Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Goodman B Duke General Contractor Inc

Founded 1989 • With Angi since November 2010

4.6

(37) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

7178 Poindexter Rd

Louisa, VA 23093

Description

For over 30 years we have been improving homes and lives. We are known for our attention to detail, and reasonable prices. Non smoking crew of 4. We are capable, clean and fun to have in your home. We accept credit cards, and typically bill monthly for larger projects. We do light commercial as

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
3.0

04/16/2018


Aaron A.

Does not service area, even though they came up. We are 35 minutes away and they are too busy.

Description of Work
Bathroom in an in-law's suite

Category home remodeling

5.0

08/05/2017


Lisa R.

They were responsive, timely, efficient, and did an excellent job. The services rendered were exceptional, and we plan to hire them again when we need more construction work done.

Description of Work
Skim coating wall and small construction job.

Category drywall, remodeling

5.0

07/19/2017


John C.

GB Duke are consummate professionals! If you want great work and great customer service they are the best contractor we have worked with thus far. Highly recommend for complicated jobs where high quality work is expected/needed!

Description of Work
Remodel of two historic homes.

Category contractors, decks, remodeling, garage builders, woodworking, home remodeling, sunrooms, basement remodeling

5.0

03/07/2017


Alex R.

The project consisted of a planning visit by Mr. Duke with cost estimate and installation proposal. This was followed by the actual installation by the Duke team, took a couple of hours. The team was professional, efficient and courteous. I am completely satisfied with the new Simple Pump system. It's exactly what I had in mind as a fallback in case of electrical power loss.

Description of Work
I contracted with Goodman B. Duke GC Inc, to install the " Simple Pump", which is a hand operated pump attached to my existing well.

Category remodeling, wells

5.0

03/05/2017


Lorene L.

A well thought out job, completed in a timely manner. We were very pleased.

Description of Work
Carpentry, drywall and painting.

Category remodeling

5.0

02/25/2017


Jim A.

Having originally researched Mr. Duke it was the best decision we could have made! His entire Team and Mr. Duke will listen Very carefully to your every need and are very creative with options related to yours. They're all of the following:professional,respectful, courteous,kindness,organized,safety conscious and work very neatly and cleanup is the reflection of their work. We had never known Mr. Duke before making a major decision which critical we've spent our hard earned money, which everyone wants their projects done right and smoothly and on schedule. We've always been communicated with most everyday for progress preformed that day. You will never find another Building Contractor or Gentleman like Mr. Duke. His personal approach to your needs and his way of making you feel at ease is very comforting , especially when you're trying to make the right decision. In closing I'll say if you don't Select Mr. Goodman B. Duke then you could have made a HUGE mistake. Ease your mind and choose him. My name is Jim Amiss if anyone would like to contact me regarding Mr. Duke , please call 434-962-0355 (voice message please) I'll get back to you

Description of Work
Mr. Duke is now performing a major renovation of complete bath, family room, mud room upgrade, bedroom closet addition and refinishing our stairway oak hardwood steps. This is the second major project performed..

Category ceramic tile, drywall, flooring contractor, glass repair, handyman service, remodeling, woodworking, doors

4.0

12/05/2016


Kevin M.

Good. Butch did the initial solar hotwater system install and has always been responsive and prompt for service and other requests when contacted,

Description of Work
Solar hot water install.

Category water heater repair

1.0

12/05/2016


Kevin M.

Horrible. He demonstrated complete ineptness. Does not know products how they work subs out all aspects of system. Finally claimed warranty expired at 6 years when we have letter stating 7. Then finally claimed, after 6 months, water tank not coverrd by lightening strike. Never got a straight answer from him during the 6 months. Doesnt mayter as insurance would have covered everything. Hes cost us allot of frustration and delay. Hes incompetent.

Description of Work
Bought solar water system from him. Needed service after house fire. Expected him to be able to assess repair or replace. Insurance covered expenses.

Category water heater repair

3.0

02/24/2016


Michael B.

Estimate was $2000, and 2-3 days. It took 5 days. I provided materials and was CHARGED 15% additional for my own materials. Plumber didn't finish job, was here 45 minutes, used $1 in parts, and I was billed $247 for it. That's $4.12 per MINUTE. I paid $2900, and was told I still had a bill. Ridiculous. Pro: crew was great, but not timely. Slow, dragging there feet here and there. Soaking up time I guess. Con: Plumber apparently told the boss he did a lot more than he actually did. With the national labor rate for plumbers being $45/hour for simple jobs, the invoice was very extreme. $1 in parts -- a couple of springs. Never returned my calls. 45 minutes. Ughh! $247 dollars. If anything Butch owes me money for having to put up with all this non-sense and unfair billing....and though a contract was demanded 3 times, none was ever produced. Conflicting invoices, as if done by a complete amateur.

