Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Southern-Home Structural Repair Specialists

4.9

(58) Verified Reviews

Founded 1996 • With Angi since February 2009

Licensed
Trade License Number
166663-07191
Trade License Locale
Birmingham, Alabama
Trade License Authority
Alabama, Jefferson County, Alabama
Trade License Expiration
12/31/2017
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Company Contact

731 3rd Ave N

Birmingham, AL 35203

Description

Southern-Home Structural Repair Specialists is a team of professionals committed to serving our customers & home owners with a full range of quality foundation repair services provided promptly and at a fair and competitive price! Founded in 1996, Garland Caudle brings to its customers app. 41 years of experience in the residential floor, foundation, and basement wall repair business....

Verified Reviews

4.9

(58) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

53

4

3

3

1

2

1

1

0

Rating Details

Price

4.9

Professionalism

5.0

Punctuality

5.0

Quality

5.0

Responsiveness

5.0

Read reviews by category

foundation repair (50)basement waterproofing (9)structural engineering (8)masonry (2)driveway gate installation (1)
Showing 1-10 of 58 reviews
2.0

12/07/2020

My first inspection appointment was in early July 2020. Matt showed up to inspect and was very polite but was unable to inspect entire crawl space because of narrow clearance. He took pictures and measurements and recommended some things we could do to make the foundation more secure. I was told to expect a quote with pictures on Monday. After not hearing anything from him for 3 MONTHS after email...

Description of Work
Foundation non old home needed a professional inspection, wonky floors and soft spot in downstairs bathroom.

Category basement waterproofing,structural engineer

Work Completed On 12/07/2020

5.0

04/07/2018

Work performed a few weeks after estimate, took a day and a half to complete. I had 16 wall support post installed to stabilize bowing walls. Materials were heavier and installed closer together than any of the other contractors estimates and also a little cheaper. Good people to deal with, pleasant experience.

Description of Work
Basement wall stabilization

Category foundation repair

Cost $6,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/26/2018

Images

Review for Southern-Home Structural Repair Specialists - 731 3rd Ave N, Birmingham, AL - 36962322

+2 More

5.0

01/13/2018

We were able to coordinate the work of Southern Home Structural and also Aqua-Guard. Garland Caudle at Southern Home has an excellent reputation. We had read reviews here at Angie's, but also got word-of-mouth recommendation from structural engineers. He is responsive, prompt and offers quality work for reasonable prices. Just a pleasure to work with Garland and his crew and as long as he's at it,...

Description of Work
We needed multiple braces along a long basement wall which had gradually been yielding to soil pressure behind it. This needed to be simultaneously with a waterproofing job. Was able to coordinate the work of Southern Home Structural and also Aqua-Guard. Garland Caudle at Southern Home has an excellent reputation. He is responsive, prompt and offers quality work for reasonable prices. Just a pleasure to work with Garland and his crew.

Category foundation repair

Cost $7,100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/13/2018

5.0

11/08/2017

Garland came out and did the inspection. He was thorough and answered all of my questions in detail. His workers arrived on time, completed the work ahead of schedule and were professional. I'd recommend this company to anyone in need of foundation work.

Description of Work
Basement wall was bulging and was in need of support.

Category foundation repair

Cost $4,450

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/04/2017

5.0

09/11/2017

installed three support beams. the crew was professional, nice and quite and punctual. Mr. Garland has been in this business for 40 years so he knows what he is doing. And he is super nice, like my grandpa. They made two trips, the first one was to dig holes and pour concrete and the second one was to install the structural parts. I absolutely recommend their service!

Description of Work
I thought part of my house was sinking so I called Garland and he checked it out and found that one beam was bent due to too much furnitures and appliances. So he proposed a plan to reinforce the structure in crawl space and the price was reasonable.

Category structural engineer

Cost $2,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/20/2017

5.0

09/08/2017

These guys are honest and do excellent work. Detailed contracts with everything explained up front. When they left everything was cleaner than when they arrived.

Description of Work
Foundation repair on a large basement. Installation of 14 steel wall braces and 5 helical piers under the foundation. Sealed all horizontal and vertical wall cracks.

Category foundation repair

Cost $12,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/08/2017

Images

Review for Southern-Home Structural Repair Specialists - 731 3rd Ave N, Birmingham, AL - 36202716

+3 More

5.0

08/22/2017

They were highly professional and the price was very reasonable.

Description of Work
They made corrections to properly support the house by replacing 4 of 6 failed, washed out, brick piers.They properly routed storm waters away from the building to flow around and away. I paid 50% upfront and the other half upon completion.

Category structural engineer

Cost $5,300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/21/2017

5.0

06/15/2017

We could not have been more pleased with the job that was done. 17 steel beams were installed along the wall. Everything was done in a timely and professional manner and the crew did a wonderful job cleaning up when the project was finished. Our only regret is that we did not have this done sooner!

Description of Work
One of the walls in our basement had begun to bow after 35 years of pressure on it from water and dirt. We had also been advised by two other companies that it was very necessary to have structural work done.

Category structural engineer

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/07/2017

5.0

03/23/2017

Southern Home structural was very fast to respond to my call and fix our problem. I will use them again if needed . And I really do recommend them to anybody that needs any kind of foundation repair. Garland was very quick on getting us a quote. And the guys that came out were friendly and very professional. They even reworked there schedule when my wife had to go to the hospital. Thanks again for...

Description of Work
Floor was sagging. Needed support beam installed and floor jacked up to remove sag .

Category foundation repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/23/2017

5.0

02/20/2017

It went well.I was pleased with the outcome.

Description of Work
concrete wall in basement was bowing inward and needed to be braced to stabilize it from futher movement.

Category structural engineer,foundation repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/05/2016

Services Offered

Foundation and Basement Wall Repairs, Wall Bracing, Floor Leveling, Floor Joist and Sills replaced, Waterproofing, Crawlspace & Moisture control and Crawlspace Encapsulation

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Payment Options
Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
Senior Discount
10%
Emergency Service
Yes
Warranties
Yes