Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

My Computer Works

4.6

(268) Verified Reviews

Founded 2005 • With Angi since August 2014

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Wears MaskWears Mask
Computer Training
Computer Sales
Phone Service - Cellular
Office Equipment Repair
Licensed
Trade License Number
86019
Trade License Locale
CA
Trade License Authority
California: General
Trade License Expiration
10/31/2022
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Phone Number

Address

7975 N Hayden Rd #C-320

Scottsdale, AZ 85258

http://www.mycomputerworks.com
COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

We are doing remote support and in home with pre-cautions taken.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
We will sanitize the workspace and all areas touched
We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Description

When your P.C. , Tablet or Cell Phone has you stumped you need an American based tech team on speed dial: Call Now: 877-378-9258. Remote, online, and in home support from the good old USA. In need of a performance improving tune-up? Have a virus or spyware issue? We have you covered. Have questions about a program, your printer, importing photos, working with websites, working with your computer, or just needing advice on what to buy? My Computer Works membership gives you go to access to the IT support you need, a data-back up solution second to none, and training all in one place....

Verified Reviews

4.6

(268) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

223

4

6

3

5

2

5

1

29

Rating Details

Price

4.4

Professionalism

4.7

Punctuality

4.7

Quality

4.7

Responsiveness

4.6

Read reviews by category

computer repair (259)home theater installation (11)
Showing 1-25 of 268 reviews
1.0

03/21/2022


Monya S.

It hasn't happened yet! How can I answer if I would hire again!!!!!!!! Jeez!!!!!!!

Description of Work
N/A

Category office equipment repair,computer repair,computer training,computer sales

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/21/2022

1.0

12/28/2021


Bob H.

Unimpressive. I said the best way to reach me is email. So, what they do? -- they called me. Rather than try to figure out my problem, the yahoo salesman tried right away to sell me a membership for their remote service. He then quoted me about $200 per hour for one of his techs to dial in to my computer and root around. He said that whether or not they fixed the problem, I'd still be billed. He also said they were not too familiar with windows 11. They seemed more focused on making money than actually serving customers. I'd avoid these out-of-staters.It was obvious the sales guy that called me knows nothing about computers. I am surprised Angi rated them so highly.

Description of Work
printer problem

Category office equipment repair,computer repair

Work Completed On 12/28/2021

4.0

09/12/2021


Mel I.

I was satisfied with the overall installation of the requested network wiring. The job took longer that I had anticipated. The installer made sure all the connections worked properly prior to leaving the job site.

Description of Work
Install cat6 wires to extend a wired network between buildings

Category computer repair

Cost $2,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/24/2021

5.0

08/17/2021


Tomas A.

It went well they were professional, on time and knowledgeable.

Description of Work
Facebook Troubleshooting.

Category computer repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/16/2019

5.0

08/06/2021


RICK H.

Very well, all things considered. Had speed problems and tech went through my computer thoroughly. He fixed some things, but final assessment is that it is old and tired and needs to be replaced. I'm okay with that conclusion, and am looking at his recommendation for replacement. Quan was very good at explaining things to me, and making sure that I understood his reasoning. It was a pleasant and informative hour on the phone.

Description of Work
N/A

Category computer repair

Cost $40

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/06/2021

3.0

07/19/2021


ditty M.

tech was wonderful- very focused on task & tried multiple solutions but to no avail. after 3+hours, suggestion was a new hard drive which I ultimately had installed it for half the cost of the $300+ analysis but the techs notes were useful! . I did agree to the hourly fee & let time slip by but in future, would watch the clock better & compare prices b4 hiring.

Description of Work
unable to connect to internet/wifi..

Category computer repair,computer sales

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 07/26/2021

5.0

05/21/2021


Shaun V.

Great. The technician was able to understand my home network needs and purchase the right network cabinet to organize my components. he was then able to trace, label, terminate, and organize all my cabling and set up my house so everyone has strong internet access.

Description of Work
Network cabling and organizing

Category computer sales

Cost $2,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/18/2021

5.0

04/20/2021


Michael P B.

These people are Fantastic. All Very professional and know their stuff. I retired 4 years ago and had 45 years of Financial Controllerships and systems design. By far, these people ring the bell!! What a pleasure

Description of Work
Atn't and MS outlook mail

Category computer repair

Cost $109

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/20/2021

1.0

04/18/2021


Stephen D.

