Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Handyman Connection of Winchester

4.7

(147) Verified Reviews

Founded 2008 • With Angi since December 2009

Licensed
Trade License Number
2705122810
Trade License Locale
Virginia
Trade License Authority
Virginia: Contractors
Trade License Expiration
06/30/2024
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Phone Number

Address

1838 Roberts St

Winchester, VA 22601

https://www.handymanconnection.com/winchester/

Description

For every home maintenance need that may arise, Handyman Connection is committed to providing you with dependable and skilled Handyman, great customer service, and first class workmanship. Just one call or click brings our expertise right to your door. Handyman Connection can help turn your "to-do" list into "done." Additional contact name - Tiffany Peters....

Verified Reviews

4.7

(147) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

116

4

8

3

10

2

5

1

8

Rating Details

Price

4.4

Professionalism

4.7

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.7

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

handyman (132)door installation (20)decks & porches (19)drywall (14)home remodeling (13)woodworking (10)interior painting (7)general contractors (7)lighting (6)ceiling fan installation (5)gutter cleaning (5)tile installation (4)
Showing 1-25 of 147 reviews
1.0

07/28/2022


Robert M.

No estimate or work was done so I can't comment on any of that. The salesman apparently so hated to wear a mask that he felt the need to be rude and unprofessional. When an emergency occurred during his visit, he got angry and ran – embarrassing himself and his company. To add insult to injury the company leadership felt the need to insult and try to provoke me. Yes, at the same time the salesman arrived we had a pet emergency. Clearly a minor one to some. The death of a baby chick. Sounds like a joke but it isn't. I have limited mobility so I shouted to my wife for help believing my wife's remaining chicks were also in immediate jeopardy. She was in her flower garden so I opened the window and shouted for her by name. She could not hear me. After watching the remaining chicks suffer in pain I again called for her. Panicking now, I shouted a third time as loud as I could for her, again by name. Not knowing the salesman had even arrived. I didn't know why she was delayed. Hearing me, our oldest son left his mom with the salesman and came to my aid. Upon his arrival and after seeing and evaluating the situation, he went for help. I left the room with him. At that point I saw the salesman, for the first time, in our bathroom at the sink with the door wide open. I asked (using please and sir) he allow me into the bathroom. Like a shot he left the bathroom, angrily stomped down the stairs, out the door and sped away. When I saw my wife she was almost in tears. She was very upset and it took her a number of minutes just to calm down. According to her, and my son, the salesman came up to her in the garden not wearing a mask. We had requested he wear one and was assured by the scheduler that he would. When she asked if he would put on a mask he leaned forward into her face and shouted "what!?!" I can't explain how freighted she told me she was. My son told me he was shocked and believed the salesman came so close to her face and over-accentuated his response to demonstrate how much he resented being asked to wear a mask. My son said it was as if the salesman was faking a cough or sneeze into a customer's face as others have done before being thrown out of stores, etc. According to my son, at this point he heard my shouts for help and left his mom with the salesman and ran to help me. According to my wife, the salesman then held a mask to his face and sarcastically said, all right!?, can we do this!? He apparently followed her as she quickly walked away from him and toward the house. When he entered the house right on her heels, he again very sarcastically said, can we just do this now!? As she described it to me, she with up the stairs with him closely behind. When she went to show him the needed work upstairs, he just left her and went to the bathroom - where I saw him for the first time. Any animal dying in my hands touches my heart - that's just me. As a 60+ yr old 100% permanently disabled veteran you can accuse me of being overly sensitive. My wife is a long retired 30+ year RN, nearly my age and is now my full-time care giver. I am house bound without her. Clearly she and I are not a threat to anyone. Immediately, not knowing what happened I called Handyman Connection twice, hoping to reach someone to find out what had happened. I left two message asking for a return call immediately from someone in authority; that I didn't know if I needed to call an ambulance or the police since my wife was unable to tell me what happened. I wanted an explanation and I wanted it immediately. I got a call back alright…. Apparently from one of the owners. He said he had spoken to the salesman already and knew exactly what happened. He sarcastically 'apologized' and that his salesman understood, that my wife and I must just be ‘having a bad day.’ I was livid. When I accused his salesman of being "mean" to my wife the owner's anger exceeded mine by 100%. He made it clear to me his worker had been an employee for many years and had "hundreds" of positive reviews - that it was just me and my wife. When I repeatedly tried to express the results of the salesman's visit -- the owner verbally fought me, clearly not even pretending to consider any other view but his own. I am not a fighter. I have gone to great lengths to avoid conflict, even to the point of accepting, even fainting support when someone misses or needs to change an appointment, etc. This is a weakness that I have been working on for years. I will do anything to avoid making others feel sad, bad or embarrassed. However, the salesman, and now the company owner had insulted my wife. The owner refused to give me an email address so I could more clearly explain what had happened when I calmed down. He said he didn't want to hear any more of it, or from me again. He added that I was obviously a serial complainer and I didn't matter anyway. He ended by hanging up on me.

