Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Commonwealth Irrigation & Landscape

Founded 2003 • With Angi since June 2010

3.9

(40) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

9704 Ashley Dawn Ct

Fredericksburg, VA 22408

Description

Commonwealth Irrigation and Landscape is a full service irrigation and landscape company. We provide complete irrigation installation and maintenance, full landscape construction from new plant beds to retaining walls to patios. Our tenured staff is very well trained; attending continuing

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

03/27/2022


Ericka K.

The best irrigation company in the area! Matt, Alex, and Chris are very knowledgeable of irrigation systems. They installed a new irrigation system in my yard and did an excellent job! I’m very pleased with how everything turned out and with their customer service. I would highly recommend this company to anyone looking to get an irrigation system installed.

Description of Work
Irrigation system installed

Category irrigation systems

2.0

08/12/2020


Dennis F.

I normally don't do something like this. However, Commonwealth Irrigation is beyond frustrating. This is a long cut & paste from notes document. Would you pay $6018.16 for this? Stafford/Fredericksburg/Dale City/Manassas/Northern VA residents need to make an informed decision on whether or not to use this company. Commonwealth Landscaping Service Notes 12 June – 6 Jul Meetings and discussions with MG, Division Manager on service to be done Highlighted areas to address Slate wall stable and not like existing where bump or step on ring and slate shifts/moves Area in back corner water/drainage and when rock removed need to be mindful of how to deal with drainage/runoff Front area under bay window as even/parallel as possible so no slant down towards tree on right corner of house Understandable delay to start date as had to be put on schedule 23 July Day 1 Bxx, Project Lead SME and 1 other showed with MG Bxx upset as he had no idea of the project scope Didn’t have right tools “Dingo” Stated he almost didn’t want to start job Moved a bit of rock around and removed most of slate from rings Didn’t ID irrigation system so needed someone to come and mark/move Left early *Spoke to MG I didn’t understand why irrigation and landscape were not in sync * Explained not happy with start of job 24 July Day 2 Arrived late because of picking up equipment? Jxx, Production Manager with Bxx today. Started back yard but didn’t complete removing rock from all rings Bxx wanted to move to front and get wall built I asked about a “punch out crew” for cleanup and prep – remove remaining rocks and level out/fill in with soil prior to sod and mulch Told that would be done prior to sod/mulch and planting 27 July Day 3 MG walk through and explained concerns *MG –“Temperature high/crew working hard/don’t want to overwork” Bxx and Jxx told me they needed to take out final two bushes in back corner to make an even grade for sitting area Maple tree roots ripped out and exposed Asked Bxx and Jxx if damage to tree and said not an issue Didn’t have correct tools couldn’t get Juniper in front roots out with Dingo *I helped dig out first two roots balls as they couldn’t get out with just Dingo *Had to give my tow rope because old manilla rope kept breaking 28 July Day 4 Started wall but didn’t have right tools – used my line and a level *Bxx said something about not having tools because bag taken to another job. Bxx felt wouldn’t have enough slate had to order new pallet $350 and would use all the original to complete back yard *I asked about back drainage and u-shaped ring with small slate ring – Bxx confirmed he understood Appears to be no communication/integration between irrigation and landscaping – didn’t know where heads where, two front heads where wall being built would have to be re-done and moved at a cost to me? *Seems uncoordinated, unplanned, and and ad hoc – jumping from back to front and not completing anything before moving on *Corner area left completely half finished No rock cleanup or grading 29 July Day 5 Jxx and 1 other show up to lay sod Bxx out sick Minimal clean up and dump a little dirt Drop sod right on top – no cut out or leveling to make sod fit existing grass Didn’t cut out sprinkler head area Arrive around 0830-0845ish left by around 1500 to include hour+ to get mulch in the middle of this time period 30 July Day 6 MG on site and reviewed work. *Admitted if it was his yard/project he would have concerns just as I do. Committed to the team completing and doing a professional job. Stated he would stop in to check work and see if concerns are answered. THIS IS THE LAST TIME MG WAS ON SITE. Half day as worker injured hand 31 July Day 7 Finished front wall and ring around lamp Not filled in with dirt Very unstable No heavy rocks on top to set wall as per what Bxx stated was needed and why he needed a new pallet of slate 3 Aug Day 10 Started in back yard I asked about finishing front, filling in area and was told yes but wanted to get back yard going first Again, the back and forth – front then back never finishing either one!! Left early because of rain 4 August Day 11 No show because of rain Massive mess in back from rain Area I specifically told MG about; where flooding is the worst River of water running to back right area which is a swamp and likely impacting neighbor’s lawn Front wall area under bay window has trench building and large puddle/pool from runoff 5 Aug Day 12 Terminated service with Commonwealth. MG – Division Manager is so out of touch with the project status. Sending Jxx, the Production Manager to remove “Dingo” saying it is no longer needed. *The onsite crew uses it daily to move the slate rock from front to back and in fact the bucket is loaded with crushed gravel and slate stones! 6 Aug Day 13 Received email notification from MG project cancelled and a “final invoice” will be provided for “any work partially completed”. A down payment of $2140.16 was made on 26 June and I don’t see how they can expect more. With the state of my yard and landscaping/irrigation, I believe a refund is owed and have asked for an itemized list of services to compare against what I’ve paid. Front unfinished with sod likely to die Back yard drainage issue, irrigation line exposed, slate piles and torn up yard Front wall loose and no heavy stones Unstable due to many small stones placed within wall 8 Aug Day 15 Received an invoice for $3878 balance due. Included a 2% fee for 30% of total cost down payment. This is a credit card use fee when making a payment, which was paid when making the down payment on June 26th!

