Andrew Muncey's Home Repairs

About

Founded 1990 • With Angi since December 2011

Our family-owned-and-operated business is ready to get any of your home improvement projects done, quickly and efficiently. You'll have fully trained experts that are ready to provide you with complete exterior and interior remodeling services that will take your home to a whole new level.

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Images

A Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile image

Verified Reviews

4.0

(20) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

15

4

0

3

0

2

1

1

4

Rating Details

Price

4.4

Professionalism

4.0

Punctuality

4.3

Quality

4.0

Responsiveness

4.3

Read reviews by category

roofing (12)siding companies (4)handyman (3)decks & porches (3)house painting (2)home remodeling (2)basement remodeling (1)door installation (1)home builder (1)
Showing 1-20 of 20 reviews
5.0

03/14/2022


Jim C.

We had a leaking porch that caused extensive damage in the basement. Many contractors came by and all of them said it couldn't be fixed. Andrew "Tim" Muncey came by and said he could fix it and he did. We couldn't be happier. Any additional work on the house we had, I am calling him. He did a great job and i enjoyed how he talked me through all the options. They got the job done quickly and efficiently.

Description of Work
Work on the porch

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/01/2022

5.0

07/25/2021


Gary K.

Andrew "Tim" Muncey Home Repairs was great to work with! Organized, hard working crew. Respectful to both us and our property. The siding installation went great and exceeded our expectations. Would hire again or recommend without doubt!

Description of Work
Vinyl Siding installed

Category decks, siding

Cost $18,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/23/2021

Images

Review for Andrew Muncey's Home Repairs - 1720 Moncrief Rd, Gardendale, AL - 39416226
5.0

08/18/2020


Christy W.

We had a great experience from the first point of contact. Trevor came out the very next day to assess the project. Was courteous and professional. Provided a competitive estimate and we decided to give them a chance. Especially after seeing other helpful reviews. They arrived on time. Engaged in conversation with me and listened to my questions and concerns. Worked hard and diligently. Asked me to check out the completed project before calling it finished. Cleaned up after themselves! It’s hard to believe this process of connecting with Angie’s List, finding a company, getting estimates, and project completion, was less than a week! I’d certainly hire Andrew Muncey’s Home Repairs in the future.

Description of Work
Siding & fasciae repair

Category handyman service, siding, home builders

Cost $1,900

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/17/2020

5.0

05/21/2020


Burns M.

Very well!

Description of Work
Surrounding material around chimney had been blown off...needed fix.

Category siding

Cost $700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/21/2020

5.0

01/14/2020


RANDY C.

The job went great ,he came out i gave him a list of what needed to be done, he did a good very good job.

Description of Work
I needed some roof work done to get a house ready for selling.

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/14/2020

5.0

10/18/2019


inga B.

It went well! I was very pleased with the outcome. They were very easy to work with and were very punctual. I would highly recommend them to others.

Description of Work
Replaced siding on my chimney

Category siding

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/06/2019

5.0

10/18/2019


Harold W.

I cannot say more honestly than I am attempting to convey here that my experience with Andrew Muncey s Home Repairs exceeded any expectations I had of what was even possible in this day and age. From the first contact until the completion of my project, I and my home have been treated with respect and care. On the first visit to my home, to determine the extent of needed repair and to assist me in making wise choices, Mr. Muncey could not have been more punctual. We discussed the material options for replacing my roof, as well as what structural repairs seemed to be needed. It was clear immediately that first and foremost, Andrew Muncey wanted me to be pleased with the end result of the work and not just put on a few figurative *band-aids.* I was impressed as Mr. Muncey explained that he desired to NOT repeat what some other service providers have done in the past to my old house: shortcuts I was already aware of, as the house has been in the family far longer than I have even been alive and I know first- hand what has been done the last two times this house has been re-roofed. As MY home is old enough that the on-site workers would not have even have had the convenience of power tools when first constructed, it was important to me that THIS time, the roofing and other required structural repair be executed in a manner that would honor the craftsmen that were here on-site 106 years ago. I now have a new roof that beautifully compliments the aesthetics of the design of the house, as well as a home that is more structurally sound than I have ever known it to be during my lifetime.

