Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

CDC Pools Inc

Founded 1990 • With Angi since September 2004

4.5

(56) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2364 S Airport Blvd

Chandler, AZ 85249

Description

CDC Pool Remodeling Specialists was born in 1990 when Roger and Chris teamed up to solve a problem they saw in the Arizona pool market. We’re different than most pool contractors you’ll see: We use our own interior pool surface, tile and plumbing crews. Many contractors sub this work out. We don’t. Because pool remodeling is different than new pool construction (the main business of most of the pool companies you’ll talk to). Pool remodeling is full of surprises. There are dozens of things we uncover on each job that require experience to recognize and a commitment to quality to do the right thing. We have more superintendents in the field than contractors twice our size. Why? Again, the nature of remodeling AND our owners’ commitment to quality. This is construction, things go wrong and we’re not perfect. But we do our best to put experienced crews we control on the job and put experienced, committed superintendents on each job. You’ll meet the super who runs your project. Our owners are in the field. Chris built custom homes and pools. Roger came from the service and retail side of the pool business. One of them is in just about every backyard. We think this makes a difference. Ask around, we think you’ll agree. License #121372. Addiional DBAs - CDC Pool Remodeling Specialists, CDC Pools Remodeling Specialists....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

04/20/2022


Rich B.

Great. Everyone was very professional and we now have a beautiful pool.

Description of Work
Pebble teck

Category ceramic tile, plastering

1.0

02/24/2018


Doug B.

This company is doing work for my neighbor. The six crew members started using jackhammers and air hammers at 7:30 AM on a Saturday! City ordinance says no work can be started before 8:00 AM. The noise has been deafening, and the dust floating over into my yard is unbelievable. My yard and pool now have a coat of dust I have to deal with. I am sure that the noise ordinance is not within code...I have it all on tape if you are interested. On the side of their truck it says that CDC Pools is associated with Leslies Pool Supply. I will never do business with CDC, and will not continue to do business with Leslies anymore! This company did not take the neighborhood into consideration what so ever. They coud have done the same work Monday morning at 8 while everyone was at school and work.

Description of Work
Swimming pool reserface

Category pool cleaners

5.0

02/08/2018


Linda M.

We contracted with CDC Pools in December 2017 for a large ($35K) overhaul of an old diving pool that still had a whip system to clean the bottom, badly cracked cool decking, and a cracked concrete slab. Since the cost of this job was going to be larger than our first home purchase in 1977 (gulp), we wanted to make sure that we hired a skilled, qualified company, that knew materials, could provide helpful design suggestions, and one we could count on the fully complete the job to our satisfaction. After obtaining competitive bids, we decided to go with CDC. Cassie Selles, who contracted the job for CDC, was nothing short of amazing. She knows her company, knows pool remodeling ins and outs, and was able to give us advice on materials. (Artistic pavers vs Travertine, minipebble vs plaster, pool color etc.) Our job began on January 11th and was to be completed by February 28. Due to adept scheduling and crews, our job was complete on February 3rd! (Cassie came out this morning and we added additional paver work to the front of our house!) Here’s our information that will help you as you consider CDC Pools: 1. Bid and pricing: Not the cheapest bid, but competitive, and we felt well worth the expertise and security we would have knowing that company is a long time valley company that would stand behind their work. If you are remodeling, confidence in the company’s expertise is important so that you can address any issue that comes up with an old pool. We had no additional costs because of the careful bidding from CDC. 2. Scheduling and crews: Because of the stable crews, we were extremely pleased with the progress of our project. We watched the paver and chip out crews work very long days and with care for our property. It was always left clean and we had no complaints from neighbors around us. We knew when crews were coming, asked them to use only a designated gate for entrance and exit, and they were respectful of our requests. 3. Job supervision and management: Our supervisor Sergio, Cassie, job foremen, and the CDC office staff were available to answer questions and communicate when we needed them to. Justin, the job foreman for the paver crew, made time to meet with us personally to answer questions about the Artistic Paver material and to address specific drainage issues. As with any job, as property owners, it’s important to make sure you ask questions and understand what is being done and how things are going. CDC was always available to us. We hope this helps you as you consider your pool remodel. It’s a big job, you want it done right and you want a company that will stand behind their work long term. We were very pleased with the process and love our new backyard and pool. Bring on summer 2018! The McFadyens

Description of Work
$35 K Pool Remodel

Category pool cleaners

5.0

01/31/2018


John O.

