Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

House Surgeons of Alaska

Founded 1982 • With Angi since August 2010

3.4

(24) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

6641 Wes Way

Anchorage, AK 99518

Description

House Surgeons of Alaska is a family owned and operated business that has been in business since 1982. We are fully licensed and bonded. MOA Contractors License Number: CON2569 - expires 2/14/2016. Alaska Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development, Alaska Business License

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Barbara P.
5.0
08/16/2017
The kitchen is in a one-story part of the house so they went into the attic space. They also- as a courtesy- fixed the position of the hooks for my pot racks. They created a new hole for the exhaust and installed a proper vent. They patched the old vent hole. We got lots of insulating foam, too.
Description of Work
We needed a professional-type range hood installed. The job was rather complicated- It had to be hung with all-thread from the ceiling joists.
Category
remodeling
DeWayne I.
3.0
12/18/2014
unknown
Category
remodeling
Alan P.
5.0
12/18/2014
unknown
Description of Work
Removed and directly replaced original lumber front steps and elevated back deck with up to date treated lumber and Trex decking material. Back decking has much better design now and integrates seamlessly with another ground level deck, making the outdoor living space a nice and safe place to relax. Importantly, the crew was able to start early, finish early, and were very professional. Well done, and well recommended!
Category
decks, remodeling
Jamie T.
1.0
09/25/2014
Came out for a job estimate on Saturday. I called Tuesday to see where the bid was and was told I would get it later that day or the next. Here it is Thursday and still no bid. Not a reliable company. I Guess they don't want the business.
Description of Work
Job estimate
Category
remodeling

