Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

A-V Electronic Service

Founded 1978 • With Angi since August 2013

4.9

(62) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

4555 W Cottontail Rd

Phoenix, AZ 85086

Description

Previously Based in Sedona for 10 Years Servicing Resorts, Businesses & Residential Customers. References Happily Provided Upon Request. All Work is Performed by Qualified Professional With 40 Years of Experience. Payment is Due Upon Completion of Work. Payment Plan Available by Request for Credit

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
JUDITH D.
5.0
08/31/2017
I am 73 and was confused about what was going on with my TIVO service. Jeff was hired to install a new TIVO system but turns out it was not compatible with my TV. He took the time to figure out everything and got me set up and running again. I may not be explaining this very well but Jeff was great and I definitely recommend him.
Description of Work
Install my new TIVO Bolt DVR
Category
vcr repair
Brian M.
5.0
06/11/2017
He arrived on time. Clearly a professional, he explained what he would do; did it perfectly; and charged me a fair rate.
Description of Work
Contacted me within an hour of my request on Angie's List. Ascertained the nature of the work. Made an appointment.
Category
home theater design, tv repair, computer repair, satellite tv service, cable tv service
Dennis R C.
5.0
01/20/2017
Perfect. He picked up my TV, repaired it and reinstalled it in my home. I hired him to fix my TV and when he came back out to reinstall it, I told him my speakers, CD Player and Amp had not worked for a couple of years. We had a professional team install them and have never really worked. After he installed my TV, he took his time to hook up my CD, Amp and speakers correctly. This was much appreciated and we will always call Jeff in the future. I highly recommend him.
Description of Work
Jeff repaired the IR Board on my TV as well as hooked up my CD Player and speakers correctly.
Category
home theater design, tv repair, cable tv service
Terri L B.
5.0
03/18/2016
The cost was very reasonable. He's a very good person too. He came here and picked up the TV. He came back to his shop and told us what was wrong with it and what the cost was. He brought it back to us. He warrantied it. I definitely would use him in the future.
Description of Work
They repaired another TV for us.
Category
tv repair
Robert P.
5.0
11/03/2015
Jeff was very knowledgeable regarding the "white dot" problem with all DLP TVs. He ordered the correct part, showed up as scheduled, and honored his estimate. I would use A-V Electronics again.
Description of Work
Replaced the DMD Chip for a 50" DLP Samsung TV.
Category
tv repair
Anthony F.
5.0
10/31/2015
When I got a response from Jeff offering to pick up the receiver, my first thought was that this was going to cost me a LOT of money, because pick-up and delivery indicates pretty high-end service. I hesitated for about a week, checked my receiver with a couple of smaller speakers to be sure it was the receiver that went and not the speakers, and then called Jeff up. He came the same day, picked up the unit, took a $75.00 deposit to be applied to the final repair. Fixed it and had it back to me in a week. It works perfectly. The final bill, including the deposit, was $150.00, which I consider more than reasonable. I was afraid that I would end up having to buy something new -- but Jeff fixed the blown output damage, and replaced the two blown fuses with fuses that were the wrong size. Everything sounds perfect, and just the fact that there was no extra charge to take it away and bring it back WITHIN A WEEK still amazes me. Jeff is a friendly, obviously knowledgeable technician. I won't hesitate to use him in the future. Again -- the price was more than reasonable, the service was fast, and pick up and delivery times were punctual, just as stated. USE THIS BUSINESS!
Description of Work
I had a Harmon-Kardon 3480 receiver that I decided to impress the neighbors with and turned it WAY UP to play the liftoff of Apollo 13 on my speakers. It fizzled and died. I sent a message through Angie's List, and Jeff responded and offered to pick up the unit and take a look. He fixed it and returned it -- details in the review.
Category
home theater design, tv repair
Kathleen J.
5.0
08/28/2015
He responded to my call immediately and knew exactly how to get everything singing in harmony again. He also saved me a lot of money by showing me how to avoid duplicate systems. If you have a technical issue that is driving you nuts, stop tearing your hair out and call Jeff.
Description of Work
Jeff unscrambled the jumble of disjointed systems I had left over after I removed my cable box. It was like putting Humpty Dumpty back together again and my attempts were unsuccessful.
Category
tv repair, cable tv service
Lois U.
5.0
08/13/2015
It went just great. Jeffrey qwas polite, efficient and cleaned up as he worked.
Description of Work
Hung my 50 inch television on the wall, concealing all the wires behind the wall, also solved my problem with Netflix sound by running a cable 5to the proper place on the audio receiver.
Category
home theater design, tv repair
Barb M.
5.0
08/11/2015