Description of Work
Replacement of the roof and structural repairs and fascia boards

Category roofing

Cost $20,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/01/2019

5.0

10/18/2019


Althea P.

They did an excellent job in a very timely manner. They found out what was needed and gave me a quote, which was reasonable. It was a blessing working with them and would refer them to all.

Description of Work
N/A

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/18/2019

5.0

10/18/2019


Lynn R.

Everything was perfect. He was there when he said he would be. Did everything he said he would and correctly.

Description of Work
Siding, painted and replaced some windows

Category house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/18/2019

5.0

11/02/2018


Bill I.

Extremely well. Mr. Andrew Muncey (owner) was on top of the job from the beginning. The crew was extremely efficient and left no mess behind. And the price was more than fair. I would (and will) use these guys again!

Description of Work
Water damage repair to chimney exterior and to screened-in porch.

Category decks, house painters

Cost $4,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/02/2018

1.0

09/29/2018


Janice F.

We hired Mr Muncey based on his FB page and that he lived close by. We had a roof problem over a screen porch which had caused water damage to the soffit and some of the wood under the roof. We had hired 2 other people previously to fix it but both times it started having problems again. A couple of people thought it was the gutter so we had the gutter in that area replaced. We explained all of this to Mr. Muncey and he promised that his roof repair would solve the problem once and for all. We also had him clean the gutters. I did something I have never done before and didn't get an estimate for the work. We were so impressed with him and his "spill" we just told him to go ahead. When he gave us the bill I was shocked because his workers only worked a couple of hours. I assumed they would replace some if the wood decking and more extensive work on the roof. I also felt the charge for gutter cleaning was excessive since I usually paid $50-75 for that. I told him is was much higher than I expected but the only thing he did was say he guaranteed it would not leak or he would give me my money back. I asked him to write that on the invoice which he did. Several months ago I noticed the ceiling to the screen porch had a very bad leak. I was not on that porch often especially when it was raining and due to the natural beadboard color, the area of the leak was not noticeable except during an active rain at which time is was dripping badly. So I have no idea how long it had been leaking.I hesitated for a few months about contacting Mr Muncey because I don't like to complain about someone's work. I think this is the first negative review I have ever written. I wish I had seen the one's on here before I hired him. I have gotten estimates from about 3 well known roofers and all of them and the building inspector said any roofer should have known that the roof's pitch was too low to be repaired as it was. After I discovered how much it is going to cost to have the roof and the ceiling to the porch fixed, I finally sent him an email explaining the problem, pictures of the damage, and the invoice that stated money back guarantee.. I did not ask for any compensation but did hope he would honor his warranty. Not surprising, I never heard from anyone from the company. I noticed he has not responded to any of the other negative reviews on here which is meaningful also. I actually hired someone from Angie's list due to a negative review because I was impressed that the person took ownership of the problem and didn't try to make excuses.Hopefully I have learned my lesson and others will learn from the reviews.

Description of Work
roof repair and gutter cleaning

Category roofing

Cost $840

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 03/10/2016

Images

Review for Andrew Muncey's Home Repairs - 1720 Moncrief Rd, Gardendale, AL - 37435860

+2 More

1.0

01/07/2017


Mark F.

