Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Black & White Construction Inc

4.8

(96) Verified Reviews

Founded 2006 • With Angi since April 2011

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
No License Required for Trade
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Phone Number

Address

PO Box 8225

The Woodlands, TX 77387

http://www.bawcon.com

Description

2019, 2018, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014 and 2012 Super Service Award Winner in Remodeling General (and some years in New Home Construction)! Thank you for taking a look at Black And White Construction! We are a conscientious driven company that focuses on our customers needs and our shared environment. The homes and construction projects we build create a value that is unsurpassed by our competition. The home we build for you will be competitively priced; often has immediate equity when completed, and will save you 50% - 70% on your utility bills compared to homes built by our competitors and production builders. This equates to $100s of dollars in savings each month, as your quality home increases in value. We use only the best materials to build our home. Structurally this means your home is built to a higher standard with an outstanding warranty program and a workmanship guarantee that gives you peace of mind for years to come while you enjoy your home. However, great savings and outstanding quality wont invoke a sense of distinction without style being part of your home. We have partnered with creative architects, suppliers, and designers to make your home a visual representation of you. You have a style and sense of elegance that will be showcased by your new home. You also have a sense of community that Black And White Construction shares with you. When we build your new home, it will be with a sense of purpose and commitment to our environment. From recycling materials to choosing green building products, your home will be built with our earth in mind. And your commitment will continue long after your home is built with our reforestation contributions and smaller home energy consumption footprint. Value, quality, style, and conservation . Black And White Construction. Award winning . Additional email - greg@bawcon.com....

Verified Reviews

4.8

(96) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

80

4

4

3

4

2

2

1

6

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.7

Read reviews by category

interior painting (29)drywall (26)home remodeling (22)home builder (17)woodworking (14)house painting (13)roofing (12)hardwood floors (12)cabinet makers (11)tile installation (10)window replacement (8)flooring (8)
Showing 1-25 of 96 reviews
5.0

11/01/2021


Nick L.

We had an entire wall removed in our gameroom along with the installation of faux wood ceiling beams, can lighting and flooring. The crew was very professional and polite, took great care of our existing furniture that remained in the room during construction and cleaned up after themselves every day before they left. The project went smoothly and was complete within the timeframe quoted. Would hands down recommend Black and White Construction to any homeowner!

Description of Work
Game Room Renovation

Category electrician,lighting,remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/01/2021

5.0

10/11/2020


Sara H.

Black & White Construction did an excellent job on our remodel! Greg was great to work with; He listened to our ideas and made great suggestions of his own based on his experience and what we were looking for. The crew who worked on the remodel were wonderful and very, very skilled at many things including tile, carpentry, and electrical work. The project was finished on time. Overall we were very satisfied with the quality and service provided and will hire for future projects.

Description of Work
Kitchen remodel, including resurfacing cabinets, new sink, new countertops, new cabinetry, and new tile flooring

Category custom cabinets,ceramic tile,countertops,electrician,remodeling,architect,home remodeling,cabinet refacing

Cost $25,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/15/2020

5.0

10/10/2020


Mercedes H.

Everyone on the Black and White team is extremely professional, knowledgeable, and dedicated to quality results. Greg took the time to help us pick the right options for our needs, wants, and budget, working around the unique quirks of our 40-year-old home. His team was very courteous, quiet, and clean. Greg checked in on progress frequently and worked alongside the team often, which impressed me. After dealing with other contractors, Black and White is truly a breath of fresh air: honest, responsive, and dedicated to ensuring we were happy with the results.

Description of Work
vinyl flooring installed, stairs refinished, walls resurfaced and painted, chandelier added

Category drywall,electrician,flooring contractor,remodeling,architect,interior painters

Cost $20,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/10/2020

Images

Review for Black & White Construction Inc - PO Box 8225, The Woodlands, TX - 38938292
5.0

10/09/2020


Clare R.

Bathroom remodel. Opened up wall making our dining area larger. Installed Door with a landing and side window closing off upstairs game room.

Description of Work
Excellent workmanship...exceeded my expectations...always on time and completed my project in a timely manner. I will recommend to others and will hire again! Thank you Greg Simmons-you and your team were amazing!

Category remodeling,home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/08/1970

5.0

05/05/2020


Debnil C.

