Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Texas Backyard Living

4.5

(476) Verified Reviews

Founded 2012 • With Angi since January 2013

Business Highlights

Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
No License Required for Trade
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Phone Number

Address

6913 K Ave Suite 307

Plano, TX 75074

http://texasbackyardliving.com/

Description

Thank you for your interest in Texas Backyard Living. We are a highly reputable family owned company specializing in fences, pergolas, patio covers, automatic gates, concrete, stonework, staining, and fence repair. We service Plano, Allen, Frisco, McKinney and surrounding Dallas and Fort Worth areas. Our mission is to provide professional service and quality workmanship to each customer while keeping projects on time and under budget. We take pride in the quality of our work and create value through our competitive pricing and unbeatable warranties. Texas Backyard Living looks forward to helping you with your next outdoor project! Call us or fill out our online request for a FREE estimate!...

Verified Reviews

4.5

(476) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

339

4

66

3

24

2

10

1

37

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.6

Punctuality

4.5

Quality

4.6

Responsiveness

4.4

Read reviews by category

fence company (449)pressure washing (103)driveway gate installation (49)deck cleaning (35)decks & porches (31)Patios (18)hardscaping (8)iron work (5)stamped concrete (4)stone & gravel (4)outdoor kitchens (1)house painting (150)
Showing 1-25 of 476 reviews
5.0

02/14/2022


Ben B.

Great - finished project is beautiful and we really enjoy it. I have hired TX Backyard Living for another project in fact.

Description of Work
Patio foundation and cover

Category awnings, decks

Cost $18,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/15/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you!
1.0

05/16/2021


Vicki H.

Not good - Josh came out to provide an estimate. He was very aggressive. Implied that we could not afford. My husband explained that we understood what he was saying and that he kept repeating himself. Hi left saying that he would provide an estimate, I contacted Heather twice and was told that we would receive an estimate no later than Thursday 5/13...to date, we have not received a response from Heather or Josh. Not sure how contractors are entering the homes of potential clients and assuming they are illiterate and don't have money. This is becoming disgraceful.

Description of Work
Fence Replacement

Category awnings

Work Completed On 05/16/2021

Service Provider Response

This is not true at all and should be updated or removed immediately. We came to our scheduled appointment on 5/6 and emailed your proposal on 5/12. Please check your email. We simply gave you expectations that based on what you were wanting there might be unexpected costs, mainly because you fired your last contractor and were asking us to fix a bunch of unknowns. You cried multiple times during the appointment and made us very uncomfortable. We don't have anyone named Heather that works here nor would we imply you cannot afford anything. Why would we do that? We are trying to earn your business. It's probably best we don't work together at this point. I ask that you remove this review as we did everything we said we would do and more.
5.0

05/14/2021


Alan B.

They finished the work in 2 days. Did a great job.

Description of Work
retaining wall

Category contractors

Cost $3,680

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/13/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you!
5.0

04/09/2021


Joe V.

Great. Requested an estimate first. Gave great price. Everyone was great to work with. Kris, who came out to give estimate, was patient and answered all my questions. The installation crew, led by Carlos, worked efficiently and quickly in spite of my interruptions. Fence was up quicker than I had imagined. It looks great. Highly recommend them.

Description of Work
replace existing 8' privacy fence

Category fencing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/09/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you sir!
2.0

04/01/2021


Sharad G.

The sales lady was wonderful but there was utter lack of accountability for the quality of the work performed and no follow up after raising the warranty issues for many many months. The fence gates were not installed properly and the locks on the gates were installed on the opposite sides

Description of Work
Patio, Pergola, Fence

Category decks, fencing, pavers, gravel

Cost $45,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 04/13/2021

5.0

04/01/2021


Sharad G.

We worked with Kimbra Pervine from day one and had nothing but a first-rate experience working with her. She listened to our needs every step of the way, made sure we were informed as to when the crew was supposed to show up, was very flexible with our changing needs, and took care of any issues that arose during the work performed. She has won our hearts and will be calling her for our future projects needs as well.

Description of Work
We needed a new deck, pergola and a fence

Category decks, fencing, pavers, gravel, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/01/2021

5.0

03/31/2021


John B.