Description of Work
Misc. projects around out home

Category pressure washing

Work Completed On 07/28/2022

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], we would like to start by saying our condolences for your baby chick passing away. As a pet-friendly office, we can only imagine how heartbroken you and your wife were to have that experience. When our craftsman arrived, it appears that it was in the midst of this event, which had to be challenging to process so many feelings all at once. Our craftsman arrived on time for the appointment and heard shouting, but was unaware of the context. Naturally, it put him a little on guard as he didn’t understand the circumstances. After asking our craftsman to wait on the porch, your wife led him in to start the estimate appointment of the bathroom window. When you yelled at him to get out of the bathroom, his discomfort increased, and he went to his van and left. While we understand that this was not the correct response, we understand his reasoning. Our craftsman contacted us as he left the property, and we were on the line when you called, so we missed your call. Once we heard your message, we immediately contacted you. It was during this conversation with our owner that we were finally made aware of the emergency you were experiencing. Had our craftsman known about this situation, we would have rescheduled our appointment and expressed our condolences. In regards to the mask, we spoke to our craftsman directly. He had his mask pulled down while on the porch, but did pull it up when entering the house. Our company has been committed to social distancing and keeping our customers and staff safe ever since the pandemic began. We’re deeply sorry if you felt you were hung up on. We expressed our condolences for your loss and explained why our craftsman felt uncomfortable and left. At some point during the phone call, our owner felt the call was circular so they ended it. We feel terrible that you were dealing with that at the time of the appointment, and we're sorry to leave your estimate incomplete. However, we wish you nothing but the best and our sincerest condolences. Bryan, Owner of Handyman Connection
5.0

01/03/2022


Peter K.

Professional all the way; I was updated regularly and had no surprises. On top of that everyone was so darn pleasant! Definitely will use them again.

Description of Work
Removing old shutters and hanging new plus some general repairs

Category handyman service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/28/2021

5.0

08/12/2021


Joanne K.

“Handyman Connection was a God-send. I needed an AC for my handicapped brother installed. They were so kind and so efficient. It was a breath of fresh air to talk to real people over the phone. Tiffany and Tracy were very customer-friendly and understanding. Marc was an excellent handyman and great with my brother. I highly recommend this company and their services!„

Description of Work
AC installed

Category contractors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/12/2021

5.0

02/26/2021


joe S.

Handyman connections added stairs to one of my decks on a new construction home. The stairs look absolutely amazing. They also had the county inspect their work to ensure the work meets code. And the project was completed within the estimated budget. Kudos to the entire team to include Bruce, the craftsman that did most of the work on site.

Description of Work
Stairs added to deck

Category contractors, decks, woodworking

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/26/2021

1.0

11/19/2020


Marie W.

So far, it hasn't gone anywhere. Mr. Peters came to measure and get my preferences. On 10/23/20 I was sent only a partial bid on the job. I reminded Mr. Peters of the options I would like to have. After two weeks, I emailed and asked if they were still interested. About a week later I got an email from his office stating Mr. Peters was on a job and would be in touch. I haven't heard from him since.

