Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Window Depot

Founded 2009 • With Angi since October 2011

4.7

(52) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2109 Bob Wallace Ave SW

Huntsville, AL 35805

Description

Hi! I’m Ron Erwin, owner and operator of Window Depot USA of Huntsville AL. For the past 10years, we’ve been serving communities in and around Huntsville providing excellent craftsmanship, incredible prices, and honest service with energy efficient, top-quality replacement windows at affordable

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

01/16/2020


Jack E.

Among the best reviews for any company is a customer's return request for its services. So it was with me in the case of Window Depot of Huntsville, Alabama, which consists of a small group of people who have made customer satisfaction a primary goal. Two years ago, after receiving a visit from an affable and knowledgeable man named Bill, I decided to have four front downstairs windows replaced. The results were so satisfactory that I recently ordered new windows for the rest of the house, both upstairs and downstairs. Zack came to measure for each window, and within a matter of weeks, having paid a fair and reasonable price, I was enjoying the quiet and convenience of new vinyl windows. I appreciate the expert installation done by Michael and Coby, and I highly recommend this company.

Description of Work
window replacement

Category replacement windows

5.0

12/31/2019


David T.

Very well. Zach showed up right at the time he said he would and looked very closely at the window where we are experiencing a leak. He looked inside, outside, and upstairs above the window. In the end, he said he would love to sell us a window, but that's not where the leak is coming from. He offered some advice where to look and some things to try, and left a quote for replacement of a window he noticed that probably has lost a seal. Honest, dependable, and very much professional. I will hire them when I need windows replaced.

Description of Work
Leak at Window Quote

Category replacement windows

5.0

09/28/2018


Diana H.

The service is great. It took a long time but they did a phenomenal job. We had 3 quotes and they were in the middle.

Description of Work
I had them do our windows, siding, gutters.

Category gutter repair, siding, replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your feedback Mrs. [Member Name Removed]!
5.0

08/27/2018


Jason H.

I'm extremely glad that I chose Window Depot to replace my windows. The customer service from Bill the salesman a retiree was an honest straight shooter. He did not try to sale you anything that you did not need. Zach the installer took really good measurements. He also explained in details how the windows would be installed and he answered all questions. Saving the best for last is Josh and Mike. The are the actually installers. Words cannot express about there workmanship. This is the best two man crew I have seen. They showed up on time ready to work. They did not take any lunch breaks except water breaks. They also explained the how's and why's of how they had to install the windows. On top of that Josh also fix my Doors from some previous installers. They are extremely detailed and the work can speak for itself. The Window Depot team of Huntsville is very honest and some great workers. On a scale of 0-10 I would give them a 10 and recommend them. I will be calling them for future work if they can do it.

Description of Work
Installed new windows and fix my Doors.

Category replacement windows, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you Mr. [Member Name Removed], we appreciate your business!
4.0

07/25/2018


Sam W.

Good, 2 day install, we have had them for 5 years now. They are holding up well, no problems. We also had the window frames wrapped in aluminum.

Description of Work
Vinyl Replacement Windows

Category replacement windows

5.0

06/24/2018


Walter B.

Initial sales contact was useful and informative. Helped me select the best value. Measurement visit was about 2 weeks later. Factory assembly took another 3 weeks. Installation went smoothly, about 5 hours, cleanup satisfactory except for smears on second-floor window, which werte remedied 2 days later.

Description of Work
replaced 6 windows one large picture on second floor.

Category replacement windows

5.0

04/24/2018


sharon R.

We have used window depot before for replacement windows and think their pricing is far for the product. An estimate and measuring were done in very timely manner -windows have to be ordered and require few weeks wait prior to installation

Description of Work
replacement windows whole house/white vinyl double hung

Category replacement windows

5.0

10/20/2017


Rich R.

excellent service, professional installation, great price and reduced my electric bill by at least $100.00 per month

Description of Work
window installation whole house

Category replacement windows

1.0

10/20/2017


Lawrence G.

Not well. He provided an estimate pf $500 to do all my windows. He spent one and one-half hours at my house. He put new caulk over old caulk and the caulking on several of the windows looks very unprofessional. I will have to have it redone prior to painting.

Description of Work
I hired Window Depot to re-caulk my windows.

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

This was not an authorized Window Depot job. This was a side job done by an installer as a service. There were no Window Depot products installed, as it was for exterior caulking only.
5.0

06/26/2017


Erica H.

It went well. Everyone that I have worked/talked with at the company has been extremely professional. The team that installed the windows were hard workers and professional. I don't have any complaints about the services and I going to use them again. I had 8 windows replaced and I will be using them to replace the others in my house. I definitely recommend them for replacing windows.

