Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Liberty Lawn and Landscaping, LLC

With Angi since July 2011

4.4

(33) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1125-B Summit Street

Fredericksburg, VA 22401

Description

We

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
4.0

07/22/2014


Peter G.

The design process with Timothy was very pleasant and professional. He provided choices for plantings and helped me select the most appropriate. There was a long wait for implementation, which was not unexpected. An implementation date was finally given but nobody showed up, and nobody responded to my phone calls. Eventually Timothy emailed me and apologized for the problems. Work finally began several days later. The crew, headed by Brandon, did an excellent job. However, they were often delayed waiting for material or equipment to be delivered.

Description of Work
Old shrubs were removed, flower beds were cleaned up, expanded, and mulched, and new plantings added. A gravel walkway was also replaced with sod.

Category landscaping, lawn service, mulch, pavers, gravel

2.0

06/27/2014


Hal D.

The contractor never returned my phone call. I am not bothered; I assume they were too busy and were not interested in my work. It was not professional though. And in hindsight, if he does not communicate with his customers and public, it might be best that I did not use him.

Description of Work
I called the contractor to get a price on mulching, and trimming of shrubs,

Category lawn service

Service Provider Response

Hello [member name removed], the landscape designer tried to reach out to you a couple times and Carrie cc me on email to you. I do apologize we would love to still help with your fire pit and walls. I do remember you were looking for ideals and this was the second year we were going to try to help get some good plans. Please let us know if we can do any thing to assist you in your landscape goals. You may call or email me and I will personally come out when its good for you. Timothy_walter@yahoo.com 540-295-7947
1.0

05/19/2014


rickey S.

in the middle of the season their mower broke down and they never returned or called to let us know what was going on. They just stopped coming by and months later sent me an invoice letting me know they couldn't mow my lawn anymore do to a lack of equipment. Now you're just flat out lying your crews destroyed my siding that's why you forgave my final bill. but with that said I never had a discounted service every estimate that I received after you quit was for the same amount or less.

Description of Work
mowing and landscaping services

Category landscaping, lawn service

Service Provider Response

We apologize for the miscommunication, we were not able to properly open the door to your very unstable gate. We also showed up many times and the lack of lawn care and grass would not allow us to cut the grass (we did wave the fee for stopping by $10.00 trip charge) We had stopped by over 12 times in a season and was not able to cut due to a lack of growth. We did cut the grass and sent an invoice we would get a call at least 3 times a year that "no one cut" so we credit your account because we felt you may had money set back in your job or you could not tell the difference. Finally one of our mowers that would fit throw your gate was not working and in need of repair, so we did notify you of the set back and the season ended. We hope you have found a company that can meet your needs and apologize for not being a fit for you anymore after 2 years of discounted lawn cuts. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts I hope this cleared things up.
5.0

03/18/2014


Joyce H.

ONCE THE AGGRESSIVE WIRE GRASS WAS REMOVED, THE AREA'S WERE FILLED IN WITH TOP SOIL. THE LAWN WAS AERATED, SEEDED, FERTILIZED AND TOPPED OFF WITH LEAF COMPOST WHICH WAS HAND RAKED INTO THE SOIL. IN ADDITION, TWO DOWN SPOUTS WERE RE-ROUTED FROM THE HOUSE AND INSTALLED WITH POP UPS. THE CREW WORKED VERY HARD AND I WAS PLEASED WITH THE OUTCOME.

Description of Work
BOTH THE FRONT AND BACK YARDS WERE IN NEED OF A MAJOR REPAIR. THE GUYS SKIMMED THE SOIL IN BOTH YARDS TO REMOVE WIRE GRASS, WHICH HAD GROWN TO COVER A SIGNIFICANT PORTION OF MY YARD.

Category lawn service

5.0

12/23/2013


Jane L.

The Crew, as Timothy calls them were quick and efficient and very nice and very professional and polite. Nice young guys!

Description of Work
The crew came on Friday in the afternoon and planned to clean up all leaves in front yard and the back yard until it got dark. Came back on Sat. about 8:00 to finish up the job. Backyard has hills, a creek, pool with leaves in it and they also cut down old vines on wire fence and wood deck. They raked hills that go down to the creek and around the perimeter of the creek, that had never been totally raked, down in the creek, and put in chicken wire underneath my fence to keep out all the debris that floats down the creek in the bad rainstorms. So it looks great, especially since my entire backyard is fenced in, and no leaves blew into my yard from the neighbors yards that haven't been raked. Front yard is a little different, it got very windy no sooner than they left and of course leaves blew on my yard that came from all the neighbors houses, but the worst of the leaves are gone.

