plastic to keep dust from getting into other rooms of the house and when I returned I couldn't even tell it was done as the house was free of dust and it was very clean work. He has also taken our evaporative cooler off our roof since it was an eye sore and never used. They were done in a short time and patched the roof quickly. You couldn't even tell it was ever there. They even removed the very heavy cooler and took it to the scrap yard for me. Recently, I had him remodel my master bathroom. He was so helpful in providing information and experience to guide me in the right cabinets, colors, lighting, and back splash. Everything looks great now and I love my new bathroom. I definitely will be using Desert King Carpentry when I will be remodeling my guest bath in a few months!

Description of Work
Remodeled master bathroom plus odds and ends around the house- put up ceiling fan, fixed outlets, patched holes in walls, patched roof, tore out tile and more.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you [member name removed] for that great review. It was a pleasure doing all the work for you and hope to do more in the future if you need anything else done. Thank you again.
5.0

06/05/2013


Christina B.

DesertKing is a pleasure to work with. Gary was very responsive to our needs and patient with our changes. He had great recommendations and we both felt he was extremely trustworthy and honest. He even noticed our garbage disposal was leaking and fixed it right on the spot. Also, he found that some of our base moulding was separating from the wall so he re-attached and caulked it for us, no extra charge. He was professional and performed all of the services per our contract (plus some) for the price we had agreed on, no hidden or surprise fees. The job was completed on time even though we had added a few things, like installing a new sink and the fixtures. We are planning on having Gary paint the exterior of our house in the Fall.

Description of Work
DesertKing was referred to us by a good friend. Gary performed a variety of jobs for us including hanging new kitchen cabinets we had already purchased, removing a wall and enclosing another. He also installed porcelain tile for the bathroom floors. We had a new glass shower enclosure installed where our old tub was, and converted the previous shower area into an efficient linen closet. That was a suggestion by Gary and and I'm so happy with that decision because we now have storage space, and the tub was wasting space for us. We purchased all new appliances in which he installed all of them for us. Gary also installed our new chandelier, pendant lights, canned lights and above counter lights.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much [member name removed] for that positive review. It was a pleasure working for you. The list you had made it very easy to get things done in the amount of time you had hoped. So thank you again.
5.0

06/04/2013


Jan K.

Gary was always prompt, pleasant and professional. I know I was so fortunate to hear of him and he is such a profectionist. He is going to do both bathrooms for me now and I have NO woriies since he will be on the job!!!

Description of Work
Desert King updated my kitchen which included cutting down a raised counter therefore adding counter space. He got the electrical and appliances disconnected . He installed an under mount sink, new faucet, garbage disposal with counter flush disposal button. Then his granite guys were able to template and do the install. He came the very next day and hooked everything back up. Last month they came and made me an entertainment center. Everyone that sees my home is in awe of his work!

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much [member name removed]. It is nice to have a customer like you and look forward to more work from you in the future. Thanks again.
5.0

05/30/2013


tina Z.

Gary was fantastic to work with. He, along with other contractors provided, did a complete renovation of my home. Floors, bathrooms, kitchen, lighting. From tear out, to all new finishes, Gary was professional, responsive, and knowledgeable. The project was done well and in a timely manner. Gary addressed all issues and concerns throughout the process. I would highly recommend his company. He does great work!

Description of Work
Complete remodel of 2,300 square ft. home.

Category contractors,ceramic tile,countertops,drywall,electrician,flooring contractor,remodeling,ceiling fans,home remodeling,doors

Service Provider Response

Thanks (deleted member name). It was a pleasure working for you. And I know the kitchen was a tremendous selling point for you. Thank you again for the nice review.
5.0

05/29/2013


George M.

