Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Eco Three

Founded 2010 • With Angi since September 2012

At Eco Three, we are energy efficiency experts who make homes more efficient and safer resulting in greater comfort, lower utility bills, and a reduced impact on the environment. We evaluate homes and implement energy efficient solutions.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
No
Warranties
No
Senior Discount
5%
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Licensed
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.9

(77) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 77 reviews
Kerstin S.
5.0
07/10/2019
Everything went extremely well and we are highly satisfied with the results!! On initial visit, they discussed with us various options, gave very helpful advice on any of our concerns, and and made a thorough inspection of the basement to plan detail work and address problem areas. They left the place clean and with a nice, thick layer of open-cell insulation. We are very impressed with their work! Would recommend anytime and hire again.
Description of Work
Eco Three installed open-cell foam insulation on the outside-facing walls of our large ~1250 sqft basement.
Category
insulation, energy audit
Bruce B.
5.0
10/04/2017
Great. The crew worked fast, Very personable, and very professional. Very pleased and would highly recommend.
Description of Work
Installed blown in insulation and insulated the hatch cover.
Category
energy audit
Helen Kathryn D.
5.0
09/18/2017
Eco Three was extremely professional and informative. They identified several areas where we could take steps to really save on energy costs. I would recommend this company highly.
Description of Work
Assessment of home's energy efficiency and suggested areas for improvement
Category
insulation, energy audit

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you for the kind words! It was a pleasure working with you.
Jeff C.
5.0
08/03/2017
I met with Jonathan to go over the energy audit and he outlined the ways my home was losing conditioned air and efficiency. Thermal pictures were taken to highlight the obvious areas that needed to be addressed. The upgrades took 2 days and the crew was very clean and had a small footprint. You would barely know they had worked in the house all day when you returned home. The day after the upgrades were performed my home maintained a cool temperature and the AC didn't struggle to keep up. So far so good, and I expect to notice a difference in my utility bills over the coming months.
Description of Work
Sealed penetrations in the attic and crawlspace, new loose-fill insulation and sealed ductwork.
Category
insulation, energy audit

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], We really appreciate the kind words! It was a pleasure working with you.
michael Y.
4.0
08/01/2017
A contract was drawn and services were agreed upon after 1 and 1/2 days of work they told my girlfriend they were done and left. I got home that day and checked the work and found that only half the items on the contract were completed. I contacted the rep and after discussing the situation we altered the work and contract. I have yet to see the intended results from the work but the company is easy to work with.
Description of Work
In an attempt to lower my power bill I contact eco three to close up the "thermal barrier" of my house.
Category
energy audit

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback. We are always here should you have any further concerns or needs. Team Eco Three
Jonathan W.
5.0
06/27/2017
From the very start, Jonathan was friendly professional and knowledgeable. His crew is a reflection of him as well. They were done in one day and I noticed the difference immediately. My A/C is an older unit but after they finished sealing the attic and installing new insulation, I see a marked difference in how much it kicks on each day. 3-4 times throughout the day vs not holding a temp and running most of the day continuously when it's hot outside. Very pleased. Will use him in the future and he comes HIGHLY recommended! JW
Description of Work
Efficiency audit, sealing of attic, new insulation.
Category
insulation, energy audit

