Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Puryear Custom Pools

Founded 1997 •

4.2

(32) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2200 Cantrell Sansom Rd

Fort Worth, TX 76131

Description

Puryear Custom Pools is the premier Fort Worth in ground swimming pool builder, renovation, service and maintenance company. Since 1997, we have built swimming pools, spas, outdoor kitchens and more for our clients. From the heart of Fort Worth to the Granbury countryside, our pool designs have won awards and brought national acclaim. The majority of our construction is done in house, unlike other Fort Worth pool builders. Building your pool this way ensures the precision and timeliness of your project. Our construction crews make sure that your outdoor oasis is up to the standards of Puryear Custom Pools. We believe the key to a successful project is having a great relationship. From the first time we make contact with a prospective client through the completion of the pool and beyond, you will be treated with the utmost respect and consideration....
Renovation project
Renovation

pool cleaning

2020

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

06/28/2022


Dan B.

Technician failed two weeks in a row to open our main valve after cleaning the main pump’s basket. This caused my pump to run dry all day. The lack of attention to detail is astonishing.

Description of Work
Weekly and quarterly Maintenance

Category pool cleaners

5.0

09/15/2020


Tera E.

John was so helpful and quick to respond. He provided exactly what we needed, and I would recommend him to anyone needing prompt and professional service.

Description of Work
Pool Inspection

Category pool cleaners

Service Provider Response

Thank you!
5.0

04/01/2017


John O.

PURYEAR was very good to work with from Design to completion of construction. Steve Peyton was our friendly Sales contact that worked tirelessly with us thru several mtgs and design changes. Was very thorough in helping us to understand that different cost components! Jacob was our Construction Mgr that took over once the contract was completed with Steve. Jacob was very professional and managed his work crews and sub contractors well! When things weren't right he endured they were made right. When unexpected issues were encountered (rock, decided to add more pavers and retaining wall, etc) he worked with us in a fair and equable manner and did not take advantage of us. When all said and done I felt like we received a well constructed pool and hot tub and that PURYEAR is a well managed company! I would highly recommend PURYEAR to anyone considering a pool and/or hot tub

Description of Work
Designed and built pool and hot tub

Category swimming pools

5.0

12/03/2016


David K.

So far so good, excellent quality and workmanship.

Description of Work
Inground Pool Installation - still in progress but close to finish.

Category swimming pools

5.0

08/25/2016


Bryan B.

Since our pool was originally built, there was an issue that required significant work to correct Throughout the process, Puryear stood behind their product and work, which isn't that common today. We chose Puryear because of their history and reputation and felt that if they didn't stand behind their work, they wouldn't be around as long as they have. With any major construction, unintended and undesirable things can happen. We are thankful we chose them, and continue to recommend to friends and neighbors.

Description of Work
Built our pool in fall of 2011

Category swimming pools

5.0

04/28/2016


Mary C.

Fantastic job. Great communication throughout the project. Resulting pools is almost maintenance free. Good quality products used make a huge difference. Super job.

Description of Work
Designed and built a custom swimming pool for us.

Category swimming pools

4.0

01/07/2016


LINDA M.

Since I have never had a pool built before I have nothing to compare it too, but over all it was not to bad (besides the mess). We had a particularly rainy season so there were some delays but they had it completed within two weeks of the original date. We got 4 estimates and they were all very similar. We went with Puryear because we liked the sales person, and because they offered a few upgrades that the others did not. They started on time, and were very nice. I would say that the foreman was a little more condescending to me over my husband but not offensively so, unless you are sensitive to that sort of thing. Their workers cleaned up for themselves and were very polite. The foreman was onsite almost every day for some period of time. They explained the process each step and with the exception of weather issues met their deadlines. There were a few times they did not come as planned and did not call. I would have liked a call. I understood they were playing catch up after the rain but still it would have been nice. They also rerouted our sprinkler system and capped the unused connections. Even more important is they were respectful of the mess they were making between our house and our neighbors and made sure they kept the mess on our property as much as possible which in a subdivision with limited space between homes was probably a challenge. Overall I think it was a pretty positive experience. I would recommend them.

Description of Work
Built a new 14000,00 gal pool

Category irrigation systems, swimming pools

2.0

05/29/2015


Audra C.

