Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Admiral Movers

Founded 1989 • With Angi since June 2008

4.7

(16) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1200 Newell Pkwy

Montgomery, AL 36110

Description

Admiral Movers is a residential and commercial moving company specializing in local, long distance and storage solutions. 15 time winner of the Montgomery Advertiser's Readers Choice Award. Montgomery's premiere provider of residential and commercial moving and storage for over 25 years! We are

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/28/2016


Michael V.

Description of Work
.

Category moving companies

5.0

07/16/2016


Lynn G.

Description of Work
The moving crew was on time to start, pleasant to work with and were very careful with my furniture. They went out of their way to be helpful. I would call them again if I had another move to make.

Category moving companies

5.0

09/28/2014


Warren S.

Admiral Movers is listed with the Alabama Public Service Commission and the Better Business Bureau. That cinched the deal when I was trying to decide which mover to use. I worked with Mark DePlanche. Mark explained that moving costs in Alabama are determined by distance and weight, and governed by the Alabama Trucking Association regulations. That means estimates can vary from one moving company to another, but the price you pay will be the same, no matter which moving company you use. Good to know that piece of information. Mark quoted us $1582.40 on an estimated 6000 pounds of goods. When they weighed up the load we actually had only 4200 pounds and the cost was adjusted down to $1142. We were satisfied with the three man moving crew. They were professional, courteous, and worked expeditiously. Everything arrived with no damage. The only minor issue was that the crew arrived about an hour late. No big deal. So this was a very good move for us.

Description of Work
Moved us from Troy, AL to Montgomery, AL.

Category moving companies

5.0

08/22/2014


Shirley Ann R.

From the first contact for a walk through estimate until I received my household goods in Florida; every aspect of the move went like clock work.... very synchronized! Mark's walk through was excellent, he was on time, pleasant and offered a lot of good advice for a smoother move. He was also thorough in writing down what items were marked for shipping. After talking to 3 other movers, one made an appointment and did not show, I decided Admiral Movers/ Mayflower was the right choice for me. A few days after the initial walk through, Mark sent me a pre- inventory and a lot of information about my move; which included checklists, videos and other useful links. On the day of the move, 3 movers were there on time with all their equipment and began working immediately, packing what I didn't, loading property and moving quickly. I was very impressed. My household goods were picked up on Monday and delivered that Wednesday! Wow! And, as expected, the delivery at destiny went perfectly, in about 3 hours, all the boxes were in the appropriate rooms and beds and several other pieces were reassembled! I was in the military 28 years, had at least 12 moves and this move with Admiral was one of the BEST! Thank you Admiral Movers for your hard work, dedication and professional!!

Description of Work
Loaded, unloaded, did some packing, and delivered my household goods from my Alabama home to my new home in Florida. exceptional work was performed at both my old address and my new address.

Category moving companies

5.0

06/24/2014


Denise G.

I contacted three firms and choose Admiral because I felt like their estimator, Mark, did the best job of pricing out my move. All three movers were in the same ballpark as far as price, but Mark was very specific about what they could do and couldn't do. He let me know exactly what services would be performed. He then called to confirm dates and times. The packing crew arrived on time and did a fantastic job of taking care of my items, many of which were fragile. I was treated with great respect and professionalism. They handled each of my specific requests with ease. The crew that packed up the truck the next day were some of the same men who did the actual packing into boxes and will be moving my belongings to Florida, so I know them and they know what items need what type of care. I was amazed at how well they protected my glass-fronted shelving and bookcases. The only times they took any breaks was if I insisted they stop and get something to drink in this hot weather. Overall, it was a very satisfying experience. We are heading out to Florida in the morning, and I feel confident that my goods will arrive in excellent shape! Great job, Admiral!!

Description of Work
Packed my household goods, put them on a truck, and moved them to a location in Florida.

Category moving companies

5.0

06/12/2014


Katherine R.

