Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

The RockAway Company

Founded 1993 • With Angi since February 2004

4.1

(49) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

4416 Glenview Dr Ste A

Fort Worth, TX 76117

Description

Rockaway Company & Rockaway Disaster Services is a locally owned started in 1993 by Barry Thombs. He has established himself as a leader in the Tarrant County area as upscale remodeler and a full service water/fire and smoke restoration company. Check out 100 of our customer service surveys at

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

07/27/2017


Maria S.

Wonderful job, they were checking on how everything was going all of the time. We received advice on what would be best and look better in the area we wanted re done.

Description of Work
We had a faux window created in the area between our kitchen and dining room, a cabinet removed and a smaller one built in another wall.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

4.0

05/27/2015


John H.

Everything was completed within schedule and in budget. Workers were polite, on time, and well coordinated. Working with Rockaway was a delight, we felt our project was a priority and they were on top of all the different workers (plumbers, electrocutions, painters, carpenters). They were not the cheapest company but we were very happy with the results. The reason we gave the quality a 'B' was because the electrician was not so great and years later we had some work redone. But we would definitely use Rockaway again.

Description of Work
Remove interior wall, opening up kitchen. Remove external doorway to add kitchen window. Remove wood paneling in 3 rooms, sheet rock, texture, & paint. Replace outdated lighting with new recessed and pendent light fixtures.

Category drywall, electrician, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, interior painters

5.0

04/08/2015


Patrick H.

If you're looking for someone to slap on a coat of paint and install a new faucet for a bargain price, this is NOT your contractor. Barry and his Rockaway construction crews are artists and craftsmen. If you want a creative solution to your remodeling needs followed by flawless execution from a group of true craftsmen, this IS your contractor. Rockaway completely remodeled our kitchen almost 10-years ago. It completely changed the house. The proof of quality construction lies in the fact that the kitchen looks like new, even after all this time. We liked the kitchen so well, we asked Rockaway to return a couple years ago to completely strip the outside of our second story on a Victorian-style home and replace the worn cedar siding with new insulation, house wrap, and Hardi-plank. The Victorian trim was all removed, taken to a specialist, and re-created in Cypress wood. Again, we were so pleased with the second job, that we're having Rockaway back to remodel three bathrooms..... can't wait to see the results. Rockaway will not be the lowest bidder, but they are worth every dollar. Rockaway returns your calls, are honesty and business-like, are organized, keep appointments, and they show-up to complete the job (which I've heard is an issue with some).

Description of Work
Removed siding and trim from Victorian 2-story. Replaced cedar siding with insulation board, house wrap, and Hardi-plank. Rebuild balcony porch. Replaced wooden trim with Cypress. Paint entire exterior.

Category plumbing, remodeling, roofing, woodworking, home remodeling

2.0

11/05/2014


megan H.

Nothing was done except the bid process on oct 1 and now its nov 1 and we are still waiting. so based on this we will not use them. if we had even a phone call saying we are behind because of blah blah that would be fine with us. but nothing. so just because of not waiting to answer your phone while you are with a customer and lack of communication about the bid not being there in the time frame we were told cost you a job worth 100 thousand give or take. Customer Service is very important.. It is now 11/26/14 we still have not received our home plans we provided the contractor.

Description of Work
we had rockaway come to our house for a bid on a attic remodel on oct 1. While the contractor was walking around with me looking at the area for my remodel he answered 2 phone calls and had a conversation while he was with me in the attic. we provided him with our home plans and he stated it would be a couple of weeks on the bid. its now nov 5 and not a single phone call or bid of any kind. I have no idea about their quality of work but im not impressed sofar. I am a former owner of a construction company myself and to me these small things makes a bad first impression.

Category remodeling, interior painters

5.0

10/21/2014


Larry P.

It went well. They were very good at explaining in full detail the process. They gave a written estimate. During the process, they checked in and made sure the schedule was followed. They did good job at cleaning up. The workers were good at calling in advance to let us know when they were on their way. I got billed the right amount.

Description of Work
They put in a new shower, repaired cracks in the walls and ceiling, enclosed a door, and re-paneled the exterior of house.

