Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Colonial Cleaning Company

Founded 2006 • With Angi since October 2011

4.3

(35) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

17695 Stage Rd

Barhamsville, VA 23011

Description

Colonial Cleaning Company offers a wide range of options to fit your needs and budget. If you need more time to call your own or physically are unable to do household chores we have a plan for you. Colonial Cleaning Company specializes in professional cleaning. We do home cleaning, office

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

04/23/2017


Beryl K.

Maxine, the owner, was very nice and very responsive.I worked with this company for several months trying to give them a chance. Maxine sent numerous different teams to my house, each team leaving something undone. I never knew when or if they would show up, I requested that they stay out of my curio cabinet, only to come home to find a broken piece of crystal. I then found pieces of a vase that they never told me they broke. They were supposed to do a "spring cleaning" that I paid extra for, supposedly they were at my house for 6 hours, came home to numerous items not cleaned, furniture, and stairs not vacuumed, laundry room not cleaned. The last day of their employment they were 4 hours late, 3 people showed up, stayed 45 minutes. The showers, the second bathroom, the laundry room, kitchen sinks and stairs were left filthy.

Description of Work
House cleaning

Category house cleaning

Service Provider Response

We actually had your home for years over 2 years. We tried very hard to work around your day changes as well. When anyone needs a day of the week change it is hard to keep the same team. I offered to pay for your broken item several months ago and you never allowed me to do that. Tina was asked to clean those items. Your deep cleaning you were not charged for. I returned your check. I wish you the best of luck and I'm sorry you left us disappointed.
4.0

04/19/2017


pete B.

Small problem but was taken care of

Description of Work
Deep cleaning

Category house cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much mr [Member Name Removed]. I appreciate clients like you that if everything doesn't look just right that let us make it right! We hope you'll use us on the future. We appreciate your business.
5.0

01/23/2017


Judy L.

Description of Work
.

Category house cleaning

3.0

12/26/2016


Pamela B.

Had us scheduled for wrong day.

Description of Work
Deep house cleaning

Category house cleaning

1.0

07/28/2016


sadaf I.

They showed up on the wrong day and we re-scheduled. I called back and left a message but nobody got back to me. The price was okay with 2 people doing that. The girls who came were pretty good. The girls were quite professional. I would not use them again in the future.

Description of Work
I was supposed to use them for house cleaning but they showed up on a wrong day and did not show up again after re-scheduling.

Category house cleaning

Service Provider Response

We do not do work in glen allen
4.0

06/07/2016


Rionne H.

Description of Work
Absolutely wonderful! The only problem that I had was that the second time I used them, I had a hard time getting in touch with them. The quality of the service was excellent. Those girls work hard and fast... They're polite, professional and accommodating... Always smiling.. And do great work.

Category house cleaning

5.0

05/31/2016


Rudolph T.

Tech came in, introduced herself and asked for directions and expectations. She then went right to work and continue for the full 3 hours.

Description of Work
Cleaned and organized

Category house cleaning

5.0

05/27/2016


Mark F.

Category house cleaning

5.0

03/06/2016


Nate B.

I'm surprised at the other negative reviews, please don't let it deter you. I found out about Colonial Cleaning from a Williamsburg Facebook group where someone had recommended them. So I checked out their website and I thought it looked good. I filled out info on the Colonial Cleaning website and Maxine got back to me right away. We scheduled a cleaning and the employees showed up on time and were ready to go! These are professional cleaners, they are way more efficient than I could be and they worked straight for over 2 hours. The house looked great!! They had no problems with me asking if they'd use my natural cleaning products. This isn't like a lady who feather dusts and tells you about her weekend, this is a professional cleaning crew who are ready to start and know what they're doing and they're really good at it. And they're very kind. Maxine said the team that cleaned my house has been with her for years, which is nice to know the turn over rate is low. Her website says she gives background checks, amongst other things. We are really happy and hope to continue with this service for a long time!! Thank you!

Description of Work
Team of 2 cleaned our house

Category house cleaning

5.0

08/13/2015


rob S.

very well. i 'd like to use the service again

Description of Work
light dusting and cleaning

Category house cleaning

1.0

07/28/2015


Geraldine M.

They are not dependable. They don't return your calls. I called Maxine on Monday, July 27, to verify the appointment. She verified that someone would be here around 10 for the appointment. The person never showed up. I had a feeling that they wouldn't show up. I had an extremely difficult time getting in touch with Maxine. She wouldn't answer phone calls from my home phone, but I called once with my cell phone and she answered immediately. I left multiple messages and she never responded to any of them. The whole thing was a terrible experience.

Description of Work
I had an appointment scheduled at 10 am on Tuesday, 7/28/15. They never showed up.