Description of Work
Before I left my previous employer I helped them find an office mover. This company went above and beyond my expectations not only on the work that they did but how smoothly and professionally they handled the transition between contact people. Information was always quickly supplied and their references were not only impeccable but an expansive list. I will definitely keep them in my list for when we need a mover for our home.

Category moving companies

5.0

12/09/2013


Frances G. B.

Mark was very professional and went through my mom's house to get an idea of what items were going to be shipped. He was figuring the number of boxes, what type of packing was needed, especially since I had a lot of fragile items and what packers he was going to assign to the job. On moving day, the packers arrived promptly and continually worked until the job was done. They were prepared with the right type of material to use to pack all types of items, including making a special crate for a marble table top. The packers were very respectful to me and also to the items that they packed. I was very pleased with the move and felt at peace about the move. When the Mayflower crew arrived at my home in PA, they were prompt, professional, very kind, patient and worked hard to please me and protect the items as they brought them in. There was a great system in place for checking in all the boxes and furniture as they unloaded them. This system started as the packers packed my items up in Montgomery and it was easy to check the paperwork and mark off each item as it was unloaded at my house in PA. All items were there. I have unpacked every one of the boxes and there was not one item that was broken!!!!!! I was so happy about this because I expected a few breaks.Thanks to Mark and the Montgomery Crew at Admiral Movers and Michael, the driver from the Mayflower Crew, I believe from Maryland. I was very impressed and pleased with their service!!!!!

Description of Work
Mark DePlanche came out and consulted with me about moving my mom's estate items from Montgomery, Alabama to York PA. Then he set up packers to come in and pack up the estate items at my mom's house in Montgomery, Alabama, place them on a van and hold them until a Mayflower Van was available to run to PA. He coordinated with Mayflower to have a moving van move them up to my home in PA.

Category moving companies

5.0

08/27/2013


Camille R.

It went very well, we were pleased with their service. We will use them to move us into our new home. The team was very professional, courteous, and good at being careful with the furniture they moved.

Description of Work
They did a short distance move for me.

Category moving companies

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking time to review us. I will pass along to the team.
1.0

04/12/2013


Stephen P.

4/26/13 - UPDATE: We were contacted by the owner and offered a refund of $286.00, but would not receive a check unless we removed this review from Angie's List, which I have no intention of doing. The amount of the offered refund is laughable and I don't particularly care for the conditions demanded. 7/15/2013 - UPDATE: They told Angie's List investigators that they had sent us a refund. Never received a refund check from them.

Description of Work
Moved from an address in Montgomery, Alabama to an address in Prattville, Alabama. These people came to the house and gave us an estimate that did not exceed $3,200. They spent less time packing and moving than was quoted in the estimate. The final charge ended up being $4,408.54. 38% higher than the quote!! Apparently, their estimators don't have a clue about what they're doing or else they are deliberately giving a low estimate in order to get the business and then jacking the price up at the end of the service.

Category moving companies

Service Provider Response

We have tried to resolve this issues with the members with no success. We gave her a $675 credit on an extra man, $337.50 of unbilled time, and a refund of $285.00. These total $1,297.50 of credits and refunds. Her 38% higher than the estimate is a wrong number. It came out to be 13.6% more than her estimate. We spoke with the wife on April 23rd and offered her a refund. We issued her a check and said that resolved the complaint. However, she now has refused the check and is asking for more. We take pride at Admiral on providing the best quality service, but the husband has refused the refund that originally resolved the complaint.
5.0

08/28/2012


Daniel D.

