Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Baker's Mobile Aire Inc

Founded 1972 • With Angi since August 2010

4.8

(64) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3149 E 47th St

Tucson, AZ 85713

Description

Angie's List Super Service Award for the past 4 years! Baker's Mobile-Aire is family owned and operated in Tucson since 1972. We believe in providing a fair, honest service to our customers at a fair, honest price. We have an $95.00 diagnostic fee that covers the time to get to your home as well as

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
R C.
5.0
06/23/2022
Excellent service and price! A/C stopped during heat wave and Bakers got it fixed quickly and for a great price. Saved me $1800 from a competitors quote. The guys were so courteous, weren't trying to sell me anything I didn't need but did show me how to change my filters! These are now my A/C guys.
Description of Work
A/C repair
Category
electrician, heating & air conditioning/hvac
Barbara T.
1.0
07/10/2019
Spoke at length with the owner before scheduling service, and owner said " I'm sending the technician James that I send to my family when they need service." James arrived and checked the system but suggested the Capacitor be replaced and a part that runs from $12.00-$28.00 was charged $225.00 for the capacitor. Grossly overpriced. ( I checked on line for prices after he left) When he installed the capacitor, James didn't place the metal bar across the capacitor to secure but left the capacitor in the box and placed it unsecured in the unit. Didn't check the inside unit in the garage. I didn't call them back to do any other work, and would NOT recommend. Very disappointed that this business is on Angie's list, as I use Angie's list exclusively when looking for any type of service.
Description of Work
AC check, Dryer vent cleaned
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, dryer vent cleaning