Description of Work
build new 8 x 10 deck

Category contractors, decks

Work Completed On 11/19/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your feedback and we apologize we have not been able to respond back with the 2nd estimate you requested after receiving the 1st estimate we provided. The 1st estimate was a full estimate for building the deck using pressure treated materials. We truly apologize for the delayed response on providing you a 2nd estimate. During 2020 we have been faced with scheduling limitations and unforeseen challenges due to the COVID pandemic. Our Service Advisor Bryan who met with you to provide the initial estimate is taking on multiple roles this year, not only meeting with clients to provide estimates but he is also working as a craftsman on our sold jobs. He has to balance working on estimates, revisions, answering questions, placing materials orders, physically working on the jobsite, etc. Since receiving your email, we have been in contact with you to advise that Bryan has not had lot of time in the office due to working on an jobsite & that we would be back in touch. We understand that as a potential customer, you may feel like we are "pushing you off" but that is very much not the case, we are just trying to do the best we can with limited resources. We appreciate your understanding and working with us through these challenges.
3.0

09/04/2020


Dennis J.

I never heard back from them after the second meeting.

Description of Work
Deck repair or replacement

Category contractors, decks, deck cleaning

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/04/2020

5.0

02/06/2020


Neftali D.

Handyman Connection sent Todd Larsen, a plumber, when I made a request for one. Instead I got a skilled professional who understood how to do the job, a perfectionist that was able to solve developing issues on the run when the job threaten to stop the project. Time and again Todd solved work progress issues without excuses. The job was completed faster than expected at a reasonable price. Way to go Handyman Connection. N.Diaz - 2/4/2020

Description of Work
Plumbing services

Category handyman service, plumbing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/04/2020

5.0

01/29/2020


Susan A.

Very well. I picked out most items I wanted and paid for them, scheduled them for pickup by Handyman. Handyman would pickup some supplies as determined in the contract. Debbie was helpful with suggestions or advise when asked. Also, always professional, timely and cleaned up afterwards. I believe all labor charges were very reasonable.

Description of Work
Front door replaced. Bathroom remodeling. Water damaged ceiling fixed and repainted and more.

Category drywall, electrician, handyman service, plumbing, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/08/2020

5.0

11/21/2019


Sabrina H.

Excellent job!! On time, friendly, and did amazing work!!! Thank you so so much!!!!!! :)

Description of Work
Shutter repair

Category handyman service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/20/2019

5.0

09/19/2019


Steve A.

The owners of the Winchester location, Bryan and Tiffany, selflessly worked with me to address a few concerns from a previous project (deck). Bryan took the time to understand my concerns and quickly offered ways to correct the problems (nothing structural). Additionally, Bryan went far above and beyond as compared to what I expected in order to ensure I was happy with the overall project. I highly recommend Handyman Connection of Winchester to anyone looking to have a small or large project done at their home.

Description of Work
Repairs to a deck and railing

Category decks, handyman service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/19/2019

1.0

09/18/2019


Andrew B.

After I submitted my project to Handyman Connection of Winchester via Angie's List a rep called me to set up an appointment. I mentioned that Angie's List states that they do not do free estimates and if that is so then it is unacceptable. The rep told me that estimates are free. After I scheduled an appointment I received an email. The email includes language at the bottom of the email in small font "*may exclude diagnostic fees, varies by location." I then emailed Handyman Connection and asked, "what is a diagnostic fee and could it apply to me?" A few minutes later I received a call from the rep I spoke with on a different line which I let go to voicemail. The rep stated that "there is a diagnostic fee for this" and she'd like me to call back to discuss. To me, this is a huge red flag and not the way I like to conduct business. If I have to deal with type of nonsense from the get go then what could that portend during a project? That said, I immediately notified them that they lost my business.

Description of Work
Deck replace and install.

Category decks, handyman service

Work Completed On 09/18/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your feedback and we apologize for any miscommunication or misunderstanding. A great customer service experience is very important to us, therefore we strive to be up front and transparent as possible when communicating with our customers. It saddens us that this misunderstanding occurred. As we explained on our initial phone call with you, there would be no charge for providing you with an estimate on your deck project. After scheduling an appointment with you, an automated confirmation is sent out to which you replied. Upon receiving your email response of "What is a diagnostic fee and could it apply to me?" Our office called you, left a message and sent an email to answer your question. We advised there would NOT be a diagnostic fee for your project (replace decking) as the project does not require any diagnostic work. We asked in both the phone message and email that you please call us back so we could be sure you received our correspondence and understood that there was no diagnostic fee/charge that would apply to your deck project estimate. The confirmation email you received is a automated email that goes out for every appointment we schedule. As we provide many types of services, the confirmation email includes general verbiage that reads "Provide a Complimentary* Estimate - *May Exclude Diagnostic Fees, varies by location." .We did just want to speak to this and explain that a diagnostic fee would NOT apply to every estimate. A diagnostic fee would only be necessary for plumbing or electrical requests where there is an unknown issue that needs to be looked into to determine what the problem is (i.e. a leak or outlets not working). If a diagnostic fee is applicable to a project, our office would advise of this during the initial call prior to scheduling the appointment. Again, we offer our apologies. Please contact our office at 540-450-0671 if you have any other questions.
1.0

12/10/2018


Paul R.