It was great. Cassie Selle, my sales rep, couldn’t have been more informative and professional. She helped with my selections and gave me some great insights. Sergio Leyva, my super, was always communicative and gave my constant updates. The work is beautiful. I am most pleased.

Description of Work
Completely redo my pool: tile, add pebbletec, redo cool decking, etc.

Category pool cleaners

5.0

11/30/2017


Laurie H.

Very well. Superintendent always responded quickly and had no issues with what was being done. Crew was great and cleaned up well afterwards. No surprise costs. Went according to their Detailed agreement. Loved being able to go to their show room and see tiles and surfaces outside in water.

Description of Work
We had our pool resurfaced with new tile, added a dedicated line for cleaner and automatic water filler. Plus had our deck redone with cool deck. Jerry was one of the few contractors who came to the house to measure and see condition of the pool.

Category ceramic tile, decks, pool cleaners

Service Provider Response

Thanks, [Member Name Removed], for your kind words. Glad you liked the demonstration area. We think it's important to see the surfaces in the water. What is amazing, though, is that some contractors didn't come out to see your pool before they gave you a bid.
4.0

08/16/2017


Tabitha H.

Work looks amazing, any issues were quickly addressed.

Description of Work
Complete pool remodel and some new equipment, add vacuum line.

Category ceramic tile, pool cleaners

4.0

05/24/2017


BRAD B.

very happy with the finished product. they kept discovering things and the price ended up a lot higher than original but I don't fault CDC for that; I feel I have a better longer lasting pool now (I hope). My only complaint would be that CDC could give me a better heads up on when contractors were coming out. I have two dogs I need to keep locked in and I felt I was always asking when the next step would take place instead of being told up front.

Description of Work
re-pebble-tekd my pool and new tile. demolished steps and fixed some bad spots in existing gunite. added fourth step to new steps and added long bench seat in shallow end. Also new multi-colored pool light.

Category pool cleaners

5.0

01/02/2017


harold F.

from start to finish everything went fine, they showed up on time removed old pool surface and then applied pebble tec. it took a little over two weeks, kevin the foreman was great, they have a nice showroom with pools so you can see how your new tile will look under water which was great. make sure you get the glow in the dark tile on steps and whirlpool, I wish I would have had some mixed in with the pebble tec. for the whole pool surface. only had a couple of problems along the way one of the workers broke the plastic skimmer when chipping away old concrete, cdc replaced it at no extra charge (it has to be very difficult to chip concrete away from 20 year old plastic) all in all they were great.

Description of Work
pool resurface

Category pool cleaners

5.0

05/26/2015


Bill Q.

The pool remodel from the time we met with the salesman (Jerry Herzog) and later the job superintendent (Sergio Leyva) was completed professionally, on schedule and on budget. There was no sales pressure to purchase plaster vs. pebble or cool deck vs. travertine pavers. We wanted travertine pavers as we knew the cracks in the previous cool deck would show back through eventually. Yes they are pricey but what a great look. A few minor items which I brought to their attention during construction were completed promptly and with a smile. Any telephone calls were returned promptly and courteously. The completed job took 3 weeks as expected. All construction materials were cleaned up and removed. For any pool remodel company you choose, to minimize any potential problems I believe it is important to make the acquaintance of the supervisor and work crew leads and monitor the work before each crew leaves so you end up with what you wanted. A contract on a pool job cannot specify every little aspect of the job (like a chipped tile you found) . Monitor what's going on, meet and talk to those involved and all the small important details that make you love you pool will be there. CDC did a great job and I have received many compliments already on the finished product. Thank You CDC.

