McMunn Construction LLC

About

Founded 1989 • With Angi since July 2010

.McMunn Construction is a family-owned company with more than 30 years of experience. We continue to grow and earn positive reviews because we value a job well done. You don’t have the time to follow up with numerous suppliers and work crews. You’re just looking for a construction group that

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Images

A Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile image

Verified Reviews

4.4

(41) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

31

4

2

3

2

2

0

1

6

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.6

Punctuality

4.4

Quality

4.4

Responsiveness

4.3

Read reviews by category

home remodeling (17)home builder (9)decks & porches (8)water damage restoration (4)countertop installation (2)plumbers (1)
Showing 1-25 of 41 reviews
1.0

03/12/2021


Kimberly D.

Poorly Signed and paid installment on June 10, 2020. Broke ground mid July. Was supposed to be done by September 15th 2020. He walked off the job in Jan 2021. Didnt pay his subs and sent a letter for us to sign to take on responsibility for paying his subs. Had to fix the concrete floor so flooring could be reinstalled. Still isn’t right Sent a second letter threatening to put a lien on our house because we wouldnt sign his ridiculous letter taking on paying subs. There isn’t enough money left to finish the job anyway. Much less pay the subs he should have paid. He doesn’t respond. Wont warranty his work. Left cracks in the ceiling, molding undone. Flooring still at issue, We have never tried to rush them or get on them at all about anything. He didn’t put a dumpster on property right away and left piles of trash in the backyard for months. No port a potty. So yellow Gatorade bottles were found. It goes on and on To top it off the addition is for my elderly mother who has Alzheimer’s and has had nothing but stress over this. We have already paid out of pocket over 12k. They weren’t even able to move three existing windows and install them properly so that the custom blinds could be reinstalled. The size of the opening for doors is not correct so adaptations will be needed to finish the shorty work they are passing of as complete. I went with them, not because they were the cheapest. Because they were not. But because of good reviews. So I sadly put this out there to protect others from their deceitful ways. I noticed other better business bureau complaints that occurred after we had started our project. Beware. You have been warned

Description of Work
Put on an addition

Category countertops, decks, plumbing, remodeling, home builders, home remodeling

Cost $80,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 02/26/2021

Images

Review for McMunn Construction LLC - PO Box 5527, Decatur, AL - 39244534

+2 More

Service Provider Response

We did pay the subs for their rough-in. What we were asking for is they pay the subs when they complete their project with the remainder of funds still available per the contract price. We withdrew from the project, as our contract allows for, because of continual interruption(s) and untimely decision making on the homeowner(s) part. It is very regrettable, but it does happen sometimes.
1.0

02/17/2020


Donna B.

I found McMunn on Angie's List. I called and Roger and Josh came to our house and we discussed a bathroom remodel and replacing the roof. Their bathroom estimate was the lowest and felt confident for them to do the work. The bathroom cost a little over $10,000 and the roof a little over $10,000. There were some delays for the roof because of weather. The bathroom remodel took longer than estimated. There was a problem with the toilet leaking a few months after the work. I called Josh and he had the plumbers come over and fix the problem. They left the toilet without caulking and placed these little pieces to level the toilet. It looked terrible. A while later I noticed another small leak. I called Josh before the holidays and he explained that they were very busy and I agreed to wait until after the holidays to have the plumbers look at the toilet. No phone call after January. Josh's mailbox was full, Roger's mailbox was full. I emailed. Roger said that "they are changing phone services" and will have Josh call. Josh promised that he would call the next Monday. February 11, still no phone call. Josh's mailbox is full. I called Roger and he answered his phone and again said that "they are changing phone services" and he would have Josh call. Today, February 17, still no phone call. Thank you Roger and Josh for taking over $20,000 from retirees and not honoring your guaranty. We will look for another plumber and contractor for the additional work that needs to be done.

Description of Work
Bathroom remodel

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 03/15/2019

Service Provider Response

We believe this to be a totally unfair assessment. The project had an excellent outcome, but the owners decided to re-use an old toilet they had. We made 2 attempts to rectify the problem and paid a second plumber to go back at our expense and repair the toilet. This is the plumber we have been using for many years and it was to no avail. True enough she and Josh talked about the toilet, but they were going to need to purchase a new fixture and we were going to get the plumber to go back at our expense and re-set it. This is an alternate bathroom in a hallway and not a primary bathroom. We fulfilled our contract and were paid in full, then made attempts to repair something that was not of our making.
5.0

02/26/2019


Connie M.

they were very professional and courteous. once started the job was completed quickly.