Greg and his crew did an amazing job and performed very high quality work with my project.

Description of Work
Utility room conversion to media room

Category electrician,hardwood floor,lighting,remodeling,water heater repair,interior painters

Cost $17,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/02/2021

5.0

05/05/2020


Martin C.

CONSISTENT, RELIABLE, QUALITY. As everyone knows, a General Contractor is only as good as his subs. Over the years, Greg Simmons has gathered a team of subs to do draw from that adheres to these three words. Having experienced a variety of different contractors previously, I noticed that when I brought Greg on board, I never needed to worry about the security of my belongings, that subs were wasting time on the job, or that a shortcut had been taken that I would only discover later down the road. Everything was cleaned up at the end of the day. When you choose a GC, it is important that he is more “OCD” than you are. He needs to be able to point out things that you would never have noticed, only because it would haunt later on. Greg is that guy. Do not mistake it for generating unnecessary work as he is quick to tell you that certain things are “with the degree of tolerance” so you can just let that go. He will, however, point out certain things that need to be taken care of. Billing is done very systematically. Whatever his subs spend on material, I got copies of all the receipts. And he even takes Venmo now. Good riddance to checks! And because of his network of subs, Greg was be able give me various price levels depending on how much I wanted to spend. Low or high, Greg would still stand behind their quality. But possibly Greg’s greatest asset is his willingness to take responsibility for his work. If there was any single thing that he had worked on that I had an issue with, he would take care of it, at no charge to me. While that might be expected by everyone, it is less common than you think in this industry. With some other contractors, I have paid for work, and when I pointed out errors, I had to foot the bill to have it corrected. There was no such thing with Greg. In the spectrum of contractors you interview, Greg will come in above-average in price. He will not be the most expensive, but you can be guaranteed it will not go over what he is quoting, as is typical of contractors that bid low just to get the job. But even though he might be “above average in price”, using Black and White Construction will save you money in the long run. Ask me how I know…..

Description of Work
Cabinet Painting, Plumbing, Electrical, Sheetrock, Interior/Exterior paint, HVAC

Category custom cabinets,ceramic tile,closet systems,drywall,electrician,handyman service,heating & air conditioning/hvac,lighting,masonry,plumbing,remodeling,roofing,siding,water heater repair,replacement windows,garage builders,home builders,woodworking,home remodeling,house painters,interior painters,doors,sunrooms

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/15/2020

5.0

04/14/2020


keith L.

Greg at B&W is simply a pleasure to work with. My wife and i immediately clicked with Greg. He helped us through every phase of our project, which was an extensive kitchen remodel including some structural work, a new laundry room, a new mud room and more. His crew was great, did excellent work and we enjoyed getting to know them over the course of the 3-month project. We are already talking with Greg about our next project! Highly recommended!

Description of Work
Extensive kitchen remodel

Category custom cabinets,ceramic tile,countertops,drywall,electrician,lighting,plumbing,remodeling,home builders,woodworking,marble & granite,structural engineer,architect,home remodeling,interior painters,doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Images

Review for Black & White Construction Inc - PO Box 8225, The Woodlands, TX - 38498680

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the great review. We are looking forward to building your next project and appreciate that you recognize the true value of our product. We aim to please at every step of the process.
5.0

11/07/2019


eva P.

Greg and his team were excellent to work with! They completed the work on time, in a professional manner and great quality. There were no "surprise" charges added after we started. He communicated any issues in a timely manner and provided us with options on how to move forward. We were out of the country during the time his team was working and still his team showed up at 8am and worked till 5pm every day. I highly recommend Black and White Construction and will likely be using them for any future projects.

Description of Work
Opening up a bedroom to create large living/kitchen area

Category drywall,electrician,flooring contractor,hardwood floor,remodeling,interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/02/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business and for your review. We look forward to working with you again in the future.
5.0

09/13/2019


Kenneth H.

Completed work timely & professionally

Description of Work
stucco removal

Category remodeling

Cost $1,400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/14/2019

5.0

06/11/2019


Rob W.