The other negative review is nearly an identical personal experience I had with Mr. Muncey. I can only imagine the positive review is a made up review. Mr. Muncey's crew included some of his family members and, while I was not there, my neighbor complained about the profanities and yelling at the crew the whole time. The roof took a week to replace. Way too long. Since the installation, I have had at least 4 roof problems. After the second time Mr. Muncey's crew came out and did horrible repairs, I started using another roofer to do the repairs. I've had two leaks that have damaged the inside of the house and with the last one, I contacted the insurance company. The insurance company stated the same thing my new roofer stated. The roof was improperly installed and needs to be completely replaced. I'm no roofer, but I know that is a big financial impact on Mr. Muncey. I have tried to contact him with no response. He is very intimidating to work with, hence why I avoid him and have now spent over $2000 in roof repairs in the last couple years and will likely have to pay another $9000 to replace the roof before the life reaches it's normal end of life. I've learned a lot about roofing now, so I will be better equipped when I get my next roof. Do not use Mr. Muncey's services.

Description of Work
Mr. Muncey put a new roof on my home. I used his services because he mentioned christian values, was fairly priced and provided a 10 year warranty on his work.

Category roofing

Cost $7,500

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 05/07/2012

5.0

11/28/2016


Gary S.

It went fine. He finished one shower and then completed the other one. He is never done with the job until the customer is happy. He goes the extra mile to make sure the job is going as planned and the way the customer wants it done. When Tim gives a bid, I don't even bother with a second estimate, because I know his estimate will be the lowest with the best quality workmanship.

Description of Work
Took out 2 bath inserts. Put in 2 tile bath showers (shower floor- and walls to celling). take up and re-tile 1 bath floor. Install frameless glass doors on 2 baths.

Category handyman service, roofing, home remodeling, doors

Cost $9,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/14/2016

5.0

05/24/2016


Elizabeth C.

My husband has had a stroke and my having shoulder surgery we were in need of a handicap accessible bathroom. After being evaluated by the sales person and contractor the job was done to exactly what was required and it makes our life much easier. The staff was very courteous and fulfilled all of our requests.

Description of Work
Updated bathroom for handicap accessibility

Category roofing

Cost $9,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/18/2016

5.0

05/23/2016


Pamela J.

Mr. Muncey provided excellent service from promptly returning my phone call and setting up a time for a free estimate. He arrived at the schedule time. Mr. Muncey was knowledgeable on home repair, and was able to provide an estimate at that time, which was fair. My home repairs started as discussed. Mr. Muncey did an excellent job! I highly recommend using Mr. Muncey for your home repairs. I would definitely use again!

Description of Work
Chimney repair and exterior painting and siding.

Category roofing

Cost $5,750

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/23/2016

1.0

02/26/2016


Robert P.

.

Description of Work
Installed new linoleum flooring in kitchen & bath.He brought an entourage with him, his son, the sons girlfriend, even his ex wife showed up. He constantly berated the son & I don't need his personal problems. They ripped the kitchen floor when they moved the refrigerator back and also messed up the water line going to the icemaker. They did replace the damaged flooring & attempted to fix the water line. Now the floor is buckling but I done want him back.

Category handyman service, roofing, home remodeling

Cost $1,200

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 11/08/2015

2.0

02/20/2014


Shannon W.

|Upstairs: took out wall to combine living and dining/paint |Promised completion in 1 month but actually took 6 months. Prices may be lower in comparison to other contractors but sloppy workmanship except for sub-contracted work. Contractor was disrespectful. Left some things unfinished. Broke a $1200 granite countertop during installation and did not tell us.

Description of Work
Basement remodel

Category basement remodeling

Cost $60,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 08/17/2013

5.0

09/17/2013


Robert S.

Mr. Muncey was very punctual for his appointment with us. He surveyed the roof damage by examining the entire roof. He tarped the roof until the insurance company could arrive. He joined us for the insurance adjuster visit. He replaced the missing shingles. He selected shingles that were the exact match to the existing roof. He cleaned up after his work.

Description of Work
Inspected roof from storm damage. Replaced shingles.

Category roofing

Cost $1,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/22/2013

1.0

10/03/2012


Kerstin S.

