Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Hutchens Company Inc

Founded 1886 • With Angi since March 2011

4.9

(16) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2508 N Washington St

Huntsville, AL 35811

Description

The Hutchens Company Inc. Serving Huntsville since 1886. Plumbing, Heating and Air Conditioning Residential and Commercial Service and Construction

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Wolfram V.
5.0
01/14/2016
Provider showed up on time and did a very thorough inspection, was completely professional, and gave me good information. I would definitely recommend them.
Description of Work
Provider did an inspection of my service.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
mary H.
5.0
07/22/2015
It went very well. It was fine. It was reasonably priced. I've been using them since 2011. I didn't use anybody else. Their pricing was fine.
Description of Work
I used their plumbing service. They handled my plumbing and my heating and cooling. The most recent time, we had some sort of a leak and they fixed the leak.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing
Neil B.
5.0
07/28/2014
unknown
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Patrick R.
5.0
07/02/2014
I've had an excellent experience with them. I think it was covered under warranty. They have good products, they provide good service. They fulfill their commitments to their customers. They do what they say they're going to do and they do it in a manner that they say they're going to do it. I don't have anything negative to say about them.
Description of Work
I used them about three years ago. On that last visit, they serviced a heating and cooling unit that they had installed a year before.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Brian C.
5.0
08/26/2013
Arrived a 15 minutes late but TWO people called ahead to let us know. Polite and knowledgeable. I would definitely use them again.
Description of Work
Serviced HVAC system.
Category
electrician, heating & air conditioning/hvac
Linda N.
5.0
12/28/2012
When I found the leak I immediately called The Hutchen's Company. I was getting up as much water as possible so the water damage would be contained to one room if possible. When the Hutchen's men arrived they surveyed the damage and began to look for the leak. As it turned out it was harder than first expected and they had to return the next day to locate where exactly the water was coming from. Since this turned out to be an insurance job, my adjuster came out and got on the cleaning up and finishing up of repair work to the home.
Description of Work
I had a water leak in the wall of my house. I had a repairman within hours of my calling and they seemed to know how to handle an emergency in a hurry. Water leaks in walls require some sheet rock to be removed and insulation to be removed so they can find the leak site.
Category
electrician, heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing
Neil B.
4.0
12/17/2012
when fine, except that I had to do the wall repair myself.
Description of Work
installed a pedestal sink
Category
plumbing
Patrick R.
5.0
06/17/2012
We are pleased with the Hutchens Company. We have found them to be reliable, dependable, trust-worthy and fair.
Description of Work
Replacement of residential HVAC unit.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Walter B.
5.0
05/16/2012
The Hutchens Company has always been very responsive, and done quality work. Never a redo. Has responded on weekends and nights when needed. I depend on them for maintenance. Reasonably priced, top quality work.
Description of Work
Plumbing and HVAC services on a rental house in Blossomwood that I own. Has done all HVAC and plumbing maintenance since i bought the house in 2006. Reworked gas furnace that had been installed incorrectly, and installed additional heat pump, that works with gas heating. Work done quickly and correctly, no hassle, very competent people.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, gas leak repair
Dennis W.
4.0
01/12/2012
Good work.
Description of Work
Re-plumbed sink for remodel.
Category
plumbing
Linda N.
5.0
10/25/2011
They had it done in record time and were extremely reasonable. They are going to send you the most top notch people and service in the area. You don't have to worry about using them and I feel safe with them. I will use them again in the future.
Description of Work
I used Hutchens Company to replace and rewire some of the electric plugs in my house.
Category
electrician
Linda N.
5.0
10/25/2011
I have used them for a number of things and I have never had a bad experience with anybody they have ever sent out here. They are mannerly and timely and are on call 24/7 365 days a year. We had very cold temperatures one night last winter and they had somebody out here within two hours to help me. I will use them again in the future.
Description of Work
I used Hutchens Company to work on my heating and air system.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Linda N.
5.0
10/25/2011
I have used them for a number of things and I have never had a bad experience with anybody they have ever sent out here. They are mannerly and timely and are on call 24/7 365 days a year. We had very cold temperatures one night last winter and they had somebody out here within two hours to help me. I will use them again in the future. I really trust them and am comfortable with them.
Description of Work
I used Hutchens Company to unfreeze 4 water lines and repair leaks in the pipes during cold weather last winter.
Category
plumbing
Patrick R.
5.0
05/14/2011
We give the Hutchens Company an A+. The repair was scheduled on the day we called. The service man (Gerald) arrived very close to the promised time. He listend carefully to my explanation of the history of the problems we had had, which were very similar to the problem we had that day. He thoroughly examined the system and arrived at some puzzled conclusions. He determined that when the unit was installed approximately six years ago, an unnecessary part was left in the system which was causing excessive pressure to build up during the cooling process. Gerald thoroughly explained the problem and the solution. After he had completed his repair, he volunteered to stay beyond the billable time to assure that the unit was functioning properly. I commend Huntchens Company for hiring and training such a skilled and professional as Gerald. I also commend Hutchens Company for its policy of invoicing its customers for services rather than demanding payment at the time of the service. I had expected to write a check when the service call concluded but the trust Hutchens showed me confirms for me that they are exactly the kind of company I can place my trust in. I highly recommend The Hutchens Company.
Description of Work
AC Unit would not cool when turned on for the first time in the season. This has been a recurring problem since we bought our house two and a half years ago. We had another company attempt to repair the problem on three other occasions and had been considering replacing the unit even though it is only six years old,
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Walter B.
5.0
04/18/2011
Easy to contact, quick response.
Description of Work
AC froze up again. The Hutchens Co. found a (very small) leak others could not, and found my unit was still under warranty for parts. Obtained a new evaporator within one day and installed it. Very knowledgeable tech, polite and helpful with exoplanations.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing
mary H.
5.0
03/18/2011
They are wonderful because they always come as soon as you call them. They take care of whatever the problem is. They always bill you afterwards; you never have to pay on the spot. They always do a good job.
Description of Work
They repaired a leak on the pipe coming out of my hot water heater.
Category
plumbing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Valley Heating & Cooling

