Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Lords Chimney

Founded 2003 • With Angi since October 2005

4.7

(170) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

9539 Town Park Dr

Houston, TX 77036

Description

For the last decade, the CSIA (Chimney Safety Institute of America) and CDET (Certified Dryer Exhaust Technician) certified technicians at Lords Chimney have been providing quality chimney, fireplace and dryer vent care to the residents of the greater Houston area. As members of the National Chimney Sweep Guild (NCSG), we pride ourselves on always keeping up with the latest industry information, techniques, products, equipment and codes. Whether you’re in the market for a new chimney cap, or you’re looking to give your entire fireplace a facelift, Lords Chimney can help. Our technicians are trained and experienced in all aspects of chimney, fireplace and dryer vent care, and are dedicated to providing the highest level of customer service possible. We’re confident that we can help you with your hearth-related problem, whatever it may be....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/27/2020


Gerald K.

Exceptional and professional work by Certified Chimney experts. Marlon took time to explain in detail what was needed and provided detailed pictures and write-up for inspection. They are on my list for inspection next year. Marlon is a true professional and easy to work with. Highly Recommend Lords Chimney!

Description of Work
Repair Chimney Firebox, sweep, and inspection

Category chimney sweep,chimney repair,fireplaces

5.0

06/13/2017


Connie M.

Very well. The team called ahead, was right on time, performed all the needed work and even noted some flashing on the roof at the chimney which needed to be repaired. The team noted that the roof appeared relatively new and was likely under warranty rather than them charging me to repair it and the roofer not accepting it if a claim were ever made. They even provided a photo to give the roofer's repair team. Great customer service!

Description of Work
Lord's Chimney provided quite a bit of repair to my home's old and very wear-worn chimney last year. I scheduled them to inspect it and perform any needed work on it as a follow-up. I have placed this activity on my annual calendar to prevent rather than correct problems.

Category chimney sweep,chimney caps,chimney repair,fireplaces

5.0

02/13/2017


Sharon K.

fine....it took the guy about 45 min to clean and make sure everything was working right.

Description of Work
chimney sweep

Category chimney sweep

1.0

01/23/2017


Craig R.

Receptionist says the next free estimate would be in 7 days unless I wanted to pay $100 for next day emergency service. After negotiating, I agreed to pay the $100 for next day but after checking they couldn't come out for 3 days.

Description of Work
Water leak in a wood frame chimney. Chimney cap looks like it needs to be replaced.

Category chimney caps,chimney repair

5.0

11/26/2016


Kathleen P.

They were prompt, efficient and excellent work.

Description of Work
They came in to sweep my chimney and repair some leaks prior to usage.

Category chimney sweep,chimney repair,fireplaces,gas logs

5.0

11/17/2016


Sarah M.

Called and spoke to Llynn. He was absolutely wonderful. Took the time to explain all available options, and thoroughly answered all questions. We ultimately didn't use Lords as we were able to find a retailer with a lesser price (carried the item in stock vs. having to ship in), but I would highly recommend Llynn and his team for exceptional customer service.

Description of Work
Called to price out the cost of a glass fireplace door,

Category fireplaces

1.0

10/10/2016


Terri B.

No response to request for an estimate.

Description of Work
Rebuild chimney after lightning strike.

Category chimney sweep,chimney repair

Service Provider Response

We apologize. Our phones are answered Monday though Friday 8-5. If some how we missed you, please call back so we can get you an estimate.
1.0

09/12/2016


Seth M.