Category house cleaning

Service Provider Response

I received and made several calls back and forth from you regarding cleaning an oven. I actually spoke to you several several times. My out last message was asking for a price which was from your cell phone. I called you back and left a message with the price and ask if that was ok and to please confirm the price was acceptable and what payments we accept. I did not hear back from you so therefore thought your didn't wish to have us come. I was even dropping to a one hour rate when we usually have a two hour minimum. I'm very sorry and shocked that you felt this way. Best wishes to you and I'm sorry you feel this way after our repeated conversations about the oven. Blessings to you.
5.0

05/09/2015


Rionne H.

A wonderful experience. The cleaners quick, quiet, and efficient. I was very pleased.

Description of Work
House cleaning

Category house cleaning

Service Provider Response

We loves helping you!!!! Call us anytime!
1.0

04/17/2015


RACHAEL R.

Left message for same day cleaning for 2k sf home approx 8am. Maxine returned my call and said she had girls in that area that could fit me in around 1pm. At 2:30pm, I called maxine to follow up and she advised I could expect them around 4:30pm. A text was received at 3pm that they would be there in about 45 minutes. We were in the process of moving all of our stuff from the old house to the new house so we stopped what we were doing and high-tailed it BACK over to the new house again to make sure we could meet them there. We got a call from Jennifer at 3:30 saying that they had been at he house and were told not to wait..."Maxine doesn't like us to sit around and wait" she says...so they left and said they could come back the next day. I asked about the 45 minute window and she said she didnt know anything about it. I texted Maxine back to let her know what happened...no response. I let it go because we had boxes stacking up in the garage and furniture being delivered the following day...and it was a same day call, right? THE NEXT DAY, I return to my new house after work, picking up more boxes at my old house and with my 6 yr old, 10 yr old and 4 month old in tow only to discover dirty hand smudges on the wall (from little kids), dirty closets and cobwebs from light fixtures, dirty fridtge, little handprints all over the back door...from the inside...kitchen drawers full of crumbs with toothpicks and notepads still in them....THIS WAS A TOTALLY EMPTY HOUSE. Very disappointed and was really hoping to give yet another glowing review for this company. Guess I will be requesting services elsewhere :(

Description of Work
Move-In Cleaning

Category house cleaning

Service Provider Response

I'm very sorry for your disappointment. I was under the impression that you were not at the home per our conversation, they were going to have to wait I was under impression at 430 you were 45 minutes away )-; We booked this day of your closing which I'm sure was very stressful. If I had know you were disappointed in the cleaning I could have sent them back or not charge you full prize. I know from our conversation you thought the house would have been left clean and it wasn't and it wasn't fair it fell on you. I will refund a portion of your cleaning. You were charge $150 for that square footage and no washing or walls were discussed. The appliances, cabinets, etc were to be included as well as the floors, bathrooms. I'm sorry you fill this way. Blessings to you in your new home.
1.0

04/01/2015


Spencer N.

I scheduled a cleaning time and when the time arrived they were 20 minutes late. I called. They called back and said that they were on the way and would call me back. They never called back and arrived 1 hour late. I had to return to work and could not use them.

Description of Work
Nothing

Category house cleaning

Service Provider Response

I'm so sorry mr [Member Name Removed]. You have used our services a few times for a year or more. We have appreciated that. You have always had the same cleaner Carmen for each visit. As I explained the home before you took longer than normal. We can't be in a 1/2 hour window in the middle of the day. On some occasions she has waited an hour to meet time windows. This time I should have book you for later in the day or evening perhaps when you have more time. The only way I can guarantee an exact time is if you are first thing in the morning. The girls can't rush through and try to be prompt. We try very hard to be prompt. Carmen didn't answer her phone in the home she was cleaning to give me an update. We rarely answer or text a call when we are cleaning someone's home. Again I'm sorry for the inconvience on this visit. In the future I would be more clear and book much later for you as I didn't realize until to late that there was 30 min lunch break. Blessings to you always
5.0

03/04/2015


Alison F.

We had a baby in October, and wanted to find some temporary work around the house to help keep things clean while we settled in to a new routine. After reading so many positive reviews on Angie's List, I called the owner Maxine for a quote. She could not have been more pleasant or accomodating to work with in coordinating time for someone to come out. She reassured me that the same person would always be at our home and quickly quoted rates for our home ($100 for the first 3-hour visit, $80 for subsequent 2-hour visits based on a bi-weekly schedule.) Carmen has now been to our home 6 times and she does such a great job. My husband and I are both very comfortable with her being in our home and she is very thorough in her work. We will be switching from 2x/month to once a month starting in March 2015 because things are settling down around our home, and I believe the rate is increasing slightly to ~$90/visit. Bottom line: I would not hesitate to recommend Colonial Cleaning to others for their superior quality, service and prices.

