Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Janacek Construction Inc

Founded 1987 • With Angi since September 2009

4.4

(28) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1812 S 26th St

Rogers, AR 72758

Description

Serving NW Arkansas since 1987! Janacek Construction, Inc. has been serving Northwest Arkansas for over 25 years. We are a Design/Build firm that specializes in design services, renovations, additions, and new custom home construction. On top of our years of experience, both Tim and Jason are

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

04/08/2016


Richard N.

After talking with Janacek at one of the NWA homes shows, I called them to provide me with a bid on a remodel. They came out, all seemed good - I gave them a copy of architectural drawings I had done for my basement remodel, and then, they basically disappeared. Could not get anyone to return my phone calls - finally, I started calling asking simply for my drawings to be returned - after six months of no response, I let it go. What I find galling is that they promote themselves as a Christian company - I cannot believe that they treat prospective clients, who reach out to them in good faith, so disrespectfully.

Description of Work
The provider was asked to bid on a basement remodel in a house in Bella Vista, AR.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

Mr. [Member Name Removed], I am sorry but we have no drawings for your home. I have gone back through our calendars and have no record of ever coming to your home. Perhaps you have us confused with another company.
4.0

02/23/2016


Linda M.

N/A

Description of Work
I requested and received a bid for turning 1/2 bath into 3/4 bath. Man who provided bid was prompt and professional. Ultimately not used due to cost of bid and timeframe for completion.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

1.0

09/18/2015


Adam R.

You simply cannot trust Janacek to do any work. They will tell you that you're on the schedule, but they will never show up. You simply can't trust them to keep their word. How they are in business is a total mystery to me. If you need any type of remodel or home repair, look elsewhere. These guys are totally worthless.

Description of Work
After giving me an assessment and repair estimate in early 2015, Janacek NEVER showed up to do the work. When I would call or email, it would take weeks to get in touch with someone. They would feign some type of miscommunication or error and schedule the repair work again... but, over and over, they would never show up. I've gone around in a circle with them at least three-four times. I have a large hole in my foundation and for EIGHT MONTHS I've waited for them to show up and do the work.

Category handyman service, remodeling, home remodeling

2.0

08/02/2015


Andy T.

Tried to hire them to build a large addition to my house, I had to call them twice to get an appointment and then they didn't show up for it. When I called to ask why, they sent someone out immediately. he was a great guy and spent about an hour with us going over our needs and requests. He said he would get back with us in a few weeks with an estimate, but I never heard back from them and that was about 9 months ago. I have tried several times to contact them again, but still no response.

Description of Work
Wanted to build an addition to my house

Category home builders, home remodeling

5.0

04/16/2015


Norman W.

Category home remodeling

5.0

03/19/2015


Letitia H.

Description of Work
Bathroom remodel:tub surround and vanity top were replaced, damage to walls repaired and repainted, new fixtures installed. | |Everyone involved with Janacek exhibited a high degree of professionalism and competence. This project was complicated, from my point of view, but I could not have been happier with every aspect of the service provided by Janacek.

Category countertops, decks, electrician, flooring contractor, plumbing, replacement windows, home remodeling, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the great rating. We are very happy that you were satisfied with your final product.
5.0

12/18/2014


Elissa T.

Description of Work
Although, we did not move forward with the project, I was impressed by the professionalism of the staff. I felt the estimate was fair and very thorough.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

2.0

09/16/2014


Debbi E.

I had a hard time getting someone to return my calls in order to ask for someone to come out to measure for an estimate. I started this process in June. I had to wait again before someone actually came to the house. Someone finally came on Aug 21st, took measurements, pictures, and discussed the plans for remodeling the bathroom. We were told it would take "at least" 3 weeks before we could even get an estimate....because they are "just so busy!" After 2 weeks, I called the "office" (I believe it was Friday Sept. 5th) and left a message (the norm when calling their number). I just wanted to know the status of my estimate, but as of today, Sept 16th, I can't even get a phone call reply to let me know they even know who I am. Extremely bad service had been given from the beginning, but I wanted to see if I could actually get an estimate. The answer is...apparently not.

