Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Akel's Carpet One

Founded 1987 • With Angi since July 2006

4.1

(38) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

11121 N Rodney Parham Rd

Little Rock, AR 72212

Description

We are a family run, locally owned company in Central Arkansas with four locations. We love to help our customers choose their floors in a fun and inviting way! Stop in today to see our team and all of the amazing deals we have to offer! We make it Beautiful for LESS!! North Little Rock call 501-955-1000 Little Rock call 501-224-1364 Conway call 501-358-6283 Bryant call 501-847-3364...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

12/15/2017


Michael B.

I am just going to state facts: no opinions, just facts: 1. The original flooring was said to have a guarantee, as was confirmed by the salesman on multiple occasions. Later the Sales Manager tried to say that the guarantee did not cover incorrect installations. 2. The original estimate for the stairway work was 4 days. Actual time was 9 days. 3. The original estimate for the flooring replacement was 14 days. Actual time was 24 days. 4. The flooring was clearly not correct at time of installation. This was agreed to by the installation manager, and a second installer, as well as a third party who measured the floor and found it 4x out of the required level. The Sales Manager however said we should be "proud" to have it, and would not reinstall until legal action was threatened. 5. The Sales Manager said that everyone else who had said the floor was wrong was lying (even the ones who worked for him). 6. The Sales Manager said that "no floor can actually be installed to specification." 7. When we finally did get them to reinstall, it was quoted as a four-day job. Actual time was 17 days. 8. Total project was quoted as two weeks end-to-end; actual time was 9.5 months. (This is not an exaggeration. Had we gotten pregnant at the time this project started, we would have had the baby before our flooring installation was completed.) 9. Every installer was late. On every single day. One week they claimed to have "worked hard all week", but my security system logged only 4.5 hours of total work. 10. Most of the work is done by high school kids on a school-work program. The installer is really only 'overseeing' and training them. This was the case for both installers we used. In conclusion (opinion time): this was the worst experience I've ever had with a contractor--and I do project management for a living. They are either totally incompetent or completely unethical--or both. Avoid them like the plague.

Description of Work
We had this company quote full flooring reinstallation - so a big, expensive project. 2800 square foot house, two stories, plus a complete refurbishment of the stairs.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

12/28/2015


George H.

Went well. Quality of service good. Quality of product, excellent. Installers quick but left fair number of threads protruding along the baseboards that we have had to "trim and tuck"

Description of Work
Installed new carpet upstairs in a house we bought.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

5.0

09/01/2015


Gunnar T.

The laminate was laid in one day. It was a long day, but the installers were meticulous and did a fantastic job!! They removed the carpet, pad and all the glue, etc. They laid the laminate, replaced the bottom of the baseboards and then cleaned up everything, and I do mean everything!!!! There was no trash AT ALL left anywhere! The carpet was laid the next day. It took 3 hours this included pulling up the old carpet and pad, laying the new carpet and then cleaning up everything yet again! I will DEFINITELY use Akel's Carpet One any time I need flooring!! I would recommend them to anyone and everyone!!!!!!!

Description of Work
Carpet One installed laminate in my living room and hall way. I also had carpet installed in all three bedrooms.

Category carpet cleaners, carpet installation, flooring contractor

5.0

07/12/2015


Sarah C.

My husband and I helped his parents clean up some carpet that had gotten moths in it. We made the initial trip into Carpet One and looked at what they had available and talked to them about the job. We do live out of state, so we had to handle the rest of the job long distance. The people from Akel's were so incredibly helpful and professional throughout the entire process. They took numerous samples to the house for review. They were really responsive to whatever my mother-in-law asked. The communication process went very well also - the carpet had to be ordered and they kept everyone updated on status. They did an overall excellent job and were great to work with. I would absolutely use them again for any flooring - their selection and prices were great!

Description of Work
They came in and removed old carpet from my in-law's living and dining room and replaced with new.

Category carpet cleaners, carpet installation, flooring contractor

5.0

03/09/2015


Christopher H.

