Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Classic Gardens & Landscape Inc

Founded 1990 • With Angi since July 2006

4.6

(89) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1855 Carson Rd

Birmingham, AL 35215

Description

Classic Gardens & Landscape, Inc. was founded in January of 1990. Previously in the same location was another landscape/garden center that Mike had worked with for five years. When that business left they took everything with them. Mike and Ann started over from scratch. The name Classic was chosen

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
2.0

06/22/2019


T. W.

Premium cost, failed to meet expectations When visiting my home to assess what I needed, several details regarding problems in my landscaping were discussed, that I assumed were understood and included in the bid they then provided. After the work was done this week, while I was at work and not here to monitor, I came home to find that these details were missed. When following up with them, all they would stand behind was what was specifically noted on the bid, not the expectations I walked away with. These expectations factored into my decision to choose them over other bids. This bid was the highest one I obtained, and I chose it because I knew I wouldn’t be here to monitor the work was done to my satisfaction. I guess you don’t always get what you pay for. Tips for whoever chooses to do business with these folks – 1) Make sure every expectation is explicitly noted on the bid you sign for the work; 2) Be home when the work is being done to ensure all the expectations are being met, and the work isn’t rushed; and 3) Don’t put too much faith in a landscape company that is mostly known for their weekly talk-radio landscaping show.

Description of Work
Replace all landscaping on the front of my home

Category landscaping, mulch

Service Provider Response

Feedback from customers is an integral part in our on-going commitment [Member Name Removed] provide the best landscaping and lawn care service in the greater Birmingham area, and we always appreciate the opportunity [Member Name Removed] review and discuss how our services exceeded, met, or did not meet a customer’s expectation. Our process of bidding is essentially building a contract. We submit a contract [Member Name Removed] the customer and they are welcome [Member Name Removed] make any changes or clarifications necessary before agreeing [Member Name Removed] the work as described. In this case the work was done exactly as described, as the customer has noted. While we regret that any customer walks away unsatisfied with our work, we must strongly encourage all people reviewing and approving bids [Member Name Removed] make sure that every expectation is listed out in writing so that both the contractor and the home owner understand fully what services will be provided. We have been in on going communication with the customer since completing this job and have set up an appointment [Member Name Removed] meet [Member Name Removed] discuss more fully the issues the customer lists here. We have built our company on 30 years of hard work and trust, and we will continue our commitment [Member Name Removed] providing the best landscaping [Member Name Removed] all of our customers.
4.0

09/13/2017


Gerald S.

The service is provided as described. I feel the price is somewhat high for the area covered. Additional services are offered, but usually at a high price.

Description of Work
Lawn maintenance

Category lawn treatment

4.0

05/12/2017


Jean F.

At first I saw much improvement in my lawn. Then after a couple of years, the quality seemed to not be as good. Some of my flowers were sprayed when spraying for weeds so I discontinued my regular service with them.

Description of Work
Lawn fertilization and spray for weeds

Category lawn treatment

5.0

04/29/2017


Michael J.

They do what I ask them to and when they have something that I need to know about they tell me about it. I have had good results

Description of Work
I used them for my lawn and maintenance. They put down herbicide and fertilizer.

Category lawn treatment

5.0

04/29/2017


robert C.

I finally have a plan to get my yard looking beautiful

Description of Work
I have been using Angie's list for many years. It has been helpful since I moved to Mountain Brook 4 years ago and not having the essential contacts to maintain our rather large home/property. Today I called Classic and spoke with Jenny. She spent an unusually long time explaining why I have been unsuccessful weeding and seeding my yard (approx 50,000 sqft). She knew from the beginning of the call that we had a full time handyman who also cut our grass yet she still spent an unusually long time explaining and answering my questions, knowing I was not looking to contract for grass cutting or chemical treatments but to simply purchase the correct seed from them. I was very impressed. I could hear phones ringing in the back ground yet she continued to give me advice . She discouraged me from fertilizing as it would only feed the weeds. I needed to wait until fall to put down the Five Star Fescue mixture they sell. She saved me thousands of dollars as I had been putting down the wrong seed at the wrong time of year. Their website is VERY informative. I will be buying all of my seed and fertilizer from this company in the future!

Category lawn treatment

1.0

10/05/2016


David R.

Very erratic. Frequently did not do the agreed upon work and so we cancelled the contract

Description of Work
Was supposed to come on schedule to do the trimming, weeding, seeding.

Category landscaping, lawn service, lawn treatment

5.0

02/10/2016


Alexander G.