Description of Work
One of the Janacek brothers came to our house to discuss the remodeling of our master bathroom.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

4.0

06/29/2014


Ken H.

It took some time to start the work. Once started it was finished quickly.

Description of Work
Repaired the garage ceiling after a water line failed due to freezing.

Category drywall

5.0

02/10/2014


Kathryn D.

Very unexpected and really helped. I highly recommend their services to anyone who needs professional services.

Description of Work
Cleaning services after we moved out of a house. Date of cleaning is approximate as we gave them the garage door opener to get it completed that week. We had left a tile grout cleaner on the counter to clean the tile/grout in laundry room and they did it for us.

Category handyman service

4.0

01/21/2014


Samuel J.

The absolute only beef i have with Janacek is with the salesman. i had asked another small job to be priced. he promised to provide an estimate and never did.

Description of Work
Installed new front door of greater width than the original. Had to move electrical and cut new opening in house front.

Category home builders

Service Provider Response

We apologize for our salesman not getting back to you. He had to have surgery right after your project and has been off since that time. We would be glad to come and take a look at your project.
1.0

09/19/2013


Jennifer M.

Two weeks later --- no estimate and unreturned phone calls

Description of Work
We called about an upstairs remodeling project. An individual came out to look at the space. My husband was told that he would receive an estimate in a week.

Category handyman service, remodeling

Service Provider Response

I gave your husband the estimate of $24,000.00 - $28,000.00 while on site. He told us he would call back to schedule us to come back because his wife wasn't home and didn't know what she really wanted in the kitchen. He never called and rescheduled. I'm sorry you feel like you didn't get the information you wanted. I also explained that if he wanted a 3D rendering and a detailed bid of the new area we do that but we charge $1.00 per square foot for that service. Perhaps he didn't understand the bidding process.
5.0

08/06/2013


Sara W.

The sales and design person (Jason Winchester) was knowlegable and talked us out of repairs that other contractors had said were necessary. For example, support posts for the upper deck are warped, but he said that replacements would warp in 6 months because of the quality of wood that is available for this type of construction. We contracted with him to do repairs to correct a safety problem with the deck support posts so the deck will probably last another 10 years.Two other contractors had looked at the problem, but neither followed up with specifics for the repairs and costs, so the only cost-estimate was from Janacek. The Janacek workers were professional and the the job went smoothly. When the deck needs to be replaced, we will contact Janacek for an estimate.

Description of Work
Deck repair: Installed temporary supports under the deck to allow for removal of the existing blocks and dug new concrete piers. Cut the deck posts to the proper length and installed metal stand-off plates for the deck posts to sit on.

Category home remodeling

5.0

08/05/2013


Susan Q.

HIGHLY RECOMMEND! Their work is impeccable. They painted nearly all rooms in my home. Painting was very professional--lines on walls where paint was different colors was perfect. My house was tidied every day they were there working, all their supplies stacked neatly in garage. As they completed work the rooms were vacuumed & 'swiffered' to clean up dust. Never found drips of paint or a mess. No job was too small--they completed my 'honey do' list very well. I had a smaller scope of work when we started but added more work when I experienced the quality of what they delivered. Janacek completely remodeled my master bath and did an outstanding job. I've never done this kind of work before so really didn't have an organized plan or knew what I was getting into but they provided excellent guidance and LOVE the final product. They remodeled a wall between 2 rooms that was a mistake when I built the house & it's made a very positive difference in the look of the rooms--the plan was their recommendation. I've had other contractors work on my home over the years & have a few poor experiences. I will use Janacek for all of my home repair/remodel needs in the future. You may find someone who is less expensive but in my experience you get what you pay for. Quality work & trust is worth the money. Working during the day, the teams were in my home on their own & I had no issues with their professional approach to respecting me, my home & my belongings. This is very important to me as I had one contractor steal from me during a job which made me leery to hire someone--NO worries with the Janacek team. I met Janacek at the Home Show this year along with 2 other contractors. One never bothered to call me back after several contacts, one came to my home & gave some great ideas but never followed up after the in home visit. Janacek came right away to discuss the projects & followed through on the work in a timely manner. if you're looking for a contractor to do quality, trustworthy work on your home--Janacek is your best bet!

