Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Banks Home Building Inc

Founded 1991 • With Angi since October 2010

4.5

(40) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

4206 Brasher Dr

Birmingham, AL 35243

Description

Banks Home Building, Inc. has been in business since 1991. We specialize in building custom homes, additions, basement build outs, and renovations. Custom home building from $300,000 to $3,000,000. Our primary market area is Mountain Brook, Vestavia, and Inverness....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
2.0

02/21/2015


Joyce Z.

This was the only provider who charged for an estimate. It was supposed to include a sketch which I never got. After the initial appointment, I had to contact him several times for estimate. Compared to other providers, he showed no real interest in my business. I felt he was just gong through the motions to earn his fee, which was unwarranted. He had no helpful input or suggestions. I was very disappointed and felt ripped off. I would not contact this company again for any work.

Description of Work
Provide estimate for kitchen remodel

Category remodeling, home remodeling, basement remodeling

Service Provider Response

I am sorry she feels this way. At our first meeting, she made it clear that she was in no hurry. I did not give her a sketch because the layout was not changing. We were replacing cabinets, counters and some appliances. i did measure her kitchen in order to put together an estimate. We met and I would have been glad to do the project.

3.0

10/27/2014


Michael M.

Plan not drawn to scale (not a problem, was initial plan). Gave some helpful insight toward the renovation building standards. The ideas were not all that helpful in the change I was looking for.

Description of Work
Drew a kitchen remodel plan.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

08/27/2014


Nancy L.

They were very professional and polite. When I was not satisfied with certain things, they were very quick to fix the problem with absolutely no complaints.

Description of Work
They finished a lower level that included a bathroom and kitchen.

Category remodeling, home builders, home remodeling

5.0

08/09/2014


Pamela H.

It took about 8 weeks. which was longer than I thought it would take. However, the work done by all involved was excellent. The work site was cleaned at the end of each day. All the plumbing worked properly and I have not had any problems. Kudos go out to the guy who installed the tile. Everyone who has seen the finished bathroom wants to know his name. I was pleased that the budget was monitored and I was informed when any decisions I made would exceed it. To me Banks Home Building is a trustworthy company.

Description of Work
Bathroom Remodel

Category plumbing, home builders, home remodeling

5.0

07/29/2014


Roslyn B.

We were very pleased with the professionalism of this company and hope to have an opportunity to use their services in the future.

Description of Work
Gave us an estimate on creating a "wet room" for bathroom. My husband is in a wheelchair and needs accessibility for bath needs. Gave us a very effective workup and reasonable cost. We chose to wait till several other remodeling areas were complete, but fully intend to use this company in the future.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

3.0

05/06/2014


Jessica J.

Mr. Banks came to my house originally in a timely manner to look at my kitchen. He was very pleasant said he would get back to me within a week. I was admittedly hard to get in touch with as I was taking care of a terminally ill relative and we missed connections several times. He told me by phone that he had some sketches and he could leave them in my mailbox, but he would rather meet me to talk about his ideas. At about that time my relative's health worsened and I was unavailable for well over a month perhaps two. After the funeral, and when my life went back to normal, I called him again. He told me that he had thrown the sketch away but that he could meet me at my home to talk about it. When he came, he really had no concrete ideas, just generalities. I was disappointed but realized that I had genuinely been hard to contact.

Description of Work
Supposed to do "Custom Kitchen, Bath, or Basement Design Consultation with Sketch"

Category home builders

1.0

04/23/2014


Rusty M.

Mr. Banks came to my house for the consultation and made a follow-up call to me afterwards for some additional information. Unfortunately, I never received any type of quote or sketch. I do not recommend paying for a design consultation upfront from this Company. I paid $55 and received absolutely nothing in return.

Description of Work
I purchased the $55 Design Consultation with Sketch

Category home builders

5.0

04/04/2014


Rusty S.

The experience with Banks was excellent. We reviewed the plans, all of our options, and toured a few properties on which they were currently working. They provided a reasonable cost for the quality of work they do. Banks is a top-notch builder with an outstanding reputation for quality and finishes. They are professional, courteous and honest. I will highly recommend them for any building or remodeling work.

Description of Work
Banks provided a cost estimate for building a custom home.

Category remodeling, home builders

3.0

01/07/2014


William J.

