Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Desert Rose Door Refinishing

Founded 2004 • With Angi since June 2007

4.9

(58) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

7650 S McClintock dr STE: 103-494

Tempe, AZ 85284

Description

Desert Rose Door Refinishing is licensed, bonded, and insured specializing in residential and commercial door refinishing and finishing. Our craftsperson has 18 years of experience in refinishing doors. Our process allows us to complete your wood or fiberglass door, on-site, generally in one day resulting in a door that looks better than new....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

06/03/2018


Kay M.

Excellent job, including mounting new exterior door handle which we had purchased separately to match prior holes. Able to produce just the color we wanted. The process was very efficient, and we are very satisfied.

Description of Work
Refinish fiberglass entry door

Category doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review and we are happy that we were able to meet your expectations.
5.0

04/04/2018


Mamie C.

The crew arrived in the timeframe provided, professional and easy to work with, they even provided some assistance with changing door hinges of an adjacent door to match.

Description of Work
The company was extremely easy to work with, they accepted my photos of the work I was requesting to be done and was happy to provide me a quote over the phone.

Category doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the review and we're glad that you love your door!
5.0

10/29/2017


Gary S.

Accomplished quickly and professionally. Only concern was their use of house current for power tools, rather than their own generator -- added considerably to that month's power bill.

Description of Work
Refinishing 10' tall front door and larger archway

Category doors

5.0

08/30/2017


SHANNON S.

I had no problems with them at all, except they are so busy they couldn't come for over a month after coming out and giving us an estimate. The price may seem a little high, until you realize the amount of work done and the quality of work done. They showed up on time, removed the large, heavy door from the frame, sealed off the front door opening, set up shop in our driveway, removed the old finish, sanded the door, refinished the door and re-hung it (they also stained the frame to match), all in one business day.

Description of Work
The solid wood and stained glass front door needed refinishing.

Category doors

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] thank you for the review...we appreciate it. If you ever have any questions, just give us a call.
5.0

05/10/2017


Joseph R.

Fabulous. We had to wait two months for an appointment, but it was worth it.

Description of Work
Badly scratched wooden entry door was sanded, stained and refurbished

Category doors

4.0

12/29/2016


richard P.

it went well they provided a reference

Description of Work
looking for reference for door repair and finish

Category doors

5.0

12/16/2016


Thomas M.

Excellent Work. Professional crew. Due to the demand for their work I had to wait a month or so for them to show up, but am very satisfied with their work. Great attention to detail and overall thoroughness. Fairly expensive but the end product is spectacular. Five 2" solid walnut doors with extreme sun damage look like new.

Description of Work
Solid exterior walnut doors refinished

Category doors

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed] for the review. So glad you are happy with your doors. If you ever have any questions, just give us a call!
5.0

09/05/2016


Linda W.

Good - Outside face of an oak front door had deteriorated, varnish had failed and wood was exposed to the elements causing fading, cracking etc. Brian and Josh (I think) arrived on time, stripped and refinished the door fixing the cracks and replacing the sweep. Color match (to inside finish) was great. We chose an acrylic finish (vs varnish) which is suppose to stand up to the elements better - time will tell - it isn't as smooth as varnish but looks fine. Communication with office (scheduling, callbacks etc.) could be improved

Description of Work
Refinish front door (outside face)

Category doors

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed]! Call us if you ever have any questions.
5.0

02/20/2016


Thomas P. C.

I phoned Rose twice to praise the work of the two young gentleman who did the work, but I guess Rose got too busy, because she forgot to return my calls. Oh by the way, I asked another contractor for an estimate to refinish the front doors, but he did not seem too eager t do the refinishing work, but instead told me that it would be cheaper just to buy another door. However, all the doors with an intricate design like ours, would have cost around $2,000-$2600. So, Desert Rose not only did an excellent job, but ended up saving us $1400-$2000. I highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Called Rose, and her husband came out the very next day to give us an estimate to refinish the exterior of our two-door, double entry front door. The two-man crew not only showed up on time, but showed up early at 7:00am. They work diligently all day, finally finishing up around 2:00pm. They explained the entire process to me. After they had the door all stripped and sanded down to bare wood, we decided on which color stain and which kind of sealer to use. The door turned out beautiful! Everybody who comes to the house comments on how nice the doors look, even asking if we got new doors installed.

