E & J Appliance Service Co

About

Founded 1982 • With Angi since August 2004

E&J is a family-owned and operated business that was started by Ernest “Ernie” Johnson, and has been serving the East Valley since 1982. 6 employees. No subs contractors. Cost is determined by the job. May contact through email. Calls are scheduled in 2 hour intervals 8-10, 9-11, 10-12 etc. Most credit cards accepted. Service in home or carry-in. Service all brands of appliances and water heaters. Factory authorized warranty service for Whirlpool, Maytag, Kitchenaid, Jennair, Admiral, Magic-chef, Roper, Estate, U-line. -Same day or next day service in most cases -We will treat your home with respect keeping the area we are working in clean with no mess for you to clean up after we leave -For your safety, all of our technicians have been thoroughly background checked by a national background security company -One of our technicians is in your service area everyday -All of our technicians are certified for the proper disposal of CFC refrigerants to save the environment -WE WANT YOUR BUSINESS AND IT WILL SHOW! CALL US NOW! 480-345-8884...

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

+13 more images

Verified Reviews

4.8

(325) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

284

4

23

3

11

2

4

1

3

Rating Details

Price

4.5

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

appliance repair (315)small appliance repair (27)water heaters (9)ceiling fan installation (1)plumbers (1)
Showing 1-25 of 325 reviews
1.0

01/12/2022


Linda P.

We had E & J come out because my dryer was extremely noisy when running. When the technician arrived, he barely touched the appliance before declaring the issue was a warped drum. He then claimed that this repair was extremely difficult and would cost upwards of $600. He charged me $100 for this “diagnosis” and then left. It only took a small amount of research to find that this issue was most likely a loose roller, not the drum. I bought a $30 replacement kit and after an hour had repaired the dryer myself. Absolutely dishonest diagnosis by this company. They basically charged me $100 to tell me they didn’t want to bother repairing my appliance. Suggest you avoid E &J Appliance Service Co.

Description of Work
My dryer was making a loud noise

Category appliance repair, small appliance repair

Cost $100

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 10/31/2021

Service Provider Response

Good Afternoon Ms. [Member Name Removed], Thank you for taking time out to mention your experience with us; we are able to make our company better when we hear from our customers. The notes indicate that the drum is warped and that it is scraping the sides, this is a fairly simple issue for a skilled technician to diagnose. The quote you were given totaled more than the cost an average dryer, close to $600. David loves a challenge and rarely passes up a job, we will be happy to earn the repair back should you wish to repair it. The quote you were given lasts 90 days and the diagnostic fee you paid will go toward the repair. We would be glad to have a chance to discuss this further with you over the phone, please call Alan or Sarah 480-345-8884 Take Care

5.0

12/02/2021


Christopher G.

Brian was great. He diagnosed the problem ordered the part and completed repair on the date and time scheduled. Very knowledgeable and friendly. I would recommend E&J for any of their services.

Description of Work
Dishwasher Repair

Category appliance repair

Cost $250

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/01/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind review! Happy holidays and we look forward to assisting you with any future appliance repair needs. Take Care, The [Member Information Removed]&J Family

5.0

07/15/2021


Arleen W.

We've used them for over 15 or 20 years now. They were very honest.

Description of Work
They did refrigerator, washer and dryer repair.

Category appliance repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/15/2020

Service Provider Response

We love and appreciate our loyal clients, 20 years is a long time! Thank you Ms. [Member Name Removed] for taking time out of your day to post a review about your experience with us. We look forward to next time you need assistance. Take Care, Sarah Johnson

3.0

02/13/2021


Brian L.

We have been waiting since their service call to give us a copy of their findings for our home warranty company and after several phone calls still do not have what we need .Can you help us?

Description of Work
Repair but they determined too expensive to repair

Category appliance repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/13/2021

Service Provider Response

Good Morning Mr. [Member Name Removed], I apologize for your frustration, but I'm afraid you may have us confused with another company. I have no record of your name or address in our system. Please though feel free to call us anytime Monday through Friday 7:30am-5pm 480-345-8884 and we can look further into this if you feel I am mistaken. Take Care, Sarah Johnson

5.0

02/06/2021


Gary R.

Washer beyond repair and had to buy a new one

Description of Work
Washer repair

Category appliance repair

Cost $98

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/06/2021

5.0

01/13/2021


Shawn M.