Service Provider Response

I am sorry to hear our time was not that fast and accommodating for you. You called Friday the 19th we came out the following day Saturday the 20th on Ken's day off to get out and look at the work in question. He then got the BID back to you on Wednesday night, I see we resent the BID on Thursday due to a misspelled letter in the email. We do apologize that the BID wasn't back to you in a timely fashion. I just would like to point out a few things you left out 1) The detail was of no charge to you, 2) This was on his day off, 3) This is not a simple repair it's a complete remodel of a bathroom, so with this being said it took additional time. Yes, you did call on Tuesday and ask about the BID the lady on the phone said you would have it today or the next day we complied to ALL this, but with a simple mistake in an email it caused a delay in time. However there was a BID to you within 5 Business days after you called House Surgeons. But Thank You for your interest in House Surgeons and Sorry that House Surgeons couldn't satisfy your needs.
Michael S.
1.0
04/21/2014
unknown
Description of Work
Improperly installed bosch dishwasher drain hose. Took 2 inexperienced employees over 2 hours for install. Crimped drain hose leaked waster over our Brazilian hardwood cherry floors for over a week. Water damaged leaked entire kitchen, hallway and dining room floors. Had to do mold remediation and crawl space inspections to ensure no further damage . Botched new replacement floor installation by not following manufacturers instructions. Used twenty plus nailed per 2 foot flooring piece and used glue on top of that. Shoddy work, no communication between us, contractor and contractors office.Wasills Lowes fired them for poor all around performance and replaced them with independent contractor, Klay Kasting who did a magnificent job. Do not use House Surgeons!!!! |
Category
remodeling
Kat H.
1.0
04/01/2014
We used this company for several projects, for the first year or so everything was great, now we find ceiling Sheetrock is sagging, light bulbs blow out due to faulty wiring, the Deck is a total disaster very expensive, poorly installed, poor communication, I did call to see what they would do to repair the deck I was told they wouldn't repair or replace anything, Dreadful customer service, rude and arrogant owner
Description of Work
They Were to tear down a large older deck and replace it with a TREX deck, the cost was outrageous, I paid it as the finished product looked great, 5years have passed, the deck railings have come apart, 6-8 foot lengths of the railing need to be replaced, the railings we now find, were installed upside down,to save a little we chose to use pressure treated wood 2X2s instead of the TREX spindles they didnt tell us that this wouldn't work as the TREX fasteners don't work with the pressure treated wood, they shot staples through the TREX railing into the pressure treated spindles,said staples are falling out. all three gates have fallen off 2-3 times each. the screws to hold the gates in place have stripped the wood, obviously not strong enough to hold the heavy gates. Do not use this company for anything
Category
remodeling
Angela L.
5.0
03/10/2014
Went off without a hitch. Two workers removed old windows and installed new windows. Price was comparable to other bids. Workers showed up later than expected on first day but finished the work in two days. I was completely satisfied.
Description of Work
Replace 8 windows
Category
remodeling, replacement windows
Jennifer S.
1.0
03/10/2014
I called House Surgeons to come quote installing a replacement back door. At the time I asked for a sliding glass door quote but told them I was not 100% sure. A few days after the quote I called and talked to Melissa about the difference between sliding and just putting another french door in. She explained that I should go to Timberline Mills on Post Rd as this was their preferred door company and were they would order the door from. She also advise that I should talk to them about the difference in the doors they would help me. While at Timber Mills I call Melissa again and spoke with her about what I and Timberline were talking about. I did decide to go with French door again. John the guy at Timberline also spoke with Melissa while I was there so everyone was on the same page. Timberline asked me to please make a deposit, I call Melissa back to tell her what they were telling me. She said to go ahead and they would remove the deposit from the amount owed to House Surgeons. I told her I did not know what size door i need to order and she said they would give Timberline the measurement they took. So I left Timberline feeling as thou I had a good energy efficient door chosen for me house. Three weeks went by and I called House Surgeons to see where the door was to being built and installed. Melissa said she would call Timberline and call me back. When she called back she said it was not ready yet. Another three weeks goes by and I call Melissa again and she tells me she will call Timberline and let me know. She returns this call and says I have to finish paying for the door. I explain I thought they were and she said well it will be easier if you do. So I called Timberline and pay off the door. Two weeks later House Surgeons comes to install the door. In November they remove my old door and install the new one. When I came home that evening I notice my blinds were off centered and I had ice build up on the new door. I called house Surgeons the next day and spoke to them they call Timberline and they said Ice build up meant there was a good seal. And I told them there was unfinished work on the install. Melissa asked if her and owner could come out the next day to see the work. SO we scheduled an appoint for them to view. I arrived at the home and House Surgeons called 5 minutes after appointment and said they were unable to come out. Two weeks later they came out, I came home on lunch and found them on my back porch unannounced. They reviewed the work and determined that some finishing work need to be done/. They also explain that the door I had order was to big so they cut out a stud. I asked why they didnt call me. They said they did it all the time and figured I would want the door installed instead of a wood board over the door way. I told them that was not ok and I need a different door and the stud back. They told me no I order door and gave wrong measurements to Timberline and that there was nothing they could do. So I called Timberline to confirm the measurements of the door and were the measurements were received. They said they got them from Melissa. Now this is when the finger pointing began. Long story short I had to call the insurance company and two engineers later and a year time. They had to install reinforcements for the stud they removed. Then once that was done they sent me a bill via email. I ask that they please send me a break down of the bill to my mailing address. The same day I received the break down bill they threaten me with a lien on my home if I did not pay with in 5 days. The bill had not even been generated till 5 prior to my receiving it. They did not call me to talk about this but sent me an email threatening me of a lien on my home. Never had I seen any bill during this time. I will never use them again. I will not suggest them again. Nothing.
Description of Work
Installed back door
Category
remodeling, doors