This is a truely professional outfit in every respect. I'm not an expert in moving, but I've moved numerous times and have had my share of bad experiences and I was very pleased that everything is completely documented and done in full compliance with laws and regulations. There were no surprises, no tricks, no shortcuts, and no gimmicks. They deliver what they promise and they do what they say. No deceptive language is used. Before they touch a stick of your furniture, you will know exactly what they are going to do, what they will be expecting you to do, and if you request a binding estimate, you'll know exactly what it's going to cost you (assuming you don't add anything extra to their requirements which you didn't mention while they were doing the binding estimate). Mark did our binding estimate and was highly experienced and professional. When I had a question (about insurance coverage) which Mark was not absolutely certain of the answer, he immediately got Sue on the phone and completely resolved the issue in minutes. That's what I like, taking all your concerns seriously and taking decisive action to eliminate them with clear dialog and conversation. Their equipment was in top knotch condition and their moving crew (a 3-man team of Clemmen, Al, and Arthur) could not have been better. In both loading and delivery, they were very punctual kept us fully informed as to their progress toward arrival. They worked very effeciently as a team and were careful and deliberate in both loading and unloading. It was clear that throughout the whole move their focus was on customer satisfaction. Only one item suffered any damage in the move and that was very minor and pretty much unavoidable. It was a only few very small scrapes and dents in the top molding of an extremely large and heavy armoire which had to be taken upstairs through a very narrow 90 degree turn stairwell. It didn't appear possible to me but they managed to do it with the scrapes left as battle scars. Before they left, Clemmen worked on the armoire with his touchup kit and restored the top rail to near like-new condition. As you can tell we were very happy with all aspects of the move. I'm sure there are many movers that will quote you a lower price than I paid for this move, maybe even much lower, but if, like me, you are not comfortable with gambling your every posession on saving a few bucks on an unknown quantity, I'd sure recommend you give Admiral a chance to give you a binding estimate.

Description of Work
Admiral moved all my household furnishings and personal goods (approx. 10,000 lbs) from a 4 bedroom, 3 1/2 bath home in Auburn AL to a two bedroom two story townhouse apartment in Peachtree City, GA (approx. 95 miles). Stored all moved goods for two nights since move-in date at Townhouse was two days after move-out date in Auburn. They packed all pictures, mirrors, lamps, one 42' flat-screen tv, and queen bed set. We packed everything else. Most delicate and difficult item was a expensive 36" floor loom which the movers took special care with and made the full journey completely unscathed.

Category moving companies

Service Provider Response

Thank you it was a pleasure to help you move. And we really appreciate the review. Let us know if we can ever help in any way.
5.0

09/22/2011


John S.

They showed up on time, picked the workbench up and carried it upstairs. I would use them again in the future if necessary.

Description of Work
I used Admiral Movers Inc to move a workbench upstairs in my shop.

Category moving companies

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the review & thank you for your business.
5.0

12/22/2010


Michael M.

I hired ABF U-Pack to move me from Alabama to New York, but needed to hire local help to load the 28 foot trailer. The guys from Admiral Movers were very professional, courteous and quick. Nothing was damaged during the move, and I certainly recommend this company to anyone needing assistance with moving.

Description of Work
Loaded my furniture, packed boxes, and other items onto the ABF trailer (28').

Category moving companies

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the kind words and your business. If you need to move in the future please call Admiral Mayflower in Montgomery Alabama 334-262-6666
5.0

10/18/2010


John S.

excellent

Description of Work
move a shop full of tools.

Category moving companies

Service Provider Response

Thanks, we appreciate your business and your kind words.
4.0

09/09/2010


linda C.

The representative from Admiral Movers came to our home in Prattville promptly (the same day I called) and gave us what turned out to be a very accurate estimate of our moving cost. The crew showed up when expected and loaded our belongings efficiently and carefully. Our belongings were then taken to the warehouse in Montgomery. The delivery was supposed to be no later than Friday, Aug 13. Wednesday, Aug 11 we called the Montgomery office to find out the status of our delivery. That's when we were told that our belongings would not be picked up from the warehouse until Friday, Aug 13 (the day they were supposed to be delivered to us.) When our things were loaded on the delivery truck, the driver called us and continued to call us periodically throughout his trip to us to let us know exactly where he was and when we could expect them. The Montgomery office told us we would be his first delivery. Actually we were the second delivery. The crew that delivered our belongings were great. They were efficient, friendly and took great care with our furniture. We filed a delay claim with Mayflower for the four days they were late and received a check within a week.

