Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Pit Bull Fence & Home Repair

Founded 1999 • With Angi since July 2010

I am a small company and I am always on the job from start to finish. I use two other employees to help me with the labor if needed. I have 20 years experience in the fencing and home repair buisness. I have great references upon request. My low overhead allows me to beat the bigger companies on all their prices. I also guarantee all my work and will give a 5-10%discount if Angies List is mentioned. Please view my website for pictures of my work.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Verified Reviews

2.2

(7) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-7 of 7 reviews
Compton O.
1.0
05/16/2014
The owner of this "company" accepted payment in full from my wife's mother to install a fence in January of 2012. He never returned to start the work; he cashed her check; and he did not thereafter respond to any calls or registered letters from my mother-in-law or my wife. A police report was filed in February of 2012, and the man was subsequently convicted of a felony in the Madison County Circuit Court. To date, this convicted felon has not made any effort to contact my mother-in law to pay court-ordered restitution. STAY AWAY!!!
Description of Work
Nothing. He scammed an elderly woman--my mother-in-law--out of $2000 and never completed the work. To be more precise, he never started the work. Stay away from this company--bad, bad news!
Category
fencing
Chris M.
2.0
10/31/2012
We paid them, and they said if we had any problems to contact them. About 2-4 weeks after completion, we noticed planks had split and posts were bowing. I called Mr. Shannon, who said he would come back to replace the problem boards. After several calls, and a series of promises, I still have broken, split and twisted boards that look terrible, even stained. I would not use this company, I believe they use green wood products that are not sufficiently dried. The gaps between our boards after 2 years provide a view into the yard that is supposed to be private. They do not stand behind their work, and are only interested in getting the check. I found them on Service Magic, where they probably do not have any complaints, as they stated in response to another review. I tried to get Service Magic to assist with my problem with Pit Bull. They never responded either. Service Magic charges contractors $39 per referral to "recommend" them.
Description of Work
Mr. Shannon removed an existing fence, and installed a new smaller wood privacy fence. The work was quick and appeared to be done properly upon initial inspection.
Category
fencing
David B.
1.0
05/14/2012
On December 20, 2011, Michael Shannon came gave us an estimate on one part of our damage fence. He gave me a quote of 1300 for 105 feet of fence. I agreed to that price. I had another section of fence that was damaged but it was still standing, the gate on that section would not work. I asked him how much would that cost to remove and replace. He gave me a quote of 2000 for both sections. I agreed with this and informed him to go ahead and make a contract out.On the day of the job Michael contacted me and asked if he could put up Cedar instead of Pine since the cost was about 60 cents more per plank. I said that was ok and asked if he could also water proof the fence.He said he could and the cost of the Cedar and water proofing would be 500 more and I agreed. I had a vaction planed and need alteast to have the damaged fence done soon (because of a dog). We Had paid half of the job up front which at the time was 1000. They finished half the fence when I was gone on vacation. They then told my mother that the job was finished charged us the last 1500 dallors.When I returned I called Michael and got no answer only a answering service. I left a message asking when he will finish the job. No responce. A week latter I called again and still all I got was the answering machine, left a mmessage and waited again. A week later I called again and finally I got ahold of them. They said they have had the Flue and was in and out of the Hospital. This was mid February at this point, he even sent me a doctors excusse. We finially got him to answer the phone about two weeks later and said he would come in two days and finish the job. four days past, he never showed up and would not answer his phone, we only go the answering service. We left massage after message trying to get some answer on why they have not finished tht job. After about another three weeks I finially got him on the phone, he did not even know who I was, until I told him I was the one whos job he has not finished. He said they were working in our area and that he would be over later that week to finish the job. I said ok, we waited and waited no show. We called again the next week and got no answer again. After about two weeks, my sistor, who is hadicaped, got in touch with his wife who then gave the phone to another person. They apologized over and over about the job not being done and promised to be there at nine that Satureday.Well Satureday came and gone with no phone call explaining why they did not show.It has been almost two Months since then and still no one will contact us. We are on our last straw.
Description of Work
Replace a fence that was damaged during Tonado.
Category
fencing
Dan K.
4.0
11/09/2011
Awarded the actual work to another provider. Pit Bull was responsive during the proposal phase of the project.
Description of Work
I called Pit Bull Fence to provide a proposal for a chain link fence. They showed up on-time and provided a professional proposal. I ended up awarding the work to another provider based on cost, but would include Pit Bull as a potential supplier on future projects.
Category
fencing
Janet L.
5.0
09/22/2011
Michael Shannon completed all work on time. I will have him work for me again.
Description of Work
On June 6, 2011, Michael Shannon completed a small fence job for $1,400. He was able to get black chain link fence that Sears and Home Depot didn't have. On June 23, he repaired and stained my deck for $1,200
Category
decks, fencing, deck cleaning
Timothy H.
1.0
07/21/2011
I was given a verbal estimate to repair a fence/gate. When he gave me the bill it was more than double what he quoted me. Then he started yelling at the top of his lungs that he never told me that price. This person is a scam artist. DO NOT USE!!!
Description of Work
I had a fence repaired from the tornadoes.
Category
fencing

