Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Custom Garage Works

Founded 2003 • With Angi since August 2010

4.9

(200) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1710 cowtown

Lewisville, TX 75057

Description

Custom Garage Works is the Dallas Garage Floor Coating, Epoxy Coating, Garage Paint and Garage Storage Solution Pros! It is our goal to transform your garage from the ordinary to the extraordinary. From our premium garage floor coating/epoxy systems, garage cabinets, garage wall organizers and car lifts/vehicle storage, we are ready to tackle your biggest projects. Angie's List members get up to $200 off their project depending on size....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

06/25/2021

Absolutely amazing! Best price, best workers, meticulous, and perfectly done. They are coming back for more patio work in a month! That should say it all!

Description of Work
Three Car Garage Expoxy Flooring

Category epoxy flooring

5.0

11/08/2017


Scott C.

The finished product is beautiful. I have had a few spills from our cars that dried up before I noticed them and they washed off easily with the hose. The floor is shiny but not slippery.

Description of Work
We had the multi-layer coating (Polyaspartic) installed in the garage. When they first arrived they noticed that we had recently had a concrete layer installed to eliminate the step-up. Because the new concrete was not yet a month old they had to reschedule. There was no charge for the extra trip and they were very polite about the change in their schedule. When they came back in a month, the work was done in one day and we were able to park in the garage the next day.

Category flooring contractor, epoxy flooring

5.0

08/30/2017


Mitch O.

Very timely, showed up on time and finished in one day. Great job!

Description of Work
They did an outstanding job installing my new garage floor coating. Had one call back and they did the repair promptly.

Category epoxy flooring

5.0

05/19/2017


Will F.

Outstanding job on our floors. All done in one day, and everyone who sees it thinks it fantastic!

Description of Work
Garage Floor Finish

Category epoxy flooring

5.0

04/26/2017


Timothy R M.

It went wonderfully. Top-notch service and a VERY professional-looking floor.

Description of Work
Epoxy on garage floor

Category epoxy flooring

5.0

03/28/2017


Ron B.

These guys are professional, courteous, and meticulous in their work. They didn’t mind my questions or my watching to see how it was done. They prepared our garage floor by grinding all the old epoxy off, removing lime that had risen through the floor, and correcting and patching all blemishes. This is very messy work, and they made every effort (“Successfully,” my wife says) to keep the mess in the garage, constantly cleaning up after themselves. They even taped the multiple doors leading from the garage to the house, in order to keep the dust from finding its way inside the house. At our request they applied the coating to the baseboards as well as the garage floor, which makes it look larger and cleaner. They even hand painted the extremely tight space behind a tornado shelter in the garage that could have been problematic, but instead looks as professional as the rest of the garage floor. The job took two days (I moved stuff back in on third day), went smoothly and according to plan, and when they finished the garage was move-in ready and awesome. I am very pleased with the outcome.

Description of Work
Remove old epoxy floor and refinish with a new coating

Category flooring contractor, epoxy flooring

5.0

03/28/2017


Ron B.

These guys are professional, on time, courteous, and meticulous in their work. They didn’t mind my questions or my watching to see how it was done. They prepared our garage floor by grinding all the old epoxy off, removing lime that had risen through the floor, and correcting and patching all blemishes. This is very messy work, and they made every effort (“Successfully,” my wife says) to keep the mess in the garage, constantly cleaning up after themselves. They even taped the multiple doors leading from the garage to the house, in order to keep the dust from finding its way inside the house. At our request they applied the coating to the baseboards as well as the garage floor, which makes it look larger and cleaner. They even hand painted the extremely tight space behind a tornado shelter in the garage that could have been problematic, but instead looks as professional as the rest of the garage floor. The job took two days (I moved stuff back in on third day), went smoothly and according to plan, and when they finished the garage was move-in ready and awesome. I am very pleased with the outcome.

Description of Work
Remove old garage epoxy floor and refinish with new coating

Category flooring contractor, epoxy flooring

5.0

03/04/2017


Sarah G.

Very well, just as promised. Would use them again!

Description of Work
They provided garage coating services.

Category epoxy flooring

5.0

11/18/2016


Paul W.

Everything went extremely well very professional and did a good job of cleaning up after the job

Description of Work
The garage floor was done and they installed 2 over garage door storage racks

Category epoxy flooring

5.0

08/10/2016


Chris K.