Made an appt. he rescheduled and then didn't show up..

Description of Work
To build DECK on back of house

Category decks, handyman service

Work Completed On 12/10/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your feedback. Our records show we had an appointment scheduled with you for 10/22/18 at 4pm to provide an estimate. We placed a confirmation call and email to you on 10/19/18 at 2:17p as a reminder of the scheduled appointment for 10/22/18 4:00pm. Our records also show that you returned a call to our office on 10/19/18 3:08p to cancel this appointment because you had a conflict on your schedule. We cancelled the appointment with you per your request and offered to reschedule for our next available opening of 11/19/18. You didn't accept the date offered to you as you said it was too far out and you hoped to have the deck built by then. Therefore, no appointment was ever rescheduled with you. We apologize if there was any confusion. If you are still interested in meeting for an estimate, we would be happy to discuss scheduling a new appointment date & time with you. Please contact our office at 540-450-0671. Thank you!
5.0

11/15/2018


Loretta F T.

The work was great, everything went well. Excellent experience, they were on time right on schedule. Responsiveness was good, they work very professionally.

Description of Work
Complete Full Bathroom Remodeling Project

Category handyman service

Cost $13,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/01/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business and your feedback! We enjoyed working with you and we are so happy to hear you are pleased with the bath remodeling project we completed at your home! We pride ourselves on delivering quality workmanship and excellent customer service! Thank you again for your business - We really appreciate it. We look forward to connecting with you on future home projects!
5.0

08/13/2018


Nina P.

Through Handyman Connection we were able to obtain the services and skills of Terry who was able to fix everything and now the bathroom looks amazing!

Description of Work
Upstairs bathroom needed repairs to door, walls (drywall and painting) and fixtures.

Category drywall, handyman service, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

Cost $1,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/06/2018

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your repeat business with Handyman Connection and we enjoy working with you! Thank you for sharing this wonderful feedback and we are so happy to hear your bathroom looks amazing! We look forward to connecting with you on future home projects!
5.0

04/14/2018


Nina P.

Project completed and ceiling looks great!

Description of Work
ceiling paneling replacement

Category handyman service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/05/2018

5.0

02/24/2018


Pedro D.

Dave, the man who did the work, was very knowledgeable regarding what needed to be done to correct the shower water leak problem. He removed some of the shower wall tiles and found water had damaged a small section of the water resistant drywall to which those ceramic tiles were attached. He replaced that damaged section with cement board and then attached new ceramic tiles. I had decided to also replace the shower door and Dave did that work. Dave also replaced a separate section of regular drywall adjacent to the shower door that was damaged. Dave also quickly replaced a damaged GFCI outlet. Dave has a pleasant personality. He always kept me well informed about what he was doing. He did a good job cleaning the work site after he finished.

Description of Work
Required an assessment to determine best way to stop water leaking from a shower stall with a glass door that pivoted. Also needed to replace a GFCI outlet.

Category ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, handyman service, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/09/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your great feedback! We are happy to hear you were pleased with our craftsman Dave and your experience with Handyman Connection! We appreciate your business and look forward to connecting with you on future home projects!
2.0

02/03/2018


heather A.

The contractor was responsive initially but we decided to change the amount of work we initially wanted done and asked for a new estimate which we never received. We followed up and were told they would be in touch and that was the last we heard.

