Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

American Hill Country Gutters,LLC

Founded 2007 • With Angi since March 2009

4.5

(31) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

25900 US Hwy 281 N

San Antonio, TX 78258

Description

American Hill Country Gutters, LLC ; The Original Home of the No-Sagging Gutters! We are family owned and operated, located in the San Antonio area and work within the beautiful Texas Hill Country. Our father and son team are both veterans of our Armed Forces and are proud to serve our American

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Rose S.
5.0
03/25/2019
Job went very well. Crew showed up on time and went right to work, despite freezing weather and sleet. Bad weather forced them to come back the next day to finish.
Description of Work
New Gutters
Category
gutter repair
Gretchen G.
2.0
08/13/2017
Company installed gutters on August 11, 2017. The work seems fine, time will tell when it rains. However, the workers and company owner are rude and disrespectful. When they came out to give a bid they showed up at the wrong time, causing me to drop what I was doing (I work from home) to accommodate them. When they came out to do the work I had to ask one employee to stop smoking. When they were done and I was inspecting the work, I noticed that an item we had on the roof was now on the ground. When I asked why they threw it on the ground they just asked me what it was and why it was up there (which was none of their business). The item was not in an area where they were working so there was no need to disturb it. When I asked them to put it back they carelessly threw it back onto the roof. When I called the owner to complain he claimed that he was "stunned" because the workers had worked for him for 10 years and he had never had a complaint about them. Employees in the home improvement business tend to be transient so I find it hard to believe that he has had the same employees for 10 years. And, the employee that was smoking looked like he was in his early 20s so I hope he has not worked for the company for 10 years. The owner simply did not care about the behavior of his employees. After talking with the owner I realized that rudeness and dishonesty is just part of the culture of the company. If you hire this company do not leave the workers unattended. They have no regard for their customers or the customers property.
Description of Work
Installation of gutters on porch and carport.
Category
gutter repair

