Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Buck Mountain Roofing Inc

Founded 2003 • With Angi since August 2004

4.8

(181) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

6326 W St John

Glendale, AZ 85308

Description

Re-roofing & Remolding. We service the entire Phoenix area & Albuquerque areas....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

06/18/2018


Mark Z.

Quality and craftmanship was excellent. Will hire again.

Description of Work
Replace front entry roof

Category roofing

5.0

04/03/2018


DAVE H.

really fast, personable, and complete. Took 2 trips to see what he needed to repair, then find tiles to match our 24 year old house, the come back and finish the repairs. I'm always pleasantly surprised by what he charges. Very fair.

Description of Work
Selling house. Home inspector found cracked tiles, loose cement caps, and cracks.

Category roofing

5.0

09/28/2017


K R.

The workers were on time and were professional. The job was completed in a timely fashion. Only challenge was finding replacement tiles. Needed to get an off color replacement to complete job.

Description of Work
BMR replaced the underlayment of the roof on front half of the house. They reconstructed area of roof to repair leak and create better drainage.

Category roofing

3.0

05/01/2017


Nina B.

I used Brian for a flat roof resurfacing about a year ago. A leak occurred a year after around a scupper, so he came out to check on it. The leak wasn't his fault, but he temporarily fixed it at no cost while he was here. So far, so good. However, the long term solution which he quoted on and I agreed to hasn't been completed, and it's been months. And, after numerous phone calls by me to follow up, I have received no return calls or status from them. So Brian, I really like what you do, but why did you fall off the map for months?

Description of Work
I used Brian for a flat roof resurfacing about a year ago. Excellent work, see previous review. A leak occurred a year after around a scupper, so he came out to check on it in February. The leak wasn't his fault, but he temporarily fixed it at no cost while he was here. Again, excellent service! However, the long term solution which he quoted on and I agreed to hasn't been completed, and it's been months. And now the temporary fix is leaking. And, after numerous phone calls by me to follow up, I have received no return calls or status from them. So Brian, I really like what you do, but why did you fall off the map for months?

Category roofing

5.0

04/17/2017


Savith K.

The service was good but they were a little bit expensive. The work was good. They were professional and punctual when they came. They were ready to work and wrapped it up. I just thought the price was a little high.

Description of Work
They did a roof repair.

Category roofing

5.0

04/12/2017


Linda G.

I went with a company fully specializing in the area. But I was seriously considering this quote.

Description of Work
I was looking for a quote on a skylight. They gave me the best quote.

Category roofing, skylights

5.0

06/18/2016


DAVE H.

They are honest, straight forward, and very professional. Part of my roof leaked and upon inspection, he explained why. It was installed wrong in the first place. Not a surprise as we'd run across this previously. He gave us an estimate, fixed it promptly, and did a great job. Price was very reasonable and will definitely use him again if the need arises.

Description of Work
remove and replace part of my roof

Category roofing

5.0

02/29/2016


Mark Z.

The project and experience working with Brian and Tracy was very good. Brian provided options and quotes for each. Both were very patient with all the questions I had and communicated well. I didn't mind helping out with small helpful tasks where I could during the work. Both guys were also very skilled by the detail and output of their work. I may have a new project in the coming year or two and would definitely call them back.

Description of Work
Replaced dry rotted and damaged flat roof front entry with a new gabled metal roof.

Category roofing

5.0

02/20/2016


Thomas P. C.

Brian and his crew were all very courteous, friendly, and very professional; easy to work with, explaining everything as they worked. They worked hard the entire 4 or 5 days they were here. They even used a magnet to sweep the yard for debris. I have never seen any contractors clean up after themselves as well as Brian and his crew. The yard was spotless when they left. I would definitely recommend them to anybody.