Description of Work
Completely remodeled master bath, painted all rooms except 2, renovated wall by removing window & expanding opening to provide more light, completed a lengthy 'honey do' list of minor repairs

Category remodeling, home remodeling

2.0

05/13/2013


Peter S.

Based on good reviews on Angie's List, I contacted Janacek regarding a major kitchen remodeling we were ready to undertake. After making the initial appointment for the representative to come visit, discuss our ideas, and review our structure, we had a very good experience with the appointment. The person was prompt, professional, and seemed very experienced. He told us to give him a couple of weeks to draw up some designs but to not hesitate contacting him for status. Unfortunately, after 3 weeks, we started calling. I left 3 messages with him, with the third being "I will assume you aren't interested in our business if I do not hear from you, so will not be calling again". As of May 13th, nearly 2 months from the initial visit, we have never heard from them. Considering another review has had the same experience recently, there seems to be some issues going on with this company, considering pre-2013 reviews seem excellent.

Description of Work
Based on good reviews on Angie's List, I contacted Janacek regarding a major kitchen remodeling we were ready to undertake. After making the initial appointment for the representative to come visit, discuss our ideas, and review our structure, we had a very good experience with the appointment. The person was prompt, professional, and seemed very experienced. He told us to give him a couple of weeks to draw up some designs but to not hesitate contacting him for status. Unfortunately, after 3 weeks, we started calling. I left 3 messages with him, with the third being "I will assume you aren't interested in our business if I do not hear from you, so will not be calling again". As of May 13th, nearly 2 months from the initial visit, we have never heard from them. Considering another review has had the same experience recently, there seems to be some issues going on with this company, considering pre-2013 reviews seem excellent.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

We have had some growing pains with the amount of bids that we do. We are working hard to overcome them and are striving to provide the best customer service we can. Janacek Construction has been in Northwest Arkansas for well over 20 years and has always provided top quality work. We are very sorry for the situation. We are striving to get our bids out in a timely manner.
3.0

05/08/2013


tim V.

I was very pleased with the initial visit from Janacek Construction's estimator. He was very punctual, professional and thourough in determining our scope of work. We asked when we should expect to see the proposal and were told that it would be a "week to 10 days". after numerous emails and phone calls we finally received the proposal after 5 weeks. It was not complete and the proposal was $10,000 more than the competing bid we received. At one point of frustration with not receiving the proposal, I called and left a message for the Owner - Tim and never received a call back from him. It was disappointing after such a great start to end up wasting my time.

Description of Work
I was looking for a contractor to renovate a kitchen and master bathroom as well as paint, scrape popcorn ceilings, add rock veneer to fireplace and remodel a stairway. We estimated the job to be in the $30-40k range.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

We have had some growing pains with the amount of bids that we do. We are working hard to overcome them and are striving to provide the best customer service we can. Janacek Construction has been in Northwest Arkansas for well over 20 years and has always provided top quality work. We are very sorry for the situation. We are striving to get our bids out in a timely manner.
5.0

11/13/2012


Jan S.