Service Provider Response

We have made several attempts to rectify the concern of our customer. Our installers are not disrespectful and have proven time after time of their regard for others property. When the customer ask our worker to not smoke, he respectfully went to our company vehicle to do so. Our Lead Installer has been with our company for 10 years and the other worker is his apprentice. It is common for our workers to remove debris from customers roof. The item customer is referring to was a card board box in which they removed. If the customer had made the workers aware of an item on the roof which needs not be disturbed, they would have ignored. The owner did listen to the customers concerns and advised customer we would discuss with our workers. We regret that customer has resulted to implying we are dishonest and we do not take that lightly, as we gave the customer No reason to feel this way. In fact, the owner discounted the job for the dissatisfaction.
JERICA C.
3.0
04/14/2017
I had an 8am appointment scheduled (not a window, an actual time set) for an estimator. After waiting until 9:15, I called the office, left a message asking for an explanation. At 9:30, the estimator calls me and tells me he can be at my house by 10:00, no apology and no explanation. This is unacceptable to leave customers waiting with no courtesy call if running late. There was no professionalism upon arrival. There is no way I would give this company $1200. I took my business elsewhere.
Description of Work
I needed my gutters replaced.
Category
gutter repair
David C.
3.0
04/27/2016
It was supposed to be a 1 day job but it stretched out into 5-6 visits over several weeks because Marion, the owner/project manager kept bringing the wrong materials and forgetting parts of the job that was supposed to be done - like a downspout extension, and even an entire section of gutter screen. Also, there were cut out little pieces of gutter screen lying around the house that I have been picking up ever since. He was just not on top of it as a project manager - and honestly, the "sorry" comes of a little hollow when he kept having to return. However, he never argued about needing to come back to make it right, and he did finish the job and it looks good. Also Cory the estimator was great. Explained the product, the work, what to expect, what not to expect. Was not pushy. Compared their company with the competition, but without bad mouthing the competition. Price seemed fair although I did not have an apples to apples comparison to really know. Would consider using them again because I know how to work with them now and the odds of another company are 50/50 anyways.
Description of Work
Install gutter leaf screens
Category
gutter repair
Donna S.
5.0
01/29/2016
The work was started and completed in a timely manner. The color selection for gutters is huge! Loved the color we selected. I appreciated the professional approach and the quality of work.
Description of Work
Remove old gutter, remove and replace "rotten gutter spacer" around the entire house, repair rotten fascia board, remove and replace cedar support column on back patio, paint entire outside trim work, windows, etc and garage door and install new gutters and downspouts.
Category
gutter repair, woodworking
Mark J.
2.0
09/23/2015
I met AHC at the San Antonio Home and Garden show February 2015. A few weeks later I called to make an appointment to get an estimate for replacing my gutters. I talked to the owner on the phone and made the appointment for 4/20/15. They confirmed prior to the appointment that we were still a go. When 4/20 rolls around I was stood up. An hour after the appointment was supposed to take place I try calling only to go straight to voicemail. I leave a message and wait until the next day. I call several more times and get no answer. Luckily this is San Antonio and gutter companies are a dime a dozen so I'm not really too fumed over it. I would have appreciated a phone call though, even if it was to cancel the appointment. I have stuff to do and I don't want to be sitting around waiting for nothing.
Description of Work
No Call No Show
Category
gutter repair
Imelda M.
2.0
05/30/2015
After reading the positive reviews on this company this is the first place we called to get a quote on installing gutters. We scheduled an appointment a week and half in advance and were looking forward to getting the quote. On the day of our appointment we were a little ways out of town and we called in advance to make sure the set appointment time was still on. We did not get an answer so we went to our property and were there on time. I called again about 10 minutes after our appointment time and it went to voice mail. I called again 20 minutes after our appointment time and it went to voice mail again. I got a call back about 5 minutes after my last call to this company and the representative explained that he was still with another customer and did not want to be rude to that customer by calling us to let us know he would be running late. (My thoughts were, "So what are we chopped liver?"). I explained that I understood that he did not want to be rude to his customer but we are his customer too and our time is just as precious as everyone else and we would have appreciated a phone call. The worst part was not so much what he was saying but how he said it. We have about several properties in the City of San Antonio area and are in the process of building a home and we understand that appointments run longer than expected but we have always received phone calls from other companies letting us know they would be running late. This was also always done prior to the appointment time. A phone call would have been appreciated in this matter. We cancelled due to the disappointment.
Description of Work
Please see response below.
Category
gutter repair
Karen F.
5.0
02/16/2015
They gave me different variates as far as color in matching the house. Instead of trying to sell me the latest and greatest they helped me pick what I needed for the side of my house and the way the roof is angled. Instead of just selling me the latest and greatest they told me exactly what I need.
Description of Work
We used American Hill for gutters. They put gutters around the whole house.
Category
gutter repair
Thomas V.
