Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

By The Hour

Founded 2005 • With Angi since December 2009

4.4

(101) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

28039 N 77th St

Scottsdale, AZ 85266

Description

Owner operated.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

01/21/2016


Juli F.

met at property provided bid on the spot and I supplied the paint and fixtures he did all of the work which took approximately 2.5 days and was finished on time. He was great and work was very professional

Description of Work
painted a condo and put in new light fixtures and faucets in 2 rooms, very punctual and very good at what he was doing for us, work was great and I will be using him again

Category electrician, handyman service, lighting, plumbing

5.0

12/09/2015


Krzysztof P.

Great communication, was willing to be flexible if we needed the work done urgently, showed up on time and did a great job! Second job that Jim did for us and we are very happy with his work.

Description of Work
Replaced old garbage disposal with new one that he purchased for us

Category handyman service, plumbing

1.0

08/25/2015


Adrienne S.

unprofessional, slipshod work. Dishonest about completing the work after being paid in full and signing an invoice promising to complete cleanup. I had a kit for a large garden shed. My brothers offered to help when they came to visit. We started moving dirt and put some of the base together to help with leveling the ground, but we realized that leveling the ground without a tractor was a big job so I decided to hire Jim and let him do the whole thing. He is a neighbor and he told me when we first met that he does all kinds of jobs. He offered to build the shed, had a tractor to level the ground, etc. I gave him the make and model of the shed asked him for a quote to do the entire job (NOT by the hour - the entire job). The manual and other information about the shed is available on the company web site. His quote was just a bit higher than another quote I got, but I decided to give him the job since he was a neighbor. Before he started I gave him the instruction manual that came with the shed. I arranged to meet him on the day he was supposed to start to take the shed out of my garage. Other than that day I generally left for work before he arrived and came home after he had left for the day so I had to check on things at night then call him if I had a concern. 1. After the first day I saw his truck had put what looked like grease tire tracks on my driveway (I had put in a nice driveway made of pavers). He told me no problem, he would clean it when he was done. He continued to park on the driveway. 2. I had 2 piles of dirt that he used to make the level area. He took dirt but left the area with the "dig marks". It would have been very little work to simply level it. A relatively minor point, but by the time he was done I realized it was one more indication of a lack of professionalism. 3. He quoted a price plus the cost of the wood for the floor. He told me how much wood he would need and how much it would cost. After he started the floor he told me he needed more wood so I had to buy more. This made his price even more than the other quote I received (which included the floor supplies). I had to pay for the wood immediately, and I did. 4. Before the floor was finished I noticed that one of the pieces of wood did not go to the edge and barely overlapped with the lip of the floor support. I called him and told him about it, giving the exact location of the piece. He immediately said he had already fixed it. After I hung up I thought he had answered too quickly and I called him back to be sure that he knew the side I was concerned about. Again he said he understood and had already taken care of it. When I got home the floor was complete and the problem had not been fixed. Clearly he had not listened to me - twice. I called him the next day and he said he thought I meant the other side (it was obvious that the other side had not been finished yet so I would not have commented on it). He then assured me that he had put extra support underneath the floor and there would be no problem. Again, I gave him the benefit of the doubt - trying to be nice to a neighbor. 5. There were 2 sets of hold-down spikes and wire. He told me he did not put one in because he did not want to chance hitting a pipe running to the house. I said OK (he did not say he would do it after the pipe was marked, just why he did not do it). The other hold down was not done correctly. The instructions (including a picture) clearly showed it turned all the way down. He turned it halfway. I decided it was not worth trying to get him to do the other hold down after I checked on the pipe location since he clearly had not done the other one correctly 6. There seemed to be a lot of extra screws and nuts. I realize some kits have extra, but I found at least 1 that was not put in the roof. I have no way of checking the floor support to see if all screws were put in. Again - if this was the only thing it would not be worthy of a poor review. 5. He did not finish the work when he said he would - it took a few days longer. I did not hassle him at all, as I was not in a rush. When he was finished (on a Friday) he left an invoice that included an extra hour of charges. He had not mentioned it when he told me the work was done and the invoice was left in the shed. I got home too late to pay that night and I e-mailed him to inform him I was getting home too late to pay that night. Although he told me he did not work on weekends he wanted to come get the check on Saturday. He told me the extra charge (above our agreed upon price) was because the job had taken much longer than he expected, he had to pay his helper, etc. I refused to pay the extra since we had made a deal for his originally quoted price. I also reminded him that he had not cleaned the driveway as he said he would - but he promised he would do so. I amended the invoice to the original agreed upon price, wrote that he agreed to clean the driveway and had him sign it. I then paid him in full as he requested (a mistake). Again, trusting that a neighbor would be true to his word. Unfortunately he has not been true to his word - he was dishonest when he agreed to clean the mess he made on the driveway. It has been very frustrating trying to get him to complete the agreed upon job ( leaving my driveway as he found it) I repeatedly e-mailed him (no response) and called leaving messages asking when he would clean the driveway. The only way he answered the phone was if I called from a number he did not recognize (like a friend's cell phone). He kept saying he was busy, he would do it, etc. At one point he even said he had washed it and perhaps he could not see the dirt when the pavers were wet. The dirt is quite obvious when the pavers are wet, and there was never an indication that the driveway had even been hosed down. He was either lying, or was incapable or unwilling to notice that whatever he did was completely ineffectual. When I told him the driveway was no cleaner than it was when he first made the mess he said he would clean it. This has gone on for over 2.5 months. I have given him every chance to finish the job he was fully paid for, which includes cleaning the driveway. This is not a simple case of hosing it down! At this point I have given up on him ever taking care of this. Putting this shed together was not "rocket science". Given the sum total of his work the only conclusion I can come to is that he lacks the ability or professionalism to do a good job. He is not true to his word. He is easy to reach when it comes to taking a job and getting paid, but he refuses to answer when he is being asked to finish the job. Summary: Unprofessional and poor quality work: could not properly estimate time needed for the job, wood needed for the floor even when he was provided with the instruction manual. Did not properly set the wood for the floor, did not properly install the tie down spikes. did not complete the cleanup despite signing the invoice saying he would do it. Update - I am going to need to get someone to pick up at least one of the pieces of wood used for the floor. It is flexing badly and is probably not correctly attached to the support pieces.

