Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

A-1 Inc Exterminators

Founded 1970 • With Angi since May 2006

4.8

(612) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1704 S Park Ct

Chesapeake, VA 23320

Description

Our company is a second-generation, family-owned business that has provided quality pest control services to the Hampton Roads area since February of 1970. Our goal has always been to provide honest, dependable, and professional service to our customers. We are proud of our 43 year history and we

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
3.0

05/02/2018


lacey C.

We used A1 exterminators for several years. In the beginning we used them to change the dehumidifier filters. We started using them because the previous owners had used them to redo the crawl space and install a the humidifier. At some point we also started using them for pest control. We did their Guardian Plan from beginning. The guys they sent over were nice and courteous and always helpful. We were pleased with service until we were selling our home and records of services provided were requested and they refused to give them. We were needing information on if they had caulked some cracks in the foundation when they sealed everything when the dehumidifier was installed. I even had the previous owner call and give them permission to release this information. They accused me of trying to get information out of them that didn't belong to me. Funny thing is, there were absolutely no issues, but they were immediately defensive and accusing me of being in a bad place with our buyers. She talked over me to the point and was so rude, I told her to shut up. That was the end of anything I ever wanted to do with them. Had the owner of this company not been the rudest person I have ever dealt with in my life, I may have left them a good rating. Based on how she treats a customer of 4 or 5 years, I could never recommend them to anyone. Read their reviews yourself. Their bad customer service speaks for itself. When I mentioned this company to the buyers real estate agent, he confirmed that they weren't reputable as did the escrow company that did our closing.

Description of Work
Yearly Pest Control Services

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

As always, we appreciate the member taking the time to leave a review and we also appreciate the very frustrating process of selling a home but regretfully, we were unable to give her another customer's records and that is not what she wanted to hear. She was very distraught, excited and argumentative. I tried to ask her if there was something specific she was looking for but after several minutes she would only tell me it had something to do with cracks in the foundation. But then she said there was no issue with cracks in the foundation. It was puzzling at best. After she hung up on me, her husband called back to say that she was just getting overwhelmed with the process. We had the previous owners of this home as customers with our last visit being six years ago. We did not perform the inspection required for that closing and so our last records with the previous owner amounted to simple general services. When this member called us in 2018, she requested information involving possible structural work being done to the home. We had not yet performed an inspection for her closing and so we weren't sure what type of information she was after. That wasn't the issue as far as we were concerned. We will NOT release property or service information to anyone other than the property owner. Period. Moreover, most work done 6 years prior would have no bearing on work needed today. What this member was asking for was outside of the scope of a standard Wood Destroying Insect and Moisture Inspection and Report but again, we had not performed the inspection for this member's purchase and had not yet performed the inspection for this next purchase. We simply had no information to give her. We suspect that this member's buyers had a home inspection that noted issues of interest or concern and she was trying to eliminate these problems for the new sale. This is very common and we understand as much as anyone could. But we cannot provide information related to the condition of a property for the purposes of its sale outside of the four corners of the standard Wood Destroying Insect & Moisture Reports. These are legal representations that a buyer will rely on when completing the purchase of a home and we take that responsibility very seriously. It is not necessary to defend our reputation here. Our records with all verifiable, reliable sources speak for themselves.
5.0

04/17/2018


Angela B.

I've never had a problem with them.

Description of Work
I've been a customer for 20 year. They've done termite inspections, dehumidifiers

Category pest control

5.0

03/21/2018


Andy T.

We have used A-1 since we purchased our home and they have done the yearly inspections. Any noticeable termite activity was always promptly take care of. We recently had them redo the whole house exterior treatment when more termite activity was noticed. The tech that came out to do the inspection and treatment seemed very knowledgeable and was very thorough. Overall we are very happy with the work provided.

Description of Work
Yearly inspection and termite treatment

Category pest control

5.0

03/06/2018


Kathy P.

Everything I have hired A-1 to do has been done with care and professionalism.

Description of Work
I have had A-1 Exterminators do regular termite checks on my house. Last spring I was beginning to see some large roaches during the wet weather, so I called. They suggested an under and around treatment, which did the trick. When I decided to replace the 50-year-old foundation vents, I went to them as I had found them to be a honest, reliable, and professional company.

Category pest control

5.0

01/15/2018


Lisa M.