Description of Work
Cleaned our 2400 square foot, 2 story home

Category house cleaning

5.0

01/07/2015


Kathy H.

Outstanding service! Maxine went the extra mile to help us in getting our house cleaned up on very short notice just before Christmas. They were very thorough, extremely polite, and all at a very good price. We absolutely recommend CCC!!

Description of Work
full house cleaning

Category house cleaning

5.0

10/28/2014


Michael G.

The cleaners were pleasant and professional. They arrived on time and did a great job cleaning my house. Fixtures look like new. Everything is tidy and very clean. It was like magic. I mean everything is eye popping clean. I am definitely going to use them again!

Description of Work
They provided house cleaning services.

Category house cleaning

5.0

10/20/2014


Robert C.

Scheduling the cleaning was easy. On the day of the work, Maxine called to say that the crew would be late and gave me a new time. They arrived on time. The cost of the service was greater than initially expected, but that was because the crew did more than the "special" offered. We agreed on the cost before the work began and Maxine lived within that cost. The work was done thoroughly and efficiently. I had asked that the house be left sparkling, and it was.

Description of Work
The provider cleaned my home prior to putting it on the market.

Category house cleaning

5.0

05/16/2014


robert P.

.This company is great. I needed someone to help take care of the house when my wife had surgery on her foot. I called and spoke to Maxine and made an appointment for her to visit the home for an estimate. She arrived on time took the time to listen to what I needed and suggested a schedule that fit my needs. She did not try to pressure me into services I did not need or want. This has worked out better than I could have expected. Her personnel arrive on time and do a terrific job. They are meticulous and pay a great deal of attention to detail. When our regular person could not make it one week because of illness, a replacement was sent with the same great outcome and level of attention I had became used to. At the end of my wife's recovery I intend to continue to use Colonial Cleaning Company on a regular basis.

Description of Work
They provided essential house cleaning to include;'dusting, vacuuming, total bathroom cleaning, furniture polishing, counter top cleaning, and general straightening up where needed.

Category house cleaning

5.0

02/24/2014


Linda M.

First week was just okay which I spoke to Maxine about it, it was just a bad week with schedules messed up due to weather. I now have my regular person and she is wonderful, does a complete and thorough job. She even vacuumed my cat's bed which is in a chair in my bedroom. She comes in gets right to work and does not waste any time getting the job done. I would highly recommend Colonial Cleaning Maxine will make sure you are happy with your service.

Description of Work
Cleans house every 2 weeks.

Category house cleaning

5.0

12/14/2013


Earnie W.

very responsive. The owner is a get it done no excuses . Pleasing to talk with.

Description of Work
.

Category house cleaning

3.0

07/14/2013


Hiram W.

I am very torn writing this ad because I have never owned a house before or had an air conditioner. The company answered my call promptly and arrived promptly. Two technicians came. I had just moved in and my walls and ceilings were freshly painted. The technician who took the vent covers off the air ducts was not very careful and left hand prints and marks over 3 of the vents that had to be repainted. Also their machine left marks on the corners of some of the walls. The price was more than quoted in the ad because I had more returns in my air conditioning system than the ad specified and had to pay extra. However, the technician who did the spraying of the vents was very professional and explained how an air conditioner worked, which I did not know. And the following Monday when I called to complain about a smell after being gone over the weekend, that same technician came out to the house promptly to investigate his work and found a gas leak!

Description of Work
dryer vent cleaned, air ducts cleaned, sanitizing mist put in ducts

Category dryer vent cleaning

Service Provider Response

This is not a review for Colonial Cleaning Company. We do not do air duct cleaning.
4.0

12/17/2012


E G.

Great response from initial call to end of job

Description of Work
Showed up on time and did a great job, have chosen them to be my regular cleaners from now on.

Category house cleaning

3.0

09/17/2012


Oanh J.

Maxine was such a delight to talk to when scheduling and speaking about what her Move-In service included. She definitely made me feel at ease since we were still across the country. However, Maxine's cleaning crew didn't spend more than an hr compared to the estimated 4-5hrs quoted to do our move-in clean. The kitchen was not clean, all appliances and especially the refrigerator were still dirty. All drawers throughout our house had not been cleaned and cob webs were evident everywhere. We even opted for the extra $50 for our garage to be swept of dirt and spider webs, neither of which were done. So why the grade of 'C' and not 'F'? It's because Maxine made it right once I called and complained. She sent out another cleaning crew to do our bathrooms and floors. I didn't have them do our kitchen or garage since I had spent 3 days cleaning our kitchen and the garage had boxes from our move. Overall, I realize that I prefer a one person cleaning company compared to a company that has multiples.