We really wanted to like this company but it ended with a very poor experience. Initially met with them in late March and two months later the work was still not done. We repeatedly had to follow up with our point of contact and only then did someone come out to work on the yard. Then took weeks for them to find someone to do the tree work. That's where we gave up. Maintenance was adequate, but they left behind quite a few leaves that we would expected to be cleaned up. They also left tools here. Again, it started out fine. This one just didn't work out.

Description of Work
Yard cleanup and tree removal. Regular maintenance

Category swimming pools

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], We do apologize that the rain kept us from being able to accomplish the "Yard Clean-up" portion of the work scope. We did do the lawn maintenance as the weather would allow and heard no complaints of our work. The weather, however, is not something that we can control. We started the "clean-up" portion of the work on May 2nd and completed said work on May 6th. The only portion of work you claim to be undone was that of something we told you we were not comfortable with, which was removing the trees close to your home, as we did not want to put your house at risk doing such work, and advised a professional tree service. Despite not contracting us to do this research or shopping bids, we were attempting to be helpful and sent out for bids for you so that you would not have to do the calling around for quotes. This was going way above and beyond any work agreement we made with you and was not something we were paid to do. We strive to go out of our way in the customer service department. It is unfortunate that the companies we contacted failed to get back to us in a timely manner, but they are behind in their work, as is everyone who does any form of outdoor work in the DFW metroplex due to the record setting rains in April and May. It is frustrating to know that goodwill is seen as poor customer service and that the weather plays no factor in your opinion of the timing of things. Two things we cannot control are the weather and other companies, both of which you have chosen to dislike us over. I would also like to mention that you are tarnishing the reputation of a pool company over a lawn maintenance issue done by a division of the pool company. We do apologize that you are not happy with our service, but intend to continue to go out of our way for future customers who may appreciate the extra work we do for them for free. We assumed that you would appreciate us attempting to find a professional for the work you needed done. More than likely your response time would have been slower from the tree companies had you called them yourself for a quote. We were simply trying to do you a favor and apparently it wasn't enough. As far as the leaves that were left in your yard, this is the first thing we have heard of this and sincerely apologize for that. Had you notified us of this complaint at the time the work was not done to your satisfaction, we certainly would have sent someone out there to rectify the situation. We are glad the sun has returned and we are trying our best to get caught up. We hope that you have been able to find a company that you feel meets your needs and wish you the very best.
5.0

02/06/2015


Ron C.

Dealing with any pool company can be frustrating in the beginning due to all of the choices and different personalities. Since we were starting from scratch, I'm not going to say it was a cakewalk from the beginning but once we decided on everything we wanted, we interviewed 4 companies and chose Puryear to build it for us. The process was a little slow in the beginning with some uncommunicated delay but quickly sped up once the initial excavation was done (4 hours). Every promised date from then on was met and everything came together nicely. We decided to build in the off season (October) and within 3 weeks the pool was close to being finished. Throughout the process, I received a phone call every Monday from the owner to check on progress and my satisfaction level. I'm not sure if any other companies do that but I found it to be quite refreshing that the owner would check on their customer directly each week and one final time after the project is finished. Since its only been a month since everything wrapped up, I can't tell you how the "after construction" support is yet but based on my experience so far, I wouldn't hesitate to build another pool with Puryear. The only disappointment I experienced was a high estimate on a pergola that we wanted to include in which they did not have any "wiggle room" to deal. I figured that after spending what I did on the pool it could have been better negotiated so I had it built by a friend of mine who is in construction at almost 1/2 the cost of Puryear's estimate. In grading their services, I rarely give anyone an "A" to anyone on anything unless it was spot on and theirs was. I don't think you will ever have a perfect experience with any construction but this was probably as close as one can get...it was a great 1st experience with pool construction and finished product. It's now February so I still haven't been in it yet but it sure is pleasing to the eye...downside to constructing in the winter! We are very pleased with our pool and I would highly recommend Puryear to my friends. Nice Job everyone!

Description of Work
Constructed Pool

Category landscaping, pool cleaners, swimming pools

5.0

12/23/2014


Thomas F.

It went great. I cannot imagine any way they could have been better.

Description of Work
Installed a new swimming pool.

Category swimming pools

5.0

10/01/2014


janice R.

