Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

B-Dry Waterproofing and Foundation Repair

Founded 1958 • With Angi since January 2012

4.3

(32) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

143 Distribution Dr

Birmingham, AL 35209

Description

Since 1958, B-Dry has been committed to making sure your basement or crawlspace is solid and dry. At B-Dry, you have the strength of a large, national organization standing behind the personalized service of your local B-Dry office. In addition, we don't use contractors or sub-contractors for our work. All of our crews are trained professionals and are employees of B-Dry....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

11/20/2017


Julie G.

My experience with this company was exactly the type of experience which Angie's List is meant to prevent. This company absolutely needs to have its approval removed. They agreed to install their crawlspace waterproofing system (encapsulation system) in the crawlspace of my newly purchased home. At the time we agreed on the project, I knew it would be difficult, but I had no idea just how difficult the space was. There are jagged rocks, extremely tight spaces, etc. that I did not know about until now. They never let on that the project was over their heads. However, when I got a call one afternoon at work that their workers had busted two of my plumbing pipes, I began to get seriously worried. They claimed to be able to fix the pipes themselves, so I let them (a decision I am now reconsidering). When they were done, their workers chose to lie to my face and tell me that they were able to get the project completed entirely and in keeping with their company promises. Because I was physically unable to verify at the time, I took them at their word and let them charge me for the work. Only after another repairman (working on a different project) informed me and took pictures of their work, did I know just how horrible the work was. There was plastic simply wadded up like gift wrap in places, exposed dirt all over the place, peeling up tape everywhere, the columns and supports were left uncovered, the dehumidifier was installed incorrectly and leaking everywhere, and they even left exposed vents in the wall! Only after arguing with me did the head guy concede that the crawlspace was still exposed to outside air! When I confronted them, they admitted that the work was shotty and expressed a desire to fix the problems. I expressed concern that they would destroy my ducts (which I paid over $1000 to have removed the first time). They agreed to have the ducts inspected afterward at their expense, but never made good on the promise. After their repair attempt, I was able to inspect the work myself, and found the project to still not be in keeping with the promises in their advertisements. There are supports still exposed, dirt is still exposed, the plastic is unsealed around interior walls, and there is still some plastic simply wadded up in the farthest corners. I had to have my duct work inspected at my own expense, but I will say it was all fine. Overall, though, I honestly and truly believe that my family and I could have done a better and more proper job, if we were given the materials. Another extremely concerning aspect of my experience with this company was when I asked to have a copy of the document I signed that allowed them to charge me the cost of the project. At the time I signed it, the worker snatched it out of my hand and did not leave me with any receipt copy. I had to ask them for it more than five times and threaten to freeze the charge before they would send me a grainy cell phone picture of the document, which was barely legible, despite the document explicitly saying that I have a right to a copy upon request. This company is absolutely the shadiest company I have ever worked with. Everyone should be aware of them. I would not recommend them to my worst enemy.

Description of Work
Crawlspace encapsulation

Category basement waterproofing

2.0

08/02/2016


LYN K.

It was terrible. They are very deceptive on what they could actually do. Would not recommend them to anyone.

Description of Work
Foundation Repair

Category foundation repair

Service Provider Response

We apologize for your experience with BDry. Please feel free to contact us to let us know what we could have done better. The BDry Team

5.0

04/07/2016


Kelsey J.

Description of Work
Came to give a quote and told me what need to be done. He felt that it was a matter of drainage and told me exactly what to do to correct it.

Category basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review. We are happy to have you as a member of the BDry Family! Please let us know if you need anything in the future. The BDry Team

5.0

12/03/2015


Sherry N.

Description of Work
Waterproofed one long wall...sump pump

Category basement waterproofing, wells

Service Provider Response

We appreciate the review. Thanks, The BDry Guy

2.0

11/22/2014


Kathleen K.

My system was installed in 2002, and until this week I have been a satisfied customer. I've had a few problems in the past but they were quickly responded to and resolved. That is no longer true. My backup sump pump has a problem indicated by the green light going out. Please be aware that you can not call directly to the local service center. You can only call a national number. You can not call the local manager. And if you request to talk to someone over the manager, you are told that is not possible. I called on Monday and reported the problem. I called each day, each time explaining the problem, before the repairman,Tyler, called on Wed. night to say he would come on Thursday. When he arrived, he was unaware that the backup pump was the problem, so he was unprepared to work on it. He promised that his manager, Kelly, was researching the problem and would call me before the end of the day to tell me the plan. I never got that call. I called the national number a few times trying to reach Kelly. On Friday, Elizabeth at the service center called me back and promised that either she or Kelly would call me before the end of the day. That did not happen. I called the national number again at 5:30pm on Friday and was told Elizabeth had gone home and no one would be available until Monday. The reason for my urgency is because there are strong storms coming tomorrow (Sunday), and if the power goes out and the backup pump is broken, then I have a flooded basement. There is no reason for it to take 5 days to fix a simple pump, and certainly no reason to fail to contact me after all the promises to do so. This is no longer the B-Dry that it once was. I've recommended them to many of my neighbors but now I'll be warning them instead. I will post a follow-up to let you know how this turns out.

