Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

GRANDFATHER CLOCK SVC

Founded 1971 • With Angi since August 2010

5.0

(10) Verified Reviews

Jewelry Sales/Design/Repair

Description

I accept cash and personal checks. I do all the repairs myself. Please call before coming. I also operate a boat charter business. I am very busy with charters: June and July....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

06/03/2016

Description of Work
John is an outstanding clock repairman! I needed servicing on a grandfather clock that had recently been moved and was not working. He knew exactly what he was doing and my clock is working fine now. He is a "keeper."

Category clock repair

5.0

10/13/2015

Our Howard Miller clock has been in storage for a few months in Illinois while we were waiting for our house to be finished in southern Alabama, When the furniture arrived, one of the movers set up the clock and I didn't realize there were problems until a few days later when I wound it up. It was running slowly, wobbly, and the bottom board fell down when I tried to move it. I was looking for a Howard Miller technician and found John on Angie's list. Even though he lived about an hour away, he arrived promptly and got right to work. He was professional, friendly, and knowledgeable. We were very pleased with John's work and thrilled to have our grandfather clock cleaned, stabilized, and keeping the correct time. We will definitely call John when it's time to have it cleaned and serviced again.

Description of Work
Reattached bottom of grandfather clock. Oil and cleaned the movements. Clock was running slow. Fixed the time and showed me to set the pendulum if clock ran too slow or too fast. Stabilized the clock by adjusting bottom fee.

Category clock repair

5.0

12/26/2014

My grandfather clock had stopped striking and chiming. John came to my house and got everything working again. He also serviced and oiled it so it is good to go. I was very happy with the outcome. He was very knowledgeable and professional.

Description of Work
fixed and serviced my grandfather clock

Category clock repair

5.0

11/03/2014

Arrived on time and immediately began diagnosing reasoning of why the .middle weight was not coming down and the pendulum to not stay working. He found that the cable was kinked and knotted which wouldn't allow the weight to come down and made the correction. He cleaned and lubricated the clock, set the time correctly, adjusted the chimes so that they sounded much better, and made sure it was functioning properly before departing. I am very satisfied and would definitely recommend to others.

Description of Work
FIXED KINKED/STUCK CABLE AS WELL AS CLEANED AND LUBRICATED CLOCK MECHANISMS

Category clock repair

5.0

07/28/2014

Description of Work
I have an antique clock that I inherited. It was moved from Illinois down here to Mobile. I think the shifting and excessive movement created problems for my clock. The pendulum quit after just a few minutes so that the clock no longer kept time. It is working now with the provider's help. He said that it will run for now, but in the future it will probably need a major overhaul. It is showing its age. I appreciate his honesty, and I will take his recommendation into consideration.

Category clock repair

5.0

05/14/2014

Description of Work
Well.

Category clock repair

5.0

08/07/2013

Great job. Both clocks up and running. Very professional.

Description of Work
Serviced two grandfather clocks. Put parts back togather in one

Category clock repair

5.0

10/29/2012

The pendulum had been knocked off. I reattached it myself, but it still wouldn't work. John showed up on time. He started work and had it figured out in short order. He also oiled balanced and retimed the swing. I would call John again if any problems arise.

Description of Work
Reattached the pendulum.

Category clock repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you Member for giving me the opportunity to earn your trust in working on your clock. I hope it gives you many more years of service. John Beebe CMC
5.0

10/04/2012

a

Description of Work
This Master Clockmaker came to my home on time, with everything he needed to service the two clocks we had discussed. He was pleasant, professional, and very good at his trade. In fact, he did more than required to put the clocks back in working order. He could easily have told me that the movement on the grandfather clock would have to be replaced; and, the music box on the cuckoo as well. Instead, he spent extra time performing work beyond the scope of a servicing call to put both clocks in working condition. He charged $150 for his two hours of work on both clocks. That was the price he had quoted me for the service call on both clocks. He did not add on for all the additional work. It's often difficult to find quality tradesmen whom you can absolutely trust to give you good work and honest, fair treatment. This man is one of those rare gems. If you need clockwork done, this is the man to call.

Category clock repair

5.0

10/20/2011

Clockmaster arrived on time, had all tools necessary, spent all his time on clock (not talking about other things or on phone), quickly found problems and corrected them, noticed things that needed adjustment to work properly; fixed everything with no mess, no extra time taken. Pleasant demeanor. Clean and friendly.

Description of Work
House call; oil, clean grandfather clock; straighten pendulum after move; dampen striking; check timing, striking; onsite service; answer questions; troubleshoot items noticed during servicing.

Category clock repair,jewelry stores

    Services Offered

    I repair most pendulum clocks. I offer house calls on Grandfather ( floor ) clocks. I am a factory authorized service representative for Howard Miller and Ridgeway clocks. Besides repairing most antique clocks, I service Herschede, Emperor, Viking, Colonial and most other national brands. I do battery clocks too.

    Services Not Offered

    I do not service A/C clocks, 400 day (aniversary), and no alarm clocks. I do not repair Atmos clocks.

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes, on clocks brought to my business
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Ask for details