Description of Work
Rock removal/bush removal/mulch/sod/retaining wall built/sitting area/plants placed

Category landscaping, drain pipe

4.0

11/22/2014


Patricia H.

Everything went well. The pricing is a bit high. I can't deny the quality.

Description of Work
They did an in-ground sprinkler system for my home. I had them come back later and put in a French drain for my sump pump for my yard.

Category landscaping, irrigation systems

4.0

11/13/2014


David R.

A neighbor recommended this company after several failed attempts to find a service provider that could service our sprinkler system unit. We had no issues with the serviceman who winterized our system, just the billing, communication, and tone. After paying for a yearly service contract before, we were asked to pay $50 to turn-off our system for this year. No problem and it's a very reasonable price. I called Commonwealth and paid this over the telephone that day. The serviceman wrote "Already Paid" on the Winterization invoice once complete. A week passes and we received an invoice in the mail for $50.00. After calling and speaking with someone, she put me on hold to come back adamantly telling me that I was incorrect and that I had only paid for the yearly service contract and not the $50.00. After some needless debate, she put me back on hold. Another person answered and told me that she was aware that I thought there was a mistake. I told her there was no mistake on my end and to check their deposits against my account. She came back after searching and told me it had been corrected. Thus, they never posted my payment to the account and insisted that I was in error. Before insisting that the customer is absolutely incorrect, make certain it's not an error on your end. Such puts a very bad taste in one's mouth to have to push the vendor to correct an error.

Description of Work
winterized a two zone irrigation system

Category irrigation systems

2.0

06/12/2014


Larry B.