Vendor advisory: Never, ever use a company called "My Computer Works" for computer repair or service. My computer died on me 2 months ago, so I called this company up to have a tech come out. The guy comes out, plays around with the computer for a while, checks the error codes, and tells me the codes indicate a bad sector on the hard drive. He never even opens up the case to see if it could be something else. Then leaves without giving any advice other than replace the drive. Problem is: This system is on Windows 7, and to replace with a new system will require upgrading to the current windows 10, which will not work with my current version of autocad. Upgrading will require submitting to autodesk's ransomware of over $1.000 per year. This useless visit cost almost $300. and the prospect of a visit to actually do something to fix the problem would have cost about the same. Finally I took the computer to a company called "Techfix Repair Center" at 959 West 21st St, in Norfolk. In the time it took me to get back home they had fixed the problem and left a message to pick up the computer. Total cost: $35.00. When I confronted "My Computer Works" I was talking to a balony peddler whose job was obviously to just say no. They made no effort to compensate me for their incompetence. BTW the actual problem was that the sound board had been dislodged and was shorting out the MB. I highly reccomend Techfix Repair Sevice. Please avoid "My Computer Works " like the plague.

Description of Work
Computer HardwareRepair

Category computer repair

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 04/18/2021

1.0

03/02/2021


ANTHONY V.

YOU MUST BE KIDDING WITH THESE IDIOTS.

Description of Work
N/A

Category computer repair

Cost $247

Work Completed On 03/02/2021

5.0

02/13/2021


jim F.

Nick is GREAT always gives his all to make things work good again.

Description of Work
computer needed a tune up

Category home theater design,computer repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/13/2021

1.0

12/21/2020


Nancy S.

The service representative was excellent. But unfortunately he couldn't take payment. Office was to call. Never did.

Description of Work
Have office to stop billing without clients confirmation

Category home theater design,cell phone service

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 12/21/2020

5.0

12/20/2020


Ann R.

Technician took care of the problem. Will use this company again.

Description of Work
N/A

Category computer repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/21/2020

3.0

12/03/2020


David B.

The problem was a BIOS message that said "press F1 to continue," but when I pressed F1, nothing happened. Sean arrived promptly at 12 noon on 11/21/2020, and began work immediately. By 2:00 Sean had removed RAM memory and reinstalled it, examined and changed certain jumper settings, removed and reinserted a 2032 CMOS battery, and other things which I can't remember. He was considering removing the SSD drive, which hosts the Windows 10 operating system, saying the drive might not be properly seated. But I told him the computer had been working fine until just quite recently, which indicated that the SSD surely was installed properly, and that I would prefer that he not remove it. So he did not remove the SSD, but I don't think he appreciated my interfering. Sean indicated early on that he did not like customers watching him work. He was polite about this. Thinking he meant that my talking or making suggestions annoyed him, I stopped talking and just watched. But after an hour or so of my just watching, Sean made it clear, politely, that he would prefer to work alone. At that point I left the office and did not bother him for the next two hours. After about 2.5 hours, Sean said he had found the bootup problem. All that was wrong was that a keyboard lock key on my Microsoft keyboard had been accidentally set. (I never knew there was such a key before this.) Once this key was unset, the computer booted up, responded to the F1 key press normally, and then booted up to the BIOS. Sean updated my BIOS too, at my request. Sean seemed embarrassed that this work had taken so long, as if he believed he should have checked simple things first (like the keyboard); he said he would only charge me for two hours even though he had worked for three. Let me add that I suspected a keyboard was an issue myself. That is why I called the tech shop Sean works out of in Sacramento (I've misplaced their phone number) Saturday morning 11/21, and left a voice mail asking the tech person to bring an extra keyboard with him. Sean either never got this voice mail, or else he got it and ignored it. The keyboard issue was the last thing he looked at; arguably it should have been first. As I was about to sign the papers Sean gave me at around 3:00 pm, I said "First let me check that everything is working." It was then that I determined that the LED power light on my computer's power-on switch was no longer functioning. I explained this to Sean, pointing out that it was working before he arrived. But he dismissed this complaint rather abruptly and rudely, saying it was a trivial and minor issue, or something to that effect. He clearly didn't want to stick around another minute. I added that I didn't want to sign any papers until this problem, which Sean himself had caused when he tampered with jumper settings, had been restored to working order. "Fine," Sean said, gathering up the unsigned paperwork and heading for the door. I said, "It's OK. If you are tired now, you can come back tomorrow." "I'm not ever coming back," Sean replied, walking out the door. He was obviously angry when he left, and didn't want to discuss the matter any further. Except for watching Sean for the first hour, keeping quiet most of the time, I don't know what I did to make this MyComputerWorks computer technician so angry. Despite overlooking a simple solution to my problem at the outset, he still fixed the main problem, and I'm glad to pay My Computer Works for his two hours work. I had a $10 bill in my pants pocket and was all ready to give it to Sean as a tip, but he left in anger before I could give it to him. It truly is important that this power-on LED light up and stay on while the computer is running. My computer is very quiet, and after a time of non-use, the monitors go dark even though the computer is on and Windows 10 is running. So the only way to be sure this computer is on or off is to look at the LED power light on the power switch. If the LED is on, the computer is running; LED off means it has been shut down. With no lights of any kind, this is becomes a non-trivial matter. I believe it would not be difficult for a knowledgeable tech person to fix this. It's just a matter of getting the jumpers Sean changed set back to where they were before he arrived. However, Sean has said he won't ever come back here -- giving no reason. I am asking MyComputerWorks to send another tech to clean up after Sean, fixing the jumper problem that he caused, since Sean is no longer willing to come over here. I am also recommending Sean have more training in troubleshooting and an anger management class.