The CGW crew showed up promptly at 8:45 AM and got to work. Started with grinding the floor which took about an hour or two. They then began masking and applying the coating. The entire process was completed around 5 PM. All mess/waste/trash was cleaned up flawlessly. Garage was ready for walking on the next day. The end result is absolutely BEAUTIFUL (and durable) and I have received numerous compliments by everyone who sees it. A painting contractor came by to do an estimate on interior painting and was very impressed with the quality of the floor, since he mentioned they also do epoxy floors. The process from quoting to final invoice was pain free. JD and CGW are one of the best service provider/contractors I have ever dealt with.

Description of Work
Diamond ground the garage floor and filled/fixed and imperfections. Then applied 3 coat polyaspartic floor coating system with full flake broadcast.

Category epoxy flooring

5.0

07/28/2016


Craig R.

Talked to several places about getting my garage floor epoxied. Went with Garage Works for several reasons: warranty, quality, length of time in business and the overall confidence they instilled in me that they could deliver what I wanted. I am more than happy with the end result. They did exactly what they said they would do and more importantly, they did exactly what I asked them to do. My floor looks awesome (I did a custom color) and I've already had many compliments on it. It seems durable and visceral to keep clean. Beware of other (franchise) companies that SAY they have a "lifetime warranty" but when you read the fine print you discover it's really just a 3 year warranty! The guys at Garage Works have been in business for a long time and they do the work themselves. No rotating crews like the other companies. Would I recommend Garage Works to others, or use them again? Absolutely!!

Description of Work
Garage floor epoxy

Category epoxy flooring

1.0

07/20/2016


niki G.

Very rude, insulting customer service. . Threatened, and sent rude emails to stop the honest reviews.

Description of Work
Gave proposal, did measurements

Category remodeling, epoxy flooring, stamped concrete

Service Provider Response

Customer had a very limited understanding and grasp of the English language of you know what I mean. no matter how we explained the quote and the break down of the discount that was offered and spelled out on the quote, she could not understand it. tried three different times, and she still could not get it. when she could not get the additional discount that she thought she should get due to her limited basic math skills she got mad and said she would be leaving bad reviews... which she did and got her kids to do as well... very classy and honest. With over 250 reviews on Angie's list 99.9% of them"A" ratings we must be doing something right. we really try to take care of our customers... some folks though you just can't please no matter how much you try.
5.0

07/16/2016


Lucas M.

Awesome finish, I love my new garage floor. I'm a car guy and very picky about my garage. Hire them, you won't regret.

Description of Work
Garage Floor

Category epoxy flooring

5.0

07/16/2016


Lucas M.

Hire them. I'm into cars/tools/garage, I take pride on my garage, these guys do an amazing job. The communications with JD were great, to add, Daniel(his brother) and his crew completed the work in one day, and it's flawless. I strongly believe good business deserve good reviews, these guys are it.

Description of Work
Garage floor

Category epoxy flooring

5.0

06/30/2016


Amanda W.

JD & Daniel with Custom Garage Works were professional, reliable & honest. We had the epoxy installed on our garage floor, as well as 2 stainless steel cabinets installed. Very satisfied with the product & company! My garage looks amazing!! I highly recommend them! Thank you.

Description of Work
Installation of 2 stainless steel garage cabinets. Installation of epoxy to the garage floor.

Category custom cabinets, epoxy flooring

1.0

06/05/2016


Rebecca H.

Installation went as expected- prompt and finished on time. However, the floor sustained damage within a week of install when a small amount of brake cleaner got onto the floor and the coating immediately started to come up and discolor. We asked for them to come and look at it. The owner's brother, the Installer, came out and looked at it and we waited days and days to hear anything. When J D, the owner, finally got back with us, he said that brake cleaner was something that could damage the floor and there was nothing they could do about it. He was reminded that from the get-go, it had been emphasized that this is an AUTO REPAIR shop with all of the corresponding chemicals, fluids, day-to-day wear and tear; and from the get -go, he assured us that this coating would stand up to the demands. We asked for him to repair or remedy the situation. We didn't hear back for weeks until we emailed again and set a time limit for his response. We don't want to go to Small Claims Court- we want him to fix this and stand by his warranty. Or make us whole- grind it all off and refund us our money. He has refused and says that we are on our own at this point. We need help with this and the floor is continuing to degrade. According to their email and website: We use only high solids polyureas/polyasparticcoating materials for the finished product (no cheap epoxy) and the process only takes 1-1.5 day and your back on the floor the very next day. A We have spoken to other Flooring/Epoxy professionals they said that a polyaspartic should not be affected in any way by the chemicals as this has unless it was cheap DIY mix or if it was a good polyaspartic it wasn't installed with thick enough layers. We either need the floor coating ground off AND our money returned or for it to be ground off and redone with true polyaspartic coatings- no DIY stuff. I have no confidence in JD Justice and Custom Garage Works at this point but we are people of our word and I would hope that he would do the right thing and stand by his product and warranty.