Based on contractor's performance installing a new zone for my irrigation system, I requested they install a French drain in the front/side of my house to try to mitigate the water pooling up on my lawn, which was caused by sub-surface water flowing down from a hill on the adjoining property. Before contracting to have the French drain installed, I conducted a fair amount of research to familiarize myself with what constituted a typical French drain installation. From my research, it appears that a typical French drain will consist of a trench that is at least 12" deep and 6" wide, with a pitch or slope of about 1 inch per 10 feet of linear run. The trench should be lined with permeable landscape fabric, about 2" of aggregate gravel laid in the bottom of the trench, a 4" perforated French drain pipe with sock then laid on the aggregate gravel, a 2" layer of aggregate gravel then laid over the top and sides of the French drain pipe, the permeable landscape fabric then wrapped over the aggregate gravel, and finally, soil and turf replaced. As I casually observed the installation of the French drain, it appeared that all the above steps were taken. In addition, the contractor's crew determined that I had a blockage in an existing drain used to route water from my gutters down to the ornamental ditch that the French drain would flow to. Since this existing drain would be running parallel to the new French drain, the crew dug up and replaced this drain also, as they felt it might be contributing to the wet condition I was experiencing in my yard. All in all, it appeared to be a very good installation as I could see the results (a drier yard) almost immediately (within several weeks). A month or so after the installation of the French drain, I experienced a power outage in my house. When the Spotsylvania Power Company came out to determine the cause, they found that the insulation on a power line coming into my house had apparently been cut during the French drain installation. In addition to the power line being nicked, the power company employee advised my wife that the French drain pipe had been routed over the power line, and that would cause water to pool under the ground where the line was. I advised Commonwealth's owner of this and he did not seem to be concerned about the situation. A month or so later, my power went out again, and again the Spotsylvania Power Company came out and found another issue with the power line where the French drain crossed it. I observed as they dug up the line and as they dug, a significant amount of water pooled up in that area, so much that they had to take 5-gallon buckets to dip enough of it out so they could get to the power line. After going the winter and seeing a significant improvement in the amount of water pooling in my front/side yard, I asked Commonwealth to extend the French drain 36 feet across my back yard. The 2-man crew arrived as scheduled at about 7:45 a.m. and began work. I went out to advise them of an electrical line in the vicinity of where they would be digging the trench and observed that the trench was being dug what seemed to be very shallow. I asked them about this and they advised they were digging it 8 inches deep. Since they had apparently done such a good job on the front yard, I thought they knew what they were doing and had a reason for digging it so shallow, so I did not question this any further. At 9:15 a.m., it appeared they had finished, and a few minutes later, they left. I had asked them to dump the leftover dirt in an un-landscaped part of my yard, but a few days later while cutting the lawn, I noticed what appeared to be only bout three wheel barrows of dirt having being dumped. Feeling that the excess dirt from 36 feet of trench should have been significantly more, I took a closer look at the drain and found that it was only 30 feet in length instead of 36 feet, or 20% less than what I had contracted for. I then dug up the upper portion of the drain and found it to be only 5 inches deep, with no landscaping fabric nor any aggregate rock - just a 5 inch deep trench with the perforated French drain with sock laying in it. I then went about half-way down the drain and dug up another section, where I found the same condition as I had found in the first section I dug up. I then went to the beginning of the extension and dug it up, finding it to be about 8 inches deep there with a little aggregate rock at the bottom, but no landscape fabric. I contacted the owner about this and he came out and concurred with what I had found and advised that this was not an acceptable installation. He then sent another crew out to rectify the situation. I was not at home when the second crew finished their work, but it was apparent that they had not installed the additional 6 feet (20%) of drain called for in the contract. I again contacted the owner and he sent the crew back to install the additional 6 feet. While observing them install this additional 6 feet of drain, I noticed they did not line the trench with landscape fabric. I asked them about it and they then lined this 6 feet with the fabric and finished the project. After they left, I went back and dug up some of the previous section to see if the trench had been lined with landscape fabric when they re-did the original extension. They had not, instead they had installed a layer of landscape fabric only on top of the aggregate rock instead of completely around it. I contacted the owner again on this and he advised (paraphrasing somewhat here) that the landscape cloth as well as the sock covering the pipe are designed to keep dirt material from being able to enter the drainage system. Clearly having dirt enter the pipe would cause clogging and slow water entry. The fabric location will not hinder the performance of the pipe and it's ability to allow water entry into the perforated pipe. Doing some more research on the landscaping fabric, I found, from several authoritative sources, that it is installed to keep dirt out of the gravel, which preserves the porosity of the gravel, promotes percolation of water through the gravel, and prevents erosion of the ground surrounding the drain. I again contacted the owner that my concern was not the location of the landscape fabric, but the lack of it being placed in the trench to line it before the gravel and drain were installed. I further advised him that if he felt that not installing the landscaping fabric before placing the gravel in the trench was acceptable, I would go with that and consider it a completed project. As of yet, since May 21st, I have not heard back from the owner, so I assume he feels leaving the landscape fabric out of 30 feet of the drain is an acceptable installation. Back to the front yard. After my issues with the installation of the drain in my back yard, I dug up the drain in the area where I had the power line issue. As I dug, it began to fill with water at a level over the drain pipe. I dug up a section about two feet wide by five feet long, all of it filling up with water at a level over the drain pipe. I confirmed that the trench had been completely lined with landscape cloth, which was not done for the 30 foot section in the back yard. I confirmed that the drain was routed over the power line and that there was about a 2 inch rise in the level of the pipe as it crossed over the power line, negating about 20 feet of the typical 1 inch downward slope per 10 feet of linear run. Apparently, the Spotsylvania electric employee was correct when he advised that the routing of the drain over the power line would cause water to pool in that location. In short, after an initial installation that appeared to be of high quality, and a subsequent installation which took two addition visits to correct serious shortcomings, I am still left with a French drain that may or may not be effective due to the lack of 30 feet of landscaping fabric in the back yard, and a rise in the level of the drain in the front yard which appears to be causing significant amounts of water to pool along the French drain trench. At this point in time, it seems to be reasonably effective in keeping my yard dryer than it was, but for how long I do not know.

Description of Work
Installed initial section of French drain in front/side yard in 09/2013, and added additional section in back yard in 05/14.

Category irrigation systems, drain pipe

2.0

06/12/2014


Larry B.