Description of Work
Level ground and put together a shed from a kit

Category flooring contractor, handyman service, hardwood floor, plumbing

Service Provider Response

I quoted you 4 to 5 hours, the job took much longer, and I was willing to bide by my quote, that was just for the shed. I came over as a neighbor just to help out with my tractor to bring the ground level up for free, and yet you had to make a fuss over that even. No problem but then you said you had issues with tractor tires leaving marks on your driveway, so I went back with power washer and sprayed them off free of charge. You then said they were still there, which I found hard to believe but I went back again and barely saw them. So again I power washed and saw them no more, and yet you still made a fuss. I don't think any one would be able to satisfy your needs regardless of how much they charged or how good their work was.
1.0

03/02/2015


Sandra R.

One door opens with just the dead bolt and handle, the other has a slide lock on the top and bottom. When he took the top slide lock off he broke it, and admitted he broke it and said he would replace it. But now he won’t return any of my calls or texts.

Description of Work
I had him replace some insulation on my french doors.

Category doors

5.0

12/30/2014


Madelaine B.

I had used Jim last year for some sheetrock work but neglected to write a review. Recently, my daughter needed a handyman for various things she couldn't do herself, so I recommended him. He showed up promptly at her house worked efficiently, and did everything that needed to be done. It's actually quite a relief to know that there is someone to call if these little things need to get done. And he did an excellent job on my sheetrock repair, as well.

Description of Work
Various handyman tasks--changed batteries in smoke detectors, put in new light bulbs in recessed ceiling lights, hung pictures, hung a light fixture.

Category handyman service

5.0

12/04/2014


Laura Denelle F.

Quick response, same day repair, on time, very professional. Fixed what needed fixing.

Description of Work
Repair electrical problem on outdoor water fountain. Fix leaks in shower.

Category electrician, handyman service

5.0

07/22/2014


Stephan E.

First, I have already filled one of these out before.The job Went perfect, these guys are freindly, hones and so reasonable. I always recommend them.

Description of Work
Replaced sink

Category handyman service

5.0

07/17/2014


beverly K.

we are very pleased with the service. Jim and his team are very professional, reliable and respectful. His work is excellent. I would recommend him to everyone I know.