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], We really appreciate your kind words. It was a pleasure working with you. Good luck with your new home! Team Eco Three
David B.
5.0
06/18/2017
Jonathan was very thorough explaining the process and clearly understands spray foam insulation. The crew performed the job and left the area clean. I would recommend ECO-3.
Description of Work
Spray foam Insulation
Category
insulation
Jonathan W.
5.0
05/09/2017
David came out to the house for the quote and managed the project. He was great to work with and there was no pressure. The two man crew finished the project in a day and kept the job site clean. We can feel a noticeable difference upstairs now. The bedrooms up there always felt noticeably colder or hotter than the hallway which is open to the main floor. Now there is an even temperature, and the AC already runs less. The only improvement I could recommend would be for them to have more drop clothes to cover where they come in and out of the house.
Description of Work
Increased attic insulation to R38, air sealed recessed lighting, insulated and air sealed attic knee walls.
Category
insulation
Wes M.
5.0
05/01/2017
house is much more temperature controlled. It should save us money on power bill.
Description of Work
sealed attic, duct work, lights, and insulated attic
Category
insulation, energy audit
David P.
4.0
03/28/2017
very well. House is noticeably tighter.
Description of Work
house sealed from air infiltration and insulated in attic and basement and under sunroom
Category
insulation, energy audit
DeWight C.
5.0
03/03/2017
David, the Lead Energy Evaluator, was thorough in his accessement of our needs. He not only explained the issues but showed us the issues using advanced technology. He communicated with us as needed. All work was completed timely. Jason, the crew leader, was professional, courteous and respectful of our home and space. Jason went above and beyond our expectations. He and his crew not only did excellent work, Jason "uncovered" a probelm unrelated to the scope of our project but he said he would do some research to find out the best solution. Now that is excellent customer service. He even said he would come back out once this problem was fixed to make sure the insulation was proper in this small space. Both Jason and David are very knowledge and answered all of our questions in terms that we understood. I recommend this company.
Description of Work
This company is top notch! Here's what we had done: *Attic bonus room insulated on all four sides and top of ceiling. *All duct work sealed to prevent leakage. *Insulation blown where needed to achieve the correct thickness. *A section of duct work was replaced and moved to give more attic storage space. *Recessed light insulation covers were placed over all of our recessed lights.
Category
insulation, energy audit
Faye W.
5.0
08/12/2016
The representative from ecothree Energy Efficiency Experts returned my initial call within 1 day. We made an appointment for him to visit and assess my needs. He showed up on time, was very pleasant and although my attic was already getting quite hot, entered it in his clean fresh clothes without hesitation. He determined my needs, was knowledgeable about his product and promised me a bid in short order. I received his comprehensive and very reasonable bid in a couple days, phoned him and made arrangements for his team to come do the work. He showed up on time with his crew - again on a very hot day - and he and his crew did the work and were finished before noon. They cleaned up after themselves, and I was able to view-inspect from a distance the work they had done before they sealed the attic entry. He promised me a bill in the mail, which I received within a week. By then I knew without a doubt I had hired the right company. The temperature in my entire home had remained constant and comfortable from the evening of the first day forward - for the first time since I move in 17 years ago! I am very pleased with the work ecosystems did for me and I give them my heartiest and unqualified recommendation!
Description of Work
Insulating and closing off former unprotected attic storage space (about 600 sq. ft.), and adding insulation to rest of attic of my top floor condominium (about 1100 sq. ft.), for total of about 1700 sq. ft. serviced.
Category
insulation, energy audit
Clark T.
5.0
03/29/2016
The process went quickly and smoothly. Jonathan Handey came to our house to look over our current issues with our insulation, attic, and overall efficiency of our home built in 1948. He recommended that we seal all the top plates in the attic, insulate and air seal our duct leaks, blow new loosefill insulation over our entire attic to upgrade our insulation, air seal the open ares around our floors, windows, and doors, and install weather stripping on all of our doors. The work took a total of two days and we barely noticed the workers in our home despite the fact that I work from home. They were hard at work in our basement and attic for 8-10 hours each day and got everything completed in a quick and thorough manner. Once they were completed they tested out the home to see if there was any energy loss coming through the top plates, ducts, etc. and the tests showed that my home's performance had been greatly improved. Jonathan and his crew were incredibly professional and kind at the same time. They provided an itemized list with costs of each improvement they were to make in the initial bid process of the job and they communicated clearly and effectively throughout the process as to the timeframe and what we were to expect. I would work with them again.
Description of Work
Eco-Three upgraded our home energy efficiency performance.
Category
energy audit
Ryan B.
5.0
03/14/2016
They were prompt with response and on time for both meetings. Overall a good assessment of issues around the home that could help it be more efficient and comfortable. Elizabeth was very courteous and very detailed in explaining all items. I really like the formal report and price quotes that were provided with the service. Also, very pleased with the fact that I never felt like they were trying to push their service or products for something I didn't need and not receiving hounding phone calls to try to talk me into doing the work. Very professional and helpful people!!