Description of Work
reverse remodel garage back into a garage after previous owner unprofessionally turned it I to a spare room.

Category remodeling

Cost $1,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the nice review!
5.0

06/13/2018


Monica E.

Job went very well. Had an addition out on while still living in house. Josh and his crew did the best anyone could at keeping our living area clean while putting on the addition. Work flowed at the anticipated pace and if not for weather they could have finished right on schedule. Small hiccups popped up now and then but Josh never made us feel guilty about dealing with them. I have used them twice since for smaller jobs. Highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Addition of Master Bath

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/24/2018

3.0

06/08/2018


Bonnie J.

The project took SIX months to complete! Overall work is fair except for Plumbing problems which has been a nightmare! During our cold days The toilet and sink froze every night we had to keep a heater in the bathroom. McMunn could not see why this happened as their Plummer did everything right as far as insulating etc. The shower doesn’t drain good and black grit is all over the floor when it finally did.When the tub drains water comes up In the toilet. Josh says we are past the warranty, but isn’t this a problem that they have not fixed from the very beginning? No I would not recommend this company.

Description of Work
Bedroom and bath addition

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Cost $70,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 06/08/2018

Service Provider Response

Our response is; Yes, the project took longer than we had expected for a variety of reasons, mainly being overextended. We have the same sub-contractors we use all the time and have always had been good at returning calls and responding and sometimes when the 12 month warranty has expired (October 2016), which is accurate in this case. We sent our plumber back to the address about an issue they had complained about and we PAID him to go back even though we were beyond the standard 12 month warranty. The plumber told us at the time that someone is discarding items in the waste line that it isn't designed for. This project was completed in late October 2016, so referring back to the warranty, we did send the plumber back and paid him to do so even though the warranty had expired. My son explained that to Mrs. [Member Name Removed] yesterday( 6/07/18) and hence we have the poor review, in my opinion, retaliatory. If items are being discarded into the drain that it isn't designed for, how or why would one even remotely expect a company to keep maintaining the system? The grade is undeserved AND the completion date is listed as today, 6/8/2018, is incorrect. Roger McMunn
5.0

08/21/2017


D. Allan A.

Weather became a factor due to rain out of control lost two weeks to rain. Excellent work.

Description of Work
Replaced all outside trim work and over hangs on a 4000 square foot two story very high. Used a lift at 65 foot high. Re-installed gutters and totally repainted house. A total of 190 man hours.

Category remodeling

Cost $15,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/27/2017

5.0

05/18/2017


Joshua S.

Roger, Josh, Tommy and Michael were great to work with. They did a great job at a fair price and were flexible to work with, even when we were trying to figure things out and changing plans on them. Highly recommend McMunn Construction, very good to deal with and would like to work with them again in the future.

Description of Work
Bathroom remodel, fireplace remodel, kitchen work (banquette seating installed), stairs remodeled.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/18/2017

5.0

03/29/2016


Jennifer M.

Roger was so responsive and informative throughout the entire process. I knew very little about renovating a home, and he had many suggestions on what would be a good idea and what would be a waste of money. He completed everything on the timeline he said professionally and efficiently, and was just so kind and compassionate throughout the whole process. Anytime I had a question he responded quickly, no matter how mundane it was, and he went out of his way more than once to help push the house to completion. I can't speak highly enough of him, his son, their subs, and their service.

Description of Work
Variety of remodeling, installation, and finish work items on a house including appliance install, electrical work, updating bathrooms, etc.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Cost $8,100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/15/2016

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking your time to give us a review! We appreciate your business and you as a customer!
1.0

01/04/2016


sharon H.