Just mislead in my opinion. And still have a dirty floored and filthy walled firebox. Recently moved into a house where it appeared the firebox had not been cleaned in quite some time (dusty gas logs, dirt/sand throughout, spider webs, dead bugs, walls could use brushing, etc). We hired Lords to provide their Chimney Cleaning/Inspection Service per their website which included the use of a "series of rotating brushes, to clean every component of your chimney—the FIREBOX, smoke chamber..." and with the inspection "if needed, a sweep of the FIREBOX, damper...". The technician came out and inspected up the chimney with a camera for about 20 minutes and then proceeded to tell us that the chimney was clean but that we'd need to pay $5,095 in other services in order to ensure the system operated properly (heat shield due to holes in flue, install stainless cap). I appreciated the safety disclosures his opinion provided, HOWEVER, he then left and failed to even clean the firebox, claiming the dirt/sand was of value to the workings of the gas logs. And I guess using that "series of rotating brushes, to clean every component of your chimney" didn't include the firebox walls. I called Lords and expressed my displeasure with paying $140 for the 20 minute inspection while not getting anything cleaned, especially the firebox which was my primary concern and the reason I placed the order in the first place. He proceeded to tell me that I was probably requiring a gas log tune-up (not a service listed on his website, but one they offer for $300). Perhaps, if I had seen a gas log tuneup on their website, I would have requested that service instead, but by the sound of it, that probably wouldn't have included the "series of rotating brushes, to clean every component of your chimney—the FIREBOX...", as my cleaning supposedly should have provided, but did not. Be clear with what you want from this company. I won't make the same $140 mistake again.

Description of Work
Chimney Cleaning

Category chimney sweep,chimney repair,fireplaces,gas logs

3.0

08/22/2016


Shelly A.

While Lord's seems to do a fine job with dryer vent cleaning when they do come out, it is very difficult to actually get them to come out. Appointments are typically scheduled 3+ weeks out. Not a really big deal if you're just doing maintenance, but certainly frustrating if you're having issues. In my case, I had them clean my dryer vent and replace the roof cap earlier in the summer. Since then, I've continually had pools of water in my dryer. The dryer is brand new and was working fine upon installation, so it's not the dryer. I don't know what the problem is but it sure is frustrating that it's so hard to get them to come back out and check their work.

Description of Work
Dryer vent cleaning and cap replacement

Category dryer vent cleaning

2.0

06/30/2016


Shawn R.

Work went fine. A bit expensive but I was told they had a 10year warranty. Ok good. Until a year later when they call to say they are coming to inspect and when I ask what they mean they say in order to keep the 10 year warranty valid I have to pay $140 for an inspection every year. So apparently the warranty costs $1400. They failed to explain that. This chimney doesn't even get used, just wanted it to stop leaking. So if I don't pay $140 a year for them to drive by, glance at the chimney and leave, then the warranty is not valid. That is not right to me. It seems they just want to drain you of your money.

Description of Work
Pressure washed, touched up mortar, replaced chase top, and sealed brick.

Category chimney repair

Service Provider Response

The products we use require proper maintenance of the fireplace in order to keep their warranties current. Yearly inspections/cleanings is similar to changing your oil on you car. It is proper maintenance.
4.0

05/02/2016


Christina R.

My gas fireplace quit working. The pilot went out and I couldn't get it lit. Lords Chimney had initially helped me get it working several years before when I first bought the house, but this time, their technician couldn't figure out what model of gas logs I had, and so he said he couldn't figure out what part to order. He didn't really know which part (thermopile, valve, switch, etc) was failing. He spent quite a bit of time going with me to a neighbor's house and looking at their identical fireplace and literature, but ultimately, he said he couldn't do anything. Later, I hired another company to come try to fix it, and their guy found the model tag in about 5 seconds. He disassembled and tested the whole thing, found out the valve was bad, went and got a replacement, and now it's working great. Because of this, I called Lords Chimney and asked for my trip charge money back. Lee agreed to refund me. Even though their worker made a mistake, I give this company credit for responding to my complaint and being nice enough to refund my money five months after the fact. I still recommend them because of this and the fact that they are generally very helpful, punctual, and take the time to try to make it right.

Description of Work
I hired them to fix my non-working gas fireplace, but they couldn't figure it out. They charged me a trip fee, but when I hired another company to do the repair, I complained and got my money back.

Category fireplaces

5.0

05/02/2016


Christina R.

Their guys were friendly and professional, showed up on time, worked quickly, and did a good job. They inspected the ducts in the attic and measured length/angles to determine if I needed some sort of fan to boost the dryer vent, but luckily I didn't need it. They seemed quite knowledgeable and helpful.