Service Provider Response

When confirming a door that is ordered by the CUSTOMER it's good to tell the contractors which door is being ordered due to discrepancy in measurements. When it comes to a slider and French door they are NOT the same in measurements. Yes measurements were given to Timberline, but when a customer orders a door they become responsible for the order NOT the contractor, so the measurements should have been FULLY confirmed by the customer. NOW if the contractor ordered the door they would have confirmed ALL measurements before installing. WE installed a CUSTOMER purchased door that goes to show a PROFESSIONAL should take care of millwork products or at least get someone to make sure ALL is correct before purchasing a door. I will no longer comment to another email from this customer above. There is more to be said, due to all her accusations about the time frames are WRONG. If she did not like the work or product then why did she ask for House Surgeons to come back to her home, Timberline would have no problem sending someone else out, because it was a CUSTOMER purchased door.
JANET B.
5.0
02/10/2014
Good
Description of Work
Checklist of items were done by one company. They were punctual and professional.
Category
remodeling
Lori S.
2.0
12/22/2013
House Surgeons was the contractor hired by the seller of my house to fix deficiencies identified during my home inspection. They started in June and it took until October for them to do some of the work. In the end it took so long for them to respond, my realtor and myself used other contractors to finish the work in November Several of the items House Surgeons "repaired" failed the reinspection several times. The other contractors i hired were the ones who completed the items so they finally passed the reinspection The roofer I hired said House Surgeons' repair was the worst he had ever seen. I would not recommend House Surgeons.
Description of Work
House Surgeons was the contractor hired by the seller of my house to fix deficiencies identified during my home inspection. They started in June and it took until October for them to do some of the work. In the end it took so long for them to respond, my realtor and myself used other contractors to finish the work in November Several of the items House Surgeons "repaired" failed the reinspection several times. The other contractors i hired were the ones who completed the items so they finally passed the reinspection The roofer I hired said House Surgeons' repair was the worst he had ever seen. I would not recommend House Surgeons.
Category
remodeling
JW P.
5.0
10/14/2013
Excellent, Provider did as asked and was responsive to all requests
Description of Work
Installed Windows
Category
drywall, remodeling, woodworking, doors
debbie H.
3.0
09/20/2013
see above
Description of Work
we requested a price quote on having the foundation waterproofed and having rain gutters put on the house, they came right away to do the estimate but then never got back to me with the price or a response when they could do the job, the person came to measure for rain gutters and they didn't call me back with that estimate either. so when i called them back they said it was too late in the season to do the foundation but also never gave me a price so I could decide if I wanted it done when the ground thawed out. So they must not want my business.
Category
gutter repair, basement waterproofing, foundation repair
Karen L.
5.0
05/09/2013
Called, made appointment, met with the rep. He understood immediately what work was needed, scheduled a day a few days from that date, and did the work. Awesome experience.
Description of Work
Replaced trim, touched up paint, and helped us prepare home for insurance re-inspection. Responsiveness was wonderful, the company responded within a day or calling them, and fixed everything in a couple of hours. They charged less than quoted, and did superior work. Want to have them back for remodeling the home next summer.
Category
remodeling, woodworking, house painters
Beth B.
2.0
03/25/2013
Although the door initially seemed fine, after settling occurred, we have had to have a different contractor come out & fix the door, resetting it twice due to House Surgeon's failure to wait for the glue to settle & to account for the natural shifting of the Alaskan landscape. Because House Surgeons is run by a man who has been in Alaska for over 30 years, a person would expect the firm to be fully aware of & account for the unique nature of Alaska's land. Every other contracting company I have worked with during our home remodeling process was also run by long-time Alaska residents & in no other case have I had to have work redone. In addition, House Surgeons refused to return & correct the issue after we discovered the first problem about six (6) months after the original installation. They only warranty their work for 60 days! Other contracts warranty anywhere from six (6) months to one (1) year due to the fact that they are aware that it often take seasonal changes to expose any possible issues in new construction.
Description of Work
Construction & installation of custom shower stall door in our 3/4 bathroom.
Category
remodeling

Service Provider Response

We at House Surgeons are astonished to hear this about the shower door. As of 12/2/2008 we were NEVER notified about such issues. If there was any problems with the install or door we would have come back out at anytime to reaccess the problem. You stated that "natural shifting" occured after the install. Well as an alaskan of 30+ years I am still not aware of when the "natural shifting" will occure, it's a natural thing for earth & land to go through. You also stated that we only give "60 Day" Warranty. Well in the CERTIFICATE OF COMPLETION contract that was signed by your husband Paul Bauer on 11/3/2008 states: "If any defects in material or workmanship shall be discovered in the work furnished or material used during the courseof the work or within ONE YEAR from the date of the certification of completion, or if such defects are laten within a reasonable time after which said latent defects are discovered, the undersigned shall forthwith replace or correct such defective work or material." And in the bottom section that's called WAIVER OF LEIN and ONE YEAR WARRANTY was signed by an employee at House Surgeons on 11/3/2008. This was given to use by Lowes the Contractor to make sure the project was completed and satisfactory. This justifies that we are relaible for any defects or issues that you have for one year or longer if the installer agrees that there was a defect in install or material. If you would like a copy I will be more then happy to email you one just email me at housesurgeonsofalaska@gmail.com. Sorry to hear about the second contractor for coming out twice I wonder what was actually wrong with the door in the first place if he had to come out twice. I understand the shifting of the house, but he should have just readjusted it and resealed it with the caulking and it shuld have been fine. You also state that this poject was a $2,000 project I am not aware that the project was that much. I have here a fee of $224.00 paid by Lowes the Contractor, since we are a subcontractor Lowes should have notified us with any issues or problems with the shower door. We apologize that you have been mislead on a project that should have been dealt with right away. If you have any questions my email is above.
Elaine P.
1.0
01/26/2013
Terrible. Didn't show up or perform work in a timely manner. Did marginal work and when contacted to fix problems made promises but didn't follow through. I wasn't impressed with workmanship, professionalism, timeliness, cost overruns, just the entire project. I will not ever use them again.
Description of Work
Install garage door, custom woodwork.
Category
garage doors, remodeling, woodworking

