Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Custom Deckworks

Founded 1997 • With Angi since August 2006

5.0

(37) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1514 Mills Park Rd

Bryant, AR 72022

Description

Welcome! We're glad you found us! Our email address is the best way to get our attention. That address is (chris@customdeckworks.com) When we are extrememly busy it could take days for us to respond - but we WILL respond. We purposefully have the Angie's List Message Center disabled to avoid problems. Please do NOT use the SnapFix feature or app to get ahold of us. Check our website for more details. Owner operated. 2-6 employees. Specialty outdoor structure company. Free estimates. Cost is determined by job and current lumber prices. No surprise costs - absolute total is always listed on the contract. ALSO, when leaving us a review: Angie's List provides a spot to list the Approx Cost of your project. Please don't take that so literally. These decks are VERY custom, & materials are so varied, & so price is relative. New customers can't get a true perspective no matter what you put, so just put $100. The materials are the majority of your price &, no matter how bad we wish we could, we can't control those costs. You WILL get the BEST price for what you're getting....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/15/2016


Don J.

PERFECT! Periodically I get lucky and fine "Just the right person for the job!" Chris Peterson and his associates were just that! And my wife and I could not be happier or more pleased with the results! To describe the folks from Custom Deckworks would require more descriptive adjectives than the dictionary holds. Sufice it to say they were Polite AND Courteous, Efficient AND Professional, Expeditious and Fast WITHOUT being sloppy. Overall I must say they were the VERY FINEST examples of the true Professional Builder I've ever met in my 71 years while being EXPERTS in Human Relations! I highly recommend Custom Deckworks to one and all for jobs large or small! Take the time to meet with Chris and the guys. You'll be glad you did!

Description of Work
Chris and the guys from CUSTOM DECKWORKS replaced a old, worn pout deck which had been here for (conservatively) 15-20 years. Although a shambles, they made quick work of the old decks removal. They did a truly remarkable job!

Category decks

5.0

01/13/2016


Tim F.

Chris came out, listened to our desires and ideas, and drew plans for us. He gave us two bids. One was for a treated pine deck, the other was for the composite Trex. He explained the pros and cons of each. My wife and I wanted something low maintenance, so we went with the Trex. Chis was very helpful with explaining what he was doing throughout the project. He completed this project very close to the projected completion date, with weather and the holidays being factors. I can not say enough good things about Chris, John, and Brandon. They all seemed to take pride in giving me the best workmanship that they could. The deck is beautiful and exceeded my expectations. They did a fantastic job. I will use them again if I need to build anything else. I will enthusiastically recommend them to friends and family. Thank you Chis, John, and Brandon for the amazing job you did for me.

Description of Work
Reinforced previous deck which has had a sun room built on it. Replaced the rest of the deck with a new, expanded deck composed of Trex.

Category decks

5.0

12/21/2015


Cherilyn G.

It was difficult to schedule with Chris, because he does excellent work and is in great demand. Once we were able to meet and he sent an estimate and schematic, the process was quick and efficient. Chris brought by a contract and we talked about the details of the contract. I signed and paid 1/2 down. Construction started on the date stated in the contract and was complete by the date in the contract. I paid the remaining 1/2 upon completion. The deck is beautiful. It exceeds my expectations.

Description of Work
Tore down existing deck and replaced with a deck of the same dimension and features.

Category decks, woodworking

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the great review and for the work! We are happy that you are pleased with the project! A short note to all Angie's List members and review-readers: Please keep in mind that I am the Owner/Operator of a small specialty company that, as this client mentioned, is highly in demand. Don't let something like "responsiveness" cause you to end up with a deck that is not worth your hard earned money. To be fair, I responded to this client the very same day as their initial contact. They asked me if I wanted to look at doing some repairs to the deck. I answered immediately with a detailed response and I also had some questions for them. It was 3 months before they responded back to me. And when they did, my questions were still unanswered. Once we got to where we'd both communicate it all went very smoothly. I DO admit that I have dropped the ball several times this year on responding to people in a timely manner since we've been so busy. But this client was not one of them. As the Owner/Operator, and to keep YOUR costs down, I work on site and assist the small crew; I also do all of the appointments, all of the drawings, all of the bids, all of the research you may request, and send out all of the detailed emails explaining the plans & bids. Not to mention all of the marketing (fb posts - haha) and the business paperwork that is an everyday thing. There is only so much time in a day and I get back with people as fast as I can being the guy who takes care of all of these things. For me to hire a guy to respond to you faster would cost you more money. For me to never assist on the job site (so I could respond to emails all the time) would mean that, when we are working on YOUR job, I wouldn't be around to make sure you're getting what you're paying for. Your initial email may just be asking if I even want to come LOOK at the work to decide if we want to do it. The answer is always YES! Yes I do! I may not be able to come today or even this week, but YES I do want to meet with you! So if you don't hear right back from me, feel free to keep emailing me. I'd rather you do that than hire someone you know you don't want to hire or to leave us a review on something like "responsiveness" that has nothing to do with the quality of the product you will be getting. Not to sound out of order here but, do you want the best deck you can get for your money? Or do you want to see who will respond the fastest? We are in the DECK business and that's where you want us. I honestly don't think you want us to be the top dog in the "responding business". I WILL respond. Here is what can help me respond faster: 1) Email (don't call) 2) In that FIRST email, provide ALL the info you can (address, deadline or timeframe for wanting the work done, basic scope of the work you're wanting done - doesn't have to be too detailed, how you heard about us, days & times that are best for you to meet with me initially so I can measure and talk to you about the proposed project, anything that may be important). If I know your deadline or timeframe that will help me respond to you before I respond to people that aren't in a hurry. 3) Email me again if you haven't heard from me. 4) Dont' text me until we are already contracted to do the work. Texts come in from friends & family too and your's will get lost in the shuffle. My dedicated chris@customdeckworks email is just for YOU for that reason. 5) Once I do respond to your initial email, set an example in fast-responding and I will follow suit. If I sense you are not truly very interested then my very limited time will go to those that are. Note: Calling won't help since I may not be able to answer anyway and my phone is constantly flooded with telemarketing calls & voicemails - so much so that my phone is actually ineffective except for when I need to make a call. Once you & I decide we're going to work together I'll put your name in my phone and I'll be sure to answer your calls if I can at that moment (if I'm not on a ladder holding up boards, etc.). But I implore all you good people to not leave bad ratings on things like "responsiveness" because it can prevent other people from reaching out to (what YOU all have called) the best deck builders in the area. When our workmanship, our work ethic, or how we treat our clients or their property starts becoming an concern, then by all means, PLEASE warn the public. But to fault a small company that is in a level of demand that would be tough for a big company to handle over something like how long it took them to respond, especially when we are putting quality first above all things, is just not nice to us or to the other people that also want the best deck they can get. Another thing to keep in mind is this: Each & every week of the year, at the request of people, I use gasoline & time to come out to a house, listen to clients wishes and take measurements. I then (for free) go back to my desk and spend HOURS drawing plans, checking current material prices to be sure I'm as fair as I can be, figuring the bids, creating folders (on the computer & in the real world) to keep the client's project organized, drafting long detailed emails explaining the plans & bids and offering to do it over & over until it is the right plan for them. And each and every week of the year there is at least one (sometimes 4) who never gives me the common courtesy of EVER responding to all of my hard, free-to-them work. No "Thank You. We'll let you know"; no nothing. And I don't go around telling the other contractors not to work with them because their "responsiveness" (or even their GRATEFULNESS) is lacking. You see, contractors understand that YOU are busy too. We get it that sometimes you are just focused on other things or in your project in general and that it's not personal - that it's not all about us. We know how to send another email in a week politely asking if you've had time to review our bids. And we know how to move on if you never respond - and without thinking we need to punish you. Now.... if we contract with you and you breach the contract in any way (especially financially) then we probably will think that warrants taking the time to warn other contractors or the public. But over "responsiveness" when we are ALL busy people out here? No. We DO want work. We will ALWAYS need more. We are not EVER so busy that we will purposefully ignore anyone. So, (hoping not to sound too out of line here) if you have seen our work, have seen our reviews, have seen the other choices out here for a deck contractor, and therefore you KNOW that we are your first choice if pricing and other things work out, then please don't let something like "we didn't get back to you as quick as you thought we should" stop you from getting what you want. If you want us - get us! Remember: You made a quick call or sent a quick email and we didn't get right back to you. But.... 1) You are not the only one trying to pin us down for a one-of-a-kind deck (we are busy making people happy that already went through what you are going through right now). 2) I lose time with my family, my crew, and my other clients (and therefore I lose actual money) when I spend those HOURS working on a free estimate for you and you never respond to me. When you factor in that I am a person too (not just a "business robot" that has no purpose in the universe but to serve the immediate caller) and that I may be worn out from physically & mentally going non-stop for 12-14 hours seven days a week (yes, for the DECK business), and that sometimes when your 1st email comes through asking me when I can meet with you that I might literally not have an answer right then due to all the duties I have and unknowns that each day brings in construction, then surely you will understand that I'm doing the best I can do. And that to change anything would mean quality will suffer somewhere. And I don't know about you, but I'd rather my initial "responsiveness" quality be sub par than my craftsmanship - or even my attention and focus when it comes to managing YOUR money during the project to be sure you don't get left with a half done project like so many fly-by-night contractors will do to you. I'm truly sorry if it is off-putting to some of you that I speak so bluntly about this; that I'm basically saying 'get over yourselves' when it comes to needing to hear back from me so fast. I'm NOT saying this from a perspective of 'We've got work so we don't need you' or anything like that. I am humbled and grateful for ALL of the people that reach out to us and ask us to be a part of their projects. I even do projects by myself w/o the crew, at the cost of my health and my family's needs, JUST to help people out that need something done and can't endure the waiting list we sometimes have. And FYI: ALL of our jobs come in at "barely break even" if we're lucky. So I'm not saying this stuff from some "full of myself" place; I am simply saying that if we are ALL HUMBLE and GRATEFUL TOGETHER then it will all work out. Again, if you have a deadline, let me know in the first email. I'll be honest and let you know what we can do so you'll know if you need to move on to another contractor or not. It's not a game. It's not a contest. Just be real with me and give me a chance and, if you can (sometimes) wait for a response, then I'll always be real & honest with you and I WILL make you happy if I get the chance. Re-read the review I'm responding to and you'll see that. Thanks for listening, Angie's List members! You are ALL important to me and I'll prove it if you just don't give up on me too quickly! Thanks for your patience!