He came out but did not do a sketch. The cabinet guy that he recommended did the kitchen sketch. He did nothing except put us in touch with his vendor.

Description of Work
.

Category home remodeling

4.0

12/27/2013


susan O.

I purchased an Angie's List Big Deal for this service and it was okay. They were supposed to give us a written plan for our kitchen, but they did not give us a written copy of it. They came over and talked about it, but they did not give us a plan. I was not thrilled and they did not go above and beyond. They were responsive and came out when they said they would.

Description of Work
I tried to use Banks Home Building to give us a plan for our kitchen.

Category home remodeling

1.0

11/10/2013


Ron O.

The owner showed up and looked at the project and I asked when I would have the sketch per the agreement and he stated within a week. After two weeks of not hearing from him I called him and he stated the $7,000.00 project would be $18000.00. I asked for the sketch and he said he would mail it to me that day. I would never recommend or use this company and I deserve my money back.

Description of Work
I contacted Banks Home Building.

Category remodeling

5.0

10/09/2013


Marsha W.

Overall things went well, the rain caused a delay but Mr.Banks was always accessible to us with updates on when work was expected to be done. Our phone calls were always returned in a short amount of time. If there was a question Mr.Banks always got back to us with the answer or came to the house to see for himself. I feel that quality materials and workman are used by Banks Home Building and I would not hesitate to use them again and recommend them to friends.

Description of Work
new roof, new gutters,replaced boards under the gutters that were wet, small amount of indoor painting on doors and two ceilings. (may be other work that I have forgetton??)

Category gutter repair, remodeling, roofing, home builders, woodworking, interior painters

4.0

09/30/2013


Valerie A.

I met with Stuart Banks at 144 Woodmont Drive in Homewood and we discussed my interest in finishing the basement with a bathroom, laundry room, workshop, storage and family room. I gave him the original construction plans for the house, which was built in 1960 and has never been altered except for the addition of a screened porch. I was a bit disappointed in the quality of the sketch since I had provided scaled floor plans, but I got the overall idea he was attempting to get across, so it worked out OK.

Description of Work
Design consultation with sketch.

Category remodeling, home builders, architect, basement remodeling

5.0

08/21/2013


maria P.

Highly organized , quantity work,

Description of Work
finish basement

Category remodeling, home builders, basement remodeling

5.0

07/01/2013


Jeff H.

I would highly recommend Banks Home Building. We received 3 quotes and theirs was not the lowest. But I believe it was fair and we definitely got our moneys worth. They were extremely professional throughout the entire process. We were told it would take 6 weeks and they were spot on. They handled all aspects of the project including getting permits, handling inspections etc. A foreman was assigned to our project and he was awesome. He communicated with us on a daily basis and supervised everything that was going on. Any problem identified was communicated to us and then handled immediately. The quality of work is excellent. All in all I can't imagine the project going any smoother than it did and we would definitely contact Stuart Banks again with any project we have.

Description of Work
Complete finishing of our Basement, including adding a Rec room, bedroom, craft room with utility sink, and a Full Bath!

Category remodeling, home builders, home remodeling, basement remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you [member name removed]. It was a pleasure working with you and Anne.

5.0

05/13/2013


Kimberly C.

I was very satisfied from start to finish with the work performed. The workers were all nice and easy to work with. I think everything was done in a timely manner. Overall, it was a very good experience. Stuart Banks is an honest contractor and businessman. I would definitely recommend his company to others.

Description of Work
We had a water leak from the upstairs attic in our home. The expansion tank attached to the hot water heater burst a pin hole that resulted in water leaking into my kitchen and den on the first floor below. We had to have the hardwood floors on the entire first floor refinished. We also had to have ceilings and some columns re-sheet rocked. Additionally, the kitchen and den needed re-painting. Also, even though they were not damaged by the leak, we needed to replace two sets of double patio doors due to weathering. Stuart Banks and Banks Home Building built our house 10 years ago and I was very happy with the whole process. So when the water leak happened last December, I knew I wanted to use Banks Home Building again. Although this was a minor project compared to building a house, Stuart agreed to help us with the repairs. We had some quick repair and sheet rocking done before Christmas to get us through the holidays. Then once the insurance company gave us estimates for the total repairs, we began working with Banks Home Building in early spring to get new doors ordered and line up floor re-finishers. Once the project began, everything went smoothly. Doors were installed in a day. Then we had a very competent floor refinishing crew come in. We did have to move out of the house for 5 days, but had planned for that. The painters then spent 3 1/2 days painting the ceilings, walls, and baseboards. I am very happy with the results and how each step was coordinated to help us get back into our house as soon as possible. I would definitely use them again for any home building projects. I have always been pleased with the quality of the services provided by Banks Home Building.