Category doors

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much for the review and we are happy that you were satisfied with our work. I've left a couple of messages since your review. I would be happy to talk to you at any time.
5.0

02/12/2016


Hollis M.

Had a great experience. Rose got the details of the job and sent an estimate. The crew came out and did a fantastic job. The door looks brand new. Very happy with the whole experience. Would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
Refinished the front door and frame

Category furniture repair,doors

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much for the review and we're glad you are happy with your door. If you ever need anything...please give us a call.
5.0

10/06/2015


Laura P.

The team was great. They showed up on time, thoroughly explained the process, made sure everything in the surrounding area was covered in plastic, and took the time to blend the perfect color to match the original color.

Description of Work
Refinished exterior of wood door

Category doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review and I'm glad we were able to meet your expectations. Give us a call when you are ready for a maintenance coat!
5.0

07/13/2015


Cindy K.

My west facing front door was in serious need of refinishing. The prior home owner had previously finished it with several layers of paint and stain, and it had cracked, faded, and was peeling down to the primer. I contacted one door re-finisher who said that he wouldn't even attempt the work. Desert Rose Door Refinishing was recommended by a handyman I have used in the past. When I called, Rose was very nice and scheduled to have the company owner come to give me an estimate. He was prompt and professional and provided me with a very reasonable estimate. I had the work done today and am very impressed! The workmen arrived at the time they had scheduled and were all very polite and professional. They stripped off all of the old finish until the wood looked new, both on the door and the trim. The finish they applied is a satin-like finish and it looks great! They had everything done and cleaned up in less than 6 hours! The foreman also told me about the maintenance program they offer, which I will definitely take advantage of! Overall, I give Desert Door Refinishing an excellent rating!

Description of Work
Refinished my front door

Category doors

Service Provider Response

Hello and thank you for taking the time to provide a review. We are so happy that you love your door and we were able to make your door beautiful again. Call us when you are ready for maintenance.
5.0

06/22/2015


Chris D.

Very good company. Showed up on time, fully explained process and went as described. I don't think the 40 year old door had ever been refinished, now looks great! Workers friendly and courteous. Would not hesitate to recommend or use again. Solid 5 star rating.

Description of Work
Refinish wood exterior door

Category doors

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much for the review [Member name removed]. Our crew appreciates the feedback as well. Just give us a call if you ever have any questions.
5.0

06/11/2015


Leticia S.

Updated this today, still quite happy with my front door!

Description of Work
Restrained fiberglass done, turned out nice

Category doors

5.0

04/18/2015


Chris L.

Prompt, professional, done ahead of schedule and the work is absolutely stunning.

Description of Work
refinished main entrance and door to guest house

Category doors

Service Provider Response

We're happy to know that you are very satisfied with the outcome of your door project. Call us if you ever have any questions.
5.0

02/10/2015


Charles M.

Doors were removed, stripped, sanded and refinished. Color options and final sealer choice provided and explained.

Description of Work
Refinish double wood front door.

Category doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review. Enjoy your door!
5.0

02/09/2015


Jennifer G.

I contacted the company by phone and was told that they do estimates on Tuesdays. The next Tuesday, I found their business card on my door and was called the next afternoon with a quote. The entire process was explained to me as well as time estimates for the completion of the work. I booked them and received a conformation call the week before the work was to be done. I only had the exterior of the doors refinished due to 20 years of sun and water damage. The two man team showed up during their arrival window, removed the doors, put plastic up to seal off the opening, and got to work in my driveway. I was consulted on the color and was shown the color on door and approved it before they sealed it. The estimated time to complete the work was accurate. I was also told what to look for when the doors would need maintenance in the future. A+ interaction and the doors look great.

Description of Work
Refinished outside of double entry doors

Category doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the detailed review of our company. It was a pleasure making your door beautiful again!
5.0

01/03/2015


Bruce B.