.I have worked with Janacek Construction throughout Northwest Arkansas in a myriad of new home construction and remodeling for over 11 years. As Executive Director of the NWA Home Builders Association 2001-2007, I had the opportunity to work with Tim and Jonathon Janacek in projects involving very detailed remodeling of homes and construction of new homes and find their work to be of superior quality. They have stayed committed to continuing education, providing their clients with the highest quality of materials, labor and attention to detail in all the work they perform. I have talked with their clients who have provided honest evaluation of the cost effective manner in which the work is done - with nothing but praise in all aspects of the relationship. Since 2008, I have been blessed to work with Janacek Construction and their entire team as Executive Director of Rebuilding Together of NWA, a non profit organization providing home rehabilitation services to our low income elderly, disabled, families with children and our veterans - allowing them to stay in their homes. Tim, Jonathon and their staff have carried their commitment to service by the gift of their hands and their hearts as House Captains and being of assistance to our clients. They have helped us bring volunteers within our community together to help those in need of assistance with their homes. I strongly recommend Janacek Construction to any client looking for honesty, quality of workmanship, commitment to meeting the needs of their clients as well as having a strong commitment to community.

Description of Work
New home construction and remodeling

Category countertops, decks, drywall, plastering, remodeling, replacement windows, home builders, home remodeling

5.0

11/12/2012


Debbie E.

This project is not complete, so I will give an update when it is completed....... At this point, I can not think of a SINGLE thing to say bad about this company...!!!!! When starting the process, I MIGHT have said that they were a little high priced, but at this point in the job, my mindset is that they are worth EVERY penny. They redefine the word "professional"...!!!! Tim is a master of finding fixes for ANY question that arises. They are TOTALLY ready to adjust things along the way to make it EXACTLY what you want. IF you make any changes that are big enough to trip what they refer to as a "change order" it is given to you to pay for quickly so you aren't blindsided at the end. We have made SMALL adjustments along the way and they just take them in stride and keep on moving. These are things like changing the scope of a step, making sure the trim is like my Wife wants it, or MANY other little things. If it can be made like we want it, it gets done. If it can't be done, they will explain why. Some things of course can't be done "feasibly". ( Too much $$$$) Again, this will be explained so you don't dig yourself a hole you DON'T want to be in. Then there is the people that they employ..... I have never had anyone work for us that show more professionalism and consideration than the people that they employ. This is also extended to the subs that they rely on. It is immediately obvious that they only let the cream of the crop work for them. At the end of EVERY day, the site is cleaned up and you can walk through in your stocking feet if you so desire to see what has been done. If they say something will happen on Tues, IT WILL HAPPEN ON TUES...!!!!...When they began, they built 2 temporary walls between the work area and where we are living. We are in a TOTALLY clean environment. Tim even mentioned to the neighbors when they were by that if they had ANY problem with what was going on, not to hesitate letting him know. At this point I would give them an 11 out of a possible 10. At this point however, the job is not done and things can change. I will post another time when it is complete, but I couldn't resist posting this now if it might help them obtain another job. I also own and run a company and rely on MY reputation. I am all about giving credit where credit is due..... Update 12/23/12: This is a followup review now that the project is completed. As I mentioned earlier, I felt at the beginning, that their price was a little high.... I was WRONG...!!! Their commitment to our satisfaction and doing it right, made the price seem almost cheap. Having us living on-site was a HUGE plus. It gives you a chance to input as the work is being done. Janacek was totally on-board with any tweeks we came up with along the way. Unless it was a REALLY BIG change, it was just taken in stride as they went. ( Things can be changed while in progress a lot easier than after the fact...) If it wasn't doable or affordable, they explained why. They treated us VERY good on the changes that were going to cost more $$. They also didn't wait until the end to charge for the changes,so we didn't get blindsided at the end. The job has now been completed and we have NO regrets about our choice of contractors. As I mentioned before, ALL of the people working on the project were considerate and helpful. We were living on-site and they did a FANTASTIC job of making our life as normal as possible. They moved our kitchen to the basement so we could have a place to cook and at the end of EACH day the house was cleaned up where they were working. ( My only complaint was that they didn't clean up the rest of the house where they weren't working..) If they said something was going to happen on a certain day, there was a 99% chance of it happening just like they said. We were so happy with the overall experience that I let them keep a key to the house so they could show the job to other prospective customers.

