Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

McGEHEE ELECTRIC,LLC.

Founded 1996 • With Angi since July 2010

4.7

(23) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2916 Brevard Ave

Montgomery, AL 36109

Description

We are now McGEHEE ELECTRIC,LLC. We began as McGEHEE Electric Service, Inc.in 1996. McGEHEE ELECTRIC,LLC. continue's with Donald's ownership and supervision to provide Montgomery and the State of Alabama with professional and efficient work. Our customer base range from residential customers to commercial work with such customers as the Housing Authority of Montgomery, Alabama Power Co., State of Alabama, US Military Dept., Property Management Co's., and numerous others....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
4.0

07/17/2017


Terry D.

It went good

Description of Work
move breaker box replaced some outlets

Category electrician

5.0

02/25/2016


Margaret C.

See above box

Description of Work
By the time I needed him to come out and do the work, he was all tied up with something else. He very readily refunded my money. The little bit of contact I had with him, he was very nice.

Category electrician

5.0

11/03/2015


Donald S.

Description of Work
Replaced receptacle

Category electrician

4.0

05/03/2015


Judy T.

Work was done well but he was always checking the time. I purchased 2 hrs of electrical service.

Description of Work
Repaired kitchen light and installed a ceiling fan.

Category electrician,lighting,remodeling

2.0

12/05/2014


Andrew W.

Since I had not heard from the provider, I called him to see what did he find out the problems were? He apologized for not calling me back because he was busy. I understood that since we had a very unusual cold week that week. He told me that it failed inspection. Well, I knew that and that was why I hired him to look to see what needed to be done. We went back and forth on the phone for a minute or two, and he agreed that I was right that I hired him to take a look at problems. Therefore, he went in and looked at the problems and gave me an estimate. The estimate was considerably (7 times) higher then what I got all the problems corrected for. Pros: 1. Came out very quickly because he wanted to get paid $200 upfront, which is okay. Cons: 1. Poor communication 2. Tried to over-talked and avoid commitment as we agreed upon 3. Pricey. Advise: always get a second or even third opinion. It's worth the money.

Description of Work
The house has not had the electricity turned on over a year. It failed the city inspection. Paid the provider $200.00 for him to come out to detail and make an inventory of the problems, and also agreed that additional repairs would incur additional costs. He came by and picked up the check. I left the door open for him to inspect it.

Category electrician

4.0

06/27/2014


william O.

Description of Work
New lighting and outlets

Category electrician,lighting

5.0

06/26/2014


Marian M.

There price stood out because the other company I got a bid from was more expensive. They were professional and fast. They got it all done in 90 minutes and everything was good. The work they was everything that I wanted and they were less expensive than the other company. They were professional and courteous. I will recommend them to others.

Description of Work
I used the services of McGehee Electric LLC. They came out and gave me a very reasonable estimate and they did a very good job. I need an electrical going out to a backyard pond. They placed a post and outlet. They also put an outlet where the electrical came out from the house.

Category electrician

4.0

03/31/2014


jeanette T.

The service was good but I have asked for a itemized receipt and still hadn't received it. How do I know what I paid for and if it is a good deal.

Description of Work
.

Category electrician

5.0

02/14/2014


John B.

This is the second time we've used McGehee Electric based upon Angie List reviews from other customers. John is the name of the technician who did the work both times. We found him to be very helpful and friendly. The first time he installed a new kitchen light fixture, replaced two outdoor electrical outlets, made a quick trip to a store to get a certain new light switch, and checked all outlets. The price charged was very reasonable. This time he installed two new outdoor security light fixtures and explained their use. One of the new security lights purchased by me from a big-box store did not contain the necessary bracket package. Using tools he was able to modify the previous support system to hold the new fixture. The service call was $50 and the labor $65, which was very reasonable. We will use them again if and when we need an electrician.

