Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Scottsdale Air Heating & Cooling

4.9

(219) Verified Reviews

Founded 1947 • With Angi since August 2004

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Licensed
Trade License Number
101485
Trade License Locale
Arizona
Trade License Authority
Arizona: Contractors
Trade License Expiration
02/28/2022
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
Closed
Monday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
Closed

Phone Number

Address

1121 N Sickles Dr

Tempe, AZ 85281

http://www.scottsdaleair.com

Description

Since 1947, our heating and air conditioning business was built on trust and honesty with a courteous and professional staff. Each one of our highly trained employees are non commissioned service technicians, which means you won't be pressured into buying more expensive or unneeded parts, it's our promise to you. Here at Scottsdale Air, we provide year round repair and service to Phoenix, Scottsdale, Paradise Valley, Tempe and the surrounding West Valley. Any problem that may arise with your air conditioning or heating unit is taken care of with promptness and efficiency by one of our professional technicians. Because we hire only the most qualified technicians, Scottsdale Air has earned six Trane Distinguished Dealer service awards, that alone speaks volumes about our employees. Additional e-mail - dispatch@scottsdaleair.com. Additional DBA - Comfort Engineering Inc....

Verified Reviews

4.9

(219) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

205

4

7

3

1

2

3

1

3

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

5.0

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

HVAC Companies (218)well & water pump repair (9)electrician (4)home energy audit (3)insulation (2)air duct cleaning (1)water heaters (1)
Showing 1-25 of 219 reviews
5.0

02/09/2021


Julie F.

Scottsdale Air was recommended to me by a friend who knows the owner, Mike Cross. Mike sent his salesman, Eric to my home. Eric looked over my house plans with me and understood what size units I needed. It was time to upgrade to the high efficiency units from the old R-22. Eric noted that a previous AC company had over sold me on a unit for a small section of my house. Mike offered to move it to another section of the house for it to better serve me. Eric knows the equipment he sells. He paid attention to my need for better filtration. My son is asthmatic. I like that Eric was honest and didn’t try to oversell me on units my home didn’t need. It was the heat of the Summer and Mike was quick to get new units installed ASAP. His crew worked on getting everything installed in one day. They cleaned up after themselves and left no trace that they had been there. My home is so efficient that I can run the temperature up higher than my older units and still feel comfortable. I actually have two units that sit idle. That is how efficient the new units are. When my mother’s home needed a new units, I didn’t hesitate. I called Scottsdale Air. Mike came out that day. He had new units installed the very next day. My other half is a general contractor. We have referred a lot of clients to Scottsdale Air. As he remodels homes for clients, we always call Scottsdale Air for a bid. Mike’s bids are fair. Our clients are happy with the service. Neighbors know my significant other is a general contractor. They always come to him for referrals. Scottsdale Air is our only referral we give. I know in the future, I will need new units for my office. When I do, I will be calling Scottsdale Air for the job.

Description of Work
Service and Installation

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/08/2019

5.0

02/09/2021


Marty Z.

Scottsdale Air has always been my go to for AC/Heating repair and maintenance. They are honest and respond quickly. They are wonderful!

Description of Work
service

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/09/2021

5.0

07/08/2020


William F.

Excellent company...from customer service friendly reception staff to VERY knowledgeable service technicians. My HVAC unit...now operates better than when installed 2 years by the company I bought it from. I would highly recommend Scottsdale Air.

Description of Work
Tune up...led to needed adjustments.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $98

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/08/2020

5.0

02/12/2020


Denis W.

Excellent. Technician called ahead. Arrived earlier than promised. Explained the work clearly. Identified an issue and clearly explained the situation. System is running great. Clear invoice with everything documented. Thank you.

Description of Work
Annual System Maintenance Check-Up

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/23/2020

Service Provider Response

Thanks for sharing
5.0

01/08/2018


Bob S.

The company was prompt and responsive, and installed the system quickly, after my old system had failed. There were some minor aesthetic installation issues which they addressed promptly.

Description of Work
Replaced an old air conditioner with new high-efficiency Trane. In the course of the work, I had them move the condenser unit from the roof to the ground.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $11,400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/08/2018

5.0

11/18/2017


Greg O.

Extremely well. Can't say enough good things about Scottsdale Air. Did everything they said they would do and some.

Description of Work
Whole house Lennox A/C and Heat.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $12,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/18/2017

5.0

10/04/2017


James O.

Dan did a very thorough and professional evaluation of our needs and recommended a 3 ton Trane heat pump system. The installer,s Angel and Eulogio, were very professional, friendly and courteous. The job was done with little disruption and they left our condo cleaner than before they came. We are very happy with the service and the system. I really wish I could rate this company A+

Description of Work
New HVAC System

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $6,100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/04/2017

2.0

09/22/2017


John J.