Description of Work
Brian and his crew showed up on time, and completely re-roofed our entire 2800sq. foot two-story home. They started out by removing all the tile and tearing off the old, dry material, i.e. felt, slats, metals, etc. They replaced all the old rotted plywood and fascia as needed with new premium grade lumber. Then Installed two new layers of #40 felt (underlayment) where we had previously only had one layer which lasted 23 years. They laid down new batten strips, new drip edging, and new bird-stop. They also repaired a sag in the rear roof fascia. Installed 10 "S" tile O'Hagin Vents. Brian ended up having to bring in an additional 100 tiles to cover what the original builders had shorted us when the house was built, by not properly overlapping the tiles per building code. Also re-roofed our covered patio roof and added vented bird-block.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Dear Mr. [Member Name Removed], It's always a pleasure to do work for great customers. Please call again with any other roofing needs you or your family might need. Thank you, Brian
5.0

11/30/2015


Keith C.

Our parents existing roof was 19 years old and had two old evap coolers that we removed down to the roof line one day before work was scheduled to begin. The crew was at the house waiting to start work before dawn and working over 2 1/2 days (the projected schedule) completed the entire roof. We are all delighted with the new roof look and more natural random color/patterning offered by the roofing materials. Buck Mtn. Roofing did a great job and our family won't hesitate to recommend them to anyone who needs to have roofing work done.

Description of Work
Complete tear off old shingle roof, inspect roof plywood, make repair/replacement as needed, close openings for old evap coolers, new felt paper, flashings, new shingles.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Dear Member, Thank you for the work and look forward to serving you, family and friends in the future. Thank you, Brian
2.0

10/29/2015


Ron B.

It did not go. No call back received.

Description of Work
submitted a request through AL site with details of what I need quoted. Left a follow up voice message same day. A week later, have received no call back or e-mail contact in response. 3 other providers contacted through AL contacted me and set appointments within 24 hours.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Dear Member, I apologize about your bad experience. I Brian, the owner, was working out of town for a month and half, and you slipped through the cracks. Again I apologize, we try very hard to please all of our customers and do the upmost quality work for everybody. Thank you, Brian
5.0

10/27/2015


v kim B.

I had lost contact with Buck Mtn during Jan 2015 quoting process on a hail damaged roof; I didn't know what I was doing, first time using insurance. In the end Ins Co wanted WHOLE ROOF redone; no other contractor agreed, 5/5. But Mortgage company was going to handle payment and do review on services, so went for full redo. Hired a grade 'A' AngieList contractor; found the owner to be something like a pathological liar, like maybe he just lies but doesn't mean to. He's a very nice man. Fired him, though, and hunted down Brian Yoder, again, to come rescue me. So he did. Thanks Brian! Buck Mtn works across state lines, my co-worker calls them 'storm chasers', and it had been a very busy summer for roofers. Brian scheduled me in ~30 days post my signing contract. At this point I am pretty neurotic about getting this roof done, which means for me borderline 'b****'. During the Sept 21-22 Flood Warning weekend for Central Phx I found strange little holes breaking out on an edge at roof/carport. Brain said he would come by in the morning, he was just in from out of State, to look at them. But I slapped some acrylic roof caulk on them before any rains...weird weird...what did first roof company do for that to happen...freaks me out still. Anyway, once date to start work was formulated, the work began. All of it was finished within ~56 hrs of start time. A couple of things kept them from receiving 'A's: primarily poor communication with Brian or an Office Manager or a project manager during the scheduled work period and post work period. Everything worked out, and to my benefit. The roof looked incredibly beautiful the night it was completed and the relief that I felt when the work was done was quite profound. Brian Yoder, Buck Mtn Roofing, were a very good and reliable team at this time; yet, very busy. Brian has ALWAYS, in the past, made any repairs to my roof whether it be due to workman ship or warranty repairs. The roof still requires a lot more love in specific areas due to the very random disposition of foam by the original roofing company. I will ask Brian, of Buck Mtn, to quote these specific projects without any hesitation. Peace~