Description of Work
they built walls, drywall, plumbing, electrical and tile laying

Category ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, handyman service, plumbing

5.0

07/07/2014


Anne G.

Amazing,Fantastic,Great work. Arrived with very short notice. Worked nonstop in difficult conditions.Did a great job at a fair price. Both Mr Flynn and his partner are very professional and courteous. I would not hesitate one second to recommend them.

Description of Work
Rebuilt balcony, Drywalled storage shed, Installed several items and repaired several items.

Category handyman service

5.0

06/23/2014


patti W.

By The Hour is good. They were great. I have used them on and off quite a bit. I started in October or November. I had them back. They do little repairs around the house. They were very good. They were inexpensive for what they did. Jim was really good of what he does and his partner cleans up after. They worked beautifully.

Description of Work
They lay tiles, loaded walls, installed cabinets for me. I had which is still a half of it redo and a little bathroom in our house. Basically, they just redid the whole thing.

Category ceramic tile, home remodeling

5.0

06/22/2014


Gini E.

James arrived 30 minutes after my first call. He was very pleasant and very efficient. We could not have been more pleased. We will definitely use him in the future.

Description of Work
Rewired two-way switch in hallway that was inoperable..

Category handyman service

2.0

06/17/2014


Donna F.

Provided a sketch of the results desired. He took measurements and gave an estimate of $1500/labor plus $250/parts. Promised to match bar cabinets adjacent to TV cove for shelves and drawers. Talked about his and quot;custom cabinet workshop.and quot; Left without taking a copy of sketch provided. Returned the next week as scheduled and began ripping out parts of the unit. Did not have enough drop-cloths to cover the work area floor (I provided heave weight plastic sheeting used for painting for one area). Purchased supplies - drywall NOT the same thickness as originally on the unit, so dining room side of the cove was concave - baseboard/floorboards would not fit flush. I used shims to plumb the wall to match and allow baseboards to mount flush. He used lots of plaster to make transitions sort-of blend together. And, let's not forget the mud-sprayer. It took me two hours to cleanup that mess from adjacent walls and use my tools to flatten down the globs. Yes, you even asked me to sand the area, but took the sand paper. Increased height by six inches to accommodate wall-mount flat panel. mounting system specifications provided during original design review, but he decided to build a set-in, so TV would be imbedded. Unfortunately, the set-in was not measured and/or constructed properly - TV would not mount. Area had to be totally rebuild. The top is 30and quot;D x 72and quot;W. It is not level - there is a 3/8and quot; difference between the two ends. When TV mounted on wall, the difference is notable. Jim said, you know you TV is not level. Well, Jim it is level. Three difference levels verified that it is and the top is not - the bottom is also not level or plum. Remember the cabinets? I am looking to hire a professional to redo this part of the work. The two drawers that were constructed are not squared, but then again maybe that is because the mounting 2x4s were not squared, or that the one on the right didn't even fit between the two outside sole plates. The finished draw facing was mounted so that it looked level to each other, but that was to cover up the structural issues. The drywall around the openings was not square (oh, I squared them before he returned with the drawers.). Jim said he would build the drawers in his cabinet shop - my patio is where they were cut and built. Jim put C-channel around the drawer opening's drywall and when I asked why it showed - don't worry, just paint it. Jim, I think you are a nice and well intentioned individual. But quality construction is not a skill you possess, in my opinion. I wish you the best, but would not recommend you for any but the most limited jobs.

Description of Work
Rebuild a TV area in a divider that separates dining room from family room; constructed with open-sight from 4' and above between rooms (open concept).

Category custom cabinets, handyman service, plastering

5.0

06/16/2014


Dee and Tom T.

Excellent. Would use again gladly.

Description of Work
miscellaneous repairs in house (drywall, hanging items)

Category drywall, handyman service

3.0

06/16/2014


Norma E.

I was starting my cutting board business and he quoted me a price. I paid him half to buy the wood. The measurements and quantities changed. Since the quantity went from 50 to 20 boards, I asked him how much the different was as I had over paid him but I never heard back from him. The boards were beautiful on one side only but ALL of them had stain marks on the back and I could not sell them. I had to hire another carpenter to sand them for me. This increased my cost on the boards. Delivery: since we live very far apart, we had agreed to meet midway but I ended up picking up the boards as our schedules seemed to always conflict.