Overall, a great experience. Most companies weren't even responding to us or said they couldn't come out for 4 weeks or more. Joshua and Texas Backyard Living was very different. They came out to perform an estimate within the week and started the job the next week. Victor and his team was amazing and made sure that they built the deck, exactly how we wanted it. Based on their responsiveness and professionalism, I would recommend them to everyone for decks and any related projects.

Description of Work
Deck in backyard

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/31/2021

Images

Review for Texas Backyard Living - 6913 K Ave, Plano, TX - 39274152

+2 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you!
5.0

02/22/2021


Victoria S.

We hired Kimbra and her team to demo an old fence and install a new, 8' wooden fence, with a sliding double gate and two pedestrian gates. The fence looks absolutely fabulous! Our neighbors actually keep stopping and complimenting us on it. The crew was thorough and actually finished a day early. They cleaned up after themselves and were always professional. Since our gate is hardwired in and has emergency battery power, we were one of the only houses that didn't have issues getting our cars out during the recent power outages. I would absolutely hire Kimbra and her team again.

Description of Work
New Wooden Fence

Category fencing

Cost $30,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/18/2021

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your feedback and review! Enjoy the new fence and be sure to let us know if we can do anything else for you.
5.0

01/20/2021


PAULA C.

This was a good experience!. I researched and obtained 4 estimates, drove to look at examples of their work and reviewed the details of the contracts. Texas Backyard Living was not the least expensive but included the experience I wanted and the guarantee I preferred. I was especially concerned about the size and materials of a dog window I requested and they worked hard to meet my needs. Luckily, they were able to start within days from acceptance and finished within 2 days, except for some minor cleanup. My backyard was exposed 1 day & night only, which was comforting to me. The finished product is wonderful. I am happy to recommend this company to anyone wanting good quality for a reasonable price. The sales manager Kimbra Pervine was especially responsive to me.

Description of Work
install new cedar fence

Category fencing

Cost $10,600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/05/2021

Service Provider Response

We greatly appreciate your business and your kind feedback. Thank you.
5.0

11/06/2020


John G.

Texas Best Stain stepped in the finished another company’s work. They did an excellent job and I am happy with the whole process. Lots of compliments already from neighbors!

Description of Work
8ft Board on Board Fence

Category fencing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/06/2020

Images

Review for Texas Backyard Living - 6913 K Ave, Plano, TX - 39007723

+2 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you!
1.0

07/20/2020


Shonte B.

The inspector that did the estimate came back with the crew and told them to use a manual post whole digger to prevent drain damage. When he left they used a high powered digger and they destroyed the drain system shared with both neighbors causing major flooding in my yard. They sent a fence builder to diagnose the damage to the drain, he had no clue. Company said it worked fine and not anything they did. I explained the manager fence guy didn’t know what he was even looking at. They said “ If you read the contract, we aren’t responsible for damages caused when fence is put in” This spring we had the most rain and my yard stayed flooded. The company refused to return my calls and calls from the drain company I hired to repair the drain problem. They began to demand payment as I told them money has to go toward repairs. The estimate for repairs was $12, 000 and the 2 sides fences were $5000. I run a business in my backyard so I lost money that I’d usually make in the spring and summer. The office manager and the owner are sent email saying they lost contact with me and applying late fees for the fence and going to put a lean on my home if I don’t pay. The owner insisted on calling me by my first name as if am less of a person to him. I asked that he address me properly that he doesn’t have my permission to call me by my first name. Each email he sent he started with my first name. This is a racist bias tactic along with all the disrespect and yelling from the office manager Ruth because I reported to her the damage. If anyone should of been upset it should of been me the customer. After drain repairs my job laid my off due to pandemic and this company is still harassing me via email from the owner, threatening a lean on my home and piling on huge late fees. Be careful with this company. The representatives they send and the fence crew were pleasant but the office manager Ruth and owner Rocky are vicious pit bulls.