Description of Work
Trim work and attic door

Category handyman service

Work Completed On 11/15/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your feedback and we are truly sorry we missed following up with you to provide the revision you requested. Due to scheduling limitations during the last few months of 2017, it was very challenging for us to keep up with everything. Our Service Advisor Bryan who met with you to provide the initial estimate had to take on the role of a craftsman and working on jobsites in addition to preparing & sending estimates. We had several sold jobs that needed to be finished by certain deadlines and in order to meet those obligations, Bryan had to focus on doing the work for those jobs. As a result, he fell behind in estimates and unfortunately we dropped the ball on getting an revised estimate back to you. Customer Service and excellent communication are very important to us and we are disappointed that you did not experience the level of service that our clients are accustomed to receiving. Again we offer our apologies and we hope you will consider Handyman Connection for future projects!
5.0

01/14/2018


Carole F.

I liked their professionalism with keeping me updated and calling with reminders. I like that everyone is certified and licensed and experienced. Terry was great and personable. He cleaned up any mess and showed me how the storm doors worked. All in all, a great experience!

Description of Work
storm doors installed

Category handyman service, doors

Cost $500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/11/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and we are so happy to hear you had a great experience with Handyman Connection! Our craftsman Terry is truly one of the best and we will be sure to pass your kind words along to him! We pride ourselves on delivering trusted home improvements, quality workmanship and excellent customer service. We appreciate your business and we look forward to connecting with you on future projects!
5.0

01/03/2018


Catharine K.

The carpenter (Josh) did a fantastic job on the benches (and deck repair). He worked with us to refine the design to something that was not only feasible to construct but also fully met our expectations. The results look wonderful! While the price was a little high, the results justified it in our mind.

Description of Work
We required rotting built-in benches on a deck to be replaced. In addition, a portion of the decking also needed to be replace.

Category decks, handyman service, woodworking

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/29/2017

Images

Review for Handyman Connection of Winchester - 1838 Roberts St, Winchester, VA - 36721668

Service Provider Response

We love how these benches turned out for your project and we are so happy to hear you are pleased with your experience with Handyman Connection and our craftsman Josh's carpentry work! Thank you so much for your business and for your wonderful feedback. We appreciate you trusting Handyman Connection for this home improvement project and we look forwarding to connecting with you on more projects in the future!
1.0

12/31/2017


Debbie B.

I never received an estimate even after calling/emailing multiple times for one.

Description of Work
An estimate.

Category handyman service

Work Completed On 09/09/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your feedback and we offer our sincere apologies that we were not able to provide an estimate for your project. Due to scheduling limitations during the last few months of 2017, it was very challenging for us to keep up with everything. Our Service Advisor Bryan had to take on the role of a craftsman and working on jobsites in addition to preparing & sending estimates. We had several sold jobs that needed to be finished by certain deadlines and in order to meet those obligations, Bryan had to focus on doing the work for those jobs. As a result, he fell behind in estimates and unfortunately we dropped the ball on getting an estimate back to you. Customer Service and excellent communication are very important to us and we are disappointed that you did not experience the level of service that our clients are accustomed to receiving. Again we offer our apologies and we hope you will consider Handyman Connection for future projects!
5.0

12/15/2017


Linda R.

Dave and Bryan were exceptional. They were very polite and quite meticulous on their details. They made recommendations to better the safety of the deck and made those changes accordingly. Couldn't ask for better people on the job. Another thing I liked about Handyman Connection is that for safety reasons they sent a picture of the workers ahead of time so you knew exactly who was coming for the job. I think this is an OUTSTANDING action. thanks for a great experience.

Description of Work
I needed a complete deck railing job and done to code and steps on both ends

Category decks, handyman service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/15/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business and your wonderful feedback! We are so happy to hear you had a great experience with Handyman Connection! We appreciate your kind words on the service our craftsman Dave and Bryan provided! We pride ourselves on providing trusted home improvements, therefore all our craftsmen are carefully screened and must pass a criminal background check. For additional piece of mind we send out a confirmation email prior to the craftsman's arrival so you identify the craftsmen when they arrive for your appointment. We are glad you like this part of the experience in working with Handyman Connection!
5.0

12/04/2017


Kristine G.

With all the rain storms that have passed through in the last week we couldn't be more pleased with Bruce's work on our gutters. Gutters are flowing freely now, the additional downspout has stopped water from spilling over the gutter during downpours, and we have the peace of mind that no more debris is collecting in our gutters causing future blockages. Like our previous experiences, this has been a job well done by the Handyman Connection craftsman. Thank you for providing great and dependable service.

Description of Work
Gutters cleaned, gutter screening installed and an additional downspout installed.

Category handyman service