Weed Man Fairfax-Manassas

About

Founded 2006 • With Angi since January 2010

Weed Man Lawn Care Fairfax-Manassas, VA is a network of locally owned and operated lawn care professionals providing environmentally responsible fertilization, weed control and surface insect with grub control services. For the past 40 years, Weed Man's promise has always been the same: We treat your lawn as if it were our own and provide you with honest and open communication. Additional contact name - Christine Musselman. Additional DBA - Weed Man....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Images

Weed Man Truck

+2 more images

Verified Reviews

4.6

(41) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

34

4

2

3

2

2

2

1

1

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

4.7

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.6

Responsiveness

4.7

Read reviews by category

lawn treatment (40)lawn care (10)
Showing 1-25 of 41 reviews
5.0

04/27/2020


Rebecca Z.

I could not be happier with the high quality of their service.

Description of Work
Lawn treatment

Category lawn service, lawn treatment

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/27/2020

5.0

02/19/2020


Michael B.

It was very good. The were polite. They were courteous.

Description of Work
They put weed killer down on the lawn.

Category lawn treatment

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/19/2019

5.0

10/11/2018


Mary D.

He is good. He gets rid of the problem that other people cannot fix.

Description of Work
He comes 7 times during summer season

Category lawn service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/11/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words... our goal is to work at the issue until it can be resolved. So glad we were able to help : ) -- Chris (owner)

5.0

06/21/2017


Gary B.

It went fantastic!! Will hire again anytime.

Description of Work
Lawn treatment

Category lawn treatment

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/21/2017

1.0

07/18/2016


Gary T.

After 3 applications my yard looks really bad. I am informed by the company that this is due to my not watering enough or not treating with fungicide enough. I have received a refund for services that have not yet been performed and will find another company to maintain my lawn.

Description of Work
I entered into a one year maintenance contract with this company

Category lawn treatment

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 07/18/2016

5.0

04/15/2016


Cedric D.

It was great. They promptly provided the service, and were very courteous.

Description of Work
Contacted me immediately, told me when it would be best to provide service (aeration and seeding), gave me an estimate for weed-killing service.

Category lawn service, lawn treatment

Cost $300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/04/2016

3.0

02/27/2015


Desiree M.

I just cancelled their service. I didn’t really like whatever they did because we had them for two years and our lawn still look like crap. They were supposed to maintain it like getting rid of crap grass and making the grass green. I was not happy with their work. I felt like the work was not as good as it could be compared to my neighbors given them almost 2 years to maintain it. They did not meet our expectations but they were very responsive.

Description of Work
I’ve used the Weed Man Fairfax. They did lawn care service that goes with a service plan.

Category lawn service, lawn treatment

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 10/06/2014

5.0

01/30/2015


Todd T.

I have an annual fertilization package which includes 7 applications per year. They call ahead and always perform the work specified. My lawn went from bad to good in one season. Very happy with work and price

Description of Work
Lime Application part of an annual service agreement for fertilization.

Category lawn treatment

Cost $66

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/02/2014

5.0

11/11/2014


Kathleen L.

Excellent experience. Weed Man was recommended by a neighbor. They were prompt, courteous, and most importantly, their service is working and my lawn looks much better. I had gotten estimates from several companies. Two recommended Compro service which is quite expensive. Weed Man said they would not do that now, as they did not think my lawn warranted it. Nice to have someone be honest. They completed a soil sample, and emailed and mailed us the results, along with offering to discuss it in person. The sample indicated our lawn needed lime, which they then applied (only after ensuring we were ok with it). Would highly recommend them. I will update this in the spring, but so far our lawn looks 100% better and I am very happy with their customer service.

Description of Work
Aerated, seeded, sprayed weed killer, soil sample

Category lawn treatment

Cost $800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/06/2014

5.0

09/19/2014


Keith M.

Loved these guys. From beginning to end, excellent.

Description of Work
Removed a stubborn patch of weeds from my lawn.

Category lawn service, lawn treatment

Cost $380

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/19/2014

5.0

04/28/2014


David S.

The difference between my lawn now and before Weed Man began servicing it is astounding. I am extremely pleased with the manner in which they've severely cut back the weed population, and increased the grass health and thickness. I fully intend to continue using their services. I do wish I had an easier time communicating with them, but the true proof is in the lawn; looks great.

Description of Work
Provided pre-emergent weed control and fertilization to my lawn (~2.5 acres). Weed man has previously provided other lawn treatments over the past 1.5 years.

Category lawn treatment

Cost $365

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/08/2014

4.0

11/28/2013


Joe U.

I guess it was pretty good for the price. I didn't feel like the 6 lawn treatments were spaced out appropriately. They were slow to get started and weeds totally took over the lawn in the spring. when the treatments finally got started they were very effective, but then there was a big gap in the summer and the last two treatments were done within 3 weeks of each other in October.

Description of Work
Fertilization/weed control/core aeration contract for spring through fall 2012. 6 treatments for fertilization and/or weed control, plus a soil sample and late fall core aeration.