5.0

03/31/2015


Courtney H.

Chris and his team are absolutely fabulous!! A++ Not only are they respectful of your home and noise levels, they are patient and communicate extremely well in the worst weather conditions (our winter this year has not been very helpful to outdoor projects!!). The team arrived on time every day, they were neat and always cleaned up at the end of the day. The work itself... I have no words.... the deck is exquisite! The custom work done on the rails, the details and finishing touches done in the smallest of features is just beautiful. The time they take to measure, measure again, and cut is perfect. The aesthetics are constantly watched and Chris helped with many other ideas whenever I had questions. The team is courteous and a pleasure to have around. Chris and his team also do custom woodwork furniture... we are looking now on what to add to our wonderful new deck! Thank you to Custom Deckworks for making our home just that much better... and a beautiful new deck to sit out on this spring and summer. The out-building is a fantastic addition for storage, and for my husband's wood work/tinkering needs. Thank you again! We will definitely recommend, refer, and hire the Custom Deckworks team again!!

Description of Work
We had a full out-building built, a roof extension across two out buildings, and we had an entire deck built and attached to the house with roof and two sets of stairs.

Category decks, woodworking

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the GREAT review of our company! We LOVED working out there at your place! After the fence, deck, deck roof, and storage building I'm not sure there is much more we could do! You have no idea how much we appreciate that you chose us to do all of those projects! And how much we really enjoyed getting to know you both (and the dogs)! Thank you so much for being patient with us during the winter weather and for letting us take care of another customer with a deadline right in the middle of your project. You are both good, kind, and fun people that we are glad to know. If there is ever anything else we can do for you , please don't hesitate to let us know! Thank you again for your kind words.

5.0

12/23/2014


Courtney H.

Did excellent and fast work for us. We bought our house from out of state and have large dogs that we needed the fence installed to contain them when we moved in. Chris and his crew got the fence done in two days (all other contractor quotes said 4-5 days). And they got it done two days ahead of schedule. Cleaned all trash and old fence up, and fence was perfectly install with no gaps below and top of fence is perfectly lined across the top. Have already scheduled to build our covered deck for us. Highly recommend.

Category fencing

Service Provider Response

I didn't even realize this review was on here or I would have responded sooner. Thank you for having a "nice" fence project for us! Since we are not a 'fence company', we really like to do ones like you had - level yard, pull our trucks right up to the site, easy digging dirt, not 10 million trees or bushes in the way, etc. :) But seriously, it was our pleasure and we were glad we could get it done for you before the dogs arrived. I would like to know which companies told you it would take 4-5 days because we feel like WE normally take longer than a do-it-everyday fence company. Of course, we take time to do some things a little more right than others might, and that takes longer. But anyone taking 4-5 days to build 100ft of standard privacy fence is a little of the mark. Thank you again for the great review and being so great to work with! It is customers like you who make us keep loving what we do!

5.0

11/06/2014


Patrick and Eileen O.

Very pleased with the final product. Just beautiful! A composite deck costs about four times the cost of a wood deck. The contractor has high standards for quality workmanship. When some quality issues were pointed out, he fixed them. He and his crew were pleasant to work with. Would definitely use him again!

Description of Work
He tore down an old, wood deck and replaced it with a composite deck with aluminum ballusters.

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the kind review of our work. I also appreciate your patience with us while working on the more-than-usual time-consuming composite and while we worked through some speed bumps with training a new guy. There was a tough week there where I had a lot of appointments and wasn't able to be on site as much to help our Foreman watch over the new guy and he did a few things that weren't up to our standards. Our goal is certainly to leave you with a finished product that is worthy of your money and our name. So I appreciate you helping me check the details as we progressed so I could make any corrections. It was a pleasure working with you and we hope you enjoy your deck for many years! Please let us know if anything ever needs any attention.

5.0

11/04/2014


Art A.

I contacted Chris to come and give me an estimate on re-screening my back porch. He arrived on time and very professional. He took detailed measurements. We then discussed building a new and larger deck off the back of my house as well. Our home is on the side of a slight hill and our back yard has a view of the River. I explained what I had in mind and Chris took careful notes. A few days later I received an email with the estimated cost of the screen work and a detailed lay-out of a proposed deck. The design of the deck was perfect - Christ had obviously listened very carefully and put together a beautiful multi-layered deck that could be done in sections. I asked him to this so I could add onto the deck as the years went by. A few days later Chris emailed me that his crew would come at 8am the following Thursday. The crew was there on time. Chris showed up with his crew to get them started and make sure they did what I asked. The men who worked on the screen were very friendly and professional. They were done in a couple of hours. They cleaned away all trash and put my porch furniture back in place. Chris had quoted me $450 for the job and charged me $400 because he did not have to replace any of the wood. Just an honest professional man. Our main form of communication after our initial meeting was through email. Chris is very thorough in his emails and I appreciate his time and care on details. I look forward to working with him again. I highly recommend Custom Deckworks.

