Irving Trend Builders/Trend Security Screens

About

Founded 1977 • With Angi since January 2009

Irving Trend Builders, Inc. is veteran-owned and operated. We have been remodeling in the Metroplex since 1977. We design almost all of our remodeling projects. There may be a minimal plan fee upfront, but if you contract with us, the fee will be applied to the contract amount, however, we always

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Business Highlights

Veteran Owned & OperatedVeteran Owned & Operated
LGBTQ+ FriendlyLGBTQ+ Friendly
Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

A Service Provider's profile imageBreakfast Table and SeatingA Service Provider's profile image

Southlake Kitchen Remodel

home remodeling

Kitchen and bar area
View project

Verified Reviews

4.6

(29) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

24

4

1

3

1

2

1

1

2

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.7

Punctuality

4.5

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.5

Read reviews by category

home remodeling (8)woodworking (5)siding companies (4)window security film (2)countertop installation (2)hurricane shutters (1)flooring (5)interior painting (4)architect (4)drywall (4)marble & granite (3)electrician (3)
Showing 1-25 of 29 reviews
5.0

08/23/2022


Virginia S.

Once again, Trend did a wonderful job for us. After suffering from 5 break-ins in the early days of the Covid shutdown, many of our large windows were broken. We had to board them up and that made the inside of the church like a dark cavern. We managed to raise the money to have the security screens put on all of our doors and the sanctuary windows. This time, a year of so later, we raised the money to do two of our office windows and the windows in the fellowship hall. Trend and their employees know exactly what they are doing and sell an excellent product.

Description of Work
Security screens for the windows of our church.

Category security windows

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/23/2022

Service Provider Response

I know Angi does not have a category for Security Screens but every review helps. Thank you for the positive review!
5.0

02/01/2022


Debra G.

They were really professional in my remodel I would definitely recommend them Deb G

Description of Work
Kitchen granite counter tops and tile backsplash

Category woodworking, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/01/2022

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review!
5.0

02/01/2022


Terry F.

All was Great

Description of Work
Detached carport and concrete drive

Category concrete driveways, electrician, siding, woodworking, architect, house painters

Cost $42,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/01/2022

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review!
5.0

11/03/2020


De C.

I LOVE the Tapco Security Screens that Irving Trend Builders installed on my home! They're not only beautiful and add another level of security, but provide energy efficient savings, which seems to be an added benefit. It was a costly project to do, with so many windows, but well worth the money, for the peace of mind it has given my family. Gary provided a competitive quote and a great guarantee on their workmanship! I LOVE the new Hardy siding and professional painting on the entire exterior of my home. I also really LOVE Robbie and Alex! They worked on my home, as if it were their own, with excellence. I enjoyed getting to know and trust Gary, Carol, David, Robbie and Alex. Even though there was a not so fun experience with UPS, ( Out of the control of Irving Trend Builders/Trend Security Screens), Gary made sure I was completely happy with the entire job! I trust them and you will too!

Description of Work
Whole house Tapco Security Screens were installed and Hardy Siding, along with professional outdoor exterior painting.

Category remodeling, siding, architect, house painters, hurricane shutters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/21/2020

Service Provider Response

From everyone at Trend Builders\Trend Security Screens, we thank you for allowing up to work on your home.
5.0

10/15/2019


Susan R.

Gary, Robbie and Alex did a great job. They were easy to work with, timely, and performed quality work. We will hire them again.

Description of Work
Garage drywall repair, paint and garage doors replaced.

Category drywall, electrician, woodworking, interior painters, doors

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/15/2019

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you for the review. Trend Builders
5.0

10/01/2019


MYRA B.

They did a great job and very responsible, and we highly recommend to anyone who would need any remodeling done on their house.

Description of Work
House Remodeling Project and an addition

Category remodeling

Cost $150,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/02/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the great review. Trend Builders
5.0

10/01/2019


ERIC O.

It was great. Easy to work with. They were helpful in making decisions of smaller aspects of renovation. Easy to get a hold of. All the onsite workers were very professional and did exactly what we asked.

Description of Work
They did a large renovation of our house.

Category remodeling

Cost $75,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/15/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the great review. Gary
1.0

08/09/2019


Dimitri B.