Contractor crew (three persons) arrived at approximately 9:15 a.m. on the date scheduled and worked on yard as called for in contract. At approximately 12:45 p.m., they left. A day or so later, we took a closer look at their work and found that there were still a lot of leaves left in the flower beds. Apparently, only the leaves that could be blown out with a leaf blower were removed. Many leaves still remained in the flower beds that were stuck to the ground due to them being wet from a recent rain. There were still a number of weeds in the flower beds. There was still a significant amount of debris and weeds in the ornamental ditch and, again, it appears that only the leaves that could be blown out with a leaf blower were removed. The mulch appeared to have just been dumped in the flower beds, with no attempt to sculpt it around the plants and trees, or to level it out in a contoured manner. Many of our ornamental stones were also left covered by the mulch. The edging to the flower beds was done by shovel instead of a machine. When the crew left, there were a great many muddy shoeprints left on our sidewalk and driveway, which I pressure washed off a few days later myself. We advised the owner of our issues and he rescheduled another crew to come out the next week to redo the cleaning. The second crew came out and improved somewhat on the job from the first crew, but it was still lacking as there were still weeds and leaves in the flower beds, ornamental rocks were still covered by mulch and debris was still in the ornamental ditch. We advised the owner again of our concerns on the quality of the clean up performed and he advised he would send another crew out to redo it again. We were out of town when the third crew came, but when we returned, we found the clean up to be somewhat satisfactory in our opinion, but not nearly as good as the jobs our previous contractor had done for $600. I still had to get out and broom brush the mulch from tops of the ornamental rocks in the flower garden and also smoothed out the mulch somewhat, as it appears little was done to contour it nicely over the width and length of the flower beds. I previously used a neighborhood company whose crew got down on their hands and knees to carefully lay the mulch, sculpting small craters around the base of trees, and really smoothing out all the high spots in the mulch. This was not done in this case. On the initial visit, we asked the crew to add trimming the bushes in the flower beds to the contract, which was done at a cost of $48 (one staff person for one hour of work). When the second crew returned to redo the work, we were advised the cost of the trimming would be about $96. When we called the contractor's office on this, we were advised that since there were two workers present, we would have to be charged for two hours work, instead of the initial one hour cited by the crew member on the first visit. I understand what a staff hour of work is, but I could not understand that if there was only an hour's work in trimming the bushes for one person, why were we charged an hour's work for each of the two crew members? Also, it appears what trimming was done was just to trim the tops off the bushes - no trimming or shaping of the sides of the bushes was apparent to us. I routinely trim the same bushes they trimmed and it usually takes me 20 minutes with a battery powered trimmer, not the two hours of labor I was charged. As I mentioned above, for the past several years we used a contractor who operates in the neighborhood and he charges about $600 for the Spring clean up. We decided to go with Commonwealth on the Spring clean up this time based on our previous experience with them in installing an additional zone in our sprinkler system (I posted a review on this project) and installing a French drain in our front yard (for which I also will post a review), and the fact we wanted to essential "bundle" all of our yard related services with one company, to include fertilization, weed control, over seeding, and aeration. This is the main reason we were willing to pay $1,000 for a job that had costs us $600 in the past. In this case, this just didn't work out well for us.

Description of Work
Contracted with provider to clean weeds, leaves and debris from flower beds and ornamental ditch, machine edge flower beds, install 10 yards of premium brown dyed mulch to selected flower beds, over seed bare areas in front yard, and trim selected bushes.

Category lawn service

2.0

05/31/2014


Shannon J.

Not well laid out, so distribution is uneven in the yard. Major PVC and flexible lines buried too shallow (2-3 inches in some spots) and individual lines to sprinkler heads even worse. Multiple cuts during rototilling and I'm afraid to aerate the yard. Took no responsibility for shallow line installation and charged $75 to repair. I've subsequently repaired cuts myself. Rude phone reception was the last straw.

Description of Work
"Good deal" early Spring install of 8 zone system including two drip zones.

Category landscaping

5.0

12/28/2013


A.J. C.

I was extremely satisfied with the way Commonwealth Irrigation conducted business, and was absolutely impressed by the way they conducted training on the system before the job was completed.

Description of Work
Irrigation system installation, testing, and training.

Category irrigation systems

5.0

10/21/2013


Shilrey P.

Commonwealth maintains my sprinkler system to close it for the season and re open it in the spring. I have always been pleased because they are great all around. Professional and competitively priced. I do not hesitate to recommend them, call Tracy. They also have a package/service contract? that includes winterization and re start and some service calls that seems a good value.