Description of Work
Re-screened my back porch

Category decks

Service Provider Response

I was extremely surprised that we were able to get all of the cedar wood trim off without breaking any! Things were just going our way that day, I guess. But it's only fair to charge to the lower price if we used less materials than originally expected. Surely EVERY other contractor has this policy too? Just kidding! We all know they don't! But they should! Anyway, it was our pleasure to help get your porch in good shape and we look forward to working with you on rebuilding your deck when you are ready. We're happy to help however we can! And let us know if you have any issues with the screen. While the newer screen has many benefits over the old kind, it's still screen and may need attention over time. Just let us know and we'll be there! Thanks for the work and for being so great to work with!

5.0

09/24/2014


Neill W.

All I can say is AWESOME!! The wok and craftsmanship was second to none. Chris was an absolute pro too. Great communication. He came out, drew up a plan and had it to me within the next 2 days. We agreed on the price and he ordered the materials. The materials were there the day he said they would be and he was even there to make sure they were put in the right place so that we could still park our cars. They began building the next day and was there every day until completion. The deck was 10x20' with 2 benches. It took about 2 weeks. The attention to detail was impressive like smoothing the edges of the handrail and sanding it also. The benches were also built in a way to maximize space and look good too boot. I had never seen benches built like these. Also, it was built well structurally. Posts were put in concrete and where it was attached to the house had several large bolts in it which Chris said were attached to the frame of the house. This thing will still be here 100 years from now, maybe longer!! We were very pleased too say the least with everything and would not hesitate to call them again.

Description of Work
Built deck and roof over deck

Category remodeling

5.0

09/01/2014


Greg D.

Chris and his crew did an excellent job for a very fair price, and worked the project himself. Although they are very busy (a good sign) they worked my project into their schedule. Fantastic job and highly recommend Chris Peterson and Custom Deckworks.

Description of Work
Remove old deck steps, replace steps and add railing

Category remodeling

5.0

08/25/2014


Nancy K.

Wonderful. We learned about this company and Chris from a friend of ours who hired him to build a pergola on the back of their house. We couldn't believe how georgous it was. We had been looking into building a gazebo on our existing deck but never got around to it. After seeing his workmanship, we immediately called and he came out to our house the very next day. He took measurements and said he would email us his design and we were welcome to make any changes or give him any suggestions. I told him I didn't want a lot of "gingerbread" or "decorative" details on it. His design was perfect and even recommended we add a cupola on top for ventilation. The work was done in the amount of time he said (minus one day of thunderstorms) it would be. Our expectations were good because we saw some of his work, but with some contractors they don't hold up to their end of the contract. We had absolutely no problems with anything (and I am a very, very pickey person). I have already recommended Chris and his team to my boss. We couldn't have been more pleased with his promptness, his professionalism, his workmanship and his price. If you need a gazebo or a pergola, Chris is your contractor. He is trustworthy and wants you to be pleased with his work.

Description of Work
Designed and built a gazebo on our existing deck.

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the great review and for the compliments on our work! You are right, I DO want people to be pleased with my work! You and your husband were so kind to us, patient with our schedule, and made it a truly wonderful experience while we were there. I have to say: Your comments brought back an issue that has been disturbing me for a while now. And I'm talking to all members now. 1.) You mentioned that you heard about us from a friend who used us. That is great because that is THE best way to find a contractor. You can trust your friends and go see the work. 2.) Your mention of me wanting you (and everyone) to be pleased with our work. Yes! Being a Deck contractor, our service isn't one in where we answer the phone faster than other companies or tout that we are mind-readers and can come to give a bid without you telling us an address and time to be there. OUR service is to meet with a prospective client IF they give us an address and time to be there, then to draw them a FREE plan with an attached price as soon as we can reasonably get it done depending on current work load, and then, IF hired, to do the pleasing work mentioned in EVERY review we've ever gotten by someone that actually hired us. Someone that actually HAS an experience with us! Those things have been bothering me lately because Angie's List has allowed two people that we've never met to leave us bad reviews. One was from a lady that we didn't know existed and never communicated with AT ALL through no fault of our own. The other lady ignored the fact that I responded the same day to her message where she requested I come give her a bid and in which I asked for her address & a time so I could meet her at the project location. I also asked her two (2) other times in emails to provide me with an address & time and she would never do it. I don't know if she was ignoring my messages, but I responded several times in a more than timely fashion. Angie's List allows people to lie in their reviews. I have proof that I responded to and begged this woman to provide me with an address but no one at Angie's List cares. You can tell that we strive to please everyone and I'm sure you understand how disconcerting this is to me that someone (much less two people) can tarnish our 100% A reputation by leaving a review claiming they had an experience with us when they didn't. It is truly a shame to have a service like Angie's List that could be so wonderful and helpful, but instead leaves it's members relying on true word of mouth from their friends. So for members reading these reviews wondering if companies have any "pull" with A.L. that could tarnish the truth of their reviews, the answer is no. Sadly though, it's worse. A company that a member could hire, that could be the best decision they've ever made on a contractor, may not even get the chance at pleasing that member because of bad reviews that are full of libel. So they are hurting the other members by letting these wrong reviews be listed. A.L. doesn't care about its members or the service providers with these actions. They got your money and they don't have any worries because they are protected by Section 230 of the Communications Decency Act which says they can't be held accountable for publishing information provided by others. Another way A.L. may harm its own paying members is by this tactic I've heard others talking about: They say that if a service provider sued a member for their libelous or slanderous comments, and even if the service provider won the suit, that A.L. would punish the service provider by taking them off the list or, at the least, remove the service providers ability to respond to its reviews. I don't know if that's correct or not, but I guess we'll see if I get punished by A.L. for even talking about this on their site. But if it is true, how does that help the members? A.L. is providing a service themselves, for a fee, and to think they may do things that could be harmful or misleading to their own paying members is horrendous. And a shame. There are bad contractors out there. But there are also kooky homeowners that love to trash a company over nothing. This service COULD be so great for everyone; for A.L., for the members, and for the service providers. But A.L. has chosen for it to only be great for themselves - too bad for the paying members that deserve the truth about who they may hire, and too bad for the companies that are trying to take such good care of those members. Sure, I've "responded" to those wrongful negative reviews more than once by talking about them under other reviews like this one. But to be fair, if you go to those reviews and look to the right and click on "View all reviews by this Member" you will see that this woman has done the same thing; she has slandered me in the review she left for a competitor of mine. You will also see that she routinely gives people "F's" even if she never meets with them. And if you Google her (you can't see her name but I can) you will find that she is also very litigious. Research indicates that this woman shouldn't be trusted to leave reviews for people. But A.L. in all of their infinite wisdom and their self-proclaimed excellent detective skills doesn't weed out these people like they tell you they do. So who can you trust? Only yourself. Is it just me? Disgruntled about 2 little reviews that shouldn't be on my spotless record? Nope. I've found several sites where members & service providers have noticed the same things, and more, that I've mentioned. And one of the sites had endless pages & pages of people talking about these things. I mean thousands of different people; I don't know how anyone could ever read them all! People that have done the same things I have done by calling or writing to A.L. and begged them to LISTEN to us out here in the field as we are trying to help them get back to being a great service and not go the fatal route that the BBB and others have gone. But it doesn't look as if they listen to anyone. The money is coming in so they don't need any advice! Now back to this member: Thank you again for the work, for the review, and for being such a pleasure to work with! I apologize for using your review to get this off my chest, but no one at A.L. will communicate with me (besides the advertising dept. when they are trying to get even more money. We are all their victims.) so I felt I had to tell the members the truth about what they get for their money. I am saving a copy of this response in case it "never makes it on to the review". And if it doesn't, then it will be about some "rule" I've never heard of and it will prove that you can say anything bad about anyone you want to - as long as it's not A.L.