We ordered our screens on May 28th, and still as of this writing have nothing. We have had zero communication on THEIR end. We have done all the calling and inquiring. I honestly feel like our money has been stolen. I can't even imagine what would have happened if we just forgot about them. I'm talking thousands of dollars up front for no communication. I mean at least a text, email, phone call, voicemail, SOMETHING. All we get is excuses and apologies. I'm sure if the job ever gets done, (sometime this year hopefully) I bet they would be quick to want the rest of money. Maybe I should take the same amount of time to pay them back the rest. Seems fair, but unlikely. Maybe I'm just the one customer that got a terrible experience. Bottom line: That contract we signed never had a date on expected work, so just make sure you get it in writing if you don't want to be waiting like we are. For the sake of clarity, I want to emphasize the problem I have is the business end of the deal. Since the business and logistics end of the company has been so sketchy, I am questioning everything up until the jobs done. I'm not a business major, but I believe that there are multiple facets of a business that have to reflect consistency and peace of mind. Communication and logistics are even more important than the actual quality of work, because up until the job gets done that is all you have as a client to hang onto. To be honest, quality shouldn't even matter if your installation team is experienced. That part should be transparent to the client end.

Description of Work
Security Screens

Category remodeling, security windows

Cost $2,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 05/28/2019

Service Provider Response

We apologize that it took so long to get the screens from the manufacturer, but now that they are installed we hope you are happy.
5.0

07/14/2019


Roger H.

All work was great. In both houses. I lived in both of them at least 10 years after the work was completed and there was never a problem due to the work.

Description of Work
Major interior work in 2 houses, combining rooms to make an open concept. This included removal of walls and adding structural support beams to the attic. Complete makeover of two master bathrooms.

Category countertops, drywall, flooring contractor, hardwood floor, remodeling, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters

Cost $45,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/14/2010

Service Provider Response

We appreciate the review [Member Name Removed].
5.0

10/06/2017


Cindy Q.

All of the work was completed higher than my expectations!

Description of Work
We had two phases of work that needed to be done. The first was our upstairs bathrooms remodel along with an additional media room which was added. Our second phase was a complete kitchen remodel downstairs. Trend Builders knowledge of building and expertise in CAD made for a seamless remodel experience. All of the sub contractors were extremely reputable and trustworthy. I had no problem giving my front door code to the people here working regularly when I was at work. I am getting ready to begin phase three of my renovation and would not consider another contractor to do this work.

Category remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/01/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review. We look forward to phase III. Trend Builders
5.0

08/13/2016


Gavin R.

I have used them for past projects and they are great and not a single complaint. I will continue to use them in the future. Their work is just perfect and they do exactly what they say. They redid my french doors, fascia, and other projects as well.

Description of Work
Remodeling

Category remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/04/2016

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], thanks for the great review.
5.0

10/02/2014


Daniel J.

The contractor worked with us submitting various designs until we had one that fit our budget and final goal. During the remodel process, we wanted additional things done. These were additionally priced. He worked with us to get them all done. He used sub-contractors that he used before and recommended all of them. We felt that some of them were a little sloppy although their work was adequate, particularly the dry wall mud and texture sub-contractor. Ultimately the sloppiness was cleaned up by them. During the process, neighboring carpet was permanently stained. The contractor replaced this with a comparable carpet at no cost. All other punch list items were addressed and were fixed or replaced. Both the owner Gary and his son David are hands-on and very easy to work with. We recommended Trend Builders for your remodeling job.

Description of Work
A complete remodel of the kitchen and entry way. This included relocation of water and drain lines, relocation of doorway, removal of wall, new lighting installation, and new appliances installation.

Category drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, remodeling, home remodeling

Cost $54,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/20/2014

Service Provider Response

We appreciate the review.
5.0

07/07/2014


Sylvie T.

Trend built the majority of the bookcase shelves off site, but installed and did fancy cut work trim on site. The quality of work was astounding. During the installation, I had family come visit from out of town and Trend blocked off the work area with plastic and waited until my visitors left to come back to finish. My grandson is very allergic to the sawdust and stain which is why Trend was cooperative and delayed finishing the work. When the family left, I called and Trend came back to finish. The book case is made out of knotty alder wood stained mahogany with special larger shelves at center top for displaying art work. Everyone who visits our house remark how beautiful the bookcase is and what striking focal point in the living room. I had used Trend to build a staircase in a previous house some years ago. The quality of work was again outstanding which is why we continue to use Trend for interior work in out house.

Description of Work
Trend built a wall of bookcases 8 ft. by 20 ft. long out of knotty alder wood.