We are somewhat satisfied with the work but unhappy with the upsell (capacitor replacement), attempt to upsell (overflow safety switch), the price and the total lack of response by this company. Based on a recommendation and further research online we engaged Scottsdale Air Heating and Cooling to perform system checkup for two of our air conditioning units, which are approximately 3 years old, in May of this year. It was during the maintenance work that the technician told us that each unit’s capacitor was running hot and that we should change them since they were under warranty. We were getting ready to go out of state so despite the price we agreed to the work. Since the technician indicated he could not provide an invoice we asked that one be sent. After the paid invoice did not arrive I requested one about 5 days later and received it the same day. After giving it some consideration I sent the following email to the person who sent the email. “Thank you again for sending the invoice for the cooling system inspection on two of our units we had performed by [technician’s name]. In reviewing the invoice, before I file it, something has struck me as a bit odd and I apologize for not having addressed it sooner. It has to do with the labor charges for the replacement of the two capacitors. I still am trying to figure out why it appears to be so high. How can it be $156.40 for each unit? I guess what I am seeking is an explanation for the labor charges.” After no response I sent a follow up to the owner 5 days later and after again no response a follow up 5 days after that to the general email for the company. I never received a response. I realize I made several mistakes along the way such as not asking to see the test showing the capacitors were faulty and not contesting the credit card charge to force a response. I want to relay my experience with this company.

Description of Work
Maintenance/Tuneup of Two A/C Units

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $490

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 05/26/2017

5.0

09/13/2017


Brian S.

After emailing thru Angies List I received a call within an hour or so. They were very polite and said they could be out the next day by 10am. They said it was $95 for the diagnostic which would be applied to any repairs if needed. I received a call from Jonathan at 9:15am saying he was on his way and he arrived by 9:45am. He too was also very polite and after I showed him the air flow he got to work right away. Jonathan diagnosed the problem which turned out to be a diverter had spun loose into the closed position so he adjusted it to the correct position and secured it properly. My air flow is now as it should be and everything was done within an hour and the pricing was very good. Its not easy to find trustworthy and reliable contractors but I would highly recommend Scottsdale Air Heating & Cooling.

Description of Work
Needed a diagnostic of our attic air handler as the airflow to our vents was strong out of some vents and weak out of others. I tried going into the attic myself to take a look but not knowing anything about HVAC I decided to call Scottsdale Air Heating & Cooling.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $150

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/13/2017

5.0

09/09/2017


Susan K.

We have used them several times in the past. He is great. The owner's name is Mike.

Description of Work
He came out and gave us an estimate on a house we were looking at.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/01/2017

5.0

08/03/2017


Trevor M.

The technician had a replacement motor in his truck and fixed my air conditioner immediately. This was the first time I have used this business so I waited for awhile to see how the air conditioner performed before I wrote this review. The air conditioner has performed fine since the repair.

Description of Work
The fan motor went out in my air conditioner.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $705

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/24/2017

5.0

07/31/2017


Scott T.

They were very professional and did great week.

Description of Work
Motor replaced

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/01/2017

5.0

07/26/2017


William C.

They were there the same day I called after a night of 88F in the house. Found capacitor bad and fixed it along with checking freon condition and rinsing off the condenser fins.

Description of Work
Troubleshoot no air from central air.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $320

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/26/2017

5.0

07/14/2017


Matt H.

Came back from Alaska to a broken A/C that needed to be replaced. Had a couple other HVAC companies out but ultimately decide to go with Scottsdale Air. Dan Delgado was my first contact with the company. He came across as a very honest, non-salesman like, guy who truly cared. Mind you, it was in the 110-120F degree days, but I don't feel he tried to exploit that unlike the other companies that came out. He quoted me what I thought was a more than fair price considering the circumstances. He did his best to get the new unit installed the next day, but ultimately it ended up being two days before it was installed. This was much faster than I had expected. Upon completion of the install, the installer celled me at work so that I could go to my home to go over everything. I was met by the lead installer (can't remember his name?) and the owner of the company (I think his name was Mike.) The fact that the owner cared enough to be present post install really says a lot about this company. They walked me through setting up the thermostat and answered all of my questions. I was very impressed. The following week, Dan came out again to go over some other items and check to see how the unit was working. There were a couple of tweaks that I requested, and within a week, a service guy was out to complete. They also submitted my SRP and Lennox rebates for me (btw, already got the SRP one for $400). Bottom line, if you're in need of HVAC repair or replacement, these guys should be top of you list. Scottsdale Air exceeded all of my expectations. I can't say enough good things about them. Very happy customer!