Service Provider Response

First of all, House Surgeons was never hired for this job. The customer hired a person for who works for House Surgeons of Alaska to perform the work.
Marjorie C.
5.0
10/17/2012
Instead of 2 smaller panes, they put in 1 bigger window. Every time I've had them do work, it's been a good experience. They are very thorough, clean up nicely, and do a good job. They provide timely estimates, too. I am going to have them come back and do some more work very soon.
Description of Work
They installed a large new kitchen window for me.
Category
remodeling, replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind comments. We really appreciate your business and look forward to working for you in the future.
rebecca T.
4.0
05/09/2012
They came up with remodeling ideas that were creative and economical. They did good, solid work. It took them a few weeks to finish the work and their prices were really good.
Description of Work
I used House Surgeons of Alaska for installing new hardwood floors in the kitchen and two bathrooms. They installed a new ceiling and performed some wall work. They also put a beam in my living room floor.
Category
hardwood floor, remodeling, home remodeling
Eli F.
4.0
04/04/2012
The work was completed as agreed, even though they were little slow at times, Overall, it was expensive, but for the complexity it beat having to hire individual plumbers, carpenters, electricians etc.
Description of Work
We hired House Surgeons to upgrade two older rental units for sale and correct all the deficiencies noted by the home inspector: new bathroom exhaust installed, windows made operable, exterior eaves repaired, new tub and surround installed, GFCIs installed etc
Category
bathtub refinishing, contractors, glass repair, remodeling, siding, replacement windows, doors