Category remodeling, custom furniture, woodworking

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/01/2012

Service Provider Response

We really appreciated working for you. On behalf of everyone working with Trend Builders. Thanks, Gary
5.0

06/11/2014


Julie A.

I love them, its just that they're very honest full pledged company.

Description of Work
Renovation on outside.

Category remodeling

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/05/2014

Service Provider Response

We really appreciated working for you. On behalf of everyone working with Trend Builders. Thanks, Gary
5.0

05/14/2014


Todd H.

Plus side Knowledge of the materials and potential pitfalls was top notch. I got the impression that if I were to do a larger job, everything would be done right and they would let me know what they find along the way. The cost of the repair was fair I thought for the work performed. The fit of the panels was great and I was able to quickly and easily caulk and paint over their finished product. Minus side I was surprised that their payment terms was cash or check only. This was not expected, so I had to write a check. Based on the promised time frame for the job and the actual job start I got the impression that I was an unimportant customer. Granted my $400 repair pales in comparison to $12,000 jobs. I was not in a hurry for the work and there was no harm starting a week late, but it would have been better to start on time.

Description of Work
Replace siding along the bottom of the house

Category remodeling, siding

Cost $389

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/20/2014

Service Provider Response

Sorry that you felt unimportant, but we have many jobs running at the same time and the jobs that start before your job get first priority. On our smaller job, we just have to fit them in, especially when weather conditions are a factor. Regardless, we appreciate the review. If we can help you with any other projects, please give us a call. Regards, Gary Cochrane
5.0

03/18/2014


M. O. C.

The General Contractor estimated that the work would be completed in 3 Months (12 Weeks). Mine actually took 7 Months (28 Weeks) to complete. The majority of the delays were caused by the myriad of subcontractors only showing up an average of 2 days a week when I was informed to expect 4 days of work each week until the job was completed. It seem that subcontractors are indeed, independent. (That is a GROSS UNDERSTATEMENT at the very least!). The overall quality was excellent. My finally cost was just under 5% and that was caused directly by "Change Orders" due to a design or specification change by the homeowner (me). Suggestion #1: In dealing with General Contractors, take your time in your designs and go over every tiny detail from the largest ones (such as appliances) to the smallest ones (such as color, function, orientation and location of light switches). Even though I took 6 months and 6 blueprint versions, I still had 20 "Change Orders" during the construction phase which resulted in addition cost to the project. In the end, my cost overage was only 4.7% which is pretty remarkable for a job of this magnitude. Suggestion #2: Write into any contract a monetary penalty clause to help prevent any extraordinary delays in the work scheduled outlined in any final contract. This will give the subcontractors a massive incentive to live up to the terms of contract. My job was supposed to be finished the third week of July 2013, BUT it didn't wrap up until the last week of November 2013! Suggestion #3: On the final "walkthrough", write down every little scratch, nick, streak, crack, misalignment that you can see. If possible, make two or three pre-final walk throughs to insure you don't miss the tiniest flaw. Pay special attention to door and cabinetry alignments including the security and tightness of handles and hinges. I give Trend Builders and overall rating of A. Some of the subcontractors give a B for punctuality due to their only showing up an average of 2 days a week when I was promised 4 days of work at 10 hours a day. The master electrician and cabinet maker each deserve an A Plus for the very high quality of their work !

Description of Work
Complete demolishing and remodeling of Kitchen, Dining Room, Living Room, Den and Master Bath. A totally useless exterior "patio" and garage closet was incorporated into the kitchen to allow for the creation of a large island. All windows were replaced with top of the line Marvin ones including three skylights. The entire interior of the home was painted and over 60 lights were added throughout. The old oak floors were replaced with heated Travertine Stone on the lower floor and the Master Bath tile was replaced with heated marble flooring. New ultra quiet exhaust fans were installed in all 3 bathrooms. Custom cabinets were manufactured for the Kitchen, Den and Master Bath. Sprayed in insulation was performed on all exterior walls on the lower floor. A new circuit breaker panel was installed to accommodate the additional electrical circuitry. New 50 lb carpet was installed throughout the home.

Category custom cabinets, hardwood floor, lighting, remodeling, pavers, gravel, replacement windows, skylights, ceiling fans, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters

Cost $300,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/27/2013

Service Provider Response

We really appreciated working for you. On behalf of everyone working with Trend Builders. Thanks, Gary
2.0

09/27/2013


Judy M.