Category lawn treatment

Cost $457

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/22/2013

5.0

11/20/2013


Christopher S.

We have been very happy with them. They got back to me right away after I initially contacted them. They give an Angie's List discount and allow me to pay everything up front. For me this was much more convenient. They just come out for the service and there are no invoices.

Description of Work
They do year round and fertilization and aeration of the yard.

Category lawn treatment

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/15/2013

5.0

11/11/2013


June M.

We hired Weed Man this fall as our lawn service provider and have been extremely happy. They recommended having a soil sample analyzed, which we did. This had not been done in many years. The results showed that we needed lime and phosphorus. We elected to have both treatments done as well as aeration and fall overseeding. Our lawn has NEVER looked better. Not only that, but the customer service has been phenomenal...any questions have been answered either that day or the day after. This is a small company that is very professional in its service and obviously takes great pride in their work. We are looking forward to working with them for years to come!

Description of Work
winter weed maintenance

Category lawn treatment

Cost $84.9

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/01/2013

5.0

10/04/2013


Jim D.

The service has been very good. They are always responsive. They call me back right away and talk through any issues about keeping the lawn in good shape.

Description of Work
I use them for lawn fertilization. We have used them for about 4 years now. We have an annual contract for service.

Category lawn treatment

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/25/2013

5.0

10/01/2013


Philip B.

I have been using Weedman for 3 years, ever since my brown thumb almost killed all the grass in the front lawn and in the back. Since I have used them my lawn, in front, has returned. The lawn in back still needs work but has come back considerably. I had my lawn Core Aerated and overseeded on 1 October and they chopped up a couple of bare spots for me and put extra seed in those areas. Afterwards they cleaned up my sidewalk and driveway. I had a question about mowing after seeding and they were not sure of the answer. They contacted me by phone 20 minutes later with an answer to my question. I will continue to use Weedman and am aware of there auto pay by year with credit card which can always be cancelled via telephone if not satisfied. Thumbs up to Weedman.

Description of Work
Fertilizing, weed control, Core Aerated and over seeding.

Category lawn treatment

Cost $142.39

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/01/2013

3.0

08/28/2013


Scott G.

They did the job, and were initially good to deal with. But, then I guess they signed me up for continuing fertilization services for 2013. After finding a notice on my door that they had sprayed in the spring of 2013, I contacted their office. I was told that it was an error caused by them putting me on a recurring service program, and they apologized to me. We actually moved to NY in the Summer of 2013, and I thought nothing of this incident believing it to be resolved. Then I received a demand for payment from them for two fertilization services that they claim to have performed on my old residence last spring. I told them that since I hadn't hired them to do these services, I would not be paying them. UPDATE: I was contacted again, and told that they would write off my bill. They also asked me to update this review.

Description of Work
I hired them to aerate my lawn in the fall of 2012.

Category lawn treatment

Cost $154.7

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 10/24/2012

2.0

07/31/2013


Tracie B.

My service started out okay. We had some initial breakdowns in communications because I have a lock on my gate. I asked to be called before service was performed to ensure the gate was unlocked. There was more than one occasion when they would call me the day of the service and tell me they were coming that day. I had no way to unlock the gate, so no service that go around. There were a couple major issues for me. 1) Weedman performed services when it was convenient for them. One time they came by my house and performed the regular service. During this visit they took it upon themselves to perform the next visits services also, and charge me for both without telling me first. I am on a budget, so this was not a benefit for me. It only helped them, because I was told when I called that they were only in my area "every once in a while". 2) Do not prep your yard at all! They put down seed on my yard, but never raked. A great deal of the seed never germinated because there was too many leaves and other debris on top of it. I felt it was a waste of my money to even seed without at least raking up the old stuff, that is on the back of every grass seed bag. To this day I am still picking up their mulch mixture, that has never "broken down". 3) Weeds never went away. I still to this day have weeds in my front and back yard and feel like my 400-500 dollars that I spent in 3 months or so is a total waste. I would NOT recommend this company to anyone that really wants there lawn to be well taken care of. If you can, do it yourself. The supplies you will need don't cost a lot and you will take care to do it properly. I don't feel that this was a wise use of my hard earned money, and learned an excellent lesson.

