Aqua-Guard Waterproofing, Inc.

About

Founded 1998 • With Angi since October 2010

Aqua-Guard Waterproofing is a foundation waterproofing contractor. Aqua-Guard specializes in repairing wet or damp basements and crawlspaces. We install the Aqua-Guard Basement Waterproofing System and the Aqua-Guard Crawlspace System, both of which, carry our Life of the Structure Warranty.

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Images

A Service Provider's profile imageBeforeAfter

Verified Reviews

5.0

(33) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

32

4

0

3

1

2

0

1

0

Rating Details

Price

4.9

Professionalism

5.0

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

5.0

Responsiveness

5.0

Read reviews by category

basement waterproofing (32)foundation repair (2)
Showing 1-25 of 33 reviews
5.0

08/21/2020


Dylan S.

I think I earned a Masters degree in encapsulation/water-proofing due to all the research I put into the job I needed and who to go with. After having AquaGuard complete our crawlspace I can assure you that they are the best in the business. I was VERY impressed with the professionalism and quality of their work from every member of their team. From the front office to the front lines they are good people that do great work. Highly suggest!

Description of Work
Water-proofing & Encapsulation

Category basement waterproofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/19/2020

5.0

09/17/2019


John W.

After a short delay for weather, they came in and cleaned out the refuse/trash that HVAC and others services had left, then quickly went about their business. The sealing, dehumidifier (you have to change the filter regularly) and sump pump setup works well without any issues (and has been for its entirity). We are selling the house so I called and talked with Tina because the new potential buyer wants them to re-inspect and validate the warranty. There is a charge for this unless there is an issue with the system. But, there is no problem - and it is totally reasonable. I will pass that on to the buyer and will invite them to come into the crawlspace to see the good work that has held up so well since installation. I would definitely recommend them. The previous owner had another company "waterproof it" and it was not working properly and was not under warranty (i was told the warranty did not transer when I got quotes).

Description of Work
Waterproofing of basement at 300 Meadowlark Place in Alabaster done in 2015

Category basement waterproofing

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/01/2015

5.0

01/03/2019


Lee M.

Fantastic. Mike and his team always do great work and I have used them for several different properties with no problems at all.

Description of Work
basement waterproofing

Category basement waterproofing

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/01/2018

5.0

07/13/2018


Ken M.

Excellent service, they did a great job. Our basement is now dryer than ever and water is no longer sipping inside.

Description of Work
They repaired our basement water sipping and waterproofed it

Category basement waterproofing

Cost $3,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/21/2014

5.0

04/11/2018


Ken L.

Great team from the top down! Mike was quick to provide a detailed job estimate that included multiple options. Tina kept me informed on scheduling and answered any payment related questions. Brett made himself available to answer system related inquiries, and his Install Tech's were fast, clean, and professional. Additionally, Aqua-Guard honored their 10% Angies List discount which saved me roughly $400!

Description of Work
Installation of vapor barrier, Aqua-Guard Crawlspace System, and sump pump

Category basement waterproofing

Cost $3,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/05/2018

5.0

02/02/2018


Dan S.

Very well — the Aqua-Guard crew was very efficient and hard-working. They completed the job in one day

Description of Work
waterproofing of a basement

Category basement waterproofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/31/2018

Images

Review for Aqua-Guard Waterproofing, Inc. - P.O. 606, Pelham, AL - 36803372
5.0

01/11/2018


Dale W.

Working with Aqua-Guard was a terrific experience. The price was actually lower than we had expected. The estimate was prompt and clear. The real magic came on the day the work was done. A team arrived promptly in the morning, got the entire project done in a single day, and did a fantastic job cleaning up. I'd use these folks again in a heartbeat. Just hope I don't have to!!

Description of Work
These folks did a major basement waterproofing project for us, including put up water barrier sheeting all along a long back wall of our basement and replacement of a nightmare draining system installed by Olsham years ago.

Category basement waterproofing

Cost $4,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/10/2018

5.0

05/19/2015


Anthony E.