Description of Work
Two side fences

Category awnings, fencing, woodworking, driveway gates

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 05/12/2020

Images

Review for Texas Backyard Living - 6913 K Ave, Plano, TX - 38731729

+4 More

Service Provider Response

We built this customer a beautiful new fence with no issues. This customer refuses to show us proof that we are responsible for any drainage damage in her yard despite us asking and offering to pay for any damage we caused. We have asked many times. She has not paid her bill and has been very rude and will not cooperate. We are simply trying to collect our balance that is due for the work we completed. You balance is over 90 days past due for work we completed per our contract. You are not incurring huge late fees. There is a one time late fee that I offered to waive.
1.0

07/03/2020


Rebecca S.

We hired Texas Backyard Living to replace part of our backyard fence. It is a big, expensive job, over 200 feet of fence. When the owner made his sales pitch to us he told us that Texas Backyard Living is BBB Certified, that they are on the Good Contractors List, and that they’ve been in the fence business for over 10 years in North Texas. He told us this in response to us asking about references and reviews for the company. He related that they basically have impeccable credentials, and that if we were to go with them "everything would go smoothly". That has not been the case. The owner said specifically that Texas Backyard Living would take care of all "call before you dig" Texas811 and that any necessary permits from the city would be pulled. Code concerns came up during this sales pitch when we specifically talked about the distance of the current gate versus the distance of the new gate in relation to the alleyway. He assured us that if they needed to move the gate in further away from the alleyway edge and towards our home that they would, and all local codes would be followed. So we hired them. Three days into the project, our doorbell rings, and it’s a city inspector asking to see the permit for this project. We call Texas Backyard Living and find out they never pulled the permit. Our project immediately comes to a halt. No explanation is given to us as to why this step was skipped. Now we're worried that perhaps no City of Dallas building codes were followed at all. The fact that Texas Backyard Living did not apply for, submit plans and get approval for a permit from the City of Dallas prior to the start of construction worries us about the company's business ethics. If this was simply a miss, a mistake, or somebody forgetting to do something then we can understand that. However, if Texas Backyard Living intentionally did not pull a permit prior to the start of construction then that is tantamount to illegal activity by actively attempting to defraud the City of Dallas. To be clear……we're not accusing Texas Backyard Living of intentionally working without a permit. What I'm saying is that this all looks very bad from any perspective, and does not speak well to the professionalism of the management staff at Texas Backyard Living. Neither does the lack of communication regarding this matter since everything came to a halt. We did get some communication however. That was to inform us we would now owe an additional $300 (on top of the tens of thousands we’re already paying) for them to get the permit. No apology, no explanation. Just a terse email saying they’re going to charge us $300 extra. Our project has been delayed due to this company's negligence. Additionally, our neighbor is upset with us due to their workers' negligence in destroying part of the neighbor’s fence. It took 4 days for this to be repaired. The neighbor’s dog got loose. What if it had attacked somebody? And finally, we....as Texas Backyard Living's customers....are upset with the way that this has unfolded. Pulling a permit is not a homeowner requirement. The contractor, Texas Backyard Living, is responsible for pulling the permit as the working party. This is actually a very basic requirement at most state levels. There is no excuse for this not having been done. It's sloppy at best and illegal at worst. Finally, we are very unhappy with the lack of communication from Texas Backyard Living. They have been slow to respond to our phone calls and emails, and they have never proactively reached out to us with any updates or information since the problems started. So, if you’re lucky enough to not have a single hiccup in your project, you may have a good experience with these guys. But in our experience, at the first little bump in the road, we simply became an annoyance to them and they are obviously avoiding “dealing with” the situation and communicating with us.

Description of Work
Replaced most of our backyard fence

Category driveway gates

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 07/03/2020

Service Provider Response

I am the owner and I have never talked to you. This project was going without a hitch until the city randomly stopped by. There was not talk of permit with you prior to us starting. Permit has been pulled now and we are waiting on the city as we would have in the first place had we pulled a permit. We look forward to completing this project for you.
5.0

05/19/2020


Richard B.

Great company!!! Excellent work, always on time, super professionals, and clean. Their work was exactly what I was expecting, I definitely recommend them.

Description of Work
Fence and gate.

Category awnings, fencing, driveway gates

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/19/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you!
5.0

03/02/2020


Brandon W.

They did a great job! This is not the first time they've stained my fence and they consistently do good work at a reasonable price. It has helped my fence stay in good shape for a lot of years.

