Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Baker Bros Area Rugs & Flooring

Founded 1945 • With Angi since September 2004

4.7

(25) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

4219 E Broadway Ste 116

Phoenix, AZ 85040

Description

Baker Bros has 7 conveniently located showrooms in Phoenix, Scottsdale - Chandler - Mesa - Paradise Valley - Glendale And Sun City. We are an Arizona family owned and operated flooring company since 1945. With over 70 years of experience in the community, we have been fortunate to help many friends and generations of families throughout the years. Our flooring design consultants average more than 20 years of flooring experience, and continue formal education programs on the latest trends that allows them to offer you the best expert advice. All our installation teams are experienced, licensed, bonded and insured, giving you the ultimate in satisfaction. You will never have to go it alone. We provide the product, the consultation, the in home measure, the installation and the after sale service you deserve. Call or visit our website for more information about Arizona's most TRUSTED name in flooring. BAKER BROS....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

04/26/2017


Donna B.

from old tile demo to installing both carpet and tile all the crews were always professional, I would not hesitate to rehire great company with a great product

Description of Work
New carpet and tile throughout home (3700sf)

Category carpet installation, ceramic tile, flooring contractor

2.0

08/25/2016


Karen S.

It was a really BAD experience. My home was built about 1960, and had carpet in the family room when we bought the house in 1983. After replacing the carpeting several times, I decided to switch to tile, and had Baker Bros. come out to give me a bid. (I had already bought the new tile from them.) I decided to hire them because their bid was somewhat lower than another bid I got and scheduled the work, which I was told would easily be completed in 2 days. However, when the workers came out on the scheduled day (over an hour late), they left after less than 2 hours of work. They had moved my furniture into another room, removed the carpeting, and then discovered some old linoleum tile underneath the carpeting. Even though they started removing the old tile, I was told it was too dangerous for them to continue, because of the risk that the old tile might have asbestos in it. The next morning, a manager from Baker Bros. came out to look at the old tile and talk to me about my options. He said I could change my mind and go back to carpeting, or possibly install a "floating" wood floor, neither of which I really wanted to do. But to proceed with the tile job, the old tile would first have to be removed, and Baker Bros. doesn't do that. I was told I could either hire someone who would ignore the asbestos safety regulations and remove the old tile for an inexpensive cost, or hire a firm that specialized in asbestos removal, which he said could cost up to $10,000! So now I had a family room that was all torn up and unusable, and I didn't know what to do. After a trip out of town to deal with a family emergency, I got an estimate to have the old tile removed by a firm that would follow the safety procedures--and fortunately, that turned out to cost only $1250. Once I had that work scheduled, I called Baker Bros. to arrange to have them back out to do the tile installation. However, I was told it would be over a week before they could come back out, so I canceled my contract with them and hired another firm. While that work was being done, I had another problem when it turned out that I didn't have enough tile, because Baker Bros. had done the estimate incorrectly. While I was fortunate that the additional tile didn't have to be shipped in from out of town, it took more than 24 hours before I could pick up the additional tile, and that led to a further delay in completing the job. My family has purchased carpeting and tile and rugs from Baker Bros. numerous times over the 33 years we have owned our home. However, after this experience, I will probably not go back there since my 2-day job turned into 2 weeks of anxiety and frustration. As I told their manager, it seems to me that it would be the responsible thing to do when replacing carpeting with tile in an older home to lift up a corner of the carpeting to find out what is underneath it. If I had known about the old linoleum tile in advance, I could have had time to carefully consider my options, rather than discovering this potentially serious and expensive issue once the work had begun. If I hadn't been lucky to be able to schedule the asbestos tile removal and new tile installation promptly, the disruption to my home would have lasted even longer than 2 weeks. My other complaint about Baker Bros. is that I often had to call 2 or 3 times before someone would return my call--perhaps the firm is too big, because when I call other home remodeling contractors, they are almost always prompt and courteous in returning my calls.

Description of Work
Install new tile in family room

Category flooring contractor

5.0

10/27/2015


Daniel C.

Description of Work
Measured for two carpeting in two bedrooms. Scheduled installation for Nov 6

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

4.0

09/23/2015


Geri B.