5.0
06/06/2014
Super. From Estimates to installation. Life time warrenty.
Description of Work
Install gutters with leaf screening
Category
gutter repair
John D.
5.0
04/23/2014
Left a message and received a call to set up appointment for estimate within 1 hour. Cory came out and did a thorough job measuring and going over options and colors. Crew showed up on time and got right to work. Job was done in three hours, professional, clean and efficient. They use top quality hardware and are very careful to install gutters properly. Can't beat a lifetime warrenty. Colors match house very well. If I am in need of gutters again I will definitely use Hill Country Exteriors.
Description of Work
Installed gutters, flashing, and downspouts on rear of house, two story and one story sections.
Category
gutter repair
Lane O.
5.0
03/25/2014
Excellent experience! I shopped four Angie's List providers -- all of whom were well recommended -- and I was most satisfied with this company. I began by explaining that the problem I was trying to address was not the lack of gutters (I haven't had anything more than the front porch guttered for 17 years) but a recent problem with back yard drainage partly attributed to an overload of run off water. I was trying to ascertain if adding gutters would allow me to rechannel some run-off to the side yard. I questioned each company as to the type of materials used, attachment methods, leaf screen method and why it was recommended, guarantee on the work, and of course how to best use the gutter to redirect roof run off. AHCG was the best on all areas including cost. I have had the gutters in place for 5 months now with several hard rains and everything works as advertised. I've recommended the company to several friends.
Description of Work
Installed covered gutters on single story front of the house (over main porch) and on the second story rear (house length)
Category
gutter repair
Terence W.
5.0
01/13/2014
Very professional and friendly. Worked quickly and the owner was present the entire time. Will use again for other services!
Description of Work
I used American Hill Country Gutters LLC.
Category
gutter repair
John P.
5.0
10/02/2013
Marion Johnson and his crews were very good. Timely, responsive to my questions, concerns and requests. They respected my home and property, cleaned up and did a very good job of installing all new gutters and downspouts. They worked a very long day to complete the install in one day. With a little more attention to detail they will be excellent. I would use them and again and do strongly recommend them.
Description of Work
Removed old gutters and downspouts and installed new gutters and downspouts
Category
gutter repair
paul w V.
5.0
04/15/2013
excellent product and work.
Description of Work
Had gutters installed
Category
gutter repair
Stacy W.
5.0
03/07/2013
Installed gutters around my entire house. Showed up when they said they would, and were very professional. I did feel the pricing could have been a little more competitive, but owner insists that he provides a more thorough and quality product. I would recommend them, but I wish I'd shopped around a little more first to make sure I was getting the best deal for my needs.
Description of Work
Installed flashing and gutters.
Category
gutter repair
Albert M.
4.0
11/30/2012
Overall the job was O.K. The work team of two was managed by a supervisor the whole time to see that the job was done which was good. The bad was one of the workers was a little sloppy in his work such as leaving a gap in the flashing where the gutter was installed and not properly fastening a part of the leaf screen. These were items I discoverd on inspecting the work. I'd recommend the supervisor thoroughly inspect the job this worker does in the future.
Description of Work
Installed new gutters on part of our roof. The date is an estimate as I can't find the exact date in my records but, it was in the latter part of Oct.
Category
gutter repair
Angie L.
5.0
08/30/2012
Hill Country Gutters showed up right on time and did the work in the exact amount of time they had told us it would take. We were very pleased with the results and would highly recommend them.
Description of Work
We had gutters installed on our guest house. They recommended galvanized gutters that would match our metal roof and we love them! They blend beautifully with the roof and are practically unnoticeable, which is exactly what we wanted.
Category
gutter repair
Beverly A.
5.0
08/16/2012
Mr Johnson removed my old gutters and when he did he found that the fascia under the aluminum siding was rotted out and some animal had chewed the end of a rafter tail. Until the damage was repaired, he was unable to proceed with the new gutters. He gave me the names of people who could do that work. He then replaced the aluminum siding and asked me to call him when the repair had been done. He came back a week later and completed the gutter work in an outstanding manner. Even though he wasn't able to complete the work on the first day because of the rotted wood, he didn't charge any more than his original estimate. He was on the premises the entire time helping and supervising the work. I highly recommend this company and wouldn't hesitate to use them again.
Description of Work
Old gutters removed and new ones installed.
Category
gutter repair
Fred L.
4.0
08/09/2012
Marion was an easy guy to deal with, but did feel the price was a little much for 6 ft of gutter (unfortunately I get that a lot as soon as contractors see my house). The job was finished in no time at all, and appears to have been done well. The rain water is now draining properly into the scupper. Would not hesitate to call him again for future estimates.
Description of Work
Added 6 ft of gutter to existing gutter system to allow overflow of big roof to drain properly into large scupper.
Category
gutter repair
Nancy H.
5.0
07/10/2012
Beautiful, sturdy, well installed gutters....exactly what I wanted! Marion was easy to deal with, the cost was competitive with other bids I received....I really couldn't ask for more. Even my contractor was impressed and used him for some of his other projects!!
Description of Work
Installed new 6" half round heavy duty galvalume gutters for "new" really old house. This included the circle shaped hangers that I wanted and a black steel screen to keep things out of the gutters.