Description of Work
Some basic fence repairs and then the whole fence stained again

Category fencing

Cost $776

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/25/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you.
5.0

02/27/2020


Jill S.

We had a patio extension with pergola and kitchen done and it is absolutely beautiful! Rocky and his team were so great and took care of everything. Each of the team members were very respectful and took great care to make sure our high standards were met. I would definitely recommend Texas Backyard Living for your outdoor living needs!

Description of Work
Patio extension with pergola and kitchen

Category decks, fencing, stamped concrete, patios, outdoor kitchens

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/27/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you!
1.0

02/04/2020


STEVEN H.

Terrible. We are uploading the contract, all email and text communication (both directions), photos, and emails to and from entities associated with the Texas811 notification/utility location process to our server. We are willing to email a link to the uploaded files to individuals attempting to find a fence company in the DFW area. ***UPDATE*** The company says there was a small hiccup at the beginning of the project that was resolved immediately. This is absolutely false and the documentation prooves it. The contractor has now refused to complete the project in accordance with its own specifications and wil not provide the documentation showing it utilized the materials in its specifications.

Description of Work
Fencing installed in accordance with company's specifications

Category fencing

Cost $25,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 02/04/2020

Service Provider Response

This fence is beautiful! This customer tried to tell us, and the city how to do our jobs from day one and will not pay their bill. The city inspector approved the fence and our contractual obligations have been met and exceeded. I advise no one to work with [Member Name Removed] or Andrea [Member Name Removed] in Richardson, TX.
1.0

01/31/2020


JENNIFER R.

I scheduled an appointment to get a quote and no one showed up. When I called to see where they were I was told they decided it was to far for them to drive to my house. They could have called since I spent my lunch hour waiting on them for nothing.

Description of Work
New Fence around entire yard.

Category fencing

Work Completed On 01/31/2020

Service Provider Response

We apologize for the oversight. You are not in our service area.
5.0

12/05/2019


Kelly K.

Two thumbs up (four if you include my wife's).

Description of Work
Fence re-staining

Category fencing, pressure washing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/05/2019

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your feedback. Thank you.
5.0

10/23/2019


Konrad Z.

Excellent - professional, fast, convenient. I will hire them for bigger projects - dependable and great work quality.

Description of Work
Fence maintenance with major repairs of the gates.

Category fencing

Cost $250

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/15/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you!
5.0

08/05/2019


Sam M.

From the start my rep Alex from Texas Backyard Living, was very cordial and patient with me as I was trying to figure out which options we were going to go with without breaking the bank. After obtaining several bids from different companies I settled on them since they seem interested in making this work for me, accommodating changes and updating the bid in a timely manner. Other companies although they came in lower in price, when I requested they include the grade of the wood and posts in the contract they either became less responsive or wanted to change the price (typical bait and switch). Once we signed the contract, they scheduled me immediately within a few days, which was awesome. The crew came in and demoled the old fence in relatively no time. Next you know they had the posts set and off they went. The next they day the crew came back and had the new 7 Foot fence built, amazingly fast. The Forman "Jose", is a master builder and was able to modify the Electric gate rollers to meet the new height as easily as nailing a picket, while other companies made a big deal out of it. When the work was completed the new Cedar fence looked beautiful and sturdy. As the boards dried out in the 100 degree heat, a few picket spilt. Upon calling Alex, he had the crew scheduled within a week to come back and replace the few board. So Overall Great company, Great Sales Guy, and Great crew. Plus we tried the post installation warranty and they made good on it without any effort! Thanks guys for super job well done!

Description of Work
Replaced my existing old 8ft builder grade fence

Category fencing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/05/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your business and feedback.
5.0

07/22/2019


Rod E.

Texas Best Stain did an amazing job from start to finish. They were professional all the way through the process with no pressure. Very easy to work with and a fantastic produce in the end. I would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
New fence.

Category fencing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/22/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you!
1.0

06/22/2019


Danny H.

No one showed up on schedule day and time. Called the company who said Kyle will be there. Nothing.

Description of Work
Stain fence

Category fencing

Work Completed On 06/30/2019