Category remodeling, doors

5.0

09/29/2014


Patricia G.

on time cleaned up after job done project finished on time and on budget have used them for total of 3 jobs over past 3 years only con is it took a few days to get a return call after I had left my initial request for an appt

Description of Work
repaired siding ,tiled bonus room

Category ceramic tile, siding, interior painters

5.0

06/10/2014


Robin Y.

They were excellent and were willing to get out to the house. If I wanted to do anything I would use them again. It was obvious that they guy that cam was very experience and he gave me some good feedback. They were very prompt and will give you feedback quickly.

Description of Work
We got a quote from Rockaway Company.

Category remodeling

5.0

06/05/2014


Scott S.

Completed all repairs as scheduled and within the price quoted. I also had the roof shingles upgraded at an additional cost. Everything went well. The workers were professional and courtesy.

Description of Work
Replace roof, gutters, and entry lights, repaired water damage to ceiling and wall inside.

Category interior painters

Service Provider Response

It was a pleasure working with Mr & Ms. [member name removed] on there insurance loss. We were able to get a higher class of roof shingles which did cost an additional amount of money to there job but in the long term will help them feel at ease during any future hail storms and will also help there home insurance policy as this upgrade was able to give them a cost savings of there premium. We look forward to any future work with this family.
5.0

02/28/2014


Peter U.

This company was great to work with. We asked them to build an interior wall with French doors. The work was good quality. The reps to scope the work arrived early for each appointment. They accurately scoped the project, and finished the project on time. My project was simple, but Rockaway provided some good ideas to make the wall shape and location look a little different, but it fit the interior great. They also reminded me of things to consider around door hardware and, trim finishing and carpet stretching. I let them advise me on there preferences and then worked our ideas into there expertise. Thank you Rockaway.

Description of Work
Quality work for a reasonable price.

Category carpet installation, remodeling, doors

4.0

01/27/2014


Debra M.

The end result was great, but getting there was very frustrating. We were originally told the job would take 14 work days. It ended up taking much longer. At one point, our tile order was lost by either Rockaway or the tile provider, and we had to go back to the tile company a second time to try to remember what we had picked out. Also, Rockaway did not schedule the subcontractors very well. One day, there might be a painter there for a couple hours and no one else the rest of the day. Work rarely started before 9-10 am and was usually finished mid-afternoon -- if everyone showed up. The subcontractors seemed to be very good at what they did, but it was the lack of coordination getting everyone there that was difficult for us. We felt that it could have been better organized. We had several items that needed adjusted after the job was supposed to have been completed. These were done in a timely manner. Again, we are very pleased with the end result, but it was frustrating and stressful getting there.

Description of Work
Gutted and remodeled the master bathroom.

Category home remodeling, interior painters

Service Provider Response

We are very sorry that the tile was discontinued. We found out the day it was supposed to be delivered that it was discontinued. It took the customer 3 tries to pick a different tile. This was the biggest reason for the delayed completion.
5.0

01/01/2014


Carolyn F.

They were prompt. Did what they said they would do and in the time frame.

Description of Work
Painted bedroom and bath. Replaced counter top, sinks, faucets,etc. Put in new floor in bedroom.

Category countertops, flooring contractor, plumbing, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

06/28/2013


JOHN M.

Their quote was just more than what we wanted to spend at the time.

Description of Work
I got a quote from Rockaway Company for general remodeling of an older building.

Category remodeling

2.0

06/20/2013


G. N.

Rep came out and walked through residence with us and we explained what we wanted done. Took dimensions and offered several good suggestions. Promised to have quotation in two to three weeks. After four weeks my wife called and was promised bid would be ready in one week - they were very busy and offered apology. She called after two more weeks and finally was able to set up a time to meet and review. We meet with the rep and reviewed bid. Bid had numerous errors, for example - removing 2200 sq ft "popcorn" ceiling texture which we don't have anywhere in the house, and putting up can lights in the kitchen ceiling which already existed. Quote would have had to be completely redone and we did not want to wait another four to six weeks. It was obvious they probably didn't want our business so we went elsewhere.