Description of Work
The moving crew in Montgomery picked up our household goods and took them to the warehouse in Montgomery until another crew picked them up and delivered them to our new home out of state.

Category moving companies

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the compliment. During the busy season scheduling is always crazy, sorry about he delay. I am very glad you were paid promptly for delay. We are not always perfect but if we goof we aim to make it right.
5.0

07/24/2010


Desiree B.

They were really good and I would recommend them. They showed up early and did a good job.

Description of Work
I used Admiral Movers to move me from an apartment to a house.

Category moving companies

Service Provider Response

Thanks, we appreciate the review & your business.
5.0

06/18/2008


Tim T.

They did an excellent job. Extremely well organized on the front end of the move as well as during the actual relocation. Innovative tools such as rolling shelves used to pack up individual offices serving to greatly minimize downtime. Also used color tags and room numbers to make sure items were moved to the appropriate office without constant follow-up and direction. We have since used them for our records storage and destruction and could not be more satisfied with that service. They helped us to move our records to a climate controlled and secure location with convenient internet access of stored records.

Description of Work
Office relocation during renovation of our main office. We moved twice within six months and Admiral handled both moves.

Category moving companies

Service Provider Response

Thanks, we really appreciate your business for your personal move, your office moving and records storage. You have been with us for a long time and that makes us very happy.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Moving APT - Long Distance Movers

    Moving APT provides long-distance moves, packing and storage. Call Moving APT for the best cross-country moving, at affordable prices.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    All Service Moving - Long Distance Moving

    Local and Long Distance Moving & Storage. Household, Commercial, Corporate services available. Our Mission is To exceed expectations on every move. We live this day in and day out. We provide actual full time movers, not day labor like other companies. Our service is top notch and fully efficient. Our trucks are perfectly equipped for moving with Pads, dollies, Plastic and much more. Our employees are drug tested, trained and seasoned to be the best you will find. This is how we keep our ratings high and claims low. Long Distance Moves take place either from our long distance hubs across the West coast. Located in AZ, CA, OR and WA. We are proud to provide a service that no other company offers; Dedicated Trucks. This means that your belongings are loaded on the truck and not combined with anyone else’s items. They are not transferred to other trucks or facilities in route which causes damage and loss of items (typical with van lines). We have a set loading day and unloading day. This is by far the safest way to ship. Our interstate rates are per 24ft moving van that holds up to 8,500lbs or 1400CuFt. Some customers require one truck and some require more. One truck holds the average 1800SqFt.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Movers Direct LLC

    Movers Direct, llc is a full service moving company. We offer packing service, packing materials, piano movers, local and long distance moves. We specialize in residential and commercial. Movers Direct was voted Best of the Best moving company for 4 consecutive years in Chattanooga, TN. Call today and get your move on the books.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Home Healthcare - Medical Equipment & Services
    Storage
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check
    Senior Discount
    no
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Local Moving Long Distance Moving Storage Solutions Packing Labor Only Commercial Moving FF&E Install Corporate Relocation Employee Relocation

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Admiral Movers

    How is Admiral Movers overall rated?

    Admiral Movers is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Admiral Movers open?

    Admiral Movers is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Admiral Movers provide

    Admiral Movers accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check

    Does Admiral Movers offer free estimates?

    Yes, Admiral Movers offers free project estimates.

    Does Admiral Movers offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Admiral Movers offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Admiral Movers offer a senior discount?

    No, Admiral Movers does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Admiral Movers?

    No, Admiral Movers does not offer warranties.

    What services does Admiral Movers offer?

    Admiral Movers offers the following services: Local Moving Long Distance Moving Storage Solutions Packing Labor Only Commercial Moving FF&E Install Corporate Relocation Employee Relocation