Fairfax Transfer & Storage

About

Founded 1959 • With Angi since September 2005

Additional DBA - Fairfax Moving and Storage Inc....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Women Owned & OperatedWomen Owned & Operated
Veteran Owned & OperatedVeteran Owned & Operated
LGBTQ+ FriendlyLGBTQ+ Friendly
Se Habla EspañolSe Habla Español
Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
24/7 Service Offered24/7 Service Offered
Eco FriendlyEco Friendly
Wears MaskWears Mask

Verified Reviews

4.6

(45) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

35

4

5

3

2

2

0

1

3

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.6

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.7

Responsiveness

4.6

Read reviews by category

movers (43)hauling (3)storage unit (2)professional organizers (1)hardwood floors (1)flooring (1)
Showing 1-25 of 45 reviews
5.0

11/21/2020


Vera D.

They were terrific, careful, and polite. I gave them directions on what they were going to do. they were done in min time frame.

Description of Work
They assisted me with moving my furniture, arranged my bedrooms, and delivered heavy equipment for donations and repairs.

Category moving companies, home & garage organization

Cost $392

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/21/2020

5.0

09/04/2018


Amelia H.

Everything went smoothly, from the initial scheduling to the actual move. Cliff, the gentleman who scheduled my move, was courteous and knowledgeable during my initial call. He recommended a 3-man crew if I wanted to keep my move time down to 3 hours (they have a 3-hour minimum for moving), and he turned out to be right. I had a lot more stuff than I originally estimated and needed at least that much time. The guys on my moving crew were polite, hard-working, and experienced--especially the team lead, Luis. He knew which items should go to the truck first and which ones needed to be wrapped to protect them. He went above and beyond for me several times. None of my furniture was damaged or broken when we got to the other end (not the case for two of my previous moves). I'll definitely use them again, and I would recommend them to my friends/family. Great service at a reasonable price.

Description of Work
Moving Services

Category moving companies

Cost $950

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/24/2018

5.0

03/20/2017


Christine S.

Fairfax Transfer has always been punctual, professional, and true to their estimate. In D.C. summer heat, pouring rain, or the worst snow, slush and ice, nothing stops these guys. Really, they've moved us in all of these conditions. One of our more complex moves involve two storage units, two houses and three trucks in pouring rain. They never missed a beat, and kept our possessions dry. Fairfax Transfer has always sent a representative to view the property before estimating, and they are a great value for the price. The men on the crews have always been friendly and very professional. They wrap and pad wood furniture pieces and shrink-wrap upholstered pieces, dis-assemble and re-assemble tables and other items, carefully pad and box artwork (they've moved my paintings up to 6 feet x 4 feet as well as large, glass-framed art), easily cope with less-often seen items like a woodworking shop including saws, dust collector, and tools, keep an accurate inventory, invite you to inspect the truck and the premises before they leave to make sure every box has been accounted for, have you walk the house with them for any adjustments to furniture placement or to note damage (we haven't had any). I recommend Fairfax Transfer without reservation.

Description of Work
Fairfax Transfer & Storage has moved me and other members of my family several times, both in Maryland and Virginia, between 2006 - 2015.

Category moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/15/2015

5.0

08/22/2016


Daniel P.

This is an excellent company. The movers were very careful with our goods. The back office people were very helpful in easing our move. The price was very reasonable.

Description of Work
Household goods moved

Category moving companies

Cost $2,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/16/2016

5.0

09/28/2015


Thomas & Lisa D.

I cannot say enough about this company - it is absolutely fabulous from beginning to end of the moving process. Chuck Grimsely was our contact and he came highly recommended. And the recommendations proved correct. He was a real expert in the business, was able to anticipate our moving dilemmas, needs, and problems even before we had any idea. We don't move very often, so needless to say, we were awful at estimating the number of boxes, hand-carries, etc. that was involved. He walked us through the whole process and was very understanding of our concerns. He took the time to answer all of our questions - you didn't feel rushed or that you were talking to a neophyte in the business. The truck and crew was extremely punctual, and worked very efficiently, finishing up even before I had thought they would. They were very professional, and I've experienced unprofessional movers in my day (ones that even ask you to order a pizza for them! ). They communicate by email for estimates, which is a good time saver - you get it quickly and in writing. Your phone calls are answered by a real, live person, and you get answers. You can email a question if it is not urgent, which is helpful. The rates are very reasonable, but most of all, you know you can trust them to do an excellent job. Chuck was great, but I also spoke with some of his partners, and they all cared, they all wanted to "go the extra mile", they all took pride in their work. This is a great example of a business that is honest, efficient, and reasonably priced.