Description of Work
Energy evaluation/home air leakage checks
Category
energy audit
Joyce C.
5.0
03/01/2016
In December Eco Three performed an energy audit for our home (the $79 service). The had a professional approach. They took pictures of all of the problems they found. The pictures included infrared photos showing cold spots throughout the home. They also measured the air infiltration at roughly 6400 cfm for our 1900 sq ft 60+ year old home. They provided all of this in a detailed report and a quote for remedial work ($5607). This included sealing interior wall caps, sealing our attic stairs, sealing and disabling an attic fan, sealing all ductwork and reinsulating where necessary (a substantial amount of work in this house), spraying insulation in our two attics, weather stripping doors and windows, sealing where duct vents entered the home, etc. We scheduled remedial work for Feb 1 for two days. They arrived on time, completed the work in two days as promised, achieving a reduction to 3200 cfm of air infiltration and a much more comfortable home. We have had a couple of cold spells since then and greatly enjoyed the increased comfort. We used to have to huddle under blankets to watch tv in our family room on cold nights, but the cold drafts have stopped. We have yet to experience one of our Birmingham summers to see if our AC can now keep up on our hottest days (which it could not do in recent years). They do have room for improvement. They failed to properly take into account that we use one of our two attics for storage. The solution they provided did a good job of insulating and sealing the attic and the opening for the attic stairs but a poor job of providing access and storage space. They did not give us an understanding before the project of how their work would affect use of the attic storage space. End the end the old attic stairs could not work with their solution and we ended up having them remove the stairs (temporarily keeping the door). Their solution for insulating the space above the stairs made it much to difficult to access the attic. They could have foreseen these problems and included addressing them in the scope of work. We have since replaced the stairs and reworked the attic access. It appears that they had no experience with stairs of our vintage. They do now. All in all we like the company and remain pleased with the overall results.
Description of Work
Performed an energy audit of our home, and later performed the remedial work recommended in their report.
Category
insulation, energy audit
scott F.
4.0
02/18/2016
Punctual, responsive and good service. Just wish it wasn't so expensive. I don't recall the exact price but I was told I would save enough each month to break even if I stayed in the home for 5 years.
Description of Work
Insulated attic and filled in holes with insulation.
Category
insulation, energy audit
Lois B.
5.0
02/17/2016
Very well. Everyone, especially David Wilkerson, was friendly, courteous, knowledgable and thorough.
Category
energy audit
Joshua E.
5.0
02/09/2016
Jonathan handled our Home Energy Audit and did an excellent job. He was on time, did exactly what he said he would do, and was thorough in his work. I appreciated his relational approach to Eco Three's work. He clearly communicated with me throughout the process and offered solutions for our home moving forward. I would recommend Eco Three to others in my neighborhood.
Description of Work
Completed a Home-Energy Audit
Category
energy audit
joyce V.
5.0
01/02/2016
Eco-Three's crew was here for almost two days. They were professional and punctual. They also knew what they were doing, including coming up with a solution with a tricky insulation issue in one of our bedrooms. While the price tag was steep, we knew up front what it would cost, as we were provided a detailed estimate of costs for every recommendation. No surprises there, which was appreciated. We were very pleased with the job Eco-Three did for us.
Description of Work
After an initial audit showing deficiencies, which we expected, we hired Eco-Three to undertake a series of suggested steps, from installing attic insulation to caulking around windows and fireplaces, to even insulating the water heater.
Category
insulation, energy audit
madelyn C.
5.0
06/29/2015
My experience with them was good. Their quality of work was great.
Description of Work
They did an energy check and installed some insulation.
Category
insulation, energy audit
Mary L.
5.0
06/08/2015
We had an excellent experience with Eco Three. Jonathan, Elizabeth and all of their crew were professional and efficient from start to finish. We have a small, cottage style home built in the 1940s. It was drafty in the winter and hot in the summer. We knew we wanted to improve our home's comfort while we live here but we don't plan on living in this home for more than 5 years so we didn't want to spend a fortune on these improvements (i.e. replacing windows, etc). Eco Three was able to come and evaluate our home and tell us exactly what improvements would help its comfort and efficiency in the immediate future. They also broke the improvements down by how quickly we would see return on our investment. The team was able to complete all of the improvements in one day. The day they were scheduled to work it was pouring rain but they did not let that affect them and they kept our home dry and clean while they were working. They even did a few small "extra" improvements to our ductwork without charging extra for it! We noticed the difference in the comfort of our home the very next day! We are already seeing savings in our electric and gas bills each month. Our only regret - we wish we had called them sooner!
Description of Work
Energy Evaluation and upgrades to our home (including air sealing top plates in attic, air sealing crawlspace, applying ground cover in crawlspace, blowing in attic insulation, applying insulating covers to water heater and piping, improving weather stripping of doors, reworking some old ductwork for improved HVAC performance).
Category
insulation, energy audit