Description of Work
IM GIVING THEM A B AS WE DID NOT USE ANY OF THEIR SERVICES OR PRODUCT. THE INITIAL CONTACT WITH THEM DIDNT GIVE ME A WARM FUZZY FEELING. IT WAS A WEEKEND N THE GUY REALLY DIDNT WANT TO BE THERE AND BE DISTURBED. THEY DONT LET YOU TAKE SAMPLES HOME N LIVE WITH THEM BUT THEY BRING THE SAMPLE YOU CHOOSE WITH THEM FOR AN ESTIMATE N CONSOLT.IN HOUSE. I WASNT HELPED WITH SUGGESTIONS AND I BROUGHT WOOD COUNTERTOP PAINT AND FABRC SAMPLES IN WITH ME..KIND OF CHOOSE SOMETHING, MAKE AND APPOINTMENT N LEAVE. WHAT CHOICES THEY HAD WERE VERY NICE BUT IF YOU ARE WORKING WITH A CONTRACTOR ASK THEM ABOUT PRO SERVE...EXCELLENT CHOICES AND DECORATOR HELP BUT YOU NEED A CONTRATOR

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

5.0

09/12/2015


Mary B.

All went well from purchase to install! Professional and polite team at the store and installers were kind and did a great job.

Description of Work
Purchased carpet and had product installed.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

5.0

08/10/2015


Bill M.

All work done was per quote re: time of arrival, timeline for removal of old tile and laying of new and grouting. Excellent job and the installers were very informative as to what and when they would complete work. They were very efficient and cleaned up everything after job was completed.

Description of Work
Removed old tile and replaced with new in master bathroom and closet. Grout new tile.

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

5.0

08/09/2015


Juliet G.

It went perfectly. Both the new installation and restretching look terrific.

Description of Work
Helped us decide on new carpet for our master bedroom and closet. Oversaw the installation, including taking up and removing old carpet and pad. Restretched carpet in our den.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

5.0

07/28/2015


Sheri B.

.

Description of Work
They took up linoleum in 5 rooms and replaced with 18" linoleum squares on the diagonal.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

07/21/2015


Susan A.

Salesperson, Barbara, was very patient and extremely helpful with decision-making. Installation was done on time and the crew very professional. No complaints with the quality of carpet and the work done.

Description of Work
Baker Bros. installed carpeting in master bedroom and entire upstairs including stairs.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

5.0

07/20/2015


Richard S.

.

Description of Work
.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

4.0

07/16/2015


Joseph L K.

The first visit for an estimate by the store personal was 1,000.00 too high due to incorrect measuring. I knew they were wrong instantly. I pre measured and new my exact(remember to measure all the to the doorways)need. Also if the installers were too install per the stores salesperson we would have been short in the last room. Everything was resolved, but I expected more from someone that specialize in flooring.

Description of Work
They installed carpet in 3 bedrooms and the living room.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

Thanks [member name removed] for the review. I am glad we got it all right in the end and apologize for the measurement confusion. Your consultant was new with us at the time and was having some early issues. Appreciate your patience and your business. Thanks Phil

5.0

06/04/2015


Paula K.

Description of Work
Performed demolition of existing tile and replaced with new tile. Job took 5 days and was completed mostly satisfactorily. I called about 2 small areas in the kitchen, crew came right out and fixed the problems. | |Sales person was very helpful and knowledgeable. | |I have received many positive comments on the tile and the installation.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

03/09/2015


Sharon G.

It went very good

Description of Work
We bought new carpet and had it installed

Category carpet installation

5.0

02/11/2015


Karen S.

.

Description of Work
Helped me select tile for a bathroom and entry room, which I then purchased.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

5.0

02/19/2013


deborah R.

excellent. they were very gentle with my furniture and the entire job was done perfectly.

Description of Work
new carpeting by baker brothers on hayden and chaperel in scottsdal e az. there was detail work invoved with this work that was excellent

Category carpet installation

4.0

02/17/2013


DAN H.

I obtained two estimates for carpet for my house and one of them was from Chris Rosewell of Baker Bros. I also shopped two discount carpet houses. I chose the Baker Bros proposal for the quality of the material and the recommendation of my property manager. We had a challenge in scheduling installation, but Baker Bros worked out a way to accomplish the installation by my deadline. They charged my credit card prior to installation, but did reimburse me for replacement of a mirror damaged during installation. It would have been nice if they had given some credit for removal of the old carpet and pad (work that was included in the proposal but which I did so as to have the opportunity to clean and disinfect the floor before new carpet installation).

Description of Work
Chris Rosewell of Baker Bros provided a bid, samples of material, and arranged for installation of approximately 1600 sf of carpet and pad.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

3.0

11/19/2012


Mary D.