Category drywall, hardwood floor, remodeling, water heater repair, home builders, home remodeling, doors

4.0

05/01/2013


George W.

Great, he walked us through the drawing. When we get ready to do the basement, we will call him.

Description of Work
Did not get work done but wanted an idea of price and drawing. Very pleased with drawing. When I emailed earlier, he called but we did not get together until today, partly because I was sick.

Category home builders, architect

1.0

03/29/2013


Kelley B.

It went terrible overall. I paid $98 to get two sketches and quotes to remodel a bath and the kitchen. I've gotten absolutely nothing for my money.

Description of Work
I purchased 2 Angie's List coupons with Banks Remodeling to get a sketch and quote to remodel my bathroom and kitchen. Mr. Banks quickly contacted me and came out to look at the two rooms back in February. Over 2 weeks later and I hadn't heard from or received any information from Mr. Banks. I contacted him again about and we discussed what I wanted done to the bath and kitchen. Now it's been another 3 weeks since our last conversation and still nothing from this company. So I've lost $98, have no sketches for a remodel or quotes. Maybe this company does good work if it's going to be a large job. All I know is I'm mad as h*** and think customers should reconsider before calling on this company.

Category home builders, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

We strive to make our clients happy, however, we obviously did not do that in this case. We have refunded the $98 she spent back to (member name removed) .

5.0

01/09/2013


Janet W.

The quality of the work is unlike any. The honesty they displayed is unbelievable. We didn't even sign a contract with them and it was the greatest experience. Anybody that he brought to the house, from the tile man to the floor man, was the most professional. It took a year to build the house and not one cross word with any of them. They showed up on time and everything was absolutely perfect. The work was impeccable. He did the most incredible job.

Description of Work
Built a brand new home from scratch for us.

Category home builders

5.0

12/17/2012


Cynthia S.

My experience was wonderful! All the workers were quiet, kind, neat and polite. They arrived on time and left at the end of the day. Their workmanship was superb! When one job was complete the next group of guys were right there as planned. As I added more requests, the men were happy to oblige. Everything went smoothly!!

Description of Work
I had a small porch, a rundown carport, and a rotten deck all demolished. Then a new floor was built, a carport was built below with a fresh cement slab and a lovely large porch was built. I had cedar beams built and a slate roof was added. A stacked stone fireplace was also included. Lights and ceiling fans were also added. In addition, a custom built table around my hot tub was designed and built. Brick steps leading down to my yard were also built. Everything was either painted or stained.

Category concrete repair, decks, electrician, masonry, remodeling, roofing, fireplaces, garage builders, home builders, ceiling fans, hardscaping

5.0

12/11/2012


Fred S.

This company is very trustworthy and they have reasonable pricing. Stuart, the owner, is incredibly knowledgeable about the building industry. Therefore, the company has access to and knowledge of the latest building products and advances in the industry. The quality of product produced by this company is also bar-none. I highly recommend this company and will continue to use them in the future.

Description of Work
He built my home in 1999 and has built or remodeled over 25 homes for me.

Category remodeling, home builders

5.0

12/09/2012


TINA L.

Banks Home Building renovated a crumbling 80+ year old historical house. Floors were falling through, plaster cracked, windows leaking, roof leaking, 80-year-old wire and knob electrical system; just to name a few challenges. Their attention to detail for our 80+ year old house was amazing. All the moldings for the addition were hand crafted and matched the existing house down to every detail. It is very difficult to tell where the old house stops and the addition begins. The job superintendent has much experience with historical houses and was wonderful to work with. Nothing was ever a problem for Banks Home Building. If something came up on the job, it was solved immediately with no major discussion, issues, or price overages. Stuart Banks, the owner, is a very honest and ethical business man. We even lived in the existing house while the addition was being constructed. The work was completed in the timeline estimated by the contractor.