Description of Work
Cleaned all the ducts and registers in 3100+ sqft house.

Category air duct cleaning

2.0

11/20/2015


Andy P.

Lords came to give me a bid to repair a minor chimney leak. They were on time. The bid was broken down as follows: 1) $880 - pressure wash outside of chimney and tuck-point some missing mortar 2) $450 - refloat mortar on top of chimney 3) $1,100 - install new flashing around chimney 4) $550 - waterproofing 5) $550 - new chimney cap Total: $3,530. Absolutely outrageous. The roof (and flashing) is less than a year old. The entire new roof cost $9,500. To attempt to charge $1,100 (1/9 of total roof cost) to replace the flashing is absolute craziness. Not to mention the fact that I had the roofer come back to re-inspect it (said it was fine) and got two additional bids from other chimney companies (Barons and Guardian) who also both said the flashing was perfect. This company is clearly trying to take advantage. $880 to pressure wash and do some minor tuck pointing? Ridiculous. $550 just for the cap? No way. They didn't even bother to look in the firebox. The other two companies did, and found some issues there that needed repair. However, the total bids to repair everything listed above (except flashing because that was not necessary) AND make the firebox repairs were between $750 and $900. Less than one third of what Lord's wanted to charge. I called their office to ask if they were serious with these prices. The lady I spoke to said they were and that these were the 'minimums' they could charge. That is unbelievable. I was shocked by this estimate and would be very suspicious of any estimates from this company.

Description of Work
No work was done. The bid was ridiculously high - a total ripoff.

Category roofing,chimney caps,chimney repair,pressure washing,fireplaces

5.0

10/27/2015


Wrandall W.

Fantastic!!!!! The crew of two called ahead, arrived on time & have been very informative, friendly & efficient.!!!!!!

Description of Work
Repaired inside firebox & rooftop chimney with new flashing

Category roofing,chimney repair,fireplaces

5.0

08/17/2015


peter K.

Billy came over and did a first rate inspection and cleaned my fireplace and chimney. Great service, fair prices, timely and friendly. This is the second time I've used this service.

Description of Work
inspected and cleaned chimney

Category chimney sweep,chimney repair,fireplaces

5.0

07/28/2015


Lauren B.

Thanks to the guidance of Lords, we were able to do the installation ourselves. It went well, and I am thankful to have saved time and money! It's so nice to find a company that is focused on truly serving the best interests of the customer, even if it means passing on a job opportunity. Whenever we need chimney work in the future, we will definitely use Lords Chimney. Their honest approach and great help have locked me in as a customer!

Description of Work
I was looking for someone to install a damper clamp in my chimney, and contacted a few area companies. Lords Chimney responded very quickly and, while they could have sent someone to do the installation, the gentleman I spoke to on the phone explained that it was a simple task that would not require a professional. He described the exact part I needed (about $1 at Home Depot), and walked me through the installation process.

Category chimney repair

5.0

02/23/2015


Virginia M.

Of all the service people who have worked on this house since I bought it 2.5 years ago (and that's a LOT), Lords and the people who moved me are the only ones who provided service that was far beyond my expectations. Lords is just in a class of their own. I'm told that they are pricey (I didn't comparison shop because they were so highly recommended, so I'm not sure, but the original repairs they did were not cheap), but just as for the movers that I mentioned, there is a reason that you pay for quality : in the case of Lords, it's service people who do continuing education and therefore are aware of the latest technology and who have the highest standards when working in your home. When they did the original repairs, they had to redo all the mortar inside the chimney and I also had them place a little "hat" damper on top of the chimney. As my house is a 1939 bungalow, the chimney came without any damper/flue, so I was glad that they suggested that solution and I have been very happy with it. They work with a scanner that provides an image on a computer screen, and they shared all the images with me and showed me exactly what they were doing. One thing that really sets them apart is the information that they provide. I think the word professional is very overused today, but the person from Lords who has come to my house both times qualifies in the true sense of the word. He can tell you everything that you need to know (and more, if you are interested), and he makes certain that you have all the information that you need before he leaves. This includes how to build fires (not nearly so basic as I thought), not just in general but with specifics that will help you use your individual chimney/firebox to get the best draft, what conditions can cause problems (very long list, some of which I never would have guessed), and different solutions if you find yourself in the middle of a problem. It goes without saying that they take impeccable care that the inside of the house is completely protected so that everything is as clean when they leave as it was when they arrived.