Description of Work
Our pool was remodeled by removing the plaster interior, installing micro mini pebble with added abalone shell sparkles (Santa Cruz Blue), remove kids fiberglass slide, installed new waterline tile (GMS blue), punched out bottom of the spa and filled in spa and capped it to make an additional patio, flattened spa top area then installed travertine pavers over the spa and on the house patio and on all pool deck and patio areas. Installed travertine coping and cantilever for raised deck areas and installed travertine step risers. Cut out all previous pool plumbing pipes and re-plumbed all above ground plumbing with larger pipe and new valves. Installed a new Pentair energy efficient variable pump. Installed a new 250 watt pool light

Category ceramic tile, decks, pool cleaners

5.0

05/15/2015


Craig K.

There wasn't any charge and they were very good at everything they did. They directed my to somebody that could fix cause it's an unusual type of thing that happen. They were responsive to my request and then fixed the things that needed tobe addressed and did a good job in every contact we had them.

Description of Work
CDC Pools Inc. We had the pool remodeled. There was a leak in a sewer line that was causing an underground leak. They adjusted something that needed to be adjusted. It was a follow up on the original.

Category pool cleaners

5.0

05/07/2015


Leslie P.

CDC Pools did a fantastic job on my pool remodel. I have a dive pool so I knew it would be expensive. They were the lowest bid with the best warranty. I went with their micro mini pebble surface and couldn't be happier. It is very smooth unlike many pebble surfaces I've felt in the past. I also had my water line tile replaced. Chris did an excellent job. I have a waterfall fixture that was hanging over the pool. I still wanted the full-size tile underneath, so Chris solved the problem by doing a straight cut through the bottom of the waterfall. It looks fantastic, better than before. The tile itself was beautiful and well done. My deck surface was cracking in spots and some had fallen off during the plaster removal. Chris filled in the cracked/missing sections of the deck with grout so it would match perfectly with the tile. I could go on and on about the tile. Thank you Chris for doing such a fantastic job! As for the rest of the work, everything was done on-time and they kept the yard clean during the process. Kevin did a good job with explaining everything and always answering my text message questions. I was always given advance notice of when they were doing the work, so I could keep my dog in the house and unlock the gate. Overall, I highly recommend CDC pools and will use them in the future to replace my deck surface.

Description of Work
Remodeled my pool with Baja Micro Mini Pebble surface, re-tiled the water line tile, and replaced the 400 watt light in my pool.

Category ceramic tile, decks, pool cleaners

5.0

05/05/2015


Deborah D.

Jim Danke was very punctual when we scheduled the appointment for quoting our project. He answered all our questions and made suggestions when we asked his opinion. He reserched special items we required for our project and returned all our calls when we had questions when we were making our decision in choosing between The quotes we received. We had problems with other companies having to reschedule appointments, and returning our calls regarding ther quotes. Some companies were reluctant to check on or provide our special items required. All the employees at CDC pools were very professional. The area was cleaned up after each days work. The project was completed as scheduled on time and as quoted.Jim Danke, was available daily to make sure the project was progressing on time and always available for any questions we had. Our pool looks amazing. We are very happy with the service provided by CDC Pools.

Description of Work
Pool depth conversion, resurface pool and decking. Retile pool, install security bars in pool for handicap use

Category ceramic tile, decks, pool cleaners

5.0

12/30/2014


Jonathan H.

They did a great job. They were very responsive to all my questions. I got a lot of calls from them when the work would be performed and what will be done on what days. The final product was an excellent job and the price was competitive. Some others would only do pebble tec of some sort and being I am not into that finish or look, they offered a few different plaster varieties and a few pebble tec versions. They replaced all the valves, drain covers and auto fill valve. A special note would be they saw a stain from a bird on the stairs and tried to remove it. Then they said, they would rather wait 30 days for the plaster to cure. I thought for sure they would forget about it but no, they called 30 days later, came out, and the stain is gone. I would highly recommend them. They only do remodels not new installs. They do it professionally and on schedule. Great job!