Description of Work
Basic lawn service with aeration, seeding with tall fescue and top dressed with organic matter & seed mulch. - Cost $275.00 We agreed that Weedman would come by my home every 6-8 weeks to perform varying lawn services - Cost $40-85.00

Category lawn treatment

Cost $275

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 04/25/2002

Service Provider Response

Maintaining good customer relationships and service is a primary goal at Weed Man Fairfax/Manassas. With this in mind, we have endeavored to make contact to see how we might improve our information sharing and/or customer service. We have also addressed the concerns stated above. Weed Man started service on this property this spring with a core aeration and overseeding, topdressing, one fertilization, and a blanket weed spray. Two Services on the Same Day: Because a spring seeding was requested, our first blanket weed control had to be postponed so it would not interfere with the seed germination. To bring the treatments up to date, the weed control and fertilizer applications were done on the same day. Weed Man visits each property as treatments are scheduled and/or concerns are expressed. Budget Issue: We often work with our customers with payment issues. If Weed Man has to do two services on the same day (leaving two invoices), it is never a problem if they are paid separately. Seeding Issues: In checking our records I see that the owner (who has 35 year of practical experience) did the seeding work. Although he strongly recommends waiting until fall for the best results in seed germination and seedling retention, we have accommodated customers who want a spring seeding once the pit falls have been explained (i.e. hindered weed control). Top dressing is used to help protect the seed, and does take time to fully decompose. Raking: Seed bags suggest raking because the seed needs the ground to be broken in order to get good soil contact for germination. Since Weed Man core aerates (pulling cores of soil out of the ground), the need to break open the ground is not an issue. We also overseed much heavier than the seed bag suggests. A light covering will not hinder seed germination, which is why we put topdressing down to help protect the spring seeding. Weeds: Weed control takes time. Once our Blanket Weed Control has gone down, Weed Man will return with free spot treating to help get any stubborn broadleaf weeds under control. Grassy weeds are much more difficult and often need a special treatment in order to achieve control without damaging the turf. Weed Man wishes this customer the very best. As we endeavor to grow and become the greatest lawn care company in Northern Virginia, we welcome suggestions from our customers in how we can make their Weed Man experience the best it can be. Christine Musselman – co-owner

2.0

07/31/2013


Charles S.

Not so well. At first we were very happy with the service and lawn treatments, but then we started getting a bunch of weeds growing throughout our lawn. I've contacted them multiple times to make them aware of our problems, and yet it is still not resolved. WeedMan sent someone out after I informed them about the additional crabgrass growing shortly after one of their treatments. I was then billed for that additional treatment. Since then we have notified them multiple times that we continue to have weeds and crabgrass growing throughout our lawn. Chris (owner I believe) came out so we can point out these things to him. He then said he would send someone when he can which didn't happen for another 2.5 weeks. Unfortunately, we are not sure what we are paying for at this moment, which is why I refuse to pay for any additional services and prior few treatments at this point. We are not seeing any results and I should not have to point out weeds in our lawn to a "lawn professional". Photos for reference of our lawn: http://s66.photobucket.com/user/CJ0920/library/House/Lawn

Description of Work
We had WeedMan come out and aerate and seed our lawn. After that we had an agreement for them to come out every two months or 6-8 weeks to apply lawn treatments.

Category lawn service, lawn treatment

Cost $50

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 07/17/2013

Images

Review for Weed Man Fairfax-Manassas - PO Box 854, Bristow, VA - 6534480

+3 More

Service Provider Response

We have resolved [member name removed]'s concerns. Since weed control is not effective in the heat of summer (and can actually harm the turf), we had been waiting for the record breaking heat wave to end before treating our customers’ weeds. Now that it has ended, we can start our fall lineup. All of our customers will receive a weed application (at no charge) along with the late summer fertilizer. This will insure that as the broadleaf weeds curl, the grass plants have the nutrients to help them recover from the excessive heat we have been experiencing. [member name removed] has been assured that we will be out within two working days to take care of treating his weeds, applying the fertilizer, and inspecting his lawn overall. Any billing concern has also been addressed. Thank you [member name removed] for speaking with us today, we are looking forward to a new review in the coming months!

5.0

06/10/2013


Mark M.

Showed up as scheduled and applied two different applications within a 2-week period. First app was for weed control and second was fertilization. Results.... No weeds and lawn looks very green and healthy. This company is very professional and knows how to evaluate the services which need to be applied to a customers lawn. They come out and do a visual inspection and recommend a soil sample test with new customers to determine condition of soil and what chemicals are required to get the correct ph balance. They don't just throw down anything especially if yard does not need. They offer a scheduled treatment program of different applications which are very specific to the needs of your lawn. The owner himself comes out and does the evaluation. He has a degree in this field of lawn science and knows the different soils and grasses and how they should be treated. The truck that came out was very clean and looked to be well taken care of. That always tells me something about how a company operates. I believe these guys will do a outstanding job if you give them the opportunity. New Customer...... Mark

Description of Work
Basic Spring application for lawn treatment.

Category lawn treatment

Cost $66.8

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/15/2013

5.0

05/13/2013


William T.

Great customer service! Technician even told me how I could do this my self. But I dont have the time.

Description of Work
spray for weeds in yard

Category lawn treatment

Cost $180

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/19/2013

5.0

01/15/2013


Roger G.

Everything went perfect. The original contact was made within hours of my email. They reviewed with me the plan for my yard. Once I agreed to the quote, the work was performed within days. I was impressed with the professionalism and follow through of the people that i dealt with and signed up for ongoing service.

Description of Work
Weed Man aerated, fertilized and seeded my yard

Category lawn treatment

Cost $400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/17/2012