Description of Work
Re: Flat Foam Roof, emergency rescue from an untrustworthy roofing contractor I found on Angie's List. Previous Experience: Yes, 2009-2014. Total Sq Ft.: ~1250 Services Provided: Power Wash, 30 gallon K&M coating, Perimeter edge Tyvek support. I lost contact with Buck Mtn during Jan 2015 quoting process on a hail damaged roof; I didn't know what the f--- I was doing and contacted insurance company to file claim. They wanted WHOLE ROOF redone; no other contractor agreed, 5/5. But Mortgage company was going to handle payment and do review on services, so went for full redo. Hired an 'A' AngieList contractor, expert liars and at arguing. Fired them and hunted down Brian Yoder, again, to come rescue me. So he did. Thanks Brian! Buck Mtn works across state lines, my co-worker calls them 'storm chasers', and it had been a very busy summer for roofers. Brian scheduled me in ~30 days post my signing contract. At this point I am pretty neurotic about getting this roof done, which means borderline 'b****'. During the Sept 21-22 Flood Warning weekend for Central Phx I found strange little holes breaking out on an edge at roof/carport. Slapped some acrylic caulk on them before any rains...weird weird...what did GR company do for that to happen. Anyway, once date to start work was formulated, the work began. All of it was finished in about 56 hrs of start time. A couple of things kept them from receiving 'A's: poor communication with Brian or an Office Manager or a project manager during the scheduled work period. Everything worked out, and to my benefit. The roof looked so beautiful the night it was completed and the relief that I felt when the work was done was quite profound. Brian Yoder, Buck Mtn Roofing, were a very good and reliable team at this time; yet, very busy. Brian has ALWAYS, in the past, made any repairs to my roof whether it be due to workman ship or warranty repairs. I am believe The roof still requires a lot more love in specific areas due to the very random disposition of foam by GR. I will ask Buck Mtn to quote this specific projects without any hesitation and I understand the movement of the company's activities better. However, I do have a new and non-negotiable ground rule now :)

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Dear Member, Thank you for your praise on our integrity and work. We appreciate it, and look forward to maintaining your roof in the future. Brian
1.0

09/19/2015


Kristin E.

After visiting house to create an estimate, which they didn't provide at the time, I never heard from them again. I called back twice and no one returned my call.

Description of Work
Visited house to prepare an estimate.

Category roofing

5.0

07/31/2015


Raygar K.

This is my second time using Brian's crew at Buck Mountain (I also used them about 5 years ago to replace different parts of my roof). Just like the first time, they did a great quality job and the pricing is fair. They actually completed faster than anticipated. I would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
Replaced roof fascia and repaired a flat roof.

Category roofing

5.0

07/06/2015


Deborah T.

Job was postponed a few weeks due to back-log and delays, but Brian was in constant communication about his schedule. Once started, the roof replacement went well and was finished in a timely manner. Brian took the time to fix a few smaller items at no extra charge to make up for the delay. The crew cleaned up neatly at the end of each day and at the job's end. Quality work at a good price.

Description of Work
Replaced tile roof.

Category roofing

5.0

06/15/2015


Mary G.

After a one week delay in the start date, the crew was timely and efficient and completed the job in the time estimated. They kept the area neat, and very few nails were found on the ground. They were very receptive to our questions and minor requests, and were very professional. I would definitely recommend Buck Mountain Roofing to anyone needing a new roof.

Description of Work
They removed the roof tiles, stripped the old roofing underlayment and molding, and repaired/replaced plywood. Then they installed new roofliner, batten strips, drip edge, birdstop and tile pan. Then they re-installed roof tiles, replaced broken tiles and added new tile to current code. Next they installed hip & ridge seal and cleaned up debris. In addition, they repaired the patio cover and perimeter edge with flat roofing and cleaned up the debris.

Category roofing, roof cleaning

5.0

05/23/2015


Thomas P. C.

After 22 years, our roof had finally begun to leak. We got four other estimates before settling on Brian, because out of all the 7 or 8 contractors we researched on Angie's List, Buck Mountain had the best overall ratings, i.e. highest percentages of "A" ratings, plus Brain, the owner, impressed me as extremely knowledgeable and honest the way he explained things. All the cost were broken out separately in his estimate; nothing was hidden or buried. Before Brian and his crew could begin on the re-roof, a record breaking storm hit the Phoenix area. Streets were flooded everywhere. Brian (the owner) sent one of his people out to temporarily patch the leak while it was still raining. What normally took one of his workers only 15 minutes to drive here, ended up taking over an hour because of street flooding. Trees fell everywhere, damaging houses, blocking the roads. But he managed to patch the roof leak while it was still raining. About two weeks later Brian and his crew started on the re-roofing. The original estimate was about $3,000 or $4000 less, but we wanted 2 layers of premium roofing underlayment, (tar paper, I call it), plus Brian installed/replaced a lot of wood with a better grade of plywood. To make a long story short, we have had several major storms since having the roof re-done seven months ago, and no more leaks. Brain and his crew do excellent work at a fair and reasonable price. And as far as clean-up goes - I have never seen better. His crew left the place spotless. Nevertheless, Brian came out and gave the yard one last going over, and still found some little things to pick up. Never seen such a remarkable clean-up job. I would definitely refer my friends/acquaintances to Buck Mountain Roofing, and have already done so.