Description of Work
Strip plaster pool including the edge tiles and re-plaster and re-tile.

Category pool cleaners

5.0

10/22/2014


Cynthia B.

They did a fantastic job! They were on time, thorough, and when the job was finished, it was gorgeous. It has lowered our electric bill on our pool because they put in new equipment. I can’t say enough good about them! They were wonderful.

Description of Work
They re-did our pool.

Category pool cleaners

5.0

10/05/2014


Irene C.

CDC Pools was chosen to do above mentioned work. Jim Dahnke, the superintendent of the company did an outstanding job advising us as well as by staying in contact according to the schedule. The different crews were hardworking doing a very professional job and at the end of the day left everything immaculately clean. We are very happy with the work done and would highly recommend this company to other prospective customers.

Description of Work
Resurfacing of 28,000 gallon pool with Mini Pebble, replacing waterline tiles, installation of new filter, pump and ozone generator.

Category pool cleaners

5.0

10/02/2014


Cathy R.

The original resurfacing work on our pool (several years ago) was done well, and it has held up nicely. We decided to upgrade to a new salt system at that time. We had some ongoing issues with that salt system (they use a different manufacturer now). CDC Pools was responsive to our problems and we are very happy to the solution they offered us. I was especially pleased with how quickly they responded to the problems we were having. It is reassuring to know that a company stands behind its products and its work performed.

Description of Work
We had our pool resurfaced years ago, and more recently had a new pump installed and a salt filtration system installed.

Category pool cleaners

Service Provider Response

We ever you have any issue please call the office first. We always try to help our customers first before referring them to someone else. We have gone out to the Robbins residence and fixed the electrical problem. What Mark our salesman stated in regards to not having an electrician is completely true although we do have several employees that can take care of simple wiring and trouble shooting. As for upselling to a fancy pump it is actually illegal for us to install a single speed pump that is larger then a 3/4 hp as you main circulation pump. If you have any further issues please contact the office at 480 539 7700 We would be more then happy to help you with any of your pool needs.
5.0

06/03/2014


Kathy H.

My husband and I contacted CDC Pools in April. Jim Dahnke, the company's salesperson/job supervisor, contacted us within a week (4/10) and set up an appointment. During the appointment, Jim explained the process, showed us samples of the different surfaces the company would be able to provide us, showed us tile samples, and gave us some information about the company. He went out and looked at the pool, the skimmer, the pump and took some measurements. Our first order of business was to get the pool pressure tested and have the skimmer replaced. Jim wrote up a contract for us during the initial appointment, and we had the pressure test done and the skimmer replaced. This work was completed by 4/15. On 4/13, we called Jim back to write up the estimate for the pool resurfacing. This included our choice of surface and new tile. We also had small 1"x1" tiles put on the steps and along the edge where the pool gets deeper. As soon as we signed the contract, Jim drained our pool. It took 2 days. He called later in the week and said our pool was scheduled for chip out on April 28. On April 28, the crew came and chipped out the old plaster. This took the entire day and is a very noisy, dusty process. We were provided information beforehand about notifying our neighbors, moving patio furniture out of the way, moving any potted plants out of the way, keeping pets out of the pool area, and that it would be a very loud and dusty job. Once the plaster was removed, the company advised us that we had all copper plumbing. This was causing our pool to constantly be full of algae. All of the old plumbing was replaced, and the old returns were all plastered over. We had pavers removed from our patio along the plumbing lines and the plumbing from the pool to the pump was replaced. Additional returns were drilled through the pool wall and new PVC pipe was put in to replace the copper returns. The next step was to retile the pool. This took a day. Then we had the pool re*plastered the week of May 19. We were given additional instructions about how to fill the pool, what we needed to do during the fill process and how to care for the pool in the first few months. It took about a day and a half to completely fill the pool. Once it was full, a specialist came out the next day and made sure the chemicals were correct and brushed the pool sides and did the skimming. He came again 2 days later to check the chemicals again and to put our pool cleaning machine in the pool. After a couple of days, we noticed that there was air in the lines and that one of the returns was blowing bubbles. We called Jim and he came out to have a look. He told us to see if it didn't clear up in a couple of days, sometimes the lines have a lot of air in them. We called him again after a few days, saying it did not clear up. A week after the pool was full, Ron, the warranty specialist from Phoenix came to Tucson to look at our pool. He and Jim found a small hole in one of the pipes (the only one that the company hadn't replaced). They dug up the pipe and replaced it for us at no additional charge. The company assured us they wanted to be sure the job was done right. Overall, we are extremely pleased with the work done by CDC Pools. The crews that worked on our pool were very neat and tidy. They cleaned up all the debris completely after the chip out. I was amazed there wasn't more of a mess. It was dusty on the back porch, but otherwise everything was very tidy. The tile work and plaster only took a day. The process from start to finish was about 2 months. We called just as their business was picking up (spring). We were never given dates that were moved later or missed. There were gaps in the process because the company had other customers, but they never gave us a date for work that wasn't met. We definitely recommend this company highly. We have already shown our pool to several neighbors, and all agree the pool looks wonderful! Thank you so much Jim, the crews and all of CDC Pools!