I think my pool looks more expensive than what I paid. The whole experience was excellent from start to finish! This is my 3rd pool, first time to use Puryear, so I like to think I speak from experience. Like all major construction jobs there are always a few bumps and that is where you learn the most about a company!! Puryear checked in weekly from the office ( in fact from one of the owners as I learned in the end), how often do you get that kind of service? This was to make sure I was happy with construction so far and to update next step of construction. And as I said to get an idea of what a company is like you need a few bumps to see how they handle the good, the bad, and the ugly. That is were this company excels...not only did they come right back out, next day at latest, but they had everything taken care of within 2 to 3 days so they could continue on to next step. This was always handled in the most friendly and professional way. Special shout out to site manager Tom Dahnke for being there personally. Also to an excellent design planner /sales rep Chris Brabson who didn't abandon us after the sale. He personally checked in with us at the site at least 4 times. Finally, the people that are employed by Puryear ie stone workers, pipe layers, concrete decking, plumbing and sprinkler guys. Chemical and pool care teachers (did I forget anyone that made this pool possible) were absolutely the hardest most considerate workers I have had the pleasure of working with. That says a lot as I just built my home in last 3 years. They said 4 to 6 weeks and finished just over 4 weeks...we didn't even have time to get our fence up totally. That will teach us for not trusting that they would do what they said.....they only gave me 5 stars to fill in...these guys earned the 6th! Thank you Puryear Custom Pools!

Description of Work
Built my pool, decking and sunk fire pit and sunken flower beds.

Category decks, swimming pools, outdoor kitchens

1.0

08/21/2014


Brandy C.

If I were to write a line about every issue/problem we have had during our pool building experience, this review would be 15 pages long, so out of respect for other Angie’s list members I will try to summarize to the best of my ability. I would NEVER recommend Puryear Custom Pools to anyone! Our salesman was great, UNTIL he had a signed contract in hand. After that, getting any kind of response from him was painful. He charged us an extra $2500-$3000, by lying to us about access to our yard and using the smallest equipment they had instead of using the larger equipment to save time and money (they built a pool two houses down from us weeks after they finished ours and entered through the city land he told us they couldn’t use). He didn’t follow through with any of his responsibilities or promises. He put in “place holders” for colors because he didn’t have samples, but he failed to tell the foreman they were place holders. Because of this we did not get what we wanted. When we asked that it be redone, the foreman fought us saying that it was too late and wouldn’t be any better. We had to go above his head just to get it and even color (still not the color we wanted). The Salesman also failed to submit the correct paperwork to the city for our electrical work and we failed the inspection. They had to come out and undo all of the electrical work for a new inspection and this put us behind two weeks. There were so many instances like this where things went wrong and no matter who you talked to, they found a way to blame someone else. Puryear has no internal communication and no one ever know what anyone else is doing, much less informing the customer of what is happening. One of the reasons we chose them was because our salesman told us they didn’t use sub-contractors, giving them more control over the jobs. What he failed to mention was that was only for digging the pool. Everything else was sub-contracted. I understand that this is how most companies do business, but most don’t lie about it. The company they hired to reroute our sprinkler showed up 4 hours late than sat on our front lawn for an hour doing who-knows-what. They finally started working and after about 20 minutes it started to rain. They stopped and left and didn’t come back for a week. When we complained, Puryear’s foreman said “we can’t control the rain.” My point was it took them about an hour to reroute the sprinkler system (incorrectly, by the way) they could have been done before the rain, if they hadn’t of sat in the yard laughing and joking, after being four hours late. Although, there were many, many more issues that came up during this process, I won’t drone on about it, but I will say that if you are considering using Puryear Custom Pools…RECONSIDER! This was an incredibly painful process and most of our issues could have been avoided or at least remedied easily, but Puryear couldn’t be bothered.

Description of Work
Built pool, outdoor kitchen and covered patio.

