Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Magic City Doors

Founded 1999 • With Angi since June 2006

4.7

(13) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

5501 Vann Pl

Birmingham, AL 35235

Description

Magic City Doors...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

12/13/2017


William L.

Great installation. Professional service.

Description of Work
Need new garage doors and motors.

Category garage doors

5.0

06/09/2017


Mary H.

It worked at first. I was gone for a week and it did not work when I came home, Called then and service came that afternoon. Bad motherboard. Replaced at no additional charge. Still working fine.

Description of Work
Garage door opener needed a new motherboard.

Category garage doors

5.0

05/01/2017


LJ P.

It's so refreshing to have a service person that cares about his quality of work. I am an older retired person that have been thru a rash of repair needs. Storm damage to roof, gutters, deck, interior kitchen(water damage). Even lawn care because of lawn mower down. It was forever stressful trying to get people to do a decent job, but with Tom fixed my door with expert ease and then more. He replaced the drive shaft and bad pulleys. He also reprogrammed my remote which been down for weeks. Thank you guys for what you do.

Description of Work
Auto garage door opener failed

Category garage doors

5.0

10/27/2015


Mike G.

Description of Work
Replaced garage door strut

Category garage doors

5.0

06/08/2015


Darren G.

They did a great job. Couldn't have asked for better. Thanks!

Description of Work
Repaired a garage door lock. Inspected rollers and spring. Installed new rubber gaskets on the bottom of two garage doors.

Category garage doors

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] Thanks for the kind words and we appreciate your business. Joe & the Team
5.0

01/26/2015


James R.

Perfect

Description of Work
Replace 2 torsion springs

Category garage doors

5.0

07/03/2013


Clinton P.

Awesome! (a) I had read about Angie's List in the NY Times a couple years ago, but this was the first time I'd tried it - so A+ for Angie's List (2) The guys showed up a little TOO fast - I hadn't expected them for a couple more hours, since I just called them about noon. They got a team to my house in an hour and a half!!! When they got here, they said, and quot;Dude, we are going to have to break your lock. Are you okay with that?and quot; (I]m paraphrasing) Since there was no other way in, they basically had to break in, but they did so without damaging anything other than the lock itself. Glad they are honest working guys! :-) They found the circuit breaker that had been tripped (I suspect the kids, but then, I ALWAYS suspect the kids), performed a bit of maintenance on the doors, and that was it! They were done in 20 minutes, which was great since I was trying to get to work and pick up a Boy Scout uniform. Two thumbs up!

Description of Work
Opened my garage doors, even though the motor had no power and I didn't have the key for the disengage mechanism

Category garage doors

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much for the positive review.
5.0

05/07/2013


Ellen S.

They were excellent. They showed up when they were supposed to and they did a good job. Their pricing was fair.

Description of Work
Magic City Door installed a double wide garage door for us.

Category garage doors

5.0

11/05/2012


Ellen S.

I found a brochure in Costco, called the number on it, and then they sent a representative from Magic City Door, their contractor, out to make an assessment. We still had the door original to house, very heavy and noisy. We had to move a lot things out of the way, but they gave us a day's notice. They did the installation in under two hours.

Description of Work
We ordered a double garage door, and there were several attractive styles from which to choose. The hardware and windows were customizable. It actually came in, once ordered, much more quickly than we were expecting, and the two men installed it in under two hours.

Category garage doors

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the kind words and we appreciate your business. Joe & the Team
3.0

08/10/2012


Neeraj M.

Were on time but could not figure out the problem.

Description of Work
They came out to look at my garage door but could not tell me what was wrong with it. Spent 15 minutes, charged me 65$ and walked off.

Category garage doors

5.0

06/10/2012


REBECCA T.

I replaced my noninsulated metal garage door for a insulated metal door. I purchased a Wayne-Dalton door because it's the best on the market - well worth the extra dollars you'll spend.

Description of Work
The service received was exceptional - they were on time, professional, cleaned up, and hauled away the old door. I have highly recommended this company and this door to my friend, neighbours and family.

Category garage doors

5.0

08/29/2009


Lynn P.

They arrived right on time. They told me the spring was fine and the opener only needed to be tensioned, which they did for less than they quoted. They were efficient and professional, and if they had replaced the spring and charged me more I wouldn't have know the difference, so I appreciated their honesty.

Description of Work
Our garage door opener had broken. We asked them to replace the spring and whatever else needed to be done.

Category garage doors

2.0

06/30/2006


Jackson C.

They were on time and it took an hour and a half altogether for both times. I am going to call them tomorrow and ask them to come and request they replace the garage door. I am frustrated because my garage door still does not work properly; it just goes up 1/4 of the way and stops and if you push it will go down again. They did not provide a detailed explanation of what needed to be repaired. I've paid $45 for each service call.

Description of Work
They worked on my garage, twice, and I am calling them as the garage door is still not working properly. I wasn't here when they did it so I don't know what they did. The first time it would go up and down continually without stopping and it smelled like it was burning so they fixed that and now it will only go up 1/4th of the way.

Category garage doors

    Other local Pros in your area

    GARAGE DOOR TECHS

    We specialize in garage doors and electric openers all makes and models and more! We guarantee customer satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out all the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today! 20 years experience. We are a Clopay dealer and offer the highest quality products.  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Doors, Frames, & Accessories,Garage Doors & Openers

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Magic City Doors

    How is Magic City Doors overall rated?

    Magic City Doors is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Magic City Doors open?

    Magic City Doors is open:

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    What payment options does Magic City Doors provide

    Magic City Doors accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Magic City Doors offer free estimates?

    Ask Magic City Doors for details on free project estimates.

    Does Magic City Doors offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Magic City Doors does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Magic City Doors offer a senior discount?

    No, Magic City Doors does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Magic City Doors?

    No, Magic City Doors does not offer warranties.

    What services does Magic City Doors offer?

    Magic City Doors offers the following services: Doors, Frames, & Accessories,Garage Doors & Openers