The technician was prompt, polite and thorough. The company also followed up with a phone call, and I chose to purchase their annual inspection and warranty package. I was and am very pleased with their service.

Description of Work
I had the crawl space inspection at no charge, as offered.

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

We thank the member very much for the kind words. It has been a pleasure being of service to her thus far and we hope to be of service as long as the members needs us.
5.0

10/23/2017


Marcus M.

The exterminator was punctual and pleasant. They got down to business and where completed with the work in less then an hour.

Description of Work
Pest control

Category pest control

5.0

08/25/2017


Lucille C.

They were really good. They did a really good job. I was really happy with them. I even had him do some other stuff and he did it. It was a really hard job. He was under there and there were all kinds of stuff. I didn’t have critters or anything, but people who had lived in my house before had put a toilet in there. I paid him to remove that and he did. He did a really good job and now it’s all clean. Tell the one that did that, that it was actually such a good job. It was excellent, "A+" work. He just really helped me so good, he was so good.

Description of Work
They did the crawlspace.

Category pest control

5.0

07/03/2017


Douglas B.

Very professional artisan work. Great results.

Description of Work
Installed vapor barrier in two houses

Category pest control

5.0

06/05/2017


Adam L.

It went pretty well. Originally they gave us a bad estimate, and then increased the price. They were fair, and worked with us when the mistake was made to give us what we needed at a very fair price.

Description of Work
We needed a new vapor barrier for our crawl space.

Category pest control, insulation, basement waterproofing

5.0

06/05/2017


thomas S.

Great. Very difficult spot to work on

Description of Work
Replace beam in crawl space

Category pest control, insulation, structural engineer, foundation repair

1.0

05/11/2017


Paul D.

Horrible service, I have been using A1 for a few years now and until now have had no problem. First off I want to set a basis for my bad review so you can understand where I am coming from. Last year when they did the inspection they recommended enclosing the crawlspace for thousands of dollars because the wood moisture content was high. At the time the weather had been very humid (80% + for over a month) and with an open crawlspace with cooler temperatures would make it even higher. I told the inspector this and he seemed not to care about it or just not to understand it. I told him that warmer temperatures hold more moisture in the air so when the temps drop the relative humidity would rise. With a twenty degree difference between the outside temp and temp in the crawlspace would make the humidity much higher and therefore more moisture in the wood. A few days later the lady at the office called me to try and sell me an enclosed crawlspace package stating that we need to get the humidity down in the crawlspace. I refused and proceeded to get some more estimates on this service. Prices range from $3400 to over $20k depending on the level of service you are looking for. I ended up doing the research and did the project myself with 12mil plastic and a dehumidifier in the space for less than $3000. I followed all building codes to include the required three inch inspection strip below the seal plate and rim joist. All the joists are viewable anywhere in the crawlspace to ensure no termite intrusion. I am not quite done with the space but the humidity under there does not exceed 50% with four points of monitoring. I have not checked the moisture content of the wood since I have got it down that low but I am sure it is extremely low. Mind you that termites love moist wood so with as dry as it is down there, there is a very low risk of termite intrusion. Yesterday one of their inspectors showed up for a scheduled termite inspection, he was on time but not professional at all. Right from the start he was rude; he had a very poor attitude. I am not sure if he was having a bad day or what, once I told him I had an enclosed crawlspace and he immediately said he cannot perform the inspection before he even saw the crawlspace. I convinced him to at least to have a look and he continued to complain that he could not do it because the plastic was too high up the walls. I showed him that there was at least one brick visible between the plastic and the joists. He did not care and started complaining about what little sand was on the vapor barrier on the floor (I still need to clean the remaining sand on it). He then said the needed to call his supervisor to confirm he could not do it. This guy was rude and had a very bad attitude and right off the start offended me because of it. Someone needs to teach him customer service or he needs to get out of the customer service business. Mind you I am not offended with the fact that they didn’t do the inspection but with this guy’s attitude. UPDATE 5-15-17 in response to A1's reply to my review: They claim that I had been warned for years about high moisture content in the wood,this is not true at all, I located my paperwork from 2015 and it did not reflect high moisture content in the wood. In 2016 they offered me their Closed Crawl Dehumidification System which is plastic closing out the moisture areas and a dehumidifier to dry the crawl. This is what I have done except I took it up a couple notches with the plastic. Building code says you must leave a 3inch inspection gap up the walls for the inspector to view the seal plate and the rim joist for termites. They claim that they warned me not to do what they were going to do anyway; at no time did we discuss this matter after they did the inspection in 2016. The owner claims that I approved it through him; at no time did I do so. When I set the appointment I told him about the inspection gap and he said “it sounds like you did your research”. He set me an appointment so the inspector could see it and makes the determination. He also claims that I tried to debunk his finding from the previous year, absolutely not true. I myself went down there and checked the readings finding it read 20%. They were right with their readings, as the humidity dropped outside then so did the moisture content over the next few weeks.Readings dropped as they should have and returned to a more normal reading. After their findings of the high moisture I began receiving estimates on closing the crawlspace to dry it out. The owner informed me that they consider it high moisture if it reaches 20% water content in the wood. He also claimed that I said I had 20mil plastic under there when I talked to him in2016. This is not true, I never said that. I had my A/C ducting replaced in 2014 and because of the work done in the crawlspace it damaged much of the 6milplastic. It needed to be replaced; I pulled it out in March 2017 and immediately installed reinforced 12mil plastic and closed the crawlspace. He claims that I don’t understand conflicting readings, I do understand fully. If there is one thing I really understood from my meteorology class in college was that the higher the temperature the more water the air can hold. So as the temps drop the relative humidity will rise. This is why humidity goes up at night and drops during the day. He also claims that I was not aware of high moisture, this is again not true. This was a large reason why I had someone come in and replace the ducting; water was condensing on the colder surface of the old ducting. I would get puddles under it on the plastic and wanted to have it sealed up better and R8 insulation onit to minimize this condensation. He also claims “a bad taste in my mouth”, not at all. A1 provides a service; it is their right to refuse to do that service if they don’t feel comfortable with it. I have no problem with this, I would do the same. I wanted them to at least look at it before they refuse the service. This inspector refused it before even looking at it. He was rude to me right from the start and he was set on refusing the service no matter what. Not sure if he was having a bad day or what but either way he should provide better customer service. Although I may not be a qualified inspector, I feel comfortable monitoring the crawlspace for termites to insure integrity of my home. That was the only reason I had A1 out every year, that and I am not sure why I thought it was a required inspection but it’s not. Doing this inspection myself saves me money in the long run, I respect A1’s refusal to not do it or warranty it.It is their right just as it is my right to review their service. I would rate this service call an A but they fail in professionalism due to the inspectorspiss pour attitude.