Description of Work
Installed two outdoor security light fixtures

Category electrician,lighting

Service Provider Response

[member name removed], Thank you so much for such a wonderful review for our company. We certainly strive to provide professionalism while working for our customers. We appreciate your kind words regarding John. Please know that I will pass along the compliment to him. Thank you, Donald McGehee
5.0

02/05/2014


Yvonne H.

He was very nice and on time. Showed me the problem where one outlet was faulty and it affected a 2nd outlet. Replaced both outlets. Job took about 15 minutes. I paid for the deal where you get 2 hours of service for $129.00. Feel somewhat cheated as paid for two hours of service but he was here for 15 minutes but that's how it goes I guess with these deals.

Description of Work
Replace two electrical outlets in my kitchen.

Category electrician

5.0

01/23/2014


Maxine G.

I discovered McGehee through Angie's list and I am happy to the moon with the great service from Mcgehee Electric. I cannot say enough good things about the attention and good service provided by the owner and two electricians who work with him.They made my dream come true today! Five Star Rating!!!!!

Description of Work
After removing fluorescents in the kitchen, they installed four recessed lights and under cabinet lighting.

Category electrician

5.0

01/12/2014


Berta G.

The parts used and labor was $150.00 plus $50.00 travel, which I'm use to as everyone charges when they come from Montgomery. We are talking about 50 to 60 miles. He also is a very pleasant person. I would use his service again. Thank you very much.

Description of Work
After talking about the problem, he felt that he had a good idea what the problem was. We decided for him to come the next morning which he did on time. He found the problem and made the repairs. He cleaned up after him self.

Category electrician,lighting

5.0

09/12/2013


Roberta M.

I called them out to fix a problem with the circuit breaker. It turned out to be an easy fix, which took about 10 minutes. Since I had booked 2 hours of service (which includes travel time), we walked around the house and found little things that needed to be fixed. My house is 90 years old, so there are a lot of little things that need fixing. He troubleshot and repaired a light fixture, too. McGehee Electric is my go-to for electrical repairs now. This is the second time I've used the $149 deal through Angie's List.

Description of Work
Repair faulty circuit breaker.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

[member name removed], Thank you so much for the great review. We certainly appreciate what you have said about us. We are always striving to leave our customers happy with our work. We look forward to helping you again in the future!
5.0

07/08/2013


Terence R.

Went well. Mission accomplished.

Description of Work
Installed three outside light fixtures.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

(member name removed), Thank you for your review. We appreciate that. As of July 17,20 13 We have actually changed our name to McGEHEE ELECTRIC,LLC. Please let us know if we can help you in the future. Sincerely, Donald McGehee
3.0

06/26/2013


Nekita H.

I called to get a free estimate. He forgot about me so I called to see if he was still coming. I had a home inspection and I showed him the list so that I could get a price. He quoted me a ridiculous price of thousands of dollars. He didn't even itemize the list so that I could see how much each service cost. I asked for an itemized list. He said he would get it to me. And I'm waiting, and waiting. Yes, still waiting.

Description of Work
A free estimate

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

[Member name removed], I am sorry for not getting a reply to you sooner. I am sorry that you feel the way you do. When I arrived, it was clear that what you were asking for me to provide a very through inspection based upon your home inspection list. I was under the impression from the phone call that you were asking for a quotation. You did not clarify on the phone that you needed a walk through inspection of your home. My walk through inspections that provide actually is something I charge for. I did not charge you for that visit. The reason for the charge for the Inspection Report is because I take my time and go through your home inspecting and checking for correct installation and safety. I did not have the necessary time to provide you with an itemized list of prices. If I had been told that you needed a home inspection, I would have made a longer appointment time for you. I had other appointments that day, however, I did fit your visit in between them. I take pride in my work. My reputation as being an honest contractor is very important to me. My work does sometimes put the costs higher than some may like. However, for that amount, my customers are getting the actual owner of this business visiting and overseeing the work to ensure that the work is done to meet the NEC Code and the City of Montgomery's requirements. I have repeat customers because I do my work correctly and honestly. Again, I am sorry that you feel the way you do. Sincerely, Donald McGehee
5.0

03/08/2013


Roberta M.