Description of Work
Completely re-roofed the entire house. Took up tiles, tore off old material (felt, slats, &metals). Installed two new layers of G40 felt, new wood battens, new painted drip edge, and bird stop. Replaced flat roofing on patio. Repaired sag in rear fascia on upper stroy roof. Installed O'hagin roof vents, replaced all old, water damaged plywood as needed.

Category roofing, woodworking

5.0

05/22/2015


Tim L.

Brian was scheduled for 8-10 on March 19. He called at about 7:30 and asked if he could come between 11:00-1:00 because he was working on a tile roof job and, as tiles crack when it is hot, he wanted to get it done in the morning. I had no problem rescheduling as I figured that if it was my tile job, I would want it done correctly and completely too. Brian arrived promptly and I explained the leak problem. He went up on my roof to take a look at the problem and when he came back down, he told me he had fixed the problem. Apparently, a few tiles had become dislodged and Brian had to make some minor sealing repairs that took no more than 15 minutes, so he simply did the work while he was on the roof. In addition, he moved other tiles on the roof that also had been dislodged. When Brian was finished, I asked how much I owed him and he asked if I would consider simply paying his service call fee. I was more than happy to pay this as Brian saved me considerable time and effort and I thought his service fee fair for his repair. Brian said my roof was in good shape. He suggested that in four years, I have it inspected and suggested that I use his company. I will certainly use Buck Mountain Roofing again for this inspection or any other unforeseeble roofing repairs.

Description of Work
Fixed leak in roof

Category roofing

5.0

05/14/2015


Jeanie S.

I used Buckhorn Mountain Roofing to replace my entire roof approximately 8 years ago. This involved tile roofing, some shingle work and a flat foam roof over the garage. Last week they came and replaced siding, trim boards, replaced foam roof that was removed for the the siding replacement, painted, caulked and puttied. I found Buck Mountain Roofing to be honest, hard working, professional, and reasonably priced. I have recommended them to several friends and they have been very satisfied with the work. The owner, Brian Yoder, is the best contractor you will ever work with.

Description of Work
Replaced siding above flat roof, portion of flat roof, replaced trim boards, painted, caulked and puttied.

Category roofing

5.0

05/08/2015


Alicia U.

Brian is knowledgeable and his crew worked hard to install the new roof. He alerted us to some framing problems on the roof. He tried to tell our framers what needed to be corrected, but they were clueless. So, Brian and his framer Tracey fixed the issues properly. We have used Brian in the past for two of our other houses and we have never been disappointed. He may not be the cheapest, but he is very knowledgeable and trustworthy. We would definitely use him again.

Description of Work
Brian tore off the remaining roof that we had left on our remodel and put on a whole new roof (asphalt shingle and a flat roof over the patio).

Category roofing

5.0

04/18/2015


Diane G.

This was the second time I've contracted with Buck Mountain to replace a roof. He did such a great job on the first house--this was just before that hail storm hit the valley a few years ago--that Brian was my first choice when we developed a leak during this spring's storms. Brian came out on the day after I called to assess the problem and he gave use 3 options for fixing the problems: patch the two areas that were leaking; replace the underlayment on the whole roof and reuse the existing tiles; or do a complete tear-off and replacement. Our house is 20 years old, but the cement tiles were still in good condition, so we chose the second option. This is a big project--it took 2 full weeks to complete--and we couldn't be more pleased with the result. The crew was outstanding and they left the site immaculate at the end of each day. You can tell that each worker takes pride in his (and her) work! In addition, Brian suggested adding new O'hagin attic vents to the roof sections that are over the garage and the guest-bedroom/home-office wing of the house. The low-profile vents blend-in with the tile surface and will give us much-needed venting for the hot air that builds-up in these areas in the summer.