Service Provider Response

I'm very sorry that one year after your service was performed you have any feelings of improper or inadequate service by our company. We welcome all feedback from our customers, it helps us grow and learn. We strive to provide the best service we can and we have earned all of the other A ratings listed on Angie'[Member Information Removed] List for a reason. As for your findings on the internet in regards to the pricing of your capacitor - I'm sure you understand that anything can be found cheaply on the internet. I can guarantee that the capacitors you were looking at were not American made multi capacitors carrying a 5 year warranty. I can also guarantee that those companies on the internet would not come back to your home and immediately replace your capacitor if by some chance it failed during the warranty period. We use flat rate pricing so the price you paid included the labor and taxes not to mention that you were making a great choice by supporting a small local family business, not some faceless entity on the internet. I welcome you to contact us so we can make this right for you, we stand behind all of our work and will be happy to discuss this further
John F.
5.0
05/22/2019
I called Baker's Mobile Aire because my AC, which is only 5yrs old, was not cooling. While I was talking to the office, they said a Tech had just finished another job and could be here in 20 minutes. All other companies I called were 2-3 days. James came and immediately knew what the problem was. I needed 5 pounds of coolant added to my system($475 + service call fee of $95). I was glad he fixed my unit and had him add a dye($250) to see if I had a leak. The follow-up appointment for the dye check was three weeks later. There were NO leaks found. The reason for dye was that three weeks prior to my AC not cooling, I had another company(Alaskan) come out and do a maintenance check. All they wanted to do was sell me a service contract and mentioned nothing about my AC refrigerant being low, but that my AC coils needed cleaning. According to James, my coils were fine. So, I highly recommend Baker's Mobile Aire.
Description of Work
AC not cooling
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the great review. We are happy to have the opportunity to help shed some light on the issues you were having. The trust customers like you place in our company is greatly appreciated and we look forward to serving you in the future!
Steven P.
5.0
05/02/2018
Very efficient. Found a capacitor below spec. When I asked if cheaper for me to buy and replace it or have them provide and install, tech was VERY honest and said cheaper for me to do it. I like honest techs. Baker's Mobile Aire Inc is the only company I deal with for my home heating and a/c service.......has been out at the house at least 4-5 times for preventative checks.
Description of Work
A/C Check Up
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Steven P.
5.0
05/02/2018
Efficient, thorough check-up. Most of all, did not try to "up-sell" or use fear tactics. As repeat and Angie customer, gave me 10% off. To note, my run capacitor slightly out of tolerance, showed me capacitance reading, but did not pressure me to act now.
Description of Work
Air Conditioning Check Up
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Michael C.
5.0
12/19/2017
Excellent. Our house has a vertical dryer vent. Apparently, it hadn't been cleaned since our house was built in 2001. The lint pulled from our vent filled an entire shop-vac tub! We were probably headed for a house fire. I highly recommend this service. The man from Mobile Aire was in and out in about 45 minutes. He explained what he would do, he got right to work, and we put everything back the way it was and tested the dryer when he was done. He showed us all the lint he had extracted, and explained that one of the the leading causes of house fire in Tucson is dryer-vent build-up. Out of curiosity, I checked online. According to Tucson Fire department, the leading cause of house fires in this area is unattended cooking, but according to the national Fire Protection Association, dryer fires are a common cause. Here's an extract of their report: Report highlights In 2010-2014, U.S. fire departments responded to an estimated average of 15,970 home structure fires involving clothes dryers or washing machines each year. These fires caused annual averages of 13 civilian deaths, 444 civilian injuries, and $238 million in direct property damage. The vast majority of fires (92%) involved clothes dryers. The leading items first ignited in dryer fires were dust, fiber or lint (26% of total) and clothing (26%), while items first ignited in washing machine fires were part of the appliance itself, including wire or cable insulation (26%), appliance housing or casing (24%), and drive belt (11%).
Description of Work
Dryer vent cleaning
Category
dryer vent cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your business and the great review. We are glad to help give you a little piece of mind with your dryer vent cleaning. We hope you have a fantastic holiday season!
Tobey T.
5.0
10/11/2017
Went well. Found more than I expected.
Description of Work
Dryer vent cleaning.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, dryer vent cleaning
Mary M.
5.0
09/19/2017
They are very honest, and they do good work.
Description of Work
check out air conditioner
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Mike P.
5.0
09/11/2017
I was totally impress with the response, customer care, expertise and professionalism. From the initial call thru arrival and followup you cannot ask for better. Marks phone response was beyond my expectation with his answers an they could be of help. James (tech) was another with a positive attitude "can do". His expertise is one to be recognized. He was able to diagnose the error an complete repairs. Quote for future services was completed an to be scheduled.
Description of Work
Heat pump not cooling.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Camilla S.
5.0
07/31/2017
The guy who came was wonderful. He was skilled at his job, professional, friendly, and had a great attitude. Our dryer works great as a result of the service he performed. We would definitely use Baker's Mobile Air again.
Description of Work
Dryer vents cleaned.
Category
air duct cleaning, dryer vent cleaning
Deb M.
5.0
04/24/2017
Excellent! James was professional, thorough, friendly and efficient. In a busy A/C repair season, my request was promptly executed. I would use Bakers again.
Description of Work
Dryer vent cleaning
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, air duct cleaning, dryer vent cleaning
Bonnie L.
5.0
03/20/2017
Great. We had tried it ourselves and even had the right equipment. But there was a bend in the vent that we couldn't detect and they were able to clear it.
Description of Work