Category swimming pools

Service Provider Response

Mr. & Mrs. [removed member name], To start, I want to apologize for your frustrating experience, however finding out about those frustrations for the first time via a review on a website is frustrating to me. As an owner of this company, every experience our customers have is important. Which is why our personal cell phone numbers are on our business cards and we make ourselves available to our customers, rather than hiding behind a shield of our employees. Most importantly, I personally make a phone call to every customer at the end of each job and send a survey via email seeking out feedback and criticisms to help improve our company. These actions, I believe is the reason why we are one of the Top 50 pool builders in the nation and #4 in customer service over every other pool company in the United States of America. I am baffled that I left you a phone message on June 18th and sent you a survey asking for your feedback and never received a phone call back nor did you return your survey. Furthermore, neither my husband nor I ever received an email or phone call from you to discuss your concerns throughout your build process or after. I know when I am upset about things with a company, I work my way up the proverbial supervisor pole until I speak with someone that can help me sort out my concerns and complaints and have them help me find a viable solution to my problem. The fact that you did not even allow us the opportunity to look into any problems or help you solve them to me is a failure of communication on your part. How can you be this mad at us when you never gave us the opportunity to make you a happy customer? Let me start with your complaint regarding access and your need to compare your backyard with your neighbors down the street. Yes we did access their yard via the city property; however you do not have the same access as you have a 6’ retaining wall blocking the easy access. We would have caused much more damage to property that does not belong to you and inevitably would have cost you more money in the long run. Roger and you discussed both options and agreed on this together. As it pertains to the stain color on your patio cover, the stain was the color written on your contract. We do not have what you call “place holders”. If a color was not decided upon, then it would have said “TBA”. With that being said, we did re stain it to a color you chose from the available colors, and we paid for it…$850 to be exact. We did this to make you happy and gave you the benefit of the doubt on this, even though we did what you contracted us to do. Most companies would have told you to deal with it because you were given what you signed your name to and you would be told that it was your responsibility to read your contract before you sign it. Contracts are made to protect both the consumer and the company. The fact that we offered and completed a change for you shows that we had your best interest at heart. I will not even address the rain or the permitting because to me they are both outside of our control. Rain causes mud and delays and permitting can be tricky, and while you may believe we wronged you in someway, please try to understand that there are things about delays and city officials that are outside of our control. I suppose you can blame us on things of those nature, but at least try to consider factors you may not understand. We can “what if and could have” things all day long. Sure they would have been done with your reroute if they weren’t 4 hours late. More than likely they were finishing up a job before being able to go to yours. Should they have left that customer’s house in the middle of things to get your job finished before the rain? This is an event of circumstance and not one that we should be blamed for. What I find disappointing is that, Mr. [removed member name] and Kenny were discussing when things went sour and he told Kenny that had the stain issue not occurred then you would have been happy. We did everything we could to fix your issue, even though we contractually were not obligated to do so and now despite our best efforts you are angry with us for things we cannot control or things you were a part of arranging. You claim that “Puryear couldn’t be bothered. My husband and I are Puryear and you didn’t bother to call us, the owners, didn’t bother to return my phone call and didn’t bother to send me your survey with your feedback. Had you done any of those then maybe you would be happy and our reputation wouldn’t be tarnished. In my opinion, bad reviews and complaints on the internet shouldn’t be done until you made your best efforts to find resolutions or voice your concerns at the very minimum. We are very sorry you didn’t bother to give us the opportunity to have you join the other happy 230 customers we have every year. With a final note you gave us a grade of "F" for quality. Davinci himself couldn't have created a more beautiful pool for you. I have photos, and will be happy to provide them to anyone reading this review as I cannot post them on this site. The craftsmanship is beyond an A+ in my opinion and if I'm missing anything please feel free to call and tell us what on your pool is poor quality and we will be happy to discuss it.
5.0

06/10/2014


Linda B.

He was amazing. Decided not to put a pool in at the time.

Description of Work
Roger came out and went through many ideas and tried to understand what I was trying to accompolish. He came back within a week or less with a fabulous plan designed specifically for my yard. I loved it. I decided not to put a pool in at that time. I would HIGHLY recommend him for any future work.

Category swimming pools

5.0

03/18/2014


J.R. R.

Puryear built our pool in 2010. They were mid-priced in comparison to other builders and did a great job of designing and installing everything. I've had them back out to install upgrades to the system as well. More important, they have continued to provide excellent follow-up service whenever we have had an issue. I can email or call the office manager or the service manager directly and always get a quick response. Any problems we have had with equipment are always handled quickly and under warranty most of the time. The staff is wonderful, easy to talk to, and able to solve problems efficiently. While there are a lot of good pool builders out there, I cannot stress enough the importance of "after the sale customer service." Things will go wrong with equipment and you will have questions about the pool you've had built. Puryear stands behind what they sell---100%. I highly recommend them for a new pool build or for upgrading your older pool.