5.0

08/08/2014


Robert F.

Excellent!! Chris and his team did an outstanding job. They were very professional and courteous. The workmanship was superior. The foundation of the deck is very secure and strong. The deck rails look very good with the black blasters. Installing a roof over the deck was very complicated due to the existing house's multiple rooflines. In fact, I had several builders give me estimates on the project, but they really didn't want to construct a roof due to the rooflines. Chris was able to develop a plan that both my wife and I were pleased with . The actual roof construction went as planned and looks great. The cost and timeline was as agreed upon. Chris also provided excellent communication before and during the construction. He explained in detail the plans, problems, timelines, cost and suggestions. I have never had a contractor that communicated, both verbally and written, then Chris. We love the deck and roof! We were very pleased with Custom Deckworks and we highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Removed old deck, built a new much larger deck (about 500 SQFT) and added a roof over the deck. The deck included a dog ramp, 5' wide stairs and two gates.

Category decks, roofing, woodworking, driveway gates

Service Provider Response

As always, it was our pleasure! You were great to work with! I want to thank you for communicating with me in a professional and proper manner as well. You recognized that we do a lot through email for a reason and you didn't let that stop you from getting in touch with us and developing a working relationship. Wouldn't it be sad if you were never able to get connected to the (apparently) only contractor that could create the roof you wanted just because you tried to contact us using some 3rd party means instead of the proper way we have provided? Thank you for being professional. In talking about his roof, this member brings up another good clue to observe when meeting with contractors: If you are hearing "That can't be done" or "I don't think I could do that" then you may be talking to someone that is inexperienced or possibly just unmotivated and not very creative. By the same token, beware of anyone that seems too eager and too quickly states that they can "make it work". You may be talking to someone that just wants the job and will TRY to figure it out later; that is a disaster in the making. If you present me with a challenging request, you may see me make faces of concern or uncertainty. I will then tell you that I'll try to come up with a solution during the (free) design phase - before you invest any money. If I can't find a solution I will be honest and tell you. If I do come up with a solution, I will prove it through drawings and explanations. Before you sign a contract and hand over any money, you need to make sure that your contractor can actually build what you have requested and is willing to communicate thoroughly. We hope you enjoy your new deck, the dogs enjoy their new ramp, and that it serves your family well for many years!

5.0

08/08/2014


Robert F.

Excellent!! Chris and his team did an outstanding job. They were very professional and courteous. The workmanship was superior. The foundation of the deck is very secure and strong. The deck rails look very good with the black blasters. Installing a roof over the deck was very complicated due to the existing house's multiple rooflines. In fact, I had several builders give me estimates on the project, but they really didn't want to construct a roof due to the rooflines. Chris was able to develop a plan that both my wife and I were pleased with . The actual roof construction went as planned and looks great. The cost and timeline was as agreed upon. Chris also provided excellent communication before and during the construction. He explained in detail the plans, problems, timelines, cost and suggestions. I have never had a contractor that communicated, both verbally and written, then Chris. We love the deck and roof! We were very pleased with Custom Deckworks and we highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Removed old deck, built a new much larger deck (about 500 SQFT) and added a roof over the deck. The deck included a dog ramp, 5' wide stairs and two gates.

Category remodeling

1.0

07/26/2014


Katherine F.

Provider failed to follow-up on two attempts to contact.

Description of Work
I attempted twice to contact this provider- via phone and the Angie's List message center. I never heard back. This guy may be the best at what he does but common customer service includes at least a phone call to say I'm not interested or I'm too busy. AL ratings should reflect the entire experience and mine was a bust.

Category decks

Service Provider Response

ALL ANGIE'S LIST MEMBERS - PLEASE READ THIS: How extremely RUDE and INCONSIDERATE of this member to do this to a company just because SHE can't read. She admits she only attempted to contact me by phone and by Angie's List Message Center. 1) As has been explained on our social media and on our voicemail, this has been the busiest year for us ever. And that even if you leave a phone message the sheer volume of calls could cycle-out & delete the oldest messages - and sometimes this can happen in a single day! That's why the very FIRST line in our Company Profile on Angie's List says this: "I need to start by saying that EMAIL is the best way to get our attention, especially when we are busy!" It also says it AGAIN at the end. Email to our actual company email address (which is listed on our Angie's List profile under: Email) is how you be sure you reach us and get a response. The Angie's List Message Center is NOT the same thing. We do NOT get notified of those messages like we do our own email. But we DO get emails from AL when we have a new REVIEW, and that's how I even knew there was a message on AL from this woman! We can't spend time checking Angie's List messages, facebook messages, pinterest messages, twitter messages, text messages, voicemail messages and whatever else is out there every single day. We have to have one main way for contact that is set up to be the fail-safe, make-sure way to get contact, a way that WE can control in the event there are problems with the phone providers systems or Angie's List servers, and we have chosen our own EMAIL account for this. 2) This woman apparently only sent an Angie's List Message 10 days ago. Again, she sent a message to a system that we don't get notified about and can't check every day (and why would we when there has only been 8 messages left in it in the entire history of our company?) So... I wouldn't say she's "...NEVER heard back". So if we can't hop & jump as fast as a non-reading message-sender wants us to, then we are a bad company? Her experience was a bust??? Really? She has NO experience with us! That's because SHE decided for it to be a bust by not contacting us in the way we have MORE than adequately announced is the best way to contact us AND she has had the least amount of patience of any client, potential or otherwise, we have ever had. For any contractors out there reading this - you may want to consider our review of HER as an "F" and tread cautiously when dealing with her. 3) Sometimes people that own small companies like ours go on vacation and, as everyone should get to do while on vacation, they may not respond to inquiries until they get back (if they can even find the inquiry hidden on some review website). However..... we were not on vacation. During this time since she has tried to contact us (in the way of HER own choosing instead of in the way that we will see it) I was actually dealing with a fairly extreme family medical situation. Am I to understand that I should have told my family "Hey, Dad will just have to die because I have to go check 34 different ways around the internet to see if someone wants a pergola!"? Really? People, please understand that we are here for you, but we have things going on as well that, sorry to say, just may trump your little pergola. I am happy to communicate to you about whatever is going on in my life or our company, but I can't do it if you don't READ and see how to contact us. I researched this woman’s name today and found out that there are only 47 people with that last name in AR. It is very possible that she is related to someone we built for just over a year ago who left us a GLOWING review with all "A's" on Angie's List. If she is and she didn't mention that in her review, then that speaks volumes. But it also speaks volumes when someone is SO inconsiderate that they are willing to try to RUIN a company (or the company's perfect record) just because they didn't get a follow-up to something the company didn't even know about! See, she will get her pergola from someone and she will go on with her life. But WE get left with an "F" that we didn't deserve. Really? This one "F" could cause us to lose business for the rest of the future of our company and it could cause us to not win the Super Service Award that we have rightfully won every year. That is SO unbelievably selfish of her. I am appalled that it could be this easy to ruin a company and that someone is low enough to do it. Even though they may not do it, I'm asking AL to remove this woman's entire review. What grounds do I have to request such a thing? Well, the fact that I have had NO contact with this woman because she didn't contact me in a way that I would be sure to see it, and the fact that she has had NO experience with our company whatsoever. She apparently has had an experience with a full voicemail box (assuming she left a message) which is not under my control (the phone manufacturer decides how that works) and she has had an experience with the Angie's List Message Center (which is certainly NOT under my control). And she has had an experience with her own apparent inability to READ and comprehend a company profile that clearly states how to be sure you reach us. NONE of those things constitute an experience with ME or MY company. And now, since I have had to stop and deal with this injustice and try to defend our amazing and one-of-a-kind company, it has taken time away, not only from my family, but from the clients that have patiently & happily waited weeks & months on us - clients that do know how to read and get in touch with us. This is not right in the most extreme way. This woman should be ashamed of herself. Where is my humility and apology to her? Here it is, right here: I'm sorry that you had a bad experience with an Angie's List system and possibly a phone system. If you would like to, feel free to leave one of your reviews of those companies on the internet as well. The Message Center belongs to Angie's List, my phone company is Sprint, and my phone manufacturer is Apple. They control their systems and if you are not happy with them, then please leave your reviews for THEM. If you want to say you've had an experience with ME then please start by emailing me at [hyperlink removed] like it says to do in EVERY publication of our company in the world. Save for an apocalyptic power outage, that is the only system that I can control and be sure my clients can reach me. And if you'd like to contact my dad to tell him how inconsiderate it was of him to try to die while you wanted a pergola, then email me and I'll give you his contact info.