Description of Work
The moving company moved furniture and boxes from my Mom's home to my house, and also from her home to her new apartment.

Category hauling services, moving companies

Cost $2,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/08/2015

1.0

06/15/2015


Niles G.

UPDATE: After several conversations with one of the owners, FTS sent me a refund for portion of the move, probably around 15%. That is a good gesture and I appreciate. I cannot change the rating I gave them, though, because a refund does not change the experience I had. They still turned a one-day move into two, and they still tried to postpone the 2nd-half of the move for 8 days. Thanks for the refund. I hope it encourages you to have better customer service next time. -------------------- I used to love Fairfax Transfer and Storage. After my most recent experience I would never recommend them. Two years ago I hired FTS to move me from House A to House B and to a storage unit. Last week I hired them to do the same move in reverse. The first time I loved them. The second time was not a pleasant experience. The Friday morning started out with me answering the door and the lead guy (foreman?) complaining about the parking I reserved on our tiny street on Capitol Hill (one might think introducing himself before complaining would be a better way to get things off on the right foot). It was about 3 or so car lengths from our front door. This is the same guy in the same size truck in the exact same parking spot I had two years ago and then no one complained. First he asked me if I could get my neighbors to move their cars (!), which I couldn't because I have no idea who owns what car. Then he suggested that he drive the wrong way down our one-way, one-lane street and park on the wrong side of the road. I told him that was fine with me but that my street near the Capitol is heavily patrolled and he'd likely get a ticket. FTS had moved me into that house and knows the tight parking, and no one was forcing them to take my business a 2nd time. The guys worked very hard and I felt bad for them because it was above 90 degrees and humid with no breeze. A most unpleasant day to be working that hard. When we arrived at House A it was clear things were not going well. Two of the guys started getting sick and one guy threw his back out. I felt really bad for them, offering water and soda throughout the day, telling the guy with the back issue he should sit in the cool house rather the truck, and asking if he needed medical attention. So my problem was NOT with the movers being unable to go on, but rather with one of the owners. By around 4 pm it was clear they were not going to be physically capable of getting to the 10 X 15 storage unit about 2 miles from my house. So I called the owner and he said he was working on scheduling what had now become Day 2 of what was supposed to be a one-day move. His first offer was "what are you doing Monday?" (!!!) "Working," I said. His second offer was "how about a week from tomorrow?" Our back-and-forth went on for a while through several phone calls. I had to be very insistent and push quite hard before he agreed to do it the next day. "It's a Saturday in June, I just don't have the capacity," he said. I'm sorry guys, but that's really not my problem. We had a verbal contract for you to do this in one day. I was being gracious in letting you extend to two days, and your offer is a Monday or a Saturday 8 days away?? I could have insisted that they find a way to finish that Friday by bringing in another crew or whatever, but I was trying to be a good guy about it. I should not have had to push so hard to get them to move me the next day rather than a work day or 8 days later. And they never should have offered such silly solutions. This was a no-brainer, and they should have found a way to do it without me having to argue with them. I'll add that they did make some adjustment to the bill but, frankly, not enough to justify the way they handled this. .

Description of Work
Moved things from a house and a storage unit to another house.

Category moving companies

Cost $1,700

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 06/12/2015

5.0

05/26/2015


Jim K.