Description of Work
Provided bid for remodel of kitchen and bathrooms.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

We don't see any record of this person or address in any of our files. I have even gone back as far as 2009 and still don't find any record of us going to this house or meeting with anyone by this name. If we delivered a proposal to them we would have a copy of it in our files as well as a draft on the computer. We also mail a series of 3 letters to every customer we go out and visit. The first letter is to confirm the appointment, the second is after the initial visit and the 3rd is after we deliver the proposal. If in fact we were the company that went out there [ member's name removed] should be able to produce at least one of the letters from us. This is not one of our customers.
4.0

05/14/2013


Tara W.

Overall we were satisfied. The project took a little longer than we thought and there was some issue with communication between the contractors and the electricians and parts of the that slowed them down a little bit. This caused the electrician to have to come out 2 additional times, but overall we were happy with the finished product. They were professional and the work was well done. I also think that they have good follow up with customers because we had just received a mailer from them to see if we wanted them to come back out to make sure that we were still sat with the work.

Description of Work
We hired Rockaway to take out a wet bar and expanding an existing closet that was there next to it. Also added shelves and reworked the closet area. They also re did all the shelving in our master bedroom closet and added wood floors in a living room area that had previous been carpet.

Category electrician, flooring contractor, hardwood floor, remodeling, woodworking, interior painters, doors

5.0

02/25/2013


Katharine T.

One MAJOR complication was that my wife was 38 weeks pregnant! Our first contact from Rockaway was with contractor Gary. From the initial handshake my wife and I felt at ease with Gary?s personal, approachable, caring demeanor. He was an incredible advocate and calming force. The next Rockaway team member who then joined in the work was project manager John. Although we did not have too much interaction with him we were NEVER concerned about the work which was completed actually well before we would have dreamed and the quality was spot on! As most would probably agree there is seldom (if EVER) a major reconstruction project where the home owners are not disappointed with at least one aspect but honestly my wife and I are COMPLETELY satisfied with EVERY aspect. Another INCREDIBLY stressful situation for us AND Rockaway was that our mortgage company refused to release the funds our home insurance issued until well after the work on the home was completed! Shortly after working with Gary owner Barry began meeting with us overseeing not only the work on the home but also the fight with our mortgage company. By this time we had a newborn. The team at Rockaway had EVERY right to halt the work due to not getting paid timely due to our mortgage company but they were VERY understanding of our situation and patient beyond belief. The office manager Lori was also very kind, patient and understanding throughout. Words cannot describe the gratitude my wife and I have towards Rockaway. Chase & Katie Torres

Description of Work
My wife and I experienced a severe slab leak in our home damaging the floor and walls in multiple rooms in the home. Have to have all hand scrapped hardwood in multiple rooms removed, tile in kitchen and halls removed and dry walls patched and rooms painted.

Category ceramic tile, drywall, flooring contractor, hardwood floor, interior painters

2.0

12/03/2012


Martin S.

Overall the remodel turned out ok, but there was a lack of communication and professionalism through the install part of the process. A lot of the work that was done was not satisfactory when complete so the project manager would have to come and correct the things their workers should have done right in the first place. We were told in the beginning they would get a building permit, but when the work was being done and we asked about the permit, they said they "didn't need it." There were several times when some work that was done caused other problems that I had to correct myself. If I had not been able to correct these things myself, like most customers, it would have cost a bundle to have corrected. For instance, our bedroom phone jack was filled with texture and painted over, which shorted out our pnone AND security system, which we did not know about for some time. And the door frame to the bedroom was cut in order to fit around the pre-installed security pad, rather than moving the pad over a quarter inch. There were several things that were in the original estimate that were not done. We were not reimbursed for these and it was not deducted from the final price. We were told they had "done some extra things" we didn't pay for. The tile work around the shower entrance and the grout lines in several places were not straight or even. We had to ask them to come back and correct them. Before the solar tube was installed they bragged about the amount of light we would get from it so much that when it was completed we were disappointed. As it turns out, the tube could not be installed exactly where the lens was, and instead of asking if we wanted to purchase an extension to it so it could be installed where the maximum light would come through, they just kinked the tube over the next gable causing a light reduction.