After looking for wood flooring at two other places (where time was not taken to explain everything about the differences between engineered and solid hardwood), I went to Baker Brothers. My sales person, Barbara, was professional, kind, and knowledgeable. She took the time to explain everything having to do with wood flooring to me. She showed me many samples and then helped me to find the absolute PERFECT wood flooring to suit my needs and desired color. If it weren't for Barbara (her help, friendliness, and professionalism), I probably would not have purchased my flooring from Baker Brothers. She is top notch!! The flooring is an A+ in my book! I could not be happier with the quality and appearance of my new, hard wood floors. The problem arose when I noticed some damage to furniture, cabinets, dishwasher panel, and sliding glass screen door. There was a scratch on top of a new, wooden desk, at least 6 inches, a two to three inch scrape on edge of wooden kitchen table, little scrape marks on the metal legs of two living room tables, a small hole in the lower corner of new sliding glass door screen with a scrape next to it on the frame, three small dents on the bottom of stainless steel dishwasher panel, and three or four chips on the lower edge of kitchen cabinets--with splinters showing on two of them. Right after installation was complete, the installer came out to fix the cabinet chips and take out the surface scratch on the desk. It was implied by the installer that these damages were already there, and they were not; I took offense to that. Surprisingly, it has now been three full months since the other issues were resolved, or repaired. After calling and emailing the, I got tired of waiting for Baker Brothers Service Dept. to call me back to complete the repairs. I looked online to get another email address for the company. Fifteen minutes after sending an email asking for help, the owner of the company called me! He was shocked at the delay in service. Needless to say, the repairs were completed within two business days, except for the screen door, but it will be. I was so happy with the owner's help; he communicated care, concern, and empathy. He called me back to make sure the service department had contacted me to handle the repairs. I'd rate the sales dept. and owner of Baker Brothers with an A. The responsiveness, punctuality, and professionalism of their service departmant-- an F. It is too bad, because I had planned on purchasing shutters, baseboards, and area rugs from Baker Brothers, but will not now due to their service department.

Description of Work
I had wood flooring installed throughout my home, except for the two bathrooms and laundry room fter carpet and tile were removed.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

07/31/2012


Doug H.

I have had good experiences with them several times when I have dealt with them over the years. They have always had good selections, decent prices, and good service.

Description of Work
Baker Brothers Area Rug & Flooring installed new carpeting.

Category carpet installation

5.0

11/03/2011


GERRY M.

They did a great job. We were real happy with the carpet we got. The guy was very pleasant coming to the house and giving us the estimate. I couldn't ask for any more and as a matter of fact we are planning on calling them again with the new house as we just moved in to look at some stuff. I think we got what we paid for. They were very good and everything was on time. We will use them in the future and that's what we are planning on doing.

Description of Work
We used Baker Brothers Area Rug & Flooring two months ago to put in carpet for one room.

Category carpet installation

5.0

06/02/2011


David F.

The service was pretty good, the sales consultant came out and went over the house and we discussed colors. She was very helpful. She also let us know about two different kinds of carpets we wanted and she let us know we could have both carpets in the the exact same color and a different tile. Both carpets were dyed at the same time so they are an exact match. One carpet was a thick carpet and the other one was thinner. The one in the bedroom was a thick pile and the rest was a standard pile. She let us know we could chose the color then they would dye the carpet and it would take a little longer. They were the exact same color and they did a good job installing it. The quality was good, they did scratch the wall in a couple of places and didn't tell us but it was relatively minor. Responsiveness was excellent. I'd do a little more comparative price shopping but I'd probably use them again. The service was good, we were always able to get a hold of the representative we were dealing with and got all of our questions answered. She went through everything with us.

Description of Work
Baker Brother's Area Rug & Flooring installed carpeting.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

5.0

05/09/2007


JOYCE B.

Excellent. We were coordinating this long distance. We were living in Washington at the time. Cris R. was our representative. He matched the exact carpet from info we gave him (different brand/label but the same manufacturer). He communicated well with our family member who needed to let his team in. The carpeting was beautiful and the price was very competitive. Service was great!

Description of Work
Installed new carpeting throughout house -- living room, 3 bedrooms, hall. About 900 sq. ft. Removed existing carpeting.

Category carpet installation

5.0

12/18/2006


JULIE S.

I was happy with the company from start to finish. The price was actually less than two other companies, and since I thought they could do just as good a job or better, I hired them. I thought the other companies gave unfair/unreasonably high quotes btw. The salesperson was very responsive, earning the sale unlike some of the other companies that were slow to check on prices, availability, etc. The only complaint, and it is small, is that the lead guy claimed that they weren't required to put the furniture back. He quickly backed down. Also, one of his workers volunteered to do it anyway. So they did come back the fourth day to do that. The crew leader and his workers worked diligently all day, seemed experienced, and were polite. The company followed up with calls to be sure I was satisfied. A different guy was sent to do the carpet/tile room transitions and to recut a tile edge that was not straight. That was the only follow up work necessary. He also did a fine job.