Description of Work
Replace windows in my house.

Category replacement windows

5.0

05/22/2017


Juli L.

We were so impressed from the first contact to the end of the job! The whole team was pleasant, professional and knew their stuff! Very efficient, good price, beautiful work; we could not have been happier and would recommend Window Depot 100%!!!!

Description of Work
Had all windows replaced in home and repairs done in sills/frames.

Category replacement windows

4.0

04/12/2017


Mario P.

For the most part it was a good experience. The salesperson was very knowledgeable and answered my questions. He called back to tell me they were running a special too that helped with my decision. What I didn't like was that he didn't tell me that their windows would not be recessed like the windows being replaced, so I had to spend a few hundred dollars more to get new blinds. Also, I spent a good chunk of change and would've expected a phone call after installation to make sure I was happy with the installation and the windows. The installers were hard working and friendly. They took the time to tell me what they were doing. They did come a little unprepared though. I had molding around the window and they came without a nail gun even though they had one. I let them borrow mine. They also did not come with drop cloths. They had a hard time getting the existing windows out because of the way they were done. So they ended up breaking the glass on each of the windows. The glass went all over the place. My wife found glass in the bed, on the bureau and she stepped on glass cutting her foot. It also scratched up some of my wood flooring. So the clean up could've been better. The windows look good though and work great.

Description of Work
replace 5 windows

Category replacement windows

2.0

02/22/2017


Cory B.

I was neither satisfied or impressed with our window installation based on the lack of information provided from the salesman, the failure to protect our interior belongings during the installation process, and the failure to correct damages caused to my existing window structures during the removal and installation process. The most serious issue with our installation was the damage caused to our existing interior window frames and surrounding wall during the removal of our current windows. There were multiple places where the interior window frames were nicked and/or dented and there were a few cracks in the paint and a couple quarter sized paint chips missing from the walls adjacent to the window frames cause by the removal of our current windows. When I asked the lead installer (who stated that he is also the Huntsville office manager), he stated that this type of damage is normal and they do not repair the damages that they cause. I was amazed and appalled by his lack of concern for the damage caused to my window frames and the surrounding paint. If this type of damage is normal, I would have expected a damage waiver prior to work being done. My next issue had to do with the lack of protection from the possibility of broken glass during the removal of our old windows. We had one window completely shatter during removal yet the installers did not provide drop clothes to catch the broken glass. They did sweep up the majority of the glass and then asked if they could borrow our vacuum to clean up the smaller shards at the end of the job. Based on not wanting them to use our high-end Dyson for their clean-up job, we declined and I borrowed a shop-vac for the clean-up. I am at a loss as to why the installers did not provide drop cloths if this is a common occurrence or why they would not have a shop-vac on hand to properly clean-up at the end of the job. Outside the window that broke, the installers cleaned up most of the broken glass from the mulched area under the window, but I continue to find small pieces of glass in the mulch. One of the windows removed was above our air conditioner and there are large broken pieces of the removed window framing inside the air conditioning unit under the cooling fan. Additionally, we found small glass shards and glass dust on our son’s comforter from the replacement of the window in his room. Again, drop cloths would have protected the interior and exterior areas around the work. In regard to the lack of information from the salesman, our salesman explained that the replacement vinyl windows would need to be installed into the current interior window frames and stated that they would extend out from the frames by about ¼ inch or so. When the windows were installed, the inner frames actual extend more than an inch inside the interior window frame, significantly reducing the size of the window glass, more than expected. During the initial sales pitch, I had asked for pictures of installed windows for visual confirmation, but the salesman stated that they did not have pictures available. Another lack of information provided had to do with the outside window framing and cladding around the installed windows. The cladding consisted of shaped sheet metal placed around the windows that is only held in place with caulking. I do not know if that is industry standard, but I am quite concerned about the longevity of sheet metal cladding held in place with caulking. There are places where the sheet metal is bent into a lip extending out over the siding on the back of the house; this sheet metal looks like it could easily be caught by the wind and torn from the single bead of caulking holding it in place. The installer stated that he is not aware of that happening to any previous jobs, but I have received previous wind damage that has torn Masonite siding from the adjacent area. I will need to find some type of epoxy to secure the sheet metal framing to the siding. My final complaint concerns additional damage to other interior belongs. One of the installers knocked a picture frame from the wall in our stairwell, breaking the glass and damaging the frame. Additionally, in my son’s room, when we took the horizontal blinds down, we laid them on the floor. One of the installers moved the blinds onto my son’s bed and created an inch long tear in his comforter. Both of these issues were noted to the installers but there they made no attempt to compensate for the damage. Again, a drop cloth would have prevented this damage along with preventing the glass that we found on his comforter. Overall, we like the functionality of the windows, but I am unsatisfied with lack of information provided by the salesman, the installation, and the installer’s lack of regard for the damage done to the window frames, the surrounding area, or our other property. After a lengthy discussion, the installers filled the damaged window frames with putty and I held back $200 of the final payment in order to have the window frames repainted and the other touch-up work repaired by another contractor who is remodeling a bathroom for us.