Category leaf removal

Service Provider Response

Everyone on this team really enjoyed talking with you and thankful for the work. Please call on us for any other landscaping projects.
5.0

12/19/2013


Debbie C.

He was so so good! Absolutely outstanding! He’s not only good at what he does but also a great business man. He always keeps me up to date and he’s going to come back and do more stuff for us in the spring!

Description of Work
He did tree removal, redid all of the beds on probably 7 acres, trimming.

Category lawn service, tree service

Service Provider Response

[member name removed] thank you so much for those kind words. The team enjoyed doing the job and look forward to coming back out. We enjoyed getting a better understanding of the needs of the property has we work together to improve the over all look to meet you and your families needs. We are pleased to developing and continue to trans for the property as the seasons comes to us. Thank for the work and the trust. Blessings to you and your family. Merry Christmas from all of us at Liberty Lawn and Landscaping
5.0

11/25/2013


Mary W.

All of my communication with the provider was via email. I submitted a request for a price quote around the second week of November and the work was performed on November 25th (the day I'm writing this review). The provider was very prompt in responding. I sent them my home address and was sent back a picture of my house and yard to confirm my address. I explained what I wanted done and they provided a price quote. I had a preference for the type of mulch I preferred and they accommodated my request. I revised my work order to cancel the leaf removal because the HOA removed the leaves. A couple of days afterwards, the leaves were back (at this point, all the leaves had fallen due to strong winds the previous two nights). I requested that leaf removal be added back to the work order (this request was submitted the morning that the work was scheduled to be completed). I was hopeful that the request was not too late and learned that they did indeed receive the updated request in time to remove the leaves. On the day the work was done, I got home that nigh. I couldn't see all of the yard except for sections here and there illuminated by street light. Even though I couldn't see all of the yard, I could tell that they did a fantastic job. The fall foliage was completely removed and the mulching gave the flowerbeds and trees such a manicured look. The bushes were neatly trimmed, including my hydrangea bush. The work far exceeded my expectations. I will definitely come back to this company for spring mulching. My check is going in the mail in the morning.

Description of Work
Fall lawn service that included leaf removal, mulching, and light pruning of foliage.

Category lawn service, leaf removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the kind words, your home is very familiar to us because we have many clients near your home and I had drive by it recently. It was our honor to meet your needs as you requested and look forward to any other projects or maintenance you will need for lawn and landscaping. We are thankful for the work that you have given us. Have a great thanksgiving.
5.0

11/01/2013


Todd H.

Chris, was very responsive in providing an estimate to lay the pavers in the area I had already prepared. He recommended thinning the sand and adding more gravel which I decided to have Chris and his crew do. Chris was very good about keeping us informed of the planned start date. Chris and his crew arrived as scheduled and knocked it out in one day. We were very happy with the end product. I also need to note that of the three estimates we asked for the one from Liberty was the only "reasonable" one, the other two estimates came in at 3 times the price of Liberty's. I don't know about you but I find it insulting to get ridiculous estimates (if you don't want the work then say so!). We would definitely recommend and use Liberty again.

Description of Work
Contracted to lay pavers in a 8' x 18' patio.

Category hardscaping

5.0

10/14/2013


Forrest J.

Chris helped us plan the work to get the proper grade and drainage. He made sure that we knew when the sod and soil would be delivered -- the day before the work was done -- so that we could have it placed out of our way. Chris and his crew showed up on time and got the job done quickly and exactly as we had expected and used the left over soil and so to improve a couple of other small areas of the lawn without charge. We especially appreciated the fact that Chris did the planning and estimating and then supervised the job from start to finish. He is great to work with and we will use them again. We would definitely recommend this company.

Description of Work
Filled in a low area on lawn with top soil and re-sodded .

Category landscaping, lawn service

5.0

10/08/2013


Joyce H.