Description of Work
Small carpentry, painting of baseboards, fix two mixing valves.

Category remodeling, woodworking

Service Provider Response

I have given some time and thought to the following response. There is a part of me that wishes not to dignify such a preposterous, personal attack on me, my crew and our business as a whole. But in these times, when your online reviews are so critical to the future of your business and it's standing, I have to set the record straight. I make a special effort to accommodate Angie's List members. When contacted, I respond and do my best to estimate what their particular project might entail. EVERY job is different, and it is almost impossible to anticipate what will be involved to achieve the desired outcome. I try. In the case of this customer, I was informed that he had built this house...did everything. For the most part, not bad, but needed some baseboard installed, doors fixed and some painting. Why, after doing all this work he was suddenly incapable of completing it was one underlying question, but sure we can take care of it. We began with the carpentry, as that would be the proper procedure. It is true, it took a while to find a time that suited my schedule and the customer's due to our obligations and the seasonal holidays. Upon starting, it was apparent there weren't enough materials on site to do the entire project, and I purchased what was necessary to do so. While this was in progress, we couldn't help but notice the customer began consuming beer around 10:00 AM, and kept at it for the rest of the time we were there. There were a number of issues with the repairs that necessitated completely taking things apart and putting back together properly to make function. Set of exterior french doors as well as at least two interior doors. As far as the painting went, I did not feel comfortable having just one man on the job as there was alcohol involved and a number of firearms present. There were also a number of very heavy pieces of furniture to be moved, and the customer was extremely picky about every detail. We completed the project to that point, and I sent a bill. The bill was roughly $2800. I explained the reasons for the overrun, and it was agreed and paid. There was some back and forth conversation regarding the amount of time taken, and his stating that he could have done it a lot faster, but as with the claim that he had done everything else, I simply said that perhaps he should take care of it next time. Then I was asked to help with some plumbing repairs. I said I could give him the name of a plumber, but he wanted me to handle it. So I called the plumber and set things up. The plumber called me after speaking with the customer, and asked what was going on. Must have called late in the day, and not much sense being made. I explained what we had witnessed, and suggested earlier to be better. He made the appointment and spent approximately 2 hours repairing faucets that someone had tried to fix, but put together backwards. Springs and washers were necessary in the repairs. The specific ones for specific faucets are not cheap. My plumber charges $175 for the first hour, and $75 for each additional. I don't know what a national rate is or how it applies. It was the plumbing bill that set the customer off, and court action was threatened by him. This was bizarre, but I thought we reconciled it and that all was good. Then I read this review, and so, to the best of my ability to recall events, and try to explain an irrational accusation, as well as trying not to respond in kind, I hope this sheds some light on this situation. Everything we did was done well, and was approved by the customer. At no time did any of my men stay one minute more than necessary. No amount of padding the bill or overcharge was rendered. I am troubled to have to go this far with an explanation, and don't make a practice of telling tales on any of my customers, but I have to defend my reputation. I am sorry it reached this point. I also wish my customer the best, and hope the work we did holds up as it should, and that he finds peace within himself.
5.0

12/07/2015


Jonathan T.

We are liking everything so far. Butch Duke has great ideas to improve the space. Very appreciated.

Description of Work
Bathroom renovation, which includes replacing bathtub with walk-in shower, new appliances, vanity, lighting, moving a wall, enlarging the bathroom. Also extra patching work to make the walls look better and other details. It's looking great!

Category remodeling

3.0

11/23/2015


Dianne A.

Prompt response when I initially bought deal. He sent someone out to fix the grout and paint while we were waiting for the sink to be delivered. The grout fix seemed flaky as in literaly not hard. When the plumber replaced the sink, a huge section of grout that was repaired fell out. Contractor mentioned he would send someone out to fix the grout but he never did. Never replied to my last email. I also mentioned the plumber left a tool outside and he could swing by and pick it up but after a couple of weeks, I gave up and put it back in my house.

Description of Work
Replaced sink (labor), fixed damaged grout adjacent to sink. Painted small area in hallway ceiling.