Description of Work
He took the model and serial numbers off the equipment, and told me his manager would call me the same day. I haven't heard from anyone since.

Category basement waterproofing, wells

Service Provider Response

I spoke with my Operations Manager, Kelly, and he made me aware that this has been taken care of. If you are still having problems, please feel free to reach out to us at anytime and we will get everything taken care of for you. Thanks, The B-Dry Team

5.0

10/02/2014


Frances P.

It’s still amazing to me when I go down there and see an absolutely dry floor and walls. And the white walls make it so much lighter and brighter down there!

Description of Work
We had water in our basement (75-year old home) since we moved here in 1976.

Category basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. It's always great to hear when a customer is happy with their B-Dry System. Please don't hesitate to contact us if you ever have any questions!

5.0

09/19/2014


Sara P N.

They did a very good job with the work. They completed the job in about a day and half. They were very professional and reasonable. It was a great experience.

Description of Work
They waterproofed my basement.

Category basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We are very happy to see your experience with B-Dry was great. Please don't hesitate to contact us if you ever have any questions.

3.0

09/17/2014


Kenneth A.

When they initially came out to complete the work, they were punctual for the most of the time and they completed the work on schedule. They completed the job within a few days. The work that they did was not done correctly. The sheeting that they had put up the sides of the walls had fallen down. They did come back to correct it. However, we have had some other concerns and they have not returned our phone calls. The salesperson had told us that if we ever needed him, he would be responsive. Neither he nor the main office has returned our phone calls. The pipe that they installed causes the dining room window to get fogged up. We are concerned about the moisture that may be coming in from that.

Description of Work
They completed encapsulation, installed a dehumidifiers under the house, replaced the sump pump, we had and re-ran the pipe that goes to the outside of our house.

Category basement waterproofing, wells, drain pipe

Service Provider Response

Feel free to contact us at any time and someone will come out to take care of your issue. Thanks. The B-Dry Team

5.0

09/17/2014


Wilson W.

The crew was good and efficient. They were real organized. They put up plastic sheeting so that the dust from the concrete wouldn't get onto any of our belongings . Everything turned out very good and it was a fine experience.

Description of Work
They completed basement waterproofing.

Category basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for writing us a review. We appreciate the A score! Please feel free to contact us if you ever have any questions.

5.0

06/18/2014


William Earl J.

It went well overall. They worked hard and as far as I can tell did a very good job. The only negative I have is, it was more expensive than I thought it would be.

Description of Work
Waterproofed basement and installed sump pump.

Category basement waterproofing, wells

Service Provider Response

We appreciate you leaving us some feedback. Thank you for the A score! If you ever have any questions, please don't hesitate to call.

1.0

10/17/2013


Barry R.

No response despite multiple contacts. I cannot comment on the quality of the work originally performed, but only that they are poorly responsive to honoring warranty work after the fact.

Description of Work
We purchased a house with an existing B-Dry "life of structure" warranty on waterproofing in the crawlspace. The inspector noted some standing water and we contacted B-Dry - twice by phone and once by letter - to evaluate the problem and honor the warranty. On the phone contact, the operator took my information, cautioned me that if B-Dry came out and it was a problem not related to their work they would charge me a service call fee and then said she would pass the information onto a "service manager" who would contact me within 48 hours. No response that that call or another, or a letter sent by the prior owners before the closing.

Category basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

We have tried to make contact with you multiple times as well. We would be happy to look over everything. Please contact us and we will make our best effort to see your home as quickly as possible.

5.0

07/09/2013


Sandra C.

This company did an excellent job waterproofing our basement. We recommend them to everybody. We haven't had a lick of water since they finished our basement about five or six years ago. Before they came out we used to have up to four inches of standing water in our basement after a hard rain.

Description of Work
They waterproofed our basement.

Category basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

These are exactly the types of reviews that we love to hear from all of our customers. You previously would have had up to four inches in your basement! That's incredible that you aren't experiencing anything at all now! We are so glad that you don't have to worry about that problem any longer. Thanks for the great review and please let us know if you ever need anything else from B-Dry!

5.0

05/06/2013


Wilson W.