Description of Work
We chose Colonial Cleaning for a Move-In deep clean. Kitchen - clean out drawers - wipe down cabinets and shelves - clean appliances inside and out - sweep and mop floors Bathrooms - clean out drawers - wipe down cabinets and shelves - clean bathtub - clean sinks - clean toilets - sweep and mop floors - wipe mirrors Windows - dust and wipe blinds - clean windows on the inside Spent extra $50 for garage clean out - sweep garage - remove spider webs - dust and wipe windows

Category house cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you for letting us make this right for you. I know that the moving is stressful and our job is to make it a little easier. We have two person teams and individuals as well. Blessing to you always.
5.0

10/20/2011


Jenny L.

This company rocks! Reliably great value and consistently personal and excellent service. Maxine Goins is the owner/operator and with her team of cleaning professionals, you can be assured of great service. She cares about the people she helps. She spends the time to understand and listen to what her customers need. My husband and I worked 50-60+ hour/week jobs between Richmond and Newport News. A house cleaning service was a necessity. We tried a cleaning service from Newport News that was great first time out for a month or two, but over time we discovered that the house wasn't being cleaned as expected, if at all! For a while we cleaned our house, but then found we wanted and needed to do other things with our remaining time. Fortunate for us to be introduced to Maxine. We have stayed with her ever since. We've been her customer for 2 years. Maxine ' walks her talk' - check out her personal customer service statement (About Us) at her website: http://www.colonialcleaningcompany.net. She means it! She's modern: email and texting to communicate w/us about scheduling changes. She's always communicated changes to us and ensures we acknowledge before they happen. She is conscientious about using and suggesting natural, non-toxic cleaning solutions. But if you have a favorite cleaning solution, she'll use what you prefer. What makes Maxine's service stand out from others is that she developed a customized cleaning plan w/us including schedule and rate that meets both our needs. I'm working at home now, and she worked w/us to continue w/her cleaning service. Her word is her bond, and she is committed to ensuring quality each and every time. She does this for every one of her clients! We have a 2 cleaning visit a month plan and it's perfect for our needs and budget. We've referred her to a neighbor and he has expressed his gratefulness as he is approaching his eighties and needs help. When guests have visited w/us, she changes the linens out and makes sure the sheets are moved to the laundry room. She notices details - she'll tell you if a faucet is leaking and if the flowers in a vase have expired, she'll clean out the dead flowers and vase. Every visit, there's an extra something done that lets us know she ' sees' our home and what it needs. If I have a concern, I discuss it w/Maxine and she's 100 percent professional and compassionate. I'm truly glad her company can perform services in our zip code and the surrounding communities.

Description of Work
Performs whole house and home office cleaning services twice a month.

Category house cleaning

    Other local Pros in your area

    Black Goose Chimney

    Black Goose Chimney Sweep has been serving our neighbors in the Tidewater area for more than twenty years. Black Goose brings 21st century technology to a century old trade with extensive experience and state of the art tools. Our training and dedication to excellence makes Black Goose Chimney Sweep the company you want when credentials and quality count. Additional contact name - James P Bostaph. Additional DBA - Chimney Service Corp.  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, MasterCard, Visa, Discover, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    You get the same cleaner on every visit! Weekly, bi-weekly, home cleaning, office cleaning, commercial buildings, Spring & Fall cleaning, laundry, ironing, move out cleaning, garage cleaning, power washing, construction cleaning, window washing, general housecleaning services

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Colonial Cleaning Company

    How is Colonial Cleaning Company overall rated?

    Colonial Cleaning Company is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are Colonial Cleaning Company open?

    Colonial Cleaning Company is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Colonial Cleaning Company provide

    Colonial Cleaning Company accepts the following forms of payment: Check, MasterCard, Visa, Discover, PayPal

    Does Colonial Cleaning Company offer free estimates?

    Yes, Colonial Cleaning Company offers free project estimates.

    Does Colonial Cleaning Company offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Colonial Cleaning Company does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Colonial Cleaning Company offer a senior discount?

    No, Colonial Cleaning Company does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Colonial Cleaning Company offer emergency services?

    Yes, Colonial Cleaning Company offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Colonial Cleaning Company?

    No, Colonial Cleaning Company does not offer warranties.

    What services does Colonial Cleaning Company offer?

    Colonial Cleaning Company offers the following services: You get the same cleaner on every visit! Weekly, bi-weekly, home cleaning, office cleaning, commercial buildings, Spring & Fall cleaning, laundry, ironing, move out cleaning, garage cleaning, power washing, construction cleaning, window washing, general housecleaning services