Jeff was very nice and professional. I debated on getting a new TV instead of a repair but it is not in the budget right now He repaired my on off switch right there at home which was great. I would use him again
Description of Work
replaced switch
Category
tv repair
Cheryl M.
5.0
07/01/2015
It went great. For $350, we are going to be able to use our set for another five years. Who knows by then what other technology will be available. Jeff is very reasonable. He ordered the part and was reasonable on his labor. The television picture looks just like new. This is our second time using A-V Electronics and we would highly recommend them to anyone. Don't run out and buy a new television before calling Jeff to see how inexpensively he can fix the old one.
Description of Work
Jeff replaced a pixel chip on our 80" big screen television.
Category
tv repair
Kishia B.
5.0
06/03/2015
Around March 7th or so our Samsung flat panel TV that hangs in our master bedroom went out...I mean, we were right in the middle of a Breaking Bad binge session and then the picture goes out! At first the sound was still working, but then eventually the sound went out too. So the TV was completely dead at this point...I found AV Electronic through Angie's List and contacted him on a Monday morning I believe. He answered and I told him my issues. He told me it sounded like one of two things might be wrong, but he would know more once he got it on his work bench. Once I gave him my address he said he had another job in my area, so if it was alright, he could pick it up in a couple days. No problem. I gave him a 75.00 cash deposit which he said went towards the final bill, if he could fix it. He offers pickup and delivery which I thought was really nice and saved me the trouble of loading a big 55 inch into my small compact car. About a week later I still hadn't heard from him, so I called to get an update. He said he had just fixed it and the problem was my timing control board, which was the cheaper of the two problems he thought it might be. I owed him 150 when he dropped it off a couple days later. I wasn't home at the time, my Husband was and Jeff even helped him hang it back on the TV mount in our bedroom, which was really nice of him. Hopefully none of my TVs break anytime soon, but if they do, I'll definitely contact Jeff again!
Description of Work
Jeff fixed our flat panel TV.
Category
home theater design, tv repair
Sarah C.
4.0
03/26/2015
Jeff did a great job trouble shooting and setting up my surround sound. Jeff fixed a Vizio tv for us that kept shutting off after 20 minutes. The TV issue took longer than I expected, however, it is fixed and working great. Jeff was diligent about fixing the tv as the troubleshooting on the tv is what took the most time--he could not pin point the cause of the issue. He finally found the issue, ordered parts, replaced, them and fixed the tv. I appreciated his professionalism, friendliness, and honesty in service. I recommend him to anyone needing affordable AV-electronic repairs.
Description of Work
Fixed a TV; set up my surround sound
Category
home theater design, tv repair, electronic repair
Mario R.
5.0
01/10/2015
Fixing amplifier - He was able to repair our unit, so that we did not have to buy a new one; reconnect speakers , connect TV to receiver , tape and DVDs player. Was very professional, on time, fulfill all promises. We were very happy with him.
Description of Work
Repair of whole house stereo system
Category
appliance repair, home theater design, tv repair
Cheryl M.
5.0
11/07/2014
Jeff was on time. He ordered a special part. He charge exactly what he quoted over the phone (and was able to diagnose the problem over the phone), fixed the television in less than 15 minutes, and we would use him again for any audiovisual need. He was very professional, experienced, and did a great job. He saved us from having to buy a new television which was a huge blessing.
Description of Work
Jeff replaced a bulb that had knocked out my picture tube in a 73" Mitsubishi television.
Category
home theater design, tv repair
Thomas C.
5.0
09/18/2014
It went very well. I got in contact with Jeff through Angie's List, he called me the same day and the following day he was out and repaired the T.V. for. me. Just what I love quick, easy, clean, and cheap. Will absolutely use him again.
Description of Work
Replaced the color wheel on my television, cleaned the television parts and got it working again perfectly. He did more than I expected him to do.
Category
tv repair
VIRGINIA G.
1.0
09/07/2014
I live about 30 miles from his shop so he increased the price to cover the extra travel. Jeffrey replaced the bulb in my large screen TV (which I would not be able to move) and he specifically stated that I had a 30 day warranty on labor and parts. Within days my TV delayed in turning on... which never happened before. I called him and I could tell that he didn't want to come out to my home again. But he finally said that he would research it and call me back. I never received a return phone call. So a week later I called him again and he said that it was not related to his repair so he refused to follow up even though it was still within his "30 day warranty period". Again this new problem never occurred prior to his repair.
Description of Work
replaced a bulb in large screen TV.
Category
tv repair