Description of Work
We had 14 windows replaced on our single family residence.

Category replacement windows

5.0

02/09/2017


Terence B.

They gave me options as far as different things.

Description of Work
I got an estimate from Window Depot.

Category replacement windows

5.0

01/17/2017


Burt B.

Work was done on time and with great attention to detail. Will definitely use again.

Description of Work
Replaced 7 windows

Category replacement windows

5.0

02/17/2016


Vinson M.

Very professional and knowledgeable. Price was very good. I decided to go with another Angies list recommendation based on some special requirements I had for color match that most folks would not have. The representative and the owner were very nice and I really wanted to do business with them. I just had the special color match issue that the other company can do, for a fee, and window depot could not.

Description of Work
Provided estimate.

Category replacement windows

5.0

01/30/2016


David G.

Job well done. This contractor contacted me shortly after I messaged them via Angie's List. Then they came out and gave me quote for the repair. I agreed to get the work done, and they scheduled a time 2 days later to perform the work. Due to weather conditions, the repait had to be delayed approx a week. When they were able to perform the repair, they got it done promptly and as requested.

Description of Work
Removed window rot at base of large window in front of house. Then put flashing all around window and sealed with caulk.

Category replacement windows

5.0

08/18/2015


John C.

Great. Crew was top notch. They worked quickly and professionally. I will use their services again without a doubt.

Description of Work
Replaced 23 windows in our house.

Category replacement windows

5.0

05/15/2015


Geoff B.

The job went very well and the installation crew was top notch. The company was very helpful and went the extra mile to make sure I was happy and understood the work that was to be done. The installation crew was very friendly, professional and knowledgeable about the job to be done. They informed me of every issue that they encountered and the best way to fix it, if they could not fix it themselves. They kept me in the loop at every step of the installation process and made me feel very comfortable about what they were doing. I feel like they are an honest and hardworking company that is trying to do the best job that they can do. They did everything that I expected and then some. The windows are a great quality for the price, the installation crew did an excellent job and I will be using them again in the future.

Description of Work
Replaced existing wood windows with new replacement windows.

Category replacement windows

5.0

04/30/2015


Chris B.

It went pretty well. It took about 6 weeks from the time I signed the contract to final installation but I was told up front that it could take that long to procure the windows. Communication was good. Install team has fewer people than I expected (3). It took them about 4-5 hrs to replace my windows. Workmanship was fair. Caulking could have been better. They didn't clean the sill completely before installing the new windows so the caulking had sawdust etc trapped in the beads in spots. Everything looks plumb and square and functions as it should. As of almost one week later and surprisingly have I have not been contacted to see if everything was OK. I would use them again however. Follow Up- 5-18-15 Installer contacted me about my concerns regarding the caulking. A representative came out and looked at the caulking. They touched up some areas where the caulking had gapped due to normal shrinkage. The rep feels that some of the areas that had trash in the caulk bead may be pollen. I agree that this may be so, although there are a couple spots where there were small wood splinters trapped in the bead. I am willing to concede that it is probably a minor issue. I do appreciate the installer contacting me in a very timely manner and showing genuine concern about the quality of the job and my satisfaction. It is obvious that maintaining a good reputation is very important to Window Depot and that is why I say that I would use them again.

Description of Work
Provider installed 10 replacement windows in my single story home.

Category replacement windows

5.0

02/12/2015


Rayford V.

All went as originally contracted for. The installers began work on a Saturday and worked over a four day period finishing the following Wednesday. I would highly recommend installers Darren and Karen who work as a team (DC Construction - a Window Depot subcontractor) - they were excellent in all respects and very knowledgeable. Zach and his partner Josh (?) were also very good and easy to work with. Every request we made was listened to and accommodated, they cleaned up every evening after finishing for the day, arrived on time, and worked efficiently all during the day. Ron Irwin, owner, followed up after the work was completed and promised to come by to inspect the result himself. We were told numerous times to please call them if we see anything that isn't to our satisfaction and they will return to correct it. We contracted with Window Depot over another firm in Huntsville because of the quality of their windows (Vista brand) combined with their pricing. The price that Ron gave me was nearly one half that of another Window company in Huntsville. I would highly recommend this company and would use them again.