Service Provider Response

This was an older house, so a lot of items that needed repair was uncovered after removing wall coverings. Some of the repairs, the owner chose to accomplish themselves. But overall we worked well with the customer to complete the project. Thanks for your response.
Marjorie C.
5.0
03/19/2012
They were very business like, efficient and clean. They did what they said they would do.
Description of Work
They put in energy efficient doors for me.
Category
remodeling, replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thanks again for allowing House Surgeons of Alaska to work on your home.
Becky H.
5.0
03/05/2012
They were very thorough and professional. They did a great job.
Description of Work
We had some general remodeling done.
Category
remodeling
Christina N.
5.0
08/20/2011
Less expensive than many companies, nevertheless the work is high quality and done in a professional manner. If they make a mistake, it is fixed quickly. They are busy with many jobs so you may have to call and remind and check in now and then, but they get it done. I'd work with them again for sure. They also let me do the less skilled part if I wished to save some money and worked with me to get the best result without wasting money. Pleasant to interact with.
Description of Work
Small older home bath tear out, new insulation, tile, paint, flooring. Drywall repair, molding install and carpentry.
Category
remodeling
Roman D.
2.0
06/01/2011
We bought doors from one company and House Surgeons was the contractor the door company used to have them installed. We were really disappointed in the craftsmanship and care they put into installing these doors. At some point none of the doors would shut; one didn't shut right after they put it in. To fix that, we had to call the office of the people we bought the doors from and both the boss of House Surgeons and the door office came to see (they didn't believe us I guess). The workers did return and fixed it but made it look bad with their quick and dirty saws-all work and shoddy caulking. The workers also srpayed too much foam into the door jams and these warped the jams. They left a mess everywhere they worked. They always seemed to be forgetting something and had to go back to the truck and elsewhere to get it -- there were three of them and they acted like the three stooges smoking weed -- it was frustrating to see them work. I also found out that the door people charge over what House Surgeons charge, taking a cut from the installation. Maybe this is normal, but I really didn't like the door people either. The door they returned to repair does shut, then a second door "fixed itself" and now shuts, but the squeaky front door needs to be forcefully shut and squeaks when opening and closing. The striker plate was also installed improperly. My overall opinion is that they rush the job to get to the next one, and then belittle the customer to make you think you are the dummy. They were so bad that I have decided to do these house things myself, rather than pay thousands to have stooges do the work.
Description of Work
We had three doors put in, all exterior.
Category
remodeling
Richard H.
1.0
05/02/2011
House Surgeons was the flooring installer for the product I purchased at LOWES. Person sent to the residence to measure called after the appointment time and canceled. Said she did not have my number, but it was on the LOWES documents. She also said she did not get my call. Upon reschedule, she showed up late, and did not seem to know much about flooring though she said she had done it for a long time. The installers were late and there were four of them, though they only left one to do the job. It seemed like they hired some day labor that day. They did a very poor job, my carpet actually squeaks - that never happened in the over ten years I had carpet in other rooms. They scratched the built-ins I have with the abrasive side of the carpet. I had to insist they return to seam the carpet on one side of the room that had a two-three inch gap from the wall. Though contracted for they never did cut my door down to size to accommodate for the new higher carpet - I had to do that myself. During the installation, they attempted to add on some additional charges in a phone call from they office. I said no. When it was all over LOWES was quite nice, offered a partial refund, discount on any future prase of flooring an apology and said they were recommending they this company would not be used in the future. Warning this company and workers use other company names as well.
Description of Work
Install carpet and pad.
Category
flooring contractor, remodeling
Sarah S.
4.0
01/05/2011
Went perfect little more than half a day
Description of Work
Good job installing new bay window and fixing work done by (company name removed) who did not even come close to their illegal and uninsured bid. House Surgeons were ontime, did the work they said they could do and had a price half of what (company name removed) offered. And the other company thought it was funny to offer a discount for s**. So I was very very happy with HS for their professionalism. The Bay had to totally be built around the vinyl window and insulated and installed. Kudos to House Surgeons
Category
remodeling, replacement windows

    Other local Pros in your area

    Rico construction

    We are a company with very good experience in the area of interior and exterior painting, we have qualified personnel for our projects. More than 10 years of experience guarantee us in the market. We comply with the state requirements for your trust, we have a legally established company license, bond and insurance. we also do drywall repairs, apply texture and install laminate flooring phone number 907 201 9767  

    Angi Certified

    Arias Multi Service

    With over 20 years of experience our mission is to be a provider that brings back the personal touch with our customers. We will build a relationship that will last a lifetime after you see our quality work. As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. Call or message us to schedule an estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    Best Youngs Paint

    our company has been operating in anchorage for 5 years. we used to work at california for 15 years. Also we have general contrator Lic# 133160 for remodeling houses. we are not expensive, we are not cheap, but we're good at our job. thank you  

    Angi Certified

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Install Ceiling Fans, Windows, Doors, Cabinets, Roofing, Garage Doors, Sinks, Faucets, Carpet, Vinyl, Tile, Laminate, Bamboo, Granite, Gutters, Dishwashers, Microwave Ovens, Bathtubs, & Countertops.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about House Surgeons of Alaska

    How is House Surgeons of Alaska overall rated?

    House Surgeons of Alaska is currently rated 3.4 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does House Surgeons of Alaska provide

    House Surgeons of Alaska accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does House Surgeons of Alaska offer free estimates?

    Yes, House Surgeons of Alaska offers free project estimates.

    Does House Surgeons of Alaska offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, House Surgeons of Alaska offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does House Surgeons of Alaska offer a senior discount?

    No, House Surgeons of Alaska does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by House Surgeons of Alaska?

    Yes, House Surgeons of Alaska offers warranties.

    What services does House Surgeons of Alaska offer?

    House Surgeons of Alaska offers the following services: Install Ceiling Fans, Windows, Doors, Cabinets, Roofing, Garage Doors, Sinks, Faucets, Carpet, Vinyl, Tile, Laminate, Bamboo, Granite, Gutters, Dishwashers, Microwave Ovens, Bathtubs, & Countertops.

    Are there any services House Surgeons of Alaska does not offer?

    Ask for details.