They do a great job month after month.

Description of Work
Lawn chemistry

Category lawn treatment

4.0

01/12/2016


Howard H.

I have used Classic Gardens for about 6 years now. They are better than my previous yard service people were, but they are also a little pricier. I am not overwhelmed by the quality of their service, and I may try someone else this year. They perform service on a monthly basis, and they have been available to handle problems between applications.

Description of Work
Fertilizer application and yard pesticide application in the summer season

Category lawn treatment

5.0

11/07/2015


Elizabeth B.

They are always very professional. Have had questions over the time they have provided service and they always get back to me quickly if the person doing the work does not know. I have had less weed and insect problems with their service than I had with other companies. Also, their product is less irritating to my pet.

Description of Work
Regular fertilizer for yard. Provide 8 treatments per year.

Category lawn treatment

5.0

09/22/2015


Jamie S.

We've used Classic Gardens for around 10 years now at least. They apply the granule fertilizer, which is great for slow release when watered in. They also have an insect treatment plan that you can get on that treats 3x/year for grubs, army worms, etc. The guys that come out always leave a hand-written assessment of grass length, moisture, weed issues, etc. and write up what they did that day. I've been pleased with their service. Wish they offered a lawn mowing service too and I'd be in!

Description of Work
Fertilization and weed control

Category lawn treatment

1.0

09/12/2015


Ryan C.

. The person spent about 30 minutes walking the yard with me. He then spent another 15 minutes getting measurements and taking notes. He promised a quote by the end of the week and told me that he didn't hear anything that would cost too much. I received an email with vague descriptions as to what was going to be performed with a quoted price of 25k+. I don't know if I'm just much poorer than the rest of their clientele but 25K is expensive. I guess some people are ready to drop that amount of cash on 30 minutes of conversation and no details but not this guy. I will never reach out to this company again.

Description of Work
Gave an inspection for landscaping at my home.

Category landscaping, lawn treatment

4.0

08/23/2015


Stephanie P.

I receive lawn service from Classic Gardens. Firstly, they are a neighborhood business that caters to us, their neighbors. The service techs are efficient and always leave a thorough physical examination of your lawn. The staff at the garden center are knowledgeable and helpful, making sure your landscaping choices are appropriate for the location and amount of care needed for success. I highly recommend them and several of my neighbors use them too.

Description of Work
Lawn treatment

Category landscaping, lawn treatment

5.0

08/20/2015


Ken M.

In Sept of 2014, after reading numerous reviews online (including Angies List) and seeing other people"s lawns after being treated by various lawn services, I contacted Classic Gardens & Landscape. My lawn was in terrible condition. After having re-sodded my yard about 10 years ago, it looked ok for a few years but then began deteriorating. I had more weeds than grass, and what grass I had was thin and sparse. I finally decided something had to be done. The Classic staff came out to evaluate my yard. They were prompt, very professional and polite, and very detailed and thorough in their analysis and proposal. They said it wouldn't be a quick turn-around, (it could take 1-2 years) but with time, they could bring the yard back to life. I was skeptical but signed the agreement and they began immediately (Sept 2014). Nothing really looked different for several months. Then around April 2015 the grass began to look a bit more lively. But today, (August 2015) barely one year later, the grass is starting to look amazing! It is thicker, lush green and is 1000 percent improved. There are still areas (that were in the worst shape) that have a way to go yet, but I have no doubt those areas will come around too...with time. I am very pleased with the results I'm seeing. I look at it as an investment in my home, not just an expense. I plan to let them continue treating my lawn moving forward. ALSO...a few weeks ago I had a problem with my sprinkler system. I called Classic and later that week I got a call back and we set an appointment. They came, identified the problem, found a couple of other problems I didn't know was there, and fixed the system on the spot. The technician was polite, professional, very easy to work with and knew his stuff. I was very pleased with their service. They weren't the cheapest in town, but I didn't want the cheapest...I wanted the best. I think I got it. Good job, guys! Keep up the good work!

Description of Work
Lawn care and treatment (fertilization, etc)

Category landscaping, lawn treatment

4.0

06/07/2015


Clark D.

Used their service for several years; however, this year our grass area looked worse than most neighbors. Ended the service.

Description of Work
Lawn fertilization, insect and weed control; and shrub treatments

Category lawn treatment

5.0

03/10/2015


Kerstin S.

Excellent! They called on the day when they wanted to come, performed their work quietly and thoroughly, left feedback sheets with lawn analysis info and suggestions of how to treat our lawn so it stays healthy and grows beautifully. They are very friendly and highly responsive to any questions or concerns. Highly recommended business!