Description of Work
This was a replacement of all windows in our home - a total of 44 windows in a three story house. Not all windows were standard - several were half rounds or crescent shaped. Former wood frame windows were replaced with double paned argon gas filled energy efficient vinyl windows.

Category replacement windows

5.0

01/25/2015


susan B.

I had a five panel bow window in my living room replaced. The window purchased had two side panels with optional screen which opened up to the outside. The window is very nice, good quality and has made a huge difference in my heating bill. The owners and staff of Window World went out of their way to provide excellent service. The old window was a disaster but they removed it in pieces and hauled all debris away. The trim work was excellent on the new window. I am very pleased with their work, ethics and price. Definitely recommend Window World to everyone!

Description of Work
Replacement of five panel bow window in living room.

Category replacement windows

5.0

12/30/2014


Mark C.

great. on time. on budget. fast work. great job.

Description of Work
installed 4 windows

Category replacement windows

5.0

12/13/2014


Diana F.

Everything was as promised. From the salesman, Bill Hinger, to the installers, Zach and Josh, we were pleased with the service we received and very happy with the windows. They kept in contact with us, from the signing of the contract until after windows were installed, and made sure we were pleased with the results. I would recommend this company without any reservation. The owner is always available if there is any questions or concerns.

Description of Work
They installed new windows in our home including a bay window.

Category replacement windows

4.0

10/29/2014


Sharon F.

The windows themselves are quite nice. They are from VISTA and we got the double pane glass pack with e-coating and argon gas. They do reduce outside noise and insulate against excessive heat transfer. The glass pack is a full 1" and the frames and latches are very sturdy. The product itself is the main reason why we decided to go with this company. The salesman, Bill, was very professional and could explain the product well. That being said, he does not install the windows, nor was he very knowledgeable on the details of the installation process. We got the "b" team for the install. This team consisted of very young and inexperienced installers, one of which was the owner's son. The craftsmanship in the metal wrapping was less than impressive, which is the reason for the "C" rating on the quality. There were many hammer dings and some pronounced bubbles in the metal wrapping, especially around the garage doors. Some edges around the windows were cut too short and a wad of caulk was used to compensate for the mis-measurement. Some sills were not neatly nor fully wrapped. The team did return and tidied up the short metal pieces on most of the windows where we pointed out the flaws. We were told that the bubbles and hammer dents could not be made any better and that this was an "industry standard". We did come to the conclusion that based on the experience of the crew, this was perhaps the best they could do. In hindsight, we would have more strongly considered going with a more experienced installer or perhaps even a full exterior siding company in order to get better craftsmanship on the metal work. So in conclusion, great product, but craftsmanship may disappoint, depending on which installation team you get. We will perhaps use this vendor again in order to get matching windows for an addition that we have planned (if they will sell me just the product), but we will have our general contractor install them along with new siding for the entire house.

Description of Work
Replaced 22 windows in my primary residence. Metal wrapped 2 exterior doors, 2 garage doors, and all frames of all 22 windows.

Category siding, replacement windows, doors

    Other local Pros in your area

    A 1 Gutters

    Experienced gutter company servicing the Huntsville area.  

    Advanced Gutter Systems

    Advanced Gutter Systems specializes in GUTTER AND GUTTER GUARD INSTALLATIONS. For an immediate response to your gutter needs call Elizabeth or Sherman (Owner's) at (256) 214-1356 or (256) 206-6604  

    Offers by Advanced Gutter Systems on Angi
    Arroyo's Remodeling

    We have the experience and dedication to get the job done right! Specializing in remodeling services; We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won't leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Call or click for your FREE estimate today!  

    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    25258
    Trade License Locale
    Montgomery, Alabama
    Trade License Authority
    Home Builders Licensure Board
    Trade License Expiration
    12/31/2018
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Replacement and bay windows, patio doors, siding & room enclosures.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Window Depot

    How is Window Depot overall rated?

    Window Depot is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Window Depot open?

    Window Depot is open:

    Monday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Window Depot provide

    Window Depot accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard

    Does Window Depot offer free estimates?

    Yes, Window Depot offers free project estimates.

    Does Window Depot offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Window Depot offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Window Depot?

    Yes, Window Depot offers warranties.

    What services does Window Depot offer?

    Window Depot offers the following services: Replacement and bay windows, patio doors, siding & room enclosures.