5.0

03/29/2014


Holley P.

I checked out Chris' reviews on Angie's List before I called him - they were all great - and I can add yet another rave review! You know whenever you contact someone to do some work, you always wonder how long it will take them to get back to you. In Chris' case, it was lightning fast. I briefly explained what we needed and he set up a time to come out and take a look. He also sent me links to pics of other jobs they had completed and I could see that he did quality work with a distinctive design flair. Just what I wanted! When he came out to do the estimate, he looked at our pool, listened to what we said we wanted, and made suggestions. Within 2 days, we had a professionally rendered drawing of our deck and a firm estimate. We thought the estimate was very good - and I should add that we have built decks ourselves in the past, so we know what the materials cost. Kudos to Chris for being such an ethical businessman! The process went very smoothly and my husband had nothing but glowing remarks about the way they worked, cleaned up, and of course, the finished product. Chris added things to the design to make sure every need we had (accessing the pool filter, etc.) was met ~ and so aesthetically pleasing as well. We will be staining the deck to match our fencing. We could not be more pleased with Custom Deckworks. In fact, we are planning to have Chris enclose our back porch in the future as well. They do a lot more than just decks! HIRE this wonderful company - THUMBS UP and 5 STARS! Thank you Chris and your awesome crew!

Description of Work
Custom designed and built deck for above ground pool

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the great review of our company! And thanks for the mention of me being “an ethical businessman”. With so many people these days making a decision for a contractor based on price alone, there are a lot of people ending up with unethical contractors. Even if they simply get what they pay for – get someone who will not go the extra mile because that ‘extra’ is not being paid for – it is still a shame. We treat everyone the same by acting like our current job is the only one that’s ever been important. Even though your house was far enough away that a good bit of our profit went to gas money, and even though there were some delay-causing adjustments that had to be made on-site due to your pool filter/pump, we stuck to our price because it is the right thing to do. We didn't give it a second thought. We retained a grateful attitude that we were working on a fun project, and for some wonderful people, and just did what we think every contractor should do, and that’s: “Do the best job you can, every time, whether you’re getting rich or not.” As always, we were able to pay some bills, get the rave review you left us (which leads to more work), sleep at night knowing you are happy…. and those things are WHY we do what we do – why we treat people right. Thank you for recognizing that our efforts and that what you get for the money you spend with us goes far beyond the simple building of a deck! And your review, coming from people that have built many decks themselves, really means a lot to us! Thank you for knowing that material costs are the majority of a project like this and, therefore, for seeing that the way we set ourselves apart from other companies is through our caring – not through our profit margin. We want you to know that it truly was a pleasure working with you and getting to know you! WE can’t thank YOU enough for the experience we had with you! We were already very Blessed by knowing you before this review. And the way you and your husband treated us, and now this review, makes every effort we take more than worth it! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Another Note: We love that our work evokes the emotion and words everyone can see in our reviews. We are grateful for them all. But we think EVERY company should do work & treat people in such a way that these are the kind of reviews they get too. We recently did a job for a guy that doesn't use Angie’s List (so you won’t see his review here) and this is what he said when we finished his deck: “In 68 years of hiring people and having work done, I have never seen anyone do a better job and put more care into what they are doing than I did with you and your crew. Never. Not once. What you have left us with is worth far more than the money you have charged us and I am extremely impressed that you were willing to give us this level of detail when your contract didn't require you to.” That really moved me! It made me sad that more companies don’t do better. We didn't set out to ‘out-do’ every contractor that man had seen in 68 years; we just did what we do – what we would want done for us. Thank you to Angie’s List for being the last real & honest way for people to find the unfiltered truth about companies. Maybe reviews like the ones we get will someday become the norm for everyone as companies (hopefully) see that Making People Happy with quality work & quality materials is how you succeed in business – not simply in trying to get more jobs by cutting quality and prices.

5.0

11/08/2013


Marian P.

The guys got to my house early every morning and worked hard all day long. They worked at my house for about three weeks, and I was home almost the entire time, so I can vouch for their work ethic. They were professional, checking with me often to make sure they were taking care of everything exactly as I wanted. They went above and beyond to add the little extras that make things look better. Chris had to look up in my attic once, and when he got done they fixed a couple of the broken rungs and the pull handle! Chris also made and installed shutters for my front window! They kept the work area organized and neat, and I didn't have to deal with their tools or equipment when they left for the day. I loved watching them work and the way they worked together. They were just as proud and happy as I was about the work they did on my house. They are skilled craftsmen and just all around great guys! It was a great experience and an extraordinary pleasure!

Description of Work
The guys covered my existing patio with a beautiful, exposed-wood roof, shingled the outside of the roof, and then enclosed the patio to make a screened porch. The porch walls are siding, to match my house, on the bottom and screen on the top. They installed two screen doors and two doggie doors on the screened porch. They also built a doggie deck for my dogs, with a step-down platform on each end and a doggie ramp in the front. And I almost forgot about the awesome picket fence, with two gates, they installed around my front yard!

Category decks

Service Provider Response

You are SO awesome to leave us this review! YOU are our kind of people too! It is so fun to work with someone who likes our same kind of music. It was like working at our friends house - no pressure and all fun! It was very sincerely our pleasure to get to work with you and to know you! There needs to be a review site for customers so we can recommend YOU as one of the best people to work for! Thanks again and please let us know if you ever need anything!

5.0

10/29/2013


Jan F.

Very professional. Had some ideas I had not thought of. Built in seating and table at corners. Quality of workmanship was excellent. Clean up was great. Would recommend highly.

Description of Work
Replaced and enlarged deck

Category decks

Service Provider Response

We love what we do! Had a great experience working with you and we really appreciate the work! Thanks for the great review!

5.0

09/05/2013


Melody B.

Chris and his team were very professional and provided great service. They left the work area very clean when leaving for the day. He gave great advise and suggestions about how things would look and what to change for a curve appeal.

Description of Work
Chris and his team replace the porch railing, post, hand rail, and ceiling for my 8'x5' front porch. This included adding a brick cloumn to corner with a concert cap. (The price did NOT include any painting)

Category decks

Service Provider Response

It was great to work on a project with a couple of items we don't get to do every day like the brick column and the custom concrete cap. While we certainly aren't trying to become full time brick layers, it is nice to know how to do some other things so that we can help our customers have a fully completed project withourt having to call in other contractors. And, as I always say, we will never do something at a customers house that we haven't already done at our own homes and if we don't have the full knowledge and skills to do; we won't "experiment" at your house with your money. We are so happy that you are pleased with our work. Thank you again for the business!