Description of Work
Annual termite and moisture inspection

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

The member had been warned about excessive wood moisture in his crawl space from our first inspection with him in 2013. We offered then and up until our last visit in 2016 to consider our Closed Crawl Dehumidification System. At no time did we offer to "enclose" his crawl space. We do not offer that service. And in fact, every year for the past three years he has been sent a VPMA Bulletin explaining why one CANNOT encapsulate crawls and continue termite protection. Running a vapor barrier up the foundation wall to any degree prevents a termite and moisture inspector from monitoring for termites and moisture intrusion where a structure meets the ground. This is, of course, where termites come into a structure, from the ground level. This member continued to argue with our findings, calling in other companies to debunk our findings or offer other opinions and then this year we arrived to find he had done exactly what we warned him not to do. He had encapsulated the crawl. Given that, the technician told him we cannot offer him termite protection. The member continued to argue that he had "just" spoken with me, the owner, directly and that what he had done was acceptable. This was just completely untrue. His last conversation with us was in August 2016 as follows: " 08/03/2016 12:53 p.m.: He had 2 other companies come behind us and he has moisture meter as well and they got much lower readings than we had - highest was 16% . He asked what constitutes high moisture readings - I explained Virginia set the number - he understood and said he has 12 mil under there now that got damaged and he needs to replace which he will do himself. Does not understand why conflicting readings just a couple of days later after we took ours - told him we can recheck with him to present or prove to him there are issues since he has high moisture since 2013 - he was not aware of that - exwife at that time did not tell him much about anything at that time. Told him I would need to send him a letter about the moisture and what it entails. He said he has no problem having us recheck moisture levels, but he is not there nor is anyone else. Sending letter to have on record and he will have as well so maybe he will call us when he is back in town. Dont care that he thinks since it was hot outside its a given his crawl would have high moisture. He's some sort of engineer type - good grief! Sent cc for excluded areas for high moisture; see docs tab" (This was the last call of many over the last 4 years) I fully expected the member to be left with a bad taste in his mouth after our visit yesterday. No one likes to hear that their service has to be cancelled but we do everything we can to educate our customers. It is certainly not our goal to lose accounts but we cannot accept responsibility/liability for termite problems under a Termite Protection Plan when the homeowner decides to cover over the areas that we need to inspect. This member suggests that the joists are visually accessible but what he fails to understand is that by the time the termites are visible on the joists, they are in the hollow block, likely the sill plate and bandboard, not to mention baseboards, door frames, etc. This leads to a much more involved and extensive treatment to eradicate the problem and is simply impossible to offer for $149.00 a year. We hope the member keeps an eye out for problems and calls in a professional to treat when he finds them.
5.0