After finding good reviews on Angies List and strong recommendations from our neighbors (and excellent looking doors) we finally had our door refinished. They did a great job, were attentive to detail and careful with our house. The door looks great, and will last for many more years. The cost seemed really high (although it was in line with other bids), but after watching a crew of four people work almost eight hours to refinish the door and jamb, it was much more work than I had originally thought it would be. We'd highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Refinished our front door

Category doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review and specific comments. Please give us a call when you are ready for a maintenance coat.
5.0

12/26/2014


lisa Y.

Scheduling with Desert Rose was a bit tough at first because December is a busy time of year for them. I called about a month in advance to schedule our front doors to be refinished by 12/20. Unfortunately, they did not have availability and Rose and I had to go back and forth over the course of a couple of weeks to schedule. Luckily, a time slot became available and Rose called me a couple of days in advance for the refinishing to take place on 12/20. Brian and his crew arrived on time (~7:15 a.m.) and worked diligently throughout the day to finish our doors by 2:30 p.m. Throughout the process, they asked us to come out to the driveway to look at the progress and get our OK to proceed. They were knowledgeable, friendly, and did a wonderful job! We love our new front doors! Thank you!

Description of Work
Refinished our two 30 year old standard-sized wooden front doors

Category doors

Service Provider Response

I'm happy to read that you love your "new" front doors. It was our pleasure to make them beautiful! If you need anything in the future please give us a call.
4.0

12/01/2014


Diane M.

The door is very well done. We got off to a rocky start as the owner did not respond when I originally called. He called apologized for the lack of response the first time. They scheduled, were on time and cleaned up totally after they completed the job. I would recommend Desert Rose and I would use them in the future. They covered the front door so no cold air could come in. The door was removed and placed in the driveway to finish. A drop cloth was underneath to keep all material off the driveway. He rehung the door, installed new hardware and the door looks like new. The door was a fiberglass door and it was not easy to refinish. I want to take this time to thank Desert Rose for making everything right.

Description of Work
Our front entrance door was refinished. Don and his assistant provided all materials.

Category doors

Service Provider Response

I'm so glad we were able to make your fiberglass door beautiful again. Also, thank you for your understanding due to our mix up.
4.0

10/29/2014


Thomas L.

Hard time to get a reply, Rose was professional but they really need a secretary to answer calls and reply in a timely manner

Description of Work
Asked for a bid for 4 wood doors to refinish

Category doors

1.0

10/23/2014


Diane M.

Did not get the work done. My first time using Angie's list and was very unhappy with the outcome. However, I have since contacted LGL Construction through this site and Adam has been very responsive and very professional. I will probably use him.

Description of Work
I had contacted this business at least four different times to do two doors in Casa Grande. I was assured that they did work in Casa Grande by Rose. I sent pictures of the doors that I wanted refinished. I was assured that they would get with me to give me a bid on the doors. When I did not hear anything I called again, and again and once again. I was assured that someone would contact me to go over the bid for the doors. I was never contacted and the doors where never done.

Category doors

4.0

10/22/2014


Kristina Z.

While I’d really like to praise Rose and her crew for being extremely responsive and professional in all of their interactions with me, and for their reasonable estimate, I was satisfied but not 100% satisfied with their work. My doors are top of the line and have glass panels, so I appreciated that they were careful with them, chose an appropriate finish based on what I had described (so overall they really look great), and even came back quickly when I noticed there seemed to be an issue with the way they were re-hung/attached. However, I just felt the work was a little bit less meticulous that I would have hoped. I had one side refinished a darker color and I can see some drip marks at the top of the inside of the doors (that I kept a lighter color) and some darkness on the bottom of the inside of the doors as well (kind of like some sort of dark material they used got on it). I also still think the main door I use doesn’t seem to close as well as it did before. I would have bugged them more about these issues to give them the opportunity to remedy them, but I am not all that invested in the doors since my house is for sale (and I have a busy schedule). I might still use them again in a future home, but I’d probably just be a bit more on top of them in terms of fixing issues.

Description of Work
Refinished large wood front doors.