Description of Work
Handmade cutting boards.

Category contractors, handyman service, woodworking

5.0

05/01/2014


Karen S.

Two men came out for the service. The pricing was fair. They seemed like they really wanted to do a good job.

Description of Work
They came to do a lot of odds and ins around the home.

Category handyman service

4.0

02/23/2014


Florence M.

Job was professionly done. I gave them "B" rating because I asked them to put a piece of furniture together which did not take an hour and was charged for another hour $60. No prorating on their price. Work was extremely well done AND they cleaned up work areas.

Description of Work
They installed pull down excess to attic.

Category woodworking

2.0

02/01/2014


Jefferson L.

The workmanship was poor. I did not notice how bad it was because of poor vision but my husband discovered that the boards were not laid under the door frames as they should have been. Jim should have undercut the door frame to lay the flooring properly or told us he did not know how to do that. There are gaps that need to some how be repaired with tiny pieces of the flooring. The only alternative is to relay the floors around the doors which will cost more in labor and materials. There is also a 3/4 inch space in the master bedroom closet where the flooring does not meet the wall and the baseboard will not cover this gap.

Description of Work
Installed laminate flooring in three bedrooms.

Category handyman service

4.0

01/20/2014


Peter R.

All in all, the job went well. I came home the first day on a two or three day job and was a bit disappointed. First of all, they asked my wife for a payment before the job was finished, which she did do. I would have waited until the job was done to pay. On the last day, I questioned the bill to estimate as the count of running feet that I had measured was considerably less. The handyman agreed that their estimate was just a guess and agreed to revise it down. As far as the quality, they fixed issues and addressed my concerns. We very much enjoy the baseboard, it gives all rooms a very finished look.

Description of Work
Removed baseboard, filled gap between tile and wall, and installed new 4 inch baseboard that I had purchased and painted.

Category handyman service

5.0

12/27/2013


Carol G.

The job was terrific! He finished the patch work in about 40 minutes and no one could ever tell there was a hole in the ceiling! I found his services on Angies List and called soon after the plumber left. They had just finished a job and came right over, within an hour or so, very speedy service!! I thought I would have to wait for days to get someone for the job. They cleaned whatever mess they had made and the price was very, very reasonable. I would highly recommend By The Hour!!

Description of Work
We had a hole in the kitchen ceiling and James patched the approximate 12"x15" square hole.

Category drywall, handyman service

1.0

11/25/2013


Marian B.

He was punctual and responsive all through the completion of the project. Unfortunately he seemed to fall short in paying attention to detail as a result cabinets that were moved no longer close. Tiles lay really uneven. Walls pop loudly and wake us at night because the wood frame did not include proper expansion braces built in. Tons of extra supplies, aka money out of our pocket, was used or unused and simply wastefully purchased. He even told us there was some sort of warrantee with his service, but when we had a leak, he came to check it out but never returned to fix it. Meaning we had to hire someone else to fix the problem and that plumber stated he believed farther problems lay behind the wall, but fixing those means starting all over and coming up with thousands more dollars to fix the problems.

Description of Work
We hired the provider to remodel bath and separate shower area in master

Category ceramic tile, handyman service, plumbing, remodeling

Service Provider Response

I don't know who actually you had hired to do this job, but it was not me, Are you sure you have the right company?
1.0

11/09/2013


Sandra N.

Had to call twice before anyone ever called back. Had a good recommendation from a friend so tried to use this group! Finally talked to them and texted my address so they could come give an estimate but never called or texted back. Finally texted them again twice and never heard from them. Had our work done by another company.

Description of Work
I called By The Hour

Category concrete repair

Service Provider Response

[Member name removed] I apologizes for not responding, but as I told you before it's a long way out to where you live and to make the drive is almost a 2 hour round trip for me. With that I didn't have any calls that far out, that I could have supplemented the drive time with. And in retrospect, I see that the work you needed done was concrete, which in fact is one of the few things I don't do.
5.0

11/06/2013


Nancy S.

Punctual, professional and responsive. I would use again for all the job around the house that come up.

Description of Work
By the Hour hung curtain rods in our master bedroom. Very professional job. They look great!

Category handyman service

3.0

10/30/2013


Bill C.