Description of Work
We contracted with the provider to install a custom floor coating that was aesthetically pleasing and durable; impervious to the normal every day demands of a small auto repair facility. It was a brand new building with new concrete. We were assured that the coating would be impervious and it was reiterated multiple times both verbally and in email communication. From his website and email correspondence: Our installation include: . Installs/ work performed by the Company Owners/employees, no cheap labor or work subbed out. · Diamond grinding concrete floor prep.(No acids etching or water used in our prep process). . All small cracks and pits/voids in the floor surface will be patched up(included in price) · Heavy/full chip broadcast on 4-layer systems · Coating/colored flake applied on stem walls up to trim or drywall · All trim and baseboards are taped off. · One Day Install and you are walking on it 6-8 hours later and driving on it the next day . Chemical resistant to all chemicals in a car including brake fluid which is the most corrosive chemical in a car · Life Time Warranty from hot tire peel, delaminating or discoloring from UV. We contracted with the provider to install a custom floor coating that was aesthetically pleasing and durable; impervious to the normal every day demands of a small auto repair facility. It was a brand new building with new concrete. We were assured that the coating would be impervious and it was reiterated multiple times both verbally and in email communication. From his website and email correspondence: Our installation include: . Installs/ work performed by the Company Owners/employees, no cheap labor or work subbed out. · Diamond grinding concrete floor prep.(No acids etching or water used in our prep process). . All small cracks and pits/voids in the floor surface will be patched up(included in price) · Heavy/full chip broadcast on 4-layer systems · Coating/colored flake applied on stem walls up to trim or drywall · All trim and baseboards are taped off. · One Day Install and you are walking on it 6-8 hours later and driving on it the next day

Category flooring contractor

5.0

05/18/2016


Judy B.

It was an exceptional experience. They prepared our original concrete flooring by grinding, filling in cracks and correcting all blemishes in original floor. Next they applied their 4 layer CGW coating system with extra heavy flake as I requested. They constantly cleand as they worked and our garage floor is absolutely beautiful. The process is Polyaspartic Coating System. The job was complete in two days we moved stuff back in on third day. Wanted to make sure the flooring was totally dry!!!! JD and his entire crew were very professional, knowledgeable and polite. I would highly recommend them! Thank you JD & Daniel for a beautiful job done!!!!!

Description of Work
Garage Floor Coating

Category epoxy flooring

5.0

04/27/2016


Alvin B.

JD and his crew came out, and in the course of 2 days, totally transformed our garage floor into something amazing and beautiful. Crew were on-time, and explained each step of the process up front. I could not be more pleased with our garage floor. Would recommend 100% to family and friends.

Description of Work
Installed custom garage floor in our new home.

Category epoxy flooring

5.0

04/27/2016


AR J.

JD and Daniel were extremely professional. They were both on time for the initial appt, as well as the installation. Both were efficient and friendly. I am pleased with my garage floor and feel confident if there is a problem in the future, they will stand behind their word to take care of me. They are truly a small business and run 1 crew, rather than several so quality control is at a very high level. I believe they truly want to do a good job. It is important to them that the customer is happy with the work provided. I would hire them again.

Description of Work
Applied protective garage floor coating to 3 car garage

Category epoxy flooring

5.0

04/04/2016


Leonard M.

I had my Garage and my outdoor patio floors done by Custom Garage works and could not be happier with the results. JD gave me information over the phone, and we set up an appointment. He arrived on time as committed, and took me through the process, and showed me various samples. We scheduled the work, and his brother Daniel arrived, again on time to begin the project. The project took 2-days to complete, and the work was done by courteous professional people, and they cleaned up completely at the end of each day. My floors look fantastic, and I would highly recommend Custom Garage Works to anyone.

Description of Work
Finished the floor in my 2-car garage and my outdoor patio with Epoxy and colored flake.

Category epoxy flooring

5.0

03/28/2016


Roger P.

