Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

The Home Handyman

Founded 1997 • With Angi since July 2006

4.6

(36) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

17200 Chenal Pkwy. Ste 300 Pmb 303

Little Rock, AR 72223

Description

Retired in April of 2020

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

11/27/2017


George D.

It went great! you can't hardly tell the holes were ever there. They did a great job blending the popcorn.

Description of Work
Ceiling Patches

Category handyman service

3.0

08/10/2017


georgina T.

He came out but never sent me an estimate.

Description of Work
I had him out for a estimate to remove a wall.

Category drywall, handyman service

5.0

04/10/2017


Myron T.

Mr. Hopper came out and assessed the situation. His employee came out later that week and was able to repair the tile. Then came out and installed the shower door when the tile had set. He had to come out again because the doors were installed in the wrong direction, but he did not charge to us to fix it.

Description of Work
Install shower door and repair shower tile.

Category handyman service, home remodeling

5.0

06/28/2016


Robin S.

The job went well. Took a little longer than I hoped since he had to work me into schedule (known up front) and we had weather issues. Overall a thorough job was done and I am happy with the finished product.

Description of Work
Wood siding rot repair, about 20ft along bottom edge of back of house. Included replacing wood siding, trim and painting.

Category handyman service

5.0

03/03/2016


NANCY C.

Well, it didn't really go so smoothly, but those events are often more telling than when things go perfectly. We had a big flood inside our home right before the holiday season. The water inlet to the toilet sprouted a big leak in the middle of the night. By the time we discovered it in the morning, the water was several inches deep in the bathroom (upstairs), and the garage ceiling below was pouring water through the sheet rock seams and the ceiling was sagging! I hired Mr. Hopper to repair the garage ceiling and decided to redo the bathroom and replace my ugly old kitchen sink while I was at it. In the bathroom I wanted new sinks and countertop and to replace the old fake marble with tile and glass surround for the bath/shower. I wanted to keep the existing tub (a whirlpool), floor and cabinets. A good thing about Mr. Hopper was his willingness to work with me. I found a piece of granite on sale and purchased it. He found the right guys to cut and install it properly. He named a couple of plumbing supply places and let me go pick the fixtures. When I didn't like the price that his shower glass contractor gave, he was fine with me getting 3 other estimates and hiring a different company. I elected to do the painting myself. We had several delays, and the Christmas holidays didn't help, but in the end, he made sure that I was happy, even after he had been paid and thought the job was done. A couple of times he had to send guys back to fix stuff that wasn't right, like when I started painting, I found rough spots where the drywall hadn't been finished properly. And he sent a guy twice to fix gouges in the tub caused by other workers. The first time before they were all done, and then I found two more damaged spots after I had a chance to really clean the tub. He could have blown me off, but his attitude was always pleasant and calm, and he did whatever it took to do the right thing. It takes some time and effort to fill out these reviews, but The Home Handyman deserves it. He is honest and ethical, and hired good subcontractors.

Description of Work
He mostly coordinated subcontractors to repair my garage ceiling and then a bath remodel, plus replaced the kitchen sink. I think he did some prep work himself.

Category ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, home remodeling

4.0

05/03/2015


Lesia P.

It went very well. I live out of state and he commucated with me by email. He sent me pictures of the finished project.

Description of Work
Broad up an empty house

Category handyman service

5.0

12/30/2014


Henry R.

estimate was provided within one day work was done professionally cleaned up when they were done repair looks good

Description of Work
repaired bedroom ceiling

Category drywall, handyman service

5.0

07/14/2014


Tom H.

The repairs went smoothly. They went fairly quickly in spite of needing to get a special piece of lumber that was thicker than the standard. Tom knew where to get it and so the repair went off without a hitch. The paint match is perfect and my house looks like there was never a problem.

Description of Work
Replaced some damaged siding on side of the house and painted to match.

Category siding

5.0

07/02/2014


Lori F.

He did a great job. The blinds I bought weren't the right size, and he went and returned them for me, got the right size and cut them and put them all in. His price was really, really reasonable.

