Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Shiflett Surveying

Founded 1998 • With Angi since October 2012

4.7

(14) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

PO Box 204

Columbiana, AL 35051

Description

Shiflett Surveying is a land surveying company started by Rodney Shiflett in 1998. Mr. Shiflett is involved in all aspects of every job ordered, from doing his own field work to working closely with his Autocad drafter to provide accurate and correct information....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

11/01/2017


stacy T.

Very well. Quick to respond. I wish there could have been more markers in place to define lines (b on quality). Office contact heather was very courteous. Also no method to make payment by charge; typically check or cash only. I was able to make arrangements to do a wire transfer though. Overall, I would hire again or recommend.

Description of Work
Survey and new markers put in place for property lines.

Category land surveyor

5.0

05/03/2017


Brian A.

He wasn't able to make it out on the original scheduled date but they worked to accommodate my needs, time-wise, and juggled their schedule so he could come out first thing the following morning. He encountered a discrepancy in what our deed shows as the property line and what had been marked by a previous surveyor years ago. They were very thorough in researching the discrepancy and kept me well informed along the way.

Description of Work
Finding and marking the property lines

Category land surveyor

5.0

02/12/2016


GORDON P.

I was more than satisfied with Shiflett Surveying. When I purchased my home this past summer, I was given a map of a survey at the closing that was conducted on the property over 25 yrs ago, and couldn't figure out where the property lines started and ended. I contacted Shiflett Surveying and gave them a copy of the survey (didn't show any angles) and was told that the map wasn't complete but they (Rodney) would try to locate the markers. When Rodney came over, he immediately got his "high tech" tools out and started looking for the markers. Long story short, Rodney and his assistant went all through the woods with their metal detectors and eventually located all boundary markers (they were buried deep in the ground) and marked them for me. If not for Rodney's determination and expertise, I still wouldn't know today of my property lines.

Description of Work
Locate my property lines.

Category land surveyor

3.0

08/12/2015


sharri H.

Category land surveyor

Service Provider Response

Mrs. [removed member name]: We are very sorry you are not satisfied and also a little confused because we did not complete a job for a [removed member name] on Monday. Rodney had a personal matter he had to attend to and did not get into the field until after 1:00. He did a elevation certificate Monday and also a job for a real estate agent. Can you tell me where this job was? Thank you!
5.0

06/26/2015


Nickolaos P.

Everything went incredibly smooth. Never had the opportunity to meet the surveyor as I dealt with them over the phone but they were very friendly and reasonable. They initially identified they couldn't get to me for two weeks however they called back and said they had some time and the very next day were able to come out and complete the survey. Very satisfied with the service all around.

Description of Work
Surveyed property and marked perimeter. Also provided survey map of property

Category land surveyor

3.0

06/04/2015


Kim H.

Description of Work
There are only licensed to survey in Alabama not Tennessee

Category land surveyor

5.0

05/22/2015


Norman S.

Mr. Shiflett showed up right on time. He went to work and located the corners of my lot very quickly. He cut tree limbs out of the way so that the property lines are completely visible. He was professional and very personable. I would use him again and recommend him to anybody.

Description of Work
Located corners of my lot.

Category land surveyor

5.0

03/28/2015


Brianna M.

I filled out a request for service on Angie's list on the weekend. On Monday, Mr. Shiflett's office contacted me to find out what exactly I wanted done. Within a week they had came to the property and flagged the corners.

Description of Work
Provider flagged the four corners of my property.

Category land surveyor

5.0

03/11/2015


PATRICK V.

Description of Work
More than fair survey

Category land surveyor

4.0

03/31/2014


kristen E.

Category land surveyor

5.0

01/20/2014


Paula H.

.

Description of Work
I needed something immediate, so chose not to use a company out of Alabama. Appreciated his prompt return of my phone call and his friendly professionalism.

Category land surveyor

5.0

01/15/2014


mike M.

.

Description of Work
Property survey

Category land surveyor

5.0

01/07/2013


Cathy G.

Good.

Description of Work
The company surveyed property, then had another surveyor come out to survey using satellite equipment. This resulted in a LOMA being sent to FEMA to remove property from flood map. They were all professional and polite.

Category land surveyor

4.0

10/22/2012


Michele and Mike D.

Mr. Shiflett and his associates were very pleasant to work with. They did a good job of completing the paperwork required, but it seemed expensive. The initial was $200 and then the resurvey which was mostly only more paperwork cost $300.

Description of Work
Mr. Shiflett surveyed two lots for new home construction. We were then required by Shelby County to submit a resurvey to combine the lots into one lot on the survey plot.

Category land surveyor

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Minor Subdivisions, Family Subdivisions, Land Planning, Mortgage Surveys, Percolation Test, Topographic Maps, GPS and Elevation Work, including elevation certificates and LOMAS

    Services Not Offered

    Engineering

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Shiflett Surveying

    How is Shiflett Surveying overall rated?

    Shiflett Surveying is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Shiflett Surveying open?

    Shiflett Surveying is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 6:00 AM - 2:00 PM

    Tuesday: 6:00 AM - 2:00 PM

    Wednesday: 6:00 AM - 2:00 PM

    Thursday: 6:00 AM - 2:00 PM

    Friday: 6:00 AM - 12:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Shiflett Surveying provide

    Shiflett Surveying accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Financing Available

    Does Shiflett Surveying offer free estimates?

    Yes, Shiflett Surveying offers free project estimates.

    Does Shiflett Surveying offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Shiflett Surveying does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Shiflett Surveying offer a senior discount?

    No, Shiflett Surveying does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Shiflett Surveying?

    No, Shiflett Surveying does not offer warranties.

    What services does Shiflett Surveying offer?

    Shiflett Surveying offers the following services: Minor Subdivisions, Family Subdivisions, Land Planning, Mortgage Surveys, Percolation Test, Topographic Maps, GPS and Elevation Work, including elevation certificates and LOMAS

    Are there any services Shiflett Surveying does not offer?

    Engineering