Service Provider Response

First off this is not the original review this customer wrote. She lives 60 miles from my location not 30 like she states. I originally replaced the lamp in her TV that would not turn on at all. She called about 30-40 days later stating that her TV took 30-45 seconds to turn on and I told her that was the normal turn on time for that type of old DLP TV and that there was nothing wrong with the new lamp I installed. The TV turns on every time with no problem just the normal delay. I told her there was nothing I could do for her under warranty unless the lamp was defective and not working at all, but she did not want to hear that. This is why she wrote a nasty review with lies throughout and changed her original review which was positive. This type of review is not fair and should be removed from my profile.
Sarah C.
5.0
08/25/2014
Jeff was pleasant and professional. He knows his stuff. He trouble shooted and connected my surround sound. He showed me how everything works--which was awesome. His price was very reasonable. I recommend his services.
Description of Work
Jeff connected my surround sound and worked on a TV that had some issues.
Category
home theater design, tv repair
MARIA F.
5.0
07/29/2014
Jeff the owner, was great with communication prior to the appointment. Jeff was punctual and very professional. My uncle is elderly and Jeff went above and beyond to get my Uncle back online and able to hear his surround sound. Jeff even traveled to purchase necessary parts to complete the job, as my Uncle no longer drives. Jeff was reasonable and very kind to my Uncle. I am very grateful to Jeff for being committed, honest and professional. We have had two other people, including a Cox technician, but no one else followed through and had my Uncle's computer up and running. Jeff is very saavy and a true professional. Thank you for your absolute kindness to my Uncle. We are thankful for your service and will indeed contact you in the future to assist him with other projects.
Description of Work
Jeff, the owner, assisted my elderly uncle with clearing his computer of virus', anti-virus software and updates, ensuring that my uncle was able to access the internet without delay. He also hooked up his surround sound.
Category
tv repair, computer repair
Matt J.
5.0
07/20/2014
Jeff Ostroff discussed the potential issues with my TV after i described what happened. He picked up the tv from my home and repaired it in the timeframe he stated. When he brough the the tv back, he installed it again and even brough the parts that he had to replace. I appreciated him showing me what went wrong and what he replaced. I wish every contractor that stepped into my home provided service in the exact manner. It was a fair price, he was courteous and professional and had the job completed in the agreed upon time frame.
Description of Work
my 49 inch wallhung samsung TV went out and would not turn on correctly.
Category
tv repair
Jim R.
5.0
07/15/2014
He knew exactly what need to be done the he did it.
Description of Work
Replaced bulb in tv.
Category
computer repair
Mariyn J Wight W.
5.0
07/14/2014
Jeff Ostroff was prompt, courteous and solved my problem quickly. He is a little pricey, but I will gladly use him again as he is very knowledgeable and personable.
Description of Work
He discovered what Prism tech overlooked and they said TV was bad. Jeff Ostroff simply rebooted my TV and then made sure my Prism top boxes were all working before leaving.
Category
tv repair
Robin A.
5.0
07/09/2014
It went good. The guy was prompt and thorough. He was friendly and answered all my questions. It was a good experience. There was no dislike aside from we needed a new TV.
Description of Work
I used A-V Electronic Service Everything he tried couldn't do it, the screen is shut and is cheaper to buy a new TV. We just gave it a shot, we were hopeful.
Category
tv repair
Diane S.
5.0
06/23/2014
The bulb replacement did not enable the television to work. Jeffrey advised me to think about mking repairs ( he would have to take the television to his shop), or consider purchasing a new television since the DPL was 9 years old. I did think about it later and decided to purchase a new television from Costco.
Description of Work
Tried to repair DPL 62 inch HD television. Brought a replacement bulb.
Category
tv repair
karen D.
5.0
06/22/2014
Jeff came over on Fri to fix our very old big screen TV. It was so old he didn't have the parts he needed so had to take the chassis & go get parts & fix it at his shop. He brought it back the next day & it is great.
Description of Work
Re-building chassis boards on TV.
Category
tv repair
Henry P.
5.0
06/14/2014
Jeff was on time and very knowledgeable about the problem. Did an outstanding job and quick repair. Friendly. Will use him again.
Description of Work
Repaired of printer. Replaced power supply module.
Category
computer repair