Description of Work
My computer would not boot up. It was stuck on the BIOS screen.

Category computer repair,computer sales

Cost $275

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 11/21/2020

1.0

11/23/2020


David B.

I have explained what happened in an earlier review. A man named Sean came out to my house on 11/21/2020 to fix a bootup problem on my computer. Although he fixed the problem, he broke something else while doing so. What I have not explained so far is that I am unable to get any kind of response from this company's Customer Service department. When I complained by calling Customer Support (480-374-1172) five times over a period of about 10 days, and then by writing to them (customercare@mycomputerworks.com), I got no response of any kind. Perhaps there is a delay due to layoffs or other CV19-related problems. But then, someone could write to me and say that, couldn't they? The longer I go without some kind of response to my complaint, the easier it is to believe that this company doesn't really care about responsibility to customers. The repairman fixed one thing, but he broke something else. The fact that MyComputerWorks already has received more than $250 of my money -- they require payment in advance -- is part of the reason, it seems, that they no longer care if I am satisfied. I hope I am wrong about this. But if nothing is done by Angie's List or MyComputerWorks, I must consider other options.

Description of Work
Computer would not boot up

Category computer repair

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 12/04/2020

2.0

11/16/2020


Steve P.

Not well. The first tech came by without calling as was promised. Started working on a Mac when I told him it was a PC that need work. Took an hour with little progress, called in another person who did more "testing" before saying it "may" need a new motherboard, with extra cost & time. I later took it to a local shop who determined the RAM was not connected properly & fixed it for $40 in 20 minutes.

Description of Work
diagnostics & repair PC

Category computer repair

Cost $277

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 12/06/2020

5.0

10/27/2020


Zach B.

He Responded to the quote request quickly and scheduled promptly. He came when scheduled and got the work done professionally.

Description of Work
ethernet Cables Run into a few offices

Category computer repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/24/2020

1.0

10/15/2020


Lisa A.

These guys are awful. Didn’t call, didn’t show. 20 minutes before the third appointment attempt they called and said they couldn’t find a tech. Unreliable and a big fail.

Description of Work
Easy - hooking up Nest cams

Category computer repair

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 10/15/2020

1.0

09/10/2020


Carissa P.

Never even bothered to return my inquiry

Description of Work
Never even bothered to return my inquiry

Category computer repair

Work Completed On 09/10/2020

5.0

08/20/2020


Robert W.

I went very well. The problem was solve and a few additional problems addressed in the time allotted. I was very pleased with the results.

Description of Work
I needed to get into a laptop to which I had forgotten the password

Category computer repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/20/2020

4.0

08/12/2020


Mindy U.

The estimate was good and he was nice and professional. Pricing was just more than I wanted to invest for this particular computer.

Description of Work
Printer not working. Also want computer looked at.

Category computer repair

Work Completed On 08/12/2020

3.0

08/06/2020


Mark R.

I was given a quote of $275 for the first 3 hours and told that most issues are cleared up in that time frame and I would be emailed an invoice after the work is complete, but had to give a credit card just to get an appointment at my office. Well it took almost 6 hours the issues were partially resolved and here 2 weeks later I am yet to see an invoice and still have no idea how much the little bit of help cost our business. Attempts to contact them by phone has proven fruitless. I thoroughly explained the issue was with SAGE and that I needed someone very verse in SAGE. The technician though kind, respectable and friendly; didn't seem to have much more knowledge of the workings of SAGE than I did. I am grateful for the solutions we did get to but I DO NOT LIKE SURPRISE BILLS; at this rate I hope I don't have a heart attack when the company credit card statement shows up next week.

Description of Work
I needed assistance with SAGE Software issues.

Category computer repair

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 07/23/2020