Fairfax Transfer was the first company I spoke to on the phone regarding our move. I asked for an estimate to move primarily just our furniture and other large items. Cliff gave me an estimate over the phone. I subsequently spoke to two other companies who came out to our house and provided estimates. Their estimates were much, much higher; so I called Fairfax back to confirm the quote and book them. After another discussion with Cliff, he suggested we have someone come out to the house to look our things over, as he didn't want to come in significantly higher than his estimate. Chuck came out a few days later and gave us a detailed estimate to move most of what we had - some of this I knew I'd be moving myself. This estimate was higher than the verbal, over the phone estimate, but still lower than our other quotes. I had another follow up conversation with Cliff and felt very comfortable that we had made the right call going with them and that we had an estimate that was good. Moving day arrived and the crew showed up on time as promised. They immediately got to work, and they worked hard all day. They were friendly, professional and seemed to enjoy working with each other. Mats and pads were laid down on traffic areas, and they were careful with every item - especially a few antique pieces. Every piece was carefully wrapped in blankets - even a cheap foot stool that my kids use at the bathroom counter. When we arrived at the new location, I mentioned that we had recently re-carpeted the upstairs. They were especially careful to protect the carpet up there and I really appreciated that, as it was a misty, wet day and I was concerned about the new carpet. When they were done, all trash, etc had been removed, the beds set up and the furniture placed where we wanted it. It was a very smooth experience. Overall, I'm very pleased with Fairfax Transfer and Storage and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend these guys for a local move.

Description of Work
Local move. Moved furniture and boxes from our 4 bedroom home in Bristow to our new home in Chantilly

Category hauling services, moving companies

Cost $1,750

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/21/2015

4.0

10/19/2014


Christina B.

the crew showed up on time, very polite and professional, packing and moving in one day (which made the move cheaper) was a challenge, and they had to scramble, but the crew was very good, and made it (in my new apartment, the freight elevator could only be used until a certain time. All goods were delivered intact. Getting an insurance for the move was a challenge, though. And getting in contact before the move sometimes as well. So, not going the high price route has it's downsides, and is a little more hassle, but in the end it worked out. Not sure though, whether I would use them again, or maybe try the more expensive companies.

Description of Work
move household from MD to VA

Category moving companies

Cost $1,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/01/2013

1.0

07/17/2014


John L.

On Tuesday, July 15th 2014, Fairfax Transfer and storage delivered a Samsung Refrigerator that we purchased from Sears, to my home . The employees of Fairfax Transfer and Storage who delivered the refrigerator literally caused thousands of dollars of damage to my home. My kitchen is on the second level, so in getting the fridge up our stairwell, they broke a wall sconce light, they scraped the wall the entire way up, and I do mean large gouges, not small scratches. Once the fridge made it up to the kitchen, they could not assemble it. The fridge is the Samsung Chefs collection; it has four doors, two on top and two on bottom. The man who was trying to install one of the upper doors, walked away to help his partner, before making sure the door was secure, causing the heavy door to crash down on top of my granite kitchen counter top where my stove top burner sits. My granite counter top broke in three pieces. When we advised the owner of the company of this, he denied responsibility. The man who let the door fall on my counter told the owner of the company that it fell, but this didn?t break the counter. Even though this happened in front of our faces. This is outrageous. This company has refused to pay for any of the damages they have caused. My husband and I are going to pursue this through the court system and we will be meeting with Sears this evening to discuss the next steps as the fridge is also broken. Worst company I have ever had the displeasure of doing business with. We replaced all of our other appliances Saturday, July 12th, including the stove top and downdraft fan, where the granite is now broken. This work was done by another company who did a fantastic job and can also attest to the fact the granite was in perfect condition. So can the people who had been in and out of my house looking to purchase my old appliances.

Description of Work
Delivered a refrigerator we ordered from Sears

Category moving companies

Cost $6,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 07/15/2014

5.0

06/30/2014


Lisa G.

They didn't come out on the weekends to give the quote, and I had to leave work early, so it was not convenient. I got a fair quote, and I think Chuck knows his business. For them to come out on the weekends would be more useful to me. He was right on time, and he was very professional.

Description of Work
We received a quote from Fairfax Transfer & Storage.

Category moving companies

Cost $5,000

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/16/2014

5.0

06/23/2014


Joseph G.

Crew arrived early and performed professionally. Very hard workers .. No dings, scratches or broken items. I highly recommend this company.

Description of Work
Load and move two bedroom condo to a single family home.

Category moving companies

Cost $1,100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/20/2014

1.0

05/27/2014


Glenna L.

They were not good, I got a confrontation with the guys there, I had to back out to move at the last minute because my source unit didn't come through and I called them the day before and they were very angry, I sent them a $50 cancellation fee, I was afraid to go back to them, if you get mad, just once, but that was the entire conversation. I did not have good rapport with them, ai went with another mover.