Service Provider Response

We are so happy to hear you had a great experience! Thank you for sharing this review!
David B.
5.0
04/21/2015
The guys at Eco Three were very polite, knowledgeable and professional. They were prompt and did a very good job of cleaning up after they were through. We did have one air duct hole that was missed during the initial sealing process but when it was called to their attention they were very quick to resolve the situation to our satisfaction.
Description of Work
We live in a 1940 English Tudor style home. It was very drafty and cold when we purchased it so we hired Eco Three to air-seal and insulated the attic. Our gas bill saw an immediate decrease and the overall comfort of our home increased dramatically.
Category
insulation, energy audit

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the positive review. We appreciate your business, and we are thrilled you are happy with the work.
Lynnmarie F.
5.0
04/07/2015
very pleased with their thoroughness
Description of Work
inspected for energy inefficiencies
Category
energy audit
Phyllis B.
5.0
03/31/2015
They did a good job and I think it has helped with the efficiency of the home. I would use them again.
Description of Work
They installed some insulation in my attic.
Category
insulation, energy audit
Melissa C.
5.0
02/19/2015
I was extremely impressed with Jonathan's professionalism and knowledge. He has a background in home inspection and the evaluation included an examination of the exterior and interior of the house, including the attic and basement/garage/crawlspace. His chief worker had worked as an electrician and he checked the wiring. With these two, I felt I had a mini home inspection and electrical inspection included in this evaluation. I had many questions about houses and insulation and I received clear answers, with reference to current building codes in my jurisdiction. Jonathan and his crew arrived on time (or slightly early) for the appointments and Jonathan was very responsive to communication via phone or email. They worked with my schedule and were considerate of my formerly feral cats, including the new foundling in the bathroom. The work took place over two days and the crew cleaned up after the work and even repaired the ill-fitting access hatch to the attic. I learned that, in older homes, there is much leakage of winter cold air into the walls since the tops in the attic are not sealed and that there are many areas in the floors and walls for cold air to come into the house from the basement/crawlspace, around wiring and plumbing. These were all sealed and insulated. The areas of ductwork around the point where it goes into the house (behind the grates) were replaced and sealed with insulating foam. The hatch to the attic and the area around the whole house fan were insulated and weather stripped. Weather stripping was placed around the doors and a blanket covered the hot water heater in the basement. Insulation was blown into the attic. The first thing I noticed upon coming into my house was how quiet it is now! There are no drafts, even as cold as it's been this week (in the teens and 20s at night). I'm sure the energy bills will be lower. I highly recommend Jonathan and the Eco Three team!
Description of Work
I had purchased the initial home energy and comfort evaluation that included blown insulation. Jonathan and David spent 2.5 hours performing the evaluation and Jonathan generated a detailed report delineating their findings that he reviewed with me a few days later. He thoroughly explained the results in the report, that included photos of temperature variations in the walls, ceilings, and ducts. He had listed recommendations for remediation, with prices included. There was absolutely no pressure to purchase/perform any further services. Since my home is a 1950 model, I chose to do so.
Category
insulation, energy audit

Phone

Address

1000 Chestnut St Ste 122

Birmingham, AL 35216

Service Categories

Other Information

Services offered

Energy Evaluations & Energy Efficient Upgrades

Payment options

Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Check

FAQ

Eco Three is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

Eco Three is open:

Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Eco Three accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Check

No, Eco Three does not offer free project estimates.

Yes, Eco Three offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, Eco Three offers a 5% senior discount.

Yes, Eco Three offers emergency services.

No, Eco Three does not offer warranties.

Eco Three offers the following services: Energy Evaluations & Energy Efficient Upgrades

Other Local Pros In Your Area

We are a company of Integrity and Honesty which is the backbone of our core values and beliefs. We offer Residential and Commercial services.  

GPI Insulation

5.0

(6)

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

GPI Insulation

**We do not currently offer foam insulation.** We offer fiberglass blown insulation and radiant barrier ** We are state trained weatherization contractor. We can help you lower your energy consumption which in turn lowers your energy cost.  

Coolray Heating & Air Conditioning

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Coolray Heating & Air Conditioning

Coolray has served the Atlanta metro area since 1966 and offers professional heating, air conditioning, plumbing and electrical. We base our business principles on people helping people with honest, dependable service backed by our peace of mind warranties and guarantees ensuring your 100% satisfaction. 350 employees. No subs. Charges a flat rate. Senior Discount on Service Repairs only, cannot be used with other offers.