Kyle was great to deal with, worked with my wife very well to help pick out colors, quality, and patterns. He took his time with her to explain padding options and carpet qualities. We purchased the carpet late on a Friday, and was told carpet would be installed one week later, on a Saturday. He knew we wanted the carpet installed as soon as we closed on the new house (Wednesday), but normal timelines showed installation on the carpet for Saturday. He ended up getting the delivery on Wednesday and arranged two crews of installers to work long on Thursday to install the carpet. They were great. The installers worked all day, took minimal breaks, and installed 2000 sq ft of carpet in about 12 hours. They cleaned up after themselves, vacuumed the carpets, and removed all remnants and old padding. We shopped Home Depot, Lowes, and Carpet Barn. Carpet Barn was comparable to Akels, but chose Akels due to Kyle's customer service. Home Depot and Lowes couldn't meet the quality in the timelines we wanted, and cost would have been higher as well. I would definitely recommend Akels and the crew at the Rodney Parham store. Dwight did our measurements and was a hoot to talk with while he accurately measured and estimated the carpet sizing. All in all, a perfect 10 stars.

Description of Work
Akels supplied and installed approximately 2000 sq ft. of carpet and padding, removing old carpet and padding.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

2.0

03/03/2015


Dana K.

I knew in advance we would need new subfloor, and that it would require removing/replacing the toilet. I looked carefully prior to the purchase to see if any of those additional items were NOT included, and there was nothing in the description. However, immediately upon giving my credit card to pay for the service, the fine print then stated that these additional items were not included. After purchasing the "deal", I called to inquire about whether they coordinated with any companies that did the sub-floor replacement. They were completely unhelpful and gave me no ideas or input into solutions to that problem. Several weeks later, I finally identified someone else to do the sub-floor. The first time we went in to the store to see the choices available for tiling, we were shown 2 racks full of options. The next time we went in to commit to a particular tile design, they said there was only a choice of 3 for this particular "deal" we had paid for. We chose amongst those 3 and gave them our choice. It required 3 additional phone calls for our tile to be ordered and delivered to the store for installation. Nobody seemed to have ever recorded anything about our job. They also asked about our choice of the cord-around that they were going to replace. We said please bring in unpainted so it could be painted, and we would provide them with the paint. They agreed to paint the unfinished pieces and install them after the tile was laid. Instead, we got white cord-around installed and were told "we don't paint". All that said, the installer did a fabulous job of laying the tile (cut for diagonal placement, and it looks beautiful. But the entire process was a hassle, and it seemed that because we were pre-paid, the store was unmotivated to do anything to help get our project completed. We are less enthusiastic about using them in the future for additional floor-related jobs. Moreover, we are also a bit reluctant to sign up for future Angie's list deals that may result in the same vendor attitude about ensuring job satisfaction if any job is already pre-paid.

Description of Work
We bought the Angie's List "deal" for replacement tile in our bathroom, which included removal of old flooring, and replacement of new tile floor and cord-around. r

Category ceramic tile, flooring contractor, home remodeling

1.0

02/18/2015


Janie F.

I cannot say enough BAD things about this company. They sold us (and we paid for) hardwood which turned out to be inferior laminate. The tile was laid unevenly and cracked. The installer showed up extremely intoxicated and had to be removed. The company absolutely refused to do ANYTHING to make any of this right and we ended up spending over $16,000 with another company to reinstall the proper flooring. RUN DO NOT WALK AWAY FROM AKEL'S CARPET ONE. TRULY TERRIBLE!!!!!!!

Description of Work
Installed flooring.

Category ceramic tile, flooring contractor, hardwood floor

5.0

02/02/2014


Mary Pearl T.

|They did a good job, didn't break anything - moved everything off the carpet, took up old carpeting and replaced with new Stain Master carpet.

Description of Work
They completely carpeted our home, including outdoor carpeting on our patio, front porch, steps and carport. | .

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

5.0

06/25/2013


Robert S.

The buying experience went really well. The sales people were very knowledgable and friendly. They made good suggestions without adding pressure to purchase. Overall we were pleased with the installation process. The installers did an excellent job and cleaned and replaced the furniture as promised.