5.0

08/01/2013


Veda S.

It all started with a picture that I found in a magazine of exactly the screened-in porch that I wanted. I had read many reviews (on Angie's list, and others) of contractors specializing in decks, porches, etc., and to me, Chris's reviews and his webpage stood out among all the rest. I liked his overall approach to building, his work ethic, and overall way he ran his business. He came by to look at my picture and talk about what I wanted. He assured me that he could deliver. From that meeting, Chris drew up the plans, and about a month later, started on the porch. It took about a month total (longer than he had anticipated initially), but there were scheduling issues with the guys who laid the tile, as well as the painters, not because of anything Chris did/didn't do. I can't say enough about the pleasant experience dealing with Chris, John, and Tyler. The porch was finished exactly as I had envisioned, and Chris even suggested several things that I hadn't even thought about - necessary things. He was thorough, his work was A+, and he handled everything in a very professional manner. The two guys who were here everyday (John and Tyler) were also very respectful, and hard workers. I hardly ever saw them take breaks (although I know they did). But they took their work seriously, did it exceptionally well, and took pride in what they did. A rarity these days. The bottom line was that everything Chris said he would do, he did. In this day and time, it is rare to find a contractor who does exactly what he says he will do, without any variation from the original contract. I think they call that integrity, and that's what is most important to him. And aside from all that, he is very pleasant to work with. My husband and I both highly recommend him. We now have a beautiful porch that we will enjoy for years to come. Our only regret is that we didn't have it built earlier! -Bruce and Veda Smith

Description of Work
Removed our existing deck, and replaced it with a screened-in porch.

Category decks, screen repair

Service Provider Response

Well, we certainly DO love what we do. And working with people like you and your husband is just icing on the cake! Thank you for your kind words about us and for treating us so well while we had your backyard turned upside down. I really appreciate getting to work with people who have such great vision and a desire to fulfill the entire potential of a project. You didn't settle for "good enough" when you wanted the classier balusters and the tile floor. And you were very receptive to using materials that wouldn't need to be maintained and monitored as diligently as treated pine - which helps us both in the long run. The few more dollars it cost to allow us to go above and beyond our own standards will pay off sooner than you know. Your choices = Great investment decisions! It does cause some slight scheduling conflicts when we have to pull off a job so other contractors (tilers & painters) can get in there to do their work, but the results are magnificent. And we get to say we were part of that amazing project! And by the way, that screened porch wouldn't look nearly as good without your creative and elegant decorating touches and furniture. I think you were right when you mentioned that it could be featured in Southern Living or Better Homes & Gardens magazines, but it would be YOUR work that sold it! Thank you again for choosing us and don't hesitate to let us know if we can help you again in the future! -Chris

5.0

06/05/2013


Judy E.

Called Custom Deckworks for an estimate repairing my existing deck. Chris came out on time on the day agreed upon to look over the job. He was very knowledgeable and professional. He emailed me a detailed written estimate. I emailed back several questions over several weeks and Chris answered every question willingly and fully to my satisfaction. We agreed upon a contract, he mailed it to me to sign, I mailed it back with 1/2 of the contract amount. They were suppose to start on a Friday but rain delayed the start till the following Monday. Chris and his crew arrived each day on time, they did a great job. I since discovered that one of the 4x4 posts was split and emailed Chris about my concerns. He said customer satisfaction is paramount and that he would replace the post. He is checking his schedule for the upcoming weeks and will let me know when he can get back out to take care of it. I think they do good work and would use them again in the future. Chris came out as he had promised and replaced the post to my complete satisfaction. It's nice to finally find a contractor that actually does what they promise. In my opinion you won't be sorry if you use this company.

Description of Work
Tear off and removal of decking, railing, and stairs on existing deck. Installation of new decking, railing, and rebuilding of stairs and stair ralling. Addition of pressure blocks and lag screws to existing framing.

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Wow! You don't see this kind of review everyday! A review about a project that did have one little after-the-fact issue left to take care of (replace a 4x4 that had split), that hadn't yet been taken care of when the member posted the review. I feel like that speaks volumes to our workmanship and the trust our customers place in us based on all of our actions. How does she know we will really come back and take care of this issue? Even though she already rated us, gave us all "A's", and wrote a very nice review (which is worth A LOT to us), not to mention she has already paid us in full for our work, what would happen if we never went back to replace the post? Well, she could probably edit her review to reflect a more negative experience, but would that one negative review really hurt us? As far as we're concerned, and what she knows based on her experience with us and our 16 year reputation, none of us will ever have to find out if one negative review will hurt us because we take care of our customers whether reviews & ratings are involved or not. She was right when she said I was checking the schedule to find a time to come replace the post. And that time is one of the first two days of the upcoming week. How will you, the prospective deck customer, know if we really did go take care of this for her as I just said we would? Well, by the time you read this (maybe even before Angie's List even approves my response) it will be done and you will be able to tell because we will still have all "A's" from this member and her review will still be all positive. And would I have said all of the things I just said if we had no intention of taking care of this issue? No. Why didn't I just wait until I knew the repair was done to post a response here? To prove a point. To put my money where my mouth is. To be brave. To show all of you prospective deck customers that WE are the ones that do not hide or trick or scam. To show you what this member already knows: that WE do not allow negative reviews to even become a thought in a customers mind; that we believe it is easier to do right the first time than to provide excuses or defenses later. When you see these companies that have a pretty good rating but have a negative review or two (I don't care how many reviews they have), you have to ask yourself: Do you want to be the one or two of that company's customers that got a raw deal? And even if it is over something as simple as a post that is structurally no problem, but you hired a company that would rather tell you "too bad" than to just come make you happy? Well, then good luck with those odds. If you can hire someone with a 100% satisfaction rate or someone with a 90% satisfaction rate, why would you choose the latter? Most every business will tell you that "there will always be an unhappy customer here & there" or "you can't please everyone". I beg to differ! Don't let these companies tell you that their few negative reviews were due to misunderstandings or "crazy" customers. As a REAL contractor, I believe there are ways to avoid misunderstandings right from the start. And in 16 years, if we have worked for someone "crazy", then I don't know it! You usually only find that out if you fail in your duties in some way - and we don't have the time or money to fail; even a little. Look at every single review we have. If we can do that, why can't EVERY company? There really is no excuse. Thank you, member, for pointing out that you can have "faith" in a contractor, but that that faith has to be based on some real things! We enjoyed working with you and we will see you again next week!

5.0

05/12/2013


Cindy C.

They began on Friday April 5th. They were able to tear down the existing deck and bring in all their needed equipment before rain set in that afternoon. The next week they were able to work 4 out of 5 days and completed the framing and flooring of the deck. They began work on the benches and underpinning before the w/e. The next Monday they started on the fence and finished it, as well as all the deck railing. They had everything completed and hauled off by Wednesday, April 17th. They did an excellent job on the entire project and even finished a day ahead of schedule in spite of the rainy weather we experienced in April. I would recommend them to anyone wanting a customized look.

Description of Work
Custom Deckworks rebuilt our existing deck and added a lower deck with built-in benches and a table. It was very custom to our home. They also added an extra space for our grill on the top deck. Underpinning/skirting surrounds both the upper and lower levels as well as 3 new staircases and a rolling gate. In addition to the deck a large portion of our privacy fence was also replaced.