Description of Work
People at Classic Gardens & Landscape are wonderful!! I have been in contact for years almost since I moved to the Birmingham area in 2010. Have a big yard (almost 1 acre) and a ton of landscape problems. The owner came more than once to my house to review these problems and offer solutions and cost estimates without charging anything. I am very sorry to say that I just did not have the means to have them realize any of their really helpful and reasonable ideas. However, after having had two different businesses in the close neighborhood take care of my lawn and their services were just not helping my lawn enough, I hired Classic Gardens and Landscape to look after my lawn. They are fantastic! They charge more for lawn care but are much more thoroug. They provided us with the best advice, provide an evaluation of our lawn including any problems (e.g., what kind of bugs eat our lawn) and remedies (e.g., mowing height, watering, bug treatment that you can do yourself) with each and every visit. The only reason why we cancelled their services is because of a current reduction in our income and the need to cut down on our costs of living. Our lawn looked never better than when they took care of it.

Category pest control, landscaping, lawn service, lawn treatment

5.0

08/09/2014


Tom N.

First - I like the fact that they had invested some effort in their Angie profile. Always a good sign in my opinion. Contacted via email and they were quick to contact me by phone. The owner/operator was at my house within a week and quickly assessed the situation and generated a map and itemized quote. The follow up was a little "fuzzy" - I wanted to discuss with wife and then confirm with them. That took a couple of emails and apparently they weren't in a hurry to get us scheduled (they just seemed busy - our biggest issue was simply "when can you come?") Would have been helpful to know the actually process for getting this part down (send us a check for 10% of the job - then we'll know you are serious and put you on the schedule). So this may have just been a one-time snafu. Otherwise, everything went smoothly (he kept us appraised on schedule changes). Showed up on time on a Friday (about 8:30 AM), thoroughly cleaned out the overgrown ruins of our front planers and bush areas (can't recall what that area is called) and were done by 3 PM. Left a very clean area overall and event accommodated a request or two on our part. Not cheap - but they get the job done quickly and effectively with very minimal trouble or mess. So I think the quality of the work is worth the cost. Compliments all around from the neighbors! Would highly recommend. Overall was very happy with them and will have them come back and do more work for us! I believe you get what you pay for - they are worth the money.

Description of Work
Cleaned out and redid the bushes and planters in the front of our house.

Category landscaping, lawn service, lawn treatment

5.0

04/30/2014


Suzette F.

This is the first year that our lawn has been weed free in the spring, This will be the start of the second full season using them. I like how they use granular instead of the spray, which can get diluted by rain, etc. if not left on long enough before a watering, with granular it does not matter.Also you do not have to worry that they will water down the weed killer too much or not enough. I like how they apply it year round instead of 8 applications only. They cost a little more than some other companies, but I believe they know what they are doing and the quality and service makes the extra costs worth it.

Description of Work
Monthly lawn weed control service, our yard is fairly large.

Category lawn treatment

5.0

04/09/2014


Tracy S.

They are doing our lawn and they have been great! They are going to put in some plants and stuff for us. We haven't had a lot of experience with them yet but so far we have been happy. They have just treated our lawn for weeds and they are going to plant some plants in the front.

Description of Work
Classic Gardens and Landscape came out and sprayed our lawn for weeds.

Category lawn service, lawn treatment

5.0

04/02/2014


David D.

I have been using Classic Gardens for 1 year, beginning the first Spring of a newly sodded yard. Weeds were already starting to emerge in the new lawn and Classic Gardens created an almost 'weed-free' yard in just one Spring/Summer. We had a small problem with a fungus in the yard that they quickly diagnosed/treated and resolved. Their staff is efficient and friendly. The price is just a little higher than I would like to pay for lawn treatment but I am happy to pay it given the appearance of my lawn. The price of 122 per month is averaged out including the quarterly lawn pest control AND fertilization/weed suppression. Our lawn is what I would consider medium sized (takes about an hour to push mow). The staff also makes recommendations with every visit regarding grass height and lawn moisture. My only complaint - the granules they spread go everywhere including the porch and driveways. Some of them will stain the concrete if not removed before getting wet. I think they could do a better job by quickly blowing off the concrete/porches after spreading the material. I am proud of my lawn and highly recommend this company to keep your lawn green and weed free.