My wife and I hired McMunn construction in Huntsville AL. off Angies list because they were on Angies list and they have an "A" rating with several highly rated customer feedbacks which we would question the validity of their comments and Angies list rating based on this experience. McMunns process was bad from the start, they said they could meet our schedule but couldn't. Josh the son of Roger McMunn handled everything and with his inexperience resulted in my family suffering. We believe they trapped us by coming into our home and doing all the demo and then no more work for over a week. They had no options on anything and they are extremely limited on vendors that they use and will not warranty another supplier?s work. Example are the shower doors, we made it clear we did not want to use Wilsons Lumber and we even provide several vendors who can provide the same material and installation, Josh said that these other suppliers would take weeks to have the material and Wilsons Lumber would only need 5 days, it came to find out that this wasn't true, when WL came out to measure like every other supplier there were special cuts to the glass and needed weeks to make. McMunn construction drove us to their vendors by making it seem that we could receive a quick turnaround but what we didn't agree to was a third of the price higher than the original cost on the same counter tops material. Josh just made the decision on his own. Why should we pay extra for that decision? We constantly argued with McMunn construction because there was never any discussions on anything it was only after it was installed when we had the time to challenge or question their decision making and why we are not involved in the decision making process and made them correct it. We asked for custom cabinets and received from their vendor some plywood put together with no hardware? McMunn construction hired a plumber and a tile guy and that's it, the rest of the work was completed by Josh who is not in any way based on his quality of work a general contractor. He put latex paint on oil base which you can?t do, installed the toilet which is rocking because they never used a level to install the floor, moved electrical wiring without installing a junction box, installed cabinet filler strips on the outside of the vanities instead of installing them on the side, installed shoe molding which we didn't want we wanted grout lines. Never hung our fixtures, the countertops have over a 1" gaps from the wall and Josh wanted to put some type of trim over it and said this is standard, everything out of Josh's mouth was standard. They only water proofed the bottom half of the shower walls, they never cut out the niche's until they tiled up to it then cut out the hole, framed it out, then water proofed it??? Never seen or heard this in my entire career of construction business. It took weeks to complete the shower tiling? When other contractors said it could be done in three days. At one point Josh came to us and demanded we pay another 60% of the remaining balance of which we already ready paid in the beginning 25% which would only leave $2,475 left on the balance?? The shower doors that still have not been purchased was $2,200 at minimum, not to mention all the fixtures that needed to be hung, all our credits back from money spent out of pocket, the countertops that were installed incorrectly, vanity cabinets that still are not done, the list goes on and on. My wife and I stuck to our guns and said no way, we only paid another 25% which left half the balance, and even though they were nowhere near the 50% paid amount of work that was done and all the work that needed to be repaired that was the only thing we could do to keep them going. When Josh wouldn't fix the countertops that had these huge gaps I told him to fix it or take them back and we would finish the job ourselves, Josh response was no you keep them. Now we received a letter from an attorney that we are being sued and that they want us to pay more than what the original contract costs? In fact they are claiming that they have completed 95% of this project, what a joke. We are getting an attorney and counter suing the McMunn construction and we will update everyone accordingly. We will never use Angie?s list again. This is the worst experience we have ever dealt with. I never had health problems and with this experience I have high blood pressure do to all the stress. When I spoke to Roger McMunn and explained to him that this job is taking too long and that it needs to be done before my wife has the baby his response was he didn't care. So remember this when you have something important going on in your life and a contractor making it clear that they don't care. Suggestion's to other homeowners; never overpay, don't except their decisions or their standards, always google everything and prove them wrong. At the end as long as you know what?s right and wrong take them to court don't let them bully you. Also contact the BBB on them and go to yelp, and any other intranet website to let others know.

Description of Work
The provider caused nothing but pain and suffering. Everything was done based on what they wanted it to be not what the customer wanted.

Category countertops, remodeling, home remodeling

Cost $16,500

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 12/25/2015

Service Provider Response

The only response I can give to this review is please look at our reviews, they speak for themselves.Thanks for taking the time to read our response, and have a great day! - Roger
5.0

01/02/2016


john H.

Great. They suggested putting in a storm door, which is a big improvement. With the metal structure, we had far fewer vertical beams, making the view much better. They were timely, courteous, and cleaned up after finishing. I would definitely use them again and recommend them to others.

Description of Work
Replaced our wooden screen porch with a metal one.

Category decks, remodeling

Cost $2,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/21/2015

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review. We appreciate your business and hope you enjoy your new porch for many years to come!
1.0

10/10/2015


Patricia W.

This job was a kitchen remodel along with in incorporating and opening up the living room into a great room, to a open floor plan.

Description of Work
Roger and another person came out to do an estimate, they were very nice while they were here, and gave us a lot of suggestions. Roger said they would work it up and give us a call back. We have never got that call or estimate. That is very unprofessional, if they did not want to take the job they should have just said so.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Work Completed On 09/28/2015

Service Provider Response

This client was out of our coverage area, and we explained that to them
5.0

06/29/2015


Nathan P.

The job was quick and they did a good job cleaning up the mess every day. They were easy to work with and kept us informed. The job has a few changes made but no extra charges were involved. Would hire them again.

Description of Work
Remodeled two bathrooms

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Cost $10,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/19/2015

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking time out to give us a review. Your planning and patience helped out! We look foward to hearing from you in the future! Thank you again.
1.0

05/15/2015


Craig A.