The crew was here as promised and worked very hard..The backyard was in dire need of a complete renovation. They did all work as promised as well as a follow-up to make sure the grass was coming up as expected. There were a few spots that needed additional attention and the company, as promised, took care of those area's. The customer needs to do their part, such as the appropriate watering schedule, for the company to stand behind the work they perform, which is certainly reasonable. I would highly recommend the company and would use them again.

Description of Work
Lawn Renovation

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your kind words and the trust you put it us to make your lawn look better. When trying to remove wire grass (Bermuda grass) the roots are all over the yard and we are glad that was just a couple spots in your yard. The grading will help with mowing and the adjustment of your down spouts will help water the lawn better. Please feel free to call on us, if the grass does not fills in the way you want it to, at no additional cost. Your success is our honor!
5.0

09/09/2013


Michelle D.

It went wonderfully. We had a contractor that was to do the work and disappeared on us just a week before a big event at our location. Chris and his crew came in and even worked on the weekend to get the job done for us so we made a good first impress on new guests to our bed and breakfast. Since then, we have used them for a number of things. All of which they showed up on time, worked very hard and completed it when they said they would. I would highly recommend their services.

Description of Work
Sidewalks, Stairs on a terrace, stormwater management, seeding, and built up a terrace.

Category hauling services, landscaping, lawn service, hardscaping

Service Provider Response

This on going job has been great this family are awesome and easy to work with. Thank for the work and the kind words.
5.0

08/12/2013


Lecia A.

We have not yet had the work performed, it will be in the next week, but we are very impressed with the professionalism of the owner, Tim. Update: We cannot say enough about our experience with Liberty Landscaping! They did outstanding work! We had quite a bit of overgrowth in our bushes and landscaping, which needed extensive trimming and weeding as described above. From the time that Timothy came out to assess the job and give us an estimate, to the written quote, to the end product, we have nothing but accolades to give to this business. Two of their crew showed up exactly on time, and worked continuously until the job was completed. They were friendly and professional, and checked in with me several times to assure that I was satisfied with various stages of the job as they were working. They also gave some input about some further work that we would like to have done, brainstorming some ideas with me. When my husband arrived home that evening, he said he was "Simply Stunned" at how great the property looks now! We anticipate using Liberty Landscaping for all future landscaping projects for our home.

Description of Work
Responded promptly to our request for a quote by phone, made an appointment and came out personally to review the scope of the job and discern what our preferences were for the work to be performed. Update: Trimmed and pruned bushes in landscaping in front of house, pruned 4 trees in front and side yards, weeded, mulched and edged the flower beds, weeded area along driveway, knocked down large overgrowth on side of house, knocked down overgrown weeds in back of house, trimmed all tree limbs along the wood line in the back yard up to 12 feet.

Category lawn service

2.0

06/17/2013


Eric B.

Service provider was non-responsive.

Description of Work
Nothing

Category lawn service

Service Provider Response

Oh my, where did we go wrong? Please tell us how we can help? We always look for ways to improve. Thank you for your feed back, good or bad its always helpful! Feel free to email me personally (timothy_walter@yahoo.com) or call(540-295-7947) if you like and we want to make things right, if you allow us.
3.0

06/09/2013


Jaime M.

it was never preformed as I used another provider

Description of Work
Lawn clean up

Category lawn service

Service Provider Response

We are so glad to hear you found the right company to take care of your needs that is most important! Please call on us if you have any other question, its always good to hear it from different company's not all company's are the right fit for all jobs its important that your comfortable with the service and the price.
5.0

05/20/2013


Kevin H.

My wife and I give Liberty Lawn our highest recommendation!! We sustained damage on our property from fallen trees and branches as a result of the tornado that swept through our neighborhood at the end of April. We discovered Timothy and Chris of Liberty Lawn on Angie's List--they responded immediately by phone, came out right away to assess the damage, and provided a reasonable proposal in a very timely manner. Both were highly professional and courteous, and after meeting them to discuss the project, I was confident that they were going to do an excellent job. When Chris and his crew came to remove all the debris and fallen trees, they worked very efficiently. It was a monstrous project, yet they completed all the work by the end of the day (even working part of the time in the rain). We were extremely pleased with the final result, and we will definitely be using their company for all our future landscaping needs. It was an absolute pleasure working with Liberty Lawn, and we cannot thank them enough for all their hard work!!