We hired Greg and team to come in and close off our game room and re-do out entire staircase. We had an old ugly pony wall up most of our stairs. The game room was open to our living room and it made watching TV impossible for us when the kids were playing. Greg designed everything. Came up with cool ideas to make our vision come to life. Made sure we got everything we wanted. Did not sell us on anything that did not make sense-- even openly telling us on a few ideas what it would cost and how he would do it, but that he would not recommend it. As good as Greg was, the team was even better. Meticulous in their work. Extremely respectful of our family since we were living here as the work got done. Made sure every night that each speck of dust was cleaned up and house put back to as much normal as they could. Super nice guys to the kids, dogs, etc. Not only good at what they do, but really just awesome and amazing humans. Team also hung a new light piece in our two story living area, some painting, and other odds and ends. Would ABSOLUTELY use Greg and the team again. Have referred him out to many people already and have to say his team is the best we've ever worked with. Before and after pics below.

Description of Work
Remodel game room and open staircase

Category drywall,remodeling,woodworking,interior painters,doors

Cost $14,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/11/2019

Images

Review for Black & White Construction Inc - PO Box 8225, The Woodlands, TX - 37923716

+2 More

5.0

06/05/2019


Matthew A.

We hired Greg and Black and White construction to remodel our guest bathroom last year. This is the second bathroom that we’ve remodeled so we’ve been through it once before and this was definitely our best contractor experience so far. Greg and his team were very professional, respectful, and provided us a beautiful bathroom for the price we set out to spend. Greg is extremely responsive to requests for information which makes working with him a true joy and a stark contrast to many other professionals in this field. The team at Black and White treated our home well while they were here and maintained the area as clean as possible while they were working and at the end of each day. They were friendly and professional and knew what they were doing. Greg provided adequate oversight of the work and this helped everything go very smoothly. At the end of the day, we got a great remodel and a great experience. We will be using Black and White again for our future remodeling needs and highly recommend them to anyone else.

Description of Work
Remodeled Guest Bathroom

Category remodeling,home remodeling

Cost $25,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/27/2018

Images

Review for Black & White Construction Inc - PO Box 8225, The Woodlands, TX - 37912612

+2 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you for entrusting us with your home projects. The entire team and myself enjoyed not only working with you and your wife, but meeting the in-laws too! You have a beautiful home.
5.0

04/19/2019


Matt H.

Met with owner Greg Simmons, who was very professional and knowledgeable. Greg took the time to understand our needs, and created a pricing structure to accommodate. Even though we didn't move forward with the construction, I would definitely consider Black & White Construction for any future residential projects.

Description of Work
Requested bid on game room and garage addition

Category remodeling

Cost $85,000

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/19/2019

5.0

01/03/2019


Kelan M.

Greg (owner of Black & White) and his team managed the construction of our new custom home from start to finish. Everything from the demolition of the existing house to the finishing touches on the new build were included in the scope of work. We selected Greg because he presented his bid as requested and fully communicated the roles and responsibilities of all involved parties. His bidding was straightforward and offered transparency on costs. Communication was prompt and he worked with us on re-bids as the scope of work changed. Once selected, Greg assisted with reviewing of our plans and identified potential issues prior to starting work. From there, he managed the entire process while getting our input as necessary with proper lead time to not impact the overall schedule. The B&W crews and subcontractors were all stand-up people who were trustworthy and delivered the expected quality of work. When challenges came up, they were communicated and solutions were offered to keep everything progressing. At no point did we have concerns we were being misled. The house same together quickly and without and major hold-ups, which is a challenge in a fully custom build. The quality of the build and the craftsmanship were excellent. Schedule variance was minimal and the projected duration was within the quoted window. I have recommended Greg to friends and family and will use him again should the need arise. Greg will be dedicated to your project and treat your house like it is his own.

Description of Work
Complete construction of a custom home

Category remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/31/2018

5.0

12/19/2018


Rene H.

Greg was so easy to work with. He and his crew finished way before my husband and I expected the addition to be finished. Love the finished product the room looks like it has always been there. Would definitely recommend using Black and White Construction.

Description of Work
Bedroom and bath addition.

Category remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/19/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for selecting us to build your project. On behalf of the entire crew and myself, we really enjoyed working for you both. Enjoy your new space!
5.0

11/25/2018


Angela S.