Description of Work
Winterized sprinkler system.

Category irrigation systems

2.0

10/10/2013


Mark W.

This was perhaps the most challenging experience we have had with any contractor we have used for any reason. The system flooded some areas, and left others overly dry. We were unable to use our yard for nearly the entire summer due to the flooding. They refused to admit that the original design did not take into account the variables (sun, shade, grade, presence of a geothermal field, etc) despite our problems, and repeatedly attempted to claim that there must be some other source of water in the area, which of course, there wasn't. We had our geothermal system checked for leaks, and it was fine. Much of the communication was condescending - as though we were the problem - while our yard was completely unusable. Perhaps of most concern, while they were responsive to our requests for reviewing the problems, ultimately they were unable to solve them. We had to hire another irrigation contractor to correct the irrigation balances, change the head layout, etc. Commonwealth simply did not exhibit the expertise required to figure out how to solve the problems. They were quickly solved by the second contractor. This is my first negative post on Angie's List. I anticipate a "slick" and defensive response based on our prior interactions, but felt it necessary to share our experience as the prior positive Angie's List reviews were the main reason we chose this company.

Description of Work
Installed irrigation system, installed sod.

Category landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems

1.0

09/19/2013


Matt R.

I am installing a fence. In doing so, I noticed that the sprinkler system installed was well onto my property. The company did not use the survey that was offered to them by my neighbor. No big deal, my sprinkler system had to be moved as well and it's a fairly common occurrence. I spoke with both my neighbors and called commonwealth irrigation. Tracy, who answered the phones, had to be the most unprofessional person I've dealt with in a long time. She does not listen, speaks over me, and quickly escalates a simple issue into a yelling match. My first call went ok, except that I requested Tracy call me back to let me know when they were coming out. This is common sense, because if the lines aren't moved completely off my property, they would only have to come out again. The company came out at some point and moved the sprinkler heads. No one notified me or even checked to see if they moved them in compliance with the land survey. So at least one sprinkler head and the underground lines are still on my property. I called and spoke with Tracy again today. Today she advises me the company has no way to mark sprinkler lines so I can make sure that the fence posts don't ruin my neighbors system. In fact, and I quote, Tracy advised to go ahead and put the fence posts in, and if damage is done to the system they would come out at that point and fix it. What? No, I'm sorry I'm not doing that to my neighbors. This company needs to come out and move all lines out of the way. Tracy informs me that since I'm not a customer, she will not deal with me and will not call me back to let me know when and if this system is finally going to be taken off my property. Tracy has terrible active listening skills, and screams the same sentence over and over again making a simple issue into a huge ball of stress for everyone involved. I shudder to think how this woman deals with problems from her customers, if knowing that they have installed a sprinkler system on someone else's property does not encourage her to act. She has singlehandedly cost her company an extra visit to the site, and decided that it would be okay if I put fence posts through their water lines. Somehow I doubt management at this company would be happy about that. So now I sit and wait to see if I will be graced by the presence of this company to finally move this system, above ground and underground OFF of my property so I can put a fence up.

Description of Work
Commonwealth irrigation installed a sprinkler system on my neighbor's property. The system they installed was actually partially on my property.

Category irrigation systems

Service Provider Response

This call occurred in July of 2013. During the conversation our staff member repeatedly asked that the person she was speaking to to please stop using profanity at her. She proceed to place him on speaker phone so a manager from a different department could hear what he was saying and how he was speaking to her. Tracey continued to ask that he stop using profanity at her, I am sure speaking over him to get him to stop and be more respectful while we tried to understand his problem, as he is not a customer of ours. After working with our customer, his neighbor, we found that we did not need to do anything and can only assume at this point of his review 2 months later that he has put his fence up with no issue. While we want to help in any way we can with anyone you may call our office we are okay if he never calls again. It is unfortunate that misleading and inaccuarte information like this from a person we have never met is permitted.
3.0

09/09/2013


Diane C.

The irrigation system works well so far. I do not recommend buying the super duper RainBird control system as it costs more than it is worth. That was my choice tho. It takes too long to have someone come out to make a repair. The lady that answers the phone at the office should not be allowed anywhere near a phone relative to talking with costumers. The best that can be said for her is that her personality is that of a hemorrhoid, and will be the reason I will not contact Commonwealth Irrigation at the end of the warranty period. I won't give her name but a comic strip detective character's name was similar. I asked for two Crepe Myrtle trees to be planted which was done, but in the most unprofessional manner possible. They simply dug a hole and planted the trees. No additional planting soil was included, and no mulch or working of the surrounding soil was performed. Just a hole with the tree thrown in the ground. This is not how a good landscape company would plant a tree especially considering how much we paid for it. If you want an irrigation system, then Commonwealth Irrigation will most likely give you a good one., but be prepared to wait for repairs, and just put up with the office phone lady.