Description of Work
whole unit replacement

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $6,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/10/2017

4.0

07/05/2017


Tom A.

They came out fast. Good work on the coils. My only complaint was that the refrigerant wasn't checked until after the coils were cleaned. I ended up needing a new unit and the coil cleaning was a waste. They should check refrigerant before performing service.

Description of Work
Service on AC

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $550

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 05/18/2017

5.0

06/12/2017


Molly S.

Extremely well. All 4 installers were professional, neat, respectful and made sure we understood the new system and thermostats. They recommended units that were a smaller tonnage than another vendor quoted and we saved money at installation and now on lower bills.

Description of Work
They replaced two units for us. We were very pleased with the installation, the instructions provided and I am very happy we used them.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/21/2017

5.0

05/23/2017


Gerald M.

Our experience with Scottsdale Air was excellent. The work was completed in one day and the crew was very professional. All our questions were answered and we were given good instructions regarding the new thermostat. All debris was removed and the working areas left very clean. We received a follow-up visit from our sales rep. who encouraged us to call again if new questions come up or if we feel further adjustments should be made.

Description of Work
Purchase and installation of a new 4-ton heat pump/air conditioning system and repair of a smaller second system.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/05/2017

5.0

05/19/2017


Ilia L.

Great, quick response and reasonable price on the repair, then helped with advice on a couple of related things.

Description of Work
Came out over the weekend to repair a broken AC unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/15/2017

5.0

04/20/2017


Carol F.

The installers were great. Jaime and Adam were friendly and answered all questions. The house looked like no one had ever been here after the installation. They had the old units hauled away by noon on the installation day. We also got the 10 yr labor warranty. Cost shown is before $750 in total rebates.

Description of Work
We are so happy we chose Scottsdale Air to install a new heat pump and air handler for us. The sales rep, Steve, was right on time. He did a load Calc and then presented us with our options so we could compare models, SEER ratings, cost, etc. He NEVER tried to upsell products or services we didn't need. We chose a Trane model and kept our existing Nest thermostat and Steve deducted that cost from our estimate. He called and scheduled installation for 2 days later. The installers were right on time as well. They oriented the heat pump the way we wanted since it sits to the front of our house and is visible from the street. We couldn't have asked for a neater installation. You can hardly see the hose and copper fittings. Looks like the heat pump is not hooked up at all! Steve suggested going with a Lennox media filter because it is hands down far and above Trane's filter and he said the installer would modify the box to fit it in. That's what I call good customer service.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $8,100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/20/2017

Images

Review for Scottsdale Air Heating & Cooling - 1121 N Sickles Dr, Tempe, AZ - 34864959

+1 More

5.0

04/19/2017


Jim B.

I knew my old a/c unit was going bad and that I needed to replace it before summer so I was lucky enough to have a good part of the winter to research, get estimates etc.. After reading a lot of reviews and narrowing it down a bit, I chose 4 companies to get bids from. All four companies came out with varying bids in terms of cost and overall detail\technical proficiency. Many of the other companies I dealt with were good but required a lot of back and forth\questions\ haggling etc.. Scottsdale Aire quoted me a great price and gave all of the details right from the start. I decided to reward them with my business for this and was not disappointed. They showed up and did the work exactly when they said they would. Everyone on their staff was courteous and professional. Their crew did an excellent job on the install and literally left my home cleaner than they found it. I would highly recommend this company to anyone needing heating\cooling work done.

Description of Work
A/C Split gas system replacement

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/20/2017

5.0

04/04/2017


Leigh O.

The installation was very professional and their technicians handled the challenges that came up very smoothly (our units are in utility closets that are a bit tight for space and they problem solved the issues that came up very well) These units have worked very well (basically maintenance free) and saved us money on our electricity bill.

Description of Work
Initially (2012) they replaced 2 of our 3 aging air conditioning units. Units were one 5 ton and one 3 ton unit. They were the best bid of 3 bids we solicited, so their pricing was competitive. About 6 months later, our 3rd unit (another 5 ton) needed to be replaced and we selected them again. We installed Trane model XR15-E units and since these were eligible for the APS rebate program (efficiency upgrade), the company also helped us file that paperwork and get the rebates.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $20,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/21/2012

5.0

03/30/2017


Tim E.

They were helpful and very professional. The office staff as well as the technicians were easy to work with, and responsive. Definitely would use them again, if needed.

Description of Work
Replacement of a part

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/16/2017