I was able to schedule an appointment the next day after my call. The technician was on time, and completed all the work. I purchased the work through Angie's List, with the advertised "$129 for 2 Hours of Licensed, Professional Electrical Labor and No Service Fee!". Note: The 2 hours includes their driving time. The technician was quick and efficient. I will definitely use them again, and recommend their services to others.

Description of Work
I contacted them to install a motion-sensor light on the back of my house. The technician took down the old light, installed the new one, set the timer and sensitivity, and rewired an existing light switch in the house to control the light.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

[member name removed], We appreciate your review. Thank you for taking the time. We wanted to let you know that as of July 17,2013 we changed our name to McGEHEE ELECTRIC,LLC. If there is anything you need for us to do in the future,please let us know. Sincerely, Donald McGehee
5.0

11/14/2012


Caroline A.

The electrician John did an awesome job. He was very efficient and professional. Overall a great experience.

Description of Work
Installation of two ceiling fans and a bathroom light fixture. Also looked at another installed ceiling fan and troubleshooted.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

[Member name removed], We wanted to let you know that as of July 17,2013 we changed our name to McGEHEE ELECTRIC, LLC. Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We appreciate that very much. If we can help you in the future please let us know. Sincerely, Donald McGehee
5.0

10/12/2012


Timothy S.

The estimate was quickly done, and the appointment was scheduled quickly. The electrician that came out did a fine job, was helpful, and pleasant to work with.

Description of Work
Repaired cut underground write in backyard. The wire was spliced and sealed. Installed a grounding rod for the cable company to be able to install their cable box.

Category electrician

5.0

10/05/2012


Paul L.

I think I just did in the last box.

Description of Work
Replaced a ceiling fan in the bedroom. I asked him to call me before he came over as I take a lot of medications and don't always get up very early and I had to leave by 1:00 to pick up a friend at the airport. Donald McGehee called, arrived when he said he would and finished up with the work in plenty of time for me to go to the airport on time. He was polite, experienced and clean. He did nnot leave any mess behind. I am totally satisfied and would not hesitate to call him again for any electrical work that I need to have done.

Category electrician

5.0

08/05/2012


Ron N.

They called when they were on their way to my house and arrived on time, as scheduled.They were professional and friendly and fixed the problems quickly.They also determined that I had a breaker in my electrical box that was not working properly (the switch was loose) although it had not failed yet. They showed me the bad breaker before replacing it and explained why it was bad.The prices that they charged, in total, seemed very reasonable and fair given that two electricians were at my home for 2.5 hours and the amount of parts they provided.They did give me information and/or options prior to fixing each problem and told me costs. This is the third electrical job that I have had McGehee do at my home over the past 5 years and I have had a excellent result each time.

Description of Work
Diagnose and fix an electrical issue with the GFI outlets serving my garage and patio. This outlet circuit serves my garage refrigerator so it was very important to fix correctly. Determined patio outlet was not properly water resistant from sprinklers and rain. Replace patio outlet and install new water tight cover. Install GFI outlets on individual outlets serving this circuit in the garage so the refrigerator is less likely to lose power do to GFI fault in one of the other outlets. Diagnose and fix problem with outdoor floodlight 3-way switch. Replace switch in garage that was bad. Relocate outlet and install new outdoor floodlight over garage door. I bought the flood light at Costco. Diagnose and fix bad flourescent (4' tube light) in garage. Replace ballast that had failed. I had bought a replacement light, but they correctly said it just needed a new ballast and they had one on their truck that fit.

Category electrician

5.0

07/16/2012


Leon B.

We got to know about him from a neighbor and then we looked up on Angie’s List. Everything went well. His pricing was fine and he was very friendly; he was a younger man probably in his mid 30s. He called us and told us what time would come by. He was here on time. We thought one of the fixtures of the recessed path lights was bad but he said it was not and he made some recommendations on different types of lights which we followed. He said we could call him if we have any problems.