When my GE dishwasher died, I called an appliance service company and, after the technician examined the dishwasher, he told me the control panel had to be replaced. When that company failed to return my calls and texts to schedule the repair, I turned to E&J Appliance Service. The technician, Brad, was professional, friendly, and highly informative. In fact, he discovered that a ground wire was loose from the control board, which was all that was wrong with the dishwasher. He told me everything I needed to know about the control panel and the repair and, answered fully all my questions, and gave me useful recommendations should I want to eventually replace the dishwasher. Brad could have told me the control panel had to be replaced and I would not be the wiser, but he was honest and ethical. He also had a great sense of humor. I sincerely and enthusiastically recommend E&J, and Brad in particular, for prompt, courteous, and effective service.

Description of Work
dishwasher repair

Category appliance repair

Cost $89

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/11/2021

Service Provider Response

Mr. [Member Name Removed], Thank you very much for your kind words! It really means a lot to us as a company when we hear feedback like this from our customers, as we pride ourselves as a business that puts exceptional customer service at the top of our priorities. Brad is a valued part of the [Member Information Removed]&J family and we are grateful to have him on our team. Again, we appreciate your business and thank you for taking time out of your day to share your experience with us. We look forward to assisting you with any future appliance repair needs. Take Care, Sarah Johnson and the [Member Information Removed]&J Family

5.0

11/10/2020


Ernest F.

Refrigerator is now functioning perfectly.

Description of Work
Refrigerator freezing food, replace thermistor.

Category appliance repair

Cost $183

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/29/2020

Service Provider Response

Mr. [Member Name Removed], We are happy to hear your unit is back working properly for you. Thank you for your business and we look forward to helping you with any further appliance repair issues. Thank you, Sarah Johnson

5.0

10/04/2020


Donald R.

Found the problem and addressed the issue. As it turned out, repair wasn't the best option. The technician, however, was very helpful in directing us to the best replacement option.

Description of Work
Refrigerator was leaking water.

Category appliance repair

Cost $98

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/25/2020

Service Provider Response

Good Afternoon Mr. [Member Name Removed], Thank you very much for taking time out of your day to give a short review of your experience with us. We appreciate your business and look forward to assisting you with any future appliance repair needs. Take Care, [Member Information Removed]&J Appliance Service Co

5.0

06/29/2020


Janice M.

This was a perfect repair experience. Sarah went out of her way to get my service scheduled by the next day, and she worked with Maytag to ensure it was fully covered by warranty. The repairman, Scott, was prompt and efficient. He showed me the parts that went bad and explained why. He also wore a mask and gave me space. My dishwasher works well now. I would definitely use E&J Appliance Service again.

Description of Work
dishwasher repair

Category appliance repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/16/2020

Service Provider Response

Ms. [Member Name Removed], Thank you so much for your kind words, it really means a lot when our customers go out of their way to give us a review. We are glad to have been able to take care of your needs and look forward to assisting with an future appliance repair needs. Take Care, Sarah Johnson

5.0

06/05/2020


Patricia W.

You guys are the best!! Our tech was efficient, friendly and did the repair quickly. Thank you so much for your service. A+A+A+

Description of Work
Repair Freezer

Category appliance repair, small appliance repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/27/2020

Service Provider Response

Mr. [Member Name Removed], Thank you very much for your kind words! It really means a lot to us as a company when we hear feedback like this from our customers, as we pride ourselves as a business that puts exceptional customer service at the top of our priorities. Thank you again and we look forward to assisting you with any future appliance repair needs. Take Care, Sarah Johnson

5.0

05/23/2020


Victor Y.

Went as expected, service tech was very friendly and helpful

Description of Work
Pump replaced in dishwasher

Category appliance repair, small appliance repair

Cost $230

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/20/2020

Service Provider Response

Mr. [Member Name Removed], Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, we are glad to see Brad was able to assist you. And, we look forward to assisting you with any appliance repair needs in the future. Take Care, Sarah Johnson

5.0

05/17/2020


Michelle D.

Repair made to the washing machine and will replace the dishwasher. Excellent service, good advice

Description of Work
Washing machine repair and dishwasher issues

Category appliance repair

Cost $300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/05/2020

Service Provider Response

Ms. [Member Name Removed], Thank you for taking time out of your day to let us know how we are doing. We appreciate your business and look forward to assisting you again in the future. Take Care, Sarah Johnson

5.0

03/24/2020


suzanne B.

He inspected the problem,ordered a part, and came back to the following day to repair. Very nice young man.

Description of Work
Repair of washer lid

Category appliance repair

Cost $175

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/12/2020

Service Provider Response

Good Afternoon Ms. [Member Name Removed], Thank you for taking time out of your day to leave a review for us, we appreciate your kind words and look forward to assisting you with any future appliance repair needs. Best, Sarah Johnson

5.0

12/22/2019


John/Thomas F.