    Other local Pros in your area

    Zona Automation

    Zona Automation is a full service home automation company, specializing in audio, video, networking, surveillance, security, and lighting. Family owned and operated with over 15 years experience in the home theater industry. No job is too big or too small for the Zona Automation team!  

    Angi Certified

    Appliance Repair Now AZ

    We are a locally owned and operated business with more than 20 years of experience. We are a factory trained repair and installation company. We look forward to working with you!  

    Angi Certified

    Loe's Appliance & AC

    With over 20+ years of appliance repair experience. we are here to help you with ALL your kitchen and laundry appliance repairs and maintenance.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    TV Repair
    TV Service - Cable
    Electronic Gadget Repair
    VCR Repair
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, PayPal, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Appliance Repair - Large. Appliance Repair - Small. Computer Repair & Services. Electronic Gadget Repair. Radio Service. Sound System Repair. Stereo & Home Theater Systems. TV Antenna. TV Repair. TV Service - Cable. TV Service - Satellite. VCR Repair.

    Services Not Offered

    Repair of Cracked or Broken LCD Screens. (not cost effective to repair)

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about A-V Electronic Service

    How is A-V Electronic Service overall rated?

    A-V Electronic Service is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are A-V Electronic Service open?

    A-V Electronic Service is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    What payment options does A-V Electronic Service provide

    A-V Electronic Service accepts the following forms of payment: Check, PayPal, Financing Available

    Does A-V Electronic Service offer free estimates?

    No, A-V Electronic Service does not offer free project estimates.

    Does A-V Electronic Service offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, A-V Electronic Service offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does A-V Electronic Service offer a senior discount?

    No, A-V Electronic Service does not offer a senior discount.

    Does A-V Electronic Service offer emergency services?

    Yes, A-V Electronic Service offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by A-V Electronic Service?

    No, A-V Electronic Service does not offer warranties.

    What services does A-V Electronic Service offer?

    A-V Electronic Service offers the following services: Appliance Repair - Large. Appliance Repair - Small. Computer Repair & Services. Electronic Gadget Repair. Radio Service. Sound System Repair. Stereo & Home Theater Systems. TV Antenna. TV Repair. TV Service - Cable. TV Service - Satellite. VCR Repair.

    Are there any services A-V Electronic Service does not offer?

    Repair of Cracked or Broken LCD Screens. (not cost effective to repair)