Description of Work
I didn't go with Fairfax Transfer & Storage.

Category moving companies

Work Completed On 02/04/2014

Service Provider Response

(removed member name) was scheduled with Fairfax Transfer for a Saturday move in March but unfortunately called us prior to closing on Friday to cancel her Saturday move. Fairfax Transfer is one of the last moving companies that does not require a deposit but does inform the customer that at least (72) hours notice is appreciated on cancellations so we might have the opportunity to fill the spot since our workers and their families depend on the scheduling being filled. We apologize if she in anyway was not at ease with us since our goal is customer satisfaction for recommendations. Fairfax Transfer believes that the reviews on all sites speak for themselves in a very positive tone.

5.0

05/09/2014


TONY G.

They were fantastic. We were very happy. They were efficient, and did a great job protecting our furniture. They worked quickly. We feel like we saved money without using quality by using them.

Description of Work
They moved our large funiture from one house to another.

Category moving companies

Cost $1,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/23/2013

5.0

04/03/2014


Mary Jane S.

The crew arrived on time. They introduced themselves. They were very efficient, accommodating, and professional. We have not moved in 43 years so, it was a new experience, which went so smoothly. We couldn't have been more pleased. Nothing was scratched or dented. I highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Moved all our furniture from Fairfax to Arlington.

Category moving companies

Cost $1,100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/02/2014

5.0

03/03/2014


Roberta C.

Fairfax Transfer and Storage was great. The movers were very careful with our furniture and wrapped everything. When I had to delay the scheduled return because the flooring was not done, no problem at all. When they did return our furniture, they were extra careful with our brand new floors. The movers themselves were polite and helpful and friendly. I will go to Fairfax Transfer and Storage for any moving or storage needs in future. Their pricing was also quite reasonable.

Description of Work
We had hardwood floors installed on the first floor of our home and decided to move all the furniture out while the project was being done.

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor, moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/03/2014

5.0

02/13/2014


Jason K.

They made very quick work of our furniture and our boxes both moving us out of our apartment and into our new home. I have hired movers several times before when moving, and Fairfax Transfer and Storage is as good as they come. Courteous, efficient, and reasonably priced. You really can't ask for much more than that in movers.

Description of Work
Everything was great. Fairfax transfer and Storage moved us from our 3rd floor apartment to the home we had just purchased. We did all of our own packing. The three movers arrived on time, and were very efficient.

Category moving companies

Cost $550

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/15/2013

5.0

01/17/2014


Bob D.

Moving crew Daniel and Edgardo worked quickly and courteously, being careful of possessions and home environment.

Description of Work
Moved commercial storage unit items to residence in same county.

Category moving companies

Cost $305

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 01/14/2014

5.0

01/09/2014


Kimberly J.

They moved us from downtown Fredericksburg, VA to Adams Morgan in Washington ,DC. They scheduled arrival between 9:00 and 9:30 and arrived at 9:15. No unexpected charges. Finished the job at 6:15.

Description of Work
I used Fairfax Transfer & Storage

Category moving companies

Cost $1,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/14/2013

5.0

11/08/2013


Dennis S.

The move went extremely well. They were on time. They were efficient. They were friendly and professional. We have yet to unpack all the boxes but there was no damage to our furniture. I have moved more than 15 times in my life and this move ranked near the top.

Description of Work
Packed and moved my 5 bedroom house

Category moving companies

Cost $7,100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/31/2013

5.0

10/16/2013


Jonathan O.

Everything went well. They worked quickly, had good customer service, and did a good job of keeping our belongings safe during the move.

Description of Work
They moved us into our new house.

Category moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/05/2013

4.0

10/16/2013


Catherine B.

Everything went well, and they were responsive to our questions. However, we were more impressed by another company's offer.

Description of Work
They provided an estimate for moving services.

Category moving companies

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/15/2013

5.0

10/16/2013


Ahmet C.

It was a good experience. They stuck to the estimate, were careful not to damage any items, and completed the move quickly.

Description of Work
They moved me into my new house.

Category moving companies

Cost $900

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/15/2013