Description of Work
We acquired 2 estimates to have our master bathroom remodeled and Rockaway had given the better of the 2. Theirs included some things that the other bid did not so that is why we choose Rockaway. In the planning phase of the remodel we were comfortable with the way everything was presented. The shopping for the stone, tile and cabinets was fun and informative. The bathroom and closet was too small and the bedroom had extra room so they added a closet to the other end of the room, reduced the size of the existing closet, added a jetted tub, large walk in shower with clear glass door, moved the toilet, installed more cabinets, limestone counter top, ceramic tile to the floor and counter to ceiling mirrors with lights in the mirrors. The job required running a new electrical circuit for the tub pump, they added lighting for the closets and circuits with switches beside the bed over the night stands and removed some of the concrete to install extra plumbing for the drain and vents and plumbing for the water supply. We had them install a solar tube in the bathroom and replace the window and the door for the bedroom. The walls and ceiling were retextured and painted.

Category ceramic tile, concrete repair, countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, glass repair, lighting, plumbing, replacement windows, skylights, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

Service Provider Response

Customer was an interesting man to work with. Before the project began he told us that he did lots of wiring and wanted to rewire his electrical box and phone line himself. We did remove the phone jack and Martin was supposed to redo the wiring. We did tape and bed over the jack opening. The problem with the solar tube was too many trees. We would have had to move the tube to the other side of the house. They knew this. The tile work was corrected to approx 1/16th-1,000th of an inch. It was a very, very small amount. Overall any concern he had was immediately corrected. A company’s reputation should not be on whether or not they make mistakes but on whether they do everything possible to correct them. This customer even stated that we did correct any issues they had. Their bathroom is beautiful beyond belief. It is a shame that Customer can only see the mistakes in his memory. His wife loves everything. If you look at the scoring he gives us a “D” overall when in reality it should be at least a “C”. When you look at his scoring it is not consistent with his comments. We finished on time, with extra work added by them which we worked into the project. We worked every day. We did only remove 170/SF of sheetrock when we estimated approx 210/SF which is one (1) sheet of sheetrock. We cleaned up every day and even had a cleaning crew do a final clean up at the end of the project. Their bathroom turned out so nice that we use pictures of it on our web site. We are sorry that we didn’t meet Customer’s expectations. Expectations can be a moving target at times. In the end we corrected all their concerns, did everything we agreed to do and more.
1.0

02/23/2012


William L.

The job took way too long, apparently due to Rockaway doing one or more other jobs at the same time. Mostly due to Barry's strong suggestion on cabinet layout and finish, we ended up with cabinets that look unattractive. The cabinets themselves were pretty well made, but the finish was poor. One set of cabinets, containing the built-in cooktop, was not installed properly, resulting in the vent from the hood misaligned to the vent to the roof. Barry refused to install the handles to the cabinets, although we paid for them, because he strongly recommended having any handles. I had to install them myself. We argued at length about the design of the ceiling light box. He insisted that what we wanted was impossible. Eventually, he did install it anyway. The trim and molding workmanship was poor. He failed to reinstall the ceiling air vent after the ceiling was replaced; I had to do that myself. He had a disagreement with the appliance dealer, resulting in the oven and built-in microwave being delivered but not installed. After going round and round with him over who was going to install these appliances, I had to do it myself. When the dishwasher installer arrived with the new dishwasher, he found that there was no electrical outlet to use. Only after I complained strongly did he get an electrician out to get it done. Despite these issues, he didn't offer to reduce his bill to exclude the work he didn't perform. When his wife showed up to settle up the remaining amount owed, I signed off on the job only because I had zero confidence that Rockaway would fix the problems or adjust the bill appropriately. We just wanted them to go away. There were a few acceptable aspects to the job: the window was of good quality and properly installed. The cabinets were pretty good quality. The tile work around the sink and cabinets looks pretty good, even today. However, the tile man failed to properly install the tile over the sink and we made him do it over again. Barry was not around to inspect any of this work. Hopefully, my experience with Rockaway was an abberation. I don't know how they could stay in business if they performed this way on all of their jobs. Our experience with Rockaway was so bad that we refused to consider any other remodeling projects for over 15 years, fearing a similar experience. All in all, we paid way too much for way too little that took too long.

Description of Work
Rockaway did a kitchen remodel, which included new cabinets, countertops, built-in appliances, flooring, sink, and ceiling light. They also painted the existing wood paneling and replaced a window.

Category home remodeling

5.0

09/15/2011


JOHN G.