Description of Work
Winter Maintenance and installation of iAqualink kit for pool controls.

Category swimming pools

2.0

09/26/2013


Kevin M.

As far as the actual pool goes, we could not be happier. We got exactly what we wanted and in a relatively short amount of time. Now the bad part. I have an "L" shaped driveway that runs from the street to the back of my house. The first 30 feet of the driveway was poured two years ago. The rest was in really bad shape being 40 years old. I told my salesman that the only part of my driveway that I cared about was the first 30 feet, the new portion. For those in the know, that section of new concrete has #3 rebar on 18" centers. Anyway, I came home from work after the excavation of the pool had been completed to find cracks all over the first 30 feet of my driveway. These are not little hairline cracks. These are cracks all the way to the bottom. The only thing holding it together now is the rebar. I called the construction foreman and my salesman immediately. They came out the following morning and took several pictures. I received a call later that day telling me that they were sorry but there is nothing they can do about it. I did not like that answer so I called the operations manager. After a few minutes of him telling me that they are not responsible for breaking anything i hung up on him. I called him back after I regained my composure and had a civil conversation. I was told that we are to provide him with two things to build our pool-a place to dig it and access to that place which was my driveway. They take all reasonable precautions to protect a customers property but sometimes bad things happen. They dig 200 pools every summer and never break concrete. Then he told me that I needed to talk to my concrete contractor because the driveway would not have cracked if the driveway was poured properly. They unloaded a 10000 pound excavator on my driveway. They put down 2x12's first so that the metal tracks did not scratch the driveway. Thats all well and good but it does nothing to prevent stress cracks. After the excavator came the t190 rubber track bobcat that weighs 8,000 pounds. The bobcat made about 200 trips over the driveway as it loaded the dump truck with dirt. I'm sure my concrete contractor would be happy to replace his bad concrete after all that. I made another call to the operations manager a week later to see if he would replace that section, roughly $800. He told me no. So now I'm very concerned. They offer a lifetime structural warranty on their pools. But is every problem that arises going to be my fault? That thought has been burning a hole in my brain for the past month. It's not the money to replace the driveway that is bothering me. It's the fact that Puryear refused to accept liability and basically treated me like I know nothing about concrete or construction. I am a superintendent for a very large commercial construction company that builds schools, office buildings, stadiums, you name it.

Description of Work
We contracted Puryear on the recommendation of two friends that had a good experience with them. The designer was courteous and professional. He listened to what we wanted and designed a pool to meet our needs. Now that the pool is almost complete we are excited to use it.

Category swimming pools

Service Provider Response

[member name removed], If accepting blame for the broken concrete is truly the issue, we will accept the blame. Yes, our excavator ran over it and broke it. Unfortunately, there is always this risk as we need access in order to build the pool that you purchased and unfortunately this was the access available to us in order to build the pool you hired us to build. We accept full responsibility for breaking it however, we have this potential risk listed on our contract to let every homeowner know the possible issues that come up during construction. Our contract points out this possibility and states that our company will not be responsible for the damages. So to accept the blame is fine. However, accepting responsibility for the repairs are not, as your contract clearly states. We will be more than happy to repair your driveway at our cost, but unfortunately this is the only thing that we can offer to you. To say that you doubt we will not warranty your pool for structural issues is very assuming as the warranty on your pool is specified in the contract to protect you, just as not accepting financial responsibility for damage to driveways is listed to protect us. We are extremely sorry that the damage occurred and we are willing to help you out at our cost. Your pool has all the warranties as specified in your contract and we will honor them all. Contracts are made to protect both the consumer and the company. You have a beautiful pool built with the highest quality materials and craftsmanship. It was built in 6 weeks and has everything that you contracted. We did not ask you for additional “surprise” money owed as most companies do. We have been honest and true to our word and our contract from the beginning. We are sorry that this one item has caused you to think that our company deserves such a bad rating over something you knew was a potential risk and would not be covered. If you would like us to do the repair at our cost, please let us know and we will be more than happy to accommodate you.
5.0

07/05/2013


Mary H.