Description of Work
Installed irrigation system and planted two trees.

Category landscaping, irrigation systems

Service Provider Response

You will find value in the Smart irrigation system as you continue to use it. Many Counties have also found value with customers having Smart systems and have developed programs rewarding customers who install them with discounted water rates, as they know they will conserve water over the life of the system. I do not understand the name calling of our staff, if there is an issue with a team member we have managers in place who are happy to help. Our records show just two service visits to the property from the homeowner requests, one in May of 2013 and the other on September 10, 2013. The September appointment was called in by the customer on Friday 9/6 and we are on the property on 9/10, given the weekend that is only 1 business day later than we could have responded to an issue. As far as the Crape Myrtles, they were planted properly and are thriving.
3.0

08/26/2013


PW S.

They did a great job on rebuilding our sidewalk, but the yard work (planting seed and fertilzing the yard) was horrible. They used a contract company and they did not provide initial instructions and when I called the company, I got conflicting information. I spent $4000 dollars and lost the yard within 3 months. I called them out to complain and they wanted me to spend another $2000 to fix the problem. I will never use this company for yard maintenance.

Description of Work
landscaping and yard work

Category irrigation systems

Service Provider Response

The sidewalk project was nice and did turn out well. With regard to the seeding, after the project was complete, we made two visits to the property to review the seed germination. All results were good during those two visits. We also made two requests that the grass needs to be mowed because of its height. It was able to grow too tall then after cutting caused damage to some of the new turf. We are not happy to hear that you were not happy with the turf results and hope that the follow up seeding has given you the results you were looking for.
1.0

08/20/2013


Ceci L.

They failed to flush out all the water out of the sprinkler system and the sprinklers heads froze and burst in the winter time. Due to improper winterization, the backflow system froze and the it burst in the middle of the winter as well. The company came out to replace the backflow system for free of charge but installed the wrong back flow system. I had to call the company out again to replace it with the right back flow system. Will never hire the company again and don't recommend this company to anyone. I have a document that has the company admit that the backflow system froze due to improper winterization that the company performed in the winter.

Description of Work
The company was hired to do winterization and spring start up.

Category hardscaping

Service Provider Response

This is a system that we did not install and was not covered under any warranty. The backflow that was damaged was due to a malfunctioning ball valve that was installed by others that allowed water to leak back into the system after the winterization. This was noted to the customer on the service invoice dated 1/6/12. The heads that needed to be replaced were due to gear problems and were not rotating. This had nothing to do to the winterization and may have been left by the original installation company. We serviced this system during the entire 2012 season with no trouble.
5.0

08/16/2013


Warren R.

Presenters/sales people were very professional. The jobs were both done timely and fairly efficiently. They have been very responsive to our need for explanations and corrections that needed to be done to the sprinkler system.

Description of Work
Installed a significant number of shrubs and mulched entire yard. Also, installed a 7 zone sprinkler system.

Category landscaping, irrigation systems, mulch

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the review, this was a nice project to complete and it did turn out well. We have been happy to provide support to the operations of the SMART irrigation system and expect it will prove to be an asset to protect the new plantings and provide water savings throughout its use.We have needed to visit the site to confirm rain collection calculations and have been happy to do that to make sure the customer is getting exactly what they need on site. We look forward to upcoming projects we have planned together.
5.0

07/22/2013


Pablo R.

We had a window of 10 am - 2 pm for the technician to show up to test our backflow prevention device as required by our county. The technician, Steve, showed up right around 10:35 and had completed the test by 10:45. The company sends the results to the county, so we don't need to do that part either. We were very pleased with the service and will probably use them next year to test again. And if we start to use the sprinkler system again we will probably be calling them for the winterization and spring start up. The technician said that they usually have a package deal at a discount for all 3 services. We were impressed and quite pleased with our 1st experience with this company.

Description of Work
Backflow Testing for the county.

Category irrigation systems

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the kind words. The program that the technician spoke about will be mailed to you automatically between October and November. The mailing will outline what the program covers and how it can save you money by bundling irrigation maintenance services. Please look for this to show up in your mailbox then. Thanks again!
1.0

06/28/2013


Bud B.