It has gone extremely well. Desert King was always in touch, keeping us informed in all the phases of construction. Working long term with someone is hard, I know because I have done this before. The quality of Desert King work has been exceptional. While we spent lots lots of money getting the work done, we saved many thousands of dollars because Desert King has been able to do many jobs themselves and they knew who to use for specialty trades that require exceptional skills, like granite and complex electrical work. Good professionals tend to want to work together, so Desert King always seemed to bring the best to our house to help with the work. The work flow was excellent: People came on the job as scheduled, worked with great trade craft and they, too, treated us fairly. If something needed to be changed, it was with speed and fairness. Desert King is an exceptional contractor, knowledgable in all facets of construction and remodeling. They are easy to work with. If mistakes were made of one type or another, as they always are, the solutions were always well thought out and fairly and speedily done. They never left us "hanging" or in a dead end. We will use them again, without reservation, and they have our unqualified recommendation to homeowners seeking remodeling services like the ones we undertook.

Description of Work
Not all of the cost of the remodel was paid to Desert King but they coordinated most of the entire construction project and freely offered suggestions when asked. The were invaluable as a sounding board for our ideas. In total, they worked with us for the last two and a half years doing projects as we could afford to do them that included most of interior of the house in some form or another. For example, they removed and reinstalled the kitchen completely and partially modified two bathrooms including cabinet installation and modification, tile, granite, backsplash, dry wall, rough and finished carpentry, insulation, paint, door and window installation and appliance, sink, and plumbing installs of various types.

Category contractors,ceramic tile,countertops,drywall,plumbing,remodeling,woodworking,home remodeling,doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much (deleted member name) for the exceptional review. It was truly a pleasure to do all the work that was stated for you and so glad you are happy with it. Again, thank you very much.
1.0

04/15/2013


Constance P B.

Initially, we were satisfied with the work that was being done, but we have limited knowledge of the trades. Gary's contract included the installation of the limestone tile backsplashes using tile we purchased directly. He hired a tile subcontractor about whom we knew nothing, but Gary indicated that he had worked with him many times. (See review for Sunset Flooring and Tile). The tile installer failed to seal the limestone tiles prior to grouting them, causing the grout to seep into the stone and discolor it unevenly. Several efforts to remove the staining and to restore the tile to the original color failed. Gary tried to persuade us to try any number of things, including installing the new tile that we had to purchase (at a cost of $1,600) over the top of the ruined tile, in order to avoid removing the backsplash and having it reinstalled. He delayed and delayed for about a month. He denied having any experience with any other tile installers, so we had to research alternatives and obtain several recommendations from our cabinetry and tile suppliers. Gary finally talked with then and chose one to work with, but that installer declined to do the removal of the ruined backsplash in close proximity to the new cabinetry and granite countertops, as well as the newly installed polished concrete overlay floors. Gary sought to have us sign a waiver of any liability for any damage he might do during removal of the backsplash and preparation of a new surface to receive the tile. We declined to do so, because the tile installer who made the huge mistake and caused all of the problems was his sub-contractor, and not hired by us. We had a contract for a professionally installed backsplash and had already largely paid for that job. It was his responsibility to deliver what he contracted to do. After telling us that he would return the next day to begin the demo of the ruined backsplash, Gary failed to appear or to call. Despite several telephone messages left on his phone, he has never returned to the job or called to explain his actions. We have had to hire a new tile installer to remove the backsplash and to reinstall the new tiles, all at a cost of about $2,000. When they removed the backsplash, it unavoidably destroyed the drywall as Gary had predicted it would, so we are now down to the studs. Once the studs were exposed, the new installer expressed concerns about the electrical wiring for the undercabinet lighting and outlet strips that Gary had installed. They have indicated that it is not safe and is improperly done, so we now cannot move forward with the tile until we can have an electrician assess the issue and make needed corrections, at some unknown additional cost. We will also be required to pay that electrician to install the undercabinet and overhead LED lights and the undercabinet outlet strips that Gary was supposed to install. We will also have to purchase the outlet strips that Gary was to be supplying. At this point, we have no idea how much more time it will take and how much more it will cost us to finish this job and have already been 3 months without a fully-functional kitchen. UPDATE: After initially submitting this review, we tried to have our new stove installed. The installers were unable to do so, because Gary had installed a dryer plug instead of the appropriate range plug. We had to have the stove standing in the middle of the kitchen for 4 days while we had our new electrician replace it when he completed the other work required to correct Gary's work and to complete our job.