Extremely well. Very pleased with finished work. Very professional and work was completed on time.

Description of Work
Remodeling of common area space, including drywall, painting, flooring and any related electrical and plumbing work. Also work in the kitchen area, kitchen cabinets, countertops, etc., Also performed exterior siding work too.

Category countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, glass repair, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, siding, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters, doors, sunrooms

2.0

09/09/2011


Jan Young Y.

Not impressed with this company.

Description of Work
Representative was courteous. Made many measurements. Said he would goto office and work up est. He called days later said he had not connected with his concrete man and would get estimate soon. I have yet to get the promised in the mail as I was directed.

Category concrete repair

Service Provider Response

We were never hired. We tried to contact her several times to set an appointment to deliver our proposal. When we finally did reach her she told us that she "didn't have time for this." She suggested that we email her the proposal. When I told her that this is was not our policy to email proposals she got mad and hung up. After reading this report we called the customer and and she told us that she had the work done a couple of days after we were out there. We wasted a lot of time putting together a proposal that she had no intention of ever looking at. Shame on her.
2.0

07/23/2011


ALAN T.

When the carpenters put up the lattice ceiling they did not butt the first piece against the house, leaving a gap of about four inches between the lattice and house. (The previous lattice ceiling had been butted against the house) When I asked if it could be butted up to the house I was told "it will lose it's integrity" (????). The next section was cut to butt against the house. What it amounted to was they didn't want to remove and replace as that would take time and they were in a hurry. The electrician installed the electrical boxes in the counter before the hardi board or stone was installed. I showed him the stone that was going to be used and asked it it would pose a problem. He said no. When he returned to finish the electrical work, after the hardi board and stone had been put up, he said they did it wrong and he couldn't finish installing the electrical work. Lights he installed had to be removed and reinstalled as he did not tighten the light holder to the base. The contract provided to "Apply wire mesh with scratch coat" to the hardi board. They did not. When I asked why they said it was not required. When they came to collect payment I pointed that out and they said the cost was "negligible" and would be off-set by using additional mortar. Their ad in Angies list provided for payment by check or credit card. Two other companies I got bids from also accepted payment by card. When I tried to pay using a card I was told their would be a 3% charge. There was nothing in the contract about an additional charge for payment by card. The other two companies that advertised payment by card had a notation in their bids that there would be an additional charge if payment was by card. Up front you knew what your cost would be. With Rockaway it was like dealing with an airline and baggage. The contract states "Includes 5-year warranty on labor and workmanship" Today (23/7/2011) I received a 'release certificate' stating "as you are aware, we do have a two year labor warranty....." So much for the integrity of Rockaway! I had 5 bids for this job. Part of the considerations for selecting Rockaway was I could pay by credit card and get a return at the end of the year thereby reducing my over-all cost, and they offered a 5 year warranty. The decision to hire Rockaway was mine, the mistake was mine, I paid for it.....a mistake I wont make again.

Description of Work
Removed a counter, wood floor and lattice ceiling from a patio. Built a counter including electrical outlets, faced with stone and installed a lattice ceiling

Category countertops, decks, electrician, masonry, remodeling, woodworking

Service Provider Response

-There was no place on Angie's list for us to indicate that there is a fee applied when a credit card is used. (They have since fixed that for us) Every customer is sent a letter after our first visit that indicates a fee is applied when a credit card is used. We have a copy of this letter that was mailed to the member on June 22nd. Also, as soon as a customer indicates they intended to pay by credit card we let them know of the 2% (not 3%) fee that the card company charges us that we carry over to the customer. - The 5-year warranty is a very important part of our business. We also do a one-year walk thru after completion. As for the letter of release, the State of Texas requires us to list a 2-year Release of Lien on the standardized form. - It is interesting to see that the very thing he had complained about, the masonry work, is the thing he liked the most about our work. Themember was very happy about everything until we pointed out the 2% fee from the credit card company. He watched everything we did as we were doing it. There was never a time when we have not reworked any of the work if requested and if it was possible. Again, we are very sorry about the member's unhappiness about the 2% fee. However, in this economy 2% of the job is approx. 35-40% of our margin needed to do a quality job and be stable. We have not exaggerated any of our claims or given the member less than a quality job.
5.0

03/31/2011


Spencer M.