Description of Work
Janacek construction is doing a TOTAL re-do of a kitchen/dining room which entails removing support walls and raising ceilings. They are also adding an office/gallery to a garage area which will have it's own heating/cooling/ventilation system. Update 12/23/12:Removed support wall, raised ceiling, built new kitchen, added room and did repairs on previous contractors work.

Category home remodeling

5.0

10/29/2012


Steve S.

They are very professional and clean. They gave us an estimate and stuck to it.

Description of Work
We had to replace a problem in the Sun Room to meet the code standards.

Category handyman service, home remodeling

5.0

07/11/2012


Nancy O.

Overall, work went as planned. The team was very clear that it would take a bit longer due to increased seasonal work and the 4th of July holiday, and we worked together to agree upon a schedule that worked for both sides. The workmanship on the cabinetry was excellent, and all the work performed was quality. I will certainly use their services again.

Description of Work
Created Custom bar and cabinetry to replace old bar. Created interior window between foyer and kitchen for more light into the kitchen. Installed interior glass door to lower level. other handyman tasks, such as painting.

Category handyman service, remodeling

1.0

04/19/2012


Jeanne T.

The problem started when I requested that they take out whirlpool to put in a shower. The reason that we didn't want the whirlpool was because it had a raised side and we could no longer get in it due to being older. In essence, we wanted to have a nice shower that would be easy for us to access. When the did the shower, it was a very awkward shape. I showed them exactly what I wanted them to do from a picture and they said that they couldn't do that. The shower that they built had a slate lower lip that you had to step over, which was already annoying, but then the glass had a steel lip that I would have also had to step over. I said that I couldn't do that and then they took out the steel rail. However, they left it looking very raw and unfinished. I myself, had to get putty and black paint to make it look halfway presentable. It's not what I wanted at all. I wanted slate on the floor and walls. Instead they used 3 different kinds of ceramic. I paid for all the Kohler hardware, and the iron sink, a lot of the materials don't even factor into the cost. It was very trying and there other problems. The heated floor broke three months after they installed it, but I'm not sure if that's their fault. They had me sign contract that said I wouldn't sue them. It was an awful experience and I wish that I hadn't done that. I would never use them again.

Description of Work
I used Janacek Construction, Inc to remodel the master bathroom.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

We did work for the Thomas's on a master bathroom back in 2007. We never worked on their kitchen. I believe she has us confused with another contractor that they hired to do work for them.
5.0

04/17/2012


Nancy O.

During the 4 week project, there was only 2 days where workers were not present, and after we level-setted expectations, there was always a call or heads up for arrival time and next steps in the Project. they do a great job cleaning up and protecting property. I will be using them in future projects, and would highly recommend the entire team.

Description of Work
Janecek Construction completed a total remodel of a full bath. This included flooring, changing a wall to accommodate a sauna, buildIng a large shower, refinishing existing cabinetry, new marble countertop, framing existing mirror, paint and electrical. The quality of the work, and the professionalism was excellent.

Category electrician, flooring contractor, plumbing, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters, cabinet refacing

5.0

02/16/2012


Duane B.

Very professional from start to finish. Great communication and timeliness. First class results.

Description of Work
Repaired roof leak and resulting damage. Installed iron balusters on stairway.

Category roofing

5.0

02/13/2012


Bob H.

Very prompt and professional. Bid took a little long but was very thorough and spelled out all the work to be completed in great detail. We had a master bath remodel done and the final work is amazing. They are super clean. The guys that work for them are awesome and we feel like they were friends by the time the job was over. The electrician and plumbers were subcontractors but the majority of the work was completed by them. I can't say enough about how clean they kept the area and the clean up after the job was awesome. Very high quality and a pleasure to work with. I have used them before and will surely be using them in the future.