Category ceramic tile, remodeling

Service Provider Response

Okay, first of all, I have reached out a couple of times to resolve the outstanding issues to no avail. There were some omissions that are relevant to this review...Materials, including grout and sinks, as well as paint were supplied by the owner. We applied and installed as directed. there were issues of access that were overcome in the process, and I bear responsibility to not following up on a certain level, but the initial price point was set by the owner. On a certain level, this is by design. There is an offering of an amount of time with an hourly rate. Customers choose what they want to pay, and then assign the task. This does not always comport with reality...in fact, rarely. So I don't assign blame to the owner in this case. I have explained to her that there were costs associated that exceeded her expectations by over $450. That could be one reason for the lack of response. Who knows, but, I try to convey this as each inquiry comes about...perhaps I didn't this time. We sincerely attempt to satisfy all our customers, and particularly our Angie's List customers, but sometimes we are unable to do so. Apologies to the effect, and I stand willing, in spite of the differences we appear to have at this point.
4.0

11/06/2015


Deborah K.

It was fine. They did a great job. It was five times the amount of the deal. They should be able to come out sooner. They left the area very clean.

Description of Work
I purchased a big deal from them. They fixed a ceiling. They took down all the popcorn ceiling and finished it to a flat ceiling.

Category drywall, roofing

5.0

10/13/2015


Deborah K.

AMAZING! Butch took on my project quickly and thoroughly. His workers were polite and hard working. Cleaned up after themselves. The porcelain tile looks beautiful. Butch cut down all the doors, reinstalled all the appliances that had to be moved in the kitchen, hauled away all the debris and has done everything I've asked of him promptly and professionally. From start to finish, it took less than two weeks which is all the time that I had for the project. The original quote was honored, no extra charges. I will definitely use Butch again for my many household projects.

Description of Work
Installed porcelain tile floors in three rooms

Category ceramic tile, flooring contractor, remodeling, home remodeling, doors

5.0

09/20/2015


Richard T.

Excellent service. Owner was courteous, professional and responsive. All work was completed well and as promised. Very happy with results.

Description of Work
Hung 3 ceiling fans, replacing one already installed

Category remodeling

5.0

08/29/2015


Katherine D.

Mr. Duke was friendly, professional, and responded to the priorities of my job quickly. The people he had working with him were great, helpful, and jobs were neatly and correctly done. He went out of his way to get my stove set up with minimum disruption to our family, and his people worked efficiently and with professionalism. While my total job will exceed in time what I paid for, I do not mind paying extra to get work done by Mr. Duke and his professional team. I have a couple of larger, future jobs that I will be interested in asking him about as well. I do not take competence and integrity lightly, and appreciate it when I see it.

Description of Work
Remove over the stove microwave and install a new hood, rework wiring for hood and microwave. Coordinate with gas company to install gas stove and new tank. Checked out kitchen light issue. Further repair of minor roof leak damage and 2 vents and drywall around them within next week or two, as schedule can be coordinated.

Category remodeling, roofing, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member name removed]. It was a pleasure serving you and your family, especially given the service your family has given to our country. I can speak for many in expressing that thanks, and wish there were more I could do to express my gratitude. A good job is all I've got, but happy to do it.
5.0

07/29/2015


C. A.

It was an excellent service. They were very responsive, innovative and worked with well our ideas. They were a great team to work with.

Description of Work
They did an addition for us.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you, [Member Name Removed]! So nice of you to think of us after so much time has passed. But, yes, I too look back with fondness and pride at what we accomplished. It was a job with a number of challenges, and although we had a very nice plan, there still were a lot of decisions and otherwise "customizing elements" that had to be decided on, and executed as we went. You and Tom were a pleasure to work for, and with. Thank you again for such a nice compliment!
1.0

11/21/2014


nancy S.

It was very frustrating. I wwant to do major remonations to my home. He never gave the estimate. He called and was to come by for an estimate on October 22, 2014. After a week he came by and said he was sorry but had been very busy and would do the estimate the following week. Have never heard back from him. I have no choice but to rate him in this way.

Description of Work
NOTHING could not get an estimate for the work

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

I am always sorry when things don't go well, or there is some issue or misunderstanding. This one is quite interesting, and I sincerely hope we can back up and get things straight. The scenario went as follows: I received word that the customer wished to have a major renovation done, and not only that, but some years ago, we had done work at her house. I contacted her immediately, and asked if it would be okay to come right over. She said it would be fine, but before I arrived, she called and said the weather looked threatening, and could we do this at another time? I said yes, and a couple of weeks went by. I did not save her number, but remembered the address, so that Friday afternoon, I took a chance and knocked on her door to reiterate my willingness to evaluate, and hopefully do the work. She answered, and said it didn't suit at the moment, and that she had been recovering from a major condition, and she was not up to it, could we do this in the next couple of weeks? We talked for a while and I should have been more precise about what I was supposed to do. It is true, we have been extremely busy, and time slips from me from one week to another, but mostly, I didn't want to be pushy. I apologize for what seemed like inattentiveness, but that was not my intent. I would be more than happy to re visit, and will do my best with pricing, and a stellar project if given the opportunity. I await your response. Thank you, and I sincerely wish you the very best, and also that your health is the very best.
5.0

11/03/2014


Jackie L.