Determined the dryer was okay it was the circuit breaker. Was able to get that done separately. Brian the service technician was very helpful and professional. I would call on them again if needed. I highly recommend.

Description of Work
Dryer repair

Category appliance repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/17/2019

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thank you very much for the review about our company. Glad to see Brian could help you out. I will let him know he did a great job for you. We look forward to working with you in the future. Thank you, Alan

2.0

11/07/2019


james M.

2 attempts to fix, now unit is not working at all. 1st attempt he moved enitire back of refrigerator only to find he had the wrong motor for Kenmore Elite. Put it the back on, but did not connect so the refrigerator stopped cooling & food went bad. Called to report. Owner returned with freezer motor. Again, tore apart both back of refrigerator & freezer to fix prior mistake, installed motor. Now no ice is being made at all, even after waiting several days. Owner did agree to limit charges to the 1 trip charge of $98.

Description of Work
I wanted the ice maker to make more ice frequently

Category appliance repair

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 11/07/2019

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], I am very sorry about the what happened with this call. When we ordered the fan the parts house sent us the wrong one because their look up was wrong from LG. After we got the correct motor in there and it didn't work that is when we found out we needed the board also. You decided to not have the board put in and so our owner said he would only charge you for the service call. Again I am very sorry but sometimes we have to replace one part to find out there is another that is bad. Please call me at 480-345-8884 if you would like to discuss this any further. Thank you, Alan

5.0

08/28/2019


Stephen T.

He had to go buy a part but returned with part in hand to finish the job.

Description of Work
Repair water dispenser in refrigerator

Category appliance repair

Cost $225

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/23/2019

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thank you very much for the review about our company. Glad to see we could get your refrigerator back up and running again. Please keep us in mind for any appliance repair needs you have in the future. Thank you, Alan

4.0

07/18/2019


Cheryl H.

Everything was in good shape. He just had to do an acid wash on the air conditioner.

Description of Work
We just had the air conditioner checked out as it had been a year and a half since we moved in. The price seemed excessive, but I may be wrong. He was very good and seemed to do a good job.

Category appliance repair

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 07/17/2019

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], You have the wrong company. We don't work on air conditioners only in home appliances. Wanted to let you know so you could give the review to the correct company. Thank you, Alan

5.0

05/16/2019


KATHLEEN H.

They came same day, diagnosed the problem and gave us a quote. Took the day to think about repair vs. replace. Called them the following morning to go ahead with repair. Work was completed the day after that. Fridge parts are expensive apparently. I had them over not long ago to fix our microwave, similarly very good experience. Repairman Brian was very pleasant, knowledgeable, courteous, prompt. I will call them for any future appliance issue / repair, no question.

Description of Work
fridge went out

Category appliance repair

Cost $700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/15/2019

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thank you very much for the review about our company. Glad to see Brian did a good job for you. Yes sometime fridge parts can be expensive. We look forward to helping you in the future with any appliance repair needs you might have. Thank you, Alan

5.0

01/24/2019


Bruce B.

repair was quick and efficient. Totally satisfied.

Description of Work
Repaired wshing machine lid lock.

Category appliance repair

Cost $220

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/23/2019

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thank you for the review about our company. Glad to see you are happy with our services. That is the goal for every call we do. Please keep us in mind for any future appliance repair needs you might have in the future. Thank you, Alan

5.0

01/14/2019


Julie W.

While he was not able to fix the dryer (as it turned out we needed duct service), he was able to diagnose what was going on and refer me to someone who could. The technician was very professional and clearly wanted to be helpful.

Description of Work
Dryer wasn't working

Category appliance repair

Cost $89

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/07/2018

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thank you very much for the review about our company. Glad to see we could guide you in the correct direction to get your vents clear. Please keep us in mind for any future appliance repair needs you might have. Thank you, Alan

5.0

12/28/2018


Sandy B.

Well not E & J fault - but said it would be better to buy a new one - very old and expensive to repair

Description of Work
Check the electric dryer that is not working

Category appliance repair

Cost $89

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/28/2018

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thank you for the review about our company. Sorry we could not save your dryer but sometimes it is better to replace than repair. Please keep us in mind for any future appliance repair needs you might have. Thank you, Alan

5.0

12/25/2018


Matthew E.

Repairman was very knowledgeable and new problem by description. Very helpful

Description of Work
Refrigerator

Category appliance repair

Cost $250

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/20/2018