Description of Work
Purchased and installed carpet from Carpet One

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

1.0

06/18/2012


Dave S.

000The job was a nightmare. The hardy-backer was laid in the kitchen without enough screws over particle board. The master bath was laid with no hardy-backer and the half bath was laid over the existing vinyl. All three floors broke up and had to be removed and replaced by us. The first trouble was with the kitchen. The grout was the wrong color. Their suggestion was for US to dye the grout ourselves. When it began to break up they suggested that there was something WE had done to cause the problem.

Description of Work
Kitchen and bath floors were removed and replaced with ceramic. All were to be laid over appropriate hardy-backer and absolutely no movement was assured.

Category flooring contractor, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

This is was back in 2000. Can not recall this experience. Please look at my other great reviews and this is how we do business. Richard Akel Owner

5.0

06/13/2012


Martha M.

They did a great job. I’m very pleased. The tile in the foyer it had been there so long, it was really hard to get up. It took a while but they got it up. I had ceramic tile in the bathroom, and they got that up, and laid tile. They did an excellent job. They send a lady to clean up after. She cleans up all the dust, and the glue.

Description of Work
They installed parquet flooring in my foyer, and hall. I had ceramic tile in the bathroom taken out, and had tile installed.

Category carpet installation, ceramic tile, flooring contractor, hardwood floor

5.0

05/31/2012


Todd N.

I started by visiting the Carpet One website, filling out the contact info and requesting a quote. After several weeks of not hearing anything I contacted the store directly. There seems to be a problem with the local store not getting the information from the website. This was the only significant problem with the entire process and also why I gave the a C for responsiveness After I contacted the store, I made an appointment for one of the salesmen to measure my home and give me a quote. There was no hard sell. He gave me several options and made sure he found one that was within my budget. The installers arrived on time. They were professional and courteous. I had to leave my phone and internet router in one of the rooms where they were working. And even though it was in the way of the installer, they work around it as much as possible and minimized the amount of time the phone/internet had to be disconnected. My only minor complaint with the installation was that it took longer than expected to complete, but I appreciate that the installers stayed and finished the job instead of putting it off and finishing it the following day.

Description of Work
Remove and reinstall carpet in the entire house.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

5.0

11/30/2010


Christina D.

I contracted with Design One/Carpet One to install a wood floor over a concrete slab. I worked with William Feingold who was knowledgeable and responsive. He welcomed my questions and worked with me to find the right solution. I was concerned about gluing hardwood on concrete, but he steered me toward a product (re-engineered hardwood) and a high quality glue product that would get the job done right and still look really good. He also got me a very high quality installer, which is critical in getting satisfaction. The crew arrived promptly and got the job done on time. They did a great job--the floor looks great, and so far, no problems. The flooring was on sale, so the price turned out to be reasonable for the 550 square foot room. William followed up to make sure everything was to my satisfaction. I'm very pleased with the service and the product.

Description of Work
Installation of re-engineered hardwood floor on a concrete slab in my residence.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

06/10/2010


Richard A.

It was a pleasure to have their workmen in my house

Description of Work
KITCHEN FLOORING

Category flooring contractor

5.0

11/29/2007


Teresa C.

I worked with Diane Henderson and she was wonderful to work with. I told her what I was wanting and she showed me exactly what I was wanting and in my price range. The floor installers Danny and his crew were excellent. The work they did was impeccable and would highly recommend them. If you are looking for a great group to work with be sure and ask for Diane.

Description of Work
I had my floors in my entire home redone with tile, carpet, and hardwood flooring.

Category flooring contractor

2.0

12/09/2006


DORRIS D.

The salesman came to our home to measure and inspect our floors. I had chosen a linoleum at the store. The salesman gave us an estimate for flooring and installation of $1653.00. Then the installer came out, and stated he could not install the flooring without floor repairs and underlayment. I tried to cancel the deal, but was told that the laminate had been cut, and it was mine, installed or not. I ended up having 3 of 4 rooms installed to keep the cost at the original amount. I filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau, which took over a year for the owner Mr.Akel to respond to. He offered to pay for the $83.00 plumbing bill (when the installer broke my toilet flange in the bathroom), plus $80 for the cost of the linoleum that did not get installed (the fourth room). Why did the salesman not let me know that we needed underlayment and repairs prior to cutting the flooring? The difference between the estimate and the final price was substantial. Be afraid!