Not much to say really. I asked for an estimate which was never given to me after Mr. McMunn looked at the job. I guess that's a no bid for whatever reason. Weather wasn't a factor. ????? So I got a detailed bid from another contractor.

Description of Work
Looked at the work I wanted done.

Category remodeling

Work Completed On 05/08/2015

Service Provider Response

The appointment was made, I arrived on time at that point looked at scope of work needing to be done. Minor repairs, scrapping, and painting. (removed member name) was verbally given the scope of work and the total cost for the job that same day within the same time of the appointment.
5.0

04/14/2015


Sarah J.

McMunn Construction was very professional and thorough with their bid. They listened to our vision of how we wanted the finished product to look and set about providing us a bid that answered our wishes. The weather played into the time frame a bit as you can't pour concrete in the rain and this delayed the project by a few days,but that was beyond the contractors' control obviously. They did not give us the highest bid nor the lowest bid,but my husband and I liked their plans best and the confidence they showed in submitting the bid/plan to us. The end result was exactly as we had envisioned and we could not be happier with the end result. We will definitely call them again should we need any other projects.

Description of Work
McMunn Construction added a porch to our existing home. This included adding a roof structure,concrete,soffiitt,guttering,metal screening kit. The overall size of the porch added was about 20x29 feet under porch roof.

Category remodeling

Cost $20,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/05/2015

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate your business and look forward to hearing from you in future for all your home repairs.
5.0

03/28/2015


Duane P.

I first contacted Roger McMunn in the fall of 2014 about removing our existing wood deck and replacing it with a covered concrete patio. While at the house to figure his initial estimate, Roger listened patiently to all of our questions and concerns and gave us good input on different size options, the placement of the patio, etc. His estimate was affordable and he also gave us different estimates for different size options we had discussed previously. The project was put on hold due to bad weather and uncertainty from my wife and I about the patio size. We didn't get in touch again until January 2015 when Roger checked in on us to see if we were still interested. I informed him we were and asked if he could give us an estimate for a larger patio size which included an extra six feet of uncovered concrete to one side. Roger gave us the final estimate which was still affordable and later sent us a Scope of Work document with all of the details of the project. I brought up a few questions/concerns regarding some of the more specific details in the proposal. Roger addressed every single one to my satisfaction and sent out a revised Scope of Work document. Work began on February 10th, 2015. On this first day, Roger and other members of his work crew took down our old wood deck and excavated the area to prepare it for the concrete slab. This included taking down a few shrubs and later setting up the forms for the slab. The next day another crew poured the concrete. Roger was in constant contact with me to inform me what was going on and even made sure the larger trucks avoided driving into our back yard so as to minimize any damage to the grass. Later that afternoon, the concrete was taking longer than expected to set up (due to the moisture in the air), but Roger's concrete crew stayed with it (until almost 8:00 that night!) until the concrete in the slab finally got set. The next day another crew arrived to install the metal patio cover. This included taking down a section of our existing gutter and attaching the cover the existing wood fascia. On the final day (the 13th), Roger, his son, and another worker arrived to install a set of concrete steps and a handrail while the patio cover crew arrived to finish the cover installation. Roger continued to be present to address any questions/concerns I may have had. At some point, one of the trucks that drove onto our driveway had accidentally pulled a suspended cable (for our house internet connection) that hangs over our driveway. Roger's son and his work partner hung the cable back to its proper place (actually in a better spot than before) and later brought to my attention a problem with my roof which I was unaware of (a problem I confirmed with other roofers who looked at it later that month). After a week or two, during a good rain, I noticed a slight water leak forming over the center part of the patio cover. I contacted Roger about the problem and he immediately contacted the head of the patio cover crew who then called me to address the problem. His crew came out in a few days, fixed the leak, and so far we have not had any further issues. We are very happy with our new patio and look forward to using it a lot this coming summer and in the coming years. Roger McMunn is extremely professional, friendly, easy-going, and patient, and is always ready to address a customer's questions or concerns. I would highly recommend his contracting company and will certainly keep him at the top of our list for any possible future projects.

Description of Work
McMunn Construction removed our old wood deck from the back of the house, poured a concrete slab and installed a metal patio cover.

Category decks, remodeling, water damage restoration

Cost $8,400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/13/2015

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your time in writing us a review! We appreciate your business and hope that you enjoy your patio for years to come. We look forward to hearing from you in the future.
4.0

03/26/2015


David P.