On time, always leave the work site clean. They always do excellent work and always diagnosis the issue and take care of it efficiently.

Description of Work
He repaired doors where the hinges were hanging.

Category handyman service, remodeling, doors

5.0

10/22/2014


Bryan T.

Mr. Duke interviewed me so he knew what I hoped to have accomplished. He then offered several options for each repair allowing me to decide, certainly as to the cost, what my comfort level would be. As soon as I made my decisions, he scheduled people to carry out the work. He and his crew came to the work site, explained what they would be doing and got to it. It took a number of days. Let me just say that one of the nicest parts of this work, besides the fact that the finished product looked great, was that the crew kept the area cleaned up through out the work. They frequently vacuumed the work area and left the area in order at the end of the day. I saw their actions as respectful. Great job.

Description of Work
Duke's people replaced an external French door as well as repaired the tile floor of a Master bathroom.

Category ceramic tile, remodeling, home remodeling, doors

5.0

10/15/2014


Harry H.

I told them I wanted it to look just like the old porch and they did a great job. It looks even better than I expected. They were fast, professional, and cleaned up their mess. The workers were very nice.

Description of Work
The steps on my front deck were rotted out so they took the old ones out and put up new steps and a railing.

Category decks

Service Provider Response

I sometimes forget to say thank you for your positive messages to other Angie's List subscribers. We do our best everyday, and strive to please our customers at every opportunity. Thank you, Hank. It was a pleasure meeting you, and doing business with you!
5.0

08/26/2014


Wendie P.

Mr. Duke was flexible with scheduling as I needed to take off work to be there. He worked around my schedule. He was prompt, polite, and professional. His workers arrived on time and did an excellent job. Visually, the job is better than expected. They cleaned up well before leaving. I had purchased a coupon for a certain number of hours, and the job took longer than that, which he told me would up front. The only thing I wish I had done differently is get a written estimate of the extra cost (time in man hours). Overall it was a fine experience.

Description of Work
Replaced drop ceiling, building box around new duct work, in a finished basement.

Category remodeling

5.0

05/12/2014


Anne S.

We were very happy with the work. Him and his crew were very professional. They did a really great job. I would recommend them to other.

Description of Work
They installed window’s and skylights.

Category remodeling, replacement windows, skylights

Service Provider Response

Thank you [removed members name]. You and your family were wonderful! We enjoyed being of assistance, and hope to be back again for further projects.
5.0

02/17/2014


Jackie L.

Mr Duke's workers are incredibly polite and experienced. They do very professional work and clean up after themselves. They are always prompt and the project is finished on time. The work always looks great.

Description of Work
Mr. Duke has done many projects on our house over a 10 year period. They include, repairing the inside of our roof, installing an overhang over our front door, repairing awnings that were bent from the snow, replacing a roof and door in our garage, repairing exterior door that were not functioning correctly, replacing a front porch floor with soapstone, covering old plaster ceilings with sheetrock and others I can't remember.

Category awnings, decks, remodeling, roofing, doors

2.0

10/03/2013


Ruth Anne H.

Mr. Duke did not provide an opportunity to work with him as he failed to communicate. According to my inspector, lender and other individuals I have spoken with concerning choosing a contractor, communication is an extremely important aspect of the contractor/homeowner relationship.

Description of Work
My renovation job on a home I am purchasing required a general contractor as there was a multitude of and diverse range of repairs. I have never employed a general contractor before and spoke several times by telephone with Mr. Duke before he met me, the home inspector and one other potential contractor at the house. Once I received the scope of work to be performed from my inspector, I forwarded the contractor's bid package to Mr. Duke requesting his bid. He replied with a brief "will do" via email on September 26, 2013. I am writing this seven days later and have not heard or received a word of communication from Mr. Duke. His profile now states he doesn't do work in my area. A simple email or even a text indicating this would have been a courtesy. The home in question is a three and a half hour drive for me from my current home. If I had known in advance he didn't work in my area, I would have arranged to meet with another contractor.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