05/09/2017


Paul D.

These guys are awesome at eliminating the little crawlers!!! I tried using Terminex but had no luck getting rid of the ants. Every year i would have them in the master bath and the kitchen and no matter how much we cleaned they were always there. First visit from A1 and we no longer had ants, even 3 years later we still don't have ants. I am really happy with their service and would highly recommend them to anyone that has trouble getting rid of pesky creatures.

Description of Work
Annual Pest control in and around the house.

Category pest control

5.0

04/28/2017


reid A.

It went well, came on time, the guy seemed very efficient. Did an inspection of the crawl space and then set up an appointment to come out and spray the space. It was awesome!

Description of Work
Put down a vapor barrier

Category pest control

5.0

04/22/2017


Jo Ann K.

Very nice job. Old plastic was removed and replaced with nice heavy gauge plastic.

Description of Work
Replace crawl space barrier.

Category pest control

5.0

02/26/2017


William H.

No issues. Prompt, clear and thorough.

Description of Work
Vapor barrier, termite pest treatment. Very satisfied with the work performed. Would recommend.

Category pest control

5.0

01/16/2017


Roberta V.

The person who came was good. He explained what he would do, then went ahead and did it. When he was done, he gave me a report. He didnt find any bugs. My one hesitation is that 2 days later I had one of those tree roaches back in my house. That was what I called them about.

Description of Work
I got the Inspection deal.

Category pest control

5.0

12/27/2016


Gregory S.

The service turned out great. The service was very quality. They were professional and knowledgeable. I would recommend them because of their professionalism.

Description of Work
I purchased an $89 Big Deal from A-1 Inc Exterminators for termite and pest inspection and treatment plus retreatment warranty and more. They came and did a termite inspection and treatment.

Category pest control

5.0

12/21/2016


Amanda S.

It was fine. They were pretty quick.

Description of Work
.

Category pest control

4.0

12/16/2016


Clayton M.

They are respectful of my home. There have been no pests. I've been using them for a number of years ever since we purchased the home, about 15 years or so.

Description of Work
They do annual termite inspection. I don't really use them for pest control. I just did the original termite treatment and then they do an annual checkup every year.

Category pest control

5.0

12/16/2016


Clayton M.

They were recommended by the realtor.

Description of Work
They did a termite inspection when we purchased our home.

Category pest control

5.0

12/12/2016


S K.

THE OFFICE PERSONNEL AND APPLICATOR WERE GREAT! ALL CONTACTS WITH A 1 WERE PROFESSIOAL.!

Description of Work
TRASH PULLED OUT 'N' 6 MIL POLY LAID ON GROUND.

Category pest control, handyman service

5.0

11/10/2016


Larnell T.

He came on time. He was professionally dressed. As far as the service he provided, we didn't have any bugs.

Description of Work
I purchased a big deal for A-1 Inc Exterminators. They did termite inspection. They did some pest control as far as the bugs and spiders around the house.

Category pest control

5.0

11/01/2016


Josh N.

It must have been very smooth and easy. I think it went fine. They did a great job. They were prompt in getting back to me. They did what they said they would do. They offered to come out at my convenience.

Description of Work
I purchased a big deal for A-1 Inc Exterminators.

Category pest control

5.0

10/24/2016


Brenda K.

A different company had told me I needed total encapsulation of my crawlspace. However, A-1 Inc Exterminators came out they quickly identified there was nothing wrong with my crawl space. Therefore I obtained a refund of the $199 Big Deal. A-1 Inc Exterminators didn't charge anything for the visit or analysis completed.