Description of Work
He installed all the blinds in my home.

Category window treatments

5.0

11/04/2013


Tim F.

Dick was very prompt. He arrived within 5 minutes of the appointment each time he came out. I was having a single oven replaced with a double oven. He explained how he would have to alter the cabinetry to make the new oven fit and how it would look after installation. He removed a drawer to make the extra space he needed. He had a panel made to conceal an opening where the microwave had previously been. Dick painted the new panel and touched up some other areas. He was neat and tidy, cleaning up his mess before leaving. Dick quoted me a price and stuck to it. He was pleasant and professional. I would recommend him to my friends if asked. The installed oven looks great. I am very pleased.

Description of Work
I replaced a single oven with a new double oven. To make room, a drawer had to be removed and the cabinet space enlarged. The oven was installed and the new trim was painted.

Category handyman service

5.0

08/07/2013


Claire H.

That's Dick Hopper. I use him all the time. I use the frequently. I am getting ready to call them again soon. He is very responsive when you call, he is good about getting here and working with your schedule. He has access to people for example there was a small plumbing issue in repairing the wall behind the refrigerator so he contacted the plumber to come out here and do what needed to be done about that. If his people can not do it, if it's beyond their skill set then he contacts the appropriate person to come here. They don't take on jobs that they don't capable of doing. But they don't leave you hanging either. He didn't say okay I can't do this, too bad lady, you know he got a person out here that day to take care of that issue so that they could finish the job.

Description of Work
The Home Handyman he took a chandelier down and then he came back and they put new locks on my front and back doors and they repaired a wall behind the refrigerator.

Category handyman service

5.0

05/13/2013


Vivian J.

I've used him several times for work at the house. If I needed something picked up he would do that. If I needed someone that had a truck, I do a lot of work around the house, I do a lot of yard work and I need someone to haul in things for me so I have used him several times. He put up a gazebo and things of that nature. There are some future things that he will be doing for me. He works very timely. If he says that he will be here at 2, he will be here at 2. His prices are not too high. He's an approachable person. He is very quiet and very detailed. He doesn't wear you out, talking. He seems to be a level-headed person. He doesn't try to take advantage of the work that you ask him to do. I don't feel like he tries to take advantage with him. I think he operates with integrity and honesty, that's 2 things I have noticed about him.

Description of Work
I last used The Home Handyman about 2 weeks ago to pick up a delivery for me from an antiques store.

Category handyman service

5.0

04/05/2013


Dana C.

Dick came out the day I called him and e-mailed me an estimate the following day. I was ecstatic to find someone that responded that quickly. He was prompt and professional. I will definitely use them again.

Description of Work
I needed the steps in my garage repositioned. He did a great job tearing out the steps and reusing as much of the old lumber as he could to rebuild them. They also cleaned my gutters and installed a new door knob on an interior door.

Category handyman service

5.0

03/12/2013


John M.

He did a very good job. I would recommend him highly. He was very mature and experienced remodeler and handyman. I had him a bit for larger job and I thought his bit was very fair and well priced and would have used him except he was working on another project and could not get with me for three weeks.

Description of Work
The Home Handyman did repair in my condo.

Category handyman service

1.0

06/18/2012


valerie T.

I will never use him again. He screwed up big time. He is a franchise. I disliked everything. He came out to measure and he and I went to the hardware store together and the girl kept asking him if it was right and he said yes, yes, yes so she placed the order. He came out to start the work and he had mismeasured and something was too long or too short. He loaded the countertop back in his truck with no padding which I didn't realize and took them back. They recut it and now I have one piece that is too long and it looks really weird. When he got it installed it was all scratched up. When he was done, I didn't thoroughly check it and I paid him and he left. When I checked it the seams were all uneven on the corners and it was all scratched up from being transported without padding. I called the owner and he came out. He said that he guessed that John wasn't his best countertop man and that he usually just rebuilt cupboards. He wouldn't do anything about it and he gave me a $25 off coupon on my next service. I will never use them again. I paid $700 plus the cost of services. The price was fair but I didn't get the value for it.

