Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Hanke Brothers

Founded 1977 • With Angi since October 2010

4.1

(37) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

PO Box 21174

Hot Springs, AR 71903

Description

Additional fax - (501) 262-1686....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
2.0

11/18/2014


Lakesha P.

He ran our credit information and said that we had been approved for a loan by two banks.Wwe later found out that this was not true. Mr Hanke was very pushy in trying to sell the windows. While at our home he told us all of his personal details but he failed to mention that his company had filed bankruptcy more than once and reopened under other names. In my research I found others that were unsatisfied with their work.

Description of Work
My husband and I received an estimate in June/July of 2014 for window replacement. we received an estimate that was quite expensive. The estimate was for 6 to 7 thousand dollars. We received another estimate that was at least 3 thousand dollars cheaper and had a better reputation

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Hello (Removed Member Name), We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and provide feedback. We wish that we would have had the opportunity to work with you, but we respect your right as a consumer to select the contractor of your choice. Our estimates are fair and directly proportional to the parts and labor necessary for the job at hand. We bind ourselves to a high standard with our work, and that means that we aren't the cheapest option available. In reference to the statement you made about not being approved for a loan by the bank, we have to disagree as we have photographic evidence of your approval. We do apologize if we came across as pushy in our sales efforts. We certainly do not want to leave such an impression with potential customers. If we were perceived as pushy, it's because we were eager to work with you, as any good contractor would be. We hope that your window replacement went well, and we would certainly be happy to serve you in the future if you would consider us again. Sincerely, Hanke Brothers, Inc.
2.0

11/09/2014


Cecil W.

We made it very clear that we have dogs (three) that are regarded as family members and that it was imperative that the dogs not be allowed to leave the yard. We have very good fencing and gates. We offered to pen the dogs while the work was done. The workers assured us we didn't have to pen the dogs and that we didn't need to do anything special regarding them. The first day of work one dog escaped when a gate was left open. Purely by luck the dog was found about a mile from the house, in the parking lot of a busy grocery store, by a couple of people who were strangers to us. At that time I explained to the Hanke salesman that all trust had been destroyed and it would be best if they didn't proceed with the work. But after some discussions some small trust was restored and work resumed. After that there wasn't an occasion of a dog escaping because we either kept them inside or stayed home or had someone here while the contractor was here. We were told that all nails would be picked up with a magnet, but I picked up many dozens of nails and pieces of siding during and after the work. In the course of installing gutters several roofing shingles were left loose. I secured them myself because of no confidence in the contractor. Two outside lights had to be removed and reinstalled for the siding installation. I'm an electrician, had installed the lights myself originally, and was concerned that code compliance of the lighting would be maintained. I have seen the shoddy work that is often done during the course of installing siding. But the lights were not reworked by a licensed electrician and no longer met code requirements. I insisted that a licensed electrician be contracted to re-install the lights again. That was done, at no additional cost, and the work met code requirements. I do not recommend this contractor.

Description of Work
Installed siding on portions of our house that are not brick, which were the eaves, overhangs, and one small wall. Replaced gutters. Replaced windows with high efficiency windows.

Category gutter repair, roofing, siding, replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Dear [member name removed], We are deeply sorry and offer our apologies for all of the events that you described in your review. We strive to serve our customers at the highest level possible, and to hear accounts such as yours is both shocking and deeply upsetting to us. We greatly appreciate that you have taken the time to let us know about these incidences. We take reports from our customers very seriously, and would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your experience further. Please call us at 800-264-1010. Your feedback will provide us the opportunity to improve and ensure that we maintain the highest level of service. Sincerely, Hanke Brothers, Inc.
1.0

09/29/2014


Eric L.

They completed the installation with the exception of the shutters which I only got installed after I filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. Within one month of installation, one of the panels fell off and they had to come back to reinstall. Because the company went bankrupt, my lifetime warranty is worthless. Although they have told me on three separate occasions that they are under no legal obligation to honor the warranty, but they are doing so because it is "the right thing to do." The moral positioning is hardest to swallow because 18 months ago I had yet another piece of siding fall off the house and with repeated calls to them I have not so much as had a return call--even thought they are committed to doing the "right thing." I grossly overpaid for a service from a business that positions itself as high quality, professional, and ethical. They are none of those. The quality of the actual siding was actually very good, and installed by a supplier who actually competently installed it and serviced their work, would be very satisfactory. The 'F' grade is simply too high for the remainder of the service I received from this horrible supplier.