Category
gutter repair
Michael K.
5.0
05/22/2012
I had to replace the roof and facia on a 60 year old home. The house had never had gutters and needed gutters all around. This was a relatively large job and I received estimates from approximately seven companies. I found Hill Country Gutters on an Angie's list search of another company. The consumer reported a better result with Hill Country Gutters so I checked them out. I was pleased from the start. I was given an estimate the day after our initial walk through. When dealing with this company, you deal directly with the owner not a salesman. He's honest, dependable, and sticks to his word. The gutters were on in one day (downspouts completed on the second day due to the large job). The job also involved three different colors at no additional charge. You can do what I did (interview and meet with multiple companies) or just call Hill Country Gutters from the start.
Description of Work
Installed nearly 900' of gutter and downspouts on five separate structures.
Category
gutter repair
Linda P.
5.0
04/20/2012
Excellent! I was not there when Marion and his crew arrived because that morning my mother had a heart attack. I had completely forgot that Marion and his crew were coming. By the time I remember they had started and completed the project without hesitation. When I arrived home it was like noone had even been there, his crew cleaned up and left nothing behind. My gutters match perfectly to the color of my house. I am a proficient person when it come to making financial decisions. Every phone call I made to Marion, he answered and took the time to speak with me. After all the estimates I received for gutters, American Hill Country Gutters were not the least expensive but their quality, service and performance are worth their weight in Gold.... Thank you Marion.
Description of Work
I was having a terrible erosion problem because of the slope of my yard and where the water was flowing when it rained. Marion came out and met with us and he listen to our concerns and we were able to move the flow of the water with the gutters.
Category
gutter repair
Justin C.
5.0
11/30/2011
It went well. He came out when he said he was going to come out. He put it up exactly where I wanted and it looks great. He was affordable and did good work. He was punctual. I need to call him back and get the things that go on top of the gutters.
Description of Work
American Hill Country Gutters put in gutters.
Category
gutter repair
Abigail B.
5.0
11/21/2011
It went very well. They were very competitively priced. I felt that he was very honest. I had other companies give me estimates and definitely feel that those companies seen I was a woman and tried to overcharge me because I didn't know what they were talking about. When American Hill Country Gutters came in, his prices were extremely fair. He charged me 'x' amount of dollars per linear foot, where other companies were charging me double what he was. He could have tried to charge me what the others were but he didn't. I had him come out and give me an estimate a year ago, and I ended up waiting until next year, but he ended up honoring the price that he gave me last year. He told me that materials had gone up, but he still honored the price. I thought that was really cool. I asked him what I could do to say thanks and he told me to just write a review on Angie's List, and I just hadn't had a chance to do it yet.
Description of Work
American Hill Country Gutters installed gutters.
Category
gutter repair
Bernadette R.
5.0
07/28/2011
Hill Country Gutters was recommended by a friend but I also had a subscription to Angie's list so I wanted to check out other vendors. When I looked on Angie's list I saw that Hill Country Gutters was on Angie's list but the company only had 1 review. The review was not positive so my initial thought was not to contact them, but my friend was insistent that the company had did a terrific job for them, so I called for an appointment. I spoke to Marion Johnson who is the owner and he was able to meet with me promptly. He provided me some recommendations about where and why to put the rain barrels in specific locations and other recommendations that made good sense that a previous company had not noticed to mention. He reviewed the various types of leaf screens and the pros and cons to each, he did this much more thoroughly that the previous company that I received an estimate from. I also appreciated him breaking down the price difference for each option. He gave me three types of leaf guards to choose from and provided an installation estimate for each. His highest priced leaf guard and gutter was cheaper than the estimate I had received from 'Top Notch Gutters'. He also recommended to include the metal flashing along the gutter/shingle to preserve the wood of my home and included the leaf guard to a preexisting gutter that we had. All of these inclusions and still cheaper than my other estimate. Marion outlined what would happen the day of installation, provided the names of people on his crew and how long they worked in the business and with him. Overall I felt very confident with Marion and that he would give me a quality product and installation. When I called him to accept his bid, he scheduled with me promptly and his crew showed up on time and ready to work. They were done in 4 hours. Marion inspected the crew's work and walked the property then got a leaf blower and went back over the work area to clean it. The patio and deck was cleaner after they left than before they arrived. All I can say is that I'm glad I didn't use Angie's List as the only option to make my choice in selecting a gutter installation company. Word of mouth is 'very' important too. I told Marion about his companies review on Angie's List and he did not seem familiar with it. He said his son may have signed him up for Angie's List but he did not think he had listed his company. Marion said he get most of his business from word of mouth. I strongly recommend this company for your gutter work.
Description of Work
Installed flashing, gutters, leaf screen and installed rain barrels. Also cleaned existing gutters and applied leaf screens.
Category
gutter cleaning, gutter repair