Description of Work
I used The Home Handyman to replace my countertops.

Category countertops, handyman service

Service Provider Response

I don't remember this particular person or job. I'm not a franchise and I've never worked in Northwest Arkansas...only in the Little Rock area.
5.0

03/19/2012


Jada W.

Projects large and small are always completed in a timely manner, and on budget. If there is deviation from that, or timing doesn't work out for some reason- Dick very clearly will explain why things changed and how he and the crew will accommodate those changes. If a problem occurs, he will make it right as soon as possible. For example, in remodeling our bathroom, the plumbers didn't make a connection correctly. So several days after that, we discovered water below. Dick immediately returned and got the plumbers back. Once they corrected the problem, Dick replaced some ceiling and sheetrock that got wet, and repainted the area good as new - within the week, and no extra changes incurred. I believe that we have to be realistic about how remodeling or other home projects go [things happen]-- I am assured from experience that Dick will manage the tasks and the budget better than anyone. I also know several families who have used Home Handyman for large and small projects, and have heard nothing but the highest praise for him. Even if at times frustrated with timing or details, I hear only positive regard for Dick and clients have a satisfied outcome at the end. Knowing that Home Handyman is always trustworthy, professional and responsive is a reassurance to me.

Description of Work
Home Handyman Dick Hopper and his crew do all the work around my house, and have for several years. I wouldn't call anyone else! His prices are reasonable, as well. While a less reputable person might quote you less but not be competent, or quote you more just to rip you off - neither of those has ever happened to us from Home Handyman. He will come immediately for an emergency, like when I call to say I think there *might* be a water leak, to check on it. Or if I need a specialist like an electrician he will find and send someone over. Home Handyman really does do everything- from changing lightbulbs that can't be reached easily, painting, powerwash cleaning exteriors- to major remodeling - Dick does it all! Home Handyman has built our fantastic screened porch (2 levels) and deck, and remodeled 3 bathrooms beautifully, over the years. Soon we will give the kitchen a face-lift remodel as well, and Dick Hopper will oversee that project. He listens carefully to our needs, desires, ideas, budget - and gives his honest opinion on the best and most realistic way to accomplish the goal. The 3/18 service: one of Dick's personable and reliable guys has been painting bedrooms and I could not be more pleased with the results and his professionalism. In four days, he alone has moved the furniture, prepped, primed and painted ceilings, walls and lots of trim in two rooms. He even dropcloth-covered the stairs just so he wouldn't track any paint in the house. Clean-up and care for detail is as good as if I did it myself!

Category decks, handyman service, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

11/28/2011


Kimberley F.

He was fantastic. He did very good work for us and when something was not to our satisfaction he came back two or three times to get it exact. He handled everything extremely well.

Description of Work
I had the The Home Handyman sometime in August or September to do some service for me.

Category doors

Service Provider Response

I would love to take credit for this work but I work only in the Little Rock, Arkansas area.
2.0

12/30/2010


Dan F.

The carpentry work was done well as was the exterior painting. It was done professionally and promptly. The interior painting was a mess. He did no spackling or prep work. When this was pointed out, he became defensive. He told us it was his practice to not apply Spackle or patch holes until after the first coat of paint. He grudgingly went back and repaired some of the work after the fact. He left our kitchen sink covered in oil based paint where he had cleaned brushes. There were also paint spots left on hardwood floors. Although we had agreed that wood trim would be painted with a semi-gloss trim paint, he painted closet shelves the flat wall color. This work started in the late spring and we finally gave up on getting everything done right in October. We still have several walls where a coat of paint was applied, but the old paint is still visible.

Description of Work
We used the Home Handyman for carpentry and painting. We had the Home Handyman crew paint the exterior and interior of our house, and make some minor repairs such as replacing the soffit and fascia boards on either side of the chimney.

Category handyman service, house painters, interior painters

5.0

11/30/2010


Joanna L.