Description of Work
Removed fallen trees, broken branches, and debris off the top of our roof and side of our house, and in the back yard.

Category hauling services, landscaping, lawn service, leaf removal, tree service

Service Provider Response

The [member name removed] are so kind and easy going and understanding. We are so thankful the home had just a little damage from the storm. Thank you for the work and look forward to more less the storm! lol
4.0

05/10/2013


Calvin H.

There was nothing else that was good about them, maybe he's pretty friendly and explained what they would do which is what we're looking, it's just that it was just a little bit more than we're willing to pay. The price was a little more than what I hoped would be.

Description of Work
We got a quote from Liberty Lawn and Landscaping to remove some leaves in between some trees in one part of the front yard and part of the backyard.

Category leaf removal

Service Provider Response

It was great talking to (Member name removed) and a pleasure meeting meeting (Member name removed). Pricing out jobs have so many factors and when you have years of leaves along with many trips to the dump it can get costly. We would love to help, maybe we could do just small areas at a time, phase work. What ever we can do to help?
5.0

05/09/2013


Susan F.

I scheduled an appt with Liberty Lawn and Landscaping - Timothy Walter for estimates on landscaping and yard maintenance. He was prompt, and provided some wonderful landscaping ideas on cost saving idea on building a retaining wall. Tim followed up via email on estimates and pictures. I will use Liberty Lawn and Landscaping in the near future.

Description of Work
Contacted Liberty Lawn and Landscaping services for estimates on landscaping and yard maintenance.

Category landscaping, lawn service

Service Provider Response

Ms [member name removed] is the type of client we look for all the time. Fun to talk to open to suggest and looking to do phases for your landscape project vs trying to do it all at once. Thank you for your kind words.
5.0

04/09/2013


Jeffery G.

They were fine and I had no quarrels with them. They were good and on-time when they came to do the estimate. They were friendly and recommended different work for the lawn than another company.

Description of Work
I got an estimate from Liberty Lawn and Landscaping.

Category landscaping

5.0

03/04/2013


Karen K.

I contacted Liberty Lawn and Landscaping for a quote for lawn mowing & lawn care. Tim responded promptly and arrived at the agreed appointment time to discuss our needs. Tim was very personable and knowledgeable. He addressed all our concerns and provided his estimate via email in a reasonable time. We have not used his service, as we have decided to do our own work for another year. I would likely contact him again when the work is more than we can handle.

Description of Work
NA

Category landscaping, lawn service

Service Provider Response

Blessings to you and your husband . We will be here for you when you are ready for us.
5.0

02/19/2013


Christopher P.

Liberty Lawn and Landscaping, LLC are great, they helped us out and are helping us out beautify the lawn. They are going to come back and do more work for us.

Description of Work
Liberty Lawn and Landscaping, LLC laid soil for us.

Category landscaping, lawn service

Service Provider Response

Your the type of client we look for all the time. We love your heart and easy going attitude, its was a lot of fun to talk with you. This may not be like your home WI but we hope to help create the same type of memories.
5.0

02/09/2013


Linda C.

Very well. We contacted Tim using Angie's List infomation. He immediately responded via email. During inital meeting, he and my husband walked the property discussing what needed to be done. Based upon that information, a proposal was submitted to us, which we then reviewed and decided on the sequence of the work. The crew arrived and completed all work thus meeting expectations. The crew leader kept us informed of all activites as well as dates and times. We are very pleased with their work ethic, professionalism, and are looking forward to continuing the relationship. We have offered to be a reference for future proposals.

Description of Work
Several phases of work were done over 2 months as we had requested. Final work was late November. Work consisted of winterization of 2.25 acres with multiple garden beds (12). Also, lawns were fertilized with weed and feed, lime, and grass seed.

Category landscaping, lawn service

5.0

02/04/2013


Sara D.

I use the lawn work coupon off of Angie's list. I was contacted immediately, and a appointment was set up. The day of the appointment, the guys showed and after a brief explanation of what I was looking to have done, started the work. The work went smooth and quick. I have a large yard, with alot of inclines but both guys were up for the task. I spoke to them about possible future lawn mowing, but they explain right up front that the King George area wasnt a area that they serviced for just mowing. We also spoke about retaining wall and getting the yard in shape for the spring. I honestly dont know if they will be the two guys doing the future work, but they both were very throughly in what their company had to offer. I will be using them again in the future for landscaping work, oppose to just yard work. Keep a eye out on my future post!