They were incredibly professional and knowledgeable. They came out right away to our house. I thought that they used great computer software. The appointment was really professional and informative. I thought their prices were really good.

Description of Work
Puryear Custom Pools gave us an estimate.

Category swimming pools

5.0

05/05/2013


Michael M.

We were fortunate to have found Puryear Custom Pools. We were nervous going into the selection process, but it quickly became apparent that we had engaged the most professional pool builder in the area. We now have an awesome pool. The design is brilliant, and Puryear worked closely with us to deliver exceptional value. All issues were addressed promptly to our ultimate satisfaction. Kenny Wyckstrom, our Puryear builder, was responsive to all of our needs, and we are very happy pool owners. We highly recommend Puryear.

Description of Work
Residential custom swimming pool design and construction.

Category swimming pools

5.0

04/30/2013


Robert A.

After contacting Puryear, Billy came to our house and listened to what we had in mind. He took tons of pictures. We ask him to also include any ideas he had for shape, design and landscaping. Within 2-3 days, he sent us beautiful 3D images of our backyard with all the idea's. Of the 4 quotes that we got, Billy's imagining was by FAR the best! His Idea's were creative and beautiful. However, he was just a few dollars higher than the competitor. With that being said, the competitor was a pool company we have used to install a pool 10 years earlier at a different resident So, we got a substancial discount for being a repeat customer. We chose the other company, But Billy did a great job and im sure that puryear would have done a wonderful job...

Description of Work
Puryear pools gave us a quote for a backyard pool with hot tube and lots of extra decking.

Category pool cleaners, swimming pools

4.0

04/08/2013


Donald J.

It was the lowest quote I got. I checked their references before I went with them to construct my pool and they had very good references and good price, which is why I went with them.

Description of Work
Puryear Custom Pools constructed a pool for me.

Category swimming pools

5.0

03/04/2013


Beth E.

It went really smoothly and quickly. There is a winter discount so take advantage of that if you can wait until Nov-Jan to plan and install. The whole process for actual construction was one month. We worked with Larry to design and plan everything. The 3D software gives you a flyover view of the design and rotates 360 degrees for a good feel of the design. Kenny was our building contractor for the pool and was very knowledgeable about the process and what we needed to do next.

Description of Work
Designed, Planned, and installed a 30' in-ground pool with surrounding decking, landscape, and replaced sprinklers. Designed using our specifications and 3D software. Edited using the software to fit our price point. Installed in four phases: excavation of land, formation of pool with rebar and pouring gunite, rebar form and pouring of decking, and plaster coating of pool. Then we met with a landscaper to plan and install replacement grass, sprinklers, and plants/trees.

Category decks, landscaping, irrigation systems, swimming pools

5.0

02/11/2013


Marilyn H.

When I first called around to price a pool build no one wanted to talk to me until I was ready to build. But, when I called Puryear they took the time to talk to me and explain their costs and what time of year I could get a little off the price and etc. The lady spent about 45 mins explaining everything to me. When I was ready to build I created my own design of the pool and showed each salesman. After a week or two both of the sales people contacted me and I went to see each design. The other company had a completely different design than I had asked for and when asked they said, "this is a better design for your yard", without any regards to my wishes. Kevin, with Puryear, took every effort to use my design and even had a 3D computer program to show me what my pool would look like from my house and through my windows. They told me that my build would take one month and it was finished one month to the day it started. I was very happy. The only complaint I would have is that some of the stone workers did not speak english and I needed to talk to them once in awhile. They did call their supervisor and they were able to translate for me.

Description of Work
30 x 20 foot Pool

Category swimming pools

5.0

12/31/2012


James F.

They arrived when they said they would, did the work and I did not have to supervise or anything. Their cleanup and everything else they did was good.

Description of Work
I used Puryear Custom Pools to install a new pump, filters and other equipment on my swimming pool.

Category pool cleaners

5.0

11/21/2012


Donald L.

It turned out well. I hired them last year to do a checkup on our pool twice a year. They actually built my pool two years ago. They were very professional and I am very happy with my pool. I am very pleased with the design as well.

Description of Work
They come twice a year to check out our pool.

Category pool cleaners, swimming pools

3.0

11/16/2012


Vladislav D.