Dick had said that he wouldn't know the real extent of the damage until they opened up the area. Tom spent 4 days working on, under and around the deck. Dick's assistant Tom opened up the back half of the house where the deck abutted it and the further he went, the more rot he found. He removed and replaced the rot, restructured the deck support and added extra structure the area around the patio door that was also water damaged.

Description of Work
There was some water damage on the bay window over the back deck and I suspected that there was more damage that I couldn't see.

Category handyman service

5.0

11/13/2010


Ronald D.

They did an awesome job and everything looks great! Really friendly and trustworthy! I'll definitely use them again.

Description of Work
They removed and hauled away a couple of old metal awnings and repaired and painted the window frames.

Category handyman service, house painters

5.0

10/24/2010


Claire H.

I was pleased, as always. I am anticipating a moderate kitchen renovation soon, and have every intention of using this company to complete the several tasks. Wouldn't call anyone else!

Description of Work
I call this company for everything. Mr. Hopper and his crews have changed door fixtures, hung heavy pictures, repaired and painted ceilings for me. Most recently, I had a leak from my ice maker which caused serious damage to the wall behind the refrigerator. He came promptly with his workman, assessed the problem, called an electrician for an emergency repair (the damage included a hot wire that required an electrician), and finished up as promised.

Category handyman service, interior painters

5.0

04/15/2010


Wilson A.

It was great! He was professional and timely.

Description of Work
He replaced rotten wood on our home as well as repaired siding and re-hung a gutter.

Category gutter repair, handyman service, siding

5.0

03/26/2010


Riley L.

He was great. He is very professional, he does a good job, and I am very pleased with his work. He cleaned up and there wasn?t a problem.

Description of Work
The Home Handyman did all kinds of things around our house because we were finishing up a renovation.

Category handyman service

5.0

01/20/2010


Ronald D.

Saw a squirrel coming out of a hole it chewed in my fascia board -- right next to where the powerlines connect to the house. Called them on Monday...met with them the next morning...and everything was fixed that afternoon! They were VERY prompt and friendly!

Description of Work
Fixed a hole in the fascia board -- covering it with metal plates and painting it.

Category handyman service

5.0

11/24/2009


Mary Joan G.

He was competent, personable and I liked working with him. It took him 2 times to fix the roof but he finally fixed it. His pricing was very reasonable and I had a pleasant experience with him.

Description of Work
He fixed the leak in my roof.

Category handyman service

    Other local Pros in your area

    ACTR

    We are a mobile repair company that specializes in handyman services, home repairs, appliance repairs, HD truck and equipment repair, lawnmower repairs, vehicle / automotive repairs, and more! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out all the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Shaver Handyman Services

    It doesn’t matter whether you live in an old house or a newly built property, my handyman service will always be necessary for you. I am affordable and can help you when you are in need of small or light home repairs. I also mow yards, I guarantee your satisfaction, and I won’t leave until the job is done right, and I make sure our customers are happy before we leave. Call or click to schedule an estimate today! AKA Mr. Honey Do List Terminator.  

    Angi Certified

    JT HOME REPAIR

    * Home repair * Handyman services * Home remodeling * Decks * Flooring * Privacy fences * Bathroom remodels * Painting * Sheetrock finishing * Siding * Gutters * Floor joist and beam foundations * Room addition * Framing structure repairs  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    General handyman services. Painting, drywall, finish carpentry, custom built-ins, bath and kitchen remodels.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about The Home Handyman

    How is The Home Handyman overall rated?

    The Home Handyman is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are The Home Handyman open?

    The Home Handyman is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    What payment options does The Home Handyman provide

    The Home Handyman accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does The Home Handyman offer free estimates?

    Yes, The Home Handyman offers free project estimates.

    Does The Home Handyman offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, The Home Handyman does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does The Home Handyman offer a senior discount?

    No, The Home Handyman does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by The Home Handyman?

    Yes, The Home Handyman offers warranties.

    What services does The Home Handyman offer?

    The Home Handyman offers the following services: General handyman services. Painting, drywall, finish carpentry, custom built-ins, bath and kitchen remodels.

    Are there any services The Home Handyman does not offer?

    Ask for details