    Other local Pros in your area

    Bullet Proof Softwash

    Bullet Proof Softwash specializes in pressure washing and softwashing services in San Antonio and the surrounding areas. We clean many areas of homes and commercial buildings such as roofs, driveways , fences , the outside walls of the home or business, windows and more. Our main pride lies within our softwash equipment. Our softwash systems allow us to get a deeper and brighter clean with soft chemicals rather than traditional high pressure washing services. If you want your property to look like new again we can make it happen. Give us a call for a free estimate!  

    Angi Certified

    Rigdon Inc.

    For over 25 years Rigdon, Inc has been providing homeowners the best quality cleaning and maintenance services. Our professional technicians provide fast, friendly service - and we back our work with a satisfaction or money back guarantee. Free estimates and no travel charges within our service area. Call us or email: info@rigdoninc.com.  

    Angi Certified

    Roof Rescue US

    Your roof is arguably the most important part of your house. It provides you comfort and safety from the elements. That’s why problems with your roof are top priority. At Roof Rescue we have experience replacing and repairing roofs all over the San Antonio area since 1994. Our expertly-trained staff arrive at your home within hours of calling to quickly and efficiently diagnose your problem and what it will take to get your roof back to 100%.  

    Angi Certified

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Seamless Gutter installation, Leaf Screens, Leaf Free products, Drip Edge Flashing Installation, Gutters Cleaning & Repair. Gutter Painting, Rotten wood replacement. 5 and 6 inch OG/Standard Gutters and 6 inch Half Round Gutters

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about American Hill Country Gutters,LLC

    How is American Hill Country Gutters,LLC overall rated?

    American Hill Country Gutters,LLC is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are American Hill Country Gutters,LLC open?

    American Hill Country Gutters,LLC is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 AM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 AM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 AM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 AM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 AM

    Saturday: 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

    What payment options does American Hill Country Gutters,LLC provide

    American Hill Country Gutters,LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does American Hill Country Gutters,LLC offer free estimates?

    Yes, American Hill Country Gutters,LLC offers free project estimates.

    Does American Hill Country Gutters,LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, American Hill Country Gutters,LLC does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does American Hill Country Gutters,LLC offer a senior discount?

    No, American Hill Country Gutters,LLC does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by American Hill Country Gutters,LLC?

    Yes, American Hill Country Gutters,LLC offers warranties.

    What services does American Hill Country Gutters,LLC offer?

    American Hill Country Gutters,LLC offers the following services: Seamless Gutter installation, Leaf Screens, Leaf Free products, Drip Edge Flashing Installation, Gutters Cleaning & Repair. Gutter Painting, Rotten wood replacement. 5 and 6 inch OG/Standard Gutters and 6 inch Half Round Gutters