Description of Work
We hired Gary Leitz doing business as Desert King Carpentry for the general contracting of our kitchen remodel. We hired separate companies for the installation of the cabinetry, the fabricating and installation of the granite countertops, and the flooring, but Gary was to perform all plumbing, electrical, tile and carpentry services, as well as to install a roof vent for the new exhaust hood.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

First off, in trying to talk to (deleted member name) was not like talking to a homeowner, but an attorney because she always brought it up and threw it in our face that she was an attorney. My tile installer did a perfect job, even (deleted member name) said so. He did forget to seal the limestone tile but it would have made no difference because when I called the manufacturer of the tile, where (deleted member name) bought the tile, THEY would not even recommend any sealer to go on it. The tile job turned out beautifully but (deleted member name) had no idea that the limestone tile she picked out would turn a shade darker. So, she is trying to blame everybody but herself. She loved my tile guys work, but she wouldn't let him back in to rectify the problem. I offered to remove the tile, but she would not sign a waiver to cover any damages to the already installed new cabinets, countertops, and new flooring. When I asked her to sign it she said, "Honey, I'm a lawyer, you think I'm signing that?" Again with the lawyer!! So, I couldn't remove the tile. At that point, I called another tile guy that (deleted member name) gave me the number to, he came, he gave me a quote, and then changed his mind, too, because of the waiver problem and the potential damage to the new cabinets, countertops, and flooring. So, I called and left a message on her phone saying I would finish the electrical when the tile was done. AT NO TIME did she or her husband call me. I am busy with other jobs too, I can't sit and wait for her to call. I'm the one that called her and left a message to no avail. She took it upon herself to go out and get a more expensive porcelain tile. Not the original limestone she picked out, mind you, but a totally different tile. She knew she picked the wrong tile in the first place. As for Sunset Tile, they have done more than 50 jobs for DesertKing Carpentry out here with NO complaints. (deleted member name) even went to see a tile job I did for another customer and she loved it. I have even talked to a geologist out here which, by the way, I did his kitchen and tile work, and he said limestone changes color, no matter what you put on it. I even showed her samples of her tile out in her garage that my tile man made a sample of. The grouted one and a sealed one. She thought the darker one was the one that had the grout on it, but it was really sealant. Any and all of her "down time" falls mainly on her shoulders. She denied the appliance company to hook up her stove sooner because she said it would be in the way. Again, her own fault. I've been in business for over 30 years and there's always one who thinks they know more than the professional they hire. As far as knowing the procedure on remodeling, she told me she remodeled a home in Pennsylvania so she knows how it works. As far as the installation of the plug for the stove. I had a licensed electrical contractor install it. No problem. On the initial start of the job she only gave me a portion of the down payment because she didn't have the money, but she still wanted me to start. But I started anyway because I trusted her. She eventually paid, however the balance of $2000 was not because SHE pulled the plug on me. Again, let me state this very clearly, SHE LEFT NO MESSAGES OR PHONE CALLS ON MY PHONE, HOME OR CELL!!!!! I called her, and she never returned the call. All the electrical was done to work properly. All the "down time" and the "delays" are caused by (deleted member name) attitude and pettiness.I will not stand by and let my reputation as a reliable contractor be ruined by this person. I even fixed stuff in her walls that was done wrong by the original builder and holes in her drains that was damaged at NO CHARGE. I pointed them out, I could have let them go. My company is more than professional. I have more positive references than you can imagine.My workmanship is impeccable. Again, (deleted member name) feels slighted because SHE bought the wrong tile! She's paying for all this extra work because she made the mistake.

    Services Offered

    Remodeling & general contracting. Cown & base molding. Solar tube lighting. Garage modification. Door & window installation. Laminate flooring. Plumbing & electrical. Carpentry - rough & finished, display cabinets, bookshelves, entertainment centers, mantles, window seats, custom closets, decks, sheds.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Warranties
    Satisfaction