Black and White Construction (BAWCON) exceeded all expectations for $98,000.00 home renovation project which included the replacement of all windows along with interior and exterior repair and paint in the Southampton/Rice Village area. We carefully reviewed and considered three bid proposals before selecting BAWCON because of the large scope and difficulty of our renovation project. It was easy to select Greg Simmons, owner of BAWCON, despite having the highest project bid. Greg immediately impressed us with his attention to detail during a lengthy meeting with Pella Windows. He was the only contractor to completely take apart an existing window to measure and plan for both the removal and replacement. Greg and his entire crew were consummate professionals always polite and respectful of our family and neighbors during all stages of the renovation. This was especially important since our family of four plus Aussie puppy continued to live in the home during the 14 week renovation project. Greg was on site almost daily providing oversight and ensuring attention to every detail. He was also always immediately attentive to all questions and concerns at every stage of the renovation. Greg even wowed us with his excellent eye for color selection. He would very quickly suggest colors using a color wheel and after hours of grueling consideration and consultation with designers and friends we would always end up with the color first chosen by Greg. We are very satisfied with the exceptional work coordinated by Greg and the BAWCON team which ensured our home is again beautiful and “waterproof” following the driving rain we experienced during Hurricane Harvey. We give our highest recommendation to Greg Simmons and Black and White Construction for all your home renovation needs.

Description of Work
Exceeded all expectations/Highest recommendation for BAWCON

Category decks,drywall,remodeling,roofing,stucco,house painters,interior painters

Cost $98,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/25/2018

Images

Review for Black & White Construction Inc - PO Box 8225, The Woodlands, TX - 37569998

Service Provider Response

Thank you for having the confidence in us to handle this complicated project. We strive not to be the most expensive bids, but sometimes we just know the amount of detail and work that needs to go into a project to make it just right. More often than it should be, many of our competitors bid a job really low either to later raise the price once they have started or simply because they did not understand the scope of the project. I am extremely pleased we had the appropriate labor standards and material selections to meet our customers' needs and expectations. We love complicated jobs...they keep us on our toes!
5.0

10/25/2018


Jennifer O.

We had a large bonus space at the top of our stairs in a three story townhouse, essentially a game room or second living room, that was not utilized for much other than collecting some furniture and odds and ends. We wanted to add an interior wall and door to make this room into another bedroom for our soon to arrive addition to the family (only other bedroom is on the first floor aside from third floor master). We sought bids from a few of the top rated construction companies on Angie's List and Yelp on this project. Greg was able to provide a quick ballpark estimate for us based on email description of the work and a few pics of the space, then confirmed the estimate with a walk through later on. His bid was a little over half what our other top choice quoted us to construct the wall with matching paint/trim/door, including insulating the wall for sound reduction, adding outlets on both sides, relocating light switches and a thermostat control panel, and keeping the current carpet flooring. They also replaced drywall and repainted an area of the adjoining closet where a small roof leak had left a water stain and peeling drywall as part of the job. We had a couple weeks' wait between initial estimate walk through and starting the project based on B&W's availability and our own preferences; they were good at communicating when they would be available to start and at accommodating our schedule requests (not working for a couple days during the week to allow this night shift nurse to have quiet sleep before scheduled shifts for that week). The time estimate for completion was right on; they only needed 4 work days to complete the job including construction, electrical, drywall, priming/painting and trim and stretching the carpet. The team arrived promptly each day and were very professional and relatively unobtrusive/quiet as they worked (as much as is possible when using construction tools). The final product looks perfect and like it was always part of the house. There was even a slight mismatch between our house wall and ceiling paint colors which was not apparent until they were painting the new wall, without our even knowing about it they repainted the whole ceiling in the room to match the walls. We now have a much more functional space and true third bedroom. We are very happy with the quality of the work and how quickly it was completed, and even more so with the final price, which did not change from the original quote. We would definitely use B&W Construction again for any future remodeling projects in our house and recommend them to friends and family.

Description of Work
Construction of interior wall to create bedroom

Category remodeling

Cost $3,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/15/2018

Service Provider Response

We appreciate being able to do something that immediately helps your expanding family out. Thank you again for choosing Black And White Construction.
5.0

10/25/2018


Merle T.

Greg Simmons, the owner was a delight to work with. everything he discussed with me during our initial interview was followed through on. He is very dependable and worked with me on making some difficult decisions regarding materials and design. The crews that came in cleaned up everyday completely which made it easier for us during the project, and were a pleasure to work with. I will use Black and White Construction again!