Description of Work
I purchase a $199 for a Crawlspace Vapor Barrier Installation deal from Angie's List.

Category basement waterproofing

5.0

10/22/2016


Robert H.

The service was great. Staff was very professional and took care of the inspection quickly.

Description of Work
I purchased a big deal for A-1 Inc Exterminators. They did termite inspection and gave me complimentary outdoor bug spray.

Category pest control

    Other local Pros in your area

    CAVALIER ENTERPRISES

    In business since 1997, Cavalier Enterprises is a Class A Licensed State Contractor and perform both interior and exterior work throughout Virginia. We offer FREE estimates for remodeling projects and 30% - 50% discount for Angie's list customers and guarantee lowest pricing. We will do commercial & residential projects, have many references, and pride ourselves on professionalism in the industry.  

    Angi Certified

    Mares Exterminating Co

    Founded in 2004 by Thomas M. Mares, a lifelong Peninsula resident, Mares Exterminating Co., LLC absorbed the assets of Munn’s Pest Control in 2007 making it one of the larger pest control companies on the Peninsula. The company continues to grow by offering quality solutions for homeowners in a friendly, reliable manner. We take great pride in our employees, and believe that they are among the best the industry has to offer. Each possesses honesty and integrity and has an exemplary work ethic. Our goal is to do the best for our customers because we want to be: Your Pest Control Company For Life. Because the company is young, it is vibrant and energetic—embracing new techniques and technologies. Continual education for all employees is stressed and every route technician has the VPMA (Virginia Pest Management Association) Master Technician certification. All termite inspectors are “Certified” by the VPMA as well.  

    Angi Certified

    GUARANTEED GREENER GRASS & SECOND NATURE LANDSCAPE

    Providing the Hampton Roads area with the finest In landscaping, and turf management needs. Whether you live in Chesapeake or Virginia Beach we can Beautify your lawn, landscape and home. Whether you need lawn mowing, landscape design, fescue, bermuda, zoysia or st. augustine sod, we can help. Whether you have drainage problems, standing water in the yard, more weeds than grass or a paver walkway, driveway, patio or pool deck, we can help. Annual turf management, core aeration, slit seeding, landscape renovation and more..  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Business Highlights

    Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    91-000002
    Trade License Locale
    Virginia
    Trade License Authority
    VDACS
    Trade License Expiration
    03/31/2017
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    General Pest/Rodent control, Termite & Moisture control including dehumidifiers, french drains, fungi treatments, sump pumps, adding sand to crawl, vent & access wells, etc. Termite pre-treatments, Certification Letters for real estate sale or refinance. No charge second opinions and free estimates. Fully-staffed office every day to answer inquiries, quote standard prices and explain services.

    Services Not Offered

    Lawn mowing, general lawn fertilization & termite bait systems.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about A-1 Inc Exterminators

    How is A-1 Inc Exterminators overall rated?

    A-1 Inc Exterminators is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are A-1 Inc Exterminators open?

    A-1 Inc Exterminators is open:

    Monday: 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM

    Tuesday: 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM

    Wednesday: 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM

    Thursday: 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM

    Friday: 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM

    Saturday: 8:30 AM - 12:00 PM

    What payment options does A-1 Inc Exterminators provide

    A-1 Inc Exterminators accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express, Financing Available

    Does A-1 Inc Exterminators offer free estimates?

    Yes, A-1 Inc Exterminators offers free project estimates.

    Does A-1 Inc Exterminators offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, A-1 Inc Exterminators offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does A-1 Inc Exterminators offer a senior discount?

    Yes, A-1 Inc Exterminators offers a 5% senior discount.

    Does A-1 Inc Exterminators offer emergency services?

    Yes, A-1 Inc Exterminators offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by A-1 Inc Exterminators?

    Yes, A-1 Inc Exterminators offers warranties.

    What services does A-1 Inc Exterminators offer?

    A-1 Inc Exterminators offers the following services: General Pest/Rodent control, Termite & Moisture control including dehumidifiers, french drains, fungi treatments, sump pumps, adding sand to crawl, vent & access wells, etc. Termite pre-treatments, Certification Letters for real estate sale or refinance. No charge second opinions and free estimates. Fully-staffed office every day to answer inquiries, quote standard prices and explain services.

    Are there any services A-1 Inc Exterminators does not offer?

    Lawn mowing, general lawn fertilization & termite bait systems.