Description of Work
The installer put down linoleum and underlayment in our kitchen/dining area and one bathroom. He did quality work, except for breaking the flange around the toilet when he removed it to lay flooring. This flange had to be replaced by a plumber at an extra cost to me of $83.00.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

09/19/2006

I found Carpet One to be very easy to work with. They took instructions well. They did not waste time and they seemed to really know how to manage their time. We have been pleased with how our carpets have held up since the installation. When you are having carpeting installed in numerous rooms like we did, the work is never going to be cheap, so you want to make sure that you are receiving good services for the amount of money you are spending. We felt that Carpet One employees were polite, presented themselves well, and overall did a good job.

Description of Work
They installed new carpeting in six rooms of my home. The cost was probably about three dollars, or so a square foot and we had maybe eighteen hundred square feet installed.

Category carpet installation

5.0

09/19/2006

This crew of three very energetic men did a wonderful job of laying our carpet. They had precise measuring, did a great job of stretching of the carpet, and they showed great skill. They were very respectful, and we thought they did an awesome job for one day's work.

Description of Work
They installed 5 rooms of carpet and a hallway. The scotch guard and padding was included.

Category carpet installation

5.0

09/19/2006

We had used this company because we had a relative give us a really positive report about them. We really found that the workers from this company worked well together and seemed to display a great team effort. They were extremely thorough about the work they did in our home. We have been very pleased with how the carpets have held up in our home.

Description of Work
Our home is fairly new, and we wanted seven rooms of carpeting put in. The work simply consisted of having the carpeting put down. There was no old carpeting that needed to be taken out. They installed about 1500 square feet of carpet in 1600 square feet worth of space.

Category carpet installation

3.0

09/19/2006


DAVID K.

I was not very satisfied with the workmanship on the installation of our flooring done by the workers of Carpet One. It will pass, but I think it could have been better. They were not here as scheduled, therefore the job was not completed when expected.

Description of Work
Carpet One installed new hardwood flooring in our 300 square-foot living room.

Category hardwood floor

4.0

09/19/2006

Carpet One did a pretty good job of installing the carpets, as they look professionally done. I was happy with the service overall. The price was average compared to other companies. The workers were friendly and courteous. They worked in a timely and quick manner.

Description of Work
Carpet One installed new carpets in seven rooms throughout our home.

Category carpet installation

5.0

09/14/2006


JOHN E.

Carpet One sent out a crew of two men and one woman to do this job. They did a fantastic job installing our carpet as well as moving all the furniture. They took their time to do each phase of the job such as measuring and stretching. They replaced all of the furniture and the carpet looked great.

Description of Work
They installed six rooms of carpet in my home along with a hallway. They also put on scotch guard and padding.

Category carpet installation

4.0

09/14/2006


CHRIS G.

The first time Carpet One installed the carpeting, there were some seams visible and we didn't like the color. They agreed to pull it out and change it for us for the price of another installation. Finally, we were pleased with the end result.

Description of Work
Carpet One installed carpeting in five rooms and a hallway.

Category carpet installation

5.0

09/14/2006


john B.

What a spectacular experience. So where do I begin? I have had a lot of compliments from friends and neighbors on my floors and I owe the credit to this company. They moved all of the furniture out and moved it all back in without breaking a single thing. They were courteous and nice. They had a crew of 3 or more depending on what was being done.

Description of Work
They installed porcelain tile in 3 rooms and the rest of the house they laid hardwood flooring. My home is a 2700 square foot home.