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the great review! We really enjoyed working at your place and helping to create a new space that you could enjoy! We hope it serves you well for many, many years. And a reminder to new customers: Material prices have gone up this year and are still going up. There was a jump in prices this January that was the biggest jump in years. And, though the increases have slowed some, prices are still trying to creep up. For anyone leaving us a review: We take our "grades" very seriously and we take them to heart. We strive to earn "A's" in every category every time, but we can't control material costs. In an effort to give future customers a realistic impression of the value they can expect from our company, if everyone would simply enter $100 in the required Price field, that would help greatly. Plus... how much money you have to spend on a project is your private business - I don't think it's a good policy for Angie's List to prompt people to divulge this information in such a public forum. Due to the material increases, just one month after the completion of this project, there is no way we could build the exact same deck for the same price listed above. So, potential future customers, when you get a bid from us please don't feel like someone else got a deal that you are not getting. Our quotes are always as low as they can possibly be for the services we provide. Thanks for understanding, and we look forward to continuing to provide the best quality decks at the best value in the state!

5.0

04/20/2013


James H.

My fiance and I are first time home owners and replacing the deck was something we knew needed to happen when we closed on the house. Both of us were very nervous going in to what we considered a major renovation, and after family members have had very bad experiences with contractors and remodels. Luckily we found Chris and his company on Angie's List. We initially reached out to Chris in September of 2012 for an estimate, to which he responded immediately with a visit to our home to take a look at the existing structure. He was very professional and courteous. Chris took the time to learn what was truly important to us in the deck and educate us on what was possible and the pros / cons. Throughout the whole process it was very clear that his interest was primarily in our satisfaction and comfort, and not in just selling us his services. After conversation and decisions Chris turned around a full plan with three different options based on a couple of alternate plans. Being new to the process and home ownership, I naturally had many questions about wood type, composite, staining, construction, etc..., etc... Chris took the time to respond to each question at length and candidly, while offering his personal opinion, even if it ran counter to him making more money. Again, through the process doing whatever he could to make us feel more comfortable that we were efficiently spending our money and making good decisions. Chris knew we would not be moving forward with the project until 2013, which did not in any way impact his helpfulness. Between September of 2012 and March 2013 (when work commenced) there was no pressure from Chris, a casual e-mail touching base I think once or twice, one including best wishes in our first Christmas in our home! In March construction began after signing the contract. Contract was very clear and straight forward, clearly stating the work to be performed, dates in which project would occur, and outlining other important details. Pricing and payment terms were very fair. believe work started on the date agreed, weather may have pushed their other job a day or two, can't fault that though. The crew were very professional, arriving at 8am each day and starting work. They put up with me being nosy and interrupting them to ask silly questions and poke around to see how things were progressing. They always clearly explained what was going on, what they found when tearing down the old deck, and any challenges they saw moving forward. We had to make a few changes on the fly and mid project (some at my request, some required by design) which the team was happy to accommodate. The entire process was openly communicated and a real partnership between us. At the beginning and end of each decision point it was always asked what would make us happiest and what would be the best. Their only concerns were for our satisfaction and the quality / safety of the deck. Work ended on or about the agreed date. We had two to three days of delay due to severe weather than came through in March. The work site was completely cleaned up with no refuse left behind. The deck is absolutely awesome and met or exceeded every goal and expectation we had. Working with the Custom Deckworks team was a pleasure and truly felt like a partnership, can't say enough good things about the whole team. Would certainly use them again.

Description of Work
Complete deck replacement: tear down, reconstruction, with redesign. Approximately 780 sq ft of deck on two levels, with two levels of stairs and landing going to ground. All treated pine.

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Thanks for taking the time to leave us this review! We know you are very busy. It really means the world to us that you said the things you did in your review of us. We can show pictures of our work and our job sites can always be visited so people can see how well we clean up and other construction related details. But the one thing that is hard to convey through our website or on appointments is that we really DO care about our customers - the deck they will have to live with and their experience throughout the entire design & construction process. As you mentioned happened to your family members: someone gets scammed, treated badly, or just gets poor quality work everyday. After every job we do, we may only have enough money to survive to the next job, but we are enriched and successful because we kept one more family from having a bad experience. Honestly, I hate having to hire people to do work at my house. But if they will actually listen to me and care about what I care about, then it is a complete pleasure to pay them for their work. But if they don't listen, if they act like I am just a "check" to them, then even if the work is good, it makes me feel sick to have to hire them. We are passionate about building decks and we are passionate about letting people know that 'Do unto others' is still a motto that a few people use. Thank you for recognizing EVERY aspect that sets us apart from the others! We are extremely grateful for the chance to partner up with you on this project and we hope you enjoy your deck for many years to come! Let me know if you need any help with the low-voltage lighting whenever you get around to doing it.

5.0

04/15/2013


David M.

Custom Deckworks were very professional and punctual. They were able to create an exquisite and structurally sound addition to my house. They removed my old deck and redesigned and replaced it with a better quality one. They also replaced all of the rotten wood and siding that resulted from my previous deck. Also, a complete removal and replacement of a backyard fence. Without hesitation I would recommend Custom Deckworks.

Description of Work
Complete removal of old deck and fence. Redesign and install of new deck and fence.

Category decks, fencing

Service Provider Response

We thoroughly enjoyed working on this project. Due to height restrictions under the deck where there was a concrete patio, we got to install slightly arched support beams to allow for more headroom. It turned out to be a simple thing that was mostly for practical reasons but also created that extra little touch of "design". And Member was great to work with in planning these details and in every facet of the project! We appreciate the opportunity! And again.... the mention of a "B" on price..... As I've said many times - I agree. But I do wish there were a separate box to check that would make it clear that prices are determined by lumber, which is a commodity, not by us. The money we get to keep at the end of a project is very little. Prices may seem high for what people would "like to spend" on a deck, but it is all relative and not controlled by us. I know none of our members intend for this to reflect negatively on us, but it can give the impression that WE are overpriced. When, in fact, we are actually underpaid for what we provide and it is the lumber company that makes all of the money. I hate to "keep on" about this on any individual review, but I think Angie's List should reconsider prompting it's members to list the price they paid, especially in a field like ours where each project is SO different and the mention of "price paid" can throw off a prospective customers true comparison abilities. Under the rating on price, maybe there should be a sub-selection so members can indicate what they think about the price of lumber and the value they got out of the labor (if that were the way it was done, we would surely get an "A" every time and lumber costs wouldn't get better than a "C"). This is NOT a response to our customers at all or to THIS member. They have all been great and they wouldn't have hired us if they didn't see the value in it. This is more of a message to Angie's List (who I have begged many times to evaluate this subject). In many fields price IS a very important thing to mention to establish value in a chosen company. But we build CUSTOM decks which are all very different (and therefore can cost different prices - even for two that are the same relative size) and we don't control the lumber prices (which, believe it or not, is the majority of the cost on one of our decks). We live job-to-job, and if compared to other custom creative contractors like landscapers, swimming pool builders, custom concrete installers, etc., we should be bringing home at least double what we do on each job. So for us to ever appear to be faulted on price (especially compared to other deck builders who: don't have licenses, insurance, throws old decks & scraps in the woods instead of pay the dump fees, uses inferior hardware & other materials, don't spent the time to draw workable plans, and on & on) it really creates an unfair atmosphere. If I could charge less I would. Angie's List has been great for our company, except for this one little glitch that they refuse to even debate. Sorry again, Member, for doing this rant on your review. It's not about you. I want you to know I understand and agree with you.

5.0

01/31/2013


Lynn J.