Description of Work
About 1000 square feet of porcelain tile flooring was installed after removal of mostly carpeted flooring. The installers worked quickly, doing the majority of the work in three days. They returned the fourth day, briefly, to move my furniture back inside the house. There were five workers, so they ripped out my old carpet and tile by the first morning, mopping and cleaning the cement floor thoroughly before starting to install the tile. They worked from about 8:00 to 5:00ish the first three days and just an hour the last day to finish.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

04/06/2006


DAWN T.

Chris Rosewell at Baker Bros. was recommended by a contractor who did some bathroom repairs and remodeling for us. Chris mostly does commercial jobs, so was able to get us a very good price. He was good about returning calls and the carpet was installed in a timely and professional manner. We were pleased with the cost and the quality of the job.

Description of Work
Removed old carpet and padding and installed new carpet and padding.

Category carpet installation

5.0

09/15/2004

CRAIG HANDLED MY NEEDS WITHIN MY BUDGET AND GAVE CONSTANT SUGGESTIONS AND ALTERNATIVES. HE CAME OUT TO MEASURE WHEN HE SAID HE WOULD, AND PRODUCTS WERE IN AND INSTALLED WHEN PROMISED. THE JOB SITE WAS CLEANED UP PROMPTLY.

Description of Work
WE PURCHASED AND HAD THEM INSTALL CARPETING FOR 3 ROOMS IN OUR HOME. WE ALSO WENT BACK TO THIS COMPANY TO GET FLOORING FOR THE ENTIRE HOME.

Category carpet installation

5.0

09/05/2004


PAUL C.

WE HAD AN INSURANCE CLAIM WHERE A WATER PIPE BROKE, FLOODING THE HOUSE, RUINING THE CARPET. BAKER BROTHERS REMOVED THE OLD, DAMAGED CARPET AND REPLACED WITH NEW PADDING AND CARPET IN TWO DAYS. IT WAS A GREAT JOB AND WE WERE BACK TO NORMAL IN SHORT ORDER.

Description of Work
PROVIDED NEW CARPET THROUGHOUT THE HOUSE (1800 SQ. FT.). ALSO REMOVED OLD WATER SOAKED CARPET.

Category carpet installation

    Other local Pros in your area

    McFarland's Carpet Service

    McFarland's Carpet Service has been family owned and operated since 1947. Your oriental rugs and carpets are not just art treasures; they're also very valuable investments. They must be stored and cleaned properly to maintain the rug itself and increase the value. That's why you want a rug cleaning specialist that will take care of your rug and not a "carpet cleaner".  

    F & F Carpet Cleaning, Inc.

    F&F Carpet Cleaning is the one to call for carpet cleaning, area rug cleaning, and upholstery cleaning. Our technicians are professional which allows us to ensure your satisfaction. When servicing your carpets, we strive to keep you, your family, and your pets safe by using gentle yet effective products on your carpets and upholstery. With our state-of-the-art equipment your carpets will be fresh, clean, residue-free and deodorized. Additional DBA - F & F Restoration, Inc.  

    Offers by F & F Carpet Cleaning, Inc. on Angi
    The Creta Group LLC

    We are a locally owned and operated company with over 20 years of industry experience. We value honesty and integrity in all aspects of our business. We offer a variety of construction, and home improvement and handyman services that are customizable to each individual project. We pride ourselves on the quality of our work as well as our commitment to outstanding results. We look forward to building lasting relationships with our clients and guarantee your satisfaction!  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Financing
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Carpet - Sales, Installation, & Repair. Window Treatments. Flooring - Sales, Installation, & Repair. Ceramic Tile. Oriental Rug Cleaning.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Baker Bros Area Rugs & Flooring

    How is Baker Bros Area Rugs & Flooring overall rated?

    Baker Bros Area Rugs & Flooring is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Baker Bros Area Rugs & Flooring open?

    Baker Bros Area Rugs & Flooring is open:

    Sunday: 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Baker Bros Area Rugs & Flooring provide

    Baker Bros Area Rugs & Flooring accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Financing

    Does Baker Bros Area Rugs & Flooring offer free estimates?

    Yes, Baker Bros Area Rugs & Flooring offers free project estimates.

    Does Baker Bros Area Rugs & Flooring offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Baker Bros Area Rugs & Flooring offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Baker Bros Area Rugs & Flooring?

    No, Baker Bros Area Rugs & Flooring does not offer warranties.

    What services does Baker Bros Area Rugs & Flooring offer?

    Baker Bros Area Rugs & Flooring offers the following services: Carpet - Sales, Installation, & Repair. Window Treatments. Flooring - Sales, Installation, & Repair. Ceramic Tile. Oriental Rug Cleaning.