ABSOLUTELY FURIOUS WITH COMMONWEALTH!!! I took the day off from work today for an 0900 appointment at a townhouse my wife and I own/rent here in Stafford, Virginia. There is a situation with the adjoining property that needed to be addressed. The situation is similar to that which I had remedied BY COMMONWEALTH at my home 5 years ago. I showed up 10 minutes before the appointment. At 9:06 am, I called the company office to find out how long the tech from Commonwealth would be. I was told by the person answering the phone that the tech had already been to the property, rang the door bell, and left a card in the door when no one answered. Then left. When I inquired as to when tech could come back by the property, I was told I would have to make another appointment. I was LIVID. The call ended with a VERY angry ex-patron of this business. I called back to ask to speak directly to the manager. Seems the operator of this business, Rodney, was THE tech who claims to have come to the property. And he would NOT be able to turn around and return today. Great! I asked that the receptionist to have "Rodney" call me back. Crickets, thus far. This is incredibly upsetting given that I took valuable time off from work to have a water leak/run-off problem addressed. Made all the worse having learned that THE person in charge of this business did NOT show up to the proper address at the agreed to time. Further, THERE WAS NO CARD LEFT IN THE DOOR OF THE PROPERTY. I would NOT recommend doing business with this company. Are they really that busy that they have the luxury of blowing off a repeat customer? Take your business elsewhere and save yourself the POTENTIAL FOR SIMILAR AGGRAVATION. My blood hasn't boiled this bad in years.

Description of Work
DID NOT SHOW UP AT THE PROPER ADDRESS ON TIME!

Category irrigation systems

Service Provider Response

We did respond to the correct address and were there from 8:55 am until 9:05 am rang the door bell twice once at arrival and again just before leaving. No one answered, so we went to our next appointment.
5.0

06/19/2013


Larry B.

On the initial visit, the company representative was punctual and professional looking. After I advised him what I wanted done, he explained in detail what expansions to my current sprinkler system would be needed and gave me an estimate on the spot. He also advised that my current system did not meet county code, which was a surprise to me, as the company that had serviced our system had not, in the past three years we have owned the home, brought this to our attention. The technicians that installed the new expansion came on the day scheduled, though a little later than I expected, but finished the job quickly and neatly. They explained what they had done and that instead of adding a new sprinkler head to an existing zone as initially proposed, put a different type of head to two existing sprinkler heads, which would give the same coverage, but would not damage new flowers I am planting in my newly developing flower garden. I thought this to be very thoughtful of the technician, as this was something I had not considered when I started the garden after I initially met with the company representative. I was very satisfied with their explanations of what they did. After installation, I was giving a thorough briefing on the new zone and new heads they put on existing zones to give better coverage, and both expanded zones were run to demonstrate they provided the coverage I needed . All in all, I was completely satisfied with the work done and if I need additional work in the future, I will go back to them. I also will enter into a service contract with them to conduct the seasonal purging and opening of the sprinkler system, and to conduct the annual inspection required by the county, of which I was not previously aware, as their quoted price on the seasonal service is 30% less than the company I previous used .

Description of Work
Expanded current irrigation system by adding a new sprinkler zone and adjusting another zone to give better sprinkler coverage, and brought sprinkler system up to county code by elevating backflow mechanism.

Category irrigation systems

5.0

05/31/2013


Delois M.

Commonwealth Irrigation and Landscape arrived on time this morning and completed the installation in one day as promised. Brian was very helpful and explained all we needed to know about the system. He set the system up so that it would be ready to go starting Monday of next week. Since the system was just installed today it we have not used it yet ourselves, but I will update my review after a week or two of usage.

Description of Work
They installed a Rain Bird irrigation system in our yard and flowerbeds.

Category irrigation systems

4.0

05/13/2013


Kim D.

We contacted Commonwealth on the recommendation of co-workers who were very pleased with the company's service. They came out and provided an estimate and we subsequently contracted for installation. The workers did an ok job. In some areas, the water pipe (from the water main to the valves) was literally inches below the ground surface. After summer rains, you could see the white pipe peeking through the dirt. Otherwise, the work was good and the system works well. My husband has had some communications with their office that were not exactly cordial which further convinced us to move elsewhere for continuing service. We would not use them again, as we have found a guy who is very very responsive and works better and for less money. He is a treasure.

Description of Work
Installation of yard irrigation system

Category irrigation systems

5.0

02/15/2013


Jason H.