Service Provider Response

This customer wanted more done at the end of the job than at the beginning. We also built a fence for the Member and they were more than pleased at the cost and timing of the job. They were very happy and pleased... We are not scam artist. We do jobs as quoted and can't do jobs for free. Have a blessed day!
Meagan H.
1.0
07/20/2011
We contacted Michael Shannon last week to take down part of a wood fence in our yard so we could have a shed delivered. He stated on the phone that he was really hurting for work and would never do us wrong and that the cost would be to take it down and put it back up would be $175 - $200 and to let him know the date we needed the work done. We called the next day to setup the work for 0800 on Tuesday. We also asked him about getting a window installed in our garage and he stated it would be $600 - $800 depending on the cost of the window.Monday night rolls around and we hear nothing from them. We called for a couple of hours until he answered stating he didn't setup the appointment and he was in Tunica for his birthday. After speaking to him for a moment he had a revelation and suddenly remembered that he made the appointment and stated he would be here as planned. Tuesday morning arrives and we start calling him at 0900 which is an hour after he was supposed to arrive. Nothing. Finally at 1000 he sends a text message stating he was on his way. By this time my husband has already removed the gate himself. Michael then speeds by without stopping. I then call and he doesn't answer again. 5 minutes later he calls me calls stating his wife didn't set the alarm and he was getting his men and coming right back. 4.5 hours later he shows up with a kid as his help. Then proceeds to have to leave because he didn't come prepared. Once the fence is finally up he gives us a bill for $500. He was supposed to return on Wednesday and lo and behold he was again a no show. I call him again an hour after he was supposed to be here and no answer again. His wife then calls me 5 minutes later with some excuse that the guy who was supposed to help because come to find out Michael who stated he has installed thousands of windows (according to him during a conversation) that he can't do it because he doesn't have the experience. I then explain the situation to his wife about his tardiness and she stated "I agree, it is frustrating that he is behind; he is actually doing an estimate that he had forgotten about". I then wait to hear from him for 2 more hours and no show. I then call him and he answers. I state I want an itemized receipt for the work the day before because of the inconsistencies between the quote and the actual costs. He proceeds to start SCREAMING at me at the top of his lungs the he never told me the amount stated above and the guy who was supposed to help wife tried to kill herself the night before. That was not my business nor was it professional and hung up on me. I called a few more times and he screamed and hung up on me every time. NEVER USE THIS GUY. UNPROFESSIONAL AND RUDE AND LIES!!!!!!!!!!!!
Description of Work
Remove 2 fence posts to make room for storage building to get through and install a window in the garage.
Category
fencing, replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Member was very hard to work with. She called my secretary screaming and yelling. Would not give us the time to speak. We subcontracted out the window and paid that person and he is the one that never showed up, and Members agreed. As far as the window being installed, my company installs fence and deck and repairs. We have a very good reputation and be sure to check my profile on Service Magic and you will find nothing of this sort. I almost have a 5 star. We have nothing but good reputable references. The window was left with the customer. The customer could have taken back and got a refund for it if the contractor never showed up to put it in for them. Member above is her husband. The wife was very hard to deal with. We have signed contracts of all of this and are willing to discuss this with the Members but would not let us talk or make any type of arrangements with them due to screaming and yelling and cursing on her phone calls to my office. This is all on our business answering machine. They contacted after the storm about a wood repair which i did and they fell to mention was a great job and they were very happy with.A couple weeks later they call needing an old wood gate taken down in order to get a shed in the back yard as i was going to re set gate post i noticed that the old wood was way to warped to ever re install and work right so the husband agreed with the extra cost of new lumber and that was all ok. They gave me a check for the gate repair and also 150.00 extra for the cost of the window after she called cursing me and not getting the window in on HER time,which I was at fault for because I was a little behind. I decided to take her her window and have no more dealings with her because of her bad mouth and her attitude. This was at the time I was rebuilding alot of fences and repairs for the tornado victims. At this time, they came first. She wrote all of this over 150.00 window that I gave back to her. This is the truth and I am sure you all know that there are some people who just can't be satisfied or happy. If she had of called us in a normal business like manner, I am sure this issue could have been resolved and let's get one thing clear, I OWE her nothing. So please don't judge us by the lies this lady has written.Pit Bull Fence & Deck

Other local Pros in your area

Martinez Painting

We have the experience and dedication to get the job done right! Specializing in painting services; We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won't leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Call or click for your FREE estimate today!  

Angi Certified

ACM Pros Pressure Washing

ACM Pros Pressure Washing is a local family owned business specializing in enhancing the curb appeal of commercial and residential properties in Huntsville and north Alabama. We do "soft wash" house cleaning for delicate surfaces, as well as, extreme washes for deeper cleaning. We clean driveways, sidewalks, curbs, patios, decks, gutter clean-outs and more using industrial grade equipment for hot and cold washes.  

Angi Certified

WallacePowerWashing

Give me a call for all your power washing needs -driveway cleaning -house washing -roof cleaning -gutters -fences/decks FREE estimates best prices and just looking to make the customer happy  

Angi Certified

Phone

Address

1535 Oscar Patterson Road

New Market, AL 35761

Other Information

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

Payment options

Check
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

Pit Bull Fence & Home Repair is currently rated 2.2 overall out of 5.

Pit Bull Fence & Home Repair is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Thursday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Saturday: 7:00 AM - 3:00 PM

Pit Bull Fence & Home Repair accepts the following forms of payment: Check

Yes, Pit Bull Fence & Home Repair offers free project estimates.

Yes, Pit Bull Fence & Home Repair offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Pit Bull Fence & Home Repair does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Pit Bull Fence & Home Repair offers emergency services.

Yes, Pit Bull Fence & Home Repair offers warranties.

Pit Bull Fence & Home Repair offers the following services: I offer Free Estimates always on all types Fencing, Decks & all types of Home Repair. No job too BIG or too small.