Description of Work
We used Mcgehee Electric Service for electrical work. We had a problem with the lamps and fluorescent lights in the kitchen. He also replaced a couple of bulbs.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

Member, Thank you for the kind words. Actually, the person who came to your house, was our employee, John Turner. John is a very valued employee. We are glad we have him on our team. Whenever someone calls our office, Donald takes the call. We do have a website with pictures of both Donald and John. I have set up on our website a page where you can actually set up an appointment. Please visit the site: mcgeheeelectric.com for more information. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you in the future. Sincerely, Sarah McGehee Customer Accounts mesincar@aol.com
5.0

02/21/2012


Joseph A.

Donald McGehee does good work. He is good people. I am pleased with his service. He basically told me the issue that was going on and what he could do to save me a few bucks. He was going to do the cheaper work but then he said that in the long run I was better off just to replace the whole box. He gave me a real reasonable price. I was happy with it. I've worked with him in the past. He is a good and honest guy. He does good work. So far nothing has broken.

Description of Work
I used McGehee Electric Service to do some electrical work on a townhouse I own. He replaced a box.

Category electrician

5.0

02/17/2011


Kathleen A.

Went very well. He also suggested some things I might want to have him do in the future which I hadn't known were faulty.

Description of Work
Had a programmable thermostat installed by Mr. McGehee and he was prompt, curteous, and reasonable (under $100 if I recall). At a later date, I had him come out and install a new electrical outlet on the exterior of my home and he fixed my hall and bathroom switches as well which had not previously worked. He also fixed my foyer light which had flickered badly when turned on. No flicker now. Very reasonable rates.

Category electrician

    Other local Pros in your area

    Resource Electrical Services

    Welcome to Resource Electrical Services, LLC. A family owned and operated electrical company specializing in residential, industrial and commercial services. We cover everything from service upgrades, new circuit installations, troubleshoot and repair of existing devices, new installations, and new construction in residential to industrial controls, new circuit/conduit runs, lighting, new installations, and troubleshoot and repair to existing equipment in the industrial field. Let us be your one resource for all of your electrical needs.  

    Offers by Resource Electrical Services on Angi
    Trustworthy Electric

    Since 1994, Trustworthy Electric has been serving Montgomery, AL and its surrounding areas in all its electrical needs. If you’re looking for an electrician that offers upfront pricing, on-time service, and licensed and insured technicians than Trustworthy Electric is the electrician for you. Don’t forget, we’ll fix it that same day, or you don’t pay! So, call and schedule an appointment today!  

    Moss Electric

    We offer electrical, security camera systems, and home automation. We provide the best service at the best possible price that we can while being licensed bonded and insured. We have 20 years of electrical and low-voltage electronic experience.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, MasterCard, Visa
    Senior Discount
    NO
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Commercial and residential electrical services, repair, and some new construction.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about McGEHEE ELECTRIC,LLC.

    How is McGEHEE ELECTRIC,LLC. overall rated?

    McGEHEE ELECTRIC,LLC. is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does McGEHEE ELECTRIC,LLC. provide

    McGEHEE ELECTRIC,LLC. accepts the following forms of payment: Check, MasterCard, Visa

    Does McGEHEE ELECTRIC,LLC. offer free estimates?

    Yes, McGEHEE ELECTRIC,LLC. offers free project estimates.

    Does McGEHEE ELECTRIC,LLC. offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, McGEHEE ELECTRIC,LLC. does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does McGEHEE ELECTRIC,LLC. offer a senior discount?

    No, McGEHEE ELECTRIC,LLC. does not offer a senior discount.

    Does McGEHEE ELECTRIC,LLC. offer emergency services?

    Yes, McGEHEE ELECTRIC,LLC. offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by McGEHEE ELECTRIC,LLC.?

    No, McGEHEE ELECTRIC,LLC. does not offer warranties.

    What services does McGEHEE ELECTRIC,LLC. offer?

    McGEHEE ELECTRIC,LLC. offers the following services: Commercial and residential electrical services, repair, and some new construction.