Category ceramic tile, hardwood floor

2.0

09/14/2006

I am not at all happy with the installation process. First, they did not order enough tile for the stairs. Then, they had ordered the wrong nose pieces for the stairs, causing a wait. We had to have all the furniture out of the room that was getting new carpet. The one bedroom had a large desk to difficult to move out the door. What we did was empty it and removed all the drawers so we could just lift it up to roll the carpet under it. The installers absolutely refused to put the carpet in that room because they said they would not lift the desk or work around it. We ended up having to go buy more tiles incurring almost an extra $1,000 for this room. Now the second set of installers came out to put the tiles in guess what they said? They said they could have easily put carpet in that room by simply lifting the desk up a few inches. So we wasted time and money.

Description of Work
I had new carpet put in three bedrooms, new tiles in my kitchen and on the stairs. It was about 1000 square feet of new flooring.

Category carpet installation, ceramic tile

    Other local Pros in your area

    L & N Cleaning Services + Plus

    L & N is a new company but our Owner-Operators have been in the cleaning business for over 7 years. We have the best rates in the State and will make your home or business look the best it ever has! Our clients are treated like family and your family deserves the best.  

    Max Force Delivery Service

    Whether it is a nation-wide relocation or a regional cleaning, furniture delivery or home move in Arkansas, Oklahoma, Missouri or Kansas, MaxForce has you covered. MaxForce has scores of 5 STAR ratings from thrilled clients on Google, Facebook, Thumbtack, Yelp and HomeAdvisor. We also are honored to have an "A" rating with Angi. We have been designated as one of the top moving services in NWA by both Moving Waldo and Expertise.com! We are fully insured and licensed in good standing with the USDOT. Our clients love our white glove complete concierge service from beginning to end. You'll have confidence knowing we have the experience to get your job done, whether it’s moving services, junk hauls or furniture delivery- fast and efficiently. We also offer cleaning services to our clients where we will deep clean, sanitize, and deodorize homes or offices on a routine basis or before or after moves. Realtors, contractors and landlords love our teams. We help make them look good! NEW SERVICES !!!! We now offer power washing of the exterior of your home and of driveways and fences. Great increase curb appeal to increase the value of your home when selling! We’ll have your home and drive looking like new! Call us to schedule your power wash and get 50% off our hourly rate for a limited time only! GET $100 TOWARD CLEANING SERVICE WHEN YOU BOOK YOUR MOVE! We offer other discounts too! Check us out then give us a call for a free estimate . We have COVID-19 procedures in place that include social distancing, wearing masks and gloves, taking the temperature of our crew members and hand washing and using hand sanitizer on a regular basis. Additionally, we steam and sanitize all of our trucks and equipment. We also have dedicated trucks for each of the services we offer: moving services, junk hauls and furniture delivery.  

    Bath Planet of Arkansas LLC

    We specialize in bathroom remodeling, not kitchen remodeling! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Call or click to schedule a free estimate today! Bath Planet of Arkansas LLC has been in business for 5 years in the state of Arkansas. We off free in-home estimates, and also offer several different discounts. Veterans 10%, Senior Citizen 10% Cash Paying 10% Bath Planet is also is partnered with four different financing companies which offer low interest rates and small payments.  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    8.5%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Installations of All flooring products. Sales & Installation Of Carpet, Hardwood Flooring, Vinyl Flooring, Tile, Laminate Flooring & Area Rugs.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Akel's Carpet One

    How is Akel's Carpet One overall rated?

    Akel's Carpet One is currently rated 4.1 overall out of 5.

    What days are Akel's Carpet One open?

    Akel's Carpet One is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Akel's Carpet One provide

    Akel's Carpet One accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Akel's Carpet One offer free estimates?

    Yes, Akel's Carpet One offers free project estimates.

    Does Akel's Carpet One offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Akel's Carpet One offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Akel's Carpet One offer a senior discount?

    No, Akel's Carpet One does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Akel's Carpet One?

    Yes, Akel's Carpet One offers warranties.

    What services does Akel's Carpet One offer?

    Akel's Carpet One offers the following services: Installations of All flooring products. Sales & Installation Of Carpet, Hardwood Flooring, Vinyl Flooring, Tile, Laminate Flooring & Area Rugs.