Description of Work
Had home resided at total cost of $45,000, vs other quotes of roughly half that amount. Because I wanted quality work, I accepted a much higher bid with what I felt were better materials and with a lifetime warranty on the quality of the materials and installation. They completed the installation with the exception of the shutters which I only got installed after I filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. Within one month of installation, one of the panels fell off and they had to come back to reinstall. Because the company went bankrupt, my lifetime warranty is worthless. Although they have told me on three separate occasions that they are under no legal obligation to honor the warranty, but they are doing so because it is "the right thing to do." The moral positioning is hardest to swallow because 18 months ago I had yet another piece of siding fall off the house and with repeated calls to them I have not so much as had a return call--even thought they are committed to doing the "right thing." I grossly overpaid for a service from a business that positions itself as high quality, professional, and ethical.

Category siding, replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Hello [Member name removed], We appreciate you taking the time to write a review; we take feedback from our customers very seriously. We were unaware of any further issues that needed to be addressed, but we are happy to send someone to fix the issue. Please give Jake a call at 1-800-264-1010, and he will get our service department on it right away. We appreciate you as a customer, and hope to hear from you soon to resolve this issue. Thanks. Sincerely, Hanke Brothers
4.0

08/25/2014


Leslie L.

I chose another company due to price estimate.very nice and professional.

Description of Work
promptly came and did a thorough estimate

Category replacement windows

5.0

08/06/2014


Emily M.

They were wonderful to work with. Understood our budget and worked within it (it was so long ago, I don't remember the cost). Very professional- I would highly recommend

Description of Work
Installed gutters on our newly built home

Category gutter repair, replacement windows

1.0

06/17/2014


James M.

We had the rudest most high pressure salesman I have ever met. He raised his voice, stood MUCH too close and was so loud at one point my husband came out of his home office to see what the argument was about. He wouldn't leave when asked and stood in the driveway berating us. It was the most bizarre sales situation I've ever been a part of. I have personally dissuaded at least four homeowner friends from using them. This was when they were Hanke Brothers. When we called to complain about this salesman we were treated dismissively. We ended up going with Pella which cost more, but they were professional, polite and easy to deal with. The date is not exact but from about the time they came out to give an estimate.

Description of Work
Estimate for replacing all windows in house

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], We are very sorry to hear about your experience with our company. We never like to have any of our potential clients feel pressured, yelled at, or harassed. We apologize for the behavior of our company and we assure you that this is not our normal conduct. I'm sure the salesman that came out to your house is no longer with us. We are very strict about how are company representatives act and when we hear about mis-conduct from our reps it is not taken lightly. I hope you can forgive us of this unfortunate circumstance. Sincerely, Kim Hanke Hanke Brothers
4.0

05/08/2014


Larry L.

I have never seen a guy work like that without supervision. If they lose him, they will be in trouble. I think his name is Victor, he was great! Very prompt. Picked up all the old stuff, couldnt even tell where he had worked. Incredible!

Description of Work
Installed custom manifactured seamless aluminum gutters w/leaf guard covers.

Category gutter repair

2.0

05/05/2013


David L.

Initial contact was excellent with a response time of 10 minutes. However, that's when it started heading south. The representative that arrived to show their product was very good in all aspects except for the reason I called in the first place, an estimate. This representative basically refused to give me an estimate because I was in the middle of taking several estimates from their competition. I called their office, not to complain, to let them know that they are spending way to much time and money traveling without leaving estimates. If I had known of this standard/policy I would not have called them in the first place. The owner called me back and reassured me that was not their protocol even though this representative had conducted them-self in this fashion before. The owner then presented me with an over the phone estimate. About a week later I called the owner back ready to commit to the aforementioned price and after small talk to to recollect the past conversations I was then given another verbal estimate that was 300-400 dollars higher. When I mentioned the past verbal estimate I was given several reasons as to the changes in price but none that I found plausible. If the owner had any doubt of his skills to give an over the phone estimate on the information on hand, he should not have speculated. I was pleasant and cordial but the door was shut on future contacts. They do have a superior product but need to eliminate second guessing and when their word is given "stick to it" even if the outcome is less than favorable.

Description of Work
Product presentation.

Category gutter repair

5.0

02/28/2013


SHIRLEY M.

They give top quality services. They are professional, and they have competitive prices. The whole company is exceptional including all of the workers and Tim Hanke himself. I could not have asked for a better working relationship with the whole company.