Description of Work
Banks Home Building completed our second remodel job in January 2009. They renovated a historic home in Birmingham to include complete interiors, windows, plumbing and electrical. They also put in a new HVAC unit, doors, roof, a new exterior skin of the original house and buried all services - electrical, phone and cable. They also constructed a 2,000 square foot two-story addition to the original structure that included full construction services as well as a concrete driveway and stone hardscape.

Category concrete repair, electrician, heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, remodeling, roofing, replacement windows, home builders, home remodeling, doors, hardscaping, basement remodeling

5.0

12/09/2012


TINA L.

Banks Home Building was a great contractor to work with. Very professional, honest and ethical. His subs were very well trained and timely. The materials used in our house were top quality. The house was completed on schedule and exactly to our plans and specifications without many change orders. All change orders were by our choice for additional services or scope. We had several bids on this project and Banks Home Building was the most competitive bid. We have since used him again on a second home.

Description of Work
Banks Home Building completely remodeled an existing house to include: taking off the roof and adding a second story as well as gutting the existing house down to the studs and reconfiguring the floor plan to the architect's drawings. This company added new electrical, plumbing, HVAC, windows, doors, floors, exterior skin, roof and other things. We basically had a newly constructed house at the end of the job.

Category electrician, flooring contractor, heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, remodeling, roofing, replacement windows, home builders, home remodeling, doors, basement remodeling

5.0

11/13/2012


Leslie N.

Because of the size of our job, we had to move out so completion time was important. Banks Home Building completed the job when he said they would. They had to remove trees and lay foundation and knock down walls before the actual framing could begin. all of the sub contractors that were used were so kind-I loved going over to see them and the progress daily. Home additions are all about budgets. We signed a contract on a price, and any variance was due to us wanting to add something. We, however, worked within the allowances Stuart gave us. I strongly suggest doing leg work of your own before any project, so that you have an idea of what you would like costs. Contractors, such as Stuart Banks, work with people with varying ranges of taste from inexpensive to outlandish. You are better off letting them know where you stand in all that-especially when it comes to kitchens and baths-the sky can be the limit, but the purse strings may not! Stuart never went over, and if he did, I am afraid he had to eat it. I say this with no sense of satisfaction because in all the time I have worked with him, he has become a great friend. Not only is he great at what he does, but he is honest and forthright. He has a great family to boot. I can't say enough good things about Banks Home Building. I would be remiss if I didn't also mention Mike Ross, Stuarts other half in the job place. He has an eye for detail and is always there when you need him. These 2 men work well together.

Description of Work
We added on significantly to our existing house as well as remodeled a good portion of the existing house. We added a large kitchen, breakfast room, expanded the dining room, butlers pantry, replaced windows, added a den, patio, master bedroom and bath, study, extra bathroom, outdoor patio, retaining wall. We are currently looking at downsizing, and Stuart has helped us with this transition.

Category remodeling, home builders, home remodeling

5.0

10/16/2012


emily C.

Banks has done an excellent job and paid very close attention to the detail. The wood work and stone work that was specified for this home was beautifully done. He also is very prompt and always completes his job on or before completion date.

Description of Work
Banks Home Building built our 4,500 square foot home from ground up. This is the 2nd home he has built for us.

Category home builders

    Other local Pros in your area

    Clark Home Improvement

    Drywall install. Painting interior. Flooring install.  

    JD Gomez Hardwood Flooring LLC

    Our mission is to be a provider that brings back the personal touch with our customers. We will build a relationship that will last a lifetime after you see our quality work. As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. We have over 10 years of experience. We won't leave until the job is done right! Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Rivas painting LLC

    We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service. Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Kitchen & bathroom renovations. Additions. Basement build outs. New home builds.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Banks Home Building Inc

    How is Banks Home Building Inc overall rated?

    Banks Home Building Inc is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Banks Home Building Inc open?

    Banks Home Building Inc is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Banks Home Building Inc provide

    Banks Home Building Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Banks Home Building Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Banks Home Building Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Banks Home Building Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Banks Home Building Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Banks Home Building Inc?

    Yes, Banks Home Building Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Banks Home Building Inc offer?

    Banks Home Building Inc offers the following services: Kitchen & bathroom renovations. Additions. Basement build outs. New home builds.