The supervisor came and did the all the work himself on his own time. That was amazing. Everybody was good and did the work well. I would use them again in the future.

Description of Work
I used Rockaway Company for remodeling. They did the work two months ago. They lighting in my kitchen.

Category lighting, remodeling, home remodeling

2.0

12/14/2010


ANN-MARIE M.

Barry is a good idea man, but that is about it. He sketches things out on little bits of paper, doesn't know his way around a computer, and actually had his on site contractor convinced that it would be prohibitively expensive to have a CAD program to help with design. He is also a wheeler dealer and will tell you what you want to hear, so get it in writing, because he will go back on his word. Prices will change, he will play semantic games (for instance carpet cleaning after the job is done meant "vacuuming" to him, not carpet cleaning.) He knows only two colors when it comes to bathroom design, gray and brown. Heaven help you if you want anything different. He will argue with you for days. The worst was, despite my insistence (Why should I have to insist?) that that he get building permits, he did not, and claimed they were not needed in my community. While I was going back and forth on the phone with him about this, his plumber overheard me, said, "He didn't pull permits? That's it. I'm done for the day," and walked off the job. Barry's response to me? "You're just going to delay the job, you know." My husband and I repeatedly told him that he was to deal with me, yet he and his office kept bothering my husband at work. I have to admit, I kept blowing my stack at him, which is not how I usually handle things like this, but this man just grated me the wrong way. I come from a family of do-it-yourselfers, and I had already been through one home remodeling project in another state that went through as smoothly as glass, so I knew was supposed to happen and what was not. At the time, they had an "A" rating, but I see they have slipped a lot.

Description of Work
Gutted old master bath and completely moved where everything was, toilet, shower, sinks, removed tub, blocked doorway to closet, opened up wall between two closets, making one large master closet, added small closet and large cupboard in master bedroom. Removed octagonal window in bathroom, replaced it with glass block window.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

On our first meeting with this customer, the first thing she said to me was "I am from Minnesosta and I have a hard time getting along with men from Texas." We worked very hard to satisfy her. She changed colors and designs several times during the process. We are not perfect but we don't quit until we meet the expecations of our clients. Her carpet had stains from her 4 dogs. There was never any mention of pre-spotting and shampooing of carpet until the end of the project. Our understanding was that the carpet was being replaced after we completed the work. Our drawings are standard 1/4 scale, blue line, on 12' X 18" paper and was accurate to less than 1/2" at completion. It was very well labeled with measurements. In fact, her husband who is a patent attorney chose our firm because of our detail. The permit had already been pulled when she called. It had just not been through their final review process.We regularly go ahead and start the demo/tear process, because the first inspection doesn't occur until after the new framing, plumbing rough and electrical rough have been completed. There were many times when she would have strong outbursts towards all of us involved,even though we were doing exactly what she or her husband wanted. Her husband instructed us to contact him about finances and any changes involving money. She would get very upset with our staff when we did. Needless to say, we were very pleased to complete this project. It is beautiful, unique and very functional.
3.0

12/02/2010


Beckie H.

I found Rockaway through some research and discovered there was a female owner. I did get to meet with her as we were making our initial decisions whether to use them or not. In the beginning my main contact was the salesman who was also very helpful with my design choices. My struggle with the Rockaway company was not quality. The struggle was communication. I was having to talk with too many people in the process - the sales person, the owners, the assigned contractor for our job - and the individual subs as they were there. There was miscommunication among the Rockaway people so that made it very difficult on me. On at least 3 occasions I came home to work that was done that I had not been consulted on, much less approved, at all - railings from the den to the kitchen, columns on the front porch, stone on the front of the porch - they just moved forward without talking with me which added more days to the project - and much more stress to my life.

Description of Work
The Rockaway Company did a full kitchen and den remodel on our 50 year old home. The work was an immense project. They extended the front porch as well. The completed work is beautiful and after an extremely difficult process is just what I wanted.