Description of Work
Re-plastered our pool, replaced skimmer and plumbing for pool, sealed old returns

Category pool cleaners

5.0

05/08/2014


Craig K.

They did a very nice job. They started the work in a timely manner. They did everything they said they were going to do for the price they said they were going to do it for. I would recommend them and would also use them again in the future.

Description of Work
I used CDC Pools Inc for refinishing a pool.

Category pool cleaners

5.0

04/15/2014


Susan M.

Just finished a swimming pool resurfacing by CDC Pools. We had a mini-pebble surface installed, replaced the waterline tile and pool light, and added a self-filling automatic water leveler. CDC did a great job from start to finish. They arrived when they said they would, brought big crews for the labor-intensive work so it got done fast, left everything immaculately clean, and best of all, their pricing beat out the competition. While I hope I won't need this work done again for many years, I would not hesitate to use CDC again and heartily recommend them to anyone needing a pool renovation.

Description of Work
Swimming pool resurface, including tile, pool light, and self-filling automatic water leveler.

Category pool cleaners

5.0

02/04/2014


Susan A.

I chose CDC Pools because of their responsiveness, especially with sales rep Jerry Herzog. There are always going to be snags in a large project and I wanted a company that communicated well. Jerry helped us with our decisions on the plastering, tile and type of decking. He also kept the schedule on track as we were also going to be using landscapers to redo our backyard. I was fortunate to be able to be present for most of the remodel as there were times I needed to inject my opinion but, in those few circumstances, the crew was very compliant and did a beautiful job meeting my requests. We are pleased with our final decisions Jerry helped us make and we love our new pool.

Description of Work
Complete remodel of pool and decking.

Category pool cleaners

5.0

10/31/2013


Deborah D.

CDC Pools (Jim) was very professional, punctual, accommodating and fair with their pricing. Our pool is over 15 years old and needed repair, resurfacing. Also we wanted to do a depth conversion from 8 1/2 ' to 4 1/2 ' and to have handicap rails placed around the pool and water level. The work was done in a very reasonable time frame, the crew was very accommodating and professional. They cleaned up after themselves daily. It was very pleasant working with all of them. I would recommend them to anyone in search of pool renovations.

Description of Work
depth conversion and total resurface of pool and surrounding decking

Category pool cleaners

5.0

10/05/2013


Gerald P.