    Valley Heating and Cooling is a Full Service Heating and Cooling Company serving North Alabama since 1974. We are headquartered in Decatur, AL and have dispatches available in Cullman, Moulton, Athens, and Madison. We provide service 24/7 and service most brands and models of Heating and Cooling, Equipment. Additional email - declan@valleyheatingandcooling.com. Award winning. Additional phones - (256) 773-4262, (256) 233-2966. Additional DBA - Jones-Nunn Inc.  

    Angi Certified

    RDI

    We are a heating and air-conditioning company that has been in business for 25 years doing both residential and commercial work. Veteran owned and operated, we are now in our second generation as a family business operating as RDI Heating and Air-conditioning. (We were formerly one of the owner/operators of RMS which is still listed on Angis but is no longer active but you can still see reviews there at this time.) We provide quality service and installations using the latest tools and methods and we are continuously updating training for our personnel.  

    Angi Certified

    Comfort Specialist Heating and Air

    FREE 2-person cruise (you just pay port frees and taxes) when you hire us for any unit installation! Call us today for details! (256) 333-5448 Our purpose is to serve local families at the highest level so they can enjoy safe and comfortable lives. We have a noble calling at Comfort Specialist Heating & Air: Enrich the lives of local families by ensuring they are safe and comfortable. To us, that is our highest purpose. We view it not as a job, but as the highest privilege to be entrusted with this responsibility. We take it seriously, pursue it relentlessly, and serve tirelessly. We understand that not everyone has the money saved to pay for new installations or services up front, so at Comfort Specialist we like to give our customers the option to finance their HVAC services with approved credit through Wells Fargo. We raise the bar in everything we do: every team member, every action, every word, every service, every time. We actively seek opportunities to be better in this moment than we ever were before. When we each seek to raise the bar with these core values, we become unstoppable.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Financing
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems,Heating Contractors & Specialties,Plumbers

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Hutchens Company Inc

    How is Hutchens Company Inc overall rated?

    Hutchens Company Inc is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Hutchens Company Inc open?

    Hutchens Company Inc is open:

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 3:30 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 3:30 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 3:30 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 3:30 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 3:30 PM

    What payment options does Hutchens Company Inc provide

    Hutchens Company Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Financing

    Does Hutchens Company Inc offer free estimates?

    No, Hutchens Company Inc does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Hutchens Company Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Hutchens Company Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Hutchens Company Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, Hutchens Company Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Hutchens Company Inc?

    No, Hutchens Company Inc does not offer warranties.

    What services does Hutchens Company Inc offer?

    Hutchens Company Inc offers the following services: Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems,Heating Contractors & Specialties,Plumbers