My apologies to (removed member name) as far as seeming to not communicate. I visited the site along with her, another contractor, her real estate agent and a home inspector. We spent 2 hours looking over the property and what was needed as well as what was desired to be done. At the end of the meeting, the issue was raised as far as septic and well location and whether the home would qualify for the type loan she was seeking. From a visual standpoint, it seemed doubtful. I received the bid package a few days later, and was asked if I would submit a bid. I replied, as stated, "will do". I had a chance to work on the bid about a week later, and asked in an email whether the well/septic issue had been resolved...that's when I was told it was none of my concern, and that (removed member name) was upset. I am a "hands on" contractor, and actually perform many of the tasks we are involved in. If an impression was given otherwise, then for the record, please know: I take care of my customers first, and as time permits, I attend to future customers and jobs as far as bidding projects. I do this in a timely fashion, but in this case, not fast enough. (removed member name) said she had received other bids, and I wish her and the contractor she chooses the very best.
5.0

09/30/2013


Kathy S.

Provider did an excellent and professional job in a timely manner. I would trust him to do any additional work that we may ever need.

Description of Work
Replaced a exterior double door and some exterior trim work.

Category remodeling, woodworking, doors

    Other local Pros in your area

    Pure Water Filtration & Well Services LLC.

    Call now for your 1 year free service and lifetime warranty with all water filtration installs!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers by Pure Water Filtration & Well Services LLC. on Angi
    Dawid Klatkiewicz

    Give us a call or click to request a quote today  

    Angi Certified

    Culpeper Window and Siding Inc

    We work with home owners interested in Replacement Windows and Entry Doors. Repair and Replacing Siding. Repair and Replace Gutters, Leaf-Guards. We have Shutters and Snow Birds. We do not repair or replace glass. We would recommend contacting your local glass company. Local Culpeper Window & Siding, Inc. will give you a FREE estimate today! Call 540-547-9100! Top rated Culpeper Window & Siding, Inc. has been serving Central & Northern Virginia for more than “30 years” with the installation of quality replacement windows, entry doors, vinyl siding, gutters & leaf guards. We have had the same crew for over “25 years” working with us. They are a great bunch of guys to work with we love them! What sets us apart from other companies is our craftsmen who treat your home like it's their own and do it well and on time! WINDOWS are EnergyStar approved, very energy efficient, and manufactured to the customer's specifications. We install all type of windows from vinyl windows, bay to bow windows, picture windows, casement windows, double-hung windows and wood windows. Warranty transferable just ask. SIDING is an excellent choice for replacing the material you have now. It is maintenance free, energy efficient, durable, and weather-resistant. DOORS we install ProVia exterior doors. They are energy efficient, secure and beautiful! Warranty included! GUTTERS & LEAF-GUARDS we install are guaranteed to no clog and no overflow. A must in Virginia to have in Virginia. Owned by Tom & Tammy Dunlap, we know the business and how to treat people like family. We have built a reputation for honesty & excellent service in both installations, repairs & upgrades!  

    Angi Certified

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Baths Kitchens, additions and whole house renovations. All phases of construction, as well as solar hot water systems, photovoltaic solar, and many other energy saving improvements. NEW OFFERING! A hand operated well pump! 5 gal/min. up to 350'depth! SECURITY! Design services are available. We work with several area designers and architects and also follow plans drawn by our customers. We invite your input and value your requests. After all, it;s your home! We are here to serve you!

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Goodman B Duke General Contractor Inc

    How is Goodman B Duke General Contractor Inc overall rated?

    Goodman B Duke General Contractor Inc is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does Goodman B Duke General Contractor Inc provide

    Goodman B Duke General Contractor Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Goodman B Duke General Contractor Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Goodman B Duke General Contractor Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Goodman B Duke General Contractor Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Goodman B Duke General Contractor Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Goodman B Duke General Contractor Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Goodman B Duke General Contractor Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Goodman B Duke General Contractor Inc?

    No, Goodman B Duke General Contractor Inc does not offer warranties.

    What services does Goodman B Duke General Contractor Inc offer?

    Goodman B Duke General Contractor Inc offers the following services: Baths Kitchens, additions and whole house renovations. All phases of construction, as well as solar hot water systems, photovoltaic solar, and many other energy saving improvements. NEW OFFERING! A hand operated well pump! 5 gal/min. up to 350'depth! SECURITY! Design services are available. We work with several area designers and architects and also follow plans drawn by our customers. We invite your input and value your requests. After all, it;s your home! We are here to serve you!