The guys are nice, they showed up on time, and got right to work. The quality of the work was poor. The wood slats on the gate were installed crooked, with irregular gaps between the boards. Two of the attic fans were installed well, but they spliced in the Romex rather than use a J Box. Splicing electrical is not to code and would cause insurance problems if I ever had a fire. The third attic fan was only partially installed, exhausting into the attic space rather than to the gable. They never did the gas connection, they just placed the logs in the fireplace with no connection. I hired someone else to redo everything and fix it. I could see someone using them for very simple, quick jobs, as they are nice guys, but I personally would not use them again.

Description of Work
We hired them to add wood covering to a metal gate, install 3 attic vent fans, and run gas to an outdoor fireplace for adding gas logs.

Category handyman service

5.0

09/27/2013


Kris S.

The existing angled ladder went to the floor and would not allow the trundle drawer to open. The ladder was a terrible design which has since been discontinued. Jim was able to shorten the ladder and secure it to the top of the bottom bed frame. I called him to set up an appointment. He was in the area and stopped by and redid the ladder in the same visit. The bed was only 2 years old and I was not able to find a modified ladder for it anywhere. Jim charged me about the same as a replacement ladder would cost... and it matches and looks fabulous. He even took all of the old ladder scraps and made wooden train track risers for my grandson's Thomas the Train set. He showed me pictures of other projects that he has done. The man in very creative and professional. I would recommend him without any reservations!!

Description of Work
Jim modified a ladder for a twin over full bunk bed.

Category woodworking

5.0

09/19/2013


Wendy C.

GREAT! This morning we had new lights installed in our kitchen area and went with a single bar than two pendants. This left two holes in the ceiling and we do not care for the covers on either side of the new light. Our kitchen is being painted tomorrow and my husband wanted them patched ASAP. The painters were not able to do the work so we called James at 1:30. The work was done by 3! AWESOME! I scored a B with professionalism because the area was not cleaned to its original order. Still, the work was prompt, courteous and at a fair price. Thanks James! :)

Description of Work
Repaired holes from two pendant lights in kitchen.

Category drywall

    Other local Pros in your area

    Donhauser Plumbing Inc

    Donhauser Plumbing is a family owned and operated company, licensed (Registrar of Contractors), bonded and insured. Our business was established in 1983. We pride ourselves in doing quality work at a fair price. We are open Monday thru Friday. Saturday and Sunday by appointment only. We do not accept credit cards and we request payment upon completion, cash or check only.  

    Angi Certified

    AZLX LLC

     

    Angi Certified

    Denali Real Estate, LLC.

    Denali Real Estate is the premier residential property management company covering both Phoenix and Tucson metropolitan areas. We believe we offer the best overall value in property management anywhere in Arizona. We have one of the lowest fee structures with a flat $295 leasing and management fee as low as $85 per month. We have unsurpassed service and our unique management process puts our client's interests first. If you are looking to hire a management company, call us first and we will help you through the process. We will explain property management, let you know what you should expect and most importantly let you know what questions you should be asking to uncover all the hidden secrets most management companies won't tell you. There is no obligation as our goal is to help you find the right management company for you even if it isn't Denali Real Estate. We have received the Angie's List Super Service Award along with many other awards and top rankings for our management services. Contact us for more details on how we are different that other management companies.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Plumbing, electrical, interior & exterior painting, tiling, drywall & finish carpentry

    Services Not Offered

    concrete

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about By The Hour

    How is By The Hour overall rated?

    By The Hour is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are By The Hour open?

    By The Hour is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 6:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    Tuesday: 6:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    Wednesday: 6:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    Thursday: 6:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    Friday: 6:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does By The Hour provide

    By The Hour accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does By The Hour offer free estimates?

    Yes, By The Hour offers free project estimates.

    Does By The Hour offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, By The Hour offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does By The Hour offer a senior discount?

    No, By The Hour does not offer a senior discount.

    Does By The Hour offer emergency services?

    Yes, By The Hour offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by By The Hour?

    Yes, By The Hour offers warranties.

    What services does By The Hour offer?

    By The Hour offers the following services: Plumbing, electrical, interior & exterior painting, tiling, drywall & finish carpentry

    Are there any services By The Hour does not offer?

    concrete