They cleaned out our dryer vent.
Category
air duct cleaning, dryer vent cleaning
Carol D.
5.0
03/13/2017
The estimate and work was done very quickly and professionally in a tight timeframe. I am quite pleased with their services.
Description of Work
A new A/C and heating unit was installed.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Lorna G.
5.0
02/20/2017
It went very well. I got an appointment the day I called, the technician arrived on time and was very professional. My dryer vent is clear and my dryer is working great.
Description of Work
Clear a blockage in my dryer vent. Too much lint.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, air duct cleaning, dryer vent cleaning
Chris C.
3.0
02/12/2017
Knew there was a problem with dryer venting, since it was taking too long to dry clothes, in a new machine. While a/c worked fine, it was a newly purchased home, and thought it a good idea to have unit checked/cleaned. Baker's/Manny arrived, and first checked the a/c unit. No cleaning, just visual inspection, with feedback, it had not been properly maintained over it's life (12 yrs), and had multiple mechanisms "ready" to fail. Due to parts cost, his recommendation was to replace entire unit. Communicated that our home warranty would cover replacement, when needed. Next, the dryer vent. At initial inspection, Manny believed there was no actual exterior vent duct, just an open pipe, terminating underneath the house. As he attempted clean the pipe, he then believed the open pipe was terminating into a pool of water. We happened to have another vendor onsite, completing unrelated work, who became involved, when Manny shared that water was collecting underneath the home. Manny was unable to gain access, but alternate vendor was, and began his inspection. He discovered there was a vent duct properly installed, but had somehow been filled with water, and was unable to drain. That vendor disconnected the vent pipe, drained it, then reconnected at alternate location. Baker's was present, but strictly as an observer at this point. Vent was ultimately cleaned and cleared, but not by Baker's Mobile Aire. Sort of anticipated some sort of compensation, for Baker's inability to complete service; watching another vendor do the job, who charged as well, but that did not happen.
Description of Work
Dryer duct cleaning and A/C check-up
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, dryer vent cleaning
Jerry M.
4.0
01/09/2017
Performance of dryer was still poor after service. Called to report and technician came back right away. Confirmed he had left job incomplete. Completed work at no additional charge and dryer now works fine.
Description of Work
Clean out drier vent
Category
dryer vent cleaning
Robert B.
5.0
09/19/2016
Very well. Only problem was part of the issue was an electrical box problem and Baker's does not do electrical work or recommend anyone (not a criticism, I just know some AC contractors offer electrical expertise). Also, the unit is so old that Baker's may not be able to fully repair it, but it does cool so we are good for now. Again, not Baker's problem or fault , they are trying to locate the part but it may not be available. The manager on the phone is very helpful and the technician was easy to work with, so customer service is great!
Description of Work
Air conditioner not working.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Ron M.
5.0
06/16/2016
Manny was great! Knowledgeable, fast, thorough and informative. Even took before and after photos. He gave me recommendations for a better dryer hookup and future cleanings. Good value.
Description of Work
Cleaned a clogged dryer vent from the laundry room to the roof.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Jane M.
5.0
04/12/2016
Due to the distance of our AC unit from the street in front of our house, Baker's had to use a larger than usual crane to move the unit. Baker's was very professional and promptly answered my phone calls and emails. They showed up on time and were careful not to damage roof shingles that were not going to be replaced. During the removal of the unit, I was shown that the previous installer (not Baker's) had left large gaps at the bottom of the ductwork where it met the supply and return air ducts. When Baker's reinstalled the unit the correct way, the loud whistling noise from these gaps, which we had assumed was normal operating noise, totally disappeared. I would use this company again with no hesitation.
Description of Work
In order to repair a roof leak under our AC unit, Baker's Mobile Aire had to remove the AC unit on our roof and replace it after the roof was re-shingled.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
stuart U.
5.0
03/03/2016
He did an excellent job, laying out all of the options, and then doing the option I chose.
Description of Work
Cleaned out dryer vent and then repaired the issue that caused the backup.
Category
air duct cleaning, dryer vent cleaning
Jenny B.
5.0
10/25/2015
As long as I own a home in Tucson, Baker Mobile Air will have my business. I got 2 quotes for a failed A/C. Bakers quote came in cheaper and was a complete quote. The other company said they would have to send someone back out to be able to give me a quote for a replacement unit. When I called to ask a couple more questions I started a conversation with Todd (later to find out he was the owner). Todd was very straight forward and gave me his opinion on what he would do if he were in my shoes. I could tell he had my best interest in mind and not his profit. I was surprised at Todd?s honesty; usually most companies will try to get you to buy more even if it is not for your benefit. Todd went out of his way to research the best solution to my problem. I planned on giving him a good review from our first conversation, but after dealing with Todd during the whole interaction, I will give him great reviews and more importantly my continued business. I can honestly say this is one of only a couple of businesses that I have dealt with that have exceeded my expectations.
Description of Work
Repaired failed AC unit
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Wow, we are honored to have earned such a gleaming review from you. My father taught me a long time ago to treat our customers like I would want to be treated, and sometimes that means sacrificing profit for doing what is right. We emphasize that moral standard to all of our team members in hopes that we can honor my fathers legacy of earning trust one customer at a time. We truly appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again in the future.
Rex B.
5.0
07/25/2015
He did a very thorough job. Explained to me what the problem was and how to keep the problem from occurring again.
Description of Work
Cleaned my dryer vent. It was badly clogged.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, air duct cleaning, dryer vent cleaning