Description of Work
Today the provider did a check on my chimney (wood-burning fireplace) and also provided me with product to remove soot stains from an incident where I had some smoke coming into the house from a fire I had built. Lords also did the repair of my chimney when I bought the house, so that it was safe for fires, which it definitely was not when I took ownership, according to the inspector and also Lords. This work was quite a bit more expensive than the service call today.

Category chimney repair,fireplaces

5.0

02/13/2015


Jaime A.

It went well. They got here on time. They took their tools out to see inside my chimney. They were very nice. They took the time to explain things to me.

Description of Work
They did avery good inspection of my chimney.

Category chimney repair

1.0

12/30/2014


Rick A.

I had an occasional drip in my fireplace when it rained. Initially, I contacted a roofing company to inspect and they said it was a chimney issue. After research online and AL, I called Lord's Chimney. They came to do an inspection/estimate (I was charged an additional fee for them to bring a 40' ladder, yet they lacked a smaller ladder to reach the top of the chimney from the rooftop). Their estimate was a list of several items (waterproofing brick, mortar repair, chase top replacement, flashing repair) that they suspected might be causing the drip, summing to approx. $10,000. They explained that none of their work would be warranted unless I agreed for them to do all the items on their list. Hmm. I decided to have them seal the flashing, which cost $1600 and now the leak is much worse than before (it went from an occasional drip in the fireplace to water penetrating and staining walls and ceiling). All this after three visits over the course of four weeks. I did additional research online and saw where some chimney companies perform a water leak detection test to pinpoint the source(s) of the leak. This sounded like a much more logical approach, yet Lord's had never offered me this option. I feel that a firm of this reputation and years of service should be more methodical in their approach to the problem and not insist that all of the items on their list be executed or nothing is warranted. I find it hard to believe that all items on their list were the cause of my occasional drip. This is unprofessional, in my opinion and not what I expected from Lord's. At no point did I feel they were confident in their approach or the work they were performing or in the advice they provided. I would not recommend them.

Description of Work
Inspected chimney for a leak and provided a list of items to repair as well as the estimated cost.

Category chimney repair

Service Provider Response

(member name) Although we have had several conversations with you regarding this issue and the many discrepancies between your account of the services, events, and estimates and our documented information, some confusion seems to remain. We pride ourselves in our work and our customer service and it pains us to have any customer walk away unhappy. Although you have rejected our attempts to satisfy your concerns and have chosen to instead “trash us online” (as you promised you would do in our last conversation) we still would like the opportunity to continue this discussion and attempt to help you correct this issue. Please give me a call at the business number (281-497-4000) and ask for Lee. I am the business owner and would like to address this personally. It is unfortunate that a misunderstanding still remains and I would appreciate the opportunity to continue to work towards a solution. Sincerely, Lee Roff
5.0

12/30/2014


Marty D.

Good. They ran a camera up the chimney and identified some cracks that need to be addressed at some point. Our major concern was seeing if squirrels had taken up residence in the chimney and taking steps to evicting them if they had. Fortunately there was no evidence of a nest, so we just had them order and install a chimney cap. This was the first time we ever used a chimney company (I'm not even sure why we have fireplaces in Houston!) but will definely use them again in the future as the need arises.

Description of Work
Inspected the chimney and installed a flue cap to prevent animals from entering the chimney.

Category chimney caps,chimney repair,fireplaces,animal removal

2.0

12/19/2014


yocheved D.

They took one look and told me the fireplace needed to be replaced. They then proceeded to charge me $90 for that bit of information and a bid of $6000 to replace it. I felt that $90 was excessive, considering I'd been quoted $130 to clean the chimney and no services had actually been rendered. I was assured I could apply the $90 to the cost of replacing the chimney, but I have no intention of replacing the chimney at that price. When they were gone, I couldn't quite understand why I'd paid $90 for them to not clean my chimney...