Description of Work
Hanke Brothers & Sons did a whole house siding, replaced eleven windows, did all house gutters, and put railing around my front porch.

Category decks, gutter repair, siding, replacement windows

3.0

12/22/2012


Mike W.

Met with salesman regarding replacing windows and some siding. Company was very punctual on appointment time. Salesman was very courteous and personable. The product appeared to be good quality. Pricing was much higher compared to other companies bidding on the same job. Salesman was very high pressure regarding closing the Sale that day.

Description of Work
Obtained an estimate for replacement of 11 windows, and a small amount of siding work.

Category replacement windows

3.0

09/24/2012


Melody F.

After leaving a request for a quote back in the Spring, we were finally contacted in late August. My husband was in a business meeting at the time of the call (on his cell phone), and requested that they call us at home after 6pm that evening. We did receive a very freindly return call a day or two later, and Kim arranged to schedule a quote the following week, once he checked his schedule. My husband told him to call the home number after 6pm, or his cell number during the day. We received two or three messages from Kim on the home phone during the next few days, but of course we were at work. Kim did not leave a call back number or time. We were never able to make connection, and received no more calls after Aug 24. We decided to go ahead with a prior quote from another company.

Description of Work
N/A

Category replacement windows

5.0

07/25/2012


Phoebe and Terry C.

I'm very pleased with them. It was not cheap and pretty high priced. I feel like the quality of the work and product was well worth the price.

Description of Work
I had all the windows in my home replaced in Texas and then they replaced some windows here with self cleaning windows.

Category replacement windows

5.0

06/16/2012


Kristy B.

The guy who did the estimate was informative but came across as desperate for money when he started repedidly trying to get us to let him call the owner so we coutd work out something about price.

Description of Work
They came out and gave an estimate as well as a demonstration on how their siding is put on.

Category siding

5.0

06/07/2012


ellen H.

It was expensive, but they did a very good job. I would recommend them.

Description of Work
Hanke Brothers siding and windows put siding on the house.

Category siding, replacement windows

4.0

04/18/2012


mike W.

The service was good. They could improve on actual detail to work. I had to actually go back and recoat all the windows that were put in. Otherwise they did a good job, they were fast.

Description of Work
I used Hanke Brothers for the entire house windows.

Category replacement windows

2.0

12/08/2011


Vivian F.

Workers very polite and worked hard. Just not up to the job.

Description of Work
Could not measure anything. Big spaces left as measurements short.

Category roofing, siding, home remodeling

5.0

05/14/2011


Elizabeth M.

I had wanted to add gutter guards to my gutters and add new guttering. I decided after having many companies come out and show me their products to replace all my gutters with Hanke products. I had been thinking about new windows as we had them at our last home and our energy bills were cut in half over traditional double-pane windows. I love being able to wash my windows inside and out from the comfort of my inside rooms. I also liked the new windows that can be raised or lowered and locked so I can sleep safely if I want with my windows open or leave my home with windows open somewhat. Although there were some glitches due to my window casings, they called in specialist from Little Rock to assess the situation and we were able to proceed. All of the workers were extremely professional, punctual and cleaned up inside and out as they went from area to area. They were careful to pick up small pieces in the lawn. I appreciated their detail as my grandchildren were visiting soon after. I had a leak in my sunroom that I have had for several years and no one has ever been able to figure out where it was coming from. They found the problem behind siding and apparently, it had been an issue for many years! They made several trips to locate the problem and fixed it. I haven't had any problems since! Although they are pricier than competitors, the professionalism of everyone involved, the excellent products and the timely fashion that my projects were completed make them a great deal for the price!

Description of Work
I hired Hanke Brothers to replace my gutters with new gutters with gutter guards and add gutters to other areas. I also had energy efficient windows put in my home.

Category gutter repair, siding, replacement windows

5.0

05/02/2011


WT C.

The gentleman sent to do the installation was courteous, and prompt and did a good job of the installation and cleaning up after the job. The guttering system was superior to that I had put on the back of the house several years earlier in appearance and in that the transition from gutter to downspout allows for a higher water transfer rate. You should, however expect to pay more.

Description of Work
Installation of gutters on front of house. Power washing various areas of back of house.

Category gutter repair, pressure washing

3.0

08/12/2010


David C.