Did not take our job Did not amplify rationale

Description of Work
Came to home location - performed survey - declined work 3 weeks later

Category remodeling

Work Completed On 03/26/2015

5.0

01/19/2015


Kristi Witek B.

My experience with McMunn Construction was positive from inception to completion. I had received several quotes for the work, but chose McMunn because of their A rating on Angie's List as well as the knowledge and professionalism Roger displayed when providing my quote. They worked in the cold weather to get the job completed as quickly as possible and transformed my home into a thing of beauty. Roger and Josh were always very responsive when I had questions or concerns, and they did such a great job that one of my neighbors even stopped by to inquire about their services. I would highly recommend this company, and will definitely contact them again if I require further construction and/or renovation services.

Description of Work
Repaired and painted home exterior

Category remodeling

Cost $9,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/17/2014

3.0

12/01/2014


Jaime V.

When I first saw their work after they were done it was new and looked okay. Now when I look at it they got grout all over my vanity and tub. The only place they put tile was around the tub. My linoleum is coming up off my floor and their paint job was cr*p. They are okay, but I would not have them build my house. I bought the big piece of linoleum for the floor and the piece he did not use he just hauled off in his truck although I paid for it. He is very nice and comes right out immediately to give me an estimate. But, I just was not impressed with all of the work. He contacted me to do another job for me but he has not been in contact with me again. During the job their responsiveness was great; they were johnny-on-the-spot. After the job they just kind of disappeared. He did get out here quick. They were very professional.

Description of Work
I used McMunn Construction to remodel my entire bathroom, including putting in a tub. They also put in a bigger shower. The whole thing was basically gutted and redone.

Category home remodeling

Cost $13,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/13/2014

5.0

10/21/2014


Otto V.

We cross-referenced Angie's List and the Better Business Bureau and came up with the McMunns. Super easy to work with Roger and his son on this project, which was a partial renovation of a 105 year old house so that my wife and I could sell and move to a new house. We did a thorough walk through of the property with them initially ... they really listened to what we wanted to have done and suggested approaches and alternatives. They produced for us an itemized punch list to choose from, stuck with us as items had to change (like wall paint color), scoped down work when leaky pipe damage was not as extensive as expected and didn't charge us the full price for the task, and just knocked out a quality job all around in a reasonable amount of time. The repairs to the wall and flooring where a drainage pipe from the upstairs bathroom had cracked and leaked inside a wall was particularly noteworthy. You wouldn't know a section of the original plaster wall and tongue and groove flooring had been replaced unless you had lived there before ... they did that good of a job matching the stain to the original adjacent floorboards. I can't tell you how happy I was to walk through the house with their contract/punch list in hand and see the quality job they did on every single them we asked them to do ... nothing left out ... nothing done half way. I would absolutely recommend them ... and we will be calling them back for some work on our new house (another 100+ year old gem, in need of tender loving care).

Description of Work
Repairs of two porch ceilings; porch column; roof leaks, flashing and associated water damage; water damaged wall behind kitchen sink; drywall replacement; replacement of tongue and groove flooring section damaged by plumbing leak, including stain matching and varnish; strip and refinish a clawfoot tub; replacement of cracked old cast iron drainage pipe (inside wall) with PVC; repair of water damaged clapboard siding; and interior repaint of walls and stairwell (4 bedroom, two-story).

Category decks, remodeling, water damage restoration, home remodeling

Cost $14,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/14/2014

5.0

09/10/2014


Sherry B.

Great experience! I was on a deadline, and Roger came to my home the day I called. He is a pleasure to work with - helped me troubleshoot a tricky problem and gave me a firm price, which did not change even though he had to provide some extra materials. He stayed in touch with me, got the work done in a timely manner, and it looks great! Cleanup was thorough to boot. I highly recommend McMunn Construction!

Description of Work
Reconstructed an outdoor decorative wall.

Category remodeling

Cost $1,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/05/2014

5.0

06/16/2014


Ronny R.

Very pleased with repairs to our Den wall that had been damaged by a leaking chimney. Work done was timely and professional. Mr. McMunn & his crew were extremely courteous & pleasant.

Description of Work
Den Wall Repairs

Category remodeling, water damage restoration

Cost $2,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/13/2014

1.0

06/01/2014


Bruce H.

Roger never provided an estimate. After the initial visit I followed up a week later and asked for his estimate. He promised to get it to me the next week and said he was sorry he had just been busy. I never heard from Roger again.

Description of Work
Roger came out and looked at my porch and promised an estimate to complete the repair.

Category decks

Cost $2,000

Work Completed On 05/02/2014