Category doors

Service Provider Response

I'm sorry that you were not 100% satisfied with our work. I do have in my records that we came back to adjust your doors, but I have nothing about your other concern. Whenever there is an issue we are happy to return and make corrections. If you have not sold your home yet we would be happy to take care of the other issues. Or, if you have sold your home and the new owners would like us to take care of the issues, we would be happy to do so. I also realize that your time is valuable and we could arrange to take care of this as we did in the past.
5.0

10/10/2014


Myra B.

Having our front door refinished by Desert Rose was one of the best house maintenance experiences we've had since moving to the Valley in '02. It started off with Rose coming to the house, taking pictures of our front door, talking about our objectives and discovering that my husband and I are design/color challenged. We knew we wanted to darken the color of the door, but weren't sure what shade we should select. She agreed that it should be darkened and reassured us that the guys doing the work would have colors samples for us to select from. Their team showed up on the appointed day, on-time and with samples. They simplified the selection process for us and we really appreciated their patience with us. The guys worked efficiently, communicated with us and thoroughly cleaned up after themselves. Absolutely no complaints with this company. AND, the door looks FABULOUS!!! Neighbors are raving, as well. We are seriously considering having them return to do the interior side of the door.

Description of Work
Refinished front door.

Category doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you for leaving such a nice review of Desert Rose Door. Refinishing doors to our customers satisfaction is important to us and if you ever have any questions, please don't hesitate to contact us.
5.0

07/07/2014


Herbert M.

She called back that night and explained how she will be working. She takes pictures of the doors and will take notations. She explains all procedures and the husband works out all the details.

Description of Work
I got a quote to install french doors in our house.

Category furniture repair

Service Provider Response

It was a pleasure working with you. Thank you for the review.

    Other local Pros in your area

    DunRite Windows & Doors

    We don't repair windows or broken glass, but if you need to replace all of the windows in your home, DunRite Windows & Doors is a long-time consecutive winner of the Angi Super Service Award who you can trust for a smooth, hassle-free experience at a great price. We'll move furniture, and take down window treatments and blinds–unless it's a piano or extremely fragile, of course–before installing your new windows, then put everything back and leave no debris behind. We also include a free lifetime installation warranty for as long as you own the home. Please check our online reviews, as we're proud of our reputation, and schedule an in-home estimate today. You'll be impressed by our prices, our level of service, and the variety of brands we offer. Financing available; three-exterior-item minimums apply.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by DunRite Windows & Doors on Angi
    Speedy Furniture Repair

    Owner-operated, no subcontracting, cost is determined by the job, travel charges will be applicable. By appointment only. Established in 2004. Award winning.  

    Kachina Contracting

    I've been in the Door and Window business for 7 years. Working for the big box stores, I found out that every customer is just another $ sign to them. I treated every customer and their home with class and respect to make sure their remodeling project never had any added stress and always left them with a smile. We do not provide any repairs for already existing product. We only provide replacement services.  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Residential Door Refinishing & Finishing Commercial Door Finishing & Refinishing Antiquing & Distressing Wood Doors Custom Wood & Fiberglass Door Staining Vigas, window frames, and baseboards

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Desert Rose Door Refinishing

    How is Desert Rose Door Refinishing overall rated?

    Desert Rose Door Refinishing is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Desert Rose Door Refinishing open?

    Desert Rose Door Refinishing is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Desert Rose Door Refinishing provide

    Desert Rose Door Refinishing accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Desert Rose Door Refinishing offer free estimates?

    Yes, Desert Rose Door Refinishing offers free project estimates.

    Does Desert Rose Door Refinishing offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Desert Rose Door Refinishing does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Desert Rose Door Refinishing offer a senior discount?

    No, Desert Rose Door Refinishing does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Desert Rose Door Refinishing?

    Yes, Desert Rose Door Refinishing offers warranties.

    What services does Desert Rose Door Refinishing offer?

    Desert Rose Door Refinishing offers the following services: Residential Door Refinishing & Finishing Commercial Door Finishing & Refinishing Antiquing & Distressing Wood Doors Custom Wood & Fiberglass Door Staining Vigas, window frames, and baseboards