Category decks, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

This project turned out beautiful beyond belief. Our communication was challenging. One big reason for this is that they both traveled a lot during the project. We did make some small alterations for her during process. Unfortunatly, when the city inspector did our first framing inspection he red tagged their electrical system throughout the whole house.We also found extensive termite damage in the roof framing. We did have change order work which we presented to them in writing in advance of any new work started. They got several other bids on the electrical and reframing. Our price to them was at cost, so it was several thousand dollars less then their other bids including a personal friend. Needless to say, they were never very happy with us after that, but we did complete a magazine quality project to a house built in the 1940's. The hidden problem ended up costing them an additional $9,000 to completely re-do the electrical system and to completely re-frame the ceiling. This surprise additional cost was a very big, unpleasant "downer" to this project.
5.0

11/24/2010


Terry & Ramona G.

They do very good work and they cleaned up very well. If they said they were going to be finished at a certain time they would be or they would let us know if anything was running behind. We are very satisfied.

Description of Work
They remodeled the master bathroom. They replaced the sinks, cabinet tops, bathtub, toilet and the mirrors. They tiled the floor and one wall. They repainted the bathroom and refinished some wood paneling. They did put in electric flooring in the floor. We had a wall heater and they took that out and they put in a wall and towel heater combination. They also replaced the exhaust fan. We had a skylight in the bathroom that would not open and they installed a new one that would open, it is mechanical not electrical. They also replaced the water heater.

Category ceramic tile, countertops, electrician, flooring contractor, glass repair, plumbing, remodeling, water heater repair, skylights, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

11/24/2010


DARWIN S.

I was happy with it. The came and looked at it and made a plan up front. I knew exactly what they would be doing before they started. They did exactly what they said they would do. They did it in a timely manner. Their price tends to be on the high side, but they do premium work.

Description of Work
hey reinforced some rafters in my roof that were beginning to sag away from the ridge beam. They stabilized the rafter so that the roof wouldn’t deteriorate any further. I had them estimate anther job on a bathroom remodel.

Category remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    US Energy Windows & Doors CA.Inc

     

    Angi Certified

    Star Restoration and Carpet Cleaning

    Star Restoration and Carpet Cleaning is a professional water damage restoration company located in Arlington, TX. Don't waste your time and call us now! Upholstery Cleaning, Carpet Cleaning, Tile Cleaning, Demolition, Upholstery Cleaning Service Dalworthington Gardens TX; Crowley TX; Rendon TX; Glenn Heights TX; Forest Hill TX; Water Damage Restoration, Water Damage, Water Damage Repair, Home Water Damage Repair, Emergency Water Damage Repair http://bertrestorationcarpetcleaning.com/  

    Angi Certified

    Professional Deck Builder

    Professional Deck Builder brings more than 20 years of experience to your decks and patios. We leverage in-depth expertise in deck building to ensure you get the deck of your dreams, and our deck designers are dedicated to customizing your experience to achieve complete customer satisfaction. Get the deck you’ve always dreamed of, built by our focused, tenured professionals!  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check
    Senior Discount
    0%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Residential and commercial specializing in kitchen and bath remodeling and room additions, design build service offered. also, specializing in water extraction, specialized drying techniques for odor, smoke and floods. We work with your insurance company to get the work done that you need to be back in the same state your home was before the loss.

    Services Not Offered

    Foundation repair. Landscaping.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about The RockAway Company

    How is The RockAway Company overall rated?

    The RockAway Company is currently rated 4.1 overall out of 5.

    What days are The RockAway Company open?

    The RockAway Company is open:

    Monday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does The RockAway Company provide

    The RockAway Company accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check

    Does The RockAway Company offer free estimates?

    Yes, The RockAway Company offers free project estimates.

    Does The RockAway Company offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, The RockAway Company offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does The RockAway Company offer a senior discount?

    Yes, The RockAway Company offers a 0% senior discount.

    Does The RockAway Company offer emergency services?

    Yes, The RockAway Company offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by The RockAway Company?

    Yes, The RockAway Company offers warranties.

    What services does The RockAway Company offer?

    The RockAway Company offers the following services: Residential and commercial specializing in kitchen and bath remodeling and room additions, design build service offered. also, specializing in water extraction, specialized drying techniques for odor, smoke and floods. We work with your insurance company to get the work done that you need to be back in the same state your home was before the loss.

    Are there any services The RockAway Company does not offer?

    Foundation repair. Landscaping.