Description of Work
I had them come out to clean my chimney and just make sure the fireplace was safe to use.

Category chimney repair

Service Provider Response

I am sorry that there was some confusion about the services we provided during our scheduled cleaning and inspection. When we came out to service your fireplace, a problem was immediately found that made the fireplace a possible hazard and rendered the rest of our services un-necessary. Instead of continuing with the scheduled service and charging you full price, a minimum rate for our time and travel was offered. This fee would be deducted from any of the necessary repairs that would make your fireplace usable. Again, I apologize that this was not communicated clearly. We would love the opportunity to discuss this with you further. Please call my office at 281-497-4000 at your convenience and ask for Lee. I am the business owner and will handle this personally.
5.0

09/09/2014


LEE ANN B.

I had a great experience with Lords. A different company (with good reviews here on AL) came to clean my dryer vent and told me that the vent went nowhere and the lint must be just accumulating in my wall. I had had the vent cleaned before, so this came as a great surprise to me. Lords came out to investigate the problem. Lee found the venting to be intact, cleaned it for me that day, and now my dryer works again. Lee, himself, was very nice and worked hard to get my washer and dryer back where they belong (in a very small space) after the vent cleaning. I will use Lords' services again.

Description of Work
Lords cleaned my (very long) dryer venting.

Category chimney repair,dryer vent cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thanks for taking the time to give us this great review. We enjoyed serving you and if that dryer vent acts up again, call us!
5.0

06/04/2014


LAURIE B.

All employees very polite and professional. Prior repairs are excellent though new damage found on our old chimney. Repairs were quoted and scheduled at our convenience to be completed soon.

Description of Work
Chimney inspection and cleaning. Followup on warrantied repairs from two years prior.

Category chimney sweep,chimney repair

5.0

05/22/2014


James M.

They do good work. Very good customer service.

Description of Work
They did a free inspection.

Category air duct cleaning,chimney repair

5.0

04/29/2014


George B.

All went well, I need to have the duct cleaned and we will have Lords do it soon

Description of Work
Installed a new duct for my gas dryer

Category air duct cleaning,chimney repair

    Other local Pros in your area

    Tex A Clean Carpet Care LLC

    We Specialize In Carpet Cleaning / Upholstery Cleaning / Air Duct Cleaning / Tile & Grout Cleaning & Water Restoration Services Save Big With Tex A Clean Call Us Now!  

    All States Service Pro - Houston

    All States Service Pro is the largest and most popular home services company in the nation. All States Service Pro can help meet your needs with exceptional service at an affordable price. We are available 24/7 by phone and offer same day service seven days a week, so give us a call and book an appointment if you’re interested.  

    Offers by All States Service Pro - Houston on Angi
    Clean Air Houston Pro

    Clean Air Houston Pro is a local trusted company that service the Houston area for years now.  

    Offers by Clean Air Houston Pro on Angi
    No License Required for Trade
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express, Financing
    Senior Discount
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Water leak resolution, waterproofing, fireplace and chimney repair, animal and nest removal, dryer vent cleaning, pressure washing, fireplace and chimney installation, gas log tune-ups, stove installation & roof flashing installation and repair.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Lords Chimney

    How is Lords Chimney overall rated?

    Lords Chimney is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Lords Chimney open?

    Lords Chimney is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Lords Chimney provide

    Lords Chimney accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express, Financing

    Does Lords Chimney offer free estimates?

    No, Lords Chimney does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Lords Chimney offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Lords Chimney offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Lords Chimney?

    Yes, Lords Chimney offers warranties.

    What services does Lords Chimney offer?

    Lords Chimney offers the following services: Water leak resolution, waterproofing, fireplace and chimney repair, animal and nest removal, dryer vent cleaning, pressure washing, fireplace and chimney installation, gas log tune-ups, stove installation & roof flashing installation and repair.

    Are there any services Lords Chimney does not offer?

    Ask for details.