Description of Work
We had our master bath remodeled. We tore out an old marble shower and tub and had a new tile shower with a new shower head and wand put in. We had an all new vanity cabinet and quartz countertop installed. All new towel bars and stuff. We got a new toilet and all new plumbing fixtures. New vanity lights and exhaust fan. They opened up my whole bathroom. It looks amazing. Incredible tile work around an octagonal window and accent tile in the shower area.

Category ceramic tile, countertops, electrician, lighting, marble & granite, home remodeling

4.0

09/12/2011


Iam T.

Professional group. Subs showed as planned and work was good.

Description of Work
Remodel bathrooms. Moved a wall, ran plumbing and electrical. They acted as a subcontractor. Only issue I had is it wasn't clear the bid was for a rough in only.

Category handyman service, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

We are glad the customer is overall happy with our work. Below is the verbiage to the proposal that was submitted to them for the work to be completed. It is very specific that this work was for rough-in only. We also added several more things to this rough-in at no additional charge. I would be glad to provide a customer signed copy to anyone for verification. Proposal: Bathroom Remodel: Reframe Jack & Jill bathroom into 2 separate bathrooms. Framing will include a 3’x3’ shower in each bathroom. Framing as needed to create doorways into each bathroom. Plumbing: Rough-in plumbing of toilet, shower, and sink in each bathroom. Electrical: Rough-in 1 GFCI outlet next to each vanity (2 total). Install one exhaust fan/light combo in each bathroom (2 total). Install a vanity mounted light box (2 total). Allowances: Electrical and plumbing allowance of $2000.00. Any amount over that will be handled with a change order. Total price: $3500.00

    Other local Pros in your area

    Morrow Seamless Gutters

    Over 12 year experience We specialize in gutter services, installs, replacements, repairs, guards, and more! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out all the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    Double Down llc

    Residential remodel construction company. We focus on the Northwest Arkansas market within a 40 mile radius. Fast and easy quote process. We take care of all demo and removal for no extra charge. Supervisors and Forman on every job site. We pride ourselves on quality over quantity. We do very unique tile accent walls with color changing flames. Excellent designs for kitchen and bathroom remodels. We do it all!  

    Angi Certified

    Who's Next Pressure Washing

    Welcome to Who’s Next Pressure Washing services we specialize in exterior cleaning services and customer service nothing else matters than making sure we leave our clients satisfied at the end of every project.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Janacek Construction is a full service remodeling company specializing in remodels, room additions and restorations. Our specialties include kitchen and bathroom remodels. Anything from 1 hour projects to complete remodels or large additions. We can also build custom homes upon request.

    Services Not Offered

    We specialize in pretty much everything. If we can't handle the project we will be more than happy to refer you to one of our trade partners who we approve of not only their quality of work, but their business practices as well.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Janacek Construction Inc

    How is Janacek Construction Inc overall rated?

    Janacek Construction Inc is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are Janacek Construction Inc open?

    Janacek Construction Inc is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Janacek Construction Inc provide

    Janacek Construction Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa

    Does Janacek Construction Inc offer free estimates?

    No, Janacek Construction Inc does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Janacek Construction Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Janacek Construction Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Janacek Construction Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Janacek Construction Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Janacek Construction Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, Janacek Construction Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Janacek Construction Inc?

    Yes, Janacek Construction Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Janacek Construction Inc offer?

    Janacek Construction Inc offers the following services: Janacek Construction is a full service remodeling company specializing in remodels, room additions and restorations. Our specialties include kitchen and bathroom remodels. Anything from 1 hour projects to complete remodels or large additions. We can also build custom homes upon request.

    Are there any services Janacek Construction Inc does not offer?

    We specialize in pretty much everything. If we can't handle the project we will be more than happy to refer you to one of our trade partners who we approve of not only their quality of work, but their business practices as well.