Custom Deckworks is just as the name implies, truly "custom", not only in the exceptional design skills and quality construction but in customer interaction. I had to do some significant excavation and drainage work before even starting on a deck but wanted to get an idea on cost and some ideas. Chris (owner) gladly came out to do a sight survey, took some measurements and discussed my many wants and ideas. He explained several options and possibilities I hadn't even considered. I sensed he truly wanted to get a feel for how I wanted the finished deck to flow, look and function. A short time later he emailed me an amazing, custom designed, hand drawn - not cheap computer generated plan others provide, quality set of plans, drawn to scale, and a price quote. A few weeks later, after the excavation and retaining wall/drains were done, he again came back out. He had to redesign the plan because of retaining wall height/dimension issues (my fault). Again he re-measured and promptly emailed me a revised plan to work around the retaining wall that now cut right through the proposed deck. I am a stickler for quality workmanship, proper construction techniques and attention to detail so I asked to see some of the decks he had completed and without hesitation he said "sure", gave me several locations and types I could go see. I went to see a completed deck and one he was currently working on. After inspecting his work and meeting his foreman, John, I was very impressed and knew they would build my "dream" deck. Chris and John are both professional craftsmen and you can just tell they love and take pride in their work. At every point in the build they continued to amaze me with their abilities and attention to detail. Some of the many examples are: where one level of the deck met a brick staircase coming down from the house they scribed and custom fit each deck board to precisely fit the irregular brick face - they cut holes for the posts in the deck board and slide them over the exposed posts so you end up with a single board that fits perfectly instead of cutting a notch in 2 boards and butting them together (which would eventually separate, have a gap and just look ugly) - the majority of my deck flooring was in a diagonal pattern and each required a slightly different angle (see out of square house/shop/pool above), every board was cut and fit precisely to provide a tight joint with no hint of a gap - etc. etc. With these guys there is no "close enough" it either fits or it doesn't and they work it till it fits!! Chris and John always promptly started work in the morning even on some frosty, windy, truly miserable days to stay on schedule. At the end of each day they cleaned up the job site of all scraps and organized their tools. The price quoted was the price paid, there were no hidden charges. Unless you just like talking to contractors call Chris first and you will get a truly "custom", professional, exceptionally well built, showpiece quality deck at a fair price!!!!!!

Description of Work
Expertly designed and built a 1900 plus square foot, 4 level deck, around an aboveground pool up to the house and adjoining shop. Both the shop and house were out of square with each other and the pool, not by just a couple of inches but a couple of feet in spots. Chris incorporated several unique "custom" design ideas including angle box steps, garden benches, varying deck flooring angles, railings etc. His vision and years of construction knowledge are evident and resulted in the show piece of our house! The deck, viewed from any angle or distance, is absolutely gorgeous!! Friends and family that have come over to "check out" the new deck are blown away at the design, construction and intricate details - not a one could tell the out of square issues until I told and showed them.

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Thank you, thank you, thank you! Of course, we can only take so much credit for the design - it is also thanks to your vision and ability to "see" what needed to be created to finish off your already splendid backyard. The fact that you were so thorough and clear in your desires for what the deck should be, and your willingness to take great care when working with us and other contractors to make sure everything ran smoothly and in concert, just made the project easier and more fun. You made it very apparent that you appreciated us while we were there and we are already missing getting to come to work at your house everyday. We really had a blast working with you and getting to know you! When we get to be a part of a project that is truly so custom and something that is "magazine worthy" due to the dream and vision of the homeowner, we are so very appreciative! Thank you again for choosing us to be the ones that get to say "We built that!" We wish there were 100 more of YOU out there with our phone number in their hands! The fun time we had working with you is the very reason we are in this business and love what we do! We can't thank you enough. -Chris

5.0

10/29/2012


Jim V.

The existing area consisted of a concrete slab with attached concrete steps leading to the back door. After meeting with Chris concerning the design of what was wished for this area (20x24 feet) we were furnished with a design that would not only remove the concrete steps but would incorporate building the deck around an existing tree. John and Terry performed the bulk of the work with some assistance from Chris regarding delivery of materials and the requested two electrical outlets that were to be placed on the deck posts. The stain that we had selected required more that one application and Chris, John and Terry returned to the project 3-4 days after the initial application to finished the work, although they had another project to work on. They were all very professional in the work that they performed. Although it wasn't in the contract my wife and I were so pleased with the project that we gave John and Terry a small bonus to show our appreciation. We were very pleased with the final product and recommend them to anyone wishing to have a deck built.

Description of Work
New deck installation

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Wow! Again, such great words from such great people! I didn't get to spend as much time as I'd like actually building on this project, but it is because of so many appointments I had to go on due to how well Angie's List works and the calls I get from its members. But as I've said a hundred times and as these members could certainly tell, John is a talented professional that I feel completely comfortable leaving in charge of any project we do! We also don't normally do any staining or painting. But since we had recently lost the ability to refer our long-time stain guy to our customers, we decided we would take care of the staining on this one so that it would get done before the weather prevented it from being done until spring. Thank you for allowing us to be a part of this project. It really was our pleasure! And thank you for the great review!

5.0

10/14/2012


Laura W.

Chris promptly responded to our request for a proposal of work and a quote for the complete rebuild of our two-story deck using both composite and wood. He was extremely conscientious and thoughtful both when he developed plans for deck (since we were not exactly what we needed and wanted done) and when he did the work (when some of the boards came in scratched, he immediately sent them back to the manufacturer and ordered more; when there was bad weather, he let us know right away that work would have to postponed until it passed.). The job was done on time and within budget. We could not be happier with the service and the work performed. We highly recommend him.

Description of Work
Complete tear down and rebuild of a 2 story deck with composite flooring and wood railing. Decks connected by stairway (made with the composite wood too).

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Well, what can I say? I am humbled and grateful to be able to continue to get to work with such great people! Our customers say what a great job we did, but I am always amazed at what a great job they do putting up with such a project going on at their homes. From having lumber in their driveways to trucks in the street to their dogs not getting to go out as much as they normally do - having patience during such a construction project is admirable! And these members are great people that I'd work for again in a heartbeat! I know I technically don't have to respond to every single review we get. But it takes both contractor and homeowner for a project to go smoothly. And if someone is going to take the time to show appreciation for us, it is only right for me to reciprocate and recognize the great job they did for the sake of this project; and I'm happy to do it because they deserve it! We hope you enjoy the deck and it serves you well for many years to come! Thank you for your kind words about our company.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Commercial Repair Services

    Commercial repair services is a company that provides for residential and commercial remodels, repairs, and maintenance services. We also do handyman jobs as well as turnkey remodels or restorations. Decks are one of our specialties as well as Room Addition and Carport/Garage conversions. Get in touch with us today for a free estimate on your project!  

    Price Home Repair and Remodel

    We specialize in Home Repair, Remodels, Decks, Shops. We are a family owned business. I, Austin Price ( owner/operator) have been doing home repairs and remodels for over 10 years. We are friendly, efficient, and honest.  

    Custom Decks and Fencing LLC

    We are a full service deck and fence company. From design through installation we try to make the process easy on the customer. We build new ones and repair old ones.  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Decks. Porches. Fencing. Storage Buildings. Arbors. Pergolas. Gazebos. Screen Porches & Sun Rooms. Lighting. Playsets.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for Details.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Custom Deckworks

    How is Custom Deckworks overall rated?

    Custom Deckworks is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Custom Deckworks open?

    Custom Deckworks is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Custom Deckworks provide

    Custom Deckworks accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Custom Deckworks offer free estimates?

    Yes, Custom Deckworks offers free project estimates.

    Does Custom Deckworks offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Custom Deckworks offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Custom Deckworks offer a senior discount?

    No, Custom Deckworks does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Custom Deckworks?

    Yes, Custom Deckworks offers warranties.

    What services does Custom Deckworks offer?

    Custom Deckworks offers the following services: Decks. Porches. Fencing. Storage Buildings. Arbors. Pergolas. Gazebos. Screen Porches & Sun Rooms. Lighting. Playsets.

    Are there any services Custom Deckworks does not offer?

    Ask for Details.