Description of Work
Removed and replaced underlayment and reinstalled cement tiles on roof of 2,500 square foot, single story house. Price included installing new O'hagin attic vents over east and west wings of the home.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Dear Member, Thank you for being a return customer. It was a great pleasure working with you again. Thank you, Brian
1.0

03/27/2015


Diana H.

Terrible, never returned 2 phone calls

Description of Work
Never returned phone calls; to me, shows they wouldn't show up either

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Dear Member, I (Brian) reviewed our call list. I show Megan called you back I this past Monday morning around 9am. She left her cell number ( which has a 208 area code) because we would be out in field this past week. I show you called the office number later that afternoon. She called back to try to schedule an appointment again but there was no answer and left another message with her cell number. I don't show any other contact after that. Maybe you got us confused with another company. We would still be happy to come out and provide an estimate. Thank you, Brian
5.0

03/20/2015


Lynn T.

Out of 5 companies called, this company came out to inspect our roof for a possible leak. They found that some of the seals had cracked and scheduled a time to come back and sea all flashings and dormersl. They were on time and finished the job as scheduled. If we need roofing in the future, we would use this company again.

Description of Work
Sealed Flashings and Dormer Vents

Category roofing

5.0

03/09/2015


Craig K.

This is our fourth roof with Buck Mountain and although they are never the least expensive option, they are consistently the highest quality, never short-cutting any aspect of the entire project. We have skylights in this new property, two types of roof, rotting fascia, etc. We had a short window to the get the project done and Brian graciously moved his schedule around to accommodate. They are perfectionists from the time they arrive on site, including cleaning up and noise abatement. Married to an architect, we know a good contractor from an exceptional one. Buck Mountain is exceptional.

Description of Work
Replace clay roof with concrete tile, and strip double-layer foam roof to plywood and replace.

Category roofing, skylights

Service Provider Response

Dear Member, We always appreciate the work from returning customers, they always make it a pleasure to go to work!
5.0

03/09/2015


jacquelyn N.

From the time I first contacted Mr. Yoder to the completion of the work, the service was first-rate. Mr. Yoder was very professional & knowledgeable. He always responded to any questions i had in a timely manner. I found the cost to be quite reasonable. The work started on schedule. The roofers were on time & hard working They were very thorough in cleaning the area around the home at the end of each day. i am extremely happy with the completed work!

Description of Work
Full roof replacement (use of existing tiles)

Category roofing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Charles and Alex Painting

    We are a family owned and operated 4th generation company, we take pride in our work. We offer free estimates and competitive pricing. We use only higher quality paints and prepping materials that I supply and when you get a price from us there's no hidden charges or fees. So call for a free quote I am sure we can make you happy with all your painting needs. We are set up to do complete repaints or partial we really don’t do small jobs such as one garage door.  

    A- Supreme Painting

    We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule a free estimate today! Exterior and interior painting also cabinet painting and epoxy floors  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    James Horn

    James Horn is a painting and roofing contractor / roofer serving the Chandler, AZ area since 2000. Services include Roofing, Roof Repair, Flat Roofs, Exterior Painting, Roof Installation, Roof Replacement and Roofing Prices.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Roofing. Minor Drywall Repair. Minor Wood Work.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Buck Mountain Roofing Inc

    How is Buck Mountain Roofing Inc overall rated?

    Buck Mountain Roofing Inc is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Buck Mountain Roofing Inc open?

    Buck Mountain Roofing Inc is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 6:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 6:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 6:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 6:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 6:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 1:00 PM

    What payment options does Buck Mountain Roofing Inc provide

    Buck Mountain Roofing Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard

    Does Buck Mountain Roofing Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Buck Mountain Roofing Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Buck Mountain Roofing Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Buck Mountain Roofing Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Buck Mountain Roofing Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Buck Mountain Roofing Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Buck Mountain Roofing Inc?

    Yes, Buck Mountain Roofing Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Buck Mountain Roofing Inc offer?

    Buck Mountain Roofing Inc offers the following services: Roofing. Minor Drywall Repair. Minor Wood Work.