The surface of our 22,000 gallon pool was streaked, and rust was developing in spots from rebar deterioration under the plaster. We we had continuing maintenance problems but postponed having repairs done since most contractors seemed to specialize in new pool construction only, and we were afraid the cost of renovation would be prohibitive. We were very happy to discover CDC Pools, Inc. Jim, the sales representative, was very professional, helpful, and respectful of our desire to restore the appearance of our 1960s pool rather than upgrade everything. We had the work done during a slow time in mid-August and were amazed that our pool was unusable for only about a week. We signed the contract on a Friday, emptied the pool over the weekend, and the crew came to chip out the old surface the following Wednesday. Two days later, the rebar was sealed and patched, and minor repairs were made to the plumbing and electrical systems. New plaster was applied and hand smoothed the following Monday, the pool refilled, and on Wednesday the chemicals were balanced and the project complete. We were able to retain the original decking and tile, and there were no chips, cracks, or damage to any surface. Everything was spelled out in the contract, and Jim called and stopped by often so we always knew what to expect. All the workmen were very skilled, efficient, and professional. We selected the Baja Quartz finish with blue granules in the plaster mix, and the color matched our tile perfectly. We couldn't be happier with our "new" vintage pool and would highly recommend CDC Pools, Inc.

Description of Work
Renovated our 45 year old pool.

Category pool cleaners

4.0

06/24/2013


WILLIAM S.

Difficulty in making appointment to quote work. Took three tries. Provider was not selected based on price. Out of all reviews in past month which were many this provider was only to call me on my phone and try to correct issue I had with them. Might make me reconsider calling them for future quotes.

Description of Work
Provided quote for scope of work

Category pool cleaners

5.0

02/02/2013


Monty G.

Everything went well. They were efficient, did good work, and finished ahead of schedule.

Description of Work
They tore out all of the plaster and small tiles in our pool, and replaced them with Pebble Tec lining and larger tiles.

Category ceramic tile, pool cleaners

5.0

11/15/2012


Bob & Barbara S.

They responded promptly. They did the work well. They are very dependable. We have used them in the past. They do quality work.

Description of Work
Resurfaced pool

Category pool cleaners

    Other local Pros in your area

    Artificial Grass Masters

    Artificial Grass Masters Has plenty of artificial grass solutions. We have over 100 artificial grasses to choose from. We offer Artificial Grass, putting greens, pet turf, Our new artificial grass with stay cool technology, Performance blade grasses and so much more! Please contact us to find out more so we could help you find the best Artificial Grass Solutions.  

    Arizona Foundation Solutions

    The only ICRI Certified company in the state of Arizona! If your home has cracks in floors or walls, or has windows and doors out of alignment, call today for a comprehensive foundation inspection. Phoenix residents please call 6026394815. Tuscon residents please call (520) 812-6989. Additional DBA - Arizona Repair Masons Inc. *Online quotes are unavailable and an initial consultation must take place in order to examine the extent of the foundation problem.* For more information on foundation solutions and blogs from Bob visit: http://www.foundationaz.com/ with a free downloaded Ebook!  

    Offers by Arizona Foundation Solutions on Angi
    Phoenix Fast Patch

    A solid understanding of building and material sciences is quintessential to ensure a lasting, seamless drywall repair. With over 22 years experience in building science and the trades, and a confirmed dedication to excellence and customer service, Phoenix Fast Patch is the most dependable drywall repair company in the Phoenix metropolitan area. We have developed specialized techniques and invested in specialized equipment to provide dustless drywall repair of cracks, holes, and water damage. We've worried about the mess so you don't have to! ‍ We have also developed our rapid response InstaQuote! System to immediately provide you with your drywall repair quote! We are dedicated to providing you with the fastest, cleanest, longest lasting drywall repairs in the valley!  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Senior Discount
    NO
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Pool remodeling.

    Services Not Offered

    Swimming pool repair.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about CDC Pools Inc

    How is CDC Pools Inc overall rated?

    CDC Pools Inc is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are CDC Pools Inc open?

    CDC Pools Inc is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Saturday: 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    What payment options does CDC Pools Inc provide

    CDC Pools Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

    Does CDC Pools Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, CDC Pools Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does CDC Pools Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, CDC Pools Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does CDC Pools Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, CDC Pools Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by CDC Pools Inc?

    Yes, CDC Pools Inc offers warranties.

    What services does CDC Pools Inc offer?

    CDC Pools Inc offers the following services: Pool remodeling.

    Are there any services CDC Pools Inc does not offer?

    Swimming pool repair.