I'm extremely pleased with all facets of this installation. Mike handled the initial survey and quote and arrived promptly on schedule. We discovered that the foundation drain had failed and allowed water to remain trapped along that wall, which caused the problem to recur during persistent heavy rain. We discussed several options I had considered, and he explained the Aqua-Guard system, the complete installation process, thoroughly answered all of my questions, and left me with a written estimate, along with additional material to review at my leisure. His approach made more sense than the competition, was very competitive price-wise, and included a warranty that was far superior to the competition, so I chose Aqua-Guard and we set an installation date several weeks into the future. The office called in advance to confirm the installation date. Brandon and his crew showed up exactly on schedule to begin the installation. Brandon again explained the system and answered all questions, then the crew began work. The crew was quick, efficient, and the workmanship was outstanding. They initially estimated that the job would take a complete day, but they were able to complete their work in approximately 6 hours. Later that afternoon, Brandon arrived precisely at the agreed-upon time and performed a final inspection and handled any final questions before receiving payment. I could not have imagined a more positive experience. Aqua-Guard precisely met every scheduled appointment, the quality of their work was outstanding, they were courteous and professional in their behavior, and the cost was below the average of the firms I consulted and precisely in line with the initial estimate.. They completed the job ahead of schedule and left the work area cleaner than they found it. I can't think of a single thing they could have done to make the experience any better. Aqua-Guard has my highest recommendation!

Description of Work
A significant water issue developed in my basement. It initially appeared to be due to the failure of the drainage system designed to carry water from the gutters. After upgrading the drainage (larger gutters, additional downspout, new drain lines), the problem improved, but water was still entering the basement on occasion. At the point, I consulted with several contractors and chose Aqua-Guard. They installed an interior drain and sump pump system and installed their Poly Seal covering along the interior wall.

Category basement waterproofing

Cost $2,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/19/2015

5.0

08/17/2014


David G.

Aqua-Guard recently waterproofed our basement. Please with the way it turned out. The basement went from damp and humid to dry with no humidity. Now it is usable.

Description of Work
Waterproofed Basement

Category basement waterproofing

Cost $4,400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/24/2014

Images

Review for Aqua-Guard Waterproofing, Inc. - P.O. 606, Pelham, AL - 9074422
5.0

06/07/2014


David H.

When we purchased our house in July 2013 and we experienced significant flooding that was undisclosed by the seller. At the time of purchase it was our understanding that the basement had already been water proofed by a local Alabama competitor company when some foundation work had been done. However, the basement continued to flood in spite of the water proofing system installed. We called the competitor out to inspect their work but when they came out but they were resistant and not helpful toward solving our problems but they wanted to give us a quote on a new system even though we already had their system installed. We did not do anything about the flooding, even though we experienced occasional water in our basement, until we experienced another serious flooding event in April of 2014. Aqua Guard previously did work for us at our other home and we were extremely pleased with the quality of the work and that the system worked as advertised. So we called Aqua Guard to inspect the basement of our new house and give us a quote. We called Aqua Guard and they returned our call the same day and set up an appointment to meet with us within two weeks. Mike came to the house and inspected the basement and gave us a quote to rip out the competitor's system and install their system. We discovered that the competitor installed the sump pump in the highest corner of the house and so no water was being evacuated from the basement via the sump pump. Mike also told us we really did not even need a sump pump and that they could expel the water from the basement by sloping the system to the lowest corner of the house and outside. We informed Aqua Guard that we indeed wanted to hire them and they set up an appointment within one month to rip out the old system and install the Aqua Guard system. Mike and his crew showed up on time and discussed the plan and started work immediately. They completed the job in one day, which is impressive considering they had to break up the existing concrete, take out the old system, install the new system, pour new concrete, and run piping outside the house. Aqua Guard's crew was clean and conscientious. There was very little concrete dust or dirt in our basement after their full day of work. Interestingly, when Aqua Guard broke up the concrete and inspected the competitor's system in the area we were having the most difficulty, they discovered that there was tape covering the system so water could not flow through the system to the sump pump (although even if the system had not been taped the water would have not been able to make it to the sump pump because the pump was in the highest corner of the house and the problem spot was in the lowest and the system was not sloped to allow water to run toward the sump pump. In fact, the sump pump installed by the competitor never kicked on once during the year we owned the house). We have experienced several heavy rains since the Aqua Guard system was installed and we are now confident that our basement will remain dry. We also have peace of mind in knowing that if we have a problem in the future, we can contact Mike and he will come out and fix anything that might go wrong with the Aqua Guard system. We know this from experience. Aqua Guard water proofed the basement in our other house and the sump pump stopped working. We called Mike and they were out that same day to fix the problem and the basement was dry from that day forward. We are very satisfied with Aqua Guard's service and their product. If we purchase another house with water problems they will be the only waterproofing company we call. We would highly recommend calling and using Aqua Guard for all your waterproofing needs.