We signed up our contract and pay the initial deposit in March. We were promised our pool project to be completed in 4-6 weeks. Our pool project was mostly done in August with some minor work in September and October. Overall we would NOT recommend Puryear. It was very stressful to deal with them because no one took responsibility for the project. The different sub contractors point to each other and no one cared for the quality of the work overall. There was a project manager assigned, Charlie, but in total he visited the site 8-10 times. Three of them to pick up the money. The owner Jason got involved because there were few mistakes made but we saw the same lack of interest on his part. The biggest disappointment we had was to see was that they were willing to build something that was not structurally sound. Fortunately for us we were able to prevent it, but it took lots of frustration and arguing. Our pool finally got completed and we really like having installed the automatic pool cover, it is worth it. If you decide to hire Puryear I recommend you do not hire them to do the sprinklers or any landscaping for that matter. The company they endorsed has some people which need training (don?t have any idea of what they are doing). In our case a second company was called to complete the job the initial preferred company couldn?t finish. The second company did the bare minimum. The zone re-evaluation that the sales person assured us we will get, didn?t happen even though it was in the contract. If we had to do this over we would hire Pool Quest to build the pool and hire different companies to do the decking, sprinklers, etc. Puryear does know how to build just the pool but as general contractor they completely suck. As far as choices we do not recommend the mini pebbles because they are quite rough. They look beautiful and have better warranty but they are rough. We have warned everyone about it, but still 80% of the people get scratched up. It really destroys the swimming suits.

Description of Work
We hired them to build a custom pool.

Category swimming pools

4.0

11/07/2012


Mary K.

We were working on another bid with another company. We are trying to keep our price around $70,000. I'm not sure who I am going to use, I'm still getting bids. If we can get the price down I'd like to work with them.

Description of Work
I contacted them to build a pool and spa.

Category swimming pools

    Other local Pros in your area

    Majestic Outdoor Lighting

    At Majestic Outdoor Lighting we are proud to provide high quality, professional LED outdoor lighting and landscape lighting solutions. We want your yard, garden, patio, pool or other outdoor area to shine and add to the ambiance of your property. We have experience working with both residential and commercial applications and we will find the best outdoor lighting solution possible for your needs. We work hard to design a lighting system that provides you with exactly the end result you are looking for! Call us today to learn more about outdoor lighting systems in Dallas, Fort Worth or any surrounding area. We will begin by helping you choose the right design for your property and needs. We can help highlight the best features of your property. When you add lighting to your outdoor space, you will bring new components to life. Textures that were previously unseen will add an artistic touch to your landscape. Water features will come to life with colorful light shows. And your outdoor spaces will become more usable night or day! Call for a FREE lighting estimate.  

    Offers by Majestic Outdoor Lighting on Angi
    Hillman Outdoor Living LLC

    We are a full design-build company that can handle your project from start to finish. We offer full color 3D design services, furniture layout, and lighting design so you love every detail about your project before we put one shovel in the ground. We are new project construction specialist and do not take on repair, touch up or already completed work. Take a look at our full portfolio to get inspired today.  

    Martinez Masonry & Landscaping

    At Martinez Masonry, our goal is to turn your design ideas into reality. Whether you are seeking additions to enhance your home/business, or repair existing masonry and/or landscaping, we can help. Call us today to schedule a consultation.  

    Licensed
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Residential and Commercial Pool Service, Installation, and Repair

    Services Not Offered

    Hot tub/Spa Service or Repair

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Puryear Custom Pools

    How is Puryear Custom Pools overall rated?

    Puryear Custom Pools is currently rated 4.2 overall out of 5.

    What days are Puryear Custom Pools open?

    Puryear Custom Pools is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM

    What payment options does Puryear Custom Pools provide

    Puryear Custom Pools accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check

    Does Puryear Custom Pools offer free estimates?

    Yes, Puryear Custom Pools offers free project estimates.

    Does Puryear Custom Pools offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Puryear Custom Pools does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Puryear Custom Pools?

    Yes, Puryear Custom Pools offers warranties.

    What services does Puryear Custom Pools offer?

    Puryear Custom Pools offers the following services: Residential and Commercial Pool Service, Installation, and Repair

    Are there any services Puryear Custom Pools does not offer?

    Hot tub/Spa Service or Repair