Admittedly, it was a few months after the tornado hit our area and many houses were damaged. Punctuality was an issue. I stuck with this company because I had decided to get a certain type of shingles installed (Atlas Pristine shingles with scotchguard protector), limited lifetime warranty against algae growth, and up to 130 MPH wind warranty with 6 nails per shingle. Since I wanted this warranty and this company appeared to be the only one having experience in installing their shingles according to specs, I stuck with them. Well, the work appeared fine at first but cleanup was a HUGE problem. I found nails in my yard months after they completed the work, and EIGHT TIMES I ended up with flat tires on my lawn truck due to roofing nails on the floor. Next, after several strong rain storms in the Spring of 2012, I had water damage in two of my rooms. Water started dripping down each time it rained. The company owner showed up several times to inspect the damage but refused to accept that it had anything to do with the roof. Finally, I hired another roofer to take a look. He found and repaired several bad sections above the area where water damage had occurred. Since then, no further water dripping or moisture on ceilings underneath these roof sections has occurred. I send the company an invoice for the repairs many weeks ago and have yet to be reimbursed. I will add expenses for ceiling repairs but wanted to make sure that the roof repairs really took care of the problem. I expect that I will need to go to small claims court to receive reimbursement for my extra expenses. Of additional concern to me has been an inspection of the shingles that the second roofer replaces when making the repairs. Instead of six holes for six nails, there are no more than three or four in these shingles. That means, the work was not performed as requested, and that the desired 130 mph wind protection may be void. Altogether this has been one of the worst experiences I had with contractors. I believe that Mr. Muncey's problem lies in part in unreliable or unhappy team members, but that is no excuse for not taking responsibility. My recommendation: seek for a roofer somewhere else.

Description of Work
Replace the roof of my house.

Category roofing

Cost $12,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 10/01/2011

5.0

12/21/2011


Pat F.

Mr Muncey was prompt and professional. He returned my husband's call quickly and came out to assess the damage/problem the same day. After a heavy rain several days later, he called to make sure we were pleased with the work. We absolutely will use his services again. I highly recommend his work.

Description of Work
Mr Muncey replaced the valley on the roof of the house. The valley had been defective since we have owned our home and was not detected by the roofing company that replaced our roof several years ago, which is why said roofing company was hired in the first place. Nor did the previous roofing company make good on repairs after the new roof leaked. Once the valley was replaced, Mr Muncey placed a barrier over the valley, then reshingled the area..

Category roofing

Cost $550

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/15/2011

    Contact

    Phone

    Address

    1720 Moncrief Rd

    Gardendale, AL 35071

    Website

    http://www.andrewmunceyhomerepairs.net

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for Details!

    General Information

    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    American Express, Discover, MasterCard, Visa, Check
    Senior Discount
    Yes
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    26854
    Trade License Locale
    AL
    Trade License Authority
    Alabama: Home Builders
    Trade License Expiration
    01/01/2099
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Andrew Muncey's Home Repairs

    How is Andrew Muncey's Home Repairs overall rated?

    Andrew Muncey's Home Repairs is currently rated 4.1 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does Andrew Muncey's Home Repairs provide

    Andrew Muncey's Home Repairs accepts the following forms of payment: American Express, Discover, MasterCard, Visa, Check

    Does Andrew Muncey's Home Repairs offer free estimates?

    Yes, Andrew Muncey's Home Repairs offers free project estimates.

    Does Andrew Muncey's Home Repairs offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Andrew Muncey's Home Repairs does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Andrew Muncey's Home Repairs offer a senior discount?

    No, Andrew Muncey's Home Repairs does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Andrew Muncey's Home Repairs offer emergency services?

    Yes, Andrew Muncey's Home Repairs offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Andrew Muncey's Home Repairs?

    Yes, Andrew Muncey's Home Repairs offers warranties.

    What services does Andrew Muncey's Home Repairs offer?

    Andrew Muncey's Home Repairs offers the following services: Roof and home repairs, door and window replacement, bathrooms, decks, painting, debris removal & fences.

    Are there any services Andrew Muncey's Home Repairs does not offer?

    Ask for Details!