Description of Work
Aqua Guard waterproofed our semi-finished basement.

Category basement waterproofing

Cost $4,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/20/2014

5.0

02/24/2014


Douglas B.

The crew arrived on time and did the work in about 6 hours. This company guarantees that the leaks will never come back as their process is a permanent fix. The owner came out to do the estimate. He is very professional and knows what he is talking about. This is a fairly expensive project but, as I said, it is permanent.

Description of Work
Sealed exterior block wall of foundation to eliminate a leak.

Category basement waterproofing

Cost $1,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/10/2013

5.0

12/23/2013


Lonnie S.

The crew showed up on time, did the work, and cleaned up. The owner came out about 5 days later to inspect the work, check with us to make sure we were pleased with the repair work and we paid him at that time. Our crawl space has been bone dry since then, even with all of the rain we have gotten this season. We now have total piece of mind when it rains.

Description of Work
The provider looked at the water problem area in our crawl space, made a suggestion of the best option to take care of our problem that was also the most cost effective.

Category basement waterproofing

Cost $1,485

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/15/2013

5.0

11/07/2013


Doris B.

Went great ,showed up when they said they would ,completed their work. Couldn't ask for better or more courteous service. And my basement is now dry. Hallelujah!!!!!!!

Description of Work
waterproofed basement & crawl spaces

Category basement waterproofing

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/14/2013

3.0

09/30/2013


Kim D.

Mike arrived at our home and was not clear on what exactly was needed to be done to correct our flooding crawl space. I later had to call to inquire about having not received the written estimate. Mike did mail the estimate and in reviewing the suggested service to correct out issues I did not see anywhere he noted the drains in the crawl space cemented flooring. I took pictures and sent back to him to review and he admitted he did not notice or recall the drains.

Description of Work
Estimate was given for encapsulating our crawl space and correcting water issues.

Category basement waterproofing

Work Completed On 08/23/2013

Service Provider Response

Aqua-Guard did not do any work for [member name removed], she is giving a negative review of the FREE estimate we provided her. [member name removed] called us to provide an estimate on her crawlspace leakage problem but [member name removed] was not present at the time of the appointment. I made no promises as to how long it would take me to get the estimate to her, because her estimate was not the only estimate I had to do at the time. I told [member name removed] the drains she mentioned in her review, they were of no importance to us, as we cannot warranty someone else's work and if the basement was getting water in it, they were not working anyway. Since [member name removed] felt it necessary to give us a negative review on the FREE estimate we provided her, we are very glad she chose to go elsewhere to get the work done.
5.0

07/16/2013


EVE G.

It is 100% better but not perfect yet. We were asked to wait until the cement cures, but they are more than willing to come out and resolve it once it does cure. I have no doubt they will fix it until it is perfect. I would definitely recommend them

Description of Work
AQUA-GUARD WATERPROOFING put in a system to waterproof our basement

Category basement waterproofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/20/2013

5.0

06/13/2013


Luther C.

Aqua-guard was recommended to us by our home inspector prior to purchase. The first day of work was on Memorial Day and Aqua-guard worked really hard. Honestly, I have no idea how they do some of the things they did under our house. Aqua-guard does good work. No more water issues in our crawl space.

Description of Work
Added a waterproofing system around the perimeter of our crawl space, extra sump pump, completed some wall structure around the existing sump pump and new vapor barrier.

Category basement waterproofing

Cost $7,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/31/2013

5.0

05/27/2013


Mary C.

Mike was prompt, polite and gave us a quick response time. The work was completed in one day and the price was very reasonable. We have had two big rains and no water! I have never been motivated to give this type of review before but our experience was better than with any other company of this type.

Description of Work
Basement water proofing.

Category basement waterproofing

Cost $2,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/23/2013

5.0

05/11/2013


Angie H.