Our Monier duralite roof was installed in Nov. 2001. Within 2 years it had started to fall off, and we had a 6 foot section drop into our flower beds. Trend Builders balked at repairs and tried to put blame on our trees, which were not even near the roof. After much back and forth they finally repaired the section. One year ago, multiple sections of the roof were falling off, including the part which they had repaired the first time. This is a concrete roof with 3-4 inch nails in it and it was falling from the second story, barely missing my daughter at one point. I had two inspectors come out to look at it, whom I had to pay quite a bit, and I also had the Monier representative come out to look at it. All three of them stated that the installation of the roof, not the materials, not the weather, was the primary problem. Some of the tiles were chipped by the installers instead of cut. There were portions of the roof where every other tile was nailed down instead of every tile . The rake tiles were not positioned correctly, not cut correctly, not sealed in any way and not supported correctly. Gary Cochrane from Trend Builders came out with his own roofer to inspect the roof. His roofer agreed that many of the tiles were not put on correctly. Gary told me in my front yard that he "would have to eat" this project. As soon as the roofer gave Gary the estimate, all progress stopped. Trend Builders would not answer any of my calls, texts, faxes and had not even picked up a certified letter which I had sent. After trying to contact them many times, I received a short note stating that they would not fix the roof, and I should contact the manufacturer. Gary knew that I had already contacted and met with the representative from the manufacturer! It was not a product failure, so the manufacturer's warranty did not apply. It was an installation failure. This is a $35,000 roof, warranted for 50 years, and the installation was so bad that it didn't even last 15 years. Trend Builders recommended this roof, and they installed it, but they will not have anything to do with their work afterwards. They definitely do not guarantee their work, and their customer service is as bad as the roof installation.

Description of Work
Installed a Monier concrete roof, which had a 50 year warranty on it.

Category remodeling

Cost $35,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 09/17/2013

Service Provider Response

October 25, 2013 Tend builders installed this roof on our customer's home almost 13 years ago along with a major addition and general interior renovations. The client was very happy with the project. Two years after the project was completed there were some loose shingles on one front gable. Our contractor warranty is only valid for one year from the completion date, however, it is our wish to keep our clients happy, therefore we repaired those shingles. We have not heard from our client since until their recent claim this year, 11 years later. It is unreasonable to expect a claim to be warrantied after one year, much less after 13 years. Any number of conditions or activity can cause damage to a roof after this length of time, such as extreme weather, like hail damage, people walking or working on the roof, debris falling on the roof or damage from wild animals, like raccoons and squirrels. Trend Builders has been in business, primarily serving repeat clients and referrals for over 35 years. We strive to offer the highest quality in labor and materials and fully honor our contractor warranty within the legal bounds of our contracts.
5.0

11/21/2012


DAVID T.

Chose Trend Builders over another contractor due to a good previous experience with them. We had a cheaper estimate from another contractor, but felt more comfortable that Trend would properly address drainage issues. They also specified higher quality concrete. Gary was very thorough discussing how they would ensure that the yard, driveway and walks would be sloped to ensure good drainage away from house. Estimate was supplied quickly, and work started the following week. All work was completed on time to a good standard. Very happy with the results.

Description of Work
Removed existing driveway and front and back yard walks. Poured new driveway, front and back walks, back yard patio. Plain broom finish concrete.

Category concrete repair, concrete driveways

Cost $5,550

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/16/2012

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the positive review. We appreciated working for you. Let us know if we can help with anything else. Gary Cochrane
5.0

11/01/2012


DAVID T.

Very prompt supplying estimate and beginning work. All work was done neatly, to a high standard. Very happy with the job done.

Description of Work
Repaired detached garage. Replaced and repaired rotten framing. Reinforced roof framing. Re-sided with new Hardie siding. Ran new underground electrical supply from house and rewired garage. Corrected improperly installed garage door and installed opener.

Category siding, garage builders

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/31/2012

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the positive review. We appreciated working for you. Gary Cochrane
5.0

06/22/2012


Sam W.

Gary made certain we were on the same page and completed the work when he said he would.

Description of Work
Redid two bathrooms plus misc. other work.

Category remodeling

Cost $30,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/01/2010

Service Provider Response

Thanks. Let us know if we can do anything else.
5.0

11/29/2011


Sam W.

They are excellent! They are very professional and reliable. Their work was done timely, and with highly quality craftsmanship.

Description of Work
Trend Builders remodeled two bathrooms in my home, and they recently added an addition above my daughter’s garage.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/15/2007