They did a wonderful job. It went fine. They came out in a timely manner. They gave us a full estimate and told us how it was going to be done. They came back and did the work fairly quickly. They addressed the issues that I had. Everything's fine and we don't have anymore problem. The price was $1500 less than Olshan. For what they did, I think it was pretty good because it solved the problem without messing up my basement. They also put up a dust barrier because they had to use a jackhammer to get through the concrete floor. That was really thoughtful and kept everything from getting dusty. They had a national phone answering system for folks that checked up on them fairly regularly and that was appreciated that they were actually checking on them.

Description of Work
I had a basement wall leak from heavy rains and B-Dry dug up around the interior wall and put in some pipe and rocks and then concreted it over. Then they put up a barrier on the wall itself and screwed it into the wall so that when moisture comes through, it hits the barrier and drains down into the ground, the pipe and out the back wall.

Category basement waterproofing, drain pipe, foundation repair

Service Provider Response

Thanks for taking your time to write up your review and thanks especially for your great feedback on B-Dry! We love our customers tell others about their experiences. Glad we could solve your water issues! If there is anything you ever need from us, we're a phone call or click away. Your warranty will keep you covered for the life of the structure! Thanks again, The B-Dry Team bdry.com

4.0

08/02/2012


Cheryl B.

The overall job was a success and we are pleased with the finished product. The musty smell and mold that we have endured for 20 years is gone. We plan to finish the basement as a rec room for our grandkids. The job did have its issues, primarily because there was not good communication between the salesman, the construction crew and the customer. Classic case of say what the customer wants to hear to win the bid, but not put it in writing for the construction crew to perform and review it with the customer present. The misunderstandings had to be ironed out on the fly during the job when only the crew was available. Ultimately, B-Dry did all they said they would and more, but it required my presence and insistence to get the job done to my satisfaction. Admittedly, I am an anal engineer that has to understand all the details and will not accept a "sales" answer to a structural question. Our only complaint was that we returned from a trip late on Sunday night after they had finished the job on Friday. The house was 96 degrees at 9PM because they had opened the circuit breaker to the AC while fogging the basement for mold on Friday. They did not close the breaker before leaving and temperatures were near 100 that weekend.

Description of Work
B-Dry installed buried pipe all around the interior perimeter of my basement with a gravity drain to the front yard. They also installed white, rigid paneling in a little over half the basement to create the beginning of a "finished basement".

Category basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Thanks for your review!

2.0

07/20/2012


Lynn Y.

Someone came to check the basement but no one came to do the work. It was difficult trying to get a response from them in the following weeks.

Description of Work
They were supposed to send someone for basement waterproofing.

Category basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Please contact us at 800-737-2379 and we can get this figured out and someone to your home as soon as possible.

3.0

06/15/2012


Starr T.

Installation seemed to go fine. I chose B-Dry over Aquaguard, even though they were more expensive, because they agreed to remove the basement steps on their own- aquaguard told me I needed to find someone to do it. After installation, the crew left all my shelves and supplies in the basement in the center of the room and didn't put them back where they had been. They were covered with tons of dust. I put everything back myself. During the next hard rain, water seeped in from under ground where B-Dry had "waterproofed." I called the company and did not hear from them for several days. Someone finally came to meet with me, but the water had dried up so they did't do anything. During the next hard rain when it flooded again, I took pictures. I called the company and again it took forever for someone to come out, but I at least had the pictures to show them. A crew came out a week later and made repairs. Since then I have not had problems, but the initial failure of the system, expense, terrible customer service, and unwillingness to immediately fix the problem make me wish I had just gone with aquaguard.

Description of Work
waterproof basement and installation of sump pump and battery backup

Category basement waterproofing

5.0

06/11/2012


Clare S.

It was great. They guy that came out was really professional, conscientious and thorough.

Description of Work
They waterproofed my basement.

Category basement waterproofing

5.0

06/11/2012


Janice W.

They were wonderful! Everything has been great since. They were very professional and completed the work without any problems. We recommend them to anybody!

Description of Work
They drilled in the cement of our basement and put in a sump pump. Wish we did it 10 years ago because we have had no water in the basement since.

Category basement waterproofing, wells, drain pipe

4.0

06/11/2012


j F.

The concrete is dry and they did a good job, he needs to complete the floor, put the carpet back and complete the wall. They also need to come and clean everything up. The basement is a mess until he comes to finish. My husband has really bad asthma and it’s triggered by all of the dust in the air. We just want them to finish it up.

Description of Work
There was a leak in the basement. They had to tear the wall down and lay new concrete.

Category basement waterproofing, foundation repair

5.0

06/11/2012


Helen E.

The guy in the past that was in charge of doing our work knew exactly what they were talking about. They told us exactly what they were going to do. They were absolutely excellent. The second time they came out they completed the same work in a different part of the basement. When they came to do the second job, they were equally excellent. They were so pleasant in the house. They cleaned up, didn’t play loud music and they just came in and did what they were supposed to do.