This is the second time we have used Commonwealth. The first time was in 2008 in our old home. Very professional staff from the folks in the front office to the field technicians. Rodney provided the estimate and the folks were out within 1 week after the signed contract. The technicians arrived promptly on time in the morning and they were finished by late afternoon. Even though both my wife and I work, they stayed on the site to conduct a complete walk-thru of the system. The cost includes winterization and spring startup. Terrific company; if you are even thinking about installing a irrigation system, they are thecompany to hire

Description of Work
We had Commonwealth install a six zone irrigation system.

Category irrigation systems

5.0

02/13/2013


Jim S.

It turned out great! They were professional, responsive, and punctual. They came out and completed the work within one day. They were on time to start the job and completed the work in the time frame they committed to. The installation costs included the winterization. They did a great job and there are no complaints. We are very happy with the finished product.

Description of Work
They completed an irrigation system installation. They installed five zones with the system.

Category irrigation systems, hardscaping

5.0

11/27/2012


Shilrey P.

It was easy to get an appointment and the price was competetive. It was quick and I will have them back to turn on the sprinkler system in the spring.

Description of Work
Performed winterization on my sprinkler system.

Category irrigation systems

5.0

11/27/2012


Thomas A.

This is a very professional company. They set an installation date about two weeks out from our signing the contract and showed up bright and early and installed the system on that day. They brought all the personnel and equipment neccessary to do the job in a very efficient and professional manner. Each technician knew their job and went about it with little direction. When the intallation was done they reviewed the operation of the system and answered all my questions. When I found some small glitches in the system operation they were out the next day to resolve them. If you are looking for an irrigation system in the Fredericksburg, Va. area, I recommend them very highly.

Description of Work
They install a rather extensive lawn irrigation system at my residence.

Category irrigation systems

4.0

09/28/2012


Michael N.

They are not really that organized and make sure you keep all your documentations ie email, contract, and paperworks. Other services they provide like aeration, fall over seeding and irrigation system install can be had elsewhere for cheaper.

Description of Work
Overall the price is competitive with other lawn companies for their mowing service.

Category lawn service

    Other local Pros in your area

    Blue Ridge Landscaping

    A full-service landscaping contractor, Blue Ridge Landscaping is your preferred choice for all your commercial or residential landscaping needs. Serving the greater Fredericksburg region since 2001, we proudly combine an exemplary work ethic with a total commitment to our clients.  

    Angi Certified

    Precision Hardscapes

    We specialize in Hardscape Patio's, fire pits, walkways, retaining walls and outdoor kitchens. We also do Landscaping Porches/Decks Driveways Powerwashing Copping on Pools Flooring Artifical Turf. Etc. What sets us apart from our compatition. Is that we look forward to getting everything done properly and professionally for you and most importantly making sure your satisfied with the work we do because we take pride in our work and like to create great relationships with our customers. I am the owner of the company and i have personally worked in hardscapes for 5 years now, but my two best employees have been working in hardscapes for over 12 years now. so we have plenty of experiance on our team.  

    Angi Certified

    Next Vision Services LLC

    Next Vision Services, is here to help you on your Next project on Hardscape and Tree removal. Let us make your Vision come true, with our Stone patios to Retaining walls and walkways, serving Central and Northern Va.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Turf Mowing & Trimming, Fertilization Programs, Mulching Applications, Spring Clean-Ups, Post Emergent Weed Applications, Late Summer Mulching, Leaf Removal, Fall Over-Seeding, Aeration, Patio, Walkway & Lighting.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Commonwealth Irrigation & Landscape

    How is Commonwealth Irrigation & Landscape overall rated?

    Commonwealth Irrigation & Landscape is currently rated 3.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Commonwealth Irrigation & Landscape open?

    Commonwealth Irrigation & Landscape is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    What payment options does Commonwealth Irrigation & Landscape provide

    Commonwealth Irrigation & Landscape accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Commonwealth Irrigation & Landscape offer free estimates?

    Yes, Commonwealth Irrigation & Landscape offers free project estimates.

    Does Commonwealth Irrigation & Landscape offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Commonwealth Irrigation & Landscape does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Commonwealth Irrigation & Landscape offer a senior discount?

    No, Commonwealth Irrigation & Landscape does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Commonwealth Irrigation & Landscape?

    Yes, Commonwealth Irrigation & Landscape offers warranties.

    What services does Commonwealth Irrigation & Landscape offer?

    Commonwealth Irrigation & Landscape offers the following services: Turf Mowing & Trimming, Fertilization Programs, Mulching Applications, Spring Clean-Ups, Post Emergent Weed Applications, Late Summer Mulching, Leaf Removal, Fall Over-Seeding, Aeration, Patio, Walkway & Lighting.