The salesman that came to the house sort of reminded me of one of those people you see at a carnival, who has a product that is completely revolutionary, but you know it's a con. He went through so many things so fast, using terms with which I was not familiar. His main focus was on how much better his windows were than either Pella or Andersen. At the very beginning he told me that he was not here to talk about how bad their windows were in comparison to Hanke Brothers' windows, but that was actually the main focus of his presentation, which took a little over an hour. Also, his total cost was going to be a little over $13,000, while a competitive bid from Pella was around $8,600. This included wood work & trim around seven window openings. If you don't mind the hard sell and like their windows it wouldn't be so bad. But he wore me out with his constant talking. This was definitely not for me.

Description of Work
I actually thought that I had completed this section before, but perhaps I did not submit it properly. At any rate I called Hanke Brothers, scheduled an appointment for 5/26/10, and told them that I was interested in replacement windows. In actuality I was not interested in aluminum replacement windows, but I thought that I would listen to their presentation.

Category replacement windows

3.0

07/28/2010


Joni M.

Roofer always showed up on time,worked, cleaned up yard. Excellent job! About a year later the color started disappearing. We called, the worker came back,went up on roof & said it was a "material" problem. He then contacted the owner who did NOTHING to "fix" the now silver roof-it is supposed to be red. We have contacted the company owner several times without any satisfaction. He says its out of his hands. He supplies only the worker and does not cover the materials he uses.

Description of Work
Replace shingle roof with metal roofing.

Category roofing

5.0

10/08/2008


SUSAN M.

We love our windows. My husband talked with Hanke Brothers about getting new windows for our home in Little Rock. The guy came out to do a free estimate, and told us about how long it would take to do the windows. It rained a couple of days putting things off. Overall, we are very happy with the windows that we got. They are very easy to clean. They are the kind that tilt in to clean which almost makes the job fun to do. We are thinking about going with the Sagebrush siding next time we do business with them. Anyway, they picked up after the work was done. Our installers were very professional and got the job done in a timely manner.

Description of Work
New windows installed.

Category replacement windows

5.0

09/22/2008


MELISSA T.

It was great. They were really polite. They came out and brought a sample of the window and showed me all the features. Their presentation was a little bit too long but it was informative and I appreciated that.

Description of Work
They installed new windows for our whole house.

Category replacement windows

1.0

05/29/2008


Ed H.

They have promised to come out and have not. Not returning phone calls. Overall just not responding.

Description of Work
I have called them twice. I wrote them a letter after they did not respond to my phone calls or emails, and they have still not responded.

Category siding

5.0

09/19/2006


ROBERT W.

The workman did a fine job on our home and we were really happy with all they did. They even call us every now and then to see if everything is okay. We really appreciated them caring so much about the quality of job they did.

Description of Work
They installed aluminum siding on my two bedroom, one story home. They also replaced eleven regular windows and two picture windows.

Category siding

5.0

09/19/2006


RAY T.

Four guys did an excellent job in putting up my siding around my home. They were very impressive and they didn t take any short cuts. They didn t even hardly take any breaks during this three day job and the clean up was just excellent.

Description of Work
They put vinyl siding on my 1300 square foot home.

Category siding

    Other local Pros in your area

    Price Home Repair and Remodel

    We specialize in Home Repair, Remodels, Decks, Shops. We are a family owned business. I, Austin Price ( owner/operator) have been doing home repairs and remodels for over 10 years. We are friendly, efficient, and honest.  

    Custom Decks and Fencing LLC

    We are a full service deck and fence company. From design through installation we try to make the process easy on the customer. We build new ones and repair old ones.  

    Desert Rose Carpet Cleaning

    In business since 1991 with the highest certified technicians in Arkansas. We are a family oriented business with a focus on customer service, and strive to put a smile on your face.Pay at the time of service. We also service commercial locations. Contact (501) 690-3825 to schedule your appointment today!  

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    American Express, Check, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Siding, Windows, Gutters, Bathrooms

    Services Not Offered

    NA

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Hanke Brothers

    How is Hanke Brothers overall rated?

    Hanke Brothers is currently rated 4.1 overall out of 5.

    What days are Hanke Brothers open?

    Hanke Brothers is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Hanke Brothers provide

    Hanke Brothers accepts the following forms of payment: American Express, Check, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

    Does Hanke Brothers offer free estimates?

    Yes, Hanke Brothers offers free project estimates.

    Does Hanke Brothers offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Hanke Brothers offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Hanke Brothers?

    Yes, Hanke Brothers offers warranties.

    What services does Hanke Brothers offer?

    Hanke Brothers offers the following services: Siding, Windows, Gutters, Bathrooms

    Are there any services Hanke Brothers does not offer?

    NA