Service Provider Response

We are very grateful for the positive review and your business. If you should need any assistance in the future, we will be here for you
Karen F.
5.0
06/24/2015
I live out of state so I am not able to be at the property. After having a bad experience with another company, I contacted Baker's and requested their assistance. I told them them what happened and showed them the pictures that the previous company texted me. Todd was very professional and sympathetic. He was able to do the inspection the same week and he told me what to expect. Also, he mailed me a copy of the invoice that states exactly what was done at my property. I'm really happy with Baker's and will be using them in the future. It's good to have someone that I can call while I am out of state.
Description of Work
The technician did an inspection of my HVAC system. Another company recently did some work on it and I was not too happy with their service so I requested that Baker's do an inspection.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

We truly appreciate the trust you placed in us to perform your inspection. We take great pride in providing services with the highest quality and value. We understand the importance of earning trust from our customers, especially those who cannot be present when the work is performed. Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to serving you again in the future
Carrie S.
5.0
06/17/2015
Professional and experienced technicians
Description of Work
Cleaned out my dryer exhaust pipes
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, dryer vent cleaning

Service Provider Response

Your business and positive review bring us great satisfaction. We couldn't do it without the amazing team members we have here. Thank you for choosing Baker's Mobile Are for your HVAC needs
Mike S.
5.0
05/13/2015
Fabulous company!! Prompt, excellent customer service, great follow through, great experience with this company. Will absolutely use again, and will not hesitate to recommend to friends!
Description of Work
Cleared dryer vent that was completely clogged
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, dryer vent cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the amazing review! We take great pride in what we do and I'm very happy to hear about your wonderful experience with Baker's Mobile Aire. We truly appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again in the future

    Other local Pros in your area

    SFA, LLC

    Electrical contractor offering quality electrical services to residential, commercial and industrial sectors. We have a team of highly skilled employees dedicated to meeting the needs of our clients. Our goal is total customer satisfaction with work done in the safest and most efficient manner.  

    Angi Certified

    TVAC

    We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule a free estimate today.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    CC&J Electric

    We are a small, local, veteran owned and operated electrical company. We have experience in residential, commercial, industrial, solar and construction electrical work. Serving the greater Tucson, Green Valley, Marana and Vail areas.  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover Available
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Air conditioning & heating-installation, repair, maintenance & service. Dryer vent cleaning and ventilation services. Serving Tucson's heating & cooling needs since 1972

    Services Not Offered

    restaurant low temp refrigeration systems, appliance repair, industrial HVAC, automotive a/c, boilers, oil heating, & plumbing

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Baker's Mobile Aire Inc

    How is Baker's Mobile Aire Inc overall rated?

    Baker's Mobile Aire Inc is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Baker's Mobile Aire Inc open?

    Baker's Mobile Aire Inc is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does Baker's Mobile Aire Inc provide

    Baker's Mobile Aire Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover Available

    Does Baker's Mobile Aire Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Baker's Mobile Aire Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Baker's Mobile Aire Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Baker's Mobile Aire Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Baker's Mobile Aire Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, Baker's Mobile Aire Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Baker's Mobile Aire Inc?

    Yes, Baker's Mobile Aire Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Baker's Mobile Aire Inc offer?

    Baker's Mobile Aire Inc offers the following services: Air conditioning & heating-installation, repair, maintenance & service. Dryer vent cleaning and ventilation services. Serving Tucson's heating & cooling needs since 1972

    Are there any services Baker's Mobile Aire Inc does not offer?

    restaurant low temp refrigeration systems, appliance repair, industrial HVAC, automotive a/c, boilers, oil heating, & plumbing