Description of Work
Had our kitchen done Quartz counters, Paint cabinets, some electrical work, some carpentry work.

Category countertops,electrician,lighting,plumbing,remodeling,water heater repair,woodworking,home remodeling,cabinet refacing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/25/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for choosing Black And White Construction. We are looking forward to working with you on your next project!
4.0

04/10/2018


Stephen W.

Generally well. Had a minor hiccup on the finish work but got it resolved.

Description of Work
Living room remodel

Category custom cabinets,ceramic tile,drywall,electrician,hardwood floor,lighting,remodeling,interior painters,doors

Cost $8,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/20/2018

5.0

04/04/2018


Tom C.

Greg Simmons did an outstanding job of bringing our house back to life after Harvey. Although we had a relatively minor amount of water in the house, we completely removed all drywall, floors, cabinets and doors. From the very minute we first contacted Greg, we felt that he really cared about us and about rebuilding our house with quality. His own home was flooded, and his family was displaced by the storm. Instead of focusing on his own problems, however, he put his customers first. Although sub-contractors have been in short supply over the last several months, and building materials were sometimes difficult to obtain, Greg has his own committed teams and was relentless about following up to get what is needed. He never failed to call or text back the same day with an efficient but meaningful response. Greg worked within our insurance budget even when building costs increased and delivered the promised work for exactly the amount committed. He charged only for the work he actually performed and was fair and accurate about record keeping. When unexpected challenges arose, Greg came up with efficient and creative solutions that did not break the bank. Change orders were created fairly and efficiently at a reasonable cost, and we were always given several options at different price points. The final product looks great. He has good crews and sub-contractors, but he supervises them well and carefully inspects their work. Even after we were satisfied with the quality, Greg insisted on resolving every last item that did not meet his own high standards. He turned away a lot of work, so he could focus well on the commitments he made. Greg is justifiably proud of his work. We would not hesitate to use him again or to recommend his work to anyone.

Description of Work
Flood Rebuild

Category custom cabinets,ceramic tile,countertops,drywall,hardwood floor,remodeling,water damage restoration,woodworking,home remodeling,interior painters,cabinet refacing,doors

Cost $100,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/30/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to review my company. You and [Member Name Removed] were a pleasure to work with. We appreciate your business and the trust that you gave us.
5.0

03/31/2018


JOZEF K.

This was a major project involving the widening of the existing garage footprint and building a 2nd story with new roof over the widened garage. The new space was designed as a garage apartment/art studio. The project started soon after Harvey hit Houston which made it more challenging to obtain materials. Nevertheless, Black and White did a great job under difficult circumstances. Greg is a pleasure to work with. His attention to customer requirements, fairness and integrity are to be admired. A pleasure to work with !

Description of Work
Garage apartment/studio over existing detached garage

Category custom cabinets,drywall,electrician,hardwood floor,heating & air conditioning/hvac,remodeling,roofing,replacement windows,garage builders,home builders,woodworking,drain pipe,house painters,interior painters,doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/15/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind review. It was a pleasure working with you and your wife on this project!
5.0

10/30/2017


Keith F.

Great, the bathrooms are amazing, new, up to date and beautiful. We had no idea what to do with the giant window in our bathroom.. they removed it, matched the brick and put in a smaller window just for light high up... PERFECT, we would have never thought it could be done. Would hire them again, the make great adjustments on the fly for you and do excellent work... was it super fast? No.. but it was done right.

Description of Work
2 Bathrooms remodeled and a few other odd jobs

Category custom cabinets,ceramic tile,closet systems,countertops,drywall,electrician,lighting,plumbing,remodeling,replacement windows,marble & granite,home remodeling,interior painters,doors

Cost $60,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/30/2017

Images

Review for Black & White Construction Inc - PO Box 8225, The Woodlands, TX - 36498314

+3 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you once again for your business. WE really enjoyed working with you. I like hearing that we have changed your bathrooms into rooms that you now really enjoy! Thanks for the before picture. I never take those and tend to forget what projects looked like pre-construction!
5.0

10/30/2017


Brett G.

This is the second time I've used Greg and his team on a project of mine. I don't plan on using anyone else going forward.

Description of Work
Water intrusion repair to two sets of French doors.

Category remodeling