Description of Work
They have completed two jobs. They took up concrete, remove the drywall and dug a trench in the concrete.

Category drywall, foundation repair

4.0

06/11/2012


James H.

We have had a ton of rain and everything so far has worked out great. We have had no complaints.

Description of Work
They had to sledgehammer up the entire basement which was a huge project. They then installed a drain in the basement floor.

Category basement waterproofing

4.0

10/03/2009


Eugene P.

B-Dry arrived when they said they would and went right to the flooded basement after making an examination of the ouside of the house and surrounded topography. As a eresult of their examination, they determined I had no problem with outside water entering the house. They said the problem was something other than their services could help. They did not try to "sell" me on anything I did not need.

Description of Work
I had a patially flooded basement with water that seemed to be accumulating and spreading. However, the water seemed not to be related to the rainy weather outside. Thinking that I had a foundation problem, I called B-Dry.

Category basement waterproofing

4.0

09/22/2008


Stuart J.

I was expecting there to be more care with containing the concrete dust then there was although I thought my mention of it before the job started encouraged what they did do. It is hard physical labor removing what they did but I thought the supervisor was inadequate to watching what the men did, particularly outside in the yard. I had not considered in advance that there would be clean up needed in the yard as well.

Description of Work
Jackhammering a trench in basement floor, removing debris, laying gravel and pipe to guide rain water to new sump pump when overflow is threatening.

Category basement waterproofing

5.0

05/02/2007


JIM S.

These guys were extremely professional. The work was done in a timely manner as it took them two days. They always called to let us know what they were doing and when. There was never any mess for us to clean up either.

Description of Work
B-Dry Waterproofing & Foundation Repair had to tear the entire lower wall in the basement, dug a trench and installed a pipe under the sub floor.

Category excavators, basement waterproofing, foundation repair

4.0

08/07/2006

B-Dry did a good job on our basement and I thought they did a high-quality job. I had heard good things about their company and I thought that the workers were kind and helpful. They were here when promised. I don t remember the price but I know that my husband thought it was a fair price. We have not had any problems with water in the basement since.

Description of Work
B-Dry Waterproofing-Foundation waterproofed our basement because we were having problems with water getting in during heavy rain.

Category basement waterproofing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Aqua-Guard Waterproofing, Inc.

    Aqua-Guard Waterproofing is a foundation waterproofing contractor. Aqua-Guard specializes in repairing wet or damp basements and crawlspaces. We install the Aqua-Guard Basement Waterproofing System and the Aqua-Guard Crawlspace System, both of which, carry our Life of the Structure Warranty. Aqua-Guard also specializes in crawlspace encapsulation which creates a healthy home environment. The Aqua-Guard Closed Crawlspace System eliminates musty odors, improves air quality, takes away the ability for mold and mildew to grow, and insulates the crawlspace, therefore, making the home more energy efficient.  

    ALABAMA PROFESSIONAL SERVICE INC

    Founded in 1977 and in its third generation as a family run business, Alabama Professional Services, Inc., is now one of the largest pest control and crawl space contractor companies in Alabama. By following through on a promise of excellent customer service, quality installations, and industry leading products, Craig Williams, President of Alabama Professional Services, Inc., and his company are constantly growing, establishing themselves in a position at the very top of their industry.  

    Peer-Less Roofing

    Our mission is to be a provider that brings back the personal touch with our customers. We will build a relationship that will last a lifetime after you see our quality work. As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. We won't leave until the job is done right! Call or click to schedule an estimate today! Additional phone 205.517.0612  

    No License Required for Trade
    Trade License Number
    201601105
    Trade License Locale
    Alabama
    Trade License Authority
    Revenue Dept. City of Mountain Brook
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Basement waterproofing, crawl space waterproofing & foundation repair.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about B-Dry Waterproofing and Foundation Repair

    How is B-Dry Waterproofing and Foundation Repair overall rated?

    B-Dry Waterproofing and Foundation Repair is currently rated 4.3 overall out of 5.

    What days are B-Dry Waterproofing and Foundation Repair open?

    B-Dry Waterproofing and Foundation Repair is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM

    What payment options does B-Dry Waterproofing and Foundation Repair provide

    B-Dry Waterproofing and Foundation Repair accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does B-Dry Waterproofing and Foundation Repair offer free estimates?

    Yes, B-Dry Waterproofing and Foundation Repair offers free project estimates.

    Does B-Dry Waterproofing and Foundation Repair offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, B-Dry Waterproofing and Foundation Repair offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by B-Dry Waterproofing and Foundation Repair?

    Yes, B-Dry Waterproofing and Foundation Repair offers warranties.

    What services does B-Dry Waterproofing and Foundation Repair offer?

    B-Dry Waterproofing and Foundation Repair offers the following services: Basement waterproofing, crawl space waterproofing & foundation repair.