Wife and I closed on a house that needed a few things done. Garage floor was one of them. JD was very flexible and even was able to fit us in on the weekend to accommodate our disrupted schedule. When the day came for installation, JD?s brother, Daniel and his crew arrived early and began getting to work. We were very impressed that they came eager and ready to focus on our garage floor project, especially on a Saturday. The work was completed on time and the attention to detail was spot on. I even had a special request and they did not hesitate to fulfill my wishes. Daniel was helpful in explaining how the job would go and what to expect. Very Clear communication at the jobsite and with JD previous to completion of the project. Good work Custom Garage Works, have already recommended to a few neighbors!!! Roger and Liz P. ?Keller, TX

Description of Work
JD responded very promptly. Answered all my questions in detail. Helped to educate me on a project that I had limited knowledge about.

Category epoxy flooring

3.0

03/08/2016


Brandon C.

First off, I know as soon as I post this review, JD?s response is going to be ?hey, look at all the positive reviews I have and this 1 bad review is because this guy was impossible to work with, etc?? which is a typical response when so many people have good things to say about a company. On to the substance.... I went and did research on many garage flooring companies before finally settling on Custom Garage Works. JD?s price was not the cheapest but from pictures I saw, his quality was the best and that?s ultimately why I decided to go with JD. He came out to look at my game room floor that I wanted done. He was told and made aware that we would be using this in a game room with roller chairs and a few of my friends weigh 250+ pounds and that?s why I wanted a heavy duty floor. JD told me not to worry and that this was the toughest floor available, it could withstand battery acid, abuse, it would be as thick as a credit card, etc?? I bit hook, line & sinker. We agreed on a price, color scheme and scheduled a date. I was told the concrete prep work would not be messy but that couldn?t be further from the truth. There was dust EVERYWHERE and nothing was masked off. I had to have a deep clean done after the work was completed. Was that a deal breaker? Not really. I just wish I would?ve been told. After the job was completed, the floor looked amazing. JD?s brother, which is who did the actual install, did good. The quality was good and the floor only had several spots had to be touched up. I told JD to leave me some sealer and I could touch them up and I could touch them up in the future if something happened in the future. He left me a quart of the top coat as I didn?t want to inconvenience him with small things in the future. I was happy. JD said he would get us our warranty paper work soon and the final balance was paid. Also, he told us the warranty was a lifetime warranty but when it came time for me to get the warranty paper work (I still haven?t gotten them), he said the warranty only covers tire marks and yellowing from the sun which he knew didn?t apply to me because I cannot park a car in my game room. Again, this was a 180 degree turn around from what he told me in the beginning. Fast forward to March 2016. I have a 3?x 3? spot on the floor that is peeling up. The concrete is exposed and not coating or anything is covering the floor. JD was contacted to ask about warranty, fixing the floor, etc? JD said, ?that he could put a clear sealer over the spot and add flakes to match our floor?. I asked how this would match our floor when the color is ivory with flakes in it? He said he didn?t have any of the special color mixed and it would be too expensive to do that to fix the small part of the floor. REALLY? That?s the service a supposed ?top notch? company gives after taking your money? JD also claimed that the warranty was for car tires and airplane tires but a 250 pound person in a roller chair could cause more damage to the floor than the car or plane. Think about that for a minute. That?s laughable. If that was truly the case, why was I told this floor would be perfect for what I wanted to do in the beginning and he said it would hold up to anything? Maybe because he wanted my money and service after the sale means nothing? That sounds more like it. Also during the conversation, JD became irate, said I an a**hole and several other choice names during which I remained calm because I wanted my floor fixed. The conversation ended with JD hanging up and I?m left with a hole in my floor. If you want someone who will promise you the moon before the job starts, JD & Custom Garage Works are the guys you want. If you want someone who will not stand behind their product once they have your money, JD & Custom Garage Works is DEFINANTLY the company that you want to go with. Buyer beware. You have been warned. Brandon C.

Description of Work
Installed a custom floor in my game room.