Our experience with Aqua Guard was fantastic! They gave us the lowest quote when we priced two other similar companies. We checked multiple references and everyone we contacted was very happy with the work Aqua Guard performed. They performed the work in a timely manner and were very professional to work with. It has only been two weeks at this point and we can already tell a difference. I would highly recommend Aqua Guard!

Description of Work
Mike came out and measured our crawl space. He explained his company's philosophy and the products they use. Mike provided me with a detailed estimate of the work that needed to be done to resolve our water problem in our crawlspace, as well as, a price during his initial visit. On the date that was agreed upon, he and his crew came out to perform the work. They installed a drain pipe around the inside perimeter of our crawl space, covered it with gravel, and installed a sump pump to drain the water to the outside. The crew also sealed off the area of the crawl space that goes under the front porch because it was contributing to the humidity problem.

Category basement waterproofing

Cost $3,760

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/29/2013

5.0

05/09/2013


Jennifer C.

We were referred to Aqua-Guard by a family member who had this water proofing system placed in their basement several years ago. After finding water in our un-finished basement after most heavy rains, we decided to get an estimate. We called Aqua-Guard and Mike came out to do an evaluation and explained what needed to be done. He gave us an estimate then as well. We scheduled to have the work done. The work was completed in 1 day. Our experience was great. The best part is that it works and we no longer have water in our basement after it rains.

Description of Work
Aqua-Guard installed a water proofing system in the areas of our basement below ground.

Category basement waterproofing

Cost $3,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/27/2013

5.0

04/29/2013


henry N.

For years I had water and I mean a good bit of Water coming into my basement area which is my kitchen and also dining room, den area. I had another company dig up the out side of the house and put in french drains and water proof the out side of my house and that did slow it down but did not stop the water. I was about to give up until I took a chance on Aqua Guard and they completely fixed my problem. I would hire them again and refer them to anyone that is having water problems. I've been completely dry now for well over a year.

Description of Work
Aqua Guard came in and water proofed my basement which is my kitchen and dining room/ den from the inside. It took about 4 days and there was never any down time. They started on my job and never stopped until they were finished with the job.

Category basement waterproofing

Cost $2,900

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/14/2011

5.0

04/21/2013


MELINDA H.

Called in to address ongoing water problems in our basement. Mike and his crew were prompt in our initial meeting and also in starting the job. His crew were courteous in our interactions and left the work site in good order. So far the system seems to be working well with the rains we have had since the system was installed.

Description of Work
Put in a sump pump/waterproofing system in a basement. Trenched around basement walls and dug a pit for sump pump.

Category basement waterproofing

Cost $3,900

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/01/2013

5.0

03/28/2013


Kim D.

I was extremely impressed by the professionalism of the Aquaguard crew from my conversations with the owner to the crew that performed the work. Mike, the owner was extremely thorough and patient as he explained the system and how it would prevent basement flooding. He also discussed the work with my dad who lives out of town, and my dad was equally pleased with the quality and quantity of time he gave us. Both my dad and I appreciated that he sold his system based on the merits of their work and did not denigrate his competitor's work. We also thought that Aquaguard offered a reasonable and fair price for their system. The day of repairs, the owner Mike arrived with his crew of two men, and he stayed for well over an hour to ensure that both his crew and me had everything we needed to complete the job. I was particularly impressed with the professionalism of the crew. They were polite and unobtrusive. They worked tirelessly and completed the job in one day. Furthermore, I was impressed with how they did not damage my yard when digging a trench for a pipe to run to the storm drain, and they collected all trash and work materials before leaving. It is the mark of a professional crew when they leave and except for the repairs made, you cannot tell that they had been there. This basement repair is the first major repair I have had done as a first time homeowner, and both my dad and myself were extremely impressed with every aspect of the job. We would both highly recommend Mike and Aquaguard.

Description of Work
Aqua guard dug a trench around the perimeter of my basement and laid pipe work and a ump pump to prevent basement flooding.

Category basement waterproofing

Cost $3,944

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/15/2013

5.0

07/23/2012


Jan F.

It was an excellent experience. He came in and did exactly what they said they would, the were very neat and what they did works.

Description of Work
They waterproofed our basement. Sealed it off and installed a couple de-humidifiers for us.

Category basement waterproofing