Description of Work
Applies year-round, monthly lawn fertilizer, weed suppression/killer, and lawn pest killer

Category pest control, landscaping, lawn treatment

5.0

03/29/2014


Joseph S.

My experience with them was good. The product is fine; the grass is growing.

Description of Work
I used Classic Gardens & Landscape Inc. I went and bought some grass seeds.

Category landscaping

5.0

03/15/2014


Vicki A.

It was excellent. When the services are finished in April I will give an update.

Description of Work
Mike Pender came and provided a complete estimate for removal of some plants and help with drainage.

Category lawn treatment

5.0

03/07/2014


Josh A.

Fantastic, they're awesome. Not the cheapest...but it was worth it.

Description of Work
Landscape design and I also bought all the plants and materials from them.

Category landscaping, lawn treatment

2.0

11/18/2013


Christina R.

He actually came a day early before the scheduled appointment so I was not there. I got a note saying that the minimum for a day's work is $1375 and he estimated four days for four people. This is extreme--the yard is quite small and I did this EXACT thing in my last house with a lot size at least 10 times the size of the area I was considering and that took not more than a day and was under $1000. I imagine they just aren't interested in doing the work seeing as this translates to $45/hour per person if the amount of time were even accurate. Buyer beware

Description of Work
Plan was to remove ivy and replace with monkey grass

Category landscaping, lawn service

Service Provider Response

I am sorry you had a problem with my estimate. It was only an estimate. The definition of an estimate is a rough calculation or to judge the value of something. It is strange to me to get a complaint about an estimate. I have been doing landscaping and estimates since 1973. You mentioned that $1375.00 a day for 4 men would work out to $45.00 an hour. That seems fair to me. You might not realize it but the $45.00 an hour includes gas, vehicle payments, licenses (truck, city, state, and county), vehicle maintenance, my secretaries, my expertise, accidental insurance, workmans comp, medical insurance, taxes, and much much more. My auto mechanic makes $95.00, my electrician $125.00, and my plumber $150.00 an hour As with any estimate, you can always find someone cheaper or higher. But that doesn’t mean better or that they will stand behind their work.
5.0

11/17/2013


Susan A.

Responsible, on time, assisted me with billing via monthly bank charge. Lawn has improved

Description of Work
fertilize and weed control

Category lawn treatment

5.0

11/07/2013


David C.

It's good. They have a good quality of products. They have friendly people and good products with reasonable prices. I would use them again in the future.

Description of Work
I bought stuff from Classic Gardens & Landscape Inc.

Category greenhouses

    Other local Pros in your area

    Landscape Champs LLC

    We specialize in all phases of Landscaping and Hardscaping. New landscaping design to reality, we do sod, plants, stone, sprinklers, and drainage. We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out all the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers by Landscape Champs LLC on Angi
    Get Premier Green, LLC

    At Get Premier Green, LLC, Our passion is to give our clients what they desire in a landscape company. We pride ourselves on our personal attention to each client’s needs and budget. With our services, we work to maintain your properties' beauty for your enjoyment. Through our services and your patronage, we team together to better our community.  

    Angi Certified

    C&W Dirt Work and Contracting Services

    Specialize in all dirt work aspects. from fill dirt to land clearing and grade establishment. We also provide a Varity of tree services from topping and trimming trees to dropping and stump grinding or removal. We do demolition of structures as well. All pricing is done by the job an not hourly.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Irrigation, night-lighting, forest grinding, lawn fertilization and weed control, landscaping, hardscaping, and complete garden center.

    Services Not Offered

    Mowing, pruning

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Classic Gardens & Landscape Inc

    How is Classic Gardens & Landscape Inc overall rated?

    Classic Gardens & Landscape Inc is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Classic Gardens & Landscape Inc open?

    Classic Gardens & Landscape Inc is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does Classic Gardens & Landscape Inc provide

    Classic Gardens & Landscape Inc accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa

    Does Classic Gardens & Landscape Inc offer free estimates?

    No, Classic Gardens & Landscape Inc does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Classic Gardens & Landscape Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Classic Gardens & Landscape Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Classic Gardens & Landscape Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Classic Gardens & Landscape Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Classic Gardens & Landscape Inc?

    No, Classic Gardens & Landscape Inc does not offer warranties.

    What services does Classic Gardens & Landscape Inc offer?

    Classic Gardens & Landscape Inc offers the following services: Irrigation, night-lighting, forest grinding, lawn fertilization and weed control, landscaping, hardscaping, and complete garden center.

    Are there any services Classic Gardens & Landscape Inc does not offer?

    Mowing, pruning