Description of Work
Lawn work

Category lawn service

5.0

01/30/2013


Tom J.

A couple of really nice guys who did a great job at a very reasonable price. We called them to clear leaves, brush, and some sizeable branches (chain saw required) after the big storm. I would recommend them highly. Definitely will call them again in future.

Description of Work
Great work & prices

Category gutter cleaning, landscaping, lawn service, leaf removal

Service Provider Response

Mr. J it was our honor to take care of the task you needed us to see about. We look forward to that call in the future!
5.0

10/30/2012


Karen T.

Overall and good experience, and would recommend Liberty Lawn and Landscaping.

Description of Work
Liberty Lawn performed grass cutting on our front and back yards. We chose Liberty Lawn because they were the only company to return our call, and the price was very reasonable. The lawn cutting was performed on time and in a professional manner.

Category lawn service

Service Provider Response

We enjoy doing everything from a cutting of a lawn to installing entire new lawn and landscape. Either way we get fulfillment from the results and satisfaction from the client.
4.0

10/30/2012


Margaret F.

Be precise on what you want done ahead of time. Clarify the date of work up front. It took us a week and a half to get it done. See my notes above. :) m

Description of Work
We had a 100 feet of a steep hill cleared of weeds and mulch put in place. It looks great, it has been sprayed with roundup! We have some grass growing through the mulch, after only a month! We called them and they will do a service call this week. The other side of the hill has periwinkle covering it, so they chopped down the unwanted bushes and cleared the weeds etc. and it looks great. The back yard was mowed and is ok. We also had some mulch placed in front of our house on top of the hill and our flower beds weeded. These people were on time and worked hard all day as we had a lot to be done. In the future we will have the weed cover replaced when the mulch s replaced. This company worked hard and did a great job and said they would be glad to return in the spring. We have had many landscapers that were less expensive, but they weren't dependable.

Category landscaping, lawn service

Service Provider Response

This was a great project and we showcased the work on Facebook (no address or name was given)! We will come back in the spring to address every one of your concerns and any work that we did that was not to your satisfaction will be taken care of without question!

    Other local Pros in your area

    Blue Ridge Landscaping

    A full-service landscaping contractor, Blue Ridge Landscaping is your preferred choice for all your commercial or residential landscaping needs. Serving the greater Fredericksburg region since 2001, we proudly combine an exemplary work ethic with a total commitment to our clients.  

    Darinel's Tree Service

    We have the experience and dedication to get the job done right! Specializing in tree services; We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won't leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Call or click for your FREE estimate today!  

     Jose Luis Tree Service

    With several years of experience, Tree Service by Jose Luis, works hard to bring each customer the best possible service and quality available. We look forward to working with you soon on your next project. We welcome your questions and thank you for your interest.  

    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, PayPal, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    landscape services

    Services Not Offered

    Irrigation installing.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Liberty Lawn and Landscaping, LLC

    How is Liberty Lawn and Landscaping, LLC overall rated?

    Liberty Lawn and Landscaping, LLC is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are Liberty Lawn and Landscaping, LLC open?

    Liberty Lawn and Landscaping, LLC is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: Closed

    Tuesday: Closed

    Wednesday: Closed

    Thursday: Closed

    Friday: Closed

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Liberty Lawn and Landscaping, LLC provide

    Liberty Lawn and Landscaping, LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, PayPal, Financing Available

    Does Liberty Lawn and Landscaping, LLC offer free estimates?

    Yes, Liberty Lawn and Landscaping, LLC offers free project estimates.

    Does Liberty Lawn and Landscaping, LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Liberty Lawn and Landscaping, LLC does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Liberty Lawn and Landscaping, LLC offer a senior discount?

    No, Liberty Lawn and Landscaping, LLC does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Liberty Lawn and Landscaping, LLC?

    No, Liberty Lawn and Landscaping, LLC does not offer warranties.

    What services does Liberty Lawn and Landscaping, LLC offer?

    Liberty Lawn and Landscaping, LLC offers the following services: landscape services

    Are there any services Liberty Lawn and Landscaping, LLC does not offer?

    Irrigation installing.