Category flooring contractor, epoxy flooring

Service Provider Response

As with every situation in life, there is typically three sides to every story, perspective A, perspective B and the correct perspective. The topics referred to in this review were discussed, and things agreed upon before job ever began. The Member had been difficult to please after we had finished the job. He demanded, in multiple messages, to have proprietary business information. We declined such a request since we are not in the business to get others into the Decorative Concrete Flooring business. Without further he-said, she-said, Mr. Member was not satisfied with our solution to fix/repair his damaged floor. Now it is none of the contractors business to know what a consumer does with their project or garage, but had we known that this was going to be an underground, illegal poker room with up to 50 plus folks at a time, we would have abstained from taking the job. Furthermore, registered sexual offenders, (see web address below, its public record), operating an illegal gambling house are not our target market. [hyperlink removed] (This is all public record) While the member felt it sufficient to personally attack our character, we pride ourselves on offering a quality product for the good folks of the Dallas/ Fort Worth metroplex. Some folks we come across evidentially have little moral fiber and are seldom completely satisfied. Take it for what it is worth. Guess the old adage that you can't please all of the people all of the time is true. With over 6 years with Angie's List and having over 250 reviews over the years I guess we will have a few we just can't please no matter what we do. Had we know what type of person the member was and what the area was going to be used for we would have never even quoted let alone taken on the project.
5.0

03/02/2016


Pete C.

Custom Garage Works delivered as promised! The installation team were professional and very courteous! Best of all the garage is amazing...best floor I ever had in a garage! the neighbors and friends are very envious!

Description of Work
Epoxied the garage floor

Category epoxy flooring

5.0

02/15/2016


Robert M.

The quality of the job is superb. I could not be happier with the final product.

Description of Work
Painted and coated garage floor

Category epoxy flooring

5.0

02/03/2016


Christina P.

JD was prompt in correspondence and very helpful with recommendations and advice. The crew was fantastic about explaining what they were doing, and giving us updates as they worked. The work was done quickly, cleanly, and looks absolutely amazing. I would HIGHLY recommend Custom Garage Works. We are absolutely blown away with the product and service they provided!

Description of Work
Floors epoxy and sealed, 3 car garage.

Category epoxy flooring

    Other local Pros in your area

    sevillaspainting

    in Sevilla's painting we do more than just painting we do remodeling, power-wash ,demolition ,fence making, toilet repairs, deck makers, drywall installation, door installation, my focus is to connect with my client and do a good job so that they can be happy  

    24/7 Tree Services

    Our mission is to be a provider that brings back the personal touch with our customers. We will build a relationship that will last a lifetime after you see our quality work.As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. Call or message us to schedule an estimate today!  

    ENCORE PAINTING LLC

    FAMILY OWNER-OPERATED. WE ARE A RESIDENTIAL ONLY PAINTING COMPANY LOCALLY OWNED IN COLLIN COUNTY. WE OFFER A PROFESSIONAL PAINTING SERVICE AT A FAIR PRICE. OUR MOTTO IS "TREAT EVERYONE THE WAY YOU WANT TO BE TREATED" PLEASE CALL US FOR YOUR FREE PROFESSIONAL ESTIMATE TODAY.  

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, Discover, Check, Visa, American Express
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Epoxy, Epoxy Coating, Epoxy Floors, Decorative Concrete, Garage floor coatings, Concrete coatings, Garage cabinets, Garage, Overhead Storage, Car & 4-Post Lifts, Garage Finish out, Garage Painting, Garage Door Insulating to cool garage, Garage signage & deco, Garage Pinball Machines, Garage Custom design, Slat Wall systems & wall organization, Garage cooling Custom Work Benches, Garage trim Total garage customization

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Custom Garage Works

    How is Custom Garage Works overall rated?

    Custom Garage Works is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Custom Garage Works open?

    Custom Garage Works is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM

    What payment options does Custom Garage Works provide

    Custom Garage Works accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, Discover, Check, Visa, American Express

    Does Custom Garage Works offer free estimates?

    Yes, Custom Garage Works offers free project estimates.

    Does Custom Garage Works offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Custom Garage Works offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Custom Garage Works offer a senior discount?

    No, Custom Garage Works does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Custom Garage Works?

    Yes, Custom Garage Works offers warranties.

    What services does Custom Garage Works offer?

    Custom Garage Works offers the following services: Epoxy, Epoxy Coating, Epoxy Floors, Decorative Concrete, Garage floor coatings, Concrete coatings, Garage cabinets, Garage, Overhead Storage, Car & 4-Post Lifts, Garage Finish out, Garage Painting, Garage Door Insulating to cool garage, Garage signage & deco, Garage Pinball Machines, Garage